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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 
5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  
November 5, 2012. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
James M. LeMunyon, Vice Chair; Gregory D. Habeeb; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Pamela S. Baskervill; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. 
Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Timothy Oksman; Charles S. Sharp; Mark J. Vucci. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2016 through July 2017 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

32:20 May 11, 2016 May 30, 2016 

32:21 May 25, 2016 June 13, 2016 

32:22 June 8, 2016 June 27, 2016 

32:23 June 22, 2016 July 11, 2016 

32:24 July 6, 2016 July 25, 2016 

32:25 July 20, 2016 August 8, 2016 

32:26 August 3, 2016 August 22, 2016 

33:1 August 17, 2016 September 5, 2016 

33:2 August 31, 2016 September 19, 2016 

33:3 September 14, 2016 October 3, 2016 

33:4 September 28, 2016 October 17, 2016 

33:5 October 12, 2016 October 31, 2016 

33:6 October 26, 2016 November 14, 2016 

33:7 November 9, 2016 November 28, 2016 

33:8 November 22, 2016 (Tuesday) December 12, 2016 

33:9 December 7, 2016 December 26, 2016 

33:10 December 19, 2016 (Monday) January 9, 2017 

33:11 January 4, 2017 January 23, 2017 

33:12 January 18, 2017 February 6, 2017 

33:13 February 1, 2017 February 20, 2017 

33:14 February 15, 2017 March 6, 2017 

33:15 March 1, 2017 March 20, 2017 

33:16 March 15, 2017 April 3, 2017 

33:17 March 29, 2017 April 17, 2017 

33:18 April 12, 2017 May 1, 2017 

33:19 April 26, 2017 May 15, 2017 

33:20 May 10, 2017 May 29, 2017 

33:21 May 24, 2017 June 12, 2017 

33:22 June 7, 2017 June 26, 2017 

33:23 June 21, 2017 July 10, 2017 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-408. Certificate of Quality 
Assurance of Managed Care Health Insurance Plan 
Licensees. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-137.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: The Medical Society of Virginia. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The Medical Society of 
Virginia (MSV) respectfully submits a petition for 
rulemaking, per § 2.2-4007 of the Code of Virginia, on behalf 
of our nearly 11,000 members. The Medical Society of 
Virginia represents physician, medical student and physician 
assistant members and aims to make Virginia the best place to 
practice and receive medical care.  

Specifically, MSV proposes amending 12VAC5-408-170: 
Provider credentialing and recredentialing. The purpose of 
these suggested changes is to update and streamline the 
credentialing and recredentialing process. Many physicians 
have expressed concern over the current process, as it takes 
significant time and resources away from delivering care to 
patients. MSV has engaged with key stakeholders including 
several health plans on this topic and have mutually agreed 
upon the proposed changes. As such, we hope the agency will 
consider these proposed changes eligible for the fast-track 
regulatory process.  

MSV appreciates the department's consideration of this 
request and looks forward to our continued work together to 
make Virginia the healthiest state in the nation.  

MSV proposed changes to Provider Credentialing and 
Recredentialing: 

12VAC5-408-170. Provider Credentialing and 
Recredentialing.  

A. The MCHIP licensee shall establish and maintain a 
comprehensive credentialing verification program to ensure 
its providers meet the minimum standards of professional 
licensure or certification. Written supporting documentation 
for providers who have completed their residency or 
fellowship requirements for their specialty area more than 12 
months prior to the credentialing decision shall include:  

1. Current valid license and history of licensure or 
certification;  

2. Status of hospital privileges, if applicable;  

3. Valid DEA certificate, if applicable;  

4. Information from the National Practitioner Data Bank, as 
available;  

5. Education and training, including post graduate training, 
if applicable;  

6. Specialty board certification status, if applicable;  

7. Practice or work history covering at least the past five 
years; and  

8. Current, adequate malpractice insurance and malpractice 
history of at least the past five years.  

B. The MCHIP licensee may grant provisional credentialing 
for providers who have completed their residency or 
fellowship requirements for their specialty area within 12 
months prior to the credentialing decision. Written supporting 
documentation necessary to provisionally credential a 
practitioner shall include:  

1. Primary source verification of a current, valid license to 
practice prior to granting the provisional status; 

2. Written confirmation of the past five years of 
malpractice claims or settlements, or both, from the 
malpractice carrier or the results of the National 
Practitioner Data Bank query prior to granting provisional 
status; and  

3. A completed application and signed attestation.  

C. Providers provisionally credentialed may remain so for 60 
calendar days.  

D. Policies for credentialing and recredentialing shall include:  

1. Criteria used to credential and recredential;  

2. Process used to make credentialing and recredentialing 
decisions;  

3. Type of providers, including network providers, covered 
under the credentialing and recredentialing policies;  

4. Process for notifying providers of information obtained 
that varies substantially from the information provided by 
the provider;  

5. Process for receiving input from participating providers 
to make recommendations regarding the credentialing and 
recredentialing process; and  

6. Process and timeframes for communicating credentialing 
application receipt, progress and decisions to the primary 
credentialing contact at the address, either electronic or 
physical, listed on the credentialing application; and  

6. 7. A requirement that the MCHIP licensee notify the 
applicant or his designee if permission is granted by the 
applicant within 60 calendar days of receipt of an 
application if information is missing or if there are other 
deficiencies in the application. The MCHIP licensee shall 
complete the credentialing process within 90 calendar days 
of the receipt of a complete and accurate application all 
such information requested by the MCHIP licensee or, if 
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information is not requested from the applicant, within 120 
calendar days of receipt of an application. The department 
may impose administrative sanctions upon an MCHIP 
licensee for failure to complete the credentialing process as 
provided herein if it finds that such failure occurs with such 
frequency as to constitute a general business practice. The 
current policies shall be made available to participating 
providers and applicants upon written request via 
publication on the MCHIP licensee's website or within the 
licensee's provider manual.  

E. A provider fully credentialed by an MCHIP licensee, who 
changes his place of employment or his nonMCHIP licensee 
employer, shall, if within 60 calendar days of such change 
and if practicing within the same specialty, continue to be 
credentialed by that MCHIP licensee upon receipt by the 
MCHIP licensee of the following:  

1. The effective date of the change;  

2. The new tax ID number and copy of W-9, as applicable;  

3. The name of the new practice, contact person, address, 
telephone and fax numbers; and  

4. Other such information as may materially differ from the 
most recently completed credentialing application 
submitted by the provider to the MCHIP licensee. This 
provision shall not apply if the provider's prior place of 
employment or employer had been delegated credentialing 
responsibility by the MCHIP licensee. Nothing in this 
section shall be construed to require an MCHIP licensee to 
contract or recontract with a provider.  

F. The appropriate credentialing process applicant shall be 
considered to be participating with the MCHIP licensee on 
the effective date which, for the purposes of this section, is 
the date of credentialing committee approval or the date the 
applicant executes a contract with the MCHIP licensee as an 
individual or is subject to be governed by an existing contract 
with the MCHIP licensee, whichever occurs later. If 
credentialing provides information about the malpractice 
insurance and if that insurance is not effective until after these 
dates, the effective date will be the effective date of the 
malpractice insurance. Beginning on the effective date the 
provider shall be obligated to the terms and conditions of the 
contract and shall be entitled to be paid as a participating 
provider pursuant to the terms of the contract. The MCHIP 
licensee shall notify the applicant and the primary 
credentialing contact of the effective date in a reasonable 
timeframe; in the event of a negative decision, the 
communication will include instructions for appeal, if any.  

completed before the provider: 

1. Begins seeing covered persons; 

2. Enters into the employment or contractual relationship 
with the MCHIP licensee; and 

3. Is included in the listing of health care providers as a 
participating provider in any marketing and covered person 
materials. 

G. The providers shall be recredentialed at least every three 
years. Recredentialing documentation shall include:  

1. Current valid license or certification;  

2. Status of hospital privileges, if applicable;  

3. Current valid DEA registration, if applicable;  

4. Specialty board eligibility or certification status, if 
applicable;  

5. Data from covered person complaints and the results of 
quality reviews, utilization management reviews and 
covered persons satisfaction surveys, as applicable; and  

6. Current, adequate malpractice insurance and history of 
malpractice claims and professional liability claims 
resulting in settlements or judgments.  

H. All information obtained in the credentialing process shall 
be subject to review and correction of any erroneous 
information by the health care provider whose credentials are 
being reviewed. Nothing in the previous sentence shall 
require an MCHIP or MCHIP licensee to disclose to a 
provider, or any other person or party, information or 
documents: (i) that the MCHIP or the MCHIP licensee, itself, 
develops or causes to be developed as part of the MCHIP's 
credentialing process or (ii) that are privileged under 
applicable law. The department may require the MCHIP 
licensee to provide a copy of its credentialing policies. 

I. Providers shall be required by the MCHIP licensee to notify 
the MCHIP of any changes in the status of any credentialing 
criteria.  

J. The MCHIP licensee shall not refuse to initially credential 
or refuse to reverify the credentials of a health care provider 
solely because the provider treats a substantial number of 
patients who require expensive or uncompensated care.  

K. The MCHIP licensee shall have policies and procedures 
for altering the conditions of the provider's participation with 
the MCHIP licensee. The policies shall include actions to be 
taken to improve performance prior to termination and an 
appeals process for instances when the MCHIP licensee 
chooses to alter the condition of provider participation based 
on issues of quality of care or service, except in 
circumstances where an covered person's health has been 
jeopardized. Providers shall have complete and timely access 
to all data and information used by the licensee to identify or 
determine the need for altering the conditions of participation.  

L. The MCHIP licensee shall retain the right to approve new 
providers and sites based on quality issues, and to terminate 
or suspend individual providers. Termination or suspension of 
individual providers for quality of care considerations shall be 
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supported by documented records of noncompliance with 
specific MCHIP expectations and requirements for providers. 
The provider shall have a prescribed system of appeal of this 
decision available to them as prescribed in the contract 
between the MCHIP or its delegated service entity and the 
provider. 

M. Providers shall be informed of the appeals process. 
Profession specific providers actively participating in the 
MCHIP plan shall be included in reviewing appeals and 
making recommendations for action.  

N. The MCHIP licensee shall notify appropriate authorities 
when a provider's application or contract is suspended or 
terminated because of quality deficiencies by the health care 
provider whose credentials are being reviewed.  

O. There shall be an organized system to manage and protect 
the confidentiality of personnel files and records. Records and 
documents relating to a provider's credentialing application 
shall be retained for at least seven years. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Virginia Department 
of Health will prepare and submit a Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action. 

Agency Contact: Erik Bodin, Director, Office of Licensure 
and Certification, Department of Health, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-
2102, or email erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-13; Filed June 3, 2016, 3:12 p.m. 

 

mailto:erik.bodin@vdh.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to consider amending 6VAC20-60, Rules Relating to 
Compulsory Minimum Training Standards for 
Dispatchers. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
the regulation as a result of a periodic review and small 
business impact review, and this Notice of Intended 
Regulatory Action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
The proposed substantive amendments being considered 
include requiring dispatcher academies to have coursework 
approved by the Department of Criminal Justice Services 
(DCJS) prior to the first scheduled class and enhancing 
training by requiring that dispatchers complete in-service 
training. Other proposed revisions to the regulation will 
remove dated language and add clarifying language where 
appropriate.  
The regulation identifies broad training categories. Specific 
performance outcomes, training objectives, criteria for 
testing, and lesson plan guides are located on the DCJS 
website. The proposed action will add a reference to the 
DCJS website to assist dispatchers in locating the Virginia 
Criminal Justice Services Training Manual and Compulsory 
Minimum Training Standards - Performance Outcomes for 
Dispatchers. In addition, DCJS will review and consider the 
appropriateness of setting a minimum number of training 
hours for basic dispatcher training as part of this action. 
The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Barbara Peterson-Wilson, Law Enforcement 
Program Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice 
Services, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4503, FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 
barbara.peterson-wilson@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4634; Filed May 26, 2016, 8:17 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
consider amending 12VAC5-450, Rules and Regulations 
Governing Campgrounds. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to address current camping practices, update 
terminology, and remove or replace outdated requirements. 
The goals are to increase consistency and understanding in 
the campground program, reduce the number of requests the 
Virginia Department of Health receives and ultimately grants 
to waive the regulatory requirements, and apply current 
public health practices industrywide to promote public safety 
while reducing burdensome regulatory oversight. 
This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 
report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-17 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2016. 
Agency Contact: David Tiller, Environmental Health 
Coordinator, Department of Health, P.O. Box 298, 
Shacklefords, VA 23156, telephone (804) 785-2135, FAX 
(804) 785-2490, or email dave.tiller@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4752; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Contractors intends to 
consider amending 18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
the specialty definitions to include those contractors who 
provide remediation services to remove contaminants or site 
work necessary to make certain real property usable for 
human occupancy according to the guidelines established 
pursuant to § 32.1-11.7 of the Code of Virginia. 
The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1102 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
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Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4674; Filed June 2, 2016, 5:58 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 
1VAC30-45-10, 1VAC30-45-30 through 1VAC30-45-130, 
1VAC30-45-300 through 1VAC30-45-400, 1VAC30-45-
500, 1VAC30-45-510, 1VAC30-45-520, 1VAC30-45-600, 
1VAC30-45-610, 1VAC30-45-660, 1VAC30-45-670, 
1VAC30-45-720 through 1VAC30-45-771, 1VAC30-45-
775, 1VAC30-45-791, 1VAC30-45-796, 1VAC30-45-798, 
1VAC30-45-811, 1VAC30-45-850; adding 1VAC30-45-95; 
repealing 1VAC30-45-530, 1VAC30-45-780 through 
1VAC30-45-788, 1VAC30-45-800 through 1VAC30-45-
808, 1VAC30-45-820 through 1VAC30-45-829).  
Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: September 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of General Services, 1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 
371-8305, or email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) streamline the procedures for 
application and renewal of certification, (ii) reduce the 
requirement to perform proficiency test studies to one 
study annually for each field of certification, (iii) expand 
the time between on-site assessments from two years to 
three years for laboratories regularly meeting certification 
standards, (iv) eliminate requirements for specialized 
testing that noncommercial laboratories currently do not 
perform, (v) add procedures for suspension of certification 
to provide a laboratory time to correct problems to avoid 
decertification, (vi) make explicit the requirements to notify 
a laboratory that the agency has cause to deny 
certification or to decertify, (vii) simplify the appeal 
procedure language, (viii) restructure and modify the fee 
system and increase the fees paid by laboratories, and (ix) 
eliminate, or provide increased flexibility for, a number of 
quality system provisions (Article 4).  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

1VAC30-45-10. Purpose. 
Section 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services to establish a 
program to certify environmental laboratories that perform 
tests, analyses, measurements or monitoring required 
pursuant to the Commonwealth's air, waste and water laws 
and regulations. This chapter sets out the required standards 
and the process by which owners of noncommercial 
environmental laboratories may obtain certification for their 
laboratories. 1VAC30-46 covers commercial environmental 
laboratories and NELAP-accredited environmental 
laboratories seeking reciprocal accreditation in Virginia. 
1VAC30-45-30. Applicability. 

A. This chapter applies to any owner of a noncommercial 
environmental laboratory. 

B. Any environmental laboratory owned by an agency of the 
federal government may be certified as follows: 

1. By DGS-DCLS DCLS to the standards set out in this 
chapter; or 
2. By a federal primary accrediting authority accreditation 
body to the standards established by the National 
Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference TNI. 

C. Citizen monitoring groups. Section 62.1-44.19:11 of the 
Code of Virginia both establishes a citizen water quality 
monitoring program for Virginia and encourages the growth 
of the program. The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) has a separate program of quality assurance and 
quality control (QA/QC) standards for citizen monitoring 
groups and their laboratories to follow. The following 
laboratories shall meet the [ DEG DEQ ] QA/QC 
requirements developed for the purposes of citizen 
monitoring of water quality in lieu of the requirements of 
1VAC30-45 or 1VAC30-46: 

1. Laboratories owned by citizen monitoring groups. 
2. Laboratories at institutions of higher education affiliated 
with citizen monitoring groups for the purposes of 
analyzing samples for the groups.  

D. Environmental research performed by environmental 
laboratories owned by institutions of higher education. 
Institutions of higher education. Environmental laboratories 
owned by institutions of higher education located in Virginia 
that perform analyses for the purpose of providing 
environmental research data to DEQ at DEQ's request shall 
meet the QA/QC requirements specified by DEQ. An 
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environmental laboratory owned by an institution of higher 
education located in Virginia that performs environmental 
research for DEQ shall not be subject to the requirements of 
either 1VAC30-45 or 1VAC30-46 unless DEQ requires the 
laboratory to do so.  
1VAC30-45-40. Definitions. 

Where a term is defined in this section, the term shall have 
no other meaning, even if it is defined differently in the Code 
of Virginia or another regulation of the Virginia 
Administrative Code. Unless specifically defined in this 
section, the terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 
commonly ascribed to them by recognized authorities. The 
following words and terms when used in this chapter shall 
have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 
characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 
requirement documents. 

"Accuracy" means the degree of agreement between an 
observed value and an accepted reference value. Accuracy 
includes a combination of random error (precision) and 
systematic error (bias) components that are due to sampling 
and analytical operations. Accuracy is an indicator of data 
quality. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 
mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 
roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 
(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 
(periphyton).  

"Aliquot" means a portion of a sample taken for analysis. 
"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined. 
"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 
Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society 
for Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 
preparation method. 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 
or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 
of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria. 

"Assessor" means the person who performs on-site 
assessments of laboratories' capability and capacity for 
meeting the requirements under this chapter by examining the 
records and other physical evidence for each one of the tests 
for which certification has been requested assigned by DCLS 
to perform, alone or as part of an assessment team, an 
assessment of an environmental laboratory. 

"Audit" means a systematic evaluation to determine the 
conformance to quantitative and qualitative specifications of 
some operational function or activity. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 
local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 (§ 
15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Batch" means environmental samples that are prepared 
together or analyzed together or both with the same process 
and personnel, using the same lot or lots of reagents. 
"Analytical batch" means a batch composed of prepared 
environmental samples (extracts, digestates or concentrates) 
that are analyzed together as a group. An analytical batch can 
include prepared samples originating from various 
environmental matrices and can exceed 20 samples. 
"Preparation batch" means a batch composed of one to 20 
environmental samples of the same matrix that meets the 
criteria in this definition for "batch" and with a maximum 
time between the start of processing of the first and last 
sample in the batch to be 24 hours. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 
animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 
cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 
water.  

"Blank" means a sample that has not been exposed to the 
analyzed sample stream in order to monitor contamination 
during sampling, transport, storage or analysis. The blank is 
subjected to the usual analytical and measurement process to 
establish a zero baseline or background value and is 
sometimes used to adjust or correct routine analytical results. 
Blanks include the following types: 

1. Field blank. A blank prepared in the field by filling a 
clean container with pure deionized water and appropriate 
preservative, if any, for the specific sampling activity being 
undertaken. 
2. Method blank. A sample of a matrix similar to the batch 
of associated samples (when available) that is free from the 
analytes of interest and is processed simultaneously with 
and under the same conditions as samples through all steps 
of the analytical procedures, and in which no target 
analytes or interferences are present at concentrations that 
impact the analytical results for sample analyses.  

"Calibration" means to determine, by measurement or 
comparison with a standard, the correct value of each scale 
reading on a meter, instrument or other device. The levels of 
the applied calibration standard should bracket the range of 
planned or expected sample measurements. 

"Calibration curve" means the graphical relationship 
between the known values, such as concentrations, of a series 
of calibration standards and their instrument response. 

"Calibration standard" means a substance or reference 
material used to calibrate an instrument. 

"Certified reference material" means a reference material 
one or more of whose property values are certified by a 
technically valid procedure, accompanied by or traceable to a 
certificate or other documentation that is issued by a 
certifying body.  
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"Client" or "customer" means the Department of 
Environmental Quality (DEQ) when used in the context of 
quality assurance and specific quality control provisions. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 
environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 
performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 
causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 
undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DGS-DCLS" "DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated 
Laboratory Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Demonstration of capability" means the procedure to 
establish the ability of the analyst to generate data of 
acceptable accuracy and precision. 

"Detection limit" means the lowest concentration or amount 
of the target analyte that can be determined to be different 
from zero by a single measurement at a stated degree of 
confidence. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" 
means any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used 
for the purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, 
the Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water 
Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and 
§ 62.1-44.2 et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For 
the purposes of these regulations, any test, analysis, 
measurement, or monitoring required pursuant to the 
regulations promulgated under these three laws, or by any 
permit or order issued under the authority of any of these laws 
or regulations is "used for the purposes" of these laws. The 
term shall not include the following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 
biological tissue, or air and emissions. 
2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 
chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 
except when performed in an environmental laboratory 
rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 
3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is 
no national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 
macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates and 
zooplankton.  
4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 
Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 
content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 
nutrient management. 
5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 
compliance. 
6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 
product certifications specify the data required by an air 
permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or 
VOC content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 
or a defined area within a facility where environmental 

analysis is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field 
personnel and equipment from inclement weather shall not be 
considered an environmental laboratory.  

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 
program under 1VAC30-46 and the certification program to 
be established under this chapter. 

"Establishment of certification program" or "established 
program" means that DGS-DCLS DCLS has completed the 
initial accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by 
1VAC30-46 and the initial certification of environmental 
laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve 
a particular function. 

"Field of certification" or "FoC" means an approach to 
certifying laboratories by those matrix, technology/method, 
and analyte/analyte group analyte combinations for which 
DCLS offers certification. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 
which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 
sample in order to obtain or maintain certification, 
collectively defined as matrix, technology/method, and 
analyte. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the 
following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for 
which the holding time indicated for the sample requires 
immediate analysis; or 
2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 
tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 
continuous emissions monitoring; on-line online monitoring; 
flow monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature 
and dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion that identifies a 
condition having a significant effect on an item or activity. 
An assessment finding is normally a deficiency and is 
normally accompanied by specific examples of the observed 
condition. referenced to a laboratory certification standard 
and supported by objective evidence that identifies a 
deviation from a laboratory certification standard 
requirement.  

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 
bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 
of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of 
any local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time (or maximum allowable holding time)" 
means the maximum time that a sample may be held prior to 
analysis and still be considered valid or not compromised can 
elapse between two specified activities. 

"Initial certification period" means the period during which 
DGS-DCLS is accepting and processing applications for the 
first time under this chapter as specified in 1VAC30-45-60. 
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"International System of Units (SI)" means the coherent 
system of units adopted and recommended by the General 
Conference on Weights and Measures. 

"Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" means a sample 
matrix, free from the analytes of interest, spiked with verified 
known amounts of analytes or a material containing known 
and verified amounts of analytes. It is generally used to 
establish intra-laboratory or analyst specific precision and 
bias or to assess the performance of all or a portion of the 
measurement system. "Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" 
may also be named laboratory fortified blank, spiked blank, 
or QC check sample.  

"Laboratory manager" means the person who has overall 
responsibility for the technical operation of the environmental 
laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day supervision of 
laboratory operation for the appropriate fields of testing and 
reporting of results. The title of this person may include but is 
not limited to laboratory director, technical director, 
laboratory supervisor or laboratory manager. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 
who has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it can 
function legally, be sued or sue, and make decisions through 
agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Limit of detection" or "LOD" means an estimate of the 
minimum amount of a substance that an analytical process 
can reliably detect. An LOD is analyte and matrix specific 
and may be laboratory dependent. 

"Limit of quantitation" or "LOQ" means the minimum 
levels, concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., 
target analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 
confidence.  

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 
county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 
that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 
magnification.  

"Matrix" means the component or substrate that may contain 
the analyte of interest. A matrix can be a field of certification 
matrix or a quality system matrix.  

1. Field of certification matrix. These matrix definitions 
shall be used when certifying a laboratory. 

a. Non-potable Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample 
that has not been designated a potable or potential 
potable water source. Includes surface water, 
groundwater, effluents, water treatment chemicals, and 
TCLP or other extracts. 
b. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, 
sediments, sludges, products and byproducts of an 
industrial process that results in a matrix not previously 
defined. 

c. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 
such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 
samples shall be grouped according to origin. 
d. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 
including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 
containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 
interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 
sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

2. Quality system matrix. For purposes of batch and quality 
control requirement determinations, the following matrix 
types shall be used: 

a. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 
designated a potable or potential potable water source. 
b. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 
definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 
source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 
and TCLP or other extracts. 
c. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean 
or estuary, or other salt water source. 
d. Nonaqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 
15% settleable solids. 
e. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 
such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 
samples shall be grouped according to origin. 
f. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges and other 
matrices with more than 15% settleable solids. 
g. Chemical waste. A product or by-product byproduct of 
an industrial process that results in a matrix not 
previously defined. 
h. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 
including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 
containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 
interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 
sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

"Matrix spike (spiked sample or fortified sample)" means a 
sample prepared by adding a known mass of target analyte to 
a specified amount of matrix sample for which an 
independent estimate of target analyte concentration is 
available. Matrix spikes are used, for example, to determine 
the effect of the matrix on a method's recovery efficiency. 

"Matrix spike duplicate (spiked sample or fortified sample 
duplicate)" means a second replicate matrix spike prepared in 
the laboratory and analyzed to obtain a measure of the 
precision of the recovery for each analyte.  

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 
Conference (NELAC)" means a voluntary organization of 
state and federal environmental officials and interest groups 
with the primary purpose to establish mutually acceptable 
standards for accrediting environmental laboratories. A subset 
of NELAP. 
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"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program 
(NELAP)" means the overall National Environmental 
Laboratory Accreditation Program of which NELAC is a part. 

"National Institute of Standards and Technology" or "NIST" 
means an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's 
Technology Administration that is working with EPA, states, 
NELAC, and other public and commercial entities to 
establish a system under which private sector companies and 
interested states can be certified by NIST to provide NIST-
traceable proficiency testing (PT) samples. 

"Negative control" means measures taken to ensure that a 
test, its components, or the environment do not cause 
undesired effects, or produce incorrect test results. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 
the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 
analysis is performed solely for the owner of the 
laboratory. 
2. An environmental laboratory where the only 
performance of environmental analysis for another person 
is one of the following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory owned by a local government 
for an owner of a small wastewater treatment system 
treating domestic sewage at a flow rate of less than or 
equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 
b. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory operated by a corporation as 
part of a general contract issued by a local government to 
operate and maintain a wastewater treatment system or a 
waterworks. 
c. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory owned by a corporation as part 
of the prequalification process or to confirm the identity 
or characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 
existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 
waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 
d. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned 
Treatment Works (POTW) for an industrial source of 
wastewater under a permit issued by the POTW to the 
industrial source as part of the requirements of a 
pretreatment program under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et 
seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 
e. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory owned by a county authority 
for any municipality within the county's geographic 
jurisdiction when the environmental analysis pertains 
solely to the purpose for which the authority was created. 
f. Environmental analysis performed by an 
environmental laboratory owned by an authority or a 
sanitation district for any participating local government 
of the authority or sanitation district when the 

environmental analysis pertains solely to the purpose for 
which the authority or sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases or 
controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, company, business, trust, joint venture or other 
legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 
tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests 
for solids, turbidity and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Positive control" means measures taken to ensure that a test 
or its components are working properly and producing correct 
or expected results from positive test subjects. 

"Precision" means the degree to which a set of observations 
or measurements of the same property, obtained under similar 
conditions, conform to themselves. Precision is an indicator 
of data quality. Precision is expressed usually as standard 
deviation, variance or range, in either absolute or relative 
terms. 

"Primary accrediting authority accreditation body" means 
the agency or department designated at the territory, state or 
federal level as the recognized authority with the 
responsibility and accountability for granting NELAC 
accreditation to a specific laboratory for a specific field of 
accreditation body responsible for assessing a laboratory's 
total quality system, on-site assessment, and PT performance 
tracking for fields of accreditation. 

"Proficiency test or testing (PT)" means evaluating a 
laboratory's performance under controlled conditions relative 
to a given set of criteria through analysis of unknown samples 
provided by an external source. 

"Proficiency test (PT) field of testing" means the approach 
to offer proficiency testing by maxtrix, technology/method, 
and analyte/analyte group. 

"Proficiency test (PT) sample" means a sample, the 
composition of which is unknown to both the analyst and the 
laboratory and is provided to test whether the analyst or 
laboratory or both laboratory can produce analytical results 
within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing (PT) program" means the aggregate of 
providing rigorously controlled and standardized 
environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 
of results, statistical evaluation of the results and the 
collective demographics and results summary of all 
participating laboratories. 

"Program," in the context of a regulatory program, means 
the relevant U.S. Environmental Protection Agency program 
such as the water program under the Clean Water Act 
(CWA), the air program under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the 
waste program under the Comprehensive Environmental 
Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA or 
Superfund) or the waste program under the Resource 
Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA). 
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"Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW)" means a 
treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, which is 
owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of 
the CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems 
used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 
municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It 
also includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if 
they convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term 
also means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the 
CWA, which has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to 
and the discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 
management activities involving planning, quality control, 
quality implementation, assessment, reporting and quality 
improvement to ensure that a product process, item, or service 
meets defined standards of quality with a stated level of 
confidence is of the type and quality needed and expected by 
the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 
responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 
Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 
also be the laboratory manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the overall system of 
technical activities whose purpose is to measure and control 
the quality of a product or service so that it meets the needs of 
users that measures the attributes and performance of a 
process, item, or service against defined standards to verify 
that they meet the stated requirements established by the 
customer; operational techniques and activities that are used 
to fulfill requirements for quality; and also the system of 
activities and checks used to ensure that measurement 
systems are maintained within prescribed limits, providing 
protection against "out of control" conditions and ensuring 
that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the 
management policies, objectives, principles, organizational 
structure and authority, responsibilities, accountability, and 
implementation of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to 
ensure the quality of its product and the utility of its product 
to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 
management system describing the policies, objectives, 
principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 
accountability, and implementation plan of an organization 
for ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), 
and services. The quality system provides the framework for 
planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by 
the organization and for carrying out required quality 
assurance and quality control activities. 

"Range" means the difference between the minimum and 
maximum of a set of values. 

"Reference material" means a material or substance one or 
more properties of which are sufficiently well established to 
be used for the calibration of an apparatus, the assessment of 

a measurement test method, or for assigning values to 
materials. 

"Reference standard" means a standard, generally of the 
highest metrological quality available at a given location, 
from which measurements made at that location are derived.  

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 
appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 
corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 
secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation 
in charge of a principal business function, or any other 
person who performs similar policy-making or decision-
making functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of 
one or more manufacturing, production, or operating 
facilities employing more than 250 persons or having gross 
annual sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in 
second-quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign 
documents has been assigned or delegated in accordance 
with corporate procedures. 
2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 
association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" 
means a general partner, officer of the association, or the 
proprietor, respectively. 
3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 
body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 
official appointed or designated to oversee the operation 
and performance of the activities of the environmental 
laboratory. 
4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 
individual described in subdivision 1, 2 or 3 of this 
definition, provided the designation is in writing, the 
designation specifies an individual or position with 
responsibility for the overall operation of the 
environmental laboratory, and the designation is submitted 
to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 
analysis. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 
the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 
(§ 21-291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 
residences, buildings, industrial establishments or other 
places together with such industrial wastes and underground, 
surface, storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Simple test procedures" or "STP" means any of the 
following: 

1. Field testing and measurement performed in an 
environmental laboratory. 
2. The test procedures to determine: 

a. Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) or carbonaceous 
BOD (CBOD); 
b. Fecal coliform; 
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c. Total coliform; 
d. Fecal streptococci; 
e. E. coli; 
f. Enterococci;  
g. Settleable solids (SS); 
h. Total dissolved solids (TDS); 
i. Total solids (TS); 
j. Total suspended solids (TSS); 
k. Total volatile solids (TVS); and 
l. Total volatile suspended solids (TVSS). 

"Standard operating procedure (SOP)" or "SOP" means a 
written document that details the method of an operation, 
analysis or action whose techniques and procedures are 
thoroughly prescribed and which is accepted for an operation, 
analysis, or action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and 
steps. An SOP is officially approved as the method for 
performing certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"Standardized reference material (SRM)" or "SRM" means a 
certified reference material produced by the U.S. National 
Institute of Standards and Technology or other equivalent 
organization and characterized for absolute content, 
independent of analytical method. 

"System laboratory" means a noncommercial laboratory that 
analyzes samples from multiple facilities having the same 
owner.  

"TCLP" or "toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" 
means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 
Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 
SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 
method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits 
the characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 
determination of one or more characteristics or performance 
of a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 
phenomenon, process or service according to a specified 
procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 
pursuant to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means 
any method of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution 
Control Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq.); by the regulations 
promulgated under this law (9VAC5) including any method 
of analysis listed either in the definition of "reference 
method" in 9VAC5-10-20, or listed or adopted by reference 
in 9VAC5; or by any permit or order issued under and in 
accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 
pursuant to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any 
method of analysis required by the Virginia Waste 
Management Act (§ 10.1-1400 et seq.); by the regulations 
promulgated under this law (9VAC20), including any method 
of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC20; or by 

any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 
law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required 
pursuant to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any 
method of analysis required by the Virginia Water Control 
Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated 
under this law (9VAC25), including any method of analysis 
listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC25; or by any permit 
or order issued under and in accordance with this law and 
these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique 
for performing a specific measurement as documented in a 
laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 
recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute" or "TNI" means the organization 
whose standards environmental laboratories must meet to 
become accredited under 1VAC30-46, the regulation 
governing commercial environmental laboratories in Virginia. 

"Toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" or "TCLP" 
means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 
Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 
SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 
method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits 
the characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Traceability" means the property of a result of a 
measurement whereby it can be related to appropriate 
standards, generally international or national standards, 
through an unbroken chain of comparisons. 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" or "EPA" means 
the federal government agency with responsibility for 
protecting, safeguarding and improving the natural 
environment (i.e., air, water and land) upon which human life 
depends. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 
(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, 
which is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 
Program" or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to 
certify environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 
wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 
commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities 
and institutions.  

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 
appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 
purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 
use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 
distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 
with voluntary movement in a body of water.  
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1VAC30-45-50. Scope of certification. 
A. Noncommercial environmental laboratories shall be 

certified based on the general laboratory standards set out in 
Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of this chapter and on the 
specific test methods or analysis, monitoring or measurement 
required by regulatory permit or other requirement under the 
Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, Virginia Waste 
Management Act, or Virginia Water Control Law, the 
regulations promulgated under these laws, and by permits and 
orders issued under and in accordance with these laws or 
regulations. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall review alternative test methods 
and procedures for certification when these are proposed by 
the applicant laboratory. The provisions of 1VAC30-45-70 E 
and 1VAC30-45-90 B govern alternative test methods and 
procedures. 

C. Certification shall be granted for one or more fields of 
certification, including the matrix, the technology and 
methods used by the noncommercial environmental 
laboratory, and the individual analytes or analyte groups 
determined by the particular method used by the laboratory. 
1VAC30-45-60. General: certification requirements. 

A. Components of certification. The components of 
certification include review of personnel qualifications, on-
site assessment, proficiency testing, and quality systems. The 
criteria for these components, set out in Part II (1VAC30-45-
200 et seq.) of this chapter, shall be fulfilled for certification. 

B. Individual laboratory sites and mobile laboratories. 
1. Individual laboratory sites are subject to the same 
application process, assessments, and other requirements as 
environmental laboratories. Any remote laboratory sites 
are considered separate sites and subject to separate on-site 
assessments. 
2. Laboratories located at the same physical location shall 
be considered an individual laboratory site if these 
laboratories are owned by the same person, and have the 
same laboratory manager and quality system. 
3. Laboratories located at separate, noncontiguous physical 
locations may request to be considered as an individual 
laboratory site if these laboratories are owned by the same 
person and have the same laboratory manager and quality 
system.  
4. 3. A mobile laboratory, which is configured with 
equipment to perform analyses, whether associated with a 
fixed-based laboratory or not, is considered an 
environmental laboratory and shall require separate 
certification. This certification shall remain with the 
mobile laboratory and be site independent. Moving the 
configured mobile laboratory to a different site will not 
require a new or separate certification. Before performing 
analyses at each new site, the laboratory shall ensure that 
instruments and equipment have been checked for 
performance and have been calibrated. 

1VAC30-45-70. Process to apply and obtain certification. 
A. Duty to apply. All owners of noncommercial 

environmental laboratories shall apply for certification as 
specified by the provisions of this section. Applications for 
certification must be obtained from DCLS program staff by 
email at Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Timely initial applications. 
1. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 
applying for certification under this chapter for the first 
time shall submit an application to DGS-DCLS no later 
than September 29, 2009. 
2. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 
that come into existence after January 1, 2009, shall submit 
an initial application to DGS-DCLS no later than 180 
calendar days prior to beginning operation. 

C. Timely renewal applications. The owner of a certified 
noncommercial environmental laboratory shall submit an 
application for renewal of certification at least 90 calendar 
days prior to expiration of certification. 

B. Owners of noncommercial environmental laboratories 
applying for certification under this chapter for the first time 
shall submit an application to DCLS as specified under 
subsection F of this section. 

C. Renewal and reassessment. 
1. DCLS shall renew certification annually for the certified 
laboratory provided the laboratory does the following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 
b. Attests to this compliance by signing the certificate of 
compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this 
section. 
c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values as required 
by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 
d. Pays the fee required by 1VAC30-45-130. 

2. DCLS shall reassess the certified environmental 
laboratory during an on-site assessment as required by 
Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 

D. Responsibilities of the owner and operator when the 
laboratory is owned by one person and operated by another 
person. 

1. When an environmental laboratory is owned by one 
person but is operated by another person, the operator may 
submit the application for the owner. 
2. If the operator fails to submit the application, the owner 
is not relieved of his responsibility to apply for 
certification. 
3. While DGS-DCLS DCLS may notify noncommercial 
environmental laboratories of the date their applications 
are due, failure of DGS-DCLS DCLS to notify does not 
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relieve the owner of his obligation to apply under this 
chapter. 

E. Submission of applications for modifications to 
certification. An owner of a certified noncommercial 
environmental laboratory shall follow the process set out in 
1VAC30-45-90 B to add a new matrix, technology/method, 
an analyte or analyte group, modify a test method or institute 
use of a method or technology not in the laboratory's standard 
operating procedures, including alternative test methods or 
procedures to modify the laboratory's scope of certification. 

F. Contents of application. 
1. Applications shall include but not be limited to the 
following information and documents: 

a. Legal name of laboratory; 
b. Name of owner of laboratory; 
c. Name of operator of laboratory, if different than 
owner; 
d. Street address and description of location of 
laboratory; 
e. Mailing address of laboratory, if different from street 
address; 
f. Address of owner, if different from laboratory address; 
g. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 
and e-mail email, as applicable, of responsible official;  
h. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 
and e-mail email, as applicable, of laboratory manager; 
i. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number 
and e-mail email, as applicable, of designated quality 
assurance officer; 
j. Name title, and telephone number of laboratory contact 
person; 
k. Laboratory type (e.g., public water system, public 
wastewater system or combination of the two, or 
industrial (with type of industry indicated)); 
l. Laboratory hours of operation; 
m. Fields of certification (matrix, technology/method, 
and analyte/analyte group) analyte) for which 
certification is sought; 
n. Methods employed, including analytes; 
o. n. The results of the three most recent proficiency test 
studies one successful unique PT study for each field of 
proficiency testing as required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-
500 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter; 
p. o. Quality assurance manual; and 
q. Lab identification number (for renewal only); and 
r. p. For mobile laboratories, a unique vehicle 
identification number, such as a manufacturer's vehicle 
identification number (VIN#), serial number, or license 
number. 

2. Fee. The application shall include payment of the fee as 
specified in 1VAC30-45-130. 
3. Certification of compliance. 

a. The application shall include a "Certification of 
Compliance" statement signed and dated by the 
responsible official, by the quality control officer and by 
the laboratory manager. 
b. The certification of compliance shall state: "The 
applicant understands and acknowledges that the 
laboratory is required to be continually in compliance 
with the Virginia environmental laboratory certification 
program regulation (1VAC30, Chapter 45) and is subject 
to the provisions of 1VAC30-45-100 in the event of 
noncompliance. I certify under penalty of law that this 
document and all attachments were prepared under my 
direction or supervision in accordance with a system 
designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 
gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on 
my inquiry of the person or persons who manage the 
laboratory or those persons directly responsible for 
gathering and evaluating the information, the information 
submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, 
true, accurate and complete. Submitting false information 
or data shall result in denial of certification or 
decertification. I hereby further certify that I am 
authorized to sign this application." 

G. Completeness determination. 
1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine whether an 
application is complete and notify the laboratory of the 
result of such determination. During the initial certification 
period, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall provide this notice within 
90 calendar days of its receipt of a laboratory's initial 
application. Following the initial certification period, DGS-
DCLS shall provide this notice within 60 calendar days of 
DGS-DCLS's receipt of a laboratory's initial application 
and within 30 calendar days of DGS-DCLS' receipt of a 
laboratory's renewal application. 
2. An application shall be determined complete if it 
contains all the information required pursuant to subsection 
F of this section and is sufficient to evaluate the laboratory 
prior to the on-site assessment. Designating an application 
complete does not preclude DGS-DCLS DCLS from 
requesting or accepting additional information. 
3. If DGS-DCLS DCLS determines that an application is 
incomplete, DGS-DCLS's the DCLS notification of such 
determination shall explain why the application is 
incomplete and specify the additional information needed 
to make the application complete.  
4. Except during the initial certification period, if If DCLS 
makes no determination is made within 60 within 90 
calendar days of DGS-DCLS's its receipt of either (i) the 
application or (ii) additional information, in the case of an 
application determined to be incomplete, the application 
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shall be determined to be complete. During the initial 
certification period, the time period shall be 90 calendar 
days. 
5. If the laboratory has not submitted the required 
additional information within 90 days of receiving a notice 
from DGS-DCLS DCLS requesting additional information, 
DGS-DCLS DCLS may return the incomplete application 
and inform the laboratory that the application cannot be 
processed. The laboratory may then submit a new 
application. 

H. Grant of interim certification pending final determination 
on application. 

1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant a laboratory interim 
certification status under the following conditions: 

a. The laboratory's application is determined to be 
complete; 
b. The laboratory has satisfied all the requirements for 
certification, including all requests for additional 
information, with the exception of on-site assessment; 
and 
c. DGS-DCLS DCLS is unable to schedule the on-site 
assessment within 90 120 days of its determination that 
the application is complete (for initial applications) or 
before the laboratory's certification expires (for renewal 
applications). 

2. A laboratory with interim certification status shall have 
the same rights and status as a laboratory that has been 
granted certification by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 
3. Interim certification expires when DGS-DCLS DCLS 
issues a final determination on certification. 

I. On-site assessment. 1. An on-site assessment shall be 
performed and the follow-up and reporting procedures for 
such assessments shall be completed in accordance with 
Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter 
prior to issuance of a final determination on certification.  

2. Alternative on-site assessment option. If DGS-DCLS is 
unable to schedule an on-site assessment under the 
conditions of subsection H 1 c of this section, the owner of 
the applicant laboratory may use third-party on-site 
assessors instead of DGS-DCLS on-site assessors under 
the following conditions: 

a. The third-party on-site assessors are on a DGS-DCLS-
approved list of on-site assessors; and 
b. The owner of the applicant laboratory agrees to pay 
the third-party on-site assessors. 

J. Final determination on certification. 1. Upon completion 
of the certification review process and corrective action, if 
any, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant certification in 
accordance with subsection K of this section or deny 
certification in accordance with subsection L of this section. 

2. Except during the initial certification period, DGS-
DCLS shall complete action on a laboratory's application 

within nine months from the time a completed application 
is received from the laboratory. 

K. Grant of certification. 
1. When a laboratory meets the requirements specified for 
receiving certification, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall issue a 
certificate to the laboratory. The DCLS shall send the 
certificate shall be sent to the laboratory manager, and shall 
notify the responsible official shall be notified. 
2. The director of DGS-DCLS DCLS or his designee shall 
sign the certificate. The certificate shall include the 
following information: 

a. Name of owner of laboratory; 
b. Name of operator of laboratory, if different from 
owner;  
c. Name of responsible official; 
d. Address and location of laboratory; 
e. Laboratory identification number; 
f. Fields of certification (matrix, technology/method, 
analyte/analyte group) and analyte) for which 
certification is granted; 
g. Any addenda or attachments; and 
h. Issuance date and expiration date. 

3. The laboratory shall post the most recent certificate of 
certification and any addenda to the certificate issued by 
DGS-DCLS DCLS in a prominent place in the laboratory 
facility. 
4. Certification shall expire two years one year after the 
date on which certification is granted. 

L. Denial of certification. 
1. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall deny certification to an 
environmental laboratory in total if the laboratory is found 
to be falsifying any data or providing false information to 
support certification. 
2. Denial of certification in total or in part. 

a. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 
environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 
laboratory fails to do any of the following: 
(1) Pay the required fees. 
(2) Employ laboratory staff to meet the personnel 
qualifications as required by Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et 
seq.) of this chapter. 
(3) Successfully analyze and report proficiency testing 
samples as required by Part II of this chapter. 
(4) Submit a corrective action report plan in accordance 
with Part II of this chapter in response to a deficiency 
report from the on-site assessment team within the 
required 30 calendar days. 
(5) Implement the corrective actions detailed in the 
corrective action report plan within the [ time frame 
timeframe ] specified by DGS-DCLS DCLS. 
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(6) Pass required on-site assessment as specified in Part 
II of this chapter. 
(7) Implement a quality system as defined in Part II of 
this chapter. 
b. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 
environmental laboratory in total or in part if the 
laboratory's application is not determined to be complete 
within 90 calendar days following notification of 
incompleteness because the laboratory is delinquent in 
submitting information required by DGS-DCLS DCLS in 
accordance with this chapter. 
c. DGS-DCLS DCLS may deny certification to an 
environmental laboratory in total or in part if the DGS-
DCLS DCLS on-site assessment team is unable to carry 
out the on-site assessment pursuant to Article 2 
(1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter 
because a representative of the environmental laboratory 
denied the team entry during the laboratory's normal 
business hours that it specified in its application. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 
1VAC30-45-110 when denying certification to an 
environmental laboratory. 

M. Reapplication following denial of certification. 1. Upon 
denial of certification, the laboratory shall wait six months 
before reapplying for certification. 2. DGS-DCLS DCLS 
shall not waive application fees for a laboratory reapplying 
for certification. 
1VAC30-45-80. Maintaining certification. 

A. Certification remains in effect until withdrawn by DGS-
DCLS DCLS, withdrawn voluntarily at the written request of 
the certified laboratory, or until expiration of the certification 
period. To maintain certification, the certified laboratory shall 
comply with the elements listed in this section and in 
1VAC30-45-90. 

B. Quality systems. Laboratories seeking to maintain 
certification under this chapter shall assure consistency and 
promote the use of quality assurance and quality control 
procedures. Article 4 (1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of 
this chapter specifies the quality assurance and quality control 
requirements that shall be met to maintain certification. 

C. Proficiency tests. Laboratories seeking to maintain 
certification under this chapter shall perform proficiency tests 
as required under Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part 
II of this chapter. 

D. Recordkeeping and retention. All laboratory records 
associated with certification parameters shall be kept as 
provided by the requirements for records under Part II 
(1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of this chapter. These records shall 
be maintained for a minimum of three years unless the 
records are required to be maintained for a longer period by 
another section of this regulation or another regulation. All 
such records shall be available to DGS-DCLS DCLS upon 
request. 

1VAC30-45-90. Notifications and changes to certification 
elements and status. 

A. Changes to key certification criteria. The certified 
laboratory shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS in writing of any 
changes in key certification criteria within 30 calendar days 
of the change. Key certification criteria are laboratory 
ownership, location, key personnel, and major 
instrumentation. 

B. Changes to scope of certification. 
1. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 
application to add a new matrix, technology, analyte, or 
test method to a laboratory's scope of certification or to 
otherwise modify the laboratory's scope of certification by 
performing a data review. 
2. To apply, the owner of the certified laboratory shall 
submit the following to DGS-DCLS DCLS: 

a. A letter written request signed by the owner that 
briefly summarizes the addition to be made to the 
laboratory's scope of certification. 
b. Pertinent information demonstrating the laboratory's 
capability to perform the additional matrix, 
technology/method, or analyte/analyte group analyte, 
such as proficiency testing performance and quality 
control performance. 
c. A written standard operating procedure covering the 
new matrix, technology/method, or analyte/analyte group 
analyte. 

3. DGS-DCLS DCLS may approve a laboratory's 
application for modification to its scope of certification by 
performing a review of the application materials submitted, 
without an on-site assessment. The addition of a 
technology or test method requiring the use of specific 
equipment may require an on-site assessment. Other 
reviews of performance and documentation may be carried 
out by DGS-DCLS DCLS depending on the modification 
for which the laboratory applies. 
4. Within 90 calendar days of the receipt of the application 
from the certified environmental laboratory, DGS-DCLS 
DCLS shall review and determine whether the proposed 
modification may be approved.  
5. If the proposed modification to the laboratory's scope of 
certification is approved, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall amend 
the laboratory's certificate of certification. 
6. DCLS shall not send the amended certificate of 
certification to the laboratory until DCLS receives the 
payment of the fee required under 1VAC30-45-130 F 1. 

C. Change of ownership or location of laboratory. 
1. The certified laboratory shall submit a written 
notification to DGS-DCLS DCLS of the change of 
ownership or location of the laboratory within 30 calendar 
days of the change. This requirement applies only to fixed-
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based and not pertaining to change of location does not 
apply to mobile laboratories.  
2. Certification may be transferred when the legal status or 
ownership of a certified laboratory changes as long as the 
transfer does not affect the laboratory's personnel, 
equipment, or organization.  
3. If the laboratory's personnel, equipment, or organization 
are affected by the change of legal status or ownership, 
DGS-DCLS DCLS may require recertification or 
reapplication in any or all of the categories for which the 
laboratory is certified. 
4. DGS-DCLS DCLS may require an on-site assessment 
depending on the nature of the change of legal status or 
ownership. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine the 
elements of any on-site assessment required.  
5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner of 
the certified laboratory shall assure historical traceability 
of the laboratory identification numbers.  
6. 5. When there is a change in ownership, the new owner 
of the certified laboratory shall keep all records and 
analyses performed by the previous owner under his scope 
of pertaining to certification for a period of three years, or 
longer if required by other regulations. These records and 
analyses are subject to inspection by DGS-DCLS DCLS 
during this three-year period. This provision applies 
regardless of change of ownership, accountability or 
liability. 

D. Voluntary withdrawal. Any environmental laboratory 
owner who wishes to withdraw the laboratory from its 
certification status or from being certified, in total or in part, 
shall submit written notification to DGS-DCLS no later than 
30 calendar days before the end of the laboratory's 
certification term DCLS. Within 30 calendar days, DGS-
DCLS DCLS shall provide the laboratory with a written 
notice of withdrawal. 
1VAC30-45-95. Suspension of certification. 

A. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 
laboratory in total or in part to allow the laboratory time to 
correct the reason for which DCLS may withdraw 
certification. Suspension is limited to the reasons listed in 
subsection B of this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 
laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 
do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 
by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 
2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 
required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of 
this chapter. 
3. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 
(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 
Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 
5. Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification criteria 
as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

C. Process to suspend certification. 
1. When DCLS becomes aware of a cause to suspend a 
laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 
responsible official and the laboratory manager stating it 
appears to DCLS that the laboratory has failed to meet the 
1VAC30-45 standards for one or more of the reasons listed 
in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 
notification by certified mail. 
2. The DCLS notification shall do the following: 

a. Require the laboratory to provide DCLS with 
documentation of the corrective action already taken with 
regard to its failure to meet a standard under subsection B 
of this section. 
b. State the corrective action the laboratory must take and 
the time allowed for this corrective action to be 
completed in order to retain certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct 
the deficiencies for which DCLS may suspend the 
laboratory's certification.  
4. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 
DCLS is incorrect in its observations regarding potential 
suspension and give specific reasons why the laboratory 
believes DCLS should not suspend certification. The 
laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 
1VAC30-45-110, the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and Part 2A of the 
Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 
5. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 
DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct 
the problem for which it may have its certification 
suspended. 
6. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 
period provided under subdivision 5 of this subsection to 
restore certification. 
7. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 
the time period allowed or pursue options under 
subdivision 4 of this subsection, DCLS may suspend a 
laboratory in part or in total. 
8. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter if the 
laboratory's certification is suspended in part or in total. 
DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail. DCLS 
shall also notify the pertinent Virginia state agency of the 
laboratory's suspension status. 
9. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 
why suspension is not warranted in accordance with 
subdivision 4 of this subsection. 
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D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 
DCLS when certification has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 
the period of certification whichever is longer. 
2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 
analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 
certification for which DCLS has suspended certification. 
3. The environmental laboratory shall retain certification 
for the fields of certification, methods, and analytes where 
it continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 
4. The laboratory's suspended certification status shall 
change to certified when the laboratory demonstrates to 
DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 
deficiencies for which its certification was suspended. 
5. An environmental laboratory with suspended 
certification shall not have to reapply for certification if the 
cause or causes for suspension are corrected within the 
term of suspension. 
6. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 
within the term of suspension, DCLS shall decertify the 
laboratory in total or in part. 

1VAC30-45-100. Decertification. 
A. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall decertify an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying 
any data or providing false information to support 
certification. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS may decertify an environmental 
laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 
do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 
by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 
2. Complete Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing 
studies and maintain a history of at least two successful 
proficiency testing studies for each affected certified field 
of testing out of the three most recent proficiency testing 
studies as defined in as required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-
500 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 
3. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 
(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 
4. Employ staff that meet meets the personnel 
qualifications in Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part 
II of this chapter. 
5. Submit an acceptable corrective action report plan after 
two opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 
6. Implement corrective action specified in the laboratory's 
corrective action report plan as set out under 1VAC30-45-
390. 
7. Notify DGS-DCLS DCLS of any changes in key 
certification criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

8. Use accurate references to the laboratory's certification 
status in the laboratory's documentation. 
9. Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during normal 
business hours to conduct an on-site assessment required 
by Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this 
chapter. 
10. Pay the required fees specified in 1VAC30-45-130. 

C. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall follow the process specified in 
1VAC30-45-110 when decertifying an environmental 
laboratory. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 
DGS-DCLS DCLS when certification has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their certification in full shall 
return their certificate to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 
2. If a laboratory loses certification in part, an addendum to 
the certificate shall be issued by DGS-DCLS DCLS shall 
issue a revised certificate to the laboratory. 
3. When the environmental laboratory has lost certification 
in full or in part, the laboratory shall not continue to 
analyze samples or report analyses for the fields of 
certification that DCLS has decertified. 

E. After correcting the reason or cause for decertification 
under 1VAC30-45-100 subsection A or B of this section, the 
laboratory owner may reapply for certification under 
1VAC30-45-70. 
1VAC30-45-110. Procedures to deny certification, to or 
decertify a laboratory, and; appeal procedures. 

A. Notification. 
1. If DGS-DCLS believes it has grounds DCLS becomes 
aware of a cause to deny certification or to decertify an 
environmental laboratory, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall notify 
the environmental laboratory in writing of its intent to hold 
an informal fact finding under § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia in order to make a decision on the denial of 
certification or decertification this information and require 
a response from the responsible official. DGS-DCLS 
DCLS shall send this notification by certified mail to the 
responsible official and provide a copy to the manager of 
the environmental laboratory. The notice of informal fact 
finding shall provide a detailed explanation of the basis for 
the notice. 
2. For a potential denial of certification, the notice shall 
state that the laboratory has failed to meet the 1VAC30-45 
standards and shall specify one or more of the reasons for 
denial of certification under 1VAC30-45-70 L, providing a 
detailed explanation of the basis for the denial of 
certification. 
3. For a potential decertification, the notice shall state that 
the laboratory has failed to meet the 1VAC30-45 standards 
and shall specify one or more of the reasons for 
decertification under 1VAC30-45-100 A or B, providing a 
detailed explanation of the basis for decertification. 
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4. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 
DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 
incorrect in its determination. Before rendering a decision 
on decertification or denial of certification, DCLS shall 
provide the opportunity for the laboratory to meet with 
DCLS in an informal fact-finding proceeding pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 
5. If the laboratory believes DCLS to be incorrect in its 
determination, the laboratory shall provide DCLS with a 
detailed written demonstration of why DCLS should not 
deny certification to or decertify the laboratory. The 
laboratory shall include this demonstration in the response 
required under subdivision 6 of this subsection. 
6. The laboratory shall provide DCLS with a written 
response within 30 calendar days of the date of notification 
from DCLS. The laboratory shall indicate whether it 
disputes the DCLS determination provided in the agency 
notice and whether the laboratory requests an informal 
fact-finding proceeding. If the laboratory does not respond, 
DCLS shall render its case decision. 

B. Following the informal fact finding held pursuant to 
§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, the director shall render a 
decision regarding certification, and shall send this 
notification by certified mail to the responsible official and 
provide a copy to the manager of the environmental 
laboratory. If the director's decision is adverse to the 
environmental laboratory, the responsible official may appeal 
this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of the Code of 
Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of 
Virginia. 

C. The provisions of this section do not preclude informal 
discussions between DGS-DCLS and any environmental 
laboratory that has been notified of a possible denial of 
certification or of decertification. These informal discussions 
to resolve the concerns that prompted the notice shall be held 
prior to the informal fact-finding proceeding. 

B. An environmental laboratory may appeal a final decision 
by DCLS to deny certification to or decertify a laboratory 
pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 
seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

D. C. The certification status of an environmental laboratory 
appealing decertification shall not change pending the final 
decision of the appeals filed under the Virginia 
Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia) and Part 2A of the Rules of Supreme Court of 
Virginia.  
1VAC30-45-120. Exemptions. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS may grant a partial or full exemption 
from the requirements of this chapter based on compliance 
and performance. 

B. DGS-DCLS DCLS may consider granting an exemption 
if a laboratory applies for an exemption and has met all 

certification requirements for a period of four consecutive 
years. 

C. An environmental laboratory may apply for an exemption 
by submitting a request. The request shall include the 
following information: 

1. The scope of the requested exemption; 
2. Whether the exemption should be partial or total; 
3. If partial, what form the exemption will take; and 
4. Why the exemption is appropriate. 

D. Upon receiving an application for an exemption, DGS-
DCLS DCLS shall provide notice of the request for an 
exemption in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

E. The notice shall provide a 30-day comment period on the 
request and shall specify the nature of the request. 

F. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall grant or deny the exemption 
request and provide a written response to the requesting 
laboratory within 90 calendar days of receipt of the request. 

G. Exemptions granted by DGS-DCLS DCLS shall be for a 
period of no more than 24 months. 
1VAC30-45-130. Fees. 

A. General. 
1. Fees shall be submitted with all applications, including 
reapplications, for certification and all renewal applications 
for certification. Applications shall not be designated as 
complete until the fee is received by DGS-DCLS. 
Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 
applications, including reapplications, for certification. 
DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until 
it receives payment of the fee. 
2. Each certified environmental laboratory shall pay an 
annual fee to maintain its certification. DCLS shall send an 
invoice to the certified environmental laboratory. 
3. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

B. Fee computation. 
1. Fees shall be computed based on the test methods for 
which a laboratory seeks certification and on the laboratory 
type. For the purpose of fee calculation, the designations 
for the laboratory type are (i) a general environmental 
laboratory or (ii) an environmental laboratory performing 
only simple test procedures. 
2. The fee shall be the total of the base fee and the test 
category fees for the specific laboratory type to be 
certified. 
3. The test category fees cover categories for the test 
methods to be certified as specified in the laboratory's 
application. 
4. If the total of the base fee and the test category fees is 
more than the maximum fee designated for the specific 
laboratory type to be certified, the laboratory shall pay the 
maximum fee. 
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C. Laboratories B. Environmental laboratories performing 
only simple test procedures shall pay an annual fee of $600. 

1. The base fee shall be $100. 
2. The maximum fee shall be $600. 

D. General environmental laboratories. 
1. The base fee shall be $1,700. 
2. The maximum fee shall be $5,200. 

E. Test category fees. 
1. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 
certified. 
2. The fee for each category includes one or more 
analytical methods unless otherwise specified. With the 
exception of the test categories labeled oxygen demand and 
physical, test categories related to test methods for water 
are defined by 40 CFR 136.3. 
3. Fees. 

TEST CATEGORY FEE 

Oxygen demand (BOD or COD) $375 

Bacteriology $375 

Inorganic chemistry, fewer than four methods $375 

Inorganic chemistry, four or more methods $750 

Chemistry metals, one – two methods $450 

Chemistry metals, more than two methods $1,000 

Organic chemistry, fewer than four methods $600 

Organic chemistry, four or more methods  $1,200 

Aquatic toxicity, acute methods only $400 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and chronic methods $700 

Radiochemical $1,000 

Physical $375 

C. Fee computation for general environmental laboratories. 
1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 
2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 
fee and the test category fees set out in subsections D and 
E of this section. 

D. Base fees for general environmental laboratories.  
1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 
into account both the total number of methods and the total 
number of field of certification matrices for which the 
laboratory would be certified. 
2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 
base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 
for the total number of methods to be certified and then 
finding the box on that row located in the column headed 
by the total number of matrices to be certified. For 

example, DCLS charges a base fee of $1300 to a 
laboratory performing a total of eight methods for one 
matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number of 
Methods 

1 Matrix 2 Matrices 

1 - 9 $1300 $1430 

10 - 29 $1400 $1575 

30 - 99 $1550 $1825 

E. Test category fees for general environmental laboratories. 
1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for 
which a laboratory may be certified as specified in the 
laboratory's application or as certified at the time of annual 
billing. 
2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 
certified. 
3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 
certification matrices to be certified under the specific test 
category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 
inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid 
and chemical materials matrices, the fee for this test 
category would be found in the column for two matrices. 
4. The fee for each category includes one or more 
analytical methods unless otherwise specified.  
5. DCLS shall charge the test category fees set out in Table 
2. The test category fees for a laboratory are located by 
first finding the row with the total number of test methods 
for the test category to be certified. The fee to be charged 
for the test category will be found on that row in the 
column headed by the total number of matrices to be 
certified. A laboratory performing four test methods for 
inorganic chemistry in nonpotable water and solid and 
chemical materials (two matrices) would be charged a test 
category fee of $375. 
6. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that perform 
toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall pay the 
test category fees established for these types of testing in 
1VAC30-46-150. 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

Test Category 
Fees by Number of 

Matrices  

 
One  Two  

Oxygen demand $225  $335 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 
total methods $175 $265  

Bacteriology, 4 or 
more total methods $220  $330  
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Physical, 1 - 5 total 
methods $175  $265 

Physical, 6 - 10 total 
methods $220  $330  

Inorganic chemistry, 
1 - 10 total methods $250  $375 

Inorganic chemistry, 
11 - 20 total methods $315 $475  

Inorganic chemistry, 
21 - 49 total methods $394 $590  

Chemistry metals,  
1 - 5 total methods $325  $490  

Chemistry metals,  
6 - 20 total methods $410 $615  

Organic chemistry,  
1 - 5 total methods $400  $600 

Organic chemistry,  
6 - 20 total methods $500  $750 

7. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 
a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 
One matrix 
and four test 
methods 

$1300 

Test Category Fees   
One Matrix   

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology 
(2 methods) $175 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen 
demand (1 
method) 

$225 

Nonpotable 
Water Physical (1) $175 

TOTAL  $1875 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 
One matrix 
and 15 test 
methods 

$1400 

Test Category Fees   
One Matrix   

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology 
(2 methods) $175 

Nonpotable Inorganic $250 

Water chemistry  
(9 methods) 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Chemistry 
metals  
(2 methods) 

$325 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen 
demand  
(1 method) 

$225 

Nonpotable 
Water Physical (1) $175 

TOTAL  $2550 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 
Two matrices 
and 27 test 
methods 

$1575 

Test Category Fees   
One Matrix   

Nonpotable 
Water 

Bacteriology 
(4 methods) $220 

Nonpotable 
Water 

Oxygen 
demand  
(1 method) 

$225 

Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Chemistry 
metals  
(1 method) 

$325 

Two Matrices   
Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Inorganic 
chemistry  
(13 methods) 

$475 

Nonpotable 
Water and 
Solid and 
Chemical 
Materials 

Physical  
(7 methods) $330 

TOTAL  $3150 

F. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 
laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 
scope of certification under 1VAC30-45-90 B, (ii) transfer of 
ownership under 1VAC30-45-90 C, (iii) exemption under 
1VAC30-45-120, (iv) request that multiple noncontiguous 
laboratory sites be considered as one site under 1VAC30-45-
60 B 3, or (v) (iv) petition for a variance under 1VAC30-45-
140.  
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1. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies 
to modify its scope of certification as specified under 
1VAC30-45-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 
the method in subsection G of this section. 
2. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer 
fee to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee 
shall be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review 
documentation sent by the laboratory about the transfer of 
ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site assessment is 
necessary to evaluate the effect of the transfer of 
ownership. DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the 
method in subsection G of this section. If, under 1VAC30-
45-90 C, DCLS determines that the change of ownership or 
location of laboratory requires recertification of or 
reapplication by the laboratory, the laboratory shall pay the 
application fees required under this section. 
1. 3. General environmental laboratories applying for an 
exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 
application fee of $250 and if the exemption is granted, up 
to an additional $1,000 depending on the scope of the 
exemption. $700 plus an additional fee based on the actual 
time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption request. 
The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS takes 
to assess the exemption request. Laboratories performing 
only simple test procedures applying for an exemption 
under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial application fee 
of $100 and if the exemption is granted, up to an additional 
$1,000 depending on the scope of the exemption. The fee 
assessed for the scope of the exemption shall be based on 
the actual time needed for DGS-DCLS to make the 
determination $300 plus an additional fee based on the 
actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 
request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 
DCLS takes to assess the exemption request. The fee 
assessed shall be calculated using the method in subsection 
G of this section. 
2. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies 
to modify its scope of certification as specified under 
1VAC30-45-90 B, DGS-DCLS shall assess a fee 
determined by the method in subsection G of this section. 
3. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DGS-DCLS may charge a 
transfer fee to a certified laboratory that transfers 
ownership. A fee shall be charged if DGS-DCLS (i) needs 
to review documentation sent by the laboratory about the 
transfer of ownership or (ii) determines that an on-site 
assessment is necessary to evaluate the effect of the 
transfer of ownership. DGS-DCLS shall assess a fee 
determined by the method in subsection G of this section. 
If DGS-DCLS determines that a fee should be charged, the 
fee shall be a minimum of $100 and a maximum of $1,000. 
If, under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DGS-DCLS determines that 
the change of ownership or location of laboratory requires 
recertification of or reapplication by the laboratory, the 

laboratory shall pay the application fees required under this 
section. 
4. Under 1VAC30-45-60 B 3, the owner of multiple 
noncontiguous laboratories may request that DGS-DCLS 
consider these laboratories to be one site. If, as a result of 
the request being granted, DGS-DCLS needs to perform 
multiple on-site assessments, DGS-DCLS shall charge a 
fee for the additional on-site assessments. The fee shall be 
the sum of reasonable travel costs and labor charges for the 
additional on-site assessments. The labor charges will be 
determined following the method in subsection G of this 
section. 
5. 4. Under 1VAC30-45-140, any person regulated by this 
chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 
any requirement of this chapter. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall 
charge a an initial fee for the time needed of $700 plus an 
additional fee based on the actual time needed for DCLS to 
review the petition, including any on-site assessment 
required. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time 
DCLS takes to review and make a determination on the 
request for a variance. The fee shall be determined by the 
method specified in subsection G of this section.  

G. Fee determination. 
1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for 
all reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 
2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 
obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's 
annual salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes 
and insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 
1,642 (number of annual hours established by Fiscal 
Services, DGS, for billing purposes).  
3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 
multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 
the reviewer's hourly charge. 
4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 
review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 
reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

H. Out-of-state laboratories - travel costs. The owner of an 
environmental laboratory located in another state who applies 
for certification under this chapter shall also pay a fee equal 
to the reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an 
on-site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 
include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone and 
duplication charges. 

I. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged 
under subsections G and H of this section from the 
Commonwealth of Virginia reimbursement allowances and 
rates for lodging, per diem, and mileage.  

Article 2  
On-Site Assessment  

1VAC30-45-300. Frequency of on-site assessment. 
A. [ Frequency. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2771 

1. ] A comprehensive on-site assessment shall be 
conducted of each laboratory as a condition for granting 
certification initially and at renewal every two years.  
[ 2. ] DCLS shall reassess each certified laboratory [ every 
two years at least once every three years ] starting from the 
date of the previous assessment plus or minus six months. 
[ 3. DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment of a 
laboratory every two years plus or minus six months under 
any of the following circumstances: 

a. When a laboratory has received "not acceptable" PT 
results. 
b. When a laboratory's corrective action presented to 
VELAP for "not acceptable" PT studies does not identify 
and correct the root cause of the PT study failure. 
c. When DCLS has suspended certification for a 
laboratory in full or in part. 
d. When on-site observations include nonconformances 
previously identified at an on-site assessment, indicating 
the corrective action was not implemented or not 
maintained. 
e. When on-site observations include failure to qualify 
nonconforming data to the data user. 
f. When on-site observations indicate the laboratory's 
failure to monitor and maintain regulatory conformance 
in documentation, traceability, or quality control 
requirements such that data generated by the laboratory 
are of questionable quality or defensibility. ] 

B. Other on-site assessments. 
1. If DGS-DCLS DCLS identified a deficiency on a 
previous on-site assessment, the agency may conduct a 
follow-up on-site assessment. 
2. DGS-DCLS DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment 
when a laboratory applies to modify its scope of 
certification,; when a transfer of owner occurs that affects 
personnel, equipment, or the laboratory facilities,; or when 
a laboratory applies for an exemption or a variance. Any 
other change occurring in a laboratory's operations that 
might reasonably be expected to alter or impair analytical 
capability and quality may trigger an on-site assessment. 

1VAC30-45-310. Announced and unannounced on-site 
assessments. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS may conduct, at its discretion, either 
announced or unannounced on-site assessments. 

B. Advance notice of an assessment shall not be necessary. 
C. To the maximum extent practical, DGS-DCLS DCLS, 

when necessary, shall work with the owner of an 
environmental laboratory to obtain government security 
clearances for assessment personnel as far in advance as 
possible. The owner of the environmental laboratory shall 
facilitate expeditious attainment of the necessary clearances. 

D. To the maximum extent practical, assessment personnel 
shall minimize disruption of a laboratory's operations and 
take into account competing demands on the time of 
laboratory personnel. 
1VAC30-45-320. Request for records. 

Prior to the actual site visit, DGS-DCLS DCLS may request 
in writing from a laboratory those records required to be 
maintained by this chapter. 
1VAC30-45-330. Areas to be assessed. 

DGS-DCLS DCLS shall assess the laboratory against the 
personnel and quality control standards in Article 1 
(1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) and Article 4 (1VAC30-45-600 et 
seq.) of this part. The specific areas evaluated in an on-site 
assessment shall include but not be limited to: 

1. Adequacy of the laboratory facility. 
2. Organization and management of the laboratory. 
3. Qualifications and experience of laboratory personnel. 
4. Receipt, tracking and handling of samples. 
5. Quantity, condition, and performance of laboratory 
instrumentation and equipment. 
6. Preparation and traceability of calibration standards. 
7. Test methods (including the adequacy of the laboratory's 
standard operating procedures as well as confirmation of 
the analyst's adherence to SOPs, and the analyst's 
proficiency with the described task). 
8. Data reduction procedures, including an examination of 
raw data and confirmation that final reported results can be 
traced to the raw data/original observations. 
9. Quality assurance and quality control procedures, 
including adherence to the laboratory's quality assurance 
plan and adequacy of the plan. 
10. Recordkeeping. 

1VAC30-45-340. National security considerations. 
A. Assessments at facilities owned or operated by federal 

agencies or contractors may require security clearances, 
appropriate badging, or a security briefing before the 
assessment begins. 

B. The laboratory shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS in writing 
of any information that is controlled for national security 
reasons and cannot be released to the public. 
1VAC30-45-350. Arrival, admittance, and opening 
conference. 

A. Arrival. Assessment personnel shall arrive at the 
laboratory during established working hours. The laboratory 
manager (or, if unavailable, the laboratory manager's 
designee) shall be located as soon as possible after the 
assessment personnel arrive on the premises. 

B. Admittance of assessment personnel.  
1. A laboratory's refusal to admit the assessment personnel 
for an on-site assessment shall result in an automatic 
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failure of the laboratory to receive certification or loss of 
an existing certification by the laboratory, unless there are 
extenuating circumstances that are accepted and 
documented by DGS-DCLS DCLS. The team leader for 
the assessment personnel shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS 
as soon as possible after refusal of entry. 
2. DCLS shall consider any verbal or physical threat to the 
health and safety of its assessors or any overt antagonism 
towards its assessors as a refusal to admit the assessors for 
the purpose of on-site assessment. The assessors shall 
vacate the laboratory and shall notify DCLS as soon as 
possible of the circumstances of this refusal to admit. This 
refusal to admit shall result in an automatic failure of the 
laboratory to receive certification or the automatic loss of 
an existing certification by the laboratory. 

C. Health and safety. 
1. Under no circumstance, and especially as a precondition 
to gain access to a laboratory, shall assessment personnel 
be required or even allowed to sign any waiver of 
responsibility on the part of the laboratory for injuries 
incurred during an assessment. 
2. Assessment personnel shall comply with all facility and 
laboratory safety procedures. 

D. Opening conference. An opening conference shall be 
conducted and shall address the following topics: 

1. The purpose of the assessment; 
2. The identification of assessment personnel; 
3. The test methods that will be examined; 
4. Any pertinent records and procedures to be examined 
during the assessment and the names of the individuals in 
the laboratory responsible for providing assessment 
personnel with such records; 
5. The roles and responsibilities of laboratory staff and 
managers; 
6. Any special safety procedures that the laboratory may 
think necessary for the protection of assessment personnel; 
7. The standards and criteria that will be used in judging 
the adequacy of the laboratory operation; 
8. Confirmation of the tentative time for the exit 
conference; and 
9. Discussion of any questions the laboratory may have 
about the assessment process. 

1VAC30-45-380. Closing conference. 
A. Assessment personnel shall meet with representatives of 

the laboratory following the assessment for a closing 
conference. 

B. During the closing conference, assessment personnel 
shall inform the laboratory of the preliminary findings and the 
basis for such findings. The laboratory shall have an 
opportunity to provide further explanation or clarification 
relevant to the preliminary findings. If the laboratory objects 

to the preliminary findings during the closing conference, all 
objections shall be documented by the assessment personnel 
and included in the final report to DGS-DCLS DCLS. 

C. Additional problem areas may be identified in the final 
report. 

D. Any potentially illegal activity that may be the subject of 
further action shall not be discussed in the closing conference. 
1VAC30-45-390. Follow-up and reporting procedures. 

A. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall present an assessment report to 
the laboratory within 30 calendar days of the assessment. 

B. If there are deficiencies identified in the assessment 
report, the laboratory shall have 30 calendar days from the 
date of its receipt of the assessment report to provide a 
response to DGS-DCLS DCLS. This response shall be called 
a corrective action report plan. 

C. An exception to the deadlines specified in subsections A 
and B of this section may occur in appropriate circumstances. 
Two circumstances that may be considered appropriate by 
DGS-DCLS DCLS are where a possible enforcement 
investigation or other action has been initiated or where the 
laboratory shows good cause for an extension. 

D. The corrective action report plan shall include the 
following: 

1. Any objections that the laboratory has with regard to the 
assessment report; 
2. The action that the laboratory proposes to implement to 
correct each deficiency identified in the assessment report; 
and 
3. The time period required to accomplish the corrective 
action. 

E. DGS-DCLS DCLS shall determine and shall notify the 
laboratory within 30 calendar days of receipt whether the 
corrective action report plan is an acceptable response to the 
deficiencies identified in the assessment report. 

F. If the corrective action report plan (or a portion of the 
report) plan) is determined to be unacceptable to remedy the 
deficiency, DGS-DCLS DCLS shall provide written 
notification to the responsible official and manager of the 
laboratory including a detailed explanation of the basis for 
such determination. Following receipt of such notification, 
the laboratory shall have an additional 30 calendar days to 
submit a revised corrective action report plan acceptable to 
DGS-DCLS DCLS. 
1VAC30-45-400. Documentation of on-site assessment. 

A. Checklists. The checklists used by assessment personnel 
during the assessment shall become a part of DGS-DCLS's 
DCLS's file for the laboratory. 

B. Assessment report format. 
1. The final assessment report shall contain a narrative 
description of the adequacy of the laboratory as it relates to 
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the assessment standards specified in this chapter and in 
1VAC30-45-330. 
2. Assessment reports shall contain: 

a. Name of owner of the laboratory (or operator of the 
laboratory, if different from the owner); 
b. Identification of the laboratory assessed; 
c. Date of the assessment; 
d. Identification and affiliation of all assessment 
personnel; 
e. Identification of participants in the assessment process; 
f. Identification of analytes and test methods assessed; 
g. Statement of the objective of the assessment; 
h. Summary; 
i. Assessment observations, findings (including any 
deficiencies), objections noted by the laboratory, and 
requirements; and 
j. Comments and recommendations. 

3. The assessment findings and requirements shall be 
referenced to the standards in Part II (1VAC30-45-200 et 
seq.) of this chapter so that both the finding is understood 
and the specific requirement is outlined. The assessor shall 
specify the laboratory records, documents, equipment, 
procedures, or staff evaluated and the observations that 
contributed to each identified deficiency. The assessment 
report shall support with sufficient data all assessment 
findings and the overall evaluation of the laboratory. 
4. The comments and recommendations section may be 
used to convey recommendations aimed at helping the 
laboratory improve. 

C. Release of report. 
1. The assessment report shall be released initially by 
DGS-DCLS DCLS to the responsible official and the 
laboratory manager. The assessment report shall not be 
released to the public until findings of the assessment and 
the corrective actions have been finalized, all information 
relating to national security has been stricken from the 
report in accordance with prescribed procedures, and the 
report has been provided to the laboratory. 
2. Once the assessment report has been released to the 
laboratory, any member of the public may request a copy 
of the report under the requirements of the Virginia 
Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 
3. Checklists used by assessment personnel during the on-
site assessment shall be provided to the laboratory with the 
final on-site assessment report [ upon request ]. 

D. The laboratory shall have access to documentation 
pertaining to any on-site assessment of its facilities. Any 
laboratory wishing to review its files shall request such 
assistance of DGS-DCLS DCLS five days prior to visiting 
DGS-DCLS DCLS. A laboratory may request copies of its 

documents without visiting DGS-DCLS DCLS. A reasonable 
fee may be charged for copying, mailing, and staff time. 

Article 3  
Proficiency Testing  

1VAC30-45-500. Laboratory enrollment in proficiency 
testing program. 

A. Required level of participation. 
1. To be certified initially and to maintain certification, a 
laboratory shall participate in two single-blind, single-
concentration PT studies, where available, per year for 
each PT field of testing for which it seeks or wants to 
maintain certification. Laboratories applying to be certified 
for environmental toxicology (aquatic toxicity, sediment 
toxicity, or soils toxicity) shall meet the requirements of 
subdivision 3 of this subsection.  
2. Laboratories shall obtain PT samples from any PT 
provider approved under the requirements of the NELAC 
standards for proficiency test providers set out in Chapter 2 
of the 2003 standards such as NIST. For PT fields of 
testing having no approved providers listed by NELAC, 
the laboratory shall consult DGS-DCLS for an approved 
provider.  
3. Laboratories applying to be certified for environmental 
toxicology (aquatic toxicity, sediment toxicity, or soils 
toxicity). To be certified initially and to maintain 
certification, a laboratory shall participate in at least one 
PT study per year (i.e., not more than 12 months apart), 
when available, for each method code (matrix, organism, 
exposure system and endpoint) for which it seeks or wants 
to maintain certification. Laboratories seeking certification 
for aquatic toxicity testing shall meet the requirements of 
1VAC30-45-530.  
1. To be certified initially and to maintain certification, a 
laboratory shall participate in PT studies as specified in 
1VAC30-45-520 B for the fields of certification (FoC) for 
which the laboratory seeks or wants to maintain 
certification. 
2. The applicant laboratory shall obtain PT samples from a 
PT provider approved by TNI. If a PT sample is not 
available from a TNI-approved provider, the laboratory 
shall consult DCLS for an approved provider. 

B. Requesting certification. 
1. When applying for certification, the laboratory owner 
shall notify DGS-DCLS DCLS of the fields of testing 
certification for which the laboratory chooses to become 
certified and shall participate in the appropriate PT studies. 
2. For all fields of testing certification for which PT 
samples are not available, the laboratory shall ensure the 
reliability of its testing procedures by maintaining a quality 
system that meets all applicable requirements of Article 4 
(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 
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C. Reporting results. 1. Each laboratory shall authorize the 
PT study provider to release all certification and remediation 
results and "acceptable" or "not acceptable" status the results 
of the final evaluation report of the laboratory's PT study 
directly to DGS-DCLS DCLS, in addition to the laboratory. 

2. The results of all of the PT sample tests including 
"acceptable" or "not acceptable" status shall be part of the 
public record. 

1VAC30-45-510. Requirements for laboratory testing of 
PT study samples. 

A. The samples shall be analyzed and the results returned to 
the PT study provider no later than 45 calendar days from the 
scheduled study shipment date. Samples for environmental 
toxicology shall be analyzed within 45 calendar days of 
sample receipt. The laboratory shall report the result within 
45 calendar days of completion of the PT. The laboratory 
shall report the analytical results from its analysis of the PT 
study to the PT provider on or before the closing date of the 
study using the reporting format specified by the PT provider. 

B. The laboratory's management and all analysts shall 
ensure that all PT samples are managed, analyzed, and 
reported in the same manner as real environmental samples 
utilizing the same staff, methods as used for routine analysis 
of that analyte, procedures, equipment, and facilities. When 
analyzing a PT sample, the laboratory shall employ the same 
calibration, laboratory quality control and acceptance criteria, 
sequence of analytical steps, number of replicates and other 
procedures as used when analyzing routine samples.  

C. Restrictions on exchanging information. Laboratories 
shall comply with all of the following restrictions on the 
transfer of PT samples and communication of PT sample 
results prior to the time the results of the study are released. 
Laboratory management or staff shall not: 

1. Send any PT sample, or a portion of a PT sample, to 
another laboratory for any analysis for which it seeks 
certification or is certified. 
2. Knowingly receive any PT sample or portion of a PT 
sample from another laboratory for any analysis for which 
the sending laboratory seeks certification or is certified. 
3. Communicate with any individual at another laboratory 
(including intra-company communication) concerning the 
PT sample. 
4. Attempt to obtain the assigned value of any PT sample 
from their PT provider. 

D. Maintenance of records. The laboratory shall maintain 
copies of all written, printed, and electronic records, including 
but not limited to bench sheets, instrument strip charts or 
printouts, data calculations, and data reports, resulting from 
the analysis of any PT sample for three years or for as long as 
is required by the applicable regulatory program. These 
records shall include a copy of the PT study report forms used 
by the laboratory to record PT results. All of these laboratory 
records shall be made available to the DCLS assessors of 

DGS-DCLS during on-site audits assessments of the 
laboratory. 
1VAC30-45-520. PT criteria for laboratory certification. 

A. Result categories. 
1. The criteria described in this section apply individually 
to each PT field of testing FoPT, as defined by the 
laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification in its 
certification request. These criteria apply only to the PT 
portion of the overall certification standard. 
2. There are two PT result categories: "acceptable" and 
"not acceptable." 

B. Initial and continuing certification. 
1. A laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification 
shall successfully complete two PT studies one PT study 
for each requested PT field of testing within the most 
recent three rounds attempted FoC. 
2. Once a laboratory has been granted certification status, it 
shall continue to complete PT studies for each PT field of 
testing FoPT and maintain a history of at least two one 
acceptable PT studies for each PT field of testing out of the 
most recent three study each calendar year. The laboratory 
shall complete its PT studies by September 30 of each 
calendar year. 
3. For a laboratory seeking to obtain initial certification, 
the most recent three rounds attempted shall have occurred 
within 18 months of the laboratory's application date. 
When the PT sample used for initial certification was 
analyzed by the laboratory prior to the date of application, 
the analysis date of the PT sample shall be no more than 12 
months prior to the application date of certification. 
4. For a laboratory seeking initial certification, or for For a 
laboratory performing supplemental testing, the PT studies 
shall be at least 15 calendar days apart from the closing 
date of one study to the shipment date of another study for 
the same PT field of testing FoPT. 
5. For a laboratory to maintain certification, completion 
dates of successive proficiency rounds for a given PT field 
of testing shall be approximately six months apart. Failure 
to meet the semiannual schedule is regarded as a failed 
study.  
5. When the PT study result is reported by the PT provider 
as "acceptable" the environmental laboratory has satisfied 
the PT requirement. 
6. When the PT study result is "not acceptable," the 
environmental laboratory shall follow the procedure in 
subsection C of this section. 
7. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for a 
FoPT not acceptable when the laboratory makes any 
reporting error or omission that results in a nonspecific 
match between the analytical result for the FoPT and any 
criterion that identifies the laboratory or the field of 
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certification for which the PT sample was analyzed for the 
purpose of initial or continued certification. 

C. Procedure and requirements for "not acceptable" PT 
study results. 

1. When a laboratory receives a PT study result of "not 
acceptable," the laboratory shall determine the cause for 
the failure and perform and document corrective action. 
The corrective action documentation shall be completed 
within 30 days of receiving the "not acceptable" PT study 
result and be submitted to DCLS upon request. [ DCLS 
may extend the time for corrective action and 
documentation. ] 
2. Upon completion of the corrective action the laboratory 
shall perform another PT study for each FoPT that had a 
"not acceptable" result. 
3. If the laboratory successfully completes the makeup PT 
study by receiving an "acceptable" result before December 
31, DCLS shall not suspend the laboratory's certification 
for the pertinent FoC.  
4. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on the 
makeup PT study, DCLS shall notify the laboratory that 
there is cause to suspend the laboratory's certification for 
the FoC for which the PT study was "not acceptable." 
5. DCLS shall not extend the period for annual PT study 
completion beyond December 31 each year. Failure to 
satisfactorily complete a PT study [ , including any 
corrective action and makeup PT study, ] by December 31 
shall result in suspension of certification in total or in part. 
6. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on 
three successive PT studies, DCLS shall decertify the 
laboratory for the pertinent FoC until such time that the 
laboratory: 

a. Completes corrective action for all failed studies and 
submits its corrective action report to DCLS;  
b. Obtains an "acceptable" result for the PT studies; and 
c. Applies for a change to its scope of certification and 
pays applicable fees required by 1VAC30-45-90 B and 
1VAC30-45-130 F. 

7. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-45-110 in 
decertifying the laboratory. 

C. Supplemental studies. 
1. A laboratory may elect to participate in PT studies more 
frequently than required by the semiannual schedule. This 
may be desirable, for example, when a laboratory first 
applies for certification or when a laboratory fails a study 
and wishes to quickly reestablish its history of successful 
performance. 
2. These additional studies shall be reported and are 
counted and scored the same way as routinely scheduled 
studies and shall be at least 15 calendar days apart. 

D. Failed studies and corrective action. 
1. Whenever a laboratory fails a study, it shall determine 
the cause for the failure and take any necessary corrective 
action. It shall then document in its own records and 
provide to DGS-DCLS both the investigation and the 
action taken. 
2. If a laboratory fails two out of the three most recent 
studies for a given field of testing, its performance is 
considered unacceptable for that field. The laboratory shall 
then meet the requirements of initial certification as 
described in subsection B of this section. 

E. Second failed study. 
1. The PT provider reports laboratory PT performance 
results to DGS-DCLS at the same time that it reports the 
results to the laboratory. 
2. If a laboratory fails a second study out of the most recent 
three, as described in subdivision D 2 of this section, DGS-
DCLS shall take action within 60 calendar days to 
determine the certification status for the unacceptable PT 
field of testing. 

F. Scheduling of PT studies. Laboratories shall determine 
the schedule for their PT studies.  

G. D. Withdrawal from PT studies. A laboratory may 
withdraw from a PT study for an analyte or analytes or for the 
entire study if the laboratory notifies both the PT provider and 
DGS-DCLS before the closing date of the PT study. This 
does not exempt the laboratory from participating in the 
semiannual schedule. any FoPT on or before the close date of 
the study. Withdrawing from a study shall not exempt the 
laboratory from meeting the annual analysis requirements 
necessary for continued certification. 
1VAC30-45-530. Special requirements for aquatic 
toxicity. (Repealed.) 

A. Laboratories seeking certification for aquatic toxicity 
testing shall be assessed through on-site assessment and 
evaluation of EPA Discharge Monitoring Report-Quality 
Assurance (DMR-QA) test results when available. A failed 
DMR-QA endpoint shall require both of the following: 

1. A formal response to DGS-DCLS with an explanation of 
the probable cause for the endpoint failure and description 
of corrective actions to be taken (where appropriate). 
2. A decision by DGS-DCLS to accept the response or 
require additional actions on the part of the laboratory or 
by DGS-DCLS. 

B. If a laboratory's response is unacceptable and DGS-
DCLS does not require additional on-site assessments, the 
laboratory shall complete another study. Such additional 
studies shall be conducted at least 15 calendar days from the 
previous study until the results are acceptable to DGS-DCLS. 
DGS-DCLS may conduct additional on-site assessments as 
necessary based on the results of any additional studies. 
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C. When the DMR-QA whole effluent toxicity portion does 
not include all test procedures required for a permit, the 
laboratory shall perform a proficiency test for aquatic toxicity 
testing. 

D. DGS-DCLS shall not base loss of certification for aquatic 
toxicity testing solely on PT results.  

Article 4  
Quality System  

1VAC30-45-600. Quality system. 
A. This article sets out the general requirements that an 

environmental laboratory has to successfully demonstrate to 
be recognized as competent to carry out specific 
environmental tests. The environmental laboratory shall 
establish, implement and maintain a quality system based on 
the required elements contained in this article. 

B. The quality system shall be appropriate to the type, range 
and volume of testing, analysis, measurement or monitoring 
performed by the laboratory.  

C. The quality system's documentation shall be 
communicated to, understood by, available to, and 
implemented by the appropriate personnel. All personnel 
concerned with testing and calibration activities within the 
laboratory shall familiarize themselves with the quality 
documentation and implement the policies and procedures in 
their work. 

C. D. If more stringent standards or requirements are 
included in a mandated test method or by regulation, the 
laboratory shall demonstrate that such requirements are met. 
If it is not clear which standard or requirement is more 
stringent, the standard or requirement from the method or 
regulation is to be followed. 

D. E. Provisions pertaining to the management of the quality 
system appear in 1VAC30-45-610 through 1VAC30-45-700. 
Provisions pertaining to the technical requirements for the 
quality system appear in 1VAC30-45-710 through 1VAC30-
45-770. 
1VAC30-45-610. Quality manual. 

A. General. 
1. The laboratory shall document its quality system in a 
quality manual. The quality manual shall reflect all quality 
assurance and quality control practices and programs used 
by the laboratory. The required elements of the quality 
system may be described in more than one document. 
2. The quality manual shall be maintained current under 
the responsibility of the quality assurance officer. 
3. The quality manual and any related documents shall be 
communicated to, understood by, available to, and 
implemented by all laboratory personnel. 
4. The quality manual shall include but not be limited to 
the elements listed in subsection subsections B and C of 
this section. 

B. The elements of a quality manual shall include but not be 
limited to: 

1. Title page. The quality manual shall list the following 
items on the title page: 
a. 1. A document title; 
b. 2. The laboratory's full name and address; 
c. 3. The name, address (if different from above), and 
telephone number of the responsible official, laboratory 
manager, and quality assurance officer; 
d. 4. The laboratory facility or facilities covered by the 
quality manual; 
e. 5. Signed and dated concurrence, with appropriate titles, 
of the responsible official, laboratory manager, and quality 
assurance officer; and 
f. 6. The effective date of the quality manual.; 
2. 7. Table of contents. and applicable lists of references, 
glossaries, and appendices; and 
3. 8. A quality policy statement, including objectives of the 
quality system and commitment to good ethical laboratory 
practices and to upholding the requirements of this 
chapter's standards. 

C. The quality manual shall include or reference but not be 
limited to: 

4. 1. The organization and management structure of the 
laboratory, its place in any parent organization and relevant 
organizational charts. 
5. The relationship between management, technical 
operations, support services and the quality system. 
6. The capabilities of the laboratory or scope of its 
operation. 
7. 2. Job descriptions of key staff and reference to the job 
descriptions of other staff. 
8. 3. Processes or procedures for establishing that 
personnel have adequate training and experience in the 
duties they are expected to carry out and are receiving any 
needed training. 
9. Ethics policy statement developed by the laboratory. 
Processes and procedures for educating and training 
personnel in their ethical and legal responsibilities 
including the potential penalties for improper, unethical or 
illegal actions. 
10. 4. Mechanisms for ensuring that the laboratory reviews 
all new work to ensure that it has the appropriate facilities 
and resources before commencing such work.  
11. 5. Procedures to ensure that all records required by this 
chapter are retained, as well as procedures for control and 
maintenance of documentation through a document control 
system that ensures that all standard operating procedures, 
manuals, or documents clearly indicate the time period 
during which the procedure or document was in force. 
12. 6. Procedures for dealing with complaints. 
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13. 7. Procedures for audits and data review. 
14. Reference to verification 8. Verification practices that 
may include inter-laboratory comparisons, proficiency 
testing programs, use of reference materials and internal 
quality control schemes. 
15. 9. Procedures to be followed for feedback and 
corrective action whenever testing discrepancies are 
detected, or departures from documented policies and 
procedures occur. 
16. 10. The laboratory management arrangements for 
permitting departures from documented policies and 
procedures or from standard specifications when the 
departures are planned and controlled. 
17. Reference to the 11. The major equipment and 
reference measurement standards used as well as the 
physical facility and environment used by the laboratory in 
conducting tests. 
18. Reference to procedures 12. Procedures for calibration, 
verification and maintenance of equipment. 
19. 13. A list of all technology/methods under which the 
laboratory performs its certified testing.  
20. The laboratory's procedures 14. Procedures for 
achieving traceability of measurements, including 
standards. 
21. 15. Procedures for receiving, handling, storing, and 
disposing of submitted samples. 
22. Reference to procedures 16. Procedures for reporting 
analytical results. 
17. Policy addressing the use of unique electronic 
signatures, where applicable. 

C. D. Review and approval of quality manual. 
1. The quality assurance officer shall review the 
laboratory's quality assurance program, manual and any 
related documentation whenever there is any change in test 
methods employed by the laboratory, change in equipment, 
or any other change in the laboratory that affects the 
quality assurance program. 
2. The quality assurance manual shall be reviewed and 
approved by the quality assurance officer, the laboratory 
manager, and the responsible official at least annually. 

1VAC30-45-660. Required records. 
A. Sample handling. 

1. The laboratory shall maintain a record of all procedures 
to which a sample is subjected while in the possession of 
the laboratory. These shall include but are not limited to all 
records pertaining to sample preservation, identification, 
receipt, acceptance or rejection, log-in, storage and 
tracking. The laboratory shall also maintain sampling 
information on each sample. This includes time and date of 
collection, type of sample (grab or composite), type of 
container, sampling point and preservation.  

2. The laboratory shall have documented procedures for 
the receipt and retention of samples, including provisions 
necessary to protect the integrity of the samples. 

B. Laboratory support activities. The laboratory shall retain 
the following documents and data: 

1. All original raw data, whether hard copy or electronic, 
for calibrations, samples and quality control measures, 
including analysts' work sheets and data output records 
(chromatograms, strip charts, and other instrument 
response readout records). 
2. A written description or reference to the specific test 
method used that includes a description of the specific 
computational steps used to translate parametric 
observations into a reportable analytical value. 
3. Copies of final reports. 
4. Archived standard operating procedures. 
5. Correspondence relating to laboratory activities. 
6. All corrective action reports plans, audits, and audit 
responses. 
7. Proficiency test results and raw data. 
8. Results of data review, verification, and cross-checking 
procedures. 

C. Analytical records. The laboratory shall retain essential 
information associated with analytical documents, such as 
strip charts, tabular printouts, computer data files, analytical 
notebooks, and run logs. This information includes, but is not 
limited to, all manual calculations, (e.g., manual integrations); 
sample preparation; standard and reagent origin, receipt, 
preparation, and use; quality control protocols and 
assessment; and method performance criteria. 

D. Administrative records. The laboratory shall maintain the 
following administrative records: 

1. Personnel qualifications, experience and training 
records. 
2. Records of demonstration of capability for each analyst 
or work cell. 
3. A log of names, initials and signatures for all individuals 
who are responsible for signing or initialing any laboratory 
record. 

1VAC30-45-670. Audits. 
A. Internal audits. 

1. The laboratory shall arrange for annual internal audits to 
verify that its operations continue to comply with the 
requirements of the laboratory's quality system. It is the 
responsibility of the quality assurance officer to plan and 
organize audits as required by a predetermined schedule 
and requested by management. 
2. Trained and qualified personnel who are, wherever 
resources permit, independent of the activity to be audited, 
shall carry out these audits. Personnel shall not audit their 
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own activities except when it can be demonstrated that an 
effective audit will be carried out. 
3. Where the audit findings cast doubt on the correctness or 
validity of the laboratory's calibrations or test results, the 
laboratory shall take immediate corrective action. 
4. A laboratory may have an audit performed under 
contract by an outside source competent to audit the 
laboratory's operations. 

B. Managerial review. 
1. The laboratory management shall conduct a review, at 
least annually, of its quality system and its testing and 
calibration activities to ensure its continuing suitability and 
effectiveness and to introduce any necessary changes or 
improvements in the quality system and laboratory 
operations. 
2. The review shall take account of reports from 
managerial and supervisory personnel, the outcome of 
recent internal audits, assessments by external bodies, the 
results of inter-laboratory comparisons or proficiency tests, 
corrective actions and other relevant factors. 
3. The laboratory shall have a procedure for review by 
management and maintain records of review findings and 
actions. 
4. Where the staff of a laboratory is limited to a single 
analyst, a supervisor may perform a managerial review. 

C. Audit review. All audit and review findings and any 
corrective actions that arise from them shall be documented. 
The laboratory management shall ensure that these actions are 
discharged within the agreed [ time frame timeframe ] as 
indicated in the quality manual or standard operating 
procedures or both. For clarification, documentation of audit 
and review findings should be a simple procedure, essentially 
a memorandum setting out the findings of the audit and 
managerial review and any action to follow. 

D. Corrective actions. 
1. In addition to providing acceptance criteria and specific 
protocols for corrective actions in the method standard 
operating procedures, the laboratory shall implement 
general procedures to be followed to determine 
consistently when departures from documented policies, 
procedures and quality control have occurred. These 
procedures may include but are not limited to the 
following: 

a. Identify the individual or individuals responsible for 
assessing each quality control data type; 
b. Identify the individual or individuals responsible for 
initiating or recommending corrective actions or both; 
c. Define how the analyst shall treat a data set if the 
associated quality control measurements are 
unacceptable; 
d. Specify how out-of-control situations and subsequent 
corrective actions are to be documented; and 

e. Specify procedures for management (including the 
quality assurance officer) to review corrective action 
reports plans. 

2. To the extent possible, samples shall be reported only if 
all quality control measures are acceptable. If a quality 
control measure is found to be out of control, and the data 
are to be reported, all samples associated with the failed 
quality control measure shall be reported with the 
appropriate data qualifiers. 

1VAC30-45-720. Equipment and reference materials. 
A. The laboratory shall be furnished with all items of 

equipment, including reference materials, required for the 
correct performance of tests for which certification is sought. 
The laboratory shall maintain records of reference materials 
sufficient to provide proper performance of tests. In those 
cases where the laboratory needs to use equipment outside its 
permanent control it shall ensure that the relevant 
requirements of this article are met. 

B. All equipment shall be properly maintained, inspected 
and cleaned. Maintenance procedures shall be documented. 

C. Any item of the equipment that has been subjected to 
overloading or mishandling, or that gives suspect results, or 
has been shown by verification or otherwise to be defective 
shall be taken out of service immediately, clearly identified as 
being out of service and, wherever possible, stored at a 
specified place until it has been repaired and shown by 
calibration, verification or test to perform satisfactorily. The 
laboratory shall examine the effect of this defect on previous 
calibrations or tests. 

D. Each item of equipment including reference materials 
shall be labeled, marked or otherwise identified to indicate its 
calibration status. 

E. Records of each major item of equipment significant to 
the tests performed shall be maintained. These records shall 
include documentation on all routine and non-routine 
maintenance activities. The laboratory shall maintain records 
of reference materials sufficient to provide proper 
performance of tests. The records shall include: 

1. The name of the item of equipment; 
2. The manufacturer's name, type identification, and serial 
number or other unique identification; 
3. Date received and date placed in service (if available); 
4. 3. Current location, where appropriate; 
5. If available, condition when received (e.g., new, used, 
reconditioned); 
6. 4. Copy of the manufacturer's instructions, where 
available; 
7. 5. Dates and results of calibrations or verifications or 
both and date of the next calibration or verification; 
8. 6. Details of maintenance carried out to date and planned 
for the future; and 
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9. 7. History of any damage, malfunction, modification or 
repair. 

1VAC30-45-730. Test methods and standard operating 
procedures. 

A. Methods documentation. 
1. The laboratory shall have documented instructions on 
the use and operation of all relevant equipment, on the 
handling and preparation of samples, and for calibration or 
testing, where the absence of such instructions could 
jeopardize the calibrations or tests. 
2. All instructions, standards, manuals and reference data 
relevant to the work of the laboratory shall be maintained 
up to date and be readily available to the staff. 

B. Standard operating procedures (SOPs). 
1. Laboratories shall maintain SOPs that accurately reflect 
all phases of current laboratory activities such as assessing 
data integrity, corrective actions, handling customer 
complaints, and all test methods. These documents, for 
example, may be equipment manuals provided by the 
manufacturer or internally written documents. The test 
methods may be copies of published methods as long as 
any changes or selected options in the methods are 
documented and included in the laboratory methods 
manual. 
2. The SOPs shall be organized. Each SOP shall clearly 
indicate the effective date of the document, the revision 
number, and the signature or signatures of the responsible 
laboratory manager or managers. 
3. Copies of all SOPs shall be accessible to all personnel. 

C. Laboratory methods manuals. SOPs for laboratory 
methods. 

1. The laboratory shall have and maintain an in-house 
methods manual or manuals SOP for each certified analyte 
or test method. 
2. This manual may consists of copies of published or 
referenced methods or standard operating procedures that 
have been SOP may be a copy of a published or referenced 
method or may be written by the laboratory. In cases where 
modifications to the published method have been made by 
the laboratory or where the referenced test method is 
ambiguous or provides insufficient detail, these changes or 
clarifications shall be clearly described. Each test method 
shall include or reference where applicable: 

a. Identification of the test method; 
b. Applicable matrix or matrices; 
c. Method detection limit Limits of detection or 
quantitation; 
d. Scope and application, including components 
parameters to be analyzed; 
e. Summary of the test method; 
f. Definitions; 

g. Interferences; 
h. Safety; 
i. Equipment and supplies; 
j. Reagents and standards; 
k. Sample collection, preservation, shipment and storage; 
l. Quality control; 
m. Calibration and standardization; 
n. Procedure; 
o. Calculations Data analysis and calculations; 
p. Method performance; 
q. Pollution prevention; 
r. Data assessment and acceptance criteria for quality 
control measures; 
s. Corrective actions for out-of-control data; 
t. Contingencies for handling out-of-control or 
unacceptable data; 
u. Waste management; 
v. References; and 
w. Any tables, diagrams, flowcharts and validation data. 

D. Test methods. 
1. Laboratories shall use (i) promulgated test methods in 
accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations; (ii) test 
methods stated in any current permit issued by Virginia the 
State Air Pollution Control Board, the Virginia Waste 
Management Board, or the State Water Control Board; or 
(iii) alternate test procedures approved by the board issuing 
the permit or the Department of Environmental Quality, 
including applicable quality assurance requirements, and 
sample preservation, container, storage, and holding time 
requirements. [ Laboratories shall use the latest valid 
edition of a method unless it is not appropriate to do so. ]  
2. The laboratory shall use appropriate test methods and 
procedures for all tests and related activities within its 
responsibility (including sample handling, transport and 
storage, preparation and analysis). The method and 
procedures shall be consistent with the accuracy required 
and with any standard specifications relevant to the 
calibrations or tests concerned. 
3. When the use of reference test methods for a sample 
analysis is mandated, only those methods shall be used. 
4. Where test methods are employed that are not required, 
as in the Performance Based Measurement System 
approach, the methods shall be fully documented and 
validated (see subsection E of this section). 

E. Demonstration of capability. 
1. Prior to acceptance and institution of any test method, 
satisfactory initial demonstration of method capability is 
required. In general, this demonstration does not test the 
performance of the method in real world samples, but in 
the applicable and available clean quality system matrix 
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sample (a quality system matrix in which no target analytes 
or interferences are present at concentrations that impact 
the results of a specific test method), e.g. for example, 
drinking water, solids, biological tissue and air. 
Laboratories shall follow the procedure in subsection F of 
this section to demonstrate capability. 
2. Thereafter, continuing ongoing demonstration of method 
performance, such as laboratory control samples, is 
required. 
3. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a 
test method that has been in use by the laboratory before 
July 1999 for at least one year prior to applying for 
certification, and there have been no significant changes in 
instrument type, personnel or test method, the continuing 
demonstration of method performance and the analyst's 
documentation of continued proficiency shall be 
acceptable. The laboratory shall have records on file to 
demonstrate that an initial demonstration of capability is 
not required. 
4. In all cases, the laboratory shall [ complete and retain a 
certification statement and shall make the statement 
available upon request. The laboratory shall retain all 
associated supporting data necessary to reproduce the 
analytical results summarized in the certification statement 
document each demonstration of capability as required by 
subsection G of this section ].  
5. The laboratory shall complete a demonstration of 
capability each time there is a change in instrument type, 
personnel or test method, including the addition of an 
analyte to a certified test method. 
6. In laboratories with specialized work cells (a group 
consisting of analysts with specifically defined tasks that 
together perform the test method), the group as a unit shall 
meet the criteria of this subsection. This demonstration of 
capability shall be fully documented.  

F. Procedure for demonstration of capability. The following 
steps shall be performed for mandated test methods. 
However, before any results are reported using this method, 
actual sample spike results may be used to meet this standard, 
(i.e., at least four consecutive matrix spikes within the last 12 
months). For analytes that do not lend themselves to spiking, 
(e.g., TSS), the demonstration of capability may be performed 
using quality control samples. The laboratory may document 
that other approaches to demonstration of capability are 
adequate. This documentation shall be included in the 
laboratory's quality manual: 

1. A quality control (QC) sample may be obtained from an 
outside source or may be prepared by the laboratory using 
alternate source stock standards that are prepared 
independently from those used in instrument calibration. 
2. The analyte or analytes shall be diluted in a volume of 
clean quality system matrix sufficient to prepare four 

aliquots at the concentration specified, or if unspecified, to 
a concentration of 1-4 times the limit of quantitation. 
3. At least four aliquots shall be prepared and analyzed 
according to the test method either concurrently or over a 
period of days. 
4. Using all of the results, calculate the mean recovery in 
the appropriate reporting units (such as g/L) and the 
standard deviations of the population sample (n-1) (in the 
same units) for each parameter of interest. When it is not 
possible to determine mean and standard deviations, such 
as for presence or absence of the analyte and logarithmic 
values, the laboratory shall assess performance against 
established and documented criteria. 
5. Compare the information from subdivision 4 of this 
subsection to the corresponding acceptance criteria for 
precision and accuracy in the test method (if applicable) or 
in laboratory-generated acceptance criteria (if there are not 
established mandatory criteria). If all parameters meet the 
acceptance criteria, the analysis of actual samples may 
begin. If any one of the parameters do not meet the 
acceptance criteria, the performance is unacceptable for 
that parameter. 
6. When one or more of the tested parameters fail at least 
one of the acceptance criteria, the analyst shall proceed 
according to either subdivision 6 a or 6 b below of this 
subsection. 

a. Locate and correct the source of the problem and 
repeat the test for all parameters of interest beginning 
with subdivision 3 of this subsection. 
b. Beginning with subdivision 3 of this subsection, repeat 
the test for all parameters that failed to meet criteria. 
Repeated failure, however, confirms a general problem 
with the measurement system. If this occurs, locate and 
correct the source of the problem and repeat the test for 
all compounds of interest beginning with subdivision 3 of 
this subsection. 

[ G. Certification statement. The following certification 
statement shall be used to document the completion of each 
demonstration of capability. A copy of the certification 
statement shall be retained in the personnel records of each 
affected employee. 

Demonstration of Capability  
Certification Statement  

Date: Page __of __ 
Laboratory Name:  
Laboratory Address: 
Analyst(s) Name(s): 
Matrix: 
(examples: laboratory pure water, soil, air, solid, biological 
tissue) 
Method number, SOP#, Rev#, and Analyte, or Class of 
Analytes or Measured Parameters 
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(examples: barium by 200.7, trace metals by 6010 B, benzene 
by 8021 B, etc.) 
We, the undersigned, CERTIFY that: 

1. The analysts identified above, using the cited test 
method(s), which is in use at this facility for the analyses 
of samples under the Virginia Environmental Laboratory 
Certification Program, have met the Demonstration of 
Capability. 
2. The test method(s) was performed by the analyst(s) 
identified on this certification. 
3. A copy of the test method(s) and the laboratory-specific 
SOPs are available for all personnel on-site. 
4. The data associated with the demonstration capability 
are true, accurate, complete and self-explanatory(1). 
5. All raw data (including a copy of this certification form) 
necessary to reconstruct and validate these analyses have 
been retained at the facility, and that the associated 
information is well organized and available for review by 
authorized assessors. 

Laboratory Manager's Name and Title________________ 
Signature________________ Date_______ 
Quality Assurance Officer's Name___________________ 
Signature________________ Date_______ 
(1)True - consistent with supporting data. Accurate - based on 
good laboratory practices consistent with sound scientific 
principles and practices. Complete - includes the results of all 
supporting performance testing. Self-explanatory - data 
properly labeled and stored so that the results are clear and 
require no additional explanation.  

G. Documentation of demonstration of capability. The 
laboratory shall document each demonstration of capability so 
that the following information shall be readily available for 
each employee: 

1. Analyst or analysts involved in preparation and analysis. 
2. Matrix. 
3. Analytes, class of analytes, measured parameters, or 
organisms. 
4. Identification of methods performed. 
5. Identification of laboratory-specific SOP used for 
analysis, including revision number. 
6. Date or dates of analysis. 
7. All raw data necessary to reconstruct and validate the 
analyses. 
8. Data evaluation required by subsection F of this 
section. ]  

H. Sample aliquots. Where sampling (as in obtaining sample 
aliquots from a submitted sample) is carried out as part of the 
test method, the laboratory shall use documented procedures 
and appropriate techniques to obtain representative 
subsamples. 

I. Data verification. Calculations and data transfers shall be 
subject to appropriate checks. The laboratory shall establish 
standard operating procedures to ensure that (i) the reported 
data are free from transcription and calculation errors and (ii) 
all quality control measures are reviewed and evaluated 
before data are reported. The laboratory also shall establish 
standard operating procedures addressing manual calculations 
including manual integrations. 

J. Documentation and labeling of standards and reagents. 
Documented procedures shall exist for the reception and 
storage of consumable materials used for the technical 
operations of the laboratory. 

1. The laboratory shall retain records for all standards, 
reagents, reference materials and media including the 
manufacturer/vendor, the manufacturer's Certificate of 
Analysis or purity (if available), the date of receipt, 
recommended storage conditions, and an expiration date 
after which the material shall not be used unless its 
reliability is verified by the laboratory. 
2. Original containers (such as provided by the 
manufacturer or vendor) shall be labeled with an expiration 
date if this date is provided by the manufacturer or vendor. 
3. Records shall be maintained on standard and reference 
material preparation. These records shall indicate 
traceability to purchased stocks or neat compounds, 
reference to the method of preparation, date of preparation, 
expiration date and preparer's initials. 
4. Sufficient identification of containers of prepared 
reagents and standards shall be provided to ensure proper 
performance of tests. 

K. Computers and electronic data related requirements. 
Where computers, automated equipment or microprocessors 
are used for the capture, processing, manipulation, recording, 
reporting, storage or retrieval of test data, the laboratory shall 
ensure the following: 

1. Computer software developed by the user is documented 
in sufficient detail and is suitably validated as being 
adequate for use. 
2. Procedures are established and implemented for 
protecting the integrity of data, such as integrity of data 
entry or capture, data storage, data transmission and data 
processing. 
3. Computer and automated equipment are maintained to 
ensure proper functioning and provided with the 
environmental and operating conditions necessary to 
maintain the integrity of calibration and test data. 
4. Appropriate procedures are established and implemented 
for the maintenance of security of data including the 
prevention of unauthorized access to, and the unauthorized 
amendment of, computer records. 
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1VAC30-45-740. Measurement traceability and 
calibration. 

A. General requirements. All equipment used for 
environmental tests, including equipment for subsidiary 
measurements (e.g., for environmental conditions) having a 
significant effect on the accuracy or validity of the result of 
the environmental test or sampling shall be calibrated before 
being put into service and on a continuing basis. The 
laboratory shall have an established program and procedure 
for the calibration of its equipment. This includes balances, 
thermistors, thermometers and control standards. Such a 
program shall include a system for selecting, using, 
calibrating, checking, controlling and maintaining 
measurement standards, reference materials used as 
measurement standards, and measuring and test equipment 
used to perform environmental tests.  

B. Traceability of calibration. 
1. The laboratory shall ensure that the equipment used can 
provide the uncertainty of measurement needed. 
2. The overall program of calibration or verification or 
both and validation of equipment shall be designed and 
operated so as to ensure that measurements made by the 
laboratory are traceable to national standards of 
measurement. 
3. Where traceability of measurements to the International 
System of Units (SI) is not possible or not relevant, the 
same requirements for traceability to, for example, 
certified reference materials, agreed methods and/or or 
consensus standards, are required. The laboratory shall 
provide satisfactory evidence of correlation of results, for 
example by participation in a suitable program of inter-
laboratory comparisons, proficiency testing, or 
independent analysis. 

C. Reference standards and reference materials.  
1. Reference standards. The laboratory shall have a 
program and procedure for the calibration of its reference 
standards. Reference standards of measurement shall be 
calibrated by a body that can provide traceability as 
described in subsection B of this section. Such reference 
standards of measurement held by the laboratory (such as 
Class S or equivalent weights or traceable thermometers) 
shall be used for calibration only and for no other purpose, 
unless it can be demonstrated that their performance as 
reference standards would not be invalidated. Where 
commercially available, this traceability shall be to a 
national standard of measurement. 
2. Reference materials. Reference materials shall, where 
commercially available, be traceable to SI units of 
measurement, or to certified reference materials. Where 
possible, traceability shall be to national or international 
standards of measurement, or to national or international 
standard reference materials. Internal reference materials 

shall be checked as far as is technically and economically 
practicable.  

D. Calibration. Calibration requirements are divided into 
two parts: (i) requirements for analytical support equipment 
and (ii) requirements for instrument calibration. In addition, 
the requirements for instrument calibration are divided into 
initial instrument calibration and continuing instrument 
calibration verification. 

1. Support equipment. These standards apply to all devices 
that may not be the actual test instrument, but are 
necessary to support laboratory operations. These include 
but are not limited to balances, ovens, refrigerators, 
freezers, incubators, water baths, temperature measuring 
devices (including thermometers and thermistors), 
thermal/pressure sample preparation devices and 
volumetric dispensing devices (such as Eppendorf®, or 
automatic dilutor or dispensing devices) if quantitative 
results are dependent on their accuracy, as in standard 
preparation and dispensing or dilution into a specified 
volume. 

a. All support equipment shall be maintained in proper 
working order. The records of all repair and maintenance 
activities, including service calls, shall be kept. 
b. All support equipment shall be calibrated or verified at 
least annually, using NIST traceable references when 
available, over the entire range of use. The results of such 
calibration shall be within the specifications required of 
the application for which this equipment is used. If not, 
the laboratory shall either (i) remove the equipment from 
service until repaired or (ii) maintain records of 
established correction factors to correct all 
measurements. 
c. Raw data records shall be retained to document 
equipment performance. 
d. Prior to use on each working day On each day the 
equipment is used, balances, ovens, refrigerators, 
freezers, and water baths shall be checked in the expected 
use range, with NIST traceable references where 
available. The acceptability for use or continued use shall 
be according to the needs of the analysis or application 
for which the equipment is being used. 
e. Mechanical volumetric dispensing devices including 
burettes (except Class A glassware) shall be checked for 
accuracy on at least a quarterly use basis. Glass 
microliter syringes are to be considered in the same 
manner as Class A glassware, but shall come with a 
certificate attesting to established accuracy or the 
accuracy shall be initially demonstrated and documented 
by the laboratory. 
f. For chemical tests, the temperature, cycle time and 
pressure of each run of autoclaves shall be documented 
by the use of appropriate chemical indicators or 
temperature recorders and pressure gauges. 
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g. For biological tests that employ autoclave sterilization, 
the following requirements apply: 
(1) The performance of each autoclave shall be initially 
evaluated by establishing its functional properties and 
performance, for example heat distribution characteristics 
with respect to typical uses. Autoclaves shall meet 
specified temperature tolerances. Pressure cookers fitted 
only with a pressure gauge are not recommended for 
sterilization of media or decontamination of wastes. 
(2) Records of autoclave operations including 
temperature and time shall be maintained. This shall be 
done for every cycle. Acceptance and rejection criteria 
shall be established and used to evaluate the autoclave 
efficiency and effectiveness. 

2. Instrument calibration. 
a. This standard specifies the essential elements that 
define the procedures and documentation for initial 
instrument calibration and continuing instrument 
calibration verification to ensure that the data shall be of 
known quality and be appropriate for a given regulation 
or decision. This standard does not specify detailed 
procedural steps for calibration, but establishes the 
essential elements for selection of the appropriate 
technique or techniques. If more stringent standards or 
requirements are included in a mandated test method or 
by regulation, the laboratory shall demonstrate that such 
requirements are met. If it is not apparent which standard 
is more stringent, then the requirements of the regulation 
or mandated test method are to be followed. 
b. Initial instrument calibrations. The following items are 
essential elements of initial instrument calibration: 
(1) The laboratory shall include or reference the details 
of the initial instrument calibration procedures, including 
calculations, integrations, acceptance criteria and 
associated statistics in the standard operating procedure 
for the test method. When initial instrument calibration 
procedures are referenced in the test method, then the 
laboratory shall retain the referenced material and make 
it available for review. 
(2) The laboratory shall retain sufficient raw data records 
to permit reconstruction of the initial instrument 
calibration, (e.g., calibration date, test method, 
instrument, analysis date, each analyte name, analyst's 
initials or signature, concentration and response, 
calibration curve or response factor, or unique equation 
or coefficient used to reduce instrument responses to 
concentration). 
(3) Sample results shall be quantitated from the initial 
instrument calibration and may not be quantitated from 
any continuing instrument calibration verification unless 
otherwise required by regulation, method, or program. 
(4) All initial instrument calibrations shall be verified 
with a standard obtained from a second manufacturer or 

lot. Traceability shall be to a national standard, when 
available. This element does not apply to laboratories 
performing only simple test procedures. 
(5) Criteria for the acceptance of an initial instrument 
calibration shall be established, (e.g., correlation 
coefficient and relative percent difference). The criteria 
used shall be 0.995 or greater for the calibration 
coefficient unless a different criterion is included in the 
method being used. 
(6) Results of samples not bracketed by initial calibration 
standards (within calibration range) shall be reported as 
having less certainty, (e.g., defined qualifiers or flags or 
explained in the case narrative). The lowest calibration 
standard shall be above the detection limit. 
(7) If the initial instrument calibration results are outside 
established acceptance criteria, corrective actions shall be 
performed. Data associated with an unacceptable initial 
instrument calibration shall not be reported. 
(8) Calibration standards shall include concentrations at 
or below the regulatory limit or decision level, if these 
limits or levels are known by the laboratory, unless these 
concentrations are below the laboratory's demonstrated 
detection limits. 
(9) If a reference or mandated method does not specify 
the number of calibration standards, the minimum 
number is two, not including blanks or a zero standard. 
The laboratory shall have a standard operating procedure 
for determining the number of points for establishing the 
initial instrument calibration. 
c. Continuing instrument calibration verification. 
(1) When an initial instrument calibration is not 
performed on the day of analysis, the validity of the 
initial calibration shall be verified prior to sample 
analyses by a continuing instrument calibration check 
with each analytical batch. This provision does not apply 
to laboratories performing only simple test procedures. 
(2) The following items are essential elements of 
continuing instrument calibration verification: 
(a) The laboratory shall include or reference the details of 
the continuing instrument calibration procedure, 
calculations and associated statistics in the standard 
operating procedure for the test method. 
(b) The laboratory shall verify calibration for each 
compound, element, or other discrete chemical species, 
except for multicomponent analytes such as Aroclors, 
Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons, or Toxaphene where a 
representative chemical related substance or mixture can 
be used.  
(c) The laboratory shall perform a continuing instrument 
calibration verification as follows: 
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(i) At the beginning and end of each analytical batch. If 
an internal standard is used, only one verification needs 
to be performed at the beginning of the analytical batch; 
(ii) Whenever it is expected that the analytical system 
may be out of calibration or might not meet the 
verification acceptance criteria; 
(iii) If the time period for calibration or the most previous 
calibration verification has expired; or 
(iv) For analytical systems that contain a calibration 
verification requirement.  
(d) Sufficient raw data records shall be retained to permit 
reconstruction of the continuing instrument calibration 
verification, (e.g., or test method, instrument, analysis 
date, each analyte name, concentration and response, 
calibration curve or response factor, or unique equations 
or coefficients used to convert instrument responses into 
concentrations). Continuing calibration verification 
records shall explicitly connect the continuing 
verification data to the initial instrument calibration. 
(e) Criteria for the acceptance of a continuing instrument 
calibration verification shall be established, (e.g., percent 
recovery or relative percent difference). 
(f) If the continuing instrument calibration verification 
results obtained are outside established acceptance 
criteria, corrective actions shall be performed. If routine 
corrective action procedures fail to produce a second 
consecutive (immediate) calibration verification within 
acceptance criteria, then either the laboratory has to 
demonstrate acceptable performance after corrective 
action with two consecutive successful calibration 
verifications, or a new initial instrument calibration shall 
be performed. If the laboratory has not verified 
calibration, sample analyses shall not occur until the 
analytical system is calibrated or calibration verified. If 
samples are analyzed using a system on which the 
calibration has not yet been verified, the results shall be 
flagged. Data associated with an unacceptable calibration 
verification may be fully useable under the following 
special conditions: 
(i) When the acceptance criteria for the continuing 
calibration verification are exceeded high, (i.e., high 
bias,) and there are associated samples that are 
nondetects, then those nondetects may be reported. 
Otherwise the samples affected by the unacceptable 
calibration verification shall be reanalyzed after a new 
calibration curve has been established, evaluated and 
accepted. 
(ii) When the acceptance criteria for the continuing 
calibration verification are exceeded low, (i.e., low bias,) 
those sample results may be reported if they exceed a 
maximum regulatory limit or decision level. Otherwise 
the samples affected by the unacceptable verification 

shall be reanalyzed after a new calibration curve has been 
established, evaluated and accepted. 

1VAC30-45-750. Quality assurance. 
A. General. The laboratory shall have quality control 

procedures for monitoring the validity of environmental tests 
undertaken. The resulting data shall be recorded in such a 
way that trends are detectable and, where practicable, 
statistical techniques shall be applied to the reviewing of the 
results. This monitoring shall be planned and reviewed and 
may include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Regular use of certified reference materials and/or or 
internal quality control using secondary reference materials 
or both. 
2. Participation in interlaboratory comparison or 
proficiency testing program. 
3. Replicate tests using the same or different methods. 
4. Retesting of retained samples. 
5. Correlation of results for different characteristics of a 
sample (for example (e.g., total phosphate should be 
greater than or equal to orthophosphate). 

B. Essential quality control procedures. The general quality 
control principles in [ subsections subsection ] C [ through F ] 
of this section shall apply, where applicable, to all 
environmental laboratories. The manner in which they are 
implemented is dependent on the types of tests performed by 
the laboratory. 1VAC30-45-760 through 1VAC30-45-829 
specify quality control requirements for specific test types. 
1VAC30-45-770 through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-45-790 
through 1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 through 
1VAC30-45-818 specify quality control requirements for 
chemical testing, microbiological testing, and air testing, 
respectively. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that 
analyze environmental samples using other types of testing 
such as toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall meet 
the quality control standards for the specific method and the 
specific type of testing in the 2009 TNI Standards for 
Environmental Laboratories. The standards for any given test 
type shall assure that the applicable principles are addressed. 

C. All laboratories shall have detailed written protocols in 
place to monitor the following quality controls: 

1. Positive and negative controls to monitor tests such as 
blanks, spikes, reference toxicants. 
2. Tests to define the variability or repeatability of the 
laboratory results or both such as replicates. 
3. Measures to assure the accuracy of the test method 
including calibration or continuing calibrations or both, use 
of certified reference materials, proficiency test samples, or 
other measures. 
4. Measures to evaluate test method capability, such as 
method detection limits and quantitation limits or range of 
applicability such as linearity. 
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5. Selection of appropriate formulae to reduce raw data to 
final results such as regression analysis, comparison to 
internal and external standard calculations, and statistical 
analyses. 
6. Selection and use of reagents and standards of 
appropriate quality. 
7. Measures to assure the selectivity of the test for its 
intended purpose. 
8. Measures to assure constant and consistent test 
conditions (both instrumental and environmental) where 
required by the test method such as temperature, humidity, 
light, or specific instrument conditions. 

1VAC30-45-760. Quality control requirements. 
A. General. 

1. The quality control protocols specified by the 
laboratory's method manual SOPs shall be followed 
(1VAC30-45-730 C). The laboratory shall ensure that 
either the (i) applicable essential standards outlined in this 
section through 1VAC30-45-829 1VAC30-45-775, 
1VAC30-45-791 through 1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-
45-811 or (ii) mandated methods or regulations, whichever 
are more stringent, are incorporated into their method 
manuals SOPs. When it is not apparent which is more 
stringent, the quality control controls in the mandated 
method or regulations is are to be followed.  
2. All quality control measures shall be assessed and 
evaluated on an ongoing basis and quality control 
acceptance criteria shall be used to determine the validity 
of the data. The laboratory shall have procedures for the 
development of acceptance/rejection criteria where no 
method or regulatory criteria exists. 

B. Initial test method evaluation. For all test methods other 
than toxicity and microbiology, the requirements of 
subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection apply. For toxicity and 
microbiology testing, the initial test method evaluation 
requirements are contained in 1VAC30-45-780 through 
1VAC30-45-788 and 1VAC30-45-790 through 1VAC30-45-
798, respectively. For the evaluation of precision and bias 
(subdivision 3 of this subsection), the requirements of 
subdivision 3 a of this subsection apply to standard methods. 
The requirements of subdivision 3 b of this subsection apply 
to the methods referenced in that subdivision. 

1. Limit of detection (LOD). 
a. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the 
method for each target analyte of concern in the quality 
system matrices. All sample processing steps of the 
analytical method shall be included in the determination 
of the LOD. 
b. The validity of the LOD shall be confirmed by 
qualitative identification of the [ analyte(s) analyte ] in a 
quality control sample in each quality system matrix 
containing the analyte at no more than two to three times 
the LOD for single analyte tests and one to four times the 

LOD for multiple analyte tests. This verification shall be 
performed on every instrument that is to be used for 
analysis of samples and reporting of data. 
c. An LOD study is not required for any component for 
which spiking solutions or quality control samples are 
not available such as temperature, or, when test results 
are not to be reported to the LOD (versus the limit of 
quantitation or working range of instrument calibration), 
according to 1VAC30-45-771, 1VAC30-45-805, and 
1VAC30-45-814, and 1VAC30-45-826. Where an LOD 
study is not performed, the laboratory may not report a 
value below the limit of quantitation. 

2. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 
a. The laboratory shall determine the LOQ for each 
analyte of concern according to a defined, documented 
procedure. 
b. The LOQ study is not required for any component or 
property for which spiking solutions or quality control 
samples are not commercially available or otherwise 
inappropriate (e.g., pH). 
c. The validity of the LOQ shall be confirmed by 
successful analysis of a QC sample containing the 
analytes of concern in each quality system matrix one to 
two times the claimed LOQ. A successful analysis is one 
where the recovery of each analyte is within the 
established test method acceptance criteria or client data 
quality objectives for accuracy. This single analysis is 
not required if the bias and precision of the measurement 
system is evaluated at the LOQ. 

3. Evaluation of precision and bias. 
a. Standard methods. The laboratory shall evaluate the 
precision and bias of a standard method for each analyte 
of concern for each quality system matrix according to 
either of the following: 
(1) The single-concentration four-replicate recovery 
study procedures in 1VAC30-45-730 F; or 
(2) An alternate procedure documented in the quality 
manual when the analyte cannot be spiked into the 
sample matrix and quality control samples are not 
commercially available. 
b. Nonstandard methods. 
(1) For laboratory-developed test methods or nonstandard 
test methods that were not in use by the laboratory before 
July 2003, the laboratory shall have a documented 
procedure to evaluate precision and bias. The laboratory 
shall also compare results of the precision and bias 
measurements with criteria given in the reference method 
or criteria established by the laboratory. 
(2) Precision and bias measurements shall evaluate the 
method across the analytical calibration range of the 
method. The laboratory shall also evaluate precision and 
bias in the relevant quality system matrices and shall 
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process the samples through the entire measurement 
system for each analyte of interest. 
(3) The following are examples of a systematic approach 
to evaluate precision and bias: 
(a) Example 1. Analyze QC samples in triplicate 
containing the analytes of concern at or near the limit of 
quantitation, at the upper-range of the calibration (upper 
20%) and at a mid-range concentration. Process these 
samples on different days as three sets of samples 
through the entire measurement system for each analyte 
of interest. Each day one QC sample at each 
concentration is analyzed. A separate method blank shall 
be subjected to the analytical method along with the QC 
samples on each of the three days. (Note that the three 
samples at the LOQ concentration can demonstrate 
sensitivity as well.) For each analyte, calculate the mean 
recovery for each day, for each level over days, and for 
all nine samples. Calculate the relative standard deviation 
for each of the separate means obtained. Compare the 
standard deviations for the different days and the 
standard deviations for the different concentrations. If the 
different standard deviations are all statistically 
insignificant (e.g., F-test), then compare the overall mean 
and standard deviation with the established criteria from 
above. 
(b) Example 2. A validation protocol such as the Tier I, 
Tier II, and Tier III requirements in U.S. EPA Office of 
Water's Alternate Test Procedure (ATP) approval 
process. 

4. Evaluation of selectivity. The laboratory shall evaluate 
selectivity by following the checks established within the 
method. These checks may include mass spectral tuning, 
second column confirmation, ICP inter-element 
interference checks, chromatography retention time 
windows, sample blanks, spectrochemical absorption or 
fluorescence profiles, co-precipitation evaluations, and 
electrode response factors.  

1VAC30-45-770. Chemical testing: positive and negative 
controls. 

A. Negative control – method performance. 
1. Purpose. The method blank is used to assess the 
preparation batch for possible contamination during the 
preparation and processing steps. The method blank shall 
be processed along with and under the same conditions as 
the associated samples to include all steps of the analytical 
procedure. Procedures shall be in place to determine if a 
method blank is contaminated. Any affected samples 
associated with a contaminated method blank shall be 
reprocessed for analysis or the results reported with 
appropriate data qualifying codes. 
2. Frequency. The method blank shall be analyzed at a 
minimum of one per preparation batch. In those instances 
for which no separate preparation method is used 

(example: (e.g., volatiles in water) the batch shall be 
defined as environmental samples that are analyzed 
together with the same method and personnel, using the 
same lots of reagents, not to exceed the analysis of 20 
environmental samples.  
3. Composition. The method blank shall consist of a 
quality system matrix that is similar to the associated 
samples and is known to be free of the analytes of interest. 
4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. While the goal 
is to have no detectable contaminants, each method blank 
shall be critically evaluated as to the nature of the 
interference and the effect on the analysis of each sample 
within the batch. The source of contamination shall be 
investigated and measures taken to minimize or eliminate 
the problem and affected samples reprocessed or data shall 
be appropriately qualified if: 

a. The concentration of a targeted analyte in the blank is 
at or above the reporting limit as established by the test 
method or by regulation, and is greater than 1/10 of the 
amount measured in any sample. 
b. The blank contamination otherwise affects the sample 
results as per the test method requirements or the 
individual project data quality objectives. 
c. When a blank is determined to be contaminated, the 
cause shall be investigated and measures taken to 
minimize or eliminate the problem. Samples associated 
with a contaminated blank shall be evaluated as to the 
best corrective action for the samples (e.g., reprocessing 
or data qualifying codes). In all cases the corrective 
action shall be documented. 

B. Positive control – method performance. Laboratory 
control sample (LCS). 

1. Purpose. The LCS is used to evaluate the performance of 
the total analytical system, including all preparation and 
analysis steps. Results of the LCS are compared to 
established criteria and, if found to be outside of these 
criteria, indicates that the analytical system is "out of 
control." Any affected samples associated with an out of 
control LCS shall be reprocessed for re-analysis or the 
results reported with appropriate data qualifying codes. 
2. Frequency. The LCS shall be analyzed at a minimum of 
one per preparation batch. Exceptions would be for those 
analytes for which no spiking solutions are available such 
as total suspended solids, total dissolved solids, total 
volatile solids, total solids, pH, color, odor, temperature, 
dissolved oxygen or turbidity. In those instances for which 
no separate preparation method is used (example: volatiles 
in water) the batch shall be defined as environmental 
samples that are analyzed together with the same method 
and personnel, using the same lots of reagents, not to 
exceed the analysis of 20 environmental samples. 
3. Composition. The LCS is a quality system matrix, 
known to be free of analytes of interest, spiked with known 
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and verified concentrations of analytes. NOTE: the matrix 
spike may be used in place of this control as long as the 
acceptance criteria are as stringent as for the LCS. 
Alternatively the LCS may consist of a media containing 
known and verified concentrations of analytes or as 
Certified Reference Material (CRM). All analyte 
concentrations shall be within the calibration range of the 
methods. The following shall be used in choosing 
components for the spike mixtures: 
The components to be spiked shall be as specified by the 
mandated test method or other regulatory requirement or as 
requested by the client. In the absence of specified spiking 
components the laboratory shall spike per the following: 

a. For those components that interfere with an accurate 
assessment such as spiking simultaneously with technical 
chlordane, toxaphene and PCBs, the spike should be 
chosen that represents the chemistries and elution 
patterns of the components to be reported. 
b. For those test methods that have extremely long lists 
of analytes, a representative number may be chosen. The 
analytes selected should be representative of all analytes 
reported. The following criteria shall be used for 
determining the minimum number of analytes to be 
spiked. However, the laboratory shall insure that all 
targeted components are included in the spike mixture 
over a two-year period. For methods that include 1-10 
targets, spike all components; for methods that include 
11-20 targets, spike at least 10% 10 components or 80%, 
whichever is greater; and for methods with more than 20 
targets, spike at least 16 components. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 
a. The results of the individual batch LCS are calculated 
in percent recovery or other appropriate statistical 
technique that allows comparison to established 
acceptance criteria. The laboratory shall document the 
calculation. 
b. The individual LCS is compared to the acceptance 
criteria as published in the mandated test method. Where 
there are no established criteria, the laboratory shall 
determine internal criteria and document the method used 
to establish the limits or utilize client specified 
assessment criteria. 
c. A LCS that is determined to be within the criteria 
effectively establishes that the analytical system is in 
control and validates system performance for the samples 
in the associated batch. Samples analyzed along with a 
LCS determined to be "out of control" shall be 
considered suspect and the samples reprocessed and re-
analyzed or the data reported with appropriate data 
qualifying codes. 

5. If a large number of analytes are in the LCS, it becomes 
statistically likely that a few will be outside control limits. 
This may not indicate that the system is out of control, 

therefore corrective action may not be necessary. Upper 
and lower marginal exceedance (ME) limits can be 
established to determine when corrective action is 
necessary. A ME is defined as being beyond the LCS 
control limit (3 standard deviations), but within the ME 
limits. ME limits are between 3 and 4 standard deviations 
around the mean. 

a. The number of allowable marginal exceedances is 
based on the number of analytes in the LCS. If more 
analytes exceed the LCS control limits than is allowed, or 
if any one analyte exceeds the ME limits, the LCS fails 
and corrective action is necessary. This marginal 
exceedance approach is relevant for methods with long 
lists of analytes. It will not apply to target analyte lists 
with fewer than 11 analytes. 
b. The number of allowable marginal exceedances is as 
follows: 

Number of analytes in 
LCS 

Number of analytes 
allowed in ME of the 

LCS control limit 

Greater than 90 Five 

71-90 Four 

51-70 Three 

31-50 Two 

11-30 One 

Fewer than 11 None 

c. Marginal exceedances shall be random. If the same 
analyte exceeds the LCS control limit repeatedly, it is an 
indication of a systemic problem. The source of the error 
shall be located and corrective action taken. Laboratories 
shall have a written procedure to monitor the application 
of marginal exceedance allowance to the LCS to ensure 
random behavior. 

C. Sample specific controls - general. 
1. The laboratory shall document procedures for 
determining the effect of the sample matrix on method 
performance. These procedures relate to the analyses of 
quality system matrix specific Quality Control (QC) 
samples and are designed as data quality indicators for a 
specific sample using the designated test method. These 
controls alone are not used to judge laboratory 
performance. 
2. Examples of matrix specific QC include: Matrix Spike 
(MS); Matrix Spike Duplicate (MSD); sample duplicates; 
and surrogate spikes. The laboratory shall have procedures 
in place for tracking, managing, and handling matrix 
specific QC criteria including spiking appropriate 
components at appropriate concentrations, calculating 
recoveries and relative percent difference, evaluating and 
reporting results based on performance of the QC samples. 
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D. Sample specific controls - matrix spike and matrix spike 
duplicates. 

1. Purpose. Matrix specific QC samples indicate the effect 
of the sample matrix on the precision and accuracy of the 
results generated using the selected method. The 
information from these controls is sample/matrix specific 
and would not normally be used to determine the validity 
of the entire batch. 
2. Frequency. The frequency of the analysis of matrix 
specific samples shall be determined as part of a systematic 
planning process (e.g., Data Quality Objectives) or as 
specified by the test method. 
3. Composition. The components to be spiked shall be as 
specified by the mandated test method. Any permit 
specified analytes, as specified by regulation or client 
requested analytes shall also be included. If there are no 
specified components, the laboratory shall spike per the 
following: 

a. For those components that interfere with an accurate 
assessment such as spiking simultaneously with technical 
chlordane, toxaphene and PCBs, the spike should be 
chosen that represents the chemistries and elution 
patterns of the components to be reported. 
b. For those test methods that have extremely long lists 
of analytes, a representative number may be chosen using 
the following criteria for choosing the number of analytes 
to be spiked. However, the laboratory shall insure that all 
targeted components are included in the spike mixture 
over a two-year period.  
(1) For methods that include 1-10 targets, spike all 
components; 
(2) For methods that include 11-20 targets, spike at least 
10% 10 components or 80%, whichever is greater; 
(3) For methods with more than 20 targets, spike at least 
16 components. 

4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 
a. The results from matrix spike/matrix spike duplicate 
are primarily designed to assess the precision and 
accuracy of analytical results in a given matrix and are 
expressed as percent recovery (%R), relative percent 
difference (RPD), or other appropriate statistical 
technique that allows comparison to established 
acceptance criteria. The laboratory shall document the 
calculation for %R, RPD or other statistical treatment 
used.  
b. The results are compared to the acceptance criteria as 
published in the mandated test method. Where there are 
no established criteria, the laboratory shall determine 
internal criteria and document the method used to 
establish the limits. For matrix spike results outside 
established criteria corrective action shall be documented 
or the data reported with appropriate data qualifying 
codes.  

E. Sample specific controls - matrix duplicates. 
1. Purpose. Matrix duplicates are defined as replicate 
aliquots of the same sample taken through the entire 
analytical procedure. The results from this analysis indicate 
the precision of the results for the specific sample using the 
selected method. The matrix duplicate provides a usable 
measure of precision only when target analytes are found 
in the sample chosen for duplication.  
2. Frequency. The frequency of the analysis of matrix 
duplicates may be determined as part of a systematic 
planning process (e.g., Data Quality Objectives) or as 
specified by the mandated test method. 
3. Composition. Matrix duplicates are performed on 
replicate aliquots of actual samples. The composition is 
usually not known.  
4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. 

a. The results from matrix duplicates are primarily 
designed to assess the precision of analytical results in a 
given matrix and are expressed as relative percent 
difference (RPD) or another statistical treatment (e.g., 
absolute differences). The laboratory shall document the 
calculation for relative percent difference or other 
statistical treatments. 
b. Results are compared to the acceptance criteria as 
published in the mandated test method. Where there are 
no established criteria, the laboratory shall determine 
internal criteria and document the method used to 
establish the limits. For matrix duplicates results outside 
established criteria corrective action shall be documented 
or the data reported with appropriate data qualifying 
codes. 

F. Sample specific controls - surrogate spikes. 
1. Purpose. Surrogates are used most often in organic 
chromatography test methods and are chosen to reflect the 
chemistries of the targeted components of the method. 
Added prior to sample preparation/extraction, they provide 
a measure of recovery for every sample matrix. 
2. Frequency. Except where the matrix precludes its use or 
when not commercially available, surrogate compounds 
shall be added to all samples, standards, and blanks for all 
appropriate test methods.  
3. Composition. Surrogate compounds are chosen to 
represent the various chemistries of the target analytes in 
the method or [ MQO measurement quality objectives ]. 
They are often specified by the mandated method and are 
deliberately chosen for their being unlikely to occur as an 
environmental contaminant. Often this is accomplished by 
using deuterated analogs of select compounds. 
4. Evaluation criteria and corrective action. The results are 
compared to the acceptance criteria as published in the 
mandated test method. Where there are no established 
criteria, the laboratory should determine internal criteria 
and document the method used to establish the limits. 
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Surrogates outside the acceptance criteria shall be 
evaluated for the effect indicated for the individual sample 
results. Data quality objectives or other site-specific 
requirements may guide the appropriate corrective action. 
Results reported from analyses with surrogate recoveries 
outside the acceptance criteria should include appropriate 
data qualifiers. 

1VAC30-45-771. Chemical testing: limit of detection and 
limit of quantitation. 

A. General. All procedures used shall be documented. 
Documentation shall include the quality system matrix type. 
All supporting data shall be retained. 

B. Limit of detection (LOD). The laboratory shall utilize a 
test method that provides an LOD that is appropriate and 
relevant for the intended use of the data. An LOD is not 
required for a test method when test results are not reported 
outside of the calibration range. LODs shall be determined by 
the protocol in the mandated test method or applicable 
regulation. If the protocol for determining LODs is not 
specified, the selection of the procedure shall reflect 
instrument limitations and the intended application of the test 
method. 

1. The LOD shall be initially determined for the 
compounds of interest in each test method in a quality 
system matrix in which there are no target analytes or 
interferences at a concentration that would impact the 
results. Alternatively the LOD shall be determined in the 
quality system matrix of interest (see definition of matrix). 
2. LODs shall be determined each time there is a change in 
the test method that affects how the test is performed, or 
when a change in instrumentation occurs that affects the 
sensitivity of the analysis. 
3. The laboratory shall have established procedures to 
relate LOD with LOQ. 
4. 3. The LOD shall be verified annually for each quality 
system matrix, method and analyte according to the 
procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 1. 

C. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 
1. Any established LOQ shall be above the LOD. 
2. The LOQ shall be verified annually for each quality 
system matrix, method and analyte according to the 
procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 2. Alternatively, 
the annual LOQ verification is not required if the LOD is 
reevaluated or verified according to subdivision B [ 4 3 ] of 
this section. 

1VAC30-45-775. Chemical testing: constant and 
consistent test conditions. 

A. The laboratory shall assure that the test instruments 
consistently operate within the specifications required of the 
application for which the equipment is used. 

B. Glassware cleaning. Glassware shall be cleaned to meet 
the sensitivity of the test method. 

C. B. Any cleaning and storage procedures that are not 
specified by the test method shall be documented in 
laboratory records and SOPs. 
1VAC30-45-780. Toxicity testing: general. (Repealed.) 

These standards apply to laboratories measuring the toxicity 
and/or bioaccumulation of contaminants in effluents (aquatic 
toxicity), receiving waters, sediments, elutriates, leachates 
and soils. In addition to the essential quality control standards 
set out in 1VAC30-45-781 through 1VAC30-45-788, some 
methods may have additional or other requirements based on 
factors such as the type of quality system matrix evaluated. 
1VAC30-45-781. Toxicity testing: positive and negative 
controls. (Repealed.) 

A. Positive control. Reference toxicant tests demonstrate a 
laboratory's ability to obtain consistent results with the test 
method and evaluate the overall health and sensitivity of test 
organisms over time. 

1. The laboratory shall demonstrate its ability to obtain 
consistent results with standard reference toxicants (SRT) 
and complete an initial Demonstration of Capability 
(DOC) in order to attain accreditation in toxicity testing 
methods. 

a. An initial DOC shall consist of five or more acceptable 
SRT tests for each test method, species and endpoint with 
different batches of organisms. Appropriate negative 
controls (water, sediment, or soil) shall be tested at the 
frequency and duration specified in the test method. 
Initial DOCs shall be prepared in accordance with the 
requirements of 1VAC30-45-730 F.  
b. Initial DOC is established by maintenance of SRT test 
results on control charts. A laboratory shall record the 
control performance and statistical endpoints (such as 
NOEC or ECp) for each method species and endpoint on 
control charts. Initial DOC is established where 95% of 
the test results required in subdivision A 1 a of this 
section fall within the control limits established in 
accordance with subdivision A 1 c of this section and 
meet test acceptability criteria (TAC). The laboratory 
shall evaluate precision (i.e., coefficient of variation 
(CV)) or sensitivity (i.e., statistical minimum significant 
difference (SMSD) measures; see subdivision A 1 d of 
this section) for these tests against method-specific or, 
lacking the former, laboratory-derived criteria to 
determine validity of the initial DOC. 
c. For endpoints that are point estimates (ICp, ECp), 
control charts are constructed by plotting the cumulative 
mean and the control limits that consist of the upper and 
lower 95% confidence limits (+/- 2 standard deviations). 
In case of highly variable point estimates that exceed 
method-specific criteria, the control chart limits are 
adjusted accordingly. For endpoints from hypothesis tests 
(NOEC, NOAEC), the values are plotted directly and the 
control limits consist of one concentration interval above 
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and below the concentration representing the central 
tendency (i.e., the mode). 
d. For endpoints that are point estimates, the cumulative 
mean CV is calculated and for endpoints from hypothesis 
tests, the SMSD is calculated. These values are 
maintained on a control chart. 

2. Ongoing laboratory performance shall be demonstrated 
by routine SRT testing for each test method and species 
and endpoint in accordance with the minimum frequency 
requirements specified in subdivision A 3 of this section. 

a. Intralaboratory precision is determined on an ongoing 
basis through the use of control charts as established in 
subdivision A 1 b of this section. The control charts shall 
be plotted as point estimate values, such as EC25 for 
chronic tests and LC50 for acute tests, or as appropriate 
hypothesis test values, such as the NOEC or NOAEC, 
over time within a laboratory. 
b. After initial laboratory DOC is determined, the control 
limits and CV for an individual test method, endpoints 
and species shall be adjusted as additional test results are 
obtained. After 20 data points are collected for a test 
method and species, the control chart is maintained using 
only the last 20 data points, i.e., each successive mean 
value and control limit is calculated using only the last 20 
values.  
c. Control chart limits are expected to be exceeded 
occasionally regardless of how well a laboratory 
performs. Acceptance limits for point estimates (ICp, 
ECp) that are based on 95% confidence limits should 
theoretically be exceeded for one in 20 tests. Depending 
on the dilution factor and test sensitivity, control charts 
based on hypothesis test values (NOEC, NOAEC) may 
be expected to be exceeded on a similar frequency. Test 
results that fall outside of control chart limits at a 
frequency of 5.0% or less, or that fall just outside control 
chart limits (especially in the case of highly proficient 
laboratories that may develop relatively narrow 
acceptance limits over time), are not rejected de facto. 
Such data are evaluated in comparison with control chart 
characteristics including the width of the acceptance 
limits and the degree of departure of the value from 
acceptance limits. 
d. Consistent with the test methods used, laboratories 
shall develop acceptance/rejection policies for SRT data 
that consider the source of test organisms, the direction 
of the deviation, test dilution factor, test sensitivity (for 
hypothesis test values), testing frequency, out-of-control 
test frequency, relative width of acceptance limits, inter-
test CV, and degree of difference between test results and 
acceptance limits. 
e. In the case of reference toxicant data that fails to meet 
control chart acceptance criteria, the test data are 
examined for defects, corrective action taken, and the test 

repeated if necessary, using a different batch of 
organisms or the data is qualified. 

3. The frequency of ongoing laboratory reference toxicant 
testing shall be as follows unless the method specifically 
requires less frequent SRT tests (e.g., sediment tests): 

a. For test methods conducted at a frequency of monthly 
or greater, SRT tests shall be conducted at an ongoing 
frequency of monthly.  
b. For test methods and species commonly used in the 
laboratory, but that are tested at a frequency of less than 
monthly, SRT tests shall be conducted concurrently with 
the environmental test.  
c. If the test organisms are obtained from an outside 
source the sensitivity of each batch of organisms received 
from a supplier shall be determined via a concurrent SRT 
test unless the supplier can provide control chart data for 
the last five SRT tests using the same SRT and test 
conditions. Supplied SRT data may not be older than six 
months. 
d. The DOC for an analyst shall be consistent with 
1VAC30-45-220 B but the frequency need not exceed the 
method-specified requirements and subdivision A 3 a and 
A 3 b of this section. 

4. These standards do not currently specify a particular 
reference toxicant and dilution series. If the permitting 
authority identifies a reference toxicant or dilution series 
for a particular test, the laboratory shall follow the 
specified requirements. All reference toxicant tests 
conducted for a given test method and species shall use the 
same reference toxicant, test concentrations, dilution water 
and data analysis methods. A dilution factor of 0.5x or 
greater shall be used for both acute and chronic tests.  
5. The reference toxicant tests shall be conducted 
following the same procedures as the environmental 
toxicity tests for which the precision is being evaluated, 
unless otherwise specified in the test method (for example, 
10-day sediment tests employ 96-h water-only reference 
toxicant tests). The test duration, laboratory dilution water, 
feeding, organism age, range and density, test volumes, 
renewal frequency, water quality measurements, and the 
number of test concentrations, replicates and organisms per 
replicate shall be the same as specified for the 
environmental toxicity test. 

B. Negative control: control, brine control, control sediment, 
control soil or dilution water. 

1. The standards for the use, type and frequency of testing 
of negative controls are specified by the test methods and 
by permit or regulation and shall be followed. A negative 
control is included with each test to evaluate test 
performance and the health and sensitivity of the specific 
batch of organisms. 
2. Appropriate additional negative controls shall be 
included when sample adjustments (for example, addition 
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of thiosulfate for dechlorination) or solvent carriers are 
used in the test. 
3. Test acceptability criteria (TAC). The test acceptability 
criteria specified in the test method shall be achieved for 
both the reference toxicant and the effluent or 
environmental sample toxicity test. The criteria shall be 
calculated and shall meet the method specified 
requirements for performing toxicity tests. 

1VAC30-45-782. Toxicity testing: variability and/or 
reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

Intralaboratory precision shall be determined on an ongoing 
basis through the use of further reference toxicant tests and 
related control charts as described in 1VAC30-45-840 A. 
1VAC30-45-783. Toxicity testing: accuracy. (Repealed.) 

This principle is not applicable to toxicity testing. 
1VAC30-45-784. Toxicity testing: test sensitivity. 
(Repealed.) 

A. The statistical minimum significant difference (SMSD) 
shall be calculated according to the formula specified by the 
test method and reported with the test results. 

B. Point estimates: (LCp, ICp, or ECp) Confidence intervals 
shall be reported as a measure of the precision around the 
point estimate value, when the calculation is possible. 

C. The SMSD shall be calculated and reported for only 
hypothesis test values, such as the NOEC or NOAEC.  
1VAC30-45-785. Toxicity testing: selection of appropriate 
statistical analysis methods. (Repealed.) 

A. If required, methods of data analysis and endpoints are 
specified by language in the regulation, permit or the test 
method. 

B. Dose response curves. The data shall be plotted in the 
form of a curve relating the dose of the chemical or 
concentration of sample to cumulative percentage of test 
organisms demonstrating a response such as death. 
Evaluation criteria shall be established for interpretation of 
concentration or dose response curves. 
1VAC30-45-786. Toxicity testing: selection and use of 
reagents and standards. (Repealed.) 

A. The grade of all reagents used in toxicity tests is specified 
in the test method except the reference standard. All reference 
standards shall be prepared from chemicals that are analytical 
reagent grade or better. The preparation of all standards and 
reference toxicants shall be documented. 

B. All standards and reagents associated with chemical 
measurements, such as dissolved oxygen, pH or specific 
conductance, shall comply with the standards outlined in 
1VAC30-45-740 D 1 d.  

C. Only reagent-grade water collected from distillation or 
deionization units is used to prepare reagents. 
1VAC30-45-787. Toxicity testing: selectivity. (Repealed.) 

The permit or regulation specifies the selectivity of the test. 

1VAC30-45-788. Toxicity testing: constant and consistent 
test conditions. (Repealed.) 

A. If closed refrigerator-sized incubators are used, culturing 
and testing of organisms shall be separated to avoid 
cross-contamination. 

B. Laboratory space shall be adequate for the types and 
numbers of tests performed. The building shall provide 
adequate cooling, heating and illumination for conducting 
testing and culturing; hot and cold running water shall be 
available for cleaning equipment. 

C. Air used for aeration of test solutions, dilution waters and 
cultures shall be free of oil and fumes. 

D. The laboratory or a contracted outside expert shall 
positively identify test organisms to species on an annual 
basis. The taxonomic reference (citation and page(s)) and the 
names(s) of the taxonomic expert(s) shall be kept on file at 
the laboratory. When organisms are obtained from an outside 
source, the supplier shall provide this same information. 

E. Instruments used for routine support measurements of 
chemical and physical parameters such as pH, DO, 
conductivity, salinity, alkalinity, hardness, chlorine, 
ammonia, and weight shall be calibrated, and/or standardized 
per manufacturer's instructions. As these are support 
measurements, only the calibration and verification 
requirements specified at 1VAC30-45-740 D 1 apply. All 
measurements and calibrations shall be documented. 

F. Test temperature shall be maintained as specified for the 
test method. Temperature control equipment shall be 
adequate to maintain the required test temperature(s). The 
average daily temperature of the test solutions shall be 
maintained within the method-specified range. The minimum 
frequency of measurement shall be once per 24-hour period. 
The test temperature for continuous-flow toxicity tests shall 
be recorded and monitored continuously. Where electronic 
data loggers are used, temperature shall be monitored at a 
frequency sufficient to capture temporal variations of the 
environmental control system. 

G. Reagent-grade water, prepared by any combination of 
distillation, reverse osmosis, ion exchange, activated carbon 
and particle filtration, shall meet the method specified 
requirements. 

H. The quality of the standard dilution water used for testing 
or culturing shall be sufficient to allow satisfactory survival, 
growth and reproduction of the test species as demonstrated 
by routine reference toxicant tests and negative control 
performance. Water used for culturing and testing shall be 
analyzed for toxic metals and organics whenever the 
minimum acceptability criteria for control survival, growth or 
reproduction are not met and no other cause, such as 
contaminated glassware or poor stock, can be identified. It is 
recognized that the analyte lists of some methods manuals 
may not include all potential toxicants, are based on estimates 
of chemical toxicity available at the time of publication and 
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may specify detection limits that are not achievable in all 
matrices. However, for those analytes not listed, or for which 
the measured concentration or limit of detection is greater 
than the method-specified limit, the laboratory shall 
demonstrate that the analyte at the measured concentration or 
reported limit of detection does not exceed one-tenth of the 
expected chronic value for the most sensitive species tested 
and/or cultured. The expected chronic value is based on 
professional judgment and the best available scientific data. 
The "USEPA Ambient Water Quality Criteria Documents" 
and the EPA AQUIRE database provide guidance and data on 
acceptability and toxicity of individual metals and organic 
compounds. 

I. The quality of the food used for testing or culturing shall 
be sufficient to allow satisfactory survival, growth and 
reproduction of the test species as demonstrated by routine 
reference toxicant tests and negative control performance. 
The laboratory shall have written procedures for the 
evaluation of food acceptance. 

J. A subset of organisms used in bioaccumulation tests shall 
be analyzed at the start of the test (baseline) for the target 
compounds to be measured in the bioaccumulation tests.  

K. Test chamber size and test solution volume shall be as 
specified in the test method. All test chambers used in a test 
shall be identical. 

L. Test organisms shall be fed the quantity and type food or 
nutrients specified in the test method. They shall also be fed 
at the intervals specified in the test methods. 

M. All organisms in a test shall be from the same source. 
Where available certified seeds are used for soil tests. 

N. All organisms used in tests, or used as broodstock to 
produce neonate test organisms (for example cladocerans and 
larval fish), shall appear healthy, show no signs of stress or 
disease and exhibit acceptable survival (90% or greater) 
during the 24-hour period immediately preceding use in tests. 

O. All materials used for test chambers, culture tanks, 
tubing, etc., and coming in contact with test samples, 
solutions, control water, sediment or soil or food shall be 
nontoxic and cleaned as described in the test methods. 
Materials shall not reduce or add to sample toxicity. 
Appropriate materials for use in toxicity testing and culturing 
are described in the referenced manuals.  

P. Light intensity shall be maintained as specified in the 
methods manuals. Measurements shall be made and recorded 
on a yearly basis. Photoperiod shall be maintained as 
specified in the test methods and shall be documented at least 
quarterly. For algal and plant tests, the light intensity shall be 
measured and recorded at the start of each test. 

Q. The testing laboratory shall document the health and 
culturing conditions of all organisms used for testing. Such 
documentation shall include culture conditions (e.g., salinity, 
hardness, temperature, pH) and observations of any stress, 
disease or mortality. When organisms are obtained from an 

outside source, the laboratory shall obtain written 
documentation of these water quality parameters and 
biological observations for each lot of organism received. 
These observations shall adequately address the 24-hour time 
period referenced in subsection N of this section. The 
laboratory shall also record each of these observations and 
water quality parameters upon the arrival of the organisms at 
the testing laboratory.  

R. Age and the age range of the test organisms shall be as 
specified in the test method. Supporting information, such as 
hatch dates and times, times of brood releases and metrics 
(for example, chironomid head capsule width) shall be 
documented. 

S. The maximum holding time of effluents (elapsed time 
from sample collection to first use in a test) shall not exceed 
36 hours; samples may be used for renewal up to 72 hours 
after first use except as prescribed by the method and 
approved by the regulatory agency having authority for 
program oversight.  

T. All samples shall be chilled to 0 to 6°C during or 
immediately after collection except as prescribed by the 
method.  

U. Organisms used in a given test shall be from the same 
batch.  

V. All tests shall have the minimum number of replicates 
per treatment as prescribed by the method.  

W. The control population of Ceriodaphnia in chronic 
effluent or receiving water tests shall contain no more than 
20% males. 

X. The culturing of C. dubia shall be adequate such that 
blocking by parentage can be established. 

Y. Dissolved oxygen and pH in aquatic tests shall be within 
acceptable range at test initiation and aeration (minimal) is 
provided to tests if, and only if, acceptable dissolved oxygen 
concentrations cannot be otherwise maintained or if specified 
by the test method. 

Z. Test soils or sediments shall be within the geochemical 
tolerance range of the test organism. 

AA. An individual test may be conditionally acceptable if 
temperature, dissolved oxygen, pH and other specified 
conditions fall outside specifications, depending on the 
degree of the departure and the objectives of the tests (see test 
conditions and test acceptability criteria specified for each 
test method). 
1VAC30-45-791. Microbiology testing: sterility checks 
and blanks, positive and negative controls. 

A. Sterility checks and blanks. The laboratory shall 
demonstrate that the filtration equipment and filters, sample 
containers, media and reagents have not been contaminated 
through improper handling or preparation, inadequate 
sterilization, or environmental exposure. 
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1. A sterility blank shall be analyzed for each lot of pre-
prepared, ready-to-use medium (including 
chromofluorogenic reagent) and for each batch of medium 
prepared in the laboratory. This shall be done prior to first 
use of the medium. 
2. For filtration technique, the laboratory shall conduct one 
beginning and one ending sterility check for each 
laboratory sterilized filtration unit used in a filtration 
series. The filtration series may include single or multiple 
filtration units, which have been sterilized prior to 
beginning the series. For presterilized single use funnels a 
sterility check shall be performed on one funnel per lot. 
The filtration series is considered ended when more than 
30 minutes elapses between successive filtrations. During a 
filtration series, filter funnels shall be rinsed with three 20-
30 ml portions of sterile rinse water after each sample 
filtration. In addition, laboratories shall insert a sterility 
blank after every 10 samples or sanitize filtration units by 
UV light after each sample filtration. 
3. For pour plate technique, sterility blanks of the medium 
shall be made by pouring, at a minimum, one uninoculated 
plate for each lot of pre-prepared, ready-to-use media and 
for each batch of medium prepared in the laboratory. 
4. Sterility checks on sample containers shall be performed 
on at least one container for each lot of purchased, 
presterilized containers with nonselective growth media. 
For containers prepared and sterilized in the laboratory, a 
sterility check shall be performed on one container per 
sterilized batch with nonselective growth media. 
5. A sterility blank shall be performed on each batch of 
dilution water prepared in the laboratory and on each batch 
of pre-prepared, ready-to-use dilution water with 
nonselective growth media. 
6. At least one filter from each new lot of membrane filters 
shall be checked for sterility with nonselective growth 
media. 

B. Positive controls. 
1. Positive culture controls demonstrate that the medium 
can support the growth of the target [ organism(s) 
organism ], and that the medium produces the specified or 
expected reaction to the target [ organism(s) organism ]. 
2. Each preprepared, ready-to-use lot of medium (including 
chromofluorogenic reagent) and each batch of medium 
prepared in the laboratory shall be tested and demonstrate a 
known positive response. This shall be done prior to first 
use of the medium. 

C. Negative controls. The provisions of this subsection shall 
not apply to wastewater treatment plants.  

1. Negative culture controls demonstrate that the medium 
does not support the growth of [ non-target nontarget ] 
organisms or does not demonstrate the typical positive 
reaction of the target organism(s) organism or organisms. 

2. Each pre-prepared, ready-to-use lot of selective medium 
(including chromofluorogenic reagent) and each batch of 
selective medium prepared in the laboratory shall be 
analyzed with one or more known negative culture 
controls, (i.e., nontarget organisms,) as appropriate to the 
method. This shall be done prior to first use of the medium. 

1VAC30-45-796. Microbiology testing: quality of 
standards, reagents, and media. 

A. The laboratory shall ensure that the quality of the 
reagents and media used is appropriate for the test concerned. 

B. Culture media may be prepared from commercial 
dehydrated powders or may be purchased ready to use. The 
laboratory may prepare media from basic ingredients when 
commercial media are not available or when it can be 
demonstrated that commercial media do not provide adequate 
results. Media prepared by the laboratory from basic 
ingredients shall be tested for performance (e.g., for 
selectivity, sensitivity, sterility, growth promotion, growth 
inhibition) prior to first use. Detailed testing criteria 
information shall be defined in either the laboratory's test 
methods, SOPs, quality manual, or similar documentation. 

C. Reagents, commercial dehydrated powders and media 
shall be used within the shelf-life of the product and shall be 
documented according to 1VAC30-45-730 J. 

D. Distilled water, deionized water or reverse osmosis 
produced water free from bactericidal and inhibitory 
substances shall be used in the preparation of media, solutions 
and buffers. The quality of the water shall be monitored for 
chlorine residual, specific conductance, and heterotrophic 
bacteria plate count monthly (when in use), when 
maintenance is performed on the water treatment system, or 
at startup after a period of disuse longer than one month.  

E. Analysis for metals and the Bacteriological Water Quality 
Test (to determine presence of toxic agents or growth 
promoting substances) shall be performed annually. Results 
of these analyses shall meet the specifications of the required 
method and records of analyses shall be maintained for three 
years. (An exception to performing the Bacteriological Water 
Quality Test shall be given to laboratories that can supply 
documentation to show that their water source meets the 
criteria, as specified by the method, for Type I or Type II 
reagent water.) 

F. Media, solutions and reagents shall be prepared, used and 
stored according to a documented procedure following the 
manufacturer's instructions or the test method. 
Documentation for media prepared in the laboratory shall 
include date of preparation, preparer's initials, type and 
amount of media prepared, manufacturer and lot number, 
final pH of the media, and expiration date. Documentation for 
media purchased pre-prepared, ready to use shall include 
manufacturer, lot number, type and amount of media 
received, date of receipt, expiration date of the media, and pH 
of the media. 
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1VAC30-45-798. Microbiology testing: constant and 
consistent test conditions. 

A. Laboratory facilities. Floors and work surfaces shall be 
nonabsorbent and easy to clean and disinfect. Work surfaces 
shall be adequately sealed. Laboratories shall provide 
sufficient storage space, and shall be clean and free from dust 
accumulation. Plants, food, and drink shall be prohibited from 
the laboratory work area. 

B. Laboratory equipment. 
1. Temperature measuring devices. Temperature measuring 
devices such as liquid-in-glass thermometers, 
thermocouples, and platinum resistance thermometers used 
in incubators, autoclaves and other equipment shall be the 
appropriate quality to meet specification(s) specifications 
in the test method. The graduation of the temperature 
measuring devices shall be appropriate for the required 
accuracy of measurement and they shall be calibrated to 
national or international standards for temperature (see 
1VAC30-45-740 C). Calibration shall be done at least 
annually. 
2. Autoclaves. 

a. The performance of each autoclave shall be initially 
evaluated by establishing its functional properties and 
performance, for example, heat distribution 
characteristics with respect to typical uses. Autoclaves 
shall meet specified temperature tolerances. Pressure 
cookers shall not be used for sterilization of growth 
media. 
b. Demonstration of sterilization temperature shall be 
provided by use of continuous temperature recording 
device or by use of a maximum registering thermometer 
with every cycle. Appropriate biological indicators shall 
be used once per month to determine effective 
sterilization. Temperature sensitive tape shall be used 
with the contents of each autoclave run to indicate that 
the autoclave contents have been processed. 
c. Records of autoclave operations shall be maintained 
for every cycle. Records shall include date, contents, 
maximum temperature reached, pressure, time in 
sterilization mode, total run time (may be recorded as 
time in and time out) and analyst's initials.  
d. Autoclave maintenance shall be performed annually, 
either internally or by service contract, shall be 
performed annually and shall include a pressure check 
and calibration of temperature device. Records of the 
maintenance shall be maintained in equipment logs. If 
the laboratory demonstrates regular monitoring of 
pressure (e.g., for each autoclaved batch) and annual 
calibration of the maximum registering thermometer, the 
annual autoclave pressure and temperature device checks 
shall not be required. 

e. The autoclave mechanical timing device shall be 
checked quarterly against a stopwatch and the actual time 
elapsed documented. 

3. Volumetric equipment. Volumetric equipment shall be 
calibrated as follows: 

a. Equipment with movable parts such as automatic 
dispensers, dispensers/diluters, and mechanical hand 
pipettes shall be verified for accuracy quarterly. 
b. Equipment such as filter funnels, bottles, nonclass A 
glassware, and other marked containers shall be 
calibrated once per lot prior to first use. 
c. The volume of the disposable volumetric equipment 
such as sample bottles and disposable pipettes shall be 
checked once per lot. 

4. UV instruments. UV instruments used for sanitization 
shall be tested quarterly for effectiveness with an 
appropriate UV light meter or by plate count agar spread 
plates. Replace bulbs if output is less than 70% of original 
for light tests or if count reduction is less than 99% for a 
plate containing 200 to 300 organisms. 
5. Conductivity meters, oxygen meters, pH meters, 
hygrometers, and other similar measurement instruments 
shall be calibrated according to the method specified 
requirements (see 1VAC30-45-740 D 1 d). 
6. Incubators, water baths, and ovens. 

a. The stability and uniformity of temperature 
distribution and time required after test sample addition 
to reestablish equilibrium conditions in incubators and 
water baths shall be established. Temperature of 
incubators and water baths shall be documented twice 
daily, at least four hours apart, on each day of use. 
b. Ovens used for sterilization shall be checked for 
sterilization effectiveness monthly with appropriate 
biological indicators. Records shall be maintained for 
each cycle that include date, cycle time, temperature, 
contents and analyst's initials. 

7. Labware (glassware and plasticware). 
a. The laboratory shall have a documented procedure for 
washing labware, if applicable. Detergents designed for 
laboratory use shall be used. 
b. Glassware shall be made of borosilicate or other 
noncorrosive material, free of chips and cracks, and shall 
have readable measurement marks. 
c. Labware that is washed and reused shall be tested for 
possible presence of residues that may inhibit or promote 
growth of microorganisms by performing the Inhibitory 
Residue Test annually, and each time the lab changes the 
lot of detergent or washing procedures. 
d. Washed labware shall be tested at least once daily, 
each day of washing, for possible acid or alkaline residue 
by testing at least one piece of labware with a suitable pH 
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indicator such as bromothymol blue. Records of tests 
shall be maintained. 

1VAC30-45-800. Radiochemical testing: general. 
(Repealed.) 

These standards apply to laboratories undertaking the 
examination of environmental samples by radiochemical 
analysis. These procedures for radiochemical analysis may 
involve some form of chemical separation followed by 
detection of the radioactive decay of analyte (or indicative 
daughters) and tracer isotopes where used. For the purpose of 
these standards, procedures for the determination of 
radioactive isotopes by mass spectrometry (e.g., ICP-MS or 
TIMS) or optical (e.g., KPA) techniques are not addressed 
herein. 
1VAC30-45-801. Radiochemical testing: negative and 
positive controls. (Repealed.) 

A. Negative controls. 
1. Method blank shall be performed at a frequency of one 
per preparation batch. The results of this analysis shall be 
one of the quality control measures to be used to assess the 
batch. The method blank result shall be assessed against 
the specific acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory 
method manual. When the specified method blank 
acceptance criteria is not met, the specified corrective 
action and contingencies shall be followed and results 
reported with appropriate data qualifying codes. The 
occurrence of a failed method blank acceptance criteria and 
the actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 
2. In the case of gamma spectrometry, generally a 
nondestructive analysis, a method blank shall be prepared 
using a calibrated counting geometry similar to that used 
for the samples. The container of the appropriate geometry 
can be empty or filled to similar volume to partially 
simulate gamma attenuation due to a sample matrix.  
3. There shall be no subtraction of the required method 
blank result from the sample results in the associated 
preparation or analytical batch unless permitted by method 
or program. This does not preclude the application of any 
correction factor (e.g., instrument background, analyte 
presence in tracer, reagent impurities, peak overlap, etc.) to 
all analyzed samples, both program/project submitted and 
internal quality control samples. However, these correction 
factors shall not depend on the required method blank 
result in the associated analytical batch. 
4. The method blank sample shall be prepared with similar 
aliquot size to that of the routine samples for analysis and 
the method blank result and acceptance criteria shall be 
calculated in a manner that compensates for sample results 
based upon differing aliquot size. 

B. Positive controls. 
1. Laboratory control samples shall be performed at a 
frequency of one per preparation batch. The results of this 
analysis shall be one of the quality control measures to be 

used to assess the batch. The laboratory control sample 
result shall be assessed against the specific acceptance 
criteria specified in the laboratory method manual. When 
the specified laboratory control sample acceptance criteria 
is not met the specified corrective action and contingencies 
shall be followed. The occurrence of a failed laboratory 
control sample acceptance criteria and the actions taken 
shall be noted in the laboratory report. 
2. Matrix spike shall be performed at a frequency of one 
per preparation batch for those methods that include a 
chemical separation process without the use of an internal 
standard or carrier, and where there is sufficient sample to 
do so. Although gross alpha, gross beta and tritium 
measurements do not involve a chemical separation 
process, matrix spikes shall be performed for these 
analyses on aqueous samples. The results of this analysis 
shall be one of the quality control measures to be used to 
assess the batch. The matrix spike result shall be assessed 
against the specific acceptance criteria specified in the 
laboratory method manual. When the specified matrix 
spike acceptance criteria is not met, the specified 
corrective action and contingencies shall be followed. The 
occurrence of a failed matrix spike acceptance criteria and 
the actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 
The lack of sufficient sample aliquot size to perform a 
matrix spike shall be noted in the laboratory report.  
3. The activity of the laboratory control sample shall (i) be 
at least five times the limit of detection and (ii) at a level 
comparable to that of routine samples when such 
information is available if the sample activities are 
expected to exceed five times the limit of detection. 
4. The activity of the matrix spike analytes(s) shall be 
greater than five times the limit of detection. 
5. The laboratory standards used to prepare the laboratory 
control sample and matrix spike shall be from a source 
independent of the laboratory standards used for 
instrument calibration and shall meet the requirements for 
reference standards provided in 1VAC30-45-807 A. 
6. The matrix spike shall be prepared by adding a known 
activity of target analyte after subsampling if required but 
before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical digestion, 
dissolution, separation, etc.). Where a radiochemical 
method, other than gamma spectroscopy, has more than 
one reportable analyte isotope (e.g., plutonium, Pu 238 and 
Pu 239, using alpha spectrometry), only one of the analyte 
isotopes need be included in the laboratory control or 
matrix spike sample at the indicated activity level. 
However, where more than one analyte isotope is present 
above the specified limit of detection, each shall be 
assessed against the specified acceptance criteria. 
7. Where gamma spectrometry is used to identify and 
quantitate more than one analyte isotope, the laboratory 
control sample shall contain isotopes that represent the low 
(e.g., americium-241), medium (e.g., cesium-137) and high 
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(e.g., cobalt-60) energy range of the analyzed gamma 
spectra. As indicated by these examples the isotopes need 
not exactly bracket the calibrated energy range or the range 
over which isotopes are identified and quantitated. 
8. The laboratory control sample shall be prepared with 
similar aliquot size to that of the routine samples for 
analyses. 

C. Other controls. 
1. Tracer. For those methods that utilize a tracer (i.e., 
internal standard) each sample result shall have an 
associated tracer recovery calculated and reported. The 
tracer shall be added to the sample after subsampling if 
required but before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical 
digestion, dissolution, separation, etc.) unless otherwise 
specified by the method. The tracer recovery for each 
sample result shall be one of the quality control measures 
to be used to assess the associated sample result 
acceptance. The tracer recovery shall be assessed against 
the specific acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory 
method manual. When the specified tracer recovery 
acceptance criteria is not met the specified corrective 
action and contingencies shall be followed. The occurrence 
of a failed tracer recovery acceptance criteria and the 
actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 
2. Carrier. For those methods that utilize a carrier for 
recovery determination, each sample shall have an 
associated carrier recovery calculated and reported. The 
carrier shall be added to the sample after subsampling if 
required but before any chemical treatment (e.g., chemical 
digestion, dissolution, separation, etc.) unless otherwise 
specified by the method. The carrier recovery for each 
sample shall be one of the quality control measures to be 
used to assess the associated sample result acceptance. The 
carrier recovery shall be assessed against the specific 
acceptance criteria specified in the laboratory method 
manual. When the specified carrier recovery acceptance 
criteria is not met the specified corrective action and 
contingencies shall be followed. The occurrence of a failed 
carrier recovery acceptance criteria and the actions taken 
shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

1VAC30-45-802. Radiochemical testing: analytical 
variability/reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

A. Replicate shall be performed at a frequency of one per 
preparation batch where there is sufficient sample to do so. 
The results of this analysis shall be one of the quality control 
measures to be used to assess batch acceptance. The replicate 
result shall be assessed against the specific acceptance criteria 
specified in the laboratory method manual. When the 
specified replicate acceptance criteria is not met the specified 
corrective action and contingencies shall be followed. The 
occurrence of a failed replicate acceptance criteria and the 
actions taken shall be noted in the laboratory report. 

B. For low level samples (less than approximately three 
times the limit of detection) the laboratory may analyze 

duplicate laboratory control samples or a replicate matrix 
spike (matrix spike and a matrix spike duplicate) to determine 
reproducibility within a preparation batch. 
1VAC30-45-803. Radiochemical testing: method 
evaluation. (Repealed.) 

In order to ensure the accuracy of the reported result, the 
following procedures shall be in place: 

1. Initial demonstration of capability shall be performed 
initially (prior to the analysis of any samples) and with a 
significant change in instrument type (e.g., different 
detection technique), personnel or method. 
2. Proficiency test samples. The laboratory shall use the 
results of such analysis to evaluate its ability to produce 
accurate data. 

1VAC30-45-804. Radiochemical testing: radiation 
measurement instrumentation. (Repealed.) 

A. General. Because of the stability and response nature of 
modern radiation measurement instrumentation, it is not 
typically necessary to verify calibrate these systems each day 
of use. However, verification of calibration is required as 
outlined in subsection B of this section. This section 
addresses those practices that are necessary for proper 
calibration and those requirements of 1VAC30-45-740 D 
(instrument calibrations) that are not applicable to some types 
of radiation measurement instrumentation. 

B. Instrument calibration. 
1. Given that activity detection efficiency is independent of 
sample activity at all but extreme activity levels, the 
requirements of 1VAC30-45-740 D 2 b (7) are not 
applicable to radiochemical method calibrations except 
mass attenuation in gas-proportional counting and sample 
quench in liquid scintillation counting. Radiation 
measurement instruments are subject to calibration prior to 
initial use, when the instrument is placed back in service 
after malfunctioning and the instrument's response has 
changed as determined by a performance check or when 
the instrument's response exceeds predetermined 
acceptance criteria for the instrument quality control. 
2. Instrument calibration shall be performed with reference 
standards as defined in 1VAC30-45-807 A. The standards 
shall have the same general characteristics (i.e., geometry, 
homogeneity, density, etc.) as the associated samples. 
3. The frequency of calibration shall be addressed in the 
laboratory method manual if not specified in the method. A 
specific frequency (e.g., monthly) or observations from the 
associated control or tolerance chart, as the basis for 
calibration shall be specified. 

C. Continuing instrument calibration verification 
(performance checks). Performance checks shall be 
performed using appropriate check sources and monitored 
with control charts or tolerance charts to ensure that the 
instrument is operating properly and that the detector 
response has not significantly changed and, therefore, the 
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instrument calibration has not changed. The same check 
source used in the preparation of the tolerance chart or control 
chart at the time of calibration shall be used in the calibration 
verification of the instrument. The check sources shall 
provide adequate counting statistics for a relatively short 
count time and the source should be sealed or encapsulated to 
prevent loss of activity and contamination of the instrument 
and laboratory personnel. 

1. For gamma spectroscopy systems, the performance 
checks for efficiency and energy calibration shall be 
performed on a day-of-use basis along with performance 
checks on peak resolution. 
2. For alpha spectroscopy systems, the performance check 
for energy calibration shall be performed on a weekly basis 
and the performance check for counting efficiency shall be 
performed on at least a monthly basis. 
3. For gas-proportional and liquid scintillation counters, 
the performance check for counting efficiency shall be 
performed on a day-of-use basis. For batches of samples 
that uninterruptedly count for more than a day a 
performance check can be performed at the beginning and 
end of the batch as long as this time interval is no greater 
than one week. Verification of instrument calibration does 
not directly verify secondary calibrations, e.g., the mass 
efficiency curve or the quench curve. 
4. For scintillation counters the calibration verification for 
counting efficiency shall be performed on a day of use 
basis. 

D. Background measurement. Background measurements 
shall be made on a regular basis and monitored using control 
charts or tolerance charts to ensure that a laboratory maintains 
its capability to meet required data quality objectives. These 
values may be subtracted from the total measured activity in 
the determination of the sample activity. 

1. For gamma spectroscopy systems, background 
measurements shall be performed on at least a monthly 
basis. 
2. For alpha spectroscopy systems, background 
measurements shall be performed on at least a monthly 
basis. 
3. For gas-proportional counters, background 
measurements shall be performed on at least on a weekly 
basis. 
4. For scintillation counters, background measurements 
shall be performed each day of use.  

E. Instrument contamination monitoring. The laboratory 
shall have a written procedure for monitoring radiation 
measurement instrumentation for radioactive contamination. 
The procedure shall indicate the frequency of the monitoring 
and shall indicate criteria, which initiates corrective action. 
1VAC30-45-805. Radiochemical testing: Minimum 
detectable activity (MDA)/Minimum detectable 

concentration (MDC)/Lower level of detection (LLD). 
(Repealed.) 

A. MDA/MDC/LLD shall be determined prior to sample 
analysis and shall be redetermined each time there is a 
significant change in the test method or instrument type. 

B. The procedures employed shall be documented and 
consistent with mandated method or regulation. 
1VAC30-45-806. Radiochemical testing: data reduction. 
(Repealed.) 

A. The requirements of 1VAC30-45-730 K apply. 
B. Measurement uncertainties. Each result shall be reported 

with the associated measurement uncertainty. The procedures 
for determining the measurement uncertainty shall be 
documented and be consistent with mandated method and 
regulation. 
1VAC30-45-807. Radiochemical testing: quality of 
standards and reagents. (Repealed.) 

A. The quality control program shall establish and maintain 
provisions for radionuclide standards. 

1. Reference standards that are used in a radiochemical 
laboratory shall be obtained from the National Institute of 
Standards and Technology (NIST), or suppliers who 
participate in supplying NIST standards or NIST traceable 
radionuclides. Any reference standards purchased outside 
the United States shall be traceable back to each country's 
national standards laboratory. Commercial suppliers of 
reference standards shall conform to ANSI N42.22 to 
assure the quality of their products. 
2. Reference standards shall be accompanied with a 
certificate of calibration whose content is as described in 
ANSI N42.22 - 1995, Section 8, Certificates. 
3. Laboratories should consult with the supplier if the 
laboratory's verification of the activity of the reference 
traceable standard indicates a noticeable deviation from the 
certified value. The laboratory shall not use a value other 
than the decay corrected certified value. The laboratory 
shall have a written procedure for handling, storing and 
establishment of expiration dates for reference standards. 

B. All reagents used shall be analytical reagent grade or 
better. 
1VAC30-45-808. Radiochemical testing: constant and 
consistent test conditions. (Repealed.) 

The laboratory shall maintain a radiological control program 
that addresses analytical radiological control. The program 
shall address the procedures for segregating samples with 
potentially widely varying levels of radioactivity. The 
radiological control program shall explicitly define how low 
level and high level samples will be identified, segregated and 
processed in order to prevent sample cross-contamination. 
The radiological control program shall include the measures 
taken to monitor and evaluate background activity or 
contamination on an ongoing basis.  
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1VAC30-45-811. Air testing: negative and positive 
controls. 

A. Negative controls. 
1. Method blanks shall be performed at a frequency of at 
least one per batch of 20 environmental samples or less per 
sample preparation method. The results of the method 
blank analysis shall be used to evaluate the contribution of 
the laboratory provided sampling media and analytical 
sample preparation procedures to the amount of analyte 
found in each sample. If the method blank result is greater 
than the limit of quantitation and contributes greater than 
10% of the total amount of analyte found in the sample, the 
source of the contamination shall be investigated and 
measures taken to eliminate the source of contamination. If 
contamination is found, the data shall be qualified in the 
report. 
2. Collection efficiency. Sampling trains consisting of 
multiple sections (e.g., filters, sorbent tubes, impingers) 
that are received intact by the laboratory shall be separated 
into "front" and "back" sections if required by the client. 
Each section shall be processed and analyzed separately 
and the analytical results reported separately. 

B. Positive controls. Laboratory control sample (LCS) shall 
be analyzed at a rate of at least one per batch of 20 or fewer 
samples per sample preparation method for each analyte. If a 
spiking solution is not available, a calibration solution whose 
concentration approximates that of the samples shall be 
included in each batch and with each lot of media. If a 
calibration solution must be used for the LCS, the client will 
be notified prior to the start of analysis. The concentration of 
the LCS shall be relevant to the intended use of the data and 
either at a regulatory limit or below it. 

C. Surrogates shall be used as required by the test method. 
D. Matrix spike shall be used as required by the test method. 

1VAC30-45-820. Asbestos testing: general. (Repealed.) 
These standards apply to laboratories undertaking the 

examination of asbestos samples. These standards are 
organized by analytical technique, including transmission 
electron microscopy (TEM) for the analysis of water, 
wastewater, air, and bulk samples; phase contrast microscopy 
(PCM) for analysis of workplace air; and polarized light 
microscopy (PLM) for analysis of bulk samples. These 
procedures for asbestos analysis involve sample preparation 
followed by detection of asbestos. If NIST SRMs specified 
below are unavailable, the laboratory may substitute an 
equivalent reference material with a certificate of analysis. 
1VAC30-45-821. Asbestos testing: negative controls. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 
1. Water and wastewater. 

a. Blank determinations shall be made prior to sample 
collection. When using polyethylene bottles, one bottle 

from each batch, or a minimum of one from each 24 shall 
be tested for background level. When using glass bottles, 
four bottles from each 24 shall be tested. An acceptable 
bottle blank level is defined as ≤0.01 MFL > 10 μm. 
(EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Section 8.2) 
b. A process blank sample consisting of fiber-free water 
shall be run before the first field sample. The quantity of 
water shall be ≥10 mL for a 25-mm diameter filter and ≥ 
50 mL for a 47-mm diameter filter. (EPA/600/R-94/134, 
Method 100.2, Section 11.8) 

2. Air. 
a. A blank filter shall be prepared with each set of 
samples. A blank filter shall be left uncovered during 
preparation of the sample set and a wedge from that 
blank filter shall be prepared alongside wedges from the 
sample filters. At minimum, the blank filter shall be 
analyzed for each 20 samples analyzed. (40 CFR Part 
763, Appendix A to Subpart E (AHERA), Table 1) 
b. Maximum contamination on a single blank filter shall 
be no more than 53 structures/mm2. Maximum average 
contamination for all blank filters shall be no more than 
18 structures/mm2. (AHERA, III.F.2) 

3. Bulk samples. 
a. Contamination checks using asbestos-free material, 
such as the glass fiber blank in SRM 1866 (Page C-3, 
NIST Handbook 150-3, August 1994) shall be performed 
at a frequency of one for every 20 samples analyzed. The 
detection of asbestos at a concentration exceeding 0.1% 
will require an investigation to detect and remove the 
source of the asbestos contamination. 
b. The laboratory shall maintain a list of nonasbestos 
fibers that can be confused with asbestos (Section 7.5, 
Page C-8, NIST Handbook 150-3, August 1994). The list 
shall include crystallographic and/or chemical properties 
that disqualify each fiber being identified as asbestos 
(Section 2.5.5.2.1 Identification, Page 54, EPA/600/R-
93/116). 
c. The laboratory should have a set of reference asbestos 
materials from which a set of reference diffraction and 
X-ray spectra have been developed. 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. At least two field blanks (or 
10% of the total samples, whichever is greater) shall be 
submitted for analysis with each set of samples. Field blanks 
shall be handled in a manner representative of actual handling 
of associated samples in the set with a single exception that 
air shall not be drawn through the blank sample. A blank 
cassette shall be opened for approximately 30 seconds at the 
same time other cassettes are opened just prior to analysis. 
Results from field blank samples shall be used in the 
calculation to determine final airborne fiber concentration. 
The identity of blank filters should be unknown to the counter 
until all counts have been completed. If a field blank yields 
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greater than seven fibers per 100 graticule fields, report 
possible contamination of the samples. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 
1. Friable materials. At least one blank slide shall be 
prepared daily or with every 50 samples analyzed, 
whichever is less. This is prepared by mounting a 
subsample of an isotropic verified non-ACM (e.g., 
fiberglass in SRM 1866) in a drop of immersion oil (nD 
should reflect usage of various nD's) on a clean slide, 
rubbing preparation tools (forceps, dissecting needles, etc.) 
in the mount and placing a clean coverslip on the drop. The 
entire area under the coverslip shall be scanned to detect 
any asbestos contamination. A similar check shall be made 
after every 20 uses of each piece of homogenization 
equipment. An isotropic verified non-ACM shall be 
homogenized in the clean equipment, a slide prepared with 
the material and the slide scanned for asbestos 
contamination. (This can be substituted for the blank slide 
mentioned in this section.) 
2. Nonfriable materials. At least one non-ACM nonfriable 
material shall be prepared and analyzed with every 20 
samples analyzed. This non-ACM shall go through the full 
preparation and analysis regimen for the type of analysis 
being performed. 

1VAC30-45-822. Asbestos testing: test 
variability/reproducibility. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. Quality assurance 
analyses shall be performed regularly covering all time 
periods, instruments, tasks, and personnel. The selection of 
samples shall be random and samples of special interest may 
be included in the selection of samples for quality assurance 
analyses. When possible, the checks on personnel 
performance shall be executed without their prior knowledge. 
A disproportionate number of analyses shall not be performed 
prior to internal or external audits. It is recommended that a 
laboratory initially be at 100% quality control (all samples 
reanalyzed). The proportion of quality control samples can 
later be lowered gradually, as control indicates, to a minimum 
of 10%. 

1. Water and wastewater. All analyses shall be performed 
on relocator grids so that other laboratories can easily 
repeat analyses on the same grid openings. Quality 
assurance analyses shall not be postponed during periods 
of heavy workloads. The total number of QA samples and 
blanks shall be greater than or equal to 10% of the total 
sample workload. Precision of analyses is related to 
concentration, as gleaned from interlaboratory proficiency 
testing. Relative standard deviations (RSD) for amphibole 
asbestos decreased from 50% at 0.8 MFL to 25% at 7 MFL 
in interlaboratory proficiency testing, while RSD for 
chrysotile was higher, 50% at 6 MFL.  

a. Replicate. A second, independent analysis shall be 
performed on the same grids but on different grid 
openings than used in the original analysis of a sample. 

Results shall be within 1.5X of Poisson standard 
deviation. This shall be performed at a frequency of 1 per 
100 samples. (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Table 
2) 
b. Duplicate. A second aliquot of sample shall be filtered 
through a second filter, prepared and analyzed in the 
same manner as the original preparation of that sample. 
Results shall be within 2.0X of Poisson standard 
deviation. This shall be performed at a frequency of one 
per 100 samples. (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 
Table 2) 
c. Verified analyses. A second, independent analysis 
shall be performed on the same grids and grid openings 
used in the original analysis of a sample. The two sets of 
results shall be compared according to Turner and Steel 
(NISTIR 5351). This shall be performed at a frequency 
of one per 20 samples. Qualified analysts shall maintain 
an average of ≥ 80% true positives, ≤ 20% false 
negatives, and ≤ 10% false positives. 

2. Air. 
a. All analyses shall be performed on relocator grids so 
that other laboratories can easily repeat analyses on the 
same grid openings. 
b. The laboratory and TEM analysts shall obtain mean 
analytical results on NIST SRM 1876b so that trimmed 
mean values fall within 80% of the lower limit and 110% 
of the upper limit of the 95% confidence limits as 
published on the certificate. These limits are derived 
from the allowable false positives and false negatives 
given in subdivision A 2 e (3) of this subsection. SRM 
1876b shall be analyzed a minimum of once per year by 
each TEM analyst. 
c. The laboratory shall have documentation 
demonstrating that TEM analysts correctly classify at 
least 90% of both bundles and single fibrils of asbestos 
structures greater than or equal to 1 mm in length in 
known standard materials traceable to NIST, such as 
NIST bulk asbestos SRM 1866. 
d. Interlaboratory analyses shall be performed to detect 
laboratory bias. The frequency of interlaboratory verified 
analysis shall correspond to a minimum of 1 per 200 grid 
square analyses. 
e. If more than one TEM is used for asbestos analysis, 
intermicroscope analyses shall be performed to detect 
instrument bias. 
(1) Replicate. A second, independent analysis shall be 
performed in accordance with Section D.6.2.1.1.a. 
(AHERA, Table III) 
(2) Duplicate. A second wedge from a sample filter shall 
be prepared and analyzed in the same manner as the 
original preparation of that sample. Results shall be 
within 2.0X of Poisson standard deviation. This shall be 
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performed at a frequency of 1 per 100 samples. 
(AHERA, Table III) 
(3) Verified analyses. A second, independent analysis 
shall be performed on the same grids and grid openings 
in accordance with subdivision A 1 c of this section. 

3. Bulk samples. Determination of precision and accuracy 
should follow guidelines in NISTIR 5951, Guide for 
Quality Control on the Qualitative and Quantitative 
Analysis of Bulk Asbestos Samples: Version 1. Because 
bulk samples with low (< 10%) asbestos content are the 
most problematic, a laboratory's quality control program 
should focus on such samples. At least 30% of a 
laboratory's QC analyses shall be performed on samples 
containing from 1.0% to 10% asbestos. 

a. Intra-analyst precision. At least one out of 50 samples 
shall be reanalyzed by the same analyst. For single 
analyst laboratories, at least one out of every 10 samples 
shall be reanalyzed by the same analyst. 
b. Inter-analyst precision. At least one out of 15 samples 
shall be reanalyzed by another analyst. Inter-analyst 
results will require additional reanalysis, possibly 
including another analyst, to resolve discrepancies when 
classification (ACM vs. non-ACM) errors occur, when 
asbestos identification errors occur, or when inter-analyst 
precision is found to be unacceptable. 
c. Inter-laboratory precision. The laboratory shall 
participate in round robin testing with at least one other 
laboratory. Samples shall be sent to this other lab at least 
four times per year. These samples shall be samples 
previously analyzed as QC samples. Results of these 
analyses shall be assessed in accordance with QC 
requirements. As a minimum, the QC requirements shall 
address misclassifications (false positives, false 
negatives) and misidentification of asbestos types.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 
1. Inter-laboratory precision. Each laboratory analyzing air 
samples for compliance determination shall implement an 
inter-laboratory quality assurance program that as a 
minimum includes participation of at least two other 
independent laboratories. Each laboratory shall participate 
in round robin testing at least once every six months with 
at least all the other laboratories in its inter-laboratory 
quality assurance group. Each laboratory shall submit 
slides typical of its own workload for use in this program. 
The round robin shall be designed and results analyzed 
using appropriate statistical methodology. Results of this 
QA program shall be posted in each laboratory to keep the 
microscopists informed. 
2. Intra- and inter-analyst precision. Each analyst shall 
select and count a prepared slide from a "reference slide 
library" on each day on which air counts are performed. 
Reference slides shall be prepared using well-behaved 
samples taken from the laboratory workload. Fiber 

densities shall cover the entire range routinely analyzed by 
the laboratory. These slides shall be counted by all analysts 
to establish an original standard deviation and 
corresponding limits of acceptability. Results from the 
daily reference sample analysis shall be compared to the 
statistically derived acceptance limits using a control chart 
or a database. It is recommended that the labels on the 
reference slides be periodically changed so that the 
analysts do not become familiar with the samples. Intra- 
and inter-analyst precision may be estimated from blind 
recounts on reference samples. Inter-analyst precision shall 
be posted in each laboratory to keep the microscopists 
informed. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. Refer to subdivision A 3 of 
this section. 
1VAC30-45-823. Asbestos testing: other quality control 
measures. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 
1. Water and wastewater. 

a. Filter preparations shall be made from all six asbestos 
types from NIST SRMs 1866 and 1867. These 
preparations shall have concentrations between one and 
20 structures (> 10 μm) per 0.01 mm2. One of these 
preparations shall be analyzed independently at a 
frequency of one per 100 samples analyzed. Results shall 
be evaluated as verified asbestos analysis in accordance 
with Turner and Steel (NISTIR 5351). 
b. NIST SRM 1876b shall be analyzed annually by each 
analyst. Results shall be evaluated in accordance with 
limits published for that SRM. This SRM is not strictly 
appropriate for waterborne asbestos but analysts can 
demonstrate general TEM asbestos competence by 
producing results within the published limits of this (the 
only recognized TEM counting standard) SRM. 

2. Air. 
a. Filter preparations shall be made from all six asbestos 
types in accordance with subdivision A 1 a of this 
section. 
b. NIST SRM 1876b shall be analyzed annually in 
accordance with subdivision A 1 b of this section. 

3. Bulk samples. All analysts shall be able to correctly 
identify the six regulated asbestos types (chrysotile, 
amosite, crocidolite, anthophyllite, actinolite, and 
tremolite). Standards for the six asbestos types listed are 
available from NIST (SRMs 1866 and 1867). These 
materials can also be used as identification standards for 
AEM (Section 3.2.1 Qualitative Analysis, Page 57, 
EPA/600/R-93/116). 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 
1. Test for nonrandom fiber distribution. Blind recounts by 
the same analyst shall be performed on 10% of the filters 
counted. A person other than the counter should re-label 
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slides before the second count. A test for type II error 
(NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994, Section 13) shall 
be performed to determine whether a pair of counts by the 
same analyst on the same slide should be rejected due to 
nonrandom fiber distribution. If a pair of counts is rejected 
by this test, the remaining samples in the set shall be 
recounted and the new counts shall be tested against first 
counts. All rejected paired counts shall be discarded. It 
shall not be necessary to use this statistic on blank 
recounts. 
2. All individuals performing airborne fiber analysis shall 
have taken the NIOSH Fiber Counting Course for sampling 
and evaluating airborne asbestos dust or an equivalent 
course. 
3. All laboratories shall participate in a national sample 
testing scheme such as the Proficiency Analytical Testing 
(PAT) program or the Asbestos Analysts Registry (AAR) 
program, both sponsored by the American Industrial 
Hygiene Association (AIHA), or equivalent. 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 
1. Friable materials. Because accuracy cannot be 
determined by reanalysis of routine field samples, at least 
one out of 100 samples shall be a standard or reference 
sample that has been routinely resubmitted to determine 
analyst's precision and accuracy. A set of these samples 
should be accumulated from proficiency testing samples 
with predetermined weight compositions or from standards 
generated with weighed quantities of asbestos and other 
bulk materials (Perkins and Harvey, 1993; Parekh et al., 
1992; Webber et al., 1982). At least half of the reference 
samples submitted for this QC shall contain between 1.0% 
and 10% asbestos. 
2. Nonfriable materials. At least one out of 100 samples 
shall be a verified quantitative standard that has routinely 
been resubmitted to determine analyst precision and 
accuracy. 

1VAC30-45-824. Asbestos testing: method evaluation. 
(Repealed.) 

In order to ensure the accuracy of reported results, the 
following procedures shall be in place: 

1. Demonstration of capability shall be performed initially 
(prior to the analysis of any samples) and with a significant 
change in instrument type, personnel, or method. 
2. Performance audits. The results of such analyses shall be 
used by the laboratory to evaluate the ability of the 
laboratory to produce accurate data. 

1VAC30-45-825. Asbestos testing: asbestos calibration. 
(Repealed.) 

Refer to methods referenced in the following sections for 
specific equipment requirements. 

1. Transmission electron microscopy: general. Analytical 
electron microscopy equipment will not be discussed in 
this document. 
2. Transmission electron microscopy: water and 
wastewater. All calibrations listed below (unless otherwise 
noted) shall be performed under the same analytical 
conditions used for routine asbestos analysis and shall be 
recorded in a notebook and include date and analyst's 
signature. Frequencies stated below may be reduced to 
"before next use" if no samples are analyzed after the last 
calibration period has expired. Likewise, frequencies may 
have to be increased following non-routine maintenance or 
unacceptable calibration performance. 

a. Magnification calibration. Magnification calibration 
shall be done at the fluorescent screen, with the 
calibration specimen at the eucentric position, at the 
magnification used for fiber counting, generally 10,000 
and 20,000x. A logbook shall be maintained with the 
dates of the calibration recorded. Calibrations shall be 
performed monthly to establish the stability of 
magnification. Calibration data shall be displayed on 
control charts that show trends over time. (EPA/600/R-
94/134, Method 100.2, Section 10.1) 
b. Camera constant. The camera length of the TEM in the 
Selected Area Electron Diffraction (SAED) mode shall 
be calibrated before SAED patterns of unknown samples 
are observed. The diffraction specimen shall be at the 
eucentric position for this calibration. This calibration 
shall allow accurate (< 10% variation) measurement of 
layer-line spacings on the medium used for routine 
measurement, i.e., the phosphor screen or camera film. 
This shall also allow accurate (< 5.0% variation) 
measurement of zone axis SAED patterns on permanent 
media, e.g., film. Calibrations shall be performed 
monthly to establish the stability of the camera constant 
(EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, Section 10.2). 
Where nonasbestiform minerals may be expected (e.g., 
winchite, richterite, industrial talc, vermiculite, etc.), an 
internal camera constant standard such as gold, shall be 
deposited and measured on each sample to facilitate 
accurate indexing of zone axis SAED patterns. In such 
cases, layer line analysis alone shall not be used. 
Calibration data shall be displayed on control charts that 
show trends over time. 
c. Spot size. The diameter of the smallest beam spot at 
crossover shall be less than 250 nm as calibrated 
quarterly. Calibration data shall be displayed on control 
charts that show trends over time. (EPA/600/R-94/134, 
Method 100.2, Section 10.3) 
d. Beam dose. The beam dose shall be calibrated so that 
beam damage to chrysotile is minimized, specifically so 
that an electron diffraction pattern from a single fibril ≥1 
μm in length from a NIST SRM chrysotile sample is 
stable in the electron beam dose for at least 15 seconds.  
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e. EDXA system. 
(1) The x-ray energy vs. channel number for the EDXA 
system shall be calibrated to within 20 eV for at least two 
peaks between 0.7 keV and 10 keV. One peak shall be 
from the low end (0.7 keV to 2 keV) and the other peak 
from the high end (7 keV to 10 keV) of this range. The 
calibration of the x-ray energy shall be checked prior to 
each analysis of samples and recalibrated if out of the 
specified range. 
(2) The ability of the system to resolve the Na Ka line 
from the Cu L line shall be confirmed quarterly by 
obtaining a spectrum from the NIST SRM 1866 
crocidolite sample on a copper grid. 
(3) The k-factors for elements found in asbestos (Na, Mg, 
Al, Si, Ca, and Fe) relative to Si shall be calibrated 
semiannually, or anytime the detector geometry may be 
altered. NIST SRM 2063a shall be used for Mg, Si, Ca, 
Fe, while k-factors for Na and Al may be obtained from 
suitable materials such as albite, kaersutite, or NIST 
SRM 99a. The k-factors shall be determined to a 
precision (2s) within 10% relative to the mean value 
obtained for Mg, Al, Si, Ca, and Fe, and within 20% 
relative to the mean value obtained for Na. The k-factor 
relative to Si for Na shall be between 1.0 and 4.0, for Mg 
and Fe shall be between 1.0 and 2.0, and for Al and Ca 
shall be between 1.0 and 1.75. The k-factor for Mg 
relative to Fe shall be 1.5 or less. Calibration data shall 
be displayed on control charts that show trends over time. 
(4) The detector resolution shall be checked quarterly to 
ensure a full-width half-maximum resolution of <175 eV 
at Mn Ka (5.90 keV). Calibration data shall be displayed 
on control charts that show trends over time. 
(5) The portions of a grid in a specimen holder for which 
abnormal x-ray spectra are generated under routine 
asbestos analysis conditions shall be determined and 
these areas shall be avoided in asbestos analysis. 
(6) The sensitivity of the detector for collecting x-rays 
from small volumes shall be documented quarterly by 
collecting resolvable Mg and Si peaks from a unit fibril 
of NIST SRM 1866 chrysotile. 
f. Low temperature asher. The low temperature asher 
shall be calibrated quarterly by determining a calibration 
curve for the weight vs. ashing time of collapsed mixed-
cellulose-ester (MCE) filters. Calibration data shall be 
displayed on control charts that show trends over time. 
g. Grid openings. The magnification of the grid opening 
measurement system shall be calibrated using an 
appropriate standard at a frequency of 20 openings/20 
grids/lot of 1000 or one opening/sample. The variation in 
the calibration measurements (2s) is <5.0% of the mean 
calibration value. 

3. Air. All calibrations shall be performed in accordance 
with subdivision 2 of this section, with the exception of 

magnification. Magnification calibration shall be done at 
the fluorescent screen, with the calibration specimen at the 
eucentric position, at the magnification used for fiber 
counting, generally 15,000 to 20,000x (AHERA, III.G.1.c). 
A logbook shall be maintained with the dates of the 
calibration recorded. Calibrations shall be performed 
monthly to establish the stability of magnification.  
4. Bulk samples. All calibrations shall be performed in 
accordance with subdivision 3 of this section. 
5. Phase contrast microscopy.  

a. At least once daily, the analyst shall use the telescope 
ocular (or Bertrand lens, for some microscopes) supplied 
by the manufacturer to ensure that the phase rings 
(annular diaphragm and phase-shifting elements) are 
concentric. 
b. The phase-shift limit of detection of the microscope 
shall be checked monthly or after modification or 
relocation using an HSE/NPL phase-contrast test slide 
for each analyst/microscope combination (refer to 
NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994, Section 10b). 
This procedure assures that the minimum detectable fiber 
diameter (< ca. 0.25mm) for this microscope is achieved. 
c. Prior to ordering the Walton-Beckett graticule, 
calibration, in accordance with NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 
August 1994, Appendix A, shall be performed to obtain a 
counting area 100 mm in diameter at the image plane. 
The diameter, dc (mm), of the circular counting area and 
the disc diameter shall be specified when ordering the 
graticule. The field diameter (D) shall be verified (or 
checked), to a tolerance of 100 μm ± 2 μm, with a stage 
micrometer upon receipt of the graticule from the 
manufacturer. When changes (zoom adjustment, 
disassembly, replacement, etc.) occur in the eyepiece-
objective-reticle combination, field diameter shall be 
remeasured (or recalibrated) to determine field area 
(mm2). Recalibration of field diameter shall also be 
required when there is a change in interpupillary distance 
(i.e., change in analyst). Acceptable range for field area 
shall be 0.00754 mm2 to 0.00817 mm2. The actual field 
area shall be documented and used. 

6. Polarized light microscopy. 
a. Microscope alignment. To accurately measure the 
required optical properties, a properly aligned polarized 
light microscope (PLM) shall be utilized. The PLM shall 
be aligned before each use. (Section 2.2.5.2.3, 
EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993) 
b. Refractive index liquids. Series of nD = 1.49 through 
1.72 in intervals less than or equal to 0.005. Refractive 
index liquids for dispersion staining, high-dispersion 
series 1.550, 1.605, 1.680. The accurate measurement of 
the refractive index (RI) of a substance requires the use 
of calibrated refractive index liquids. These liquids shall 
be calibrated at first use and semiannually, or next use, 
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whichever is less frequent, to an accuracy of 0.004, with 
a temperature accuracy of 2°C using a refractometer or 
RI glass beads. 

1VAC30-45-826. Asbestos testing: analytical sensitivity. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 
1. Water and wastewater. An analytical sensitivity of 
200,000 fibers per liter (0.2 MFL) is required for each 
sample analyzed (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 
Section 1.6). Analytical sensitivity is defined as the 
waterborne concentration represented by the finding of one 
asbestos structure in the total area of filter examined. This 
value will depend on the fraction of the filter sampled and 
the dilution factor (if applicable). 
2. Air. An analytical sensitivity of 0.005 structures/cm2 is 
required for each sample analyzed. Analytical sensitivity is 
defined as the airborne concentration represented by the 
finding of one asbestos structure in the total area of filter 
examined. This value will depend on the effective surface 
area of the filter, the filter area analyzed, and the volume of 
air sampled (AHERA, Table I). 
3. Bulk samples. 

a. The range is dependent on the type of bulk material 
being analyzed. The sensitivity may be as low as 
0.0001% depending on the extent to which interfering 
materials can be removed during the preparation of AEM 
specimens. (Section 2.5.2 Range, Page 51, EPA/600/R-
93/116) 
b. There should be an error rate of less than 1.0% on the 
qualitative analysis for samples that contain chrysotile, 
amosite, and crocidolite. A slightly higher error rate may 
occur for samples that contain anthophyllite, actinolite, 
and tremolite, as it can be difficult to distinguish among 
the three types. (Section 3, Page 10, NIST Handbook 
150-3, August 1994) 

B. Phase contrast microscopy. The normal quantitative 
working range of the test method is 0.04 to 0.5 fiber/cm2 for a 
1000 L air sample. An ideal counting range on the filter shall 
be 100 to 1300 fibers/mm2. The limit of detection (LOD) is 
estimated to be 5.5 fibers per 100 fields or 7 fibers/mm2. The 
LOD in fiber/cc will depend on sample volume and quantity 
of interfering dust but shall be <0.01 fiber/cm2 for 
atmospheres free of interferences. (NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 
August 1994) 

C. Polarized light microscopy. The laboratory shall utilize a 
test method that provides a limit of detection that is 
appropriate and relevant for the intended use of the data. 
Limit of detection shall be determined by the protocol in the 
test method or applicable regulation. 
1VAC30-45-827. Asbestos testing: data reduction. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 

1. Water and wastewater. 
a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 
be calculated in accordance with EPA/600/R-94/134, 
Method 100.2, Section 12.1. Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 K 
for additional data reduction requirements. 
b. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 
calculate and report the upper and lower 95% confidence 
limits on the mean concentration of asbestos fibers found 
in the sample (EPA/600/R-94/134, Method 100.2, 
Section 12.2.2). 

2. Air. 
a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 
be calculated in accordance with the method utilized, 
e.g., AHERA. Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 K for additional 
data reduction requirements. 
b. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 
calculate and report the upper and lower 95% confidence 
limits on the mean concentration of asbestos fibers found 
in the sample. 

3. Bulk samples. 
a. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall 
be calculated in accordance with the method utilized 
(e.g., EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993). Refer to 1VAC30-
45-730 K for additional data reduction requirements. 
b. Measurement uncertainties. Proficiency testing for 
floor tiles analyzed by TEM following careful 
gravimetric reduction (New York ELAP Certification 
Manual Item 198.4) has revealed an interlaboratory 
standard deviation of approximately 20% for residues 
containing 70% or more asbestos. Standard deviations 
range from 20% to 60% for residues with lower asbestos 
content.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. 
1. Airborne fiber concentration in a given sample shall be 
calculated in accordance with NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 
August 1994, Sections 20 and 21. Refer to 1VAC30-45-
730 K for additional data reduction requirements. 
2. Measurement uncertainties. The laboratory shall 
calculate and report the intra-laboratory and inter-
laboratory relative standard deviation with each set of 
results. (NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994) 
3. Fiber counts above 1300 fibers/mm2 and fiber counts 
from samples with >50% of the filter area covered with 
particulate should be reported as "uncountable" or 
"probably biased." Other fiber counts outside the 100-1300 
fibers/mm2 range should be reported as having "greater 
than optimal variability" and as being "probably biased." 

C. Polarized light microscopy. 
1. The concentration of asbestos in a given sample shall be 
calculated in accordance with the method utilized (e.g., 
EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993). Refer to 1VAC30-45-730 
K for additional data reduction requirements. 
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2. Method uncertainties. The individual laboratory shall 
determine precision and accuracy for the percent range 
involved. If point counting and/or visual estimates are 
used, a table of reasonable expanded errors (refer to 
EPA/600/R-93/116, July 1993, Table 2-1) should be 
generated for different concentrations of asbestos.  

1VAC30-45-828. Asbestos testing: quality of standards 
and reagents. (Repealed.) 

A. Transmission electron microscopy. 
1. The quality control program shall establish and maintain 
provisions for asbestos standards. 

a. Reference standards that are used in an asbestos 
laboratory shall be obtained from the National Institute of 
Standards and Technology (NIST), EPA, or suppliers 
who participate in supplying NIST standards or NIST 
traceable asbestos. Any reference standards purchased 
outside the United States shall be traceable back to each 
country's national standards laboratory. Commercial 
suppliers of reference standards shall conform to ANSI 
N42.22 to assure the quality of their products. 
b. Reference standards shall be accompanied with a 
certificate of calibration whose content is as described in 
ANSI N42.22-1995, Section 8, Certificates. 

2. All reagents used shall be analytical reagent grade or 
better. 
3. The laboratory shall have mineral fibers or data from 
mineral fibers that will allow differentiating asbestos from 
at least the following "look-alikes": fibrous talc, sepiolite, 
wollastonite, attapulgite (palygorskite), halloysite, 
vermiculite scrolls, antigorite, lizardite, pyroxenes, 
hornblende, richterite, winchite, or any other asbestiform 
minerals that are suspected as being present in the sample.  

B. Phase contrast microscopy. Standards of known 
concentration have not been developed for this testing 
method. Routine workload samples that have been 
statistically validated and national proficiency testing samples 
such as PAT and AAR samples available from the AIHA may 
be utilized as reference samples (refer to 1VAC30-45-822 B 
2) to standardize the optical system and analyst. All other 
testing reagents and devices (HSE/NPL test slide and Walton-
Beckett Graticule) shall conform to the specifications of the 
method (refer to NIOSH 7400, Issue 2, 15 August 1994).  

C. Polarized light microscopy. Refer to 1VAC30-45-828 A. 
1VAC30-45-829. Asbestos testing: constant and consistent 
test conditions. (Repealed.) 

The laboratory shall establish and adhere to written 
procedures to minimize the possibility of cross-contamination 
between samples. 

1VAC30-45-850. Sample handling, sample acceptance 
policy, and sample receipt. 

While the laboratory may not have control of field sampling 
activities, the following are essential to ensure the validity of 
the laboratory's data. 

1. Sample tracking. The laboratory shall have a 
documented system for uniquely identifying the items to be 
tested to ensure that there can be no confusion regarding 
the identity of such items at any time. This system shall 
include identification for all samples, subsamples and 
subsequent extracts or digestates or both. The use of 
container shape, size or other physical characteristic, such 
as amber glass or purple top, is not an acceptable means of 
identifying the sample. System laboratories shall use a 
permanent chronological record such as a logbook or 
electronic database to document receipt of all containers. 
This sample receipt log shall record the following at a 
minimum: name of facility where sample was taken, date 
and time of laboratory receipt, unique laboratory ID code, 
and signature or initials of the person making the entries.  
2. Sample acceptance policy. The laboratory shall have a 
written sample acceptance policy that clearly outlines the 
circumstances under which samples shall be accepted or 
rejected. The policy shall ensure that only properly 
obtained samples with appropriate sampling records (see 
1VAC30-45-640 B) are analyzed and that the samples are 
handled properly. This sample acceptance policy shall be 
made available to sample collection personnel. The policy 
shall include elements such as appropriate documentation 
of the sample's identification, use of appropriate sample 
containers, adherence to specified holding times, adequate 
sample volume to perform necessary tests, and procedures 
to be used when samples show signs of damage, 
contamination or inadequate preservation. 
3. Sample receipt protocols. 

a. Upon receipt, the condition of the sample, including 
any abnormalities or departures from standard condition 
as prescribed in the relevant test method, shall be 
recorded. All items specified by the sample acceptance 
policy shall be checked. 
b. All samples that require thermal preservation shall be 
considered acceptable if the arrival temperature is either 
within 2 degrees Celsius °C of the required temperature 
or the method specified range. For samples with a 
specified temperature of 4 degrees Celsius °C, samples 
with a temperature of ranging from just above freezing 
temperature of water to 6 degrees Celsius °C shall be 
acceptable. Samples that are hand delivered to the 
laboratory immediately after collection or on the same 
day that are collected may not meet this these criteria. In 
these cases, the samples shall be considered acceptable if 
there is evidence that the chilling process has begun such 
as arrival on ice. Thermal preservation is not required in 
the field if the laboratory receives the sample and either 
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begins the analysis or refrigerates the sample within 15 
minutes of collection. 
c. The laboratory shall implement procedures for 
checking chemical preservation using readily available 
techniques, such as pH or free chlorine prior to or during 
sample preparation or analysis. 
d. The results of all checks required by the sample 
acceptance policy and relevant test method shall be 
recorded. 

4. Storage conditions. 
a. The laboratory shall have documented procedures and 
appropriate facilities to avoid deterioration, 
contamination or damage to the sample during storage, 
handling, preparation, and testing. Any relevant 
instructions provided with the item shall be followed. 
Where items have to be stored or conditioned under 
specific environmental conditions, these conditions shall 
be maintained, monitored and recorded. 
b. Samples shall be stored according to the conditions 
specified by preservation protocols: 
(1) Samples that require thermal preservation shall be 
stored under refrigeration that is within 2 degrees Celsius 
°C of the specified preservation temperature unless 
method specific criteria exist. For samples with a 
specified storage temperature of 4 degrees Celsius °C, 
storage at a temperature above the freezing point of water 
to 6 degrees Celsius °C shall be acceptable. 
(2) Samples shall be stored away from all standards, 
reagents, food and other potentially contaminating 
sources. Samples shall be stored in such a manner to 
prevent cross contamination. 
c. Sample fractions, extracts, leachates and other sample 
preparation products shall be stored according to 
subdivision 4 a of this section or according to 
specifications in the test method. 
d. Where a sample or portion of the sample is to be held 
secure (for example (e.g., for reasons of record, safety or 
value, or to enable check calibrations or tests to be 
performed later), the laboratory shall have storage and 
security arrangements that protect the condition and 
integrity of the secured items or portions concerned. 

5. Sample disposal. The laboratory shall have standard 
operating procedures for the disposal of samples, 
digestates, leachates and extracts or other sample 
preparation products. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 
hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-45) 
Application for Certification of Environmental Laboratories 

DGS-21-156 (eff. 1/09) (Application for Certification under 
1VAC30-45 must be obtained from DCLS program staff at 
Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(1VAC30-45) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 
Accreditation Bodies, 2009, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 
P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-
institute.org:  

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 
Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-
2009) 
Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 
Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3334; Filed June 8, 2016, 11:31 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
13 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes the Board of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services when promulgating 
regulations pursuant to § 3.2-5121 of the Code of Virginia, 
which conform, insofar as practicable, with the federal Food 
and Drug Administration's Food Code. Pursuant to § 3.2-5121 
C, the regulatory action is exempt from portions of the 
Administrative Process Act provided the State Board of 
Health adopts the same version and both agencies' regulations 
have the same effective date.  
Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food 
Establishment Regulations (amending 2VAC5-585-40 
through 2VAC5-585-100, 2VAC5-585-130 through 
2VAC5-585-200, 2VAC5-585-220, 2VAC5-585-230, 
2VAC5-585-250 through 2VAC5-585-410, 2VAC5-585-
430 through 2VAC5-585-600, 2VAC5-585-620, 2VAC5-
585-630, 2VAC5-585-650 through 2VAC5-585-680, 
2VAC5-585-700 through 2VAC5-585-765, 2VAC5-585-
780 through 2VAC5-585-870, 2VAC5-585-900, 2VAC5-
585-930 through 2VAC5-585-960, 2VAC5-585-980, 
2VAC5-585-990, 2VAC5-585-1000, 2VAC5-585-1070, 
2VAC5-585-1090, 2VAC5-585-1100, 2VAC5-585-1110, 
2VAC5-585-1120, 2VAC5-585-1180, 2VAC5-585-1190, 
2VAC5-585-1230, 2VAC5-585-1240, 2VAC5-585-1300 
through 2VAC5-585-1330, 2VAC5-585-1350, 2VAC5-585-

http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cb011003067~11&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=827c0003067~12&typ=40&actno=003067&mime=application/pdf
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1360, 2VAC5-585-1370, 2VAC5-585-1450, 2VAC5-585-
1460, 2VAC5-585-1500 through 2VAC5-585-1570, 
2VAC5-585-1630 through 2VAC5-585-1680, 2VAC5-585-
1700, 2VAC5-585-1720, 2VAC5-585-1730, 2VAC5-585-
1740, 2VAC5-585-1770, 2VAC5-585-1780, 2VAC5-585-
1790, 2VAC5-585-1810, 2VAC5-585-1890, 2VAC5-585-
1900, 2VAC5-585-1920, 2VAC5-585-1960, 2VAC5-585-
2000, 2VAC5-585-2010, 2VAC5-585-2040 through  
2VAC5-585-2110, 2VAC5-585-2120 through 2VAC5-585-
2210, 2VAC5-585-2230 through 2VAC5-585-2280, 
2VAC5-585-2310 through 2VAC5-585-2360, 2VAC5-585-
2420, 2VAC5-585-2430, 2VAC5-585-2460, 2VAC5-585-
2490, 2VAC5-585-2520, 2VAC5-585-2540, 2VAC5-585-
2550, 2VAC5-585-2570, 2VAC5-585-2840, 2VAC5-585-
2930, 2VAC5-585-2990 through 2VAC5-585-3040, 
2VAC5-585-3070, 2VAC5-585-3130, 2VAC5-585-3150, 
2VAC5-585-3210, 2VAC5-585-3240, 2VAC5-585-3250, 
2VAC5-585-3270, 2VAC5-585-3310 through 2VAC5-585-
3480, 2VAC5-585-3500, 2VAC5-585-3510, 2VAC5-585-
3541, 2VAC5-585-3542, 2VAC5-585-3600, 2VAC5-585-
3620, 2VAC5-585-3630, 2VAC5-585-3800 through 
2VAC5-585-3840, 2VAC5-585-3860, 2VAC5-585-3910, 
2VAC5-585-3930, 2VAC5-585-3940, 2VAC5-585-3950, 
2VAC5-585-4040, 2VAC5-585-4050, 2VAC5-585-4060; 
adding 2VAC5-585-65, 2VAC5-585-67, 2VAC5-585-255, 
2VAC5-585-725, 2VAC5-585-755, 2VAC5-585-1435, 
2VAC5-585-1535, 2VAC5-585-1885, 2VAC5-585-2045, 
2VAC5-585-2505, 2VAC5-585-2595, 2VAC5-585-3047, 
2VAC5-585-3655, 2VAC5-585-3660; repealing 2VAC5-
585-15, 2VAC5-585-1870). 
Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5121 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 
Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 786-8910, FAX (804) 371-7792, TTY (800) 828-1120, 
or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The Retail Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) 
establish minimum sanitary standards for retail food 
establishments such as supermarkets, grocery stores, and 
convenience stores. Those standards include the safe and 
sanitary maintenance, storage, operation, and use of 
equipment; the safe preparation, handling, protection, and 
preservation of food including necessary refrigeration or 
heating methods and procedures for vector and pest 
control; requirements for toilet and handwashing facilities 
for employees; requirements for appropriate lighting and 
ventilation; requirements for an approved water supply 
and sewage disposal system; personal hygiene standards 
for employees; and the appropriate use of precautions to 
prevent the transmission of communicable diseases.  
The current regulation is based on the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) 2005 Food Code and the 2007 Food 

Code Supplement. The existing regulation is amended to be 
consistent with the current 2013 FDA Food Code. Many of 
the changes refine and provide further clarity to existing 
regulations.  
Amendments include requirements that (i) retail food 
establishments must refrigerate cut leafy greens in order to 
ensure that the product is safe to consume; (ii) food 
establishments must have employees who are fully 
informed regarding food allergens and their dangers; (iii) 
retail food establishment employees must be aware of their 
responsibility to inform management of any health or 
illness issue that might affect the safety of food products; 
(iv) the food establishment must have procedures in place 
for addressing vomitus or fecal matter discharge on 
surfaces in the food establishment; (v) wild mushrooms 
cannot be sold unless the establishment has been approved 
to do so by the regulatory authority; (vi) bare hand contact 
with ready-to-eat food ingredients is allowed in certain 
instances; (vii) game animals that are sold must be raised, 
slaughtered, and processed under a voluntary inspection 
program that is conducted by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture or the state agency that has animal health 
jurisdiction; (viii) the food establishment must discontinue 
operations and notify the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services if an imminent health 
hazard exists at the establishment; (ix) the food 
establishment must immediately contact the agency to 
report a food employee illness due to nontyphoidal 
Salmonella if it is determined that the illness is of a nature 
that can be transmitted through food; (x) the food 
establishment must correct all priority item violations 
within 72 hours and all priority foundation item violations 
within 10 days; and (xi) the food establishment must have 
at least one supervisor who is a certified food protection 
manager.  
Changes made to the final regulation include (i) adding 
definitions for "approved water system," "potable water," 
"private well," "pure water," and "waterworks"; (ii) 
making the person in charge responsible for ensuring that 
employees are properly maintaining the temperatures of 
time/temperature control for safety foods during hot and 
cold holding; (iii) removing definitions for "drinking 
water" and "public water system"; (iii) requiring food 
allergy awareness as a component of employee training; 
(iv) updating the Guide for Control of Molluscan Shellfish 
to the 2013 edition; (v) exempting eggs sold pursuant to 
§ 3.2-5305 of the Code of Virginia from the U.S. Consumer 
Grade B tolerances; (vi) requiring a food establishment to 
provide cleaning agents and sanitizers during hours of 
operation; (vii) requiring a food establishment to sample 
its water system before placing the system into service; 
(viii) requiring a food establishment to test its water for 
nitrate and total coliform; (ix) requiring food 
establishments to maintain reports of water samples for 
five years; (x) requiring that the water source in a food 
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establishment meet both the maximum daily and peak 
hourly water demands; (xi) adding provisions to allow 
dogs to accompany patrons in certain food establishments 
that provide food service in an outdoor setting; (xii) 
requiring the inclusion of additional information in a 
Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points plan; and 
(xiii) requiring the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services to provide training and continuing 
education to its inspectors. 
The amendments are adopted concurrently with the 
Virginia Department of Health action adopting certain 
changes based on the 2013 FDA Food Code and 
Supplement, also published in this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

2VAC5-585-15. Categories of requirements. (Repealed.) 
Requirements contained in this regulation are presented as 

being in one of three categories of importance: critical item 
(as defined in 2VAC5-585-40); "swing" (i.e., those that may 
or may not be critical depending on the circumstances); and 
noncritical. An asterisk (*) after a catchline (the language 
immediately following a section number that introduces the 
subject of the section) indicates that all of the provisions 
within that section are critical unless otherwise indicated, as 
follows: 

1. Any provisions that are "swing" items are followed by 
the superscripted letter S and any provisions that are 
noncritical are followed by the superscripted letter N. 
2. Any unmarked provisions within a section that has an 
asterisked catchline are critical. All provisions following a 
catchline that is not marked with an asterisk are noncritical. 

Article 2  
Definitions  

2VAC5-585-40. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 
certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 
accrediting agency as conforming to national standards for 
organizations that certify individuals. "Accredited program" 
refers to the certification process and is a designation based 
upon an independent evaluation of factors such as the 
sponsor's mission; organizational structure; staff resources; 
revenue sources; policies; public information regarding 
program scope, eligibility requirements, recertification, 
discipline, and grievance procedures; and test development 
and administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to 
training functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 
meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 
21 USC § 321(s) and 21 CFR Part 170 170.3(e)(1) or (ii) 
"color additive" having the meaning stated in the Federal 

Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 321(t) and 21 CFR 
Part 70 70.3(f). 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 342. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 
determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 
generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

[ "Approved water system" means a permitted waterworks 
constructed, maintained, and operated pursuant to 12VAC5-
590 or a private well constructed, maintained, and operated 
pursuant to 12VAC5-630. ]  

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 
showing or producing indication indications of a disease or 
other medical condition, such as an individual infected with a 
pathogen but not exhibiting or producing any signs or 
symptoms of vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. Asymptomatic 
includes not showing symptoms because symptoms have 
resolved or subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"aw" "Aw" means water activity that is a measure of the free 
moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 
of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water 
at the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol aw 
Aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 
incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 
specific stage of development after which it is removed from 
incubation before hatching. 

"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 
"Board" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 
"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in 

bottles, packages, or other containers and offered for sale for 
human consumption, including bottled mineral water. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 
made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Certification number" means a unique combination of 
letters and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority 
to a molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of 
the National Shellfish Sanitation Program.  

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 
chapter to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 
section numbers [ for. For ] example, 40 CFR 180.194 refers 
to Title 40, Part 180, Section 194. 

"CIP" means cleaned in place by the circulation or flowing 
by mechanical means through a piping system of a detergent 
solution, water rinse, and sanitizing solution onto or over 
equipment surfaces that require cleaning, such as the method 
used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen dessert machine. 
"CIP" does not include the cleaning of equipment such as 
band saws, slicers, or mixers that are subjected to in-place 
manual cleaning without the use of a CIP system. 
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"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 
regulation to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 
section numbers, such as 21 CFR 178.1010 refers to Title 21, 
Part 178, Section 1010. 

"Code of Federal Regulations" means the compilation of the 
general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register 
by the executive departments and agencies of the federal 
government that: 

1. Is published annually by the U.S. Government Printing 
Office; and 
2. Contains FDA rules in 21 CFR, USDA rules in 7 CFR 
and 9 CFR, EPA rules in 40 CFR, and Wildlife and 
Fisheries rules in 50 CFR. 

"Commingle" means: 
1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or 
from different growing areas as identified on the tag or 
label; or 
2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 
different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 
chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 
includes (i) fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 
restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, 
ground beef, and sausage; and (ii) a mixture of two or more 
types of meat that have been reduced in size and combined, 
such as sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, his duly designated officer, or his 
agent. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 
whom a job offer is made, conditional on responses to 
subsequent medical questions or examinations designed to 
identify potential food employees who may be suffering from 
a disease that can be transmitted through food and done in 
compliance with Title 1 of the Americans with Disabilities 
Act of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 
outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 
specimens identifies a causative organism or chemical agent 
and epidemiological analysis implicates the food as the 
source of the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 
takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 
an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 
and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Core item" means a provision in this chapter that is not 
designated as a priority item or a priority foundation item. 
"Core item" includes an item that usually relates to general 
sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating 
procedures, facilities or structures, equipment design, or 
general maintenance. 

"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 
maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 
prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal 
use of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 
conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 
easily movable portable and is designed to be mounted off the 
floor on a table, counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 
specific food system where loss of control may result in an 
unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical item" means a provision of this regulation that, if in 
noncompliance, is more likely than other violations to 
contribute to food contamination, illness, or environmental 
health hazard. "Critical item" is an item that is denoted in this 
regulation with an asterisk (*). 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 
which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 
controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 
the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Cut leafy greens" means fresh leafy greens whose leaves 
have been cut, shredded, sliced, chopped, or torn. The term 
"leafy greens" includes iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, leaf 
lettuce, butter lettuce, baby leaf lettuce (i.e., immature lettuce 
or leafy greens), escarole, endive, spring mix, spinach, 
cabbage, kale, arugula, and chard. The term "leafy greens" 
does not include herbs such as cilantro or parsley. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 
control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 
shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 
of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 
National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services. 

"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly 
identifies the animal-derived foods that are, or can be ordered, 
raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 
eliminate pathogens in their entirety, or items that contain an 
ingredient that is raw, undercooked, or without otherwise 
being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

 [ "Drinking water" means water that meets the "water 
quality standards" requirements for bacteria and nitrates of 
the Virginia Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590). 
Drinking water is traditionally known as "potable water." 
Drinking water includes the term water except where the term 
used connotes that the water is not potable, such as "boiler 
water," "mop water," "rainwater," "wastewater," and ] 
"nondrinking" water [ "nondrinking water." ]  

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 
storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 
potentially hazardous time/temperature control for safety food 
and dry goods such as single-service items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 
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1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 
methods; 
2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 
installation of the surface; and 
3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 
introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 
contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 
placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the 
criteria that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified 
above in this definition to different situations in which 
varying degrees of cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 
preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 
stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 
consumer dining; or 
2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 
utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as 
opposed to a decorative attachment or accessory in the 
consumer dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 
1. Portable; mounted on casters, gliders, or rollers; or 
provided with a mechanical means to safely tilt a unit of 
equipment for cleaning; and 
2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 
disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 
sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 
cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of avian species such as chicken, 
duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratites, or turkey. Egg does not 
include a balut, egg of the reptile species such as alligator, or 
an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 
inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 
processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 
for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 
Egg product does not include food that contains eggs only in 
a relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the operator, person in charge, food 
employee, person having supervisory or management duties, 
person on the payroll, family member, volunteer, person 
performing work under contractual agreement, or other 
person working in a food establishment. 

"Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC)" means E. 
coli, which cause hemorrhagic colitis, meaning bleeding 
enterically or bleeding from the intestine. The term is 
typically used in association with E. coli that have the 
capacity to produce Shiga toxins and to cause attaching and 
effacing lesion in the intestine. EHEC is a subset of Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli (STEC), whose members 
produce additional virulence factors. Infections with EHEC 
may be asymptomatic but are classically associated with 

bloody diarrhea (hemorrhagic colitis) and hemolytic euremic 
syndrome (HUS) or thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura 
(TTP). Examples of serotypes of EHEC include: E. coli 
O157:H7; E. coli O157:NM; E. coli O26:H11; E. coli 
O145:NM; E. coli O103:H2; or E. coli O111:NM. Also see 
Shiga toxin-producing E. coli. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 
"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 

a food establishment. "Equipment" includes, but is not limited 
to, items, such as a freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat 
block, mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, slicer, 
stove, table, temperature measuring device for ambient air, 
vending machine, or warewashing machine. 

"Equipment" does not include items apparatuses used for 
handling or storing large quantities of packaged foods that are 
received from a supplier in a cased or overwrapped lot, such 
as hand trucks, forklifts, dollies, pallets, racks, and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as a 
food an employee in a food establishment or entering a food 
establishment as an employee. 

"°F" means degrees Fahrenheit. 
"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 
"Fish" means fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and 

other forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic 
turtle, jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of 
such animals) other than birds or mammals; all mollusks, if 
such animal life is intended for human consumption; and 
includes any edible human food product derived in whole or 
in part from fish, including fish that has been processed in 
any manner. 

"Food" means (i) a raw, cooked, or processed edible 
substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for 
use or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption or 
(ii) chewing gum. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 
or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 
of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 
utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 
surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 
drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in 
contact with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 
unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 
surfaces. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, means an 
operation that stores, prepares, packages, serves, vends food 
directly to the consumer, or otherwise offers for retail sale 
provides food for human consumption (i) such as a market;, 
restaurant;, satellite or catered feeding location;, catering 
operation if the operation provides food directly to a 
consumer or to a conveyance used to transport people;, 
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vending location;, conveyance used to transport people;, 
institution;, or food bank and (ii) that relinquishes possession 
of a food to a consumer directly, or indirectly through a 
delivery service such as home delivery of grocery orders or 
restaurant take out takeout orders, or delivery service that is 
provided by common carriers. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, includes (i) 
an element of the operation such as a transportation vehicle or 
a central preparation facility that supplies a vending location 
or satellite feeding location and (ii) an operation that is 
conducted in a mobile, stationary, temporary, or permanent 
facility or location, where consumption is on or off the 
premises. 

"Food establishment," as used in this regulation, does not 
include: 

1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged foods 
that are not potentially hazardous time/temperature control 
for safety foods; 
2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh 
fruits and vegetables; 
3. A food processing plant, including those that are located 
on the premises of a food establishment; 
4. A food warehouse; 
5. A kitchen in a private home; or 
6. A private home that receives catered or home delivered 
food. 

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 
manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 
consumption and provides food for sale or distribution to 
other business entities such as food processing plants or food 
establishments. "Food processing plant" does not include a 
"food establishment" as previously defined in this section. 
establishment." 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 
food, that is not classified as cattle, (i) livestock, sheep, 
swine, goat, horse, mule, or other equine in 9 CFR Part 301, 
Definitions, as Poultry in 9 CFR Part 381, Poultry Products 
Inspection Regulations, or as fish as previously defined in this 
section. 301.2; (ii) poultry; or (iii) fish. "Game animal" 
includes mammals such as reindeer, elk, deer, antelope, water 
buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, opossum, raccoon, nutria, or 
muskrat, and nonaquatic reptiles such as land snakes. "Game 
animal" does not include ratites such as ostrich, emu, and 
rhea. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not 
classified by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 
152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the United 
States Public Health Service/FDA "Grade "A" Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance (2003)", 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration) and "Grade A Condensed and Dry Milk 

Ordinance (1995)" with which certain fluid and dry milk and 
milk products comply. 

"HACCP Plan" plan" means a written document that 
delineates the formal procedures for following the Hazard 
Analysis Critical Control Point principles developed by the 
National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for 
Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 
washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially 
placed for use in personal hygiene and designed for the 
washing of hands. Handwashing sink includes an automatic 
handwashing facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 
that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 
medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 
assistant, or similar medical profession professional. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 
designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 
microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 
maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 
processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are 
more likely than other people in the general population to 
experience foodborne disease because they are (i) 
immunocompromised; preschool age children, or older 
adults; and (ii) obtaining food at a facility that provides 
services such as custodial care, health care, or assisted living, 
such as a child or adult day care center, kidney dialysis 
center, hospital or nursing home, or nutritional or 
socialization services such as a senior center. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or 
danger to health that is considered to exist when there is 
evidence sufficient to show that a product, practice, 
circumstance, or event creates a situation that requires 
immediate correction or cessation of operation to prevent 
injury based on the number of potential injuries, and the 
nature, severity, and duration of the anticipated injury. 

"Injected" means tenderizing a meat with deep penetration 
or injecting the meat such as with juices that may be referred 
to as "injecting," "pinning," or "stitch pumping." During 
injection infectious or toxigenic microorganisms may be 
introduced from its surface to its interior. manipulating meat 
to which a solution has been introduced into its interior by 
processes such as "injecting," "pump marinating," or "stitch 
pumping." 

"Juice" means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted 
from one or more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible 
portions of one or more fruits or vegetables, or any 
concentrate of such liquid or purée. Juice does not include, 
for purposes of HACCP, liquids, purées, or concentrates that 
are not used as beverages or ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 
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"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 
regulations, and ordinances. 

"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 
napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments, 
including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 
flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 
lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 
walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans; or a food ingredient 
that contains protein derived from one of these foods. Major 
food allergen does not include (i) any highly refined oil 
derived from a major food allergen in this definition and any 
ingredient derived from such highly refined oil; or (ii) any 
ingredient that is exempt under the petition or notification 
process specified in the Food Allergen Labeling and 
Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (P. L. 108-282, Title II, 
Sec. 201) (Pub. L. No. 108-282). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including 
the dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other 
edible animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 2 and 3 and 4. 

"Mechanically tenderized" means manipulating meat with 
deep penetration by processes that may be referred to as 
"blade tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," "needling," or 
using blades, pins, needles or any mechanical device. 
"Mechanically tenderized" does not include processes by 
which solutions are injected into meat. 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 
equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 
frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 
thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 
shucked adductor muscle. 

"Noncontinuous cooking" means the cooking of food in a 
food establishment using a process in which the initial 
heating of the food is intentionally halted so that it may be 
cooled and held for complete cooking at a later time prior to 
sale or service. "Noncontinuous cooking" does not include 
cooking procedures that only involve temporarily interrupting 
or slowing an otherwise continuous cooking process. 

"Operator" means the entity that is legally responsible for 
the operation of the food establishment such as the owner, the 
owner's agent, or other person. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, securely 
bagged, or securely packaged wrapped, whether packaged in 
a food establishment or a food processing plant. "Packaged" 
does not include a wrapper, carry-out box, or other 
nondurable container used to containerize food with the 
purpose of facilitating food protection during service and 
receipt of the food by the consumer. wrapped or placed in a 
carry-out container to protect the food during service or 
delivery to the consumer, by a food employee, upon 
consumer request.  

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 
partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 
subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 
establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 
of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 
poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 
maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or 
appearance. Personal care items include items such as 
medicines;, first aid supplies;, and other items such as 
cosmetics, and toiletries such as toothpaste and mouthwash. 

"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 
hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 
of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Values between 0 and 
7.0 indicate acidity and values between 7.0 and 14 indicate 
alkalinity. The value for pure distilled water is 7.0, which is 
considered neutral. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 
of a food establishment including accessories such as soap 
and towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures 
and heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 
permanently or temporarily connected to the water 
distribution system of the premises and demands a supply of 
water from the system or discharges used water, waste 
materials, or sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage 
system of the premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 
pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent 
pipes; sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, 
including their respective connections, devices, and 
appurtenances within the premises; and water-treating 
equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 
intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, which include cleaning and 
sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 
agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 
2. Pesticides, except sanitizers, which include substances 
such as insecticides and rodenticides; 
3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 
of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants, 
paints, and personal care items that may be deleterious to 
health; and 
4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 
maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises 
for retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

[ "Potable water" means water fit for human consumption 
that is obtained from an approved water supply and that is (i) 
sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic substances, 
and toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts and (ii) 
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adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum health 
requirements of the person served. Potable water is 
traditionally known as drinking water and excludes such 
nonpotable forms as boiler water, mop water, rainwater, 
wastewater, and nondrinking water. ]  

"Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for safety 
food)" means a food that requires time/temperature control for 
safety (TCS) to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin 
formation:  

1. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) includes an animal food that is raw or heat-
treated; a plant food that is heat-treated or consists of raw seed 
sprouts, cut melons, cut tomatoes, or mixtures of cut tomatoes 
that are not modified in a way so that they are unable to 
support pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, 
or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not modified in a way that 
results in mixtures that do not support pathogenic 
microorganism growth or toxin formation; and except as 
specified in subdivision 2 of this definition, a food that 
because of the interaction of its Aw and pH values is 
designated as Product Assessment Required (PA) in Table A 
or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores in 
food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and subsequently 
packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6-5.6 >5.6 

<0.92 non-
PHF*/non-
TCS food** 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

> 0.92-
0.95 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA*** 

>0.95 non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 
***PA means Product Assessment required 

  

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of vegetative 
cells and spores in food not heat treated or heat treated but not 
packaged. 

Aw 
value

s 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 4.6 > 4.6 - 
5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-
PHF*/non
-TCS 
food** 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

0.88-
0.90 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

PA*** 

>0.90
-0.92 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non
-TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 
***PA means Product Assessment required 

2. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) does not include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable Salmonellae; 
b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 
c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
PHF/non-TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 
d. A food that is designated as Product Assessment 
required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition and has 
undergone a Product Assessment showing that the 
growth or toxin formation of pathogenic microorganisms 
that are reasonably likely to occur in that food is 
precluded due to: 
(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients; 
(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use; or 
(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 
e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 
ducks, geese, or guineas), guineas, ratites, or squabs), whether 
live or dead, as defined in 9 CFR Part 381, Poultry Products 
Inspection Regulations, 381.1 and any migratory waterfowl, 
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game bird, or squab such as pheasant, partridge, quail, grouse, 
or guineas, or pigeon or squab, whether live or dead, as 
defined in 9 CFR Part 362 362.1, Voluntary Poultry 
Inspection Regulations. "Poultry" does not include ratites. 

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 
contiguous land or property under the control of the operator 
or person in charge or the physical facility, its contents, and 
the land or property not described above if its facilities and 
contents are under the control of the operator and may impact 
food establishment personnel, facilities, or operations, and a 
food establishment is only one component of a larger 
operation. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses 
and sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork 
loin, lamb flank, or veal breast. 

"Priority item" means a provision in this chapter whose 
application contributes directly to the elimination, prevention, 
or reduction to an acceptable level of hazards associated with 
foodborne illness or injury and there is no other provision that 
more directly controls the hazard. "Priority item" includes 
items with a quantifiable measure to show control of hazards 
such as cooking, reheating, cooling, and handwashing and is 
denoted in this chapter with a superscript Pp. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 
whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or 
more priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an 
item that requires the purposeful incorporation of specific 
actions, equipment, or procedures by industry management to 
attain control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne 
illness or injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or 
necessary equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or 
recordkeeping, and labeling and is denoted in this chapter 
with a superscript PfPf. 

 [ "Public water system" has the meaning stated in 40 CFR 
Part 141, National Primary Drinking Water Regulations. 

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a 
person on land that is owned or leased by that person and is 
usually intended for household, groundwater source heat 
pump, agricultural use, industrial use, or other nonpublic 
water well. 

"Pure water" means potable water fit for human 
consumption that is (i) sanitary and normally free of minerals, 
organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable 
amounts and (ii) adequate in quantity and quality for the 
minimum health requirements of the persons served. Potable 
water is traditionally known as drinking water and excludes 
such nonpotable forms as boiler water, mop water, rainwater, 
wastewater, and nondrinking water. ]  

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 
rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 
1. (i) Is in a form that is edible without additional 
preparation to achieve food safety, as specified under 

subsections A through C of 2VAC5-585-700 or A, B, and 
C; 2VAC5-585-710; or 2VAC5-585-730; (ii) is a raw or 
partially cooked animal food and the consumer is advised 
as specified under subdivisions D 1 and D 2 of 2VAC5-
585-700 D 1 and D 3; or (iii) is prepared in accordance 
with a variance that is granted as specified under 
subdivisions D 1 and D 3 of 2VAC5-585-700 D 4; and 
2. May receive additional preparation for palatability or 
aesthetic, epicurean, gastronomic, or culinary purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 
1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 
2VAC5-585-700 or 2VAC5-585-710, or frozen as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-730; 
2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-510; 
3. Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding, as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-720; 
4. All potentially hazardous food time/temperature control 
for safety food that is cooked to the temperature and time 
required for the specific food under Article 4 (2VAC5-585-
700 et seq.) of Part III of this regulation chapter and cooled 
as specified in 2VAC5-585-800; 
5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 
processing is not required for food safety, and from which 
rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 
removed; 
6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, 
seasonings, and sugar; 
7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or 
icing for which further cooking is not required for food 
safety; 
8. The following products that are produced in accordance 
with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 
treatment for pathogens: dry, fermented sausages, such as 
dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat and poultry 
products, such as prosciutto ham, country cured ham, and 
Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry products, such as 
jerky or beef sticks; and 
9. Food manufactured according to 21 CFR Part 113, 
Thermally Processed Low-Acid Foods Packaged in 
Hermetically Sealed Containers. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means (i) the reduction of the 
amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 
displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 
combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 
content to a level below that normally found in the 
atmosphere (approximately 21% at sea level); and (ii) a 
process as specified in clause (i) of this definition that 
involves a food for which the hazards Clostridium botulinum 
or Listeria monocytogenes require control in the final 
packaged form. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" includes: 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2814 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 
package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 
that a vacuum remains inside the package, such as sous 
vide; 
2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that its 
composition is different from air but the atmosphere may 
change over time due to the permeability of the packaging 
material or the respiration of the food. Modified 
atmosphere packaging includes reduction in the proportion 
of oxygen, total replacement of oxygen, or an increase in 
the proportion of other gases such as carbon dioxide or 
nitrogen; 
3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until 
the package is opened, its composition is different from air, 
and continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, 
such as by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of 
total replacement of oxygen, nonrespiring food, and 
impermeable packaging material; 
4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 
into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are 
then sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly 
chilled and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the 
growth of psychotrophic pathogens; or 
5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 
food is placed in a hermetically sealed, vacuum packaged 
in an impermeable bag, cooked in the bag, rapidly chilled, 
and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the growth of 
psychotrophic pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 
sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means local, state, or federal 
enforcement body or their authorized representative having 
jurisdiction over the food establishment. 

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 
risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 
otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" means the transfer of food that is unused and 
returned by a consumer after being served or sold and in the 
possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 
that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 
transmissible through food and the food employee does not 
work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, 
and or unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 

"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator 
reject, inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 
contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 
(pesticides classified for restricted use) and that is limited to 
use by or under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect 
will occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a 
food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 
composed of materials that may not reasonably be expected to 
result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a component 
or otherwise affecting the characteristics of any food; an 
additive that is used as specified in § 409 or 706 of the 
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC §§ 348 and 
376) (21 USC § 348); or other materials that are not additives 
and that are used in conformity with applicable regulations of 
the Food and Drug Administration. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 
chemicals on cleaned food contact food-contact surfaces that, 
when evaluated for efficacy, is sufficient to yield a 5-log 
reduction of five logs, which is equal to a 99.999% reduction, 
of representative disease microorganisms of public health 
importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that permit 
allow the entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, 
signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide 
assistance to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which 
a mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 
regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 
discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and 
ice bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or 
vegetable matter in suspension or solution and may include 
liquids containing chemicals in solution. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 
tribal, or other government entity legally responsible for 
administering a program that includes certification of 
molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 
commerce. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 
"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" (STEC) or 

"STEC" means any E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins 
(also called verocytotoxins or "Shiga-like" toxins) 
verocytotoxins). STEC infections can be asymptomatic or 
may result in a spectrum of illness ranging from mild 
nonbloody diarrhea to hemorrhagic colitis (i.e., bloody 
diarrhea) to hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which is a 
type of kidney failure. Examples of serotypes of STEC 
include both O157 and non-O157 E.coli. Also see 
Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli.: E. coli O157:H7, E. 
coli O157:NM, E. coli O26:H11, E. coli O145:NM, E. coli 
O103:H2, and E. coli O111:NM. STEC are sometimes 
referred to as VTEC (verocytotoxigenic E. coli) or as EHEC 
(enterohemorrhagic E. coli). EHEC are a subset of STEC that 
can cause hemorrhagic colitis or HUS.  
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"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 
or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 
and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 
straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 
constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 
intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food 
containers designed and constructed to be used once and 
discarded. Single-use articles includes items such as wax 
paper, butcher paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food 
containers, jars, plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, 
pickle barrels, ketchup bottles, and number 10 cans that do 
not meet the materials, durability, strength, and cleanability 
specifications under 2VAC5-585-960, 2VAC5-585-1080, and 
2VAC5-585-1100 for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 
of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 
temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation 
for deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during 
the cooking of previously block-frozen food such as spinach 
shrimp. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface 
free of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or 
exceeding that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a 
nonfood-contact surface of equipment having a surface equal 
to that of commercial grade hot-rolled steel free of visible 
scale; and a floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level 
surface with no roughness or projections that render it 
difficult to clean. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 
table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and 
spoons; hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, 
and tumblers; and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 
thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 
temperature of food, air, or water. 

"Temporary food establishment" means a food 
establishment that operates for a period of no more than 14 
consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or 
celebration. 

"Time/temperature control for safety food" or "TCS" 
(formerly "potentially hazardous food") means a food that 
requires time/temperature control for safety to limit 
pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation:  

1. Time/temperature control for safety food includes an 
animal food that is raw or heat treated; a plant food that is 
heat treated or consists of raw seed sprouts, cut melons, cut 
leafy greens, cut tomatoes or mixtures of cut tomatoes that 
are not modified in a way so that they are unable to support 
pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, or 
garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not modified in a way so that 
they are unable to support pathogenic microorganism 

growth or toxin formation; and except as specified in 
subdivision 2 d of this definition, a food that because of the 
interaction of its Aw and pH values is designated as product 
assessment required (PA) in Table A or B of this 
definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores in 
food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 
subsequently packaged. 

Aw values pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6-5.6 >5.6 

≤0.92 non-TCS 
food* 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

>0.92-
0.95 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.95 non-TCS 
food 

PA PA 

*TCS means time/temperature control for safety food 
**PA means product assessment required 

  

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of vegetative 
cells and spores in food not heat treated or heat treated but 
not packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 
4.6 

> 4.6 - 
5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-
TCS 
food* 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

0.88-
0.90 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.90-
0.92 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA PA 

*TCS means time/temperature control for safety food 
**PA means product assessment required 

2. Time/temperature control for safety food does not 
include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable salmonellae; 
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b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 
c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 
d. A food that is designated as PA in Table A or B of this 
definition and has undergone a product assessment 
showing that the growth or toxin formation of pathogenic 
microorganisms that are reasonably likely to occur in that 
food is precluded due to: 
(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients; 
(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use; or 
(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 
e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 
"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 

in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 
service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 
multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 
with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 
measuring devices; and probe-type price or identification tags 
used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 
department that authorizes a modification or waiver of one or 
more requirements of this chapter if, in the opinion of the 
department, a health hazard or nuisance will not result from 
the modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 
insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, or by 
optional manual operation, dispenses unit servings of food in 
bulk or in packages without the necessity of replenishing the 
device between each vending operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 
space, or area where one or more vending machines are 
installed and operated and includes the storage and servicing 
areas on the premises that are used in conjunction with the 
vending machines areas and areas on the premises that are 
used to service and maintain the vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of 
utensils and food-contact surfaces of equipment and utensils. 

[ "Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 
or more individuals for at least 60 days out of the 
year.  Waterworks includes all structures, equipment, and 
appurtenances used in the storage, collection, purification, 
treatment, and distribution of potable water except the piping 
and fixtures inside the building where such water is 
delivered. ]  

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that 
is not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or 
scored and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

Part II  
Management and Personnel  

Article 1  
Supervision  

2VAC5-585-50. Assignment of responsibility.* 
The A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 

the operator shall be the person in charge or shall designate a 
person in charge and shall ensure that a person in charge is 
present at the food establishment during all hours of 
operation.Pf 

B. In a food establishment with two or more separately 
inspected departments that are the legal responsibility of the 
same operator and that are located on the same premises, the 
operator may, during specific time periods when food is not 
being prepared, packaged, or served, designate a single 
person in charge who is present on the premises during all 
hours of operation, and who is responsible for each separately 
inspected food establishment on the premises.Pf 
[ 2VAC5-585-55. Certified food protection manager. 

A. At least one employee who has supervisory and 
management responsibility and the authority to direct and 
control food preparation and service shall be a certified food 
protection manager who has shown proficiency of required 
information through passing a test that is part of an accredited 
program. 

B. This section does not apply to certain types of food 
establishments deemed by the regulatory authority to pose 
minimal risk of causing, or contributing to, foodborne illness 
based on the nature of the operation and extent of food 
preparation. 

C. For purposes of enforcing this section, this requirement 
will take effect insert date 18 months after the effective date 
of this chapter.  
2VAC5-585-57. Food protection manager certification. 

A. A person in charge who demonstrates knowledge by 
being a food protection manager and is certified by a food 
protection manager certification program that is evaluated and 
listed by a Conference for Food Protection-recognized 
accrediting agency as conforming to the Standards for 
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Accreditation of Food Protection Manager Certification 
Programs, April 2012, (Conference for Food Protection) is 
deemed to comply with subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-60. 

B. A food establishment that has an employee who is 
certified by a food protection manager certification program 
that is evaluated and listed by a Conference for Food 
Protection-recognized accrediting agency as conforming to 
the Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 
Certification Programs, April 2012, (Conference for Food 
Protection) is deemed to comply with 2VAC5-585-55. ]  
2VAC5-585-60. Demonstration.* 

Based on the risks of foodborne illness inherent to the food 
operation, during inspections and upon request the person in 
charge shall demonstrate to the department knowledge of 
foodborne disease prevention, application of the Hazard 
Analysis Critical Control Point principles, and the 
requirements of this regulation chapter. The person in charge 
shall demonstrate this knowledge by: 

1. Complying with this regulation chapter by having no 
violations of priority items during the current inspection;Pf 
2. Being a certified food protection manager who has 
shown proficiency of required information through passing 
a test that is part of an accredited program;Pf or 
3. Responding correctly to the inspector's questions as they 
relate to the specific food operation. The areas of 
knowledge include: 

a. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne disease and the personal hygiene of a food 
employee;Pf 
b. Explaining the responsibility of the person in charge 
for preventing the transmission of foodborne disease by a 
food employee who has a disease or medical condition 
that may cause foodborne disease;Pf 
c. Describing the symptoms associated with the diseases 
that are transmissible through food;Pf 
d. Explaining the significance of the relationship between 
maintaining the time and temperature of potentially 
hazardous food (time/temperature time/temperature 
control for safety food) food and the prevention of 
foodborne illness;Pf 
e. Explaining the hazards involved in the consumption of 
raw or undercooked meat, poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 
f. Stating the required food temperatures and times for 
safe cooking of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety 
food) food including meat, poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 
g. Stating the required temperatures and times for the 
safe refrigerated storage, hot holding, cooling, and 
reheating of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety 
food) food;Pf 

h. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne illness and the management and control of the 
following: 
(1) Cross contamination;Pf 
(2) Hand contact with ready-to-eat foods;Pf 
(3) Handwashing;Pf and 
(4) Maintaining the food establishment in a clean 
condition and in good repair;Pf 
i. Describing the foods identified as major food allergens 
and the symptoms that a major food allergen could cause 
in a sensitive individual who has an allergic reaction;Pf 
j. Explaining the relationship between food safety and 
providing equipment that is: 
(1) Sufficient in number and capacity;Pf and 
(2) Properly designed, constructed, located, installed, 
operated, maintained, and cleaned;Pf 
k. Explaining correct procedures for cleaning and 
sanitizing utensils and food-contact surfaces of 
equipment;Pf 
l. Identifying the source of water used and measures 
taken to ensure that it remains protected from 
contamination such as providing protection from 
backflow and precluding the creation of cross 
connections;Pf 
m. Identifying poisonous or toxic materials in the food 
establishment and the procedures necessary to ensure that 
they are safely stored, dispensed, used, and disposed of 
according to law;Pf 
n. Identifying critical control points in the operation from 
purchasing through sale or service that when not 
controlled may contribute to the transmission of 
foodborne illness and explaining steps taken to ensure 
that the points are controlled in accordance with the 
requirements of this regulation chapter;Pf 
o. Explaining the details of how the person in charge and 
food employees comply with the HACCP plan if a plan is 
required by the law, this regulation chapter, or an 
agreement between the department and the food 
establishment;Pf  
p. Explaining the responsibilities, rights, and authorities 
assigned by this regulation chapter to the: 
(1) Food employee;Pf 
(2) Conditional employee;Pf 
(3) Person in charge;Pf and 
(3) (4) Department;Pf and 
q. Explaining how the person in charge, food employees, 
and conditional employees comply with reporting 
responsibilities and the exclusion or restriction of food 
employees.Pf 
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 [ 2VAC5-585-65. Certified food protection manager. 
A. At least one employee who has supervisory and 

management responsibility and the authority to direct and 
control food preparation and service shall be a certified food 
protection manager who has shown proficiency of required 
information through passing a test that is part of an accredited 
program. 

B. This section does not apply to certain types of food 
establishments deemed by the regulatory authority to pose 
minimal risk of causing, or contributing to, foodborne illness 
based on the nature of the operation and extent of food 
preparation. 

C. For purposes of enforcing this section, this requirement 
will take effect July 1, 2018. 
2VAC5-585-67. Food protection manager certification. 

A. A person in charge who demonstrates knowledge by 
being a food protection manager and is certified by a food 
protection manager certification program that is evaluated and 
listed by a Conference for Food Protection-recognized 
accrediting agency as conforming to the Standards for 
Accreditation of Food Protection Manager Certification 
Programs, April 2012, (Conference for Food Protection) is 
deemed to comply with subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-60. 

B. A food establishment that has an employee who is 
certified by a food protection manager certification program 
that is evaluated and listed by a Conference for Food 
Protection-recognized accrediting agency as conforming to 
the Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 
Certification Programs, April 2012, (Conference for Food 
Protection) is deemed to comply with 2VAC5-585-65. ]  
2VAC5-585-70. Duties of person in charge. 

The person in charge shall ensure that: 
1. Food establishment operations are not conducted in a 
private home or in a room used as living or sleeping 
quarters as specified under 2VAC5-585-2990;Pf 
2. Persons unnecessary to the food establishment operation 
are not allowed in the food preparation, food storage, or 
warewashing areas, except that brief visits and tours may 
be authorized by the person in charge if steps are taken to 
ensure that exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use 
articles are protected from contamination;Pf 
3. Employees and other persons such as delivery and 
maintenance persons and pesticide applicators entering the 
food preparation, food storage, and warewashing areas 
comply with this regulation chapter;Pf 
4. Employees are effectively cleaning their hands, by 
routinely monitoring the employees' handwashing;Pf 
5. Employees are visibly observing foods as they are 
received to determine that they are from approved sources, 
delivered at the required temperatures, protected from 
contamination, unadulterated, and accurately presented, by 

routinely monitoring the employees' observations and 
periodically evaluating foods upon their receipt;Pf 
6. Employees are verifying that foods delivered to the food 
establishment during nonoperating hours are from 
approved sources and are placed into appropriate storage 
locations such that they are maintained at the required 
temperatures, protected from contamination, unadulterated, 
and accurately presented;Pf 
7. Employees are properly cooking potentially hazardous 
food time/temperature control for safety food, being 
particularly careful in cooking those foods known to cause 
severe foodborne illness and death, such as eggs and 
comminuted meats, through daily oversight of the 
employees' routine monitoring of the cooking temperatures 
using appropriate temperature measuring devices properly 
scaled and calibrated as specified under 2VAC5-585-1180 
and 2VAC5-585-1730 B;Pf 
7. 8. Employees are using proper methods to rapidly cool 
potentially hazardous foods time/temperature control for 
safety foods that are not held hot or are not for 
consumption within four hours, through daily oversight of 
the employees' routine monitoring of food temperatures 
during cooling;Pf 
8. 9. [ Employees are properly maintaining the 
temperatures of time/temperature control for safety food 
during hot and cold holding through daily oversight of the 
employees' routine monitoring of food temperatures;Pf 
10. ] Consumers who order raw or partially cooked ready-
to-eat foods of animal origin are informed as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-930 that the food is not cooked 
sufficiently to ensure its safety;Pf 
9. [ 10. 11. ] Employees are properly sanitizing cleaned 
multiuse equipment and utensils before they are reused, 
through routine monitoring of solution temperature and 
exposure time for hot water sanitizing, and chemical 
concentration, pH, temperature, and exposure time for 
chemical sanitizing;Pf 
10. [ 11. 12. ] Consumers are notified that clean tableware 
is to be used when they return to self-service areas such as 
salad bars and buffets as specified under 2VAC5-585-
590;Pf 
11. [ 12. 13. ] Except when otherwise approved approval is 
obtained from the department as specified in 2VAC5-585-
450 B E, employees are preventing cross-contamination of 
ready-to-eat food with bare hands by properly using 
suitable utensils such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, single-
use gloves, or dispensing equipment;Pf  
12. [ 13. 14. ] Employees are properly trained in food 
safety, including food allergy awareness, as it relates to 
their assigned duties; andPf 
13. [ 14. 15. ] Food employees and conditional employees 
are informed in a verifiable manner of their responsibility 
to report in accordance with law, to the person in charge, 
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information about their health and activities as they relate 
to diseases that are transmissible through food, as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80. A;Pf and  
[ 15. 16. ] Written procedures and plans where specified by 
this chapter and as developed by the food establishment are 
maintained and implemented as required.Pf 

Article 2  
Employee Health  

2VAC5-585-80. Responsibility of the operator, person in 
charge, and conditional employees.* 

A. The person in charge operator shall require food 
employees and conditional employees to report to the person 
in charge information about their health and activities as they 
relate to diseases that are transmissible through food. A food 
employee or conditional employee shall report the 
information in a manner that allows the person in charge to 
reduce the risk of foodborne disease transmission, including 
providing necessary additional information, such as the date 
of onset of symptoms and an illness, or of a diagnosis without 
symptoms, if the food employee or conditional employee: 

1. Has any of the following symptoms: 
a. Vomiting;P 
b. Diarrhea;P 
c. Jaundice;P  
d. Sore throat with fever;P or  
e. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 
wound that is open or draining and is: 
(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 
such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a 
single-use glove is worn over the impermeable cover;P 
(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 
protected by an impermeable cover;P or  
(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is 
covered by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage;P 

2. Has an illness diagnosed by a health practitioner due to: 
a. Norovirus;P 
b. Hepatitis A virus;P 
c. Shigella spp.;P 
d. Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli; orP 
e. [ Salmonella Typhi Typhoid fever (caused by 
Salmonella typhi) ];P or 
f. [ Nontyphoidal Salmonella Salmonella 
(nontyphoidal) ];P 

3. Had [ a previous illness typhoid fever ], diagnosed by a 
health practitioner, within the past three months due to 
Salmonella [ Typhi typhi ], without having received 
antibiotic therapy, as determined by a health practitioner;P 
4. Has been exposed to, or is the suspected source of, a 
confirmed disease outbreak, because the food employee or 

conditional employee consumed or prepared food 
implicated in the outbreak, or consumed food at an event 
prepared by a person who is infected or ill with: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last 
exposure;P 
b. Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. within 
the past three days of the last exposure;P 
c. [ Salmonella Typhi Typhoid fever ] within the past 14 
days of the last exposure;P or 
d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure;P or 

5. Has been exposed by attending or working in a setting 
where there is a confirmed disease outbreak, or living in 
the same household as, and has knowledge about an 
individual who works or attends a setting where there is a 
confirmed disease outbreak, or living in the same 
household as, and has knowledge about, an individual 
diagnosed with an illness caused by: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last 
exposure;P 
b. Enterohemorragic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. within 
the past three days of the last exposure;P 
c. [ Salmonella Typhi Typhoid fever (caused by 
Salmonella typhi) ] within the past 14 days of the last 
exposure;P or 
d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure.P 

B. The person in charge shall notify the regulatory authority 
department when a food employee is: 

1. Jaundiced;Pf or 
2. Diagnosed with an illness due to a pathogen as specified 
under subdivisions A 2 a through e f of this section.Pf 

C. The person in charge shall ensure that a conditional 
employee: 

1. Who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
diagnosed illness as specified under subdivisions A 2 a 
through e A 1 through 3 of this section, is prohibited from 
becoming a food employee until the conditional employee 
meets the criteria for the specific symptoms or diagnosed 
illness as specified under 2VAC5-585-100;P and  
2. Who will work as a food employee in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population 
and reports a history of exposure as specified under 
subdivisions A 4 and 5 of this section, is prohibited from 
becoming a food employee until the conditional employee 
meets the criteria specified under subdivision 9 10 of 
2VAC5-585-100.P 

D. The person in charge shall ensure that a food employee 
who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
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diagnosed illness or a history of exposure as specified under 
subdivision subsection A 1 through 5 of this section is: 

1. Excluded as specified under subdivisions 1 through 3 
and 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, or 7, or 8 a of 2VAC5-585-90 and in 
compliance with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 7 8 of 2VAC5-585-100;P or 
2. Restricted as specified under subdivisions subdivision 4 
b, 5 b, 6 b, 7 b, 8 b, or 9, or 10 of 2VAC5-585-90 and in 
compliance with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 4 through 9 10 of 2VAC5-585-100.P 

E. A food employee or conditional employee shall report to 
the person in charge the information as specified under 
subsection A of this section.Pf 

F. A food employee shall: 
1. Comply with an exclusion as specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 3 and 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, or 7, or 8 a of 
2VAC5-585-90, and with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 7 8 of 2VAC5-585-100;P or 
2. Comply with a restriction as specified under subdivisons 
subdivision 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, 7 b, or 8, or 9 b of 2VAC5-585-
90 or under subdivision 8, 9, or 10 of 2VAC5-585-90 and 
comply with the provisions specified under subdivisons 
subdivisions 4 through 9 10 of 2VAC5-585-100.P 

2VAC5-585-90. Exclusions and restrictions.* 
The person in charge shall exclude or restrict a food 

employee from a food establishment in accordance with the 
following: 

1. Except when the symptom is from a noninfectious 
condition, exclude a food employee if the food employee 
is: 

a. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea;P or 
b. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea and diagnosed 
with an infection from Norovirus, Shigella spp., or 
Enterohemorrhagic [ nontyphoidal ] Salmonella 
[ (nontyphoidal) ], or Shiga-toxin producing Escherichia 
Shiga toxin-producing E. coli.P 

2. Exclude a food employee who is: 
a. Jaundiced and the onset of jaundice occurred within 
the last seven calendar days, unless the food employee 
provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner specifying that 
the jaundice is not caused by Hepatitis A virus or other 
fecal-orally transmitted infection;P 
b. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
within 14 calendar days from the onset of any illness 
symptoms, or within seven calendar days of the onset of 
jaundice;P or 
c. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
without developing symptoms.P 

3. Exclude a food employee who is diagnosed with [ an 
infection from Salmonella Typhi typhoid fever ], or reports 

[ a previous infection with Salmonella Typhi having had 
typhoid fever ] within the past three months as specified in 
2VAC5-585-80 A 3.P 
4. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Norovirus and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

5. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Shigella spp. and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

6. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga toxin-
producing E. coli, and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

7. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
[ nontyphoidal ] Salmonella [ (nontyphoidal) ] and is 
asymptomatic, restrict the food employee who works in a 
food establishment serving a highly susceptible population 
or in a food establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 
7. 8. If a food employee is ill with symptoms of acute onset 
of sore throat with fever: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

8. 9. If a food employee is infected with a skin lesion 
containing pus such as a boil or infected wound that is 
open or draining and not properly covered as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A 1 e, restrict the food employee.P 
9. 10. If a food employee is exposed to a foodborne 
pathogen as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 A 4 or 5, 
restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population.P 
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2VAC5-585-100. Removal of exclusions and restrictions. 
The person in charge shall adhere to the following 

conditions when removing, adjusting, or retaining the 
exclusion or restriction of a food employee: 

1. Except when a food employee is diagnosed with 
[ typhoid fever or ] an infection from Hepatitis A virus [ or 
Salmonella Typhi ]: 

a. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 a of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
food employee: 
(1) Is asymptomatic for at least 24 hours;P or 
(2) Provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner that states the 
symptom is from a noninfectious condition.P 
b. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Norovirus and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90 1 b: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 4 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 4 a or b of this section are met.P 
c. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Shigella spp. and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic, for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 5 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in (i) 
subdivision 5 a or 5 b of this section, or 5 a and c (1) (ii) 
subdivisions 1 c (1) and 5 a of this section are met.P 
d. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli and excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 6 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 

establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 6 a or b are met.P  
e. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from [ nontyphoidal ] Salmonella [ (nontyphoidal) ] and 
excluded as specified in subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-
90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic, for 
at least 30 days until conditions for reinstatement as 
specified in subdivision 7 a or b of this section are met;P 
or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
symptomatic, until conditions for reinstatement as 
specified in subdivision 7 a or b of this section are met.P 

2. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
person in charge obtains approval from the regulatory 
authority department and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The food employee has been jaundiced for more than 
seven calendar days;P 
b. The anicteric food employee has been symptomatic 
with symptoms other than jaundice for more than 14 
calendar days;P or 
c. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
stating that the food employee is free of a Hepatitis A 
virus infection.P 

3. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-90 if: 

a. The person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority department;P and 
b. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
that states the food employee is free from S. [ Salmonella 
Typhi infection typhoid fever ].P 

4. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 4 a of 2VAC5-585-90, 
who was restricted under subdivision 4 b of 2VAC5-585-
90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority department and one of the following 
conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Norovirus infection;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
than 48 hours have passed since the food employee 
became symptomatic asymptomatic;P or 
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c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than 48 hours have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

5. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 5 a of 2VAC5-585-90 or 
who was restricted under subdivision 5 b of 2VAC5-585-
90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority department and one of the following 
conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Shigella spp. infection based on test results showing 
two consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 
taken: 
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics;P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
than seven calendar days have passed since the food 
employee became asymptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven calendar 
days have passed since the food employee was 
diagnosed.P 

6. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 1 b or 6 a of 
2VAC5-585-90 or who was restricted under subdivision 6 
b of 2VAC5-585-90 if the person in charge obtains 
approval from the regulatory authority department and one 
of the following conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of an infection from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin 
producing Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli based 
on test results that show two consecutive negative stool 
specimen cultures that are taken: 
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after the discontinuance of 
antibiotics;P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved and more 
than seven calendar days have passed since the food 
employee became asymptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven days have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

7. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b of 2VAC5-585-90 or who 
was restricted under subdivision 7 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 

person in charge obtains approval from the departmentP 
and one of the following conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a [ nontyphoidal ] Salmonella [ (nontyphoidal) ] 
infection based on test results showing two consecutive 
negative stool specimen cultures that are taken:  
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics,P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P  
b. The food employee was restricted after symptoms of 
vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more than 30 days 
have passed since the food employee became 
asymptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than 30 days have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

7. 8. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 7 8 a or b of 
2VAC5-585-90 if the food employee provides to the 
person in charge written medical documentation from a 
health practitioner stating that the food employee meets 
one of the following conditions: 

a. Has received antibiotic therapy for Streptococcus 
pyogenes infection for more than 24 hours;P 
b. Has at least one negative throat specimen culture for 
Streptococcus pyogenes infection;P or 
c. Is otherwise determined by a health practitioner to be 
free of Streptococcus pyogenes infection.P 

8. 9. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 8 9 of 2VAC5-585-90 if the 
skin, infected wound, cut, or pustular boil is properly 
covered with one of the following: 

a. An impermeable cover such as a finger cot or stall and 
a single-use glove over the impermeable cover if the 
infected wound or pustular boil is on the hand, finger, or 
wrist;P 
b. An impermeable cover on the arm if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on the arm;P or 
c. A dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on another part of the body.P 

9. 10. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 9 10 of 2VAC5-585-90 and 
was exposed to one of the following pathogens as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A 4 or 5: 

a. Norovirus and one of the following conditions is met: 
(1) More than 48 hours have passed since the last day the 
food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than 48 hours have passed since the food 
employee's household contact became asymptomatic.P 
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b. Shigella spp. or Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin 
producing Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli and 
one of the following conditions is met: 
(1) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
last day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic.P 
c. S. [ Salmonella Typhi typhoid fever (caused by 
Salmonella typhi) ] and one of the following conditions 
is met: 
(1) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the last 
day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic.P 
d. Hepatitis A virus and one of the following conditions 
is met: 
(1) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of prior illness from Hepatitis A;P 
(2) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of vaccination against Hepatitis A;P 
(3) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of IgG administration;P 
(4) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the last 
day the food employee was potentially exposed;P 
(5) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became jaundiced;P 
or 
(6) The food employee does not use an alternative 
procedure that allows bare hand contact with ready-to-eat 
food until at least 30 days after the potential exposure, as 
specified in subdivision 9 10 d (4) and (5) of this section, 
and the food employee receives additional training about: 
(a) Hepatitis A symptoms and preventing the 
transmission of infection;P 
(b) Proper handwashing procedures;P and 
(c) Protecting ready-to-eat food from contamination 
introduced by bare hand contact.P 

 [ 2VAC5-585-125. Clean-up of vomiting and diarrheal 
events. 

 A food establishment shall have procedures for employees 
to follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal events 
that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter onto 
surfaces in the food establishment.  

The procedures shall address the specific actions employees 
must take to minimize the spread of contamination and the 
exposure of employees, consumers, food, and surfaces to 
vomitus or fecal matter.Pf ]  

Article 3  
Personal Cleanliness  

2VAC5-585-130. Clean condition of hands and arms.* 
Food employees shall keep their hands and exposed portions 

of their arms clean.P 
2VAC5-585-140. Cleaning procedure of hands and arms.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, food 
employees shall clean their hands and exposed portions of 
their arms (or, including surrogate prosthetic devices for 
hands or arms) arms for at least 20 seconds, using a cleaning 
compound in a lavatory handwashing sink that is equipped as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2190 and 2VAC5-585-3020 
through 2VAC5-585-3045.P 

B. Food employees shall use the following cleaning 
procedure in the order stated to clean their hands and exposed 
portions of their arms, including surrogate prosthetic devices 
for hands and arms: 

1. Rinse under clean, running warm water;P 
2. Apply an amount of cleaning compound recommended 
by the cleaning compound manufacturer;P 
3. Rub together vigorously for at least 10 to 15 seconds 
while: 

a. Paying particular attention to removing soil from 
underneath the fingernails during the cleaning 
procedure;P and 
b. Creating friction on the surfaces of the hands and arms 
or surrogate prosthetic devices for hands and arms, finger 
tips, and areas between the fingers;P 

4. Thoroughly rinsing under clean, running warm water;P 
and 
5. Immediately follow the cleaning procedure with 
thorough drying using a method as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3030.P 

C. To avoid recontaminating their hands or surrogate 
prosthetic devices, food employees may use disposable paper 
towels or similar clean barriers when touching surfaces such 
as manually operated faucet handles on a handwashing sink 
or the handle of a restroom door. 

D. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 
encountered in the food operations involved, an automatic 
handwashing facility may be used by food employees to clean 
their hands or surrogate prosthetic devices. 
2VAC5-585-160. When to wash.* 

Food employees shall clean their hands and exposed 
portions of their arms as specified under 2VAC5-585-140 
immediately before engaging in food preparation including 
working with exposed food, clean equipment and utensils, 
and unwrapped single-service and single-use articlesP and: 

1. After touching bare human body parts or hair other than 
clean hands and clean, exposed portions of arms;P 
2. After using the toilet room;P 
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3. After caring for or handling support service animals or 
aquatic animals as allowed under 2VAC5-585-250 B;P 
4. Except as specified in 2VAC5-585-220 B, after 
coughing, sneezing, using a handkerchief or disposable 
tissue, using tobacco, eating, or drinking;P 
5. After handling soiled equipment or utensils;P 
6. During food preparation, as often as necessary to 
remove soil and contamination and to prevent cross 
contamination when changing tasks;P 
7. When switching between working with raw foods food 
and working with ready-to-eat foods food;P 
8. Before donning gloves for to initiate a task that involves 
working with food;P and 
9. Prior to donning single-use gloves if gloves are used; 
and 
10. After engaging in other activities that contaminate the 
hands.P 

2VAC5-585-170. Where to wash. 
Food employees shall clean their hands in a hand washing 

lavatory handwashing sink or approved automatic hand 
washing handwashing facility and may not clean their hands 
in a sink used for food preparation or warewashing, or in a 
service sink or a curbed cleaning facility used for the disposal 
of mop water and similar liquid waste.Pf 
2VAC5-585-180. Hand antiseptics. 

A. A hand antiseptic used as a topical application, a hand 
antiseptic solution used as a hand dip, or a hand antiseptic 
soap shall: 

1. Comply with one of the following: 
a. Be an approved drug that is listed in the FDA 
publication "Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic 
Equivalence Evaluations, 34th Edition," 2014, (U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration) as an approved drug 
based on safety and effectiveness;Pf or 
b. Have active antimicrobial ingredients that are listed in 
the FDA tentative final monograph for over the counter 
(OTC) Health-Care Antiseptic Drug Products, 59 FR 
31402-31452 (June 17, 1994) as an antiseptic 
handwash;Pf and 

2. Comply Consist only of components that the intended 
use of each complies with one of the following: 

a. Have components that are exempted from the 
requirement of being listed in the federal Food Additive 
regulations as specified in A threshold of regulation 
exemption under 21 CFR 170.39 Threshold of regulation 
for substances used in food-contact articles; orPf 
b. Comply with and be listed in: 
(1) 21 CFR Part 178, Indirect Food Additives: Adjuvants, 
Production Aids, and Sanitizers as regulated for use as a 
food additive with conditions of safe use; or 

(2) 21 CFR Part 182, Substances Generally Recognized 
as Safe; 21 CFR Part 184, Direct Food Substances 
Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe; or 21 CFR 
Part 186, Indirect Food Substances Affirmed as 
Generally Recognized as Safe for use in contact with 
food; and 
b. 21 CFR Part 178, as regulated for use as a food 
additive with conditions of safe use;Pf 
c. A determination of generally recognized as safe 
(GRAS). Partial listings of substances with food uses that 
are GRAS may be found in 21 CFR Part 182, 21 CFR 
Part 184, or 21 CFR Part 186; and in FDA's Inventory of 
GRAS Notices;Pf 
d. A prior sanction listed under 21 CFR Part 181;Pf or 
e. A food contact notification that is effective;Pf and  

3. Be applied only to hands that are cleaned as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-140.Pf 

B. If a hand antiseptic or a hand antiseptic solution used as a 
hand dip does not meet the criteria specified under 
subdivision A 2 of this section, use shall be: 

1. Followed by thorough hand rinsing in clean water before 
hand contact with food or by the use of gloves;Pf or 
2. Limited to situations that involve no direct contact with 
food by the bare hands.Pf 

C. A hand antiseptic solution used as a hand dip shall be 
maintained clean and at a strength equivalent to at least 100 
ppm (mg/l) mg/l (ppm) chlorine or above.Pf 
2VAC5-585-190. Maintenance of fingernails. 

A. Food employees shall keep their fingernails trimmed, 
filed, and maintained so the edges and surfaces are cleanable 
and not rough.Pf  

B. Unless wearing intact gloves in good repair, a food 
employee may not wear fingernail polish or artificial nails 
when working with exposed food.Pf 
2VAC5-585-200. Prohibition of jewelry. 

While preparing food, food employees may not wear 
jewelry including medical information jewelry on their arms 
and hands. This section does not apply to a plain ring such as 
a wedding band. Except for a plain ring such as a wedding 
band, while preparing food, food employees may not wear 
jewelry, including medical information jewelry, on their arms 
and hands. 

Article 4  
Hygienic Practices  

2VAC5-585-220. Eating, drinking, or using tobacco.* 
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, an 

employee shall eat, drink, or use any form of tobacco only in 
designated areas where the contamination of exposed food; 
clean equipment, utensils, and linens; unwrapped single-
service and single-use articles; or other items needing 
protection cannot result. 
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B. A food employee may drink from a closed beverage 
container with a straw if the container is handled to prevent 
contamination of: 

1. The employee's hands; 
2. The container; and 
3. Exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and 
unwrapped single-service and single-use articles. 

2VAC5-585-230. Discharges from the eyes, nose, and 
mouth.* 

Food employees experiencing persistent sneezing, coughing, 
or a runny nose that causes discharges from the eyes, nose, or 
mouth may not work with exposed food; clean equipment, 
utensils, and linens; or unwrapped single-service or single-use 
articles. 
2VAC5-585-250. Handling of animals prohibited.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, food 
employees may not care for or handle animals that may be 
present such as patrol dogs, support service animals, or pets 
that are allowed in as specified in subdivisions B 2 through B 
[ 5 6 ] of 2VAC5-585-3310.Pf 

B. Food employees with support service animals may handle 
or care for their support service animals and food employees 
may handle or care for fish in aquariums or molluscan 
shellfish or crustacea in display tanks if they wash their hands 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-140 and subdivision 3 of 
2VAC5-585-160. 
 [ 2VAC5-585-255. Clean-up of vomiting and diarrheal 
events. 

A. A food establishment shall have procedures for 
employees to follow when responding to vomiting or 
diarrheal events that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal 
matter onto surfaces in the food establishment.Pf  

B. The procedures shall address the specific actions 
employees must take to minimize the spread of contamination 
and the exposure of employees, consumers, food, and 
surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter.Pf ]  

Part III  
Food  

Article 1  
Characteristics  

2VAC5-585-260. Safe, unadulterated, and honestly 
presented.* 

Food shall be safe, unadulterated, and, as specified under 
2VAC5-585-890, honestly presented.P 

Article 2  
Sources, Specifications, and Original Containers and Records  
2VAC5-585-270. Compliance with food law.* 

A. Food shall be obtained from sources that comply with 
law.P 

B. Food prepared in a private home may not be used or 
offered for human consumption in a food establishment 

unless the home kitchen is inspected by the responsible and 
regulated by the food regulatory authority that has jurisdiction 
over the private home.P 

C. Packaged food shall be labeled as specified in law, 
including 21 CFR Part 101, Food Labeling; 9 CFR Part 317, 
Labeling, Marking Devices, and Containers; and 9 CFR Part 
381, Subpart N, Labeling and Containers; and as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-400 and 2VAC5-585-410.Pf 

D. Fish, other than molluscan shellfish, that are intended for 
consumption in their raw form and allowed as specified in 
2VAC5-585-700 D 1 may be offered for sale or service if 
they are obtained from a supplier that freezes the fish as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-730, or frozen on the premises as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-730, and records are retained as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-740. 

D. Fish, other than those specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B, 
that are intended for consumption in raw or undercooked 
form and allowed as specified in 2VAC5-585-700 D, may be 
offered for sale or service if they are obtained from a supplier 
that freezes fish as specified under 2VAC5-585-730 A, or if 
they are frozen on the premises as specified under 2VAC5-
585-730 A and records are retained as specified under 
2VAC5-585-740. 

E. Whole-muscle, intact beef steaks that are intended for 
consumption in an undercooked form without a consumer 
advisory as specified in 2VAC5-585-700 C shall be: 

1. Obtained from a food processing plant that, upon request 
by the purchaser, packages the steaks and labels them to 
indicate that they the steaks meet the definition of whole-
muscle, intact beef;Pf or 
2. Deemed acceptable by the department based on other 
evidence, such as written buyer specifications or invoices, 
that indicates that the steaks meet the definition of whole-
muscle, intact beef;Pf and 
3. If individually cut in a food establishment: 

a. Cut from whole-muscle, intact beef that is labeled by a 
food processing plant as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection or identified as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection;Pf 
b. Prepared so they remain intact;Pf and 
c. If packaged for undercooking in a food establishment, 
labeled to indicate that they meet the definition of whole-
muscle, intact beef as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection or identified as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection.Pf 

F. Meat and poultry that are not a ready-to-eat food foods 
and are in a packaged form when offered for sale or otherwise 
offered for consumption shall be labeled to include safe 
handling instructions as specified in law, including 9 CFR 
317.2(l) and 9 CFR 381.125(b). 

G. Shell eggs Eggs that have not been specifically treated to 
destroy all viable Salmonellae shall be labeled to include safe 
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handling instructions as specified in law, including 21 CFR 
101.17(h). 
2VAC5-585-280. Food in a hermetically sealed container.* 

Food in a hermetically sealed container shall be obtained 
from a food processing plant that is regulated by the food 
regulatory agency that has jurisdiction over the plant.P 
2VAC5-585-290. Fluid milk and milk products.* 

Fluid milk and milk products shall be obtained from sources 
that comply with Grade A standards as specified in law.P 
2VAC5-585-295. Juice treated. 

Pre-packaged Prepackaged juice shall: 
1. Be obtained from a processor with a HACCP system as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 120;Pf and 
2. Be obtained pasteurized or otherwise treated to attain a 
5-log reduction of the most resistant microorganism of 
public health significance as specified in 21 CFR 120.24; 
or.P 
3. Bear a warning label as specified in 21 CFR 101.17(g). 

2VAC5-585-300. Fish.* 
A. Fish that are received for sale or service shall be: 

1. Commercially and legally caught or harvested;P or 
2. Approved for sale or service by a regulatory authority.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish that are recreationally caught may 
not be received for sale or service.P 
2VAC5-585-310. Molluscan shellfish.* 

A. Molluscan shellfish shall be obtained from sources 
according to law and the requirements specified in the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, National Shellfish 
Sanitation Program Manual of Operations, Part II, Sanitation 
of the Harvesting, Processing and Distribution of Shellfish, 
1995 Revision (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 
Shellfish, [ 2011 2013 ] Revision, (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration).P 

B. Molluscan shellfish [ received in interstate commerce ] 
shall be from sources that are listed in the "Interstate Certified 
Shellfish Shippers List," updated monthly (U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration).P 
2VAC5-585-320. Wild mushrooms.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
mushroom species picked in the wild shall be obtained from 
sources where each mushroom is individually inspected and 
found to be safe by an approved mushroom identification 
expert not be offered for sale or service by a food 
establishment unless the food establishment has been 
approved to do so.P 

B. This section does not apply to: 
1. Cultivated wild mushroom species that are grown, 
harvested, and processed in an operation that is regulated 

by the food regulatory agency that has jurisdiction over the 
operation; or 
2. Wild mushroom species if they are in packaged form 
and are the product of a food processing plant that is 
regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 
jurisdiction over the plant. 

2VAC5-585-330. Game animals.* 
A. If game animals are received for sale or service they shall 

be: 
1. Commercially raised for food and: a. Raised raised, 
slaughtered, and processed under a voluntary inspection 
program that is conducted by the state agency that has 
animal health jurisdiction; or 

b. Under a routine inspection program conducted by a 
regulatory agency other than the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction; and 
c. Raised, slaughtered, and processed according to: 
(1) Laws governing meat and poultry as determined by 
the agency; and 
(2) Requirements that are developed by the agency that 
has animal health jurisdiction and the agency that 
conducts the inspection program with consideration of 
factors such as the need for antemortem and postmortem 
examination by an approved veterinarian or veterinarian's 
designee;  
2. Under under a voluntary inspection program 
administered by the USDA for game animals such as 
exotic animals including animals (i.e., reindeer, elk, deer, 
antelope, water buffalo, or bison) that are "inspected and 
approved" in accordance with 9 CFR Part 352, Exotic 
Animals; Voluntary Inspection, or rabbits that are 
"inspected and certified" in accordance with 9 CFR Part 
354, Voluntary Inspection of Rabbits and Edible 
Products Thereof;P 

3. 2. As allowed by law, for wild game animals that are 
live-caught: 

a. Under a routine inspection program conducted by a 
regulatory agency such as the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction;P 
b. Slaughtered and processed according to: 
(1) Laws governing meat and poultry as determined by 
the agency that has animal health jurisdiction and the 
agency that conducts the inspection program;P and 
(2) Requirements that are developed by the agency that 
has animal health jurisdiction and the agency that 
conducts the inspection program with consideration of 
factors such as the need for antemortem and postmortem 
examination by an approved veterinarian or veterinarian's 
designee;P or 

4. 3. As allowed by law for field-dressed wild game 
animals under a routine inspection program that ensures 
the animals: 
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a. Receive a postmortem examination by an approved 
veterinarian or veterinarian's designee, or are field-
dressed and transported according to requirements 
specified by the agency that has animal health 
jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the inspection 
program; andP 
b. Are field-dressed and transported according to 
requirements specified by the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the 
inspection program;P and 
c. Are processed according to laws governing meat and 
poultry as determined by the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the 
inspection program.P 

B. A game animal may not be received for sale or service if 
it is a species of wildlife that is listed in 50 CFR Part 17, 
Endangered and Threatened Wildlife and Plants. 
2VAC5-585-340. Temperature.* 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
refrigerated, potentially hazardous time/temperature control 
for safety food shall be at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) or 
below when received.P 

B. If a temperature other than 41°F (5°C) for a potentially 
hazardous time/temperature control for safety food is 
specified in law governing its distribution, such as laws 
governing milk, and molluscan shellfish, and shell eggs, the 
food may be received at the specified temperature. 

C. Raw shell eggs shall be received in refrigerated 
equipment that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F 
(7°C) or less.P 

D. Potentially hazardous Time/temperature control for 
safety food that is cooked to a temperature and for a time 
specified under 2VAC5-585-700 through 2VAC5-585-720 
and received hot shall be at a temperature of 135°F (57°C) or 
above.P 

E. A food that is labeled frozen and shipped frozen by a 
food processing plant shall be received frozen.Pf 

F. Upon receipt, potentially hazardous time/temperature 
control for safety food shall be free of evidence of previous 
temperature abuse.Pf 
2VAC5-585-350. Additives.* 

Food may not contain unapproved food additives or 
additives that exceed amounts allowed specified in 21 CFR 
Parts 170-180 relating to food additives; generally recognized 
as safe or prior sanctioned substances that exceed amounts 
allowed specified in 21 CFR Parts 181-186; substances that 
exceed amounts specified in 9 CFR, Subpart C, 424.21(b), 
Approval of Substances for Use in the Preparation of 
Products; or pesticide residues that exceed provisions 
specified in 40 CFR Part 185, Tolerances for Pesticides in 
Food. 180.P 

2VAC5-585-360. Shell eggs Eggs.* 
Shell eggs Eggs shall be received clean and sound and [ may 

shall ] not exceed the restricted egg tolerances for U.S. 
Consumer Grade B as specified in United States Standards, 
Grades, and Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, AMS 56, 
effective July 20, 2000, AMS 56.200 et seq., administered by 
the (Agricultural Marketing Service of USDA).P [ Eggs sold 
pursuant to § 3.2-5305 of the Code of Virginia are exempt 
from the restricted egg tolerances for U.S. Consumer Grade B 
as specified in the United States Standards, Grades, and 
Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, AMS 56, effective July 20, 
2000, (Agricultural Marketing Service of USDA). ]  
2VAC5-585-370. Eggs and milk products, pasteurized.* 

A. Egg products shall be obtained pasteurized.P 
B. Fluid and dry milk and milk products shall: 

1. Be obtained pasteurized;P and 
2. Comply with Grade A standards as specified in law.P 

C. Frozen milk products, such as ice cream, shall be 
obtained pasteurized in accordance with as specified in 
21 CFR Part 135, Frozen Desserts.P 

D. Cheese shall be obtained pasteurized unless alternative 
procedures to pasteurization are provided for in the Code of 
Federal Regulations, specified in the CFR, such as 21 CFR 
Part 133, Cheeses and Related Cheese Products, for curing 
certain cheese varieties.P 
2VAC5-585-380. Package integrity.* 

Food packages shall be in good condition and protect the 
integrity of the contents so that the food is not exposed to 
adulteration or potential contaminants.Pf 
2VAC5-585-390. Ice.* 

Ice for use as a food or a cooling medium shall be made 
from drinking water.P 
2VAC5-585-400. Shucked shellfish, packaging and 
identification. 

A. Raw shucked shellfish shall be obtained in nonreturnable 
packages that bear a legible label that identifies the:Pf 

1. Name, address, and certification number of the shucker, 
packer, or repacker of the molluscan shellfish;Pf and 
2. The "sell by" or "best if used by" date for packages with 
a capacity of less than one-half gallon (1.87 L) (1.89 L) or 
the date shucked for packages with a capacity of one-half 
gallon (1.87 L) (1.89 L) or more.Pf 

B. A package of raw shucked shellfish that does not bear a 
label or which that bears a label that does not contain all the 
information as specified under subsection A of this section 
shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 
and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 
Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions Regarding 
Interstate Shipments. 
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2VAC5-585-410. Shellstock identification.* 
A. Shellstock shall be obtained in containers bearing legible 

source identification tags or labels that are affixed by the 
harvester and each dealer that depurates, ships, or reships the 
shellstock, as specified in the National Shellfish Sanitation 
Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 
Shellfish (2007), [ 2011 2013 ] Revision, (U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration) and that list: on each dealer's tag or 
label the following information in the following order:Pf 

1. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
on the harvester's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order: 

a. The harvester's identification number that is assigned 
by the shellfish control authority; 
b. The date of harvesting; 
c. The most precise identification of the harvest location 
or aquaculture site that is practicable based on the system 
of harvest area designations that is in use by the shellfish 
control authority and including the abbreviation of the 
name of the state or country in which the shellfish are 
harvested; 
d. The type and quantity of shellfish; and 
e. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: 
"This tag is required to be attached until container is 
empty or retagged and thereafter kept on file for 90 
days"; and 

2. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, 
on each dealer's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order: 
a. 1. The dealer's name and address, and the certification 
number assigned by the shellfish control authority;Pf 
b. 2. The original shipper's certification number [ including 
the abbreviation of the name of the state or country in 
which the shellfish are harvested ];Pf 
c. The same information as specified for a harvester's tag 
under subdivisions 1 b through d of this subsection; and 3. 
The harvest date, or if depurated, the date of depuration 
processing, or if wet stored, the original harvest date and 
the final harvest date [ , which is the date removed from 
wet storage ];Pf 
4. If wet stored or depurated, the wet storage or depuration 
cycle or lot number. The wet storage lot number shall 
begin with the letter "w";Pf 
5. The harvest area including the initials of the state of 
harvest;Pf 
6. The type and quantity of shellstock;Pf 
d. 7. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: " 
"THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL 
CONTAINER IS EMPTY AND THEREAFTER KEPT 
ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS";Pf and 
8. A consumer advisory as specified in 2VAC5-585-930. 

B. A container of shellstock that does not bear a tag or label 
or that bears a tag or label that does not contain all the 
information as specified under subsection A of this section 
shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 
and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 
Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions Regarding 
Interstate Shipments and § 28.2-801 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. If a place is provided on the harvester's tag or label for a 
dealer's name, address, and certification number, the dealer's 
information shall be listed first. 

D. If the harvester's tag or label is designed to accommodate 
each dealer's identification as specified under subdivisions A 
2 a and b of this section, individual dealer tags or labels need 
not be provided. 
2VAC5-585-430. Molluscan shellfish; original container. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C through D of 
this section, molluscan shellfish may not be removed from the 
container in which they were are received other than 
immediately before sale or preparation for service. 

B. For display purposes, shellstock may be removed from 
the container in which they are received, displayed on drained 
ice, or held in a display container, and a quantity specified by 
a consumer may be removed from the display or display 
container and provided to the consumer if: 

1. The source of the shellstock on display is identified as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-410 and recorded as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-440; and 
2. The shellstock are protected from contamination. 

C. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and held in a display container 
from which individual servings are dispensed upon a 
consumer's request if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish on display as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-400 is retained and correlated 
to the date when, or dates during which, the shellfish are 
sold or served; and 
2. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 

D. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and repacked in consumer self-
service containers where allowed by law if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish is on each 
consumer self-service container as specified under 
2VAC5-585-400 and 2VAC5-585-900 A and B 1 through 
5; 
2. The labeling information as specified under 2VAC5-
585-400 is retained and correlated with the date when, or 
dates during which, the shellfish are sold or served; 
3. The labeling information and dates specified under 
subdivision 2 of this subsection are maintained for 90 days; 
and  
4. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 
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2VAC5-585-440. Shellstock; maintaining identification.* 
A. Except as specified under subdivision C 2 of this section, 

shellstock tags or labels shall remain attached to the container 
in which the shellstock are received until the container is 
empty.Pf 

B. The date when the last shellstock from the container is 
sold or served shall be recorded on the tag or label.Pf 

C. The identity of the source of shellfish shellstock that are 
sold or served shall be maintained by retaining shellstock tags 
or labels for 90 calendar days from the date that is recorded 
on the tag or label as specified in subsection B of this section 
by:Pf 

1. Using an approved recordkeeping system that keeps the 
tags or labels in chronological order correlated to the date 
that is recorded on the tag or label, as specified under 
subsection B of this section;Pf and 
2. If shellstock are removed from its tagged or labeled 
container: 

a. Preserving source identification by using a 
recordkeeping system as specified under subdivision 1 of 
this subsection;Pf and 
b. Ensuring that shellstock from one tagged or labeled 
container are not commingled with shellstock from 
another container with different certification numbers; 
different harvest dates; or different growing areas as 
identified on the tag or label before being ordered by the 
consumer.Pf 

Article 3  
Protection from Contamination after Receiving  

2VAC5-585-450. Preventing contamination from hands.* 
A. Food employees shall wash their hands as specified under 

2VAC5-585-140. 
B. Except when washing fruits and vegetables as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-510 or as specified in subsection C 
subsections D and E of this section, food employees may not 
contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their bare hands and 
shall use suitable utensils such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, 
single-use gloves, or dispensing equipment.P 

C. Food employees shall minimize bare hand and arm 
contact with exposed food that is not in a ready-to-eat form.S 

Pf 
D. Subsection B of this section does not apply to a food 

employee who contacts exposed, ready-to-eat food with bare 
hands at the time the ready-to-eat food is being added as an 
ingredient to food that: 

1. Contains a raw animal food and is to be cooked in the 
food establishment to heat all parts of the food to the 
minimum temperatures specified in 2VAC5-585-700 A 
and B or 2VAC5-585-710; or 
2. Does not contain a raw animal food but is to be cooked 
in the food establishment to heat all parts of the food to a 
temperature of at least 145°F (63°C). 

E. Food employees not serving a highly susceptible 
population may contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their 
bare hands if: 

1. The operator obtains prior approval from the regulatory 
authority department; 
2. Written procedures are maintained in the food 
establishment and made available to the regulatory 
authority department upon request that include: 

a. For each bare hand contact procedure, a listing of the 
specific ready-to-eat foods that are touched by bare 
hands; and 
b. Diagrams and other information showing that 
handwashing facilities, installed, located, equipped, and 
maintained as specified under 2VAC5-585-2230, 
2VAC5-585-2280, 2VAC5-585-2310, 2VAC5-585-3020, 
2VAC5-585-3030, and 2VAC5-585-3045, are in an 
easily accessible location and in close proximity to the 
work station where the bare hand contact procedure is 
conducted; 

3. A written employee health policy that details how the 
food establishment complies with 2VAC5-585-80, 
2VAC5-585-90, and 2VAC5-585-100 including: 

a. Documentation that the food employees and 
conditional employees acknowledge that they are 
informed to report information about their health and 
activities as they relate to gastrointestinal symptoms and 
diseases that are transmittable through food as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 A;  
b. Documentation that food employees and conditional 
employees acknowledge their responsibilities as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-80 E and F; and 
c. Documentation that the person in charge acknowledges 
the responsibilities as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 B, 
C, and D, 2VAC5-585-90, and 2VAC5-585-100; 

4. Documentation that the food employees acknowledge 
that they have received training in: 

a. The risks of contacting the specific ready-to-eat foods 
with their bare hands, 
b. Proper handwashing as specified under 2VAC5-585-
140, 
c. When to wash their hands as specified under 2VAC5-
585-160, 
d. Where to wash their hands as specified under 2VAC5-
585-170, 
e. Proper fingernail maintenance as specified under 
2VAC5-585-190, 
f. Prohibition of jewelry as specified under 2VAC5-585-
200, and 
g. Good hygienic practices as specified under 2VAC5-
585-220 and 2VAC5-585-230; 
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5. Documentation that hands are washed before food 
preparation and as necessary to prevent cross-
contamination by food employees as specified under 
2VAC5-585-130, 2VAC5-585-140, 2VAC5-585-160, and 
2VAC5-585-170 during all hours of operation when the 
specific ready-to-eat foods are prepared; 
6. Documentation that food employees contacting ready-
to-eat food with bare hands use two or more of the 
following control measures to provide additional 
safeguards to hazards associated with bare hand contact: 

a. Double handwashing, 
b. Nail brushes, 
c. A hand antiseptic after handwashing as specified under 
2VAC5-585-180, 
d. Incentive programs such as paid sick leave that assist 
or encourage food employees not to work when they are 
ill, or  
e. Other control measures approved by the regulatory 
authority department; and 

7. Documentation that corrective action is taken when 
subdivisions 1 through 6 of this subsection are not 
followed. 

2VAC5-585-460. Preventing contamination when tasting.* 
A food employee may not use a utensil more than once to 

taste food that is to be sold or served.P 
2VAC5-585-470. Packaged and unpackaged food - 
separation, packaging, and segregation.* 

A. Food shall be protected from cross contamination by: 
1. Separating Except as specified in subdivision 1 c of this 
subsection, separating raw animal foods during storage, 
preparation, holding, and display from: 

a. Raw ready-to-eat food including other raw animal food 
such as fish for sushi or molluscan shellfish, or other raw 
ready-to-eat food such as fruits and vegetables; andP  
b. Cooked ready-to-eat food;P and 
c. Frozen, commercially processed and packaged raw 
animal food may be stored or displayed with or above 
frozen, commercially processed and packaged, ready-to-
eat food; 

2. Except when combined as ingredients, separating types 
of raw animal foods from each other such as beef, fish, 
lamb, pork, and poultry during storage, preparation, 
holding, and display by: 

a. Using separate equipment for each type or arranging 
each type of food in equipment so that cross 
contamination of one type with another is prevented; and 

P  
b. Arranging each type of food in equipment so that cross 
contamination of one type with another is prevented;P 
and 

c. Preparing each type of food at different times or in 
separate areas;P 

3. Cleaning equipment and utensils as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1780 A and sanitizing as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1900; 
4. Except as specified in subdivision B 2 of 2VAC5-585-
810 and subsection B of this section, storing the food in 
packages, covered containers, or wrappings; 
5. Cleaning hermetically sealed containers of food of 
visible soil before opening; 
6. Protecting food containers that are received packaged 
together in a case or overwrap from cuts when the case or 
overwrap is opened; 
7. Storing damaged, spoiled, or recalled food being held in 
the food establishment as specified under 2VAC5-585-
3150; and 
8. Separating fruits and vegetables before they are washed 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-510 from ready-to-eat 
food. 

B. Subdivision A 4 of this section does not apply to: 
1. Whole, uncut, raw fruits and vegetables and nuts in the 
shell, that require peeling or hulling before consumption; 
2. Primal cuts, quarters, or sides of raw meat or slab bacon 
that are hung on clean, sanitized hooks or placed on clean, 
sanitized racks; 
3. Whole, uncut, processed meats such as country hams, 
and smoked or cured sausages that are placed on clean, 
sanitized racks; 
4. Food being cooled as specified under 2VAC5-585-810 
B 2; or 
5. Shellstock. 

2VAC5-585-480. Food storage containers; identified with 
common name of food. 

Working containers holding food or food ingredients that are 
removed from their original packages for use in the food 
establishment, such as cooking oils, flour, herbs, potato 
flakes, salt, spices, and sugar, shall be identified with the 
common name of the food (in English and the common 
language of the food workers) except that containers holding 
food that can be readily and unmistakably recognized such as 
dry pasta need not be identified. Except for containers 
holding food that can be readily and unmistakably 
recognized, such as dry pasta, working containers holding 
food or food ingredients that are removed from their original 
packages for use in the food establishment, such as cooking 
oils, flour, herbs, potato flakes, salt, spices, and sugar, shall 
be identified with the common name of the food. 
2VAC5-585-490. Pasteurized eggs; substitute for raw shell 
eggs for certain recipes and populations.* 

Pasteurized eggs or egg products shall be substituted for raw 
shell eggs in the preparation of foods such as Caesar salad, 
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hollandaise or béarnaise sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, 
eggnog, ice cream, and egg-fortified beverages that are not:P  

1. Cooked as specified under subdivisions subdivision A 1 
or 2 of 2VAC5-585-700;P or 
2. Included in 2VAC5-585-700 D.P 

2VAC5-585-500. Protection from unapproved additives.* 
A. Food shall be protected from contamination that may 

result from the addition of, as specified in 2VAC5-585-350: 
1. Unsafe or unapproved food or color additives;P and 
2. Unsafe or unapproved levels of approved food and color 
additives.P 

B. A food employee may not: 
1. Apply sulfiting agents to fresh fruits and vegetables 
intended for raw consumption or to a food considered to be 
a good source of vitamin B1 B1;P or 
2. Except for grapes, serve or sell food specified in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection that is treated with 
sulfiting agents before receipt by the food establishment.P 

2VAC5-585-510. Washing fruits and vegetables. 
A. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be thoroughly washed in 

water to remove soil and other contaminants before being cut, 
combined with other ingredients, cooked, served, or offered 
for human consumption in ready-to-eat form except as 
specified in subsection B of this section and except that 
whole, raw fruits and vegetables that are intended for washing 
by the consumer before consumption need not be washed 
before they are sold. Except as specified in subsection B of 
this section and except for whole, raw fruits and vegetables 
that are intended for washing by the consumer before 
consumption, raw fruits and vegetables shall be thoroughly 
washed in water to remove soil and other contaminants before 
being cut, combined with other ingredients, cooked, served, 
or offered for human consumption in ready-to-eat form. 

B. Fruits and vegetables may be washed by using chemicals 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-3390. 

C. Devices used for onsite generation of chemicals meeting 
the requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.315 for the 
washing of raw, whole fruits and vegetables shall be used in 
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.Pf 
2VAC5-585-520. Ice used as exterior coolant prohibited as 
ingredient. 

After use as a medium for cooling the exterior surfaces of 
food such as melons or fish, packaged foods such as canned 
beverages, or cooling coils and tubes of equipment, ice may 
not be used as food.P 
2VAC5-585-530. Storage or display of food in contact 
with water or ice. 

A. Packaged food may not be stored in direct contact with 
ice or water if the food is subject to the entry of water because 
of the nature of its packaging, wrapping, or container or its 
positioning in the ice or water. 

B. Except as specified in subsections C and D of this 
section, unpackaged food may not be stored in direct contact 
with undrained ice. 

C. Whole, raw fruits or vegetables; cut, raw vegetables such 
as celery or carrot sticks or cut potatoes; and tofu may be 
immersed in ice or water. 

D. Raw chicken poultry and raw fish that are received 
immersed in ice in shipping containers may remain in that 
condition while in storage awaiting preparation, display, 
service, or sale. 
2VAC5-585-540. Food contact with equipment and 
utensils.* 

Food shall only contact surfaces of: 
1. Equipment and utensils that are cleaned as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-1770 through 2VAC5-595-1870 
2VAC5-585-1860 and sanitized as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1890 2VAC5-585-1885 through 2VAC5-585-
1900; orP 
2. Single-service and single-use articles; or P 
3. Linens, such as cloth napkins, as specified under 
2VAC5-585-560, that are laundered as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1910 through 2VAC5-585-1950.P 

2VAC5-585-550. In-use utensils, between-use storage. 
During pauses in food preparation or dispensing, food 

preparation and dispensing utensils shall be stored: 
1. Except as specified under subdivision 2 of this section, 
in the food with their handles above the top of the food and 
the container; 
2. In food that is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food with their handles 
above the top of the food within containers or equipment 
that can be closed, such as bins of sugar, flour, or 
cinnamon; 
3. On a clean portion of the food preparation table or 
cooking equipment only if the in-use utensil and the food-
contact surface of the food preparation table or cooking 
equipment are cleaned and sanitized at a frequency 
specified under 2VAC5-585-1780 and 2VAC5-585-1890; 
4. In running water of sufficient velocity to flush 
particulates to the drain, if used with moist food such as ice 
cream or mashed potatoes; 
5. In a clean, protected location if the utensils, such as ice 
scoops, are used only with a food that is not potentially 
hazardous time/temperature control for safety food; or 
6. In a container of water if the water is maintained at a 
temperature of at least 135°F (57°C) and the container is 
cleaned at a frequency specified under 2VAC5-585-1780 
D 7. 

2VAC5-585-560. Linens and napkins, use limitation. 
Linens and napkins, such as cloth napkins, may not be used 

in contact with food unless they are used to line a container 
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for the service of foods and the linens and napkins are 
replaced each time the container is refilled for a new 
customer consumer. 
2VAC5-585-570. Wiping cloths, use limitation. 

A. Cloths in use for wiping food spills from tableware and 
carry-out containers that occur as food is being served shall 
be: 

1. Maintained dry; and 
2. Used for no other purpose. 

B. Cloths in use for wiping counters and other equipment 
surfaces shall be: 

1. Held between uses in a chemical sanitizer solution at a 
concentration specified in 2VAC5-585-3380 2VAC5-585-
1700; and 
2. Laundered daily as specified under 2VAC5-585-1920 D. 

C. Cloths in use for wiping surfaces in contact with raw 
animal foods shall be kept separate from other cloths used for 
other purposes. 

D. Dry wiping cloths and the chemical sanitizing solutions 
specified in subdivision B 1 of this section in which wet 
wiping cloths are held between uses shall be free of food 
debris and visible soil. 

E. Containers of chemical sanitizing solutions specified in 
subdivision B 1 of this section in which wet wiping cloths are 
held between uses shall be stored off the floor and used in a 
manner that prevents contamination of food, equipment, 
utensils, linens, single-service, or single-use articles. 

F. Single-use disposable sanitizer wipes shall be used in 
accordance with EPA-approved manufacturer's label use 
instructions. 
2VAC5-585-580. Gloves, use limitation. 

A. If used, single-use gloves shall be used for only one task 
such as working with ready-to-eat food or with raw animal 
food, used for no other purpose, and discarded when damaged 
or soiled, or when interruptions occur in the operation.P 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, slash-
resistant gloves that are used to protect the hands during 
operations requiring cutting shall be used in direct contact 
only with food that is subsequently cooked as specified under 
2VAC5-585-700 through 2VAC5-585-765 such as frozen 
food or a primal cut of meat. 

C. Slash-resistant gloves may be used with ready-to-eat food 
that will not be subsequently cooked if the slash-resistant 
gloves have a smooth, durable, and nonabsorbent outer 
surface; or if the slash-resistant gloves are covered with a 
smooth, durable, nonabsorbent glove, or a single-use glove. 

D. Cloth gloves may not be used in direct contact with food 
unless the food is subsequently cooked as required under 
2VAC5-585-700 through 2VAC5-585-765 such as frozen 
food or a primal cut of meat. 

2VAC5-585-590. Using clean tableware for second 
portions and refills. 

A. Except for refilling a consumer's drinking cup or 
container without contact between the pouring utensil and the 
lip contact area of the drinking cup or container, food 
employees may not use tableware, including single-service 
articles, soiled by the consumer to provide second portions or 
refills. 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, self-
service consumers may not be allowed to use soiled 
tableware, including single-service articles, to obtain 
additional food from the display and serving equipment. 

C. Cups and glasses Drinking cups and containers may be 
reused by self-service consumers or food employees if 
refilling is a contamination-free process as specified under 
subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 of 2VAC5-585-1230. 
2VAC5-585-600. Refilling returnables. 

A. A take-home food container Except as specified in 
subsections B through E of this section, empty containers 
returned to a food establishment may not be refilled at a food 
establishment with a potentially hazardous food for cleaning 
and refilling with food shall be cleaned and refilled in a 
regulated food processing plant.P 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, a A 
take-home food container refilled with food that is not 
potentially hazardous shall be cleaned as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1870 B. returned to a food establishment may be 
refilled at a food establishment with food if the food container 
is: 

1. Designed and constructed for reuse and in accordance 
with the requirements specified under 2VAC5-585-960 
through 2VAC5-585-1435;P 
2. One that was initially provided by the food 
establishment to the consumer, either empty or filled with 
food by the food establishment, for the purpose of being 
returned for reuse; 
3. Returned to the food establishment by the consumer 
after use; 
4. Subject to the following steps before being refilled with 
food: 

a. Cleaned as specified under 2VAC5-585-1770 through 
2VAC5-585-1860; 
b. Sanitized as specified under 2VAC5-585-1885 through 
2VAC5-585-1900;P and 
c. Visually inspected by a food employee to verify that 
the container, as returned, meets the requirements 
specified under 2VAC5-585-960 through 2VAC5-585-
1435P. 

C. Personal take-out beverage containers, such as thermally 
insulated bottles, nonspill coffee cups and promotional 
beverage glasses, may be refilled by employees or the 
consumer if refilling is a contamination-free process as 
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specified under subdivisions 1, 2 and 4 of 2VAC5-585-1230. 
A take-home food container returned to a food establishment 
may be refilled at a food establishment with beverage if: 

1. The beverage is not a time/temperature control for safety 
food; 
2. The design of the container and of the rinsing equipment 
and the nature of the beverage, when considered together, 
allow effective cleaning at home or in the food 
establishment;  
3. Facilities for rinsing before refilling returned containers 
with fresh, hot water that is under pressure and not 
recirculated are provided as part of the dispensing system; 
4. The consumer-owned container returned to the food 
establishment for refilling is refilled for sale or service 
only to the same consumer; and 
5. The container is refilled by: 

a. An employee of the food establishment; or 
b. The owner of the container if the beverage system 
includes a contamination-free transfer process as 
specified under subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 of 2VAC5-585-
1230 that cannot be bypassed by the container owner. 

D. Consumer-owned, personal take-out beverage containers, 
such as thermally insulated bottles, nonspill coffee cups, and 
promotional beverage glasses, may be refilled by employees 
or the consumer if refilling is a contamination-free process as 
specified under subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 of 2VAC5-585-1230. 

E. Consumer-owned containers that are not food specific 
may be filled at a water vending machine or system.  
2VAC5-585-620. Food storage; prohibited areas. 

Food may not be stored: 
1. In locker rooms; 
2. In toilet rooms or their vestibules; 
3. In dressing rooms; 
4. In garbage rooms; 
5. In mechanical rooms; 
6. Under sewer lines that are not shielded to intercept 
potential drips; 
7. Under leaking water lines, including leaking automatic 
fire sprinkler heads, or under lines on which water has 
condensed; 
8. Under open stairwells; or 
9. Under other sources of contamination. 

2VAC5-585-630. Vended potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food; original 
container. 

Potentially hazardous Time/temperature control for safety 
food dispensed through a vending machine shall be in the 
package in which it was placed at the food establishment or 
food processing plant at which it was prepared. 

2VAC5-585-650. Food display. 
Except for nuts in the shell and whole, raw fruits and 

vegetables that are intended for hulling, peeling, or washing 
by the consumer before consumption, food on display shall be 
protected from contamination by the use of packaging; 
counter, service line, or salad bar food guards; display cases; 
or other effective means.P 
2VAC5-585-660. Condiments; protection. 

A. Condiments shall be protected from contamination by 
being kept in dispensers that are designed to provide 
protection, protected food displays provided with the proper 
utensils, original containers designed for dispensing, or 
individual packages or portions. 

B. Condiments at a vending machine location shall be in 
individual packages or provided in dispensers that are filled at 
a an approved location that is approved by the department, 
such as the food establishment that provides food to the 
vending machine location, a food processing plant that is 
regulated by the agency that has jurisdiction over the 
operation, or a properly equipped facility that is located on 
the site of the vending machine location. 
2VAC5-585-670. Consumer self-service operations.* 

A. Raw, unpackaged animal food, such as beef, lamb, pork, 
poultry, and fish may not be offered for consumer self-
service.P This subsection does not apply to: 

1. Consumer self-service of ready-to-eat foods at buffets or 
salad bars that serve foods such as sushi or raw shellfish; 
2. Ready-to-cook individual portions for immediate 
cooking and consumption on the premises such as 
consumer-cooked meats or consumer-selected ingredients 
for Mongolian barbecue; or 
3. Raw, frozen, shell-on shrimp or lobster. 

B. Consumer self-service operations for ready-to-eat foods 
shall be provided with suitable utensils or effective 
dispensing methods that protect the food from 
contamination.Pf 

C. Consumer self-service operations such as buffets and 
salad bars shall be monitored by food employees trained in 
safe operating procedures.N Pf 
2VAC5-585-680. Returned food and reservice of food.* 

A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 
after being served or sold and in the possession of a 
consumer, food that is unused or returned by the consumer 
may not be offered as food for human consumption.P 

B. Except as specified in subdivision 8 7 of 2VAC5-585-
950, a container of food that is not potentially hazardous 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food may be re-served from one consumer to another if: 

1. The food is dispensed so that it is protected from 
contamination and the container is closed between uses 
such as a narrow-neck bottle containing catsup, steak 
sauce, or wine; or 
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2. The food, such as crackers, salt, or pepper, is in an 
unopened original package and is maintained in sound 
condition. 

Article 4  
Destruction of Organisms of Public Health Concern  

2VAC5-585-700. Raw animal foods.* 
A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, raw animal foods such as eggs, fish, meat, poultry, 
and foods containing these raw animal foods shall be cooked 
to heat all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time 
that complies with one of the following methods based on the 
food that is being cooked: 

1. 145°F (63°C) or above for 15 seconds for:P 
a. Raw shell eggs that are broken and prepared in 
response to a consumer's order and for immediate 
service;P and 
b. Except as specified under subdivisions A 2 and 3 and 
subsections B and C of this section, fish and meat 
including game animals commercially raised for food 
and under a voluntary inspection program as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-330 A 1 and game animals under a 
voluntary inspection program as specified under 2VAC5-
585-330 A 2;P 

2. 155°F (68°C) for 15 seconds or the temperature 
specified in the following chart that corresponds to the 
holding time for ratites, mechanically tenderized, and 
injected meats; the following if they are comminuted: fish, 
meat, game animals commercially raised for food and 
under a voluntary inspection program as specified under 
2VAC5-585-330 A 1, and game animals under a voluntary 
inspection program as specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 
2; and raw eggs that are not prepared as specified under 
subdivision A 1 a of this section:P 

Minimum 

Temperature °F (°C) Time 

145 (63) 3 minutes 

150 (66) 1 minute 

158 (70) <1 second (instantaneous) 

3. 165°F (74°C) or above for 15 seconds for poultry, 
baluts, wild game animals as specified under 2VAC5-585-
330 A 2 and 3, stuffed fish, stuffed meat, stuffed pasta, 
stuffed poultry, stuffed ratites, or stuffing containing fish, 
meat, or poultry, or ratites.P 

B. Whole meat roasts including beef, corned beef, lamb, 
pork, and cured pork roasts such as ham shall be cooked: 

1. In an oven that is preheated to the temperature specified 
for the roast's weight in the following chart and that is held 
at that temperature;Pf and 

Oven Type 

Oven Temperature Based on Roast 
Weight 

Less than 10 
lbs (4.5 kg) 

10 lbs (4.5 kg) or more 

Still Dry 350°F (177°C) 
or more 

250°F (121°C) or more 

Convection 325°F (163°C) 
or more 

250°F (121°C) or more 

High Humidity1 250°F (121°C) 
or less 

250°F (121°C) or less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least one hour as 
measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the oven; or in 
a moisture-impermeable bag that provides 100% humidity 

2. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of 
the food to a temperature and for the holding time that 
corresponds to that temperature.P 

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 

in 
Minutes 

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 in 
Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8     

144 (62.2) 5     

145 (62.8) 4     

1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

C. A raw or undercooked whole-muscle, intact beef steak 
may be served or offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if: 

1. The food establishment serves a population that is not a 
highly susceptible population; 
2. The steak is labeled, as specified under 2VAC5-585-270 
E, to indicate that it meets the definition of "whole-muscle, 
intact beef"; and 
3. The steak is cooked on both the top and bottom to a 
surface temperature of 145°F (63°C) or above and a 
cooked color change is achieved on all external surfaces. 

D. A raw animal food such as raw egg, raw fish, raw-
marinated fish, raw molluscan shellfish, or steak tartare, or a 
partially cooked food such as lightly cooked fish, soft cooked 
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eggs, or rare meat other than whole-muscle, intact beef steaks 
as specified in subsection C of this section, may be served or 
offered for sale upon consumer request or selection in a 
ready-to-eat form if: 

1. As specified under subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of 2VAC5-
585-950, the food establishment serves a population that is 
not a highly susceptible population; and 
2. The food, if served or offered for service by consumer 
selection from a children's menu, does not contain 
comminuted meat;Pf and 
2. 3. The consumer is informed as specified under 2VAC5-
585-930 that to ensure its safety, the food should be 
cooked as specified under subsection A or B of this 
section; or 
3. 4. The department grants a variance from subsection A 
or B of this section as specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 based 
on a HACCP plan that: 

a. Is submitted by the operator and approved as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-3541; 
b. Documents scientific data or other information that 
shows showing that a lesser time and temperature 
regimen results in a safe food; and 
c. Verifies that equipment and procedures for food 
preparation and training of food employees at the food 
establishment meet the conditions of the variance. 

2VAC5-585-710. Microwave cooking.* 
Raw animal foods cooked in a microwave oven shall be: 

1. Rotated or stirred throughout or midway during cooking 
to compensate for uneven distribution of heat; 
2. Covered to retain surface moisture; 
3. Heated to a temperature of at least 165°F (74°C) in all 
parts of the food;P and 
4. Allowed to stand covered for two minutes after cooking 
to obtain temperature equilibrium. 

2VAC5-585-720. Plant food cooking for hot holding. 
Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding shall 

be cooked to a temperature of 135°F (57°C).Pf 
2VAC5-585-725. Noncontinuous cooking of raw animal 
foods. 

Raw animal foods that are cooked using a noncontinuous 
cooking process shall be: 

1. Subject to an initial heating process that is no longer 
than 60 minutes in duration;P 
2. Immediately after initial heating, cooled according to the 
time and temperature parameters specified for cooked 
time/temperature control for safety food under 2VAC5-
585-800 A;P 
3. After cooling, held frozen or cold as specified for 
time/temperature control for safety food under 2VAC5-
585-820 A 2;P 

4. Prior to sale or service, cooked using a process that heats 
all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time as 
designated in 2VAC5-585-700 A through C;P 
5. Cooled according to the time and temperature 
parameters specified for cooked time/temperature control 
for safety food under 2VAC5-585-800 A if not either hot 
held as specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 1, served 
immediately, or held using time as a public health control 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-850 after complete 
cooking;P and  
6. Prepared and stored according to written procedures 
that: 

a. Have obtained prior approval from the department;Pf  
b. Are maintained in the food establishment and are 
available to the department upon request;Pf 
c. Describe how the requirements specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section are to be 
monitored and documented by the operator and the 
corrective actions to be taken if the requirements are not 
met;Pf 
d. Describe how the foods, after initial heating but prior 
to complete cooking, are to be marked or otherwise 
identified as foods that must be cooked as specified 
under subdivision 4 of this section prior to being offered 
for sale or service;Pf and 
e. Describe how the foods, after initial heating but prior 
to cooking as specified in subdivision 4 of this section, 
are to be separated from ready-to-eat foods as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-470 A.Pf 

2VAC5-585-730. Parasite destruction.* 
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 

service or sale in ready-to-eat form, raw, raw-marinated, 
partially cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish shall be: 

1. Frozen and stored at a temperature of -4°F (-20°C) or 
below for a minimum of 168 hours (seven days) in a 
freezer;P  
2. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -31°F (-35°C) or below for a minimum of 15 hours;P or 
3. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -4°F (-20°C) or below for a minimum of 24 hours.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to: 
1. Molluscan shellfish,; 
2. A scallop product consisting only of the shucked 
abductor muscle; 
3. Tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, Thunnus 
albacares (Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, Thunnus 
maccoyii (Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus 
(Bigeye tuna), or Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin, Northern); or 
3. 4. Aquacultured fish, such as salmon, that: 

a. If raised in open water, are raised in net pens, or  
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b. Are raised in land-based operations such as ponds or 
tanks, and 
c. Are fed formulated feed, such as pellets, that contains 
no live parasites infective to the aquacultured fish. or 

5. Fish eggs that have been removed from the skein and 
rinsed. 

2VAC5-585-740. Records; creation and retention. 
A. Except as specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B and subsection 

B of this section, if raw, marinated, raw-marinated, partially 
cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish are served or sold 
in ready-to-eat form, the person in charge shall record the 
freezing temperature and time to which the fish are subjected 
and shall retain the records at the food establishment for 90 
calendar days beyond the time of service or sale of the fish.Pf 

B. If the fish are frozen by a supplier, a written agreement or 
statement from the supplier stipulating that the fish supplied 
are frozen to a temperature and for a time specified under 
2VAC5-585-730 may substitute for the records specified 
under subsection A of this section. 

C. If raw, raw-marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-
partially cooked fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, 
and the fish are raised and fed as specified in 2VAC5-585-
730 B 3 4, a written agreement or statement from the supplier 
or aquaculturist stipulating that the fish were raised and fed as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B 3 4 shall be obtained by the 
person in charge and retained in the records of the food 
establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of service 
or sale of the fish.Pf 
2VAC5-585-755. Preparation for immediate service. 

Cooked and refrigerated food that is prepared for immediate 
service in response to an individual consumer order, such as a 
roast beef sandwich au jus, may be served at any temperature.  
2VAC5-585-760. Reheating for hot holding.* 

A. Except as specified under subsections B, C and E of this 
section, potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food that is cooked, 
cooled, and reheated for hot holding shall be reheated so that 
all parts of the food reach at least 165°F (74°C) for 15 
seconds.P 

B. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food reheated in a 
microwave oven for hot holding shall be reheated so that all 
parts of the food reach a temperature of at least 165°F (74°C) 
and the food is rotated or stirred, covered, and allowed to 
stand covered for two minutes after reheating.P 

C. Ready-to-eat time/temperature control for safety food 
taken from a that has been commercially processed, 
hermetically sealed container, or from an intact package from 
and packaged in a food processing plant that is inspected by 
the food regulatory authority that has jurisdiction over the 

plant, shall be heated to a temperature of at least 135°F 
(57°C) when being reheated for hot holding.P 

D. Reheating for hot holding as specified under subsections 
A, B, and C of this section shall be done rapidly and the time 
the food is between the temperature specified under 2VAC5-
585-820 A 2 41°F (5°C) and the temperatures specified under 
subsections A through, B and C of this section may not 
exceed two hours.P 

E. Remaining unsliced portions of meat roasts that are 
cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 B may be 
reheated for hot holding using the oven parameters and 
minimum time and temperature conditions specified under 
2VAC5-585-700 B. 
2VAC5-585-765. Treating juice. 

Juice packaged in a food establishment shall be: 
1. Treated under a HACCP plan as specified in 
[ subdivisions 2 through 5 of 2VAC5-585-3610 2VAC5-
585-3630 ] to attain a 5-log reduction, which is equal to a 
99.999% reduction, of the most resistant microorganism of 
public health significance;P or 
2. Labeled, if not treated to yield a 5-log reduction of the 
most resistant microorganism of public health 
significance:Pf 

a. As specified under 2VAC5-585-900;Pf and 
b. As specified in 21 CFR 101.17(g), with the phrase, 
following: "WARNING: This product has not been 
pasteurized and, therefore, may contain harmful bacteria 
that can cause serious illness in children, the elderly, and 
persons with weakened immune systems."Pf 

2VAC5-585-780. Potentially hazardous Time/temperature 
control for safety food, slacking. 

Frozen potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food that is slacked 
to moderate the temperature shall be held: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less, or at 45°F (7°C) or less as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 
2. At any temperature if the food remains frozen. 

2VAC5-585-790. Thawing. 
A. Except as specified in subdivision 4 of this section 

subsection, potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food shall be 
thawed: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less, or at 45°F (7°C) or less as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 
2. Completely submerged under running water: 

a. At a water temperature of 70°F (21°C) or below; 
b. With sufficient water velocity to agitate and float off 
loose particles in an overflow; and 
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c. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of ready-to-eat food to rise above 41°F (5°C), or 
45°F (7°C) as specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; or 
d. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of a raw animal food requiring cooking as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A or B to be above 
41°F (5°C), or 45°F (7°C) as specified under 2VAC5-
585-820 A 2 b, for more than four hours including: 
(1) The time the food is exposed to the running water and 
the time needed for preparation for cooking; or 
(2) The time it takes under refrigeration to lower the food 
temperature to 41°F (5°C), or 45°F (7°C) as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b; 

3. As part of a cooking process if the food that is frozen is: 
a. Cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A or B or 
2VAC5-585-710; or 
b. Thawed in a microwave oven and immediately 
transferred to conventional cooking equipment, with no 
interruption in the process; or 

4. Using any procedure if a portion of frozen ready-to-eat 
food is thawed and prepared for immediate service in 
response to an individual consumer's order. 

B. Reduced oxygen packaged fish that bears a label 
indicating that it is to be kept frozen until time of use shall be 
removed from the reduced oxygen environment: 

1. Prior to its thawing under refrigeration as specified in 
subdivision A 1 of this section; or 
2. Prior to, or immediately upon completion of, its thawing 
using procedures specified in subdivision A 2 of this 
section. 

2VAC5-585-800. Cooling.* 
A. Cooked potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 

time/temperature control for safety food) food shall be 
cooled: 

1. Within two hours, from 135°F (57°C) to 70°F (21°C);P 
and 
2. Within a total of six hours, from 135°F (57°C) to 41°F 
(5°C) or less, or to 45°F (7°C) or less as specified under 
2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b.P 

B. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
Time/temperature control for safety food) food shall be 
cooled within four hours to 41°F (5°C) or less, or to 45°F 
(7°C) or less as specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b if 
prepared from ingredients at ambient temperature, such as 
reconstituted foods and canned tuna.P 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, a 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food received in 
compliance with laws allowing a temperature above 41°F 
(5°C) during shipment from the supplier as specified in 
2VAC5-585-340 B, shall be cooled within four hours to 41°F 

(5°C) or less, or 45°F (7°C) or less as specified under of 
2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b.P 

D. Raw shell eggs shall be received as specified under 
2VAC5-585-340 C and immediately placed in refrigerated 
equipment that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F 
(7°C) or less.P 
2VAC5-585-810. Cooling methods. 

A. Cooling shall be accomplished in accordance with the 
time and temperature criteria specified under 2VAC5-585-
800 by using one or more of the following methods based on 
the type of food being cooled: 

1. Placing the food in shallow pans;Pf 
2. Separating the food into smaller or thinner portions;Pf 
3. Using rapid cooling equipment;Pf 
4. Stirring the food in a container placed in an ice water 
bath;Pf 
5. Using containers that facilitate heat transfer;Pf  
6. Adding ice as an ingredient;Pf or 
7. Other effective methods.Pf 

B. When placed in cooling or cold holding equipment, food 
containers in which food is being cooled shall be: 

1. Arranged in the equipment to provide maximum heat 
transfer through the container walls; and 
2. Loosely covered, or uncovered if protected from 
overhead contamination as specified under 2VAC5-585-
610 A 2, during the cooling period to facilitate heat 
transfer from the surface of the food. 

2VAC5-585-820. Potentially hazardous Time/temperature 
control for safety food; hot and cold holding.* 

A. Except during preparation, cooking, or cooling, or when 
time is used as the public health control as specified under 
2VAC5-585-850, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature and except as specified under subsections 
B and C of this section, time/temperature control for safety 
food) food shall be maintained: 

1. At 135°F (57°C) or above, except that roasts cooked to a 
temperature and for a time specified in 2VAC5-585-700 B 
or reheated as specified in 2VAC5-585-760 E may be held 
at a temperature of 130°F (54°C) or above;P or 
2. At a temperature specified in the following:  

a. 41°F (5°C) or less; or 
b. 45°F (7°C) or between 45°F (7°C) and 41°F (5°C) in 
existing refrigeration equipment that is not capable of 
maintaining the food at 41°F (5°C) or less if: 
(1) The equipment is in place and in use in the food 
establishment; and 
(2) Before January 1, 2012, the equipment is upgraded or 
replaced to maintain food at a temperature of At 41°F 
(5°C) or less. 
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B. Shell eggs Eggs that have not been treated to destroy all 
viable Salmonellae shall be stored in refrigerated equipment 
that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F (7°C) or 
less.P 

C. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
Time/temperature control for safety food) food in a 
homogenous liquid form may be maintained outside of the 
temperature control requirements, as specified in subsection 
A of this section, while contained within specially designed 
equipment that complies with the design and construction 
requirements as specified under subdivision 5 of 2VAC5-
585-1230. 
2VAC5-585-830. Ready to eat Ready-to-eat, potentially 
hazardous time/temperature control for safety food; date 
marking.* 

A. Except when packaging food using a reduced oxygen 
packaging method as specified under 2VAC5-585-870 and 
except as specified in subsections D and E and F of this 
section, refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food prepared and held in a food establishment for more than 
24 hours shall be clearly marked to indicate the date or day by 
which the food shall be consumed on the premises, sold, or 
discarded based on the temperature and time combinations 
specified below. The day of preparation shall be counted as 
Day 1. 

1. 41°F (5°C) or less for a maximum of seven days; or 
2. 45°F (7°C) or between 41°F (5°C) and 45°F (7°C) for a 
maximum of four days in existing refrigeration equipment 
that is not capable of maintaining the food at 41°F (5°C) or 
less if: 

a. The equipment is in place and in use in the food 
establishment; and 
b. Before January 1, 2012, the equipment is upgraded or 
replaced to maintain food at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less. when held at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) or less 
for a maximum of seven days. The day of preparation 
shall be counted as day one.Pf 

B. Except as specified in subsections D through E, F, and G 
of this section, refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially 
hazardous food (time/temperature time/temperature control 
for safety food) food prepared and packaged by a food 
processing plant shall be clearly marked, at the time the 
original container is opened in a food establishment and if the 
food is held for more than 24 hours, to indicate the date or 
day by which the food shall be consumed on the premises, 
sold, or discarded, based on the temperature and time 
combinations specified in subsection A of this section and:Pf 

1. The day the original container is opened in the food 
establishment shall be counted as Day 1 day one;Pf and 
2. The day or date marked by the food establishment may 
not exceed a manufacturer's use-by date if the 

manufacturer determined the use-by date based on food 
safety.Pf 

C. A refrigerated, ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature, time/temperature control for safety food) 
food ingredient or a portion of a refrigerated, ready-to-eat, 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food that is 
subsequently combined with additional ingredients or 
portions of food shall retain the date marking of the earliest-
prepared or first-prepared ingredient.Pf 

D. A date marking system that meets the criteria specified 
stated in subsections A and B of this section may include: 

1. Using a method approved by the regulatory authority 
department for refrigerated, ready-to-eat potentially 
hazardous food (time/temperature, time/temperature 
control for safety food) food that is frequently rewrapped, 
such as lunchmeat or a roast, or for which date marking is 
impractical, such as soft-serve mix or milk in a dispensing 
machine; 
2. Marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure 
to discard the food on or before the last date or day by 
which the food must be consumed on the premises, sold, or 
discarded as specified in subsection A of this section; 
3. Marking the date or day the original container is opened 
in a food establishment, with a procedure to discard the 
food on or before the last date of or day by which the food 
must be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded as 
specified under subsection B of this section; or 
4. Using calendar dates, days of the week, color-coded 
marks, or other effective marking methods, provided that 
the marking system is disclosed to the regulatory authority 
department upon request. 

E. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
individual meal portions served or repackaged for sale from a 
bulk container upon a consumer's request. 

F. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
shellstock. 

G. Subsection B of this section does not apply to the 
following foods prepared and packaged by a food processing 
plant inspected by a regulatory authority: 

1. Deli salads, such as ham salad, seafood salad, chicken 
salad, egg salad, pasta salad, potato salad, and macaroni 
salad, manufactured in accordance with 21 CFR Part 110, 
Current good manufacturing practice in manufacturing, 
packing, or holding human food; 
2. Hard cheeses containing not more than 39% moisture as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 133, Cheeses and related cheese 
products, such as cheddar, gruyere, parmesan and 
reggiano, and romano; 
3. Semi-soft cheese containing more than 39% moisture, 
but not more than 50% moisture, as defined in 21 CFR Part 
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133, Cheeses and related cheese products, such as blue, 
edam, gorgonzola, gouda, and Monterey jack Jack; 
4. Cultured dairy products as defined in 21 CFR Part 131, 
Milk and cream, such as yogurt, sour cream, and 
buttermilk; 
5. Preserved fish products, such as pickled herring and 
dried or salted cod, and other acidified fish products as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 114, Acidified foods; 
6. Shelf stable, dry fermented sausages, such as pepperoni 
and Genoa salami that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" 
as specified in 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers, and which retain the original casing on the 
product; and 
7. Shelf stable salt-cured products such as prosciutto and 
Parma (ham) that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" as 
specified in 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers. 

2VAC5-585-840. Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food; disposition.* 

A. A food specified in 2VAC5-585-830 A or B shall be 
discarded if it: 

1. Exceeds either of the temperature and time combinations 
combination specified in 2VAC5-585-830 A, except time 
that the product is frozen;P 
2. Is in a container or package that does not bear a date or 
day;P or 
3. Is [ appropriately inappropriately ] marked with a date or 
day that exceeds a temperature and time combination as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-830 A.P 

B. Refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food prepared in a food 
establishment and dispensed through a vending machine with 
an automatic shutoff control shall be discarded if it exceeds a 
temperature and time combination as specified in 2VAC5-
585-830 A.P 
2VAC5-585-850. Time as a public health control.* 

A. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, if 
time without temperature control is used as the public health 
control for a working supply of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food before cooking, or for ready-to-eat potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature, time/temperature control for safety 
food) food that is displayed or held for sale or service: 

1. Written procedures shall be prepared in advance, 
maintained in the food establishment, and made available 
to the regulatory authority department upon request that 
specify:Pf 

a. Methods of compliance with subdivision subdivisions 
B 1 through 4, 2, and 3 or subsection C 1 through 5 of 
this section;Pf and  

b. Methods of compliance with 2VAC5-585-800 for food 
that is prepared, cooked, and refrigerated before time is 
used as a public health control.Pf 

B. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of 4 hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less when removed from cold holding temperature 
control, or 135°F (57°C) or greater when removed from 
hot-holding temperature control;P 
2. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate the time that is four hours past the point in time 
when the food is removed from temperature control;Pf 
3. The food shall be cooked and served, served at any 
temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded, within four hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
temperature control;P and 
4. The food in unmarked containers or packages or marked 
to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded.P 

C. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of six hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or less when removed from temperature control and the 
food temperature may not exceed 70°F (21°C) within a 
maximum time period of six hours;P  
2. The food shall be monitored to ensure the warmest 
portion of the food does not exceed 70°F (21°C) during the 
six-hour period, unless an ambient air temperature is 
maintained that ensures the food does not exceed 70°F 
(21°C) during the six-hour holding period;Pf 
3. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate:Pf 

a. The time when the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) 
or less cold holding temperature control;Pf and 
b. The time that is six hours past the point in time when 
the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) or less cold holding 
temperature control;Pf 

4. The food shall be: 
a. Discarded if the temperature of the foods exceeds 70°F 
(21°C);P or 
b. Cooked and served, served at any temperature if 
ready-to-eat, or discarded within a maximum of six hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
41°F (5°C) or less cold holding temperature control;P and 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or 
marked with a time that exceeds the six-hour limit shall be 
discarded.P 

D. A food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population may not use time as specified under subsections 
subsection A, B, or C of this section as the public health 
control for raw eggs. 
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2VAC5-585-860. Variance requirement.* 
A food establishment shall obtain a variance from the 

department as specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 and 2VAC5-
585-3541 before:Pf 

1. Smoking food as a method of food preservation rather 
than as a method of flavor enhancement;Pf 
2. Curing food;Pf 
3. Using food additives or adding components such as 
vinegar:Pf 

a. As a method of food preservation rather than as a 
method of flavor enhancement;Pf or 
b. To render a food so that it is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food;Pf 

4. Packaging time/temperature control for safety food 
using a reduced oxygen packaging method except as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-870 where a barrier to where 
the growth of and toxin formation by Clostridium 
botulinum in addition to refrigeration exists and the growth 
of Listeria monocytogenes are controlled as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-870;Pf 
5. Operating a molluscan shellfish life-support system 
display tank used to store and or display shellfish that are 
offered for human consumption;Pf 
6. Custom processing animals that are for personal use as 
food and not for sale or service in a food establishment;Pf 
7. Sprouting seeds or beans;Pf or 
8. Preparing food by another method that is determined by 
the regulatory authority department to require a variance.Pf 

2VAC5-585-870. Reduced oxygen packaging without a 
variance; criteria.* 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-860 and except as specified 
under subsections C and E of this section, a food 
establishment that packages potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food using a reduced oxygen packaging method shall ensure 
that there are at least two barriers in place to control the 
growth and toxin formation of Clostridium botulinum and the 
growth of Listeria monocytogenes.P 

B. A Except as specified in subsection F of this section, a 
food establishment that packages potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food using a reduced oxygen packaging method shall have 
implement a HACCP plan that contains the following 
information specified under subdivision subdivisions [ 2 3 ] 
and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 and that:Pf 

1. Identifies food to be packaged;Pf 
2. Except as specified in subsections C and, D, and E and 
as specified in subsection D of this section, requires that 
the packaged food shall be maintained at 41°F (5°C) or 
less and meet at least one of the following criteria:Pf 

a. Has an Aw of 0.91 or less,Pf 
b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less,Pf 
c. Is a meat or poultry product cured at a food processing 
plant regulated by the USDA using substances specified 
in 9 CFR 424.21, Use of food ingredients and sources of 
radiation, and is received in an intact package,Pf or 
d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms 
such as raw meat, or raw poultry, or raw vegetables;Pf 

3. Describes how the package shall be prominently and 
conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in 
bold type on a contrasting background, with instructions 
to:Pf 

a. Maintain the food at 41°F (5°C) or below,Pf and  
b. Discard the food within 14 30 calendar days of its 
packaging if it is not served for on-premises 
consumption, or consumed if served or sold for off-
premises consumption;Pf 

4. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 14 30 
calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 
time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 
manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 
first;P 
5. Includes operational procedures that: 

a. Prohibit contacting ready-to-eat food with bare hands 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-450 B;Pf 
b. Identify a designated work area and the method by 
which:Pf 
(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw 
foods and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross 
contamination,Pf and 
(2) Access to the processing equipment is limited to 
responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 
hazards of the operation;Pf and 
c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for food 
contact food-contact surfaces; andPf  

6. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 
operation understands the:Pf 

a. Concepts required for safe operation;Pf 
b. Equipment and facilities;Pf and 
c. Procedures specified under subdivision 5 of this 
subsection and 2VAC5-585-3630 D. subdivisions [ 2 3 ] 
and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630;Pf and 

7. Is provided to the department prior to implementation as 
specified under subsection B of 2VAC5-585-3620. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 
packaging, a food establishment may not package fish using a 
reduced oxygen packaging method.P 

D. Except as specified in subsection subsections C and F of 
this section, a food establishment may package that packages 
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time/temperature control for safety food using a cook-chill or 
sous-vide sous vide process without obtaining a variance if 
shall: 

1. The food establishment implements Provide to the 
department prior to implementation, a HACCP plan that 
contains the information as specified under 2VAC5-585-
3630 D subdivisions [ 2 3 ] and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630;Pf 
2. The Ensure the food is: 

a. Prepared and consumed on the premises, or prepared 
and consumed off the premises but within the same 
business entity with no distribution or sale of the bagged 
packaged product to another business entity or the 
consumer;Pf 
b. Cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature 
and for a time as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A, B, 
and C;P 
c. Protected from contamination before and after cooking 
as specified in 2VAC5-585-450 through 2VAC5-585-
690 2VAC5-585-765;P 
d. Placed in a package or bag with an oxygen barrier and 
sealed before cooking, or placed in a package or bag and 
sealed immediately after cooking, and before reaching a 
temperature below 135°F (57°C);P 
e. Cooled to 41°F (5°C) in the sealed package or bag as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-800, and subsequently;P 
(1) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C) and held at that temperature until consumed 
or discarded within 30 days after the date of preparation 
packaging;P 
(2) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C), removed from refrigeration equipment that 
maintains a 34°F (1°C) food temperature and then held 
Held at 41°F (5°C) or less for no more than 72 hours 
seven days, at which time the food must be consumed or 
discarded;P or 
(3) Cooled to 38°F (3°C) or less within 24 hours of 
reaching 41°F (5°C) and held there for no more than 72 
hours from packaging, at which time the food must be 
consumed or discarded; or 
(4) (3) Held frozen with no shelf-life restriction while 
frozen until consumed or used;P 
f. Held in a refrigeration unit that is equipped with an 
electronic system that continuously monitors time and 
temperature and is visually examined for proper 
operation twice daily;Pf 
g. If transported off-site to a satellite location of the same 
business entity, equipped with verifiable electronic 
monitoring devices to ensure that times and temperatures 
are monitored during transportation;Pf and 
h. Labeled with the product name and the date 
packaged;Pf and 

3. The Maintain the records required to confirm that 
cooling and cold holding refrigeration time/temperature 
parameters are required as part of the HACCP plan, are 
maintained and are: 

a. Made Make such records available to the regulatory 
authority department upon request;Pf and 
b. Held Hold such records for at least six months;Pf and 

4. Written Implement written operational procedures as 
specified under subdivision B 5 of this section and a 
training program as specified under subdivision B 6 of this 
section are implemented.Pf 

E. A Except as specified under subsection F of this section, 
a food establishment may package that packages cheese using 
a reduced oxygen packaging method without obtaining a 
variance shall: 

1. If it limits Limit the cheeses packaged to those that are 
commercially manufactured in a food processing plant 
with no ingredients added in the food establishment and 
that meet the Standards of Identity as specified in 21 CFR 
133.150, Hard Cheeses, 21 CFR 133.169, Pasteurized 
process cheese, or 21 CFR 133.187, Semi-soft cheeses;P 
2. If it has Have a HACCP plan that contains the 
information specified in 2VAC5-585-3630 D subdivisions 
[ 2 3 ] and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 and as specified in 
subdivisions B 1, B 3 a, B 5, and B 6 of this section;Pf 
3. Except as specified under subdivisions B 2, B 3 b, and B 
4, complies with subsection B of this section; 
4. If it labels 3. [ Labels Label ] the package on the 
principal display panel with a "use by" date that does not 
exceed 30 days from its packaging or the original 
manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever comes 
occurs first;Pf and 
5. If it discards 4. [ Discards Discard ] the reduced oxygen 
packaged cheese if it is not sold for off-premises 
consumption or consumed within 30 calendar days of its 
packaging.Pf 

F. A HACCP plan is not required when a food establishment 
uses a reduced oxygen packaging method to package 
time/temperature control for safety food that is always: 

1. Labeled with the production time and date; 
2. Held at 41°F (5°C) or less during refrigerated storage; 
and 
3. Removed from its packaging in the food establishment 
within 48 hours after packaging. 

2VAC5-585-900. Food labels. 
A. Food packaged in a food establishment shall be labeled 

as specified in law, including 21 CFR Part 101, Food 
Labeling, and 9 CFR Part 317, Labeling, Marking Devices, 
and Containers. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2842 

B. Label information shall include: 
1. The common name of the food, or absent a common 
name, an adequately descriptive identity statement; 
2. If made from two or more ingredients, a list of 
ingredients and subingredients in descending order of 
predominance by weight, including a declaration of 
artificial color or flavor colors, artificial flavors, and 
chemical preservatives, if contained in the food; 
3. An accurate declaration of the net quantity of contents; 
4. The name and place of business of the manufacturer, 
packer, or distributor; 
5. The name of the food source for each major food 
allergen contained in the food unless the food source is 
already part of the common or usual name of the respective 
ingredient;Pf 
6. Except as exempted in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act 21 USC § 343(q) (3) through (5) 21 USC 
§ 403(g)(3) through (5), nutrition labeling as specified in 
21 CFR Part 101, Food Labeling, and 9 CFR Part 317, 
Subpart B, Nutrition Labeling; and 
7. For any salmonid fish containing canthaxanthin or 
astaxanthin as a color additive, the labeling of the bulk fish 
container, including a list of ingredients, displayed on the 
retail container or by other written means, such as a 
counter card, that discloses the use of canthaxanthin or 
astaxanthin. 

C. Bulk food that is available for consumer self-dispensing 
shall be prominently labeled with the following information 
in plain view of the consumer: 

1. The manufacturer's or processor's label that was 
provided with the food; or 
2. A card, sign, or other method of notification that 
includes the information specified under subdivisions B 1, 
2, and 5 6 of this section. 

D. Bulk, unpackaged foods such as bakery products and 
unpackaged foods that are portioned to consumer 
specification need not be labeled if: 

1. A health, nutrient content, or other claim is not made; 
2. There are no state or local laws requiring labeling; and 
3. The food is manufactured or prepared on the premises of 
the food establishment or at another food establishment or 
a food processing plant that is owned by the same person 
and is regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 
jurisdiction. 

2VAC5-585-930. Consumer advisory; consumption of 
animal foods that are raw, undercooked, or not otherwise 
processed to eliminate pathogens.* 

A. Except as specified in 2VAC5-585-700 C and 2VAC5-
585-700 D 3 4 and under subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-950, if 
an animal food such as beef, eggs, fish, lamb, milk, pork, 
poultry, or shellfish is served or sold raw, undercooked, or 

without otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens, 
either in ready-to-eat form or as an ingredient in another 
ready-to-eat food, the person in charge operator shall inform 
consumers of the significantly increased risk of consuming 
such foods by way of a disclosure and reminder, as specified 
in subsections B and C of this section, using brochures, deli 
case or menu advisories, label statements, table tents, 
placards, or other effective written means.Pf 

B. Disclosure shall include: 
1. A description of the animal-derived foods, such as 
"oysters on the half shell (raw oysters)," "raw-egg Caesar 
salad," and "hamburgers (can be cooked to order)";Pf or 
2. Identification of the animal-derived foods by asterisking 
them to a footnote that states that the items are served raw 
or undercooked, or contain (or may contain) raw or 
undercooked ingredients.Pf 

C. Reminder shall include asterisking the animal-derived 
foods requiring disclosure to a footnote that states: 

1. Regarding the safety of these items, written information 
is available upon request:;Pf 
2. Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, 
shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne 
illness;Pf or 
3. Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, 
shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne 
illness, especially if you have certain medical conditions.Pf 

Article 7  
Contaminated Food  

2VAC5-585-940. Discarding or reconditioning unsafe, 
adulterated, or contaminated food.* 

A. A food that is unsafe, adulterated, or not honestly 
presented as specified under 2VAC5-585-260 shall be 
discarded or reconditioned according to an approved 
procedure or discarded.P 

B. Food that is not from an approved source as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-270 through 2VAC5-585-330 shall be 
discarded.P 

C. Ready-to-eat food that may have been contaminated by 
an employee who has been restricted or excluded as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-90 shall be discarded.P 

D. Food that is contaminated by food employees, 
consumers, or other persons through contact with their hands, 
bodily discharges, such as nasal or oral discharges, or other 
means shall be discarded.P 

Article 8  
Special Requirements for Highly Susceptible Populations  

2VAC5-585-950. Pasteurized foods, prohibited reservice, 
and prohibited food.* 

In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population: 

1. The following criteria apply to juice: 
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a. For the purposes of subdivision 1 of this section only, 
children who are age 9 nine years or less younger and 
receive food in a school, day care setting, or similar 
facility that provides custodial care are included as highly 
susceptible populations; 
b. Prepackaged juice or a prepackaged beverage 
containing juice, that bears a warning label as specified 
in 21 CFR 101.17(g), Food Labeling, or a packaged juice 
or beverage containing juice, that bears a warning label 
as specified under subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-765 may 
not be served or offered for sale;P and 
c. Unpackaged juice that is prepared on the premises for 
service or sale in a ready-to-eat form shall be processed 
under a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified in subdivisions [ 2 3 ] through 5 of 2VAC5-
585-3630 and as specified under in 21 CFR Part 120, 
Hazard Analysis And Critical Control Point (HACCP) 
Systems, Subpart B, Pathogen Reduction, 120.24, 
Process Controls.P 

2. Pasteurized shell eggs or egg products shall be 
substituted for raw shell eggs in the preparation of:P 

a. Foods such as Caesar salad, hollandaise or béarnaise 
sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, eggnog, ice cream, and 
egg-fortified beverages;P and 
b. Except as specified in subdivision 6 of this section, 
recipes in which more than one egg is broken and the 
eggs are combined.P 

3. The following foods may not be served or offered for 
sale in a ready-to-eat form:P 

a. Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw-marinated 
fish, raw molluscan shellfish, and steak tartare;P 
b. A partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked 
fish, rare meat, soft-cooked eggs that are made from raw 
shell eggs, and meringue;P and 
c. Raw seed sprouts.P 

4. Food employees may not contact ready-to-eat food as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-450 B and E.P 
5. Time only, as the public health control as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-850 D, may not be used for raw eggs.P 
6. Subdivision 2 b of this section does not apply if: 

a. The raw eggs are combined immediately before 
cooking for one consumer's serving at a single meal, 
cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A 1, and 
served immediately, such as an omelet, soufflé, or 
scrambled eggs; 
b. The raw eggs are combined as an ingredient 
immediately before baking and the eggs are thoroughly 
cooked to a ready-to-eat form, such as a cake, muffin, or 
bread; or 
c. The preparation of the food is conducted under a 
HACCP plan that: 

(1) Identifies the food to be prepared; 
(2) Prohibits contacting ready-to-eat food with bare 
hands; 
(3) Includes specifications and practices that ensure: 
(a) Salmonella enteritidis Enteritidis growth is controlled 
before and after cooking; and 
(b) Salmonella enteritidis Enteritidis is destroyed by 
cooking the eggs according to the temperature and time 
specified in 2VAC5-585-700 A 2; 
d. Contains the information specified under subdivision 4 
of 2VAC5-585-3630 including procedures that: 
(1) Control cross contamination of ready-to-eat food with 
raw eggs; and 
(2) Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 
food-contact surfaces; and 
e. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
food employee responsible for the preparation of the food 
understands the procedures to be used. 

7. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of this section, food 
may be re-served as specified under 2VAC5-585-680 B 1 
and 2. 
8. Foods may not be re-served under the following 
conditions: 

[ 1. a. ] Any food served to patients or clients who are 
under contact precautions in medical isolation or 
quarantine, or protective environment isolation may not 
be re-served to others outside. 
[ 2. b. ] Packages of food from any patients, clients, or 
other consumers should not be re-served to persons in 
protective environment isolation. 

Part IV  
Equipment, Utensils, and Linens  

Article 1  
Materials for Construction and Repair  

2VAC5-585-960. Multiuse, characteristics.* 
Materials that are used in the construction of utensils and 

food-contact surfaces of equipment may not allow the 
migration of deleterious substances or impart colors, odors, or 
tastes to food and under normal use conditions shall be:P 

1. Safe;P 
2. Durable, corrosion-resistant, and nonabsorbent;N 
3. Sufficient in weight and thickness to withstand repeated 
warewashing;N 
4. Finished to have a smooth, easily cleanable surface;N 

and 
5. Resistant to pitting, chipping, crazing, scratching, 
scoring, distortion, and decomposition.N 

2VAC5-585-980. Lead use limitation. 
A. Ceramic, china, and crystal utensils, and decorative 

utensils such as hand-painted ceramic or china that are used 
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in contact with food shall be lead-free or contain levels of 
lead not exceeding the limits of the following utensil 
categories:P 

Utensil Category Ceramic Article 
Description 

Maximum 
Lead 

(mg/L) 

Beverage Mugs, 
Cups, Pitchers Coffee Mugs 0.5 

Large Hollowware 
(excluding 
pitchers) 

Bowls >≥1.1 Liter 
(1.16 Quart) 1.0 

Small Hollowware 
(excluding cups 

and mugs) 

Bowls <1.1 Liter 
(1.16 Quart) 2.0 

Flat Tableware Plates, Saucers 3.0 

B. Pewter alloys containing lead in excess of 0.05% may not 
be used as a food contact food-contact surface.P 

C. Solder and flux containing lead in excess of 0.2% may 
not be used as a food contact food-contact surface. 
2VAC5-585-990. Copper, use limitation.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, copper and copper alloys such as brass may not be 
used in contact with a food that has a pH below 6 6.0 such as 
vinegar, fruit juice, or wine or for a fitting or tubing installed 
between a backflow prevention device and a carbonator.P 

B. Copper and copper alloys may be used in contact with 
beer brewing ingredients that have a pH below 6 6.0 in the 
prefermentation and fermentation steps of a beer brewing 
operation such as a brewpub or microbrewery. 

C. Copper and copper alloys may be used in contact with 
apple butter and molasses that have a pH below 6 6.0 during 
the typical processing times (i.e., mixing, cooking, and 
cooling) for these products, as long as laboratory analysis 
does not reveal excessive levels of copper or other heavy 
metals in the finished product. Apple butter and molasses 
may not be held or stored in copper or copper alloys for time 
periods any longer than the typical processing times for these 
products. 
2VAC5-585-1000. Galvanized metal, use limitation.* 

Galvanized metal may not be used for utensils or food-
contact surfaces of equipment that are used in contact with 
acidic food.P 
2VAC5-585-1070. Single-service and single-use, 
characteristics.* 

Materials that are used to make single-service and single-use 
articles: 

1. May not: 
a. Allow the migration of deleterious substances;P or 
b. Impart colors, odors, or tastes to food.N 

2. Shall be: 
a. Safe;P and 
b. Clean.N 

2VAC5-585-1090. Food temperature measuring devices.* 
Food temperature measuring devices may not have sensors 

or stems constructed of glass, except that thermometers with 
glass sensors or stems that are encased in a shatterproof 
coating such as candy thermometers may be used.P 
2VAC5-585-1100. Food-contact surfaces; cleanability.* 

A. Multiuse food-contact surfaces shall be: 
1. Smooth;Pf 
2. Free of breaks, open seams, cracks, chips, inclusions, 
pits, and similar imperfections;Pf 
3. Free of sharp internal angles, corners, and crevices;Pf 
4. Finished to have smooth welds and joints;Pf and 
5. Accessible Except as specified in subsection B of this 
section, accessible for cleaning and inspection by one of 
the following methods: 

a. Without being disassembled;Pf 
b. By disassembling without the use of tools;Pf or 
c. By easy disassembling with the use of handheld tools 
commonly available to maintenance and cleaning 
personnel such as screwdrivers, pliers, open-end 
wrenches, and Allen wrenches.Pf 

B. Subdivision A 5 of this section does not apply to cooking 
oil storage tanks, distribution lines for cooking oils, or 
beverage syrup lines or tubes. 
2VAC5-585-1110. CIP equipment. 

A. CIP equipment shall meet the characteristics specified 
under 2VAC5-585-1100 and shall be designed and 
constructed so that: 

1. Cleaning and sanitizing solutions circulate throughout a 
fixed system and contact all interior food-contact 
surfaces;Pf and 
2. The system is self-draining or capable of being 
completely drained of cleaning and sanitizing solutions. 

B. CIP equipment that is not designed to be disassembled 
for cleaning shall be designed with inspection access points to 
ensure that all interior food-contact surfaces throughout the 
fixed system are being effectively cleaned. 
2VAC5-585-1120. "V" threads, use limitation. 

Except for hot oil cooking or filtering equipment, "V" type 
threads may not be used on food-contact surfaces. This 
section does not apply to hot oil cooking or filtering 
equipment. 
2VAC5-585-1180. Temperature measuring devices; food. 

A. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 
in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit and Celsius shall 
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be scaled in 2°F increments and accurate to ±2°F in the 
intended range of use.Pf 

B. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 
in Celsius shall be scaled in 1°C increments accurate to ±1°C 
in the intended range of use.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1190. Temperature measuring devices; 
ambient air and water. 

A. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices 
that are scaled in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit 
and Celsius and shall be designed to be easily readable and 
scaled in 3°F increments and accurate to ±3°F in the intended 
range of use.Pf 

B. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices 
that are scaled only in Celsius shall be scaled in 1.5°C 
increments and accurate to ±1.5°C in the intended range of 
use.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1230. Dispensing equipment, protection of 
equipment and food. 

In equipment that dispenses or vends liquid food or ice in 
unpackaged form: 

1. The delivery tube, chute, orifice, and splash surfaces 
directly above the container receiving the food shall be 
designed in a manner, such as with barriers, baffles, or drip 
aprons, so that drips from condensation and splash are 
diverted from the opening of the container receiving the 
food. 
2. The delivery tube, chute, and orifice shall be protected 
from manual contact such as by being recessed. 
3. The delivery tube or chute and orifice of equipment used 
to vend liquid food or ice in unpackaged form to self-
service consumers shall be designed so that the delivery 
tube or chute and orifice are protected from dust, insects, 
rodents, and other contamination by a self-closing door if 
the equipment is: 

a. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise 
afford the protection of an enclosure against the rain, 
windblown debris, insects, rodents, and other 
contaminants that are present in the environment; or 
b. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 
under the full-time supervision of a food employee. 

4. The dispensing equipment actuating lever or mechanism 
and filling device of consumer self-service beverage 
dispensing equipment shall be designed to prevent contact 
with the lip-contact surface of glasses or cups that are 
refilled. 
5. Dispensing equipment in which potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature time/temperature control for safety 
food) food in homogenous liquid form is maintained 
outside of the temperature control requirements as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-820 C A shall: 

a. Be specifically designed and equipped to maintain the 
commercial sterility of aseptically packaged food in a 

homogenous liquid form for a specified duration from the 
time of opening the packaging within the equipment;P 
and 
b. Conform to the requirements for this equipment as 
specified in NSF/ANSI 18-2006 18-2012 Manual Food 
and Beverage Dispensing Equipment, 2012, (NSF 
International).P 

2VAC5-585-1240. Vending machine, vending stage 
closure. 

The dispensing compartment of a vending machine 
including a machine that is designed to vend prepackaged 
snack food that is not potentially hazardous time/temperature 
control for safety food such as chips, party mixes, and 
pretzels shall be equipped with a self-closing door or cover if 
the machine is: 

1. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise afford 
the protection of an enclosure against the rain, windblown 
debris, insects, rodents, and other contaminants that are 
present in the environment; or 
2. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 
under the full-time supervision of a food employee. 

2VAC5-585-1300. Molluscan shellfish tanks. 
A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 

molluscan shellfish life support system display tanks may not 
be used to display shellfish that are offered for human 
consumption and shall be conspicuously marked so that it is 
obvious to consumers that the shellfish are for display only.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish life-support system display tanks that 
are used to store and or display shellfish that are offered for 
human consumption shall be operated and maintained in 
accordance with a variance granted by the department as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 and a HACCP plan that:Pf 

1. Is submitted by the person in charge operator and 
approved as specified under 2VAC5-585-3541;Pf and 
2. Ensures that: 

a. Water used with fish other than molluscan shellfish 
does not flow into the molluscan tank;Pf 
b. The safety and quality of the shellfish as they were 
received are not compromised by the use of the tank;Pf 
and 
c. The identity of the source of the shellstock is retained 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-440.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1310. Vending machines, automatic shutoff.* 
A. A machine vending potentially hazardous food 

(time/temperature time/temperature control for safety food) 
food shall have an automatic control that prevents the 
machine from vending food: 

1. If there is a power failure, mechanical failure, or other 
condition that results in an internal machine temperature 
that cannot maintain food temperatures as specified under 
Part III (2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this chapter;P and 
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2. If a condition specified under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection occurs, until the machine is serviced and 
restocked with food that has been maintained at 
temperatures specified under Part III.P 

B. When the automatic shutoff within a machine vending 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
time/temperature control for safety food) food is activated: 

1. In a refrigerated vending machine, the ambient 
temperature may not exceed 41°F (5°C) or 45°F (7°C) as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 for more than 30 
minutes immediately after the machine is filled, serviced, 
or restocked;P or 
2. In a hot holding vending machine, the ambient 
temperature may not be less than 135°F (57°C) for more 
than 120 minutes immediately after the machine is filled, 
serviced, or restocked.P 

2VAC5-585-1320. Temperature measuring devices. 
A. In a mechanically refrigerated or hot food storage unit, 

the sensor of a temperature measuring device shall be located 
to measure the air temperature or a simulated product 
temperature in the warmest part of a mechanically 
refrigerated unit and in the coolest part of a hot food storage 
unit. 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, cold 
or hot holding equipment used for potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food shall be designed to 
include and shall be equipped with at least one integral or 
affixed temperature measuring device that is located to allow 
easy viewing of the device's temperature display. 

C. Subsection B of this section does not apply to equipment 
for which the placement of a temperature measuring device is 
not a practical means for measuring the ambient air 
surrounding the food because of the design, type, and use of 
the equipment, such as calrod units, heat lamps, cold plates, 
bainmaries, steam tables, insulated food transport containers, 
and salad bars. 

D. Temperature measuring devices shall be designed to be 
easily readable. 

E. Food temperature measuring devices and water 
temperature measuring devices on warewashing machines 
shall have a numerical scale, printed record, or digital readout 
in increments no greater than 2°F or 1°C in the intended 
range of use.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1330. Warewashing machine, data plate 
operating specifications. 

A warewashing machine shall be provided with an easily 
accessible and readable data plate affixed to the machine by 
the manufacturer that indicates the machine's design and 
operating operation specifications including the: 

1. Temperatures required for washing, rinsing, and 
sanitizing; 

2. Pressure required for the fresh water sanitizing rinse 
unless the machine is designed to use only a pumped 
sanitizing rinse; and 
3. Conveyor speed for conveyor machines or cycle time for 
stationary rack machines. 

2VAC5-585-1350. Warewashing machines, temperature 
measuring devices. 

A warewashing machine shall be equipped with a 
temperature measuring device that indicates the temperature 
of the water: 

1. In each wash and rinse tank;Pf and 
2. As the water enters the hot water sanitizing final rinse 
manifold or in the chemical sanitizing solution tank.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1360. Manual warewashing equipment, 
heaters and baskets. 

If hot water is used for sanitization in manual warewashing 
operations, the sanitizing compartment of the sink shall be: 

1. Designed with an integral heating device that is capable 
of maintaining water at a temperature not less than 171°F 
(77°C);Pf and 
2. Provided with a rack or basket to allow complete 
immersion of equipment and utensils into the hot water.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1370. Warewashing machines, automatic 
dispensing of detergents and sanitizers. 

A. A warewashing machine that is installed after the 
adoption of this regulation by the board shall be equipped to: 

1. Automatically dispense detergents and sanitizers;Pf and 
2. Incorporate a visual means to verify that detergents and 
sanitizers are delivered or a visual or audible alarm to 
signal if the detergents and sanitizers are not delivered to 
the respective washing and sanitizing cycles.Pf 

B. Before January 1, 2012, existing warewashing equipment 
shall be upgraded or replaced to meet the requirements of 
subsection A of this section. 
2VAC5-585-1435. Food equipment, certification and 
classification. 

Food equipment that is certified or classified for sanitation 
by an American National Standards Institute accredited 
certification program is deemed to comply with the 
requirements of Articles 1 (2VAC5-585-960 et seq.) and 2 
(2VAC5-585-1080 et seq.) of this part. 

Article 3  
Numbers and Capacities  

2VAC5-585-1450. Cooling, heating, and holding 
capacities. 

Equipment for cooling and heating food, and holding cold 
and hot food, shall be sufficient in number and capacity and 
capable of providing to provide food temperatures as 
specified under Part III (2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this 
chapter.Pf 
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2VAC5-585-1460. Manual warewashing, sink 
compartment requirements. 

A. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, a sink 
with at least three compartments shall be provided for 
manually washing, rinsing, and sanitizing equipment and 
utensils.Pf 

B. Sink compartments shall be large enough to 
accommodate immersion of the largest equipment and 
utensils. If equipment or utensils are too large for the 
warewashing sink, a warewashing machine or alternative 
equipment as specified in subsection C of this section shall be 
used.Pf 

C. Alternative manual warewashing equipment may be used 
when there are special cleaning needs or constraints and its 
use is approved. Alternative manual warewashing equipment 
may include: 

1. High-pressure detergent sprayers; 
2. Low-pressure or line-pressure spray detergent foamers; 
3. Other task-specific cleaning equipment; 
4. Brushes or other implements; 
5. Two-compartment sinks as specified under subsections 
D and E of this section; or 
6. Receptacles that substitute for the compartments of a 
multicompartment sink. 

D. Before a two-compartment sink is used: 
1. The operator shall have its use approved; and 
2. The person in charge operator shall limit the number of 
kitchenware items cleaned and sanitized in the two-
compartment sink, and shall limit warewashing to batch 
operations for cleaning kitchenware such as between 
cutting one type of raw meat and another or cleanup at the 
end of a shift, and shall: 

a. Make up the cleaning and sanitizing solutions 
immediately before use and drain them immediately after 
use; and 
b. Use a detergent-sanitizer to sanitize and apply the 
detergent-sanitizer in accordance with the manufacturer's 
label instructions and as specified under 2VAC5-585-
1710; or 
c. Use a hot water sanitization immersion step as 
specified under subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-1860. 

E. A two-compartment sink may not be used for 
warewashing operations where cleaning and sanitizing 
solutions are used for a continuous or intermittent flow of 
kitchenware or tableware in an ongoing warewashing process. 
2VAC5-585-1500. Utensils, consumer self-service. 

A food dispensing utensil shall be available for each 
container displayed at a consumer self-service unit such as a 
buffet or salad bar.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1510. Food temperature measuring devices. 
A. Food temperature measuring devices shall be provided 

and readily accessible for use in ensuring attainment and 
maintenance of food temperatures as specified under Part III 
(2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this chapter.Pf 

B. A temperature measuring device with a suitable small-
diameter probe that is designed to measure the temperature of 
thin masses shall be provided and readily accessible to 
accurately measure the temperature in thin foods such as meat 
patties and fish fillets.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1520. Temperature measuring devices, 
manual and mechanical warewashing. 

A. In manual warewashing operations, a temperature 
measuring device shall be provided and readily accessible for 
frequently measuring the washing and sanitizing 
temperatures.Pf 

B. In hot water mechanical warewashing operations, an 
irreversible registering temperature indicator shall be 
provided and readily accessible for measuring the utensil 
surface temperature.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1530. Sanitizing solutions, testing devices. 

A test kit or other device that accurately measures the 
concentration in mg/L (ppm) of sanitizing solutions shall be 
provided and readily accessible for use.Pf 
 [ 2VAC5-585-1535. Cleaning agents and sanitizers; 
availability. 

A. Cleaning agents that are used to clean equipment and 
utensils as specified under Article 6 (2VAC5-585-1770 et 
seq.) of this part shall be provided and available for use 
during all hours of operation. 

B. Except for chemical sanitizers that are generated on site 
at the time of use, chemical sanitizers that are used to sanitize 
equipment and utensils as specified under Article 7 (2VAC5-
585-1885 et seq.) of this part shall be provided and available 
for use during all hours of operation. ]  

Article 4  
Location and Installation  

2VAC5-585-1540. Equipment, clothes washers and dryers, 
and storage cabinets, contamination prevention. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
equipment, cabinets a cabinet used for the storage of food, or 
cabinets a cabinet used to store cleaned and sanitized 
equipment, utensils, laundered linens, and single-service and 
single-use articles may not be located: 

1. In locker rooms; 
2. In toilet rooms or vestibules; 
3. In garbage rooms; 
4. In mechanical rooms; 
5. Under sewer lines that are not shielded to intercept 
potential drips; 
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6. Under leaking water lines including leaking automatic 
fire sprinkler heads or under lines on which water has 
condensed; 
7. Under open stairwells; or 
8. Under other sources of contamination. 

B. A storage cabinet used for linens or single-service or 
single-use articles may be stored in a locker room. 

C. If a mechanical clothes washer or dryer is provided, it 
shall be located only where there is no exposed food; clean 
equipment, utensils, and linens; unwrapped single-service and 
single-use articles; and (i) so that the washer or dryer is 
protected from contamination and (ii) only where there is no 
exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; or 
unwrapped single-service and single-use articles. 
2VAC5-585-1550. Fixed equipment, spacing or sealing. 

A. Equipment that is fixed because it is not easily movable 
shall be installed so that it is: 

1. Spaced to allow access for cleaning along the sides, 
behind, and above the equipment; 
2. Spaced from adjoining equipment, walls, and ceilings a 
distance of not more than 1/32 inch or one millimeter; or 
3. Sealed to adjoining equipment or walls, if the equipment 
is exposed to spillage or seepage. 

B. Counter-mounted equipment that is not easily movable 
shall be installed to allow cleaning of the equipment and areas 
underneath and around the equipment by being: 

1. Sealed to the table; or 
2. Elevated on legs as specified under 2VAC5-585-1560 D. 

2VAC5-585-1560. Fixed equipment, elevation or sealing. 
A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 

section, floor-mounted equipment that is not easily movable 
shall be sealed to the floor or elevated on legs that provide at 
least a six-inch [ (15-centimeter) (15 centimeter) ] clearance 
between the floor and the equipment. 

B. If no part of the floor under the floor-mounted equipment 
is more than six inches (15 centimeters) from the point of 
cleaning access, the clearance space may be only four inches 
(10 centimeters). 

C. This section does not apply to display shelving units, 
display refrigeration units, and display freezer units located in 
the consumer shopping areas of a retail food store, if the floor 
under the units is maintained clean. 

D. Except as specified in subsection E of this section, 
counter-mounted equipment that is not easily movable shall 
be elevated on legs that provide at least a four-inch [ (10-
centimeter) (10 centimeter) ] clearance between the table and 
the equipment. 

E. The clearance space between the table and counter-
mounted equipment may be: 

1. Three inches (7.5 centimeters) if the horizontal distance 
of the table top under the equipment is no more than 20 

inches (50 centimeters) from the point of access for 
cleaning; or 
2. Two inches (5 centimeters) if the horizontal distance of 
the table top under the equipment is no more than three 
inches (7.5 centimeters) from the point of access for 
cleaning. 

Article 5  
Maintenance and Operation  

2VAC5-585-1570. Good repair and proper adjustment. 
A. Equipment shall be maintained in a state of repair and 

condition that meets the requirements specified under Articles 
1 (2VAC5-585-960 et seq.) and 2 (2VAC5-585-1080 et seq.) 
of this part. Unused or nonfunctioning equipment shall be 
removed from the premises. 

B. Equipment components such as doors, seals, hinges, 
fasteners, and kick plates shall be kept intact, tight, and 
adjusted in accordance with manufacturer's specifications. 

C. Cutting or piercing parts of can openers shall be kept 
sharp to minimize the creation of metal fragments that can 
contaminate food when the container is opened. 
2VAC5-585-1630. Warewashing equipment, cleaning 
agents. 

When used for warewashing, the wash compartment of a 
sink, mechanical warewasher, or wash receptacle of 
alternative manual warewashing equipment as specified in 
2VAC5-585-1460 C, shall contain a wash solution of soap, 
detergent, acid cleaner, alkaline cleaner, degreaser, abrasive 
cleaner, or other cleaning agent according to the cleaning 
agent manufacturer's label instructions.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1650. Manual warewashing equipment, wash 
solution temperature. 

The temperature of the wash solution in manual 
warewashing equipment shall be maintained at not less than 
110°F (43°C) or the temperature specified on the cleaning 
agent manufacturer's label instructions.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1660. Mechanical warewashing equipment, 
wash solution temperature. 

A. The temperature of the wash solution in spray type 
warewashers that use hot water to sanitize may not be less 
than: 

1. For a stationary rack, single temperature machine, 165°F 
(74°C);Pf 
2. For a stationary rack, dual temperature machine, 150°F 
(66°C);Pf 
3. For a single tank, conveyor, dual temperature machine, 
160°F (71°C);Pf or 
4. For a multitank, conveyor, multitemperature machine, 
150°F (66°C).Pf 

B. The temperature of the wash solution in spray-type 
warewashers that use chemicals to sanitize may not be less 
than 120°F (49°C).Pf 
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2VAC5-585-1670. Manual warewashing equipment, hot 
water sanitization temperatures.* 

If immersion in hot water is used for sanitizing in a manual 
operation, the temperature of the water shall be maintained at 
171°F (77°C) or above.P 
2VAC5-585-1680. Mechanical warewashing equipment, 
hot water sanitization temperatures. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, in a 
mechanical operation, the temperature of the fresh hot water 
sanitizing rinse as it enters the manifold may not be more 
than 194°F (90°C), or less than:Pf 

1. For a stationary rack, single temperature machine, 165°F 
(74°C);Pf or 
2. For all other machines, 180°F (82°C).Pf 

B. The maximum temperature specified under subsection A 
of this section does not apply to the high pressure and 
temperature systems with wand-type, hand-held, spraying 
devices used for the in-place cleaning and sanitizing of 
equipment such as meat saws. 
2VAC5-585-1700. Manual and mechanical warewashing 
equipment, chemical sanitization - temperature, pH, 
concentration, and hardness.* 

A chemical sanitizer used in a sanitizing solution for a manual 
or mechanical operation at exposure contact times specified 
under subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-1900 shall be listed in 40 
CFR 180.940, Tolerance Exemptions for Active and Inert 
Ingredients for Use in Antimicrobial Formulations (Food-
Contact Surface Sanitizing Solutions), shall be used in 
accordance with the EPA-approved manufacturer's label use 
instructions, meet the criteria specified under 2VAC5-585-3380, 
shall be used in accordance with the EPA-registered label use 
instructions,P and shall be used as follows: 

1. A chlorine solution shall have a minimum temperature 
based on the concentration and pH of the solution as listed 
in the following chart;P 

Minimum 
Concentration Minimum Temperature 

mg/L (ppm) 
pH 10 or 

less 
°F (°C) 

pH 8 8.0 or 
less 

°F (°C) 

25-49 120 (49) 120 (49) 

50-99 100 (38) 75 (24) 

100 55 (13) 55 (13) 

2. An iodine solution shall have a: 
a. Minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C) 68°F (20°C);P 
b. pH of 5.0 or less or a pH no higher than the level for 
which the manufacturer specifies the solution is 
effective;P and 

c. Concentration between 12.5 mg/L(ppm) and 25 mg/L 
(ppm);P 

3. A quaternary ammonium compound solution shall: 
a. Have a minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C);P 
b. Have a concentration as specified under 2VAC5-585-
3380 and as indicated by the manufacturer's use 
directions included in the labeling;P and 
c. Be used only in water with 500 mg/L hardness or less 
or in water having a hardness no greater than specified by 
the manufacturer's label EPA-registered label use 
instructions;P 

4. If another solution of a chemical specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 3 of this section is used, the person 
in charge operator shall demonstrate to the department that 
the solution achieves sanitization and the use of the 
solution shall be approved;P or 
5. If a chemical sanitizer other than chlorine, iodine, or a 
quaternary ammonium compound is used, it shall be 
applied in accordance with the manufacturer's use 
directions included in the labeling. EPA-registered label 
use instructions;P and 
6. If a chemical sanitizer is generated by a device located 
on site at the food establishment, it shall be used as 
specified in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section and 
shall be produced by a device that: 

a. Complies with regulation as specified in §§ 2(q)(1) and 
12 of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide 
Act (7 USC § 136(q)(1) and 7 USC § 136j);P 
b. Complies with 40 CFR 152.500 and 40 CFR 156.10;P 
c. Displays the EPA device manufacturing facility 
registration number on the device;Pf and 
d. Is operated and maintained in accordance with 
manufacturer's instructions.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1720. Warewashing equipment, determining 
chemical sanitizer concentration. 

Concentration of the sanitizing solution shall be accurately 
determined by using a test kit or other device.Pf 
2VAC5-585-1730. Good repair and calibration. 

A. Utensils shall be maintained in a state of repair or 
condition that complies with the requirements specified under 
Articles 1 (2VAC5-585-960 et seq.) and 2 (2VAC5-585-1080 
et seq.) of this part or shall be discarded. 

B. Food temperature measuring devices shall be calibrated 
in accordance with manufacturer's specifications as necessary 
to ensure their accuracy.Pf 

C. Ambient air temperature, water pressure, and water 
temperature measuring devices shall be maintained in good 
repair and be accurate within the intended range of use. 
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2VAC5-585-1740. Single-service and single-use articles, 
required use.* 

A food establishment without facilities specified under 
Articles 6 (2VAC5-585-1770 et seq.) and 7 (2VAC5-585-
1880 (2VAC5-585-1885 et seq.) of this part for cleaning and 
sanitizing kitchenware and tableware shall provide only 
single-use kitchenware, single-service articles, and single-use 
articles for use by food employees and single-service articles 
for use by consumers.P 

Article 6  
Cleaning of Equipment and Utensils  

2VAC5-585-1770. Equipment, food-contact surfaces, 
nonfood-contact surfaces, and utensils.* 

A. Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 
clean to sight and touch.Pf 

B. The food-contact surfaces of cooking equipment and pans 
shall be kept free of encrusted grease deposits and other soil 
accumulations.N 

C. Nonfood-contact surfaces of equipment shall be kept free 
of an accumulation of dust, dirt, food residue, and other 
debris.N 
2VAC5-585-1780. Equipment food-contact surfaces and 
utensils.* 

A. Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 
cleaned: 

1. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
before each use with a different type of raw animal food 
such as beef, fish, lamb, pork, or poultry;P 
2. Each time there is a change from working with raw 
foods to working with ready-to-eat foods;P 
3. Between uses with raw fruits and vegetables and with 
potentially hazardous time/temperature control for safety 
food;P 
4. Before using or storing a food temperature measuring 
device;P and 
5. At any time during the operation when contamination 
may have occurred.P 

B. Subdivision A 1 of this section does not apply if the food 
contact food-contact surface or utensil is in contact with a 
succession of different raw animal foods types of raw meat 
and poultry each requiring a higher cooking temperature as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-700 than the previous food, such 
as preparing raw fish followed by cutting raw poultry on the 
same cutting board type. 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, if 
used with potentially hazardous time/temperature control for 
safety food, equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils 
shall be cleaned throughout the day at least every four hours.P 

D. Surfaces of utensils and equipment contacting potentially 
hazardous time/temperature control for safety food may be 
cleaned less frequently than every four hours if: 

1. In storage, containers of potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food and their contents 
are maintained at temperatures specified under Part III 
(2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this chapter and the containers 
are cleaned when they are empty; 
2. Utensils and equipment are used to prepare food in a 
refrigerated room or area that is maintained at one of the 
temperatures in the following chart and: 

a. The utensils and equipment are cleaned at the 
frequency in the following chart that corresponds to the 
temperature; and 

Temperature Cleaning Frequency 

41°F (5.0°C) or less 24 hours 

>41°F - 45°F 
(>5.0°C - 7.2°C) 

20 hours 

>45°F - 50°F 
(>7.2°C - 10.0°C) 

16 hours 

>50°F - 55°F 
(>10.0°C - 12.8°C) 

10 hours 

b. The cleaning frequency based on the ambient 
temperature of the refrigerated room or area is 
documented in the food establishment. 

3. Containers in serving situations such as salad bars, delis, 
and cafeteria lines hold ready-to-eat potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food that is maintained 
at the temperatures specified under Part III, are 
intermittently combined with additional supplies of the 
same food that is at the required temperature, and the 
containers are cleaned at least every 24 hours; 
4. Temperature measuring devices are maintained in 
contact with food, such as when left in a container of deli 
food or in a roast, held at temperatures specified under Part 
III; 
5. Equipment is used for storage of packaged or 
unpackaged food such as a reach-in refrigerator and the 
equipment is cleaned at a frequency necessary to preclude 
accumulation of soil residues; or 
6. The cleaning schedule is approved based on 
consideration of: 

a. Characteristics of the equipment and its use; 
b. The type of food involved; 
c. The amount of food residue accumulation; and 
d. The temperature at which the food is maintained 
during the operation and the potential for the rapid and 
progressive multiplication of pathogenic or toxigenic 
microorganisms that are capable of causing foodborne 
disease; or 
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7. In-use utensils are intermittently stored in a container of 
water in which the water is maintained at 135°F (57°C) or 
more and the utensils and container are cleaned at least 
every 24 hours or at a frequency necessary to preclude 
accumulation of soil residues. 

E. Except when dry cleaning methods are used as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-1810, surfaces of utensils and equipment 
contacting food that is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food shall be cleaned:N 

1. At any time when contamination may have occurred; 
2. At least every 24 hours for iced tea dispensers and 
consumer self-service utensils such as tongs, scoops, or 
ladles; 
3. Before restocking consumer self-service equipment and 
utensils such as condiment dispensers and display 
containers; and 
4. Equipment In equipment such as ice bins and beverage 
dispensing nozzles and enclosed components of equipment 
such as ice makers, cooking oil storage tanks and 
distribution lines, beverage and syrup dispensing lines or 
tubes, coffee bean grinders, and water vending equipment: 

a. At a frequency specified by the manufacturer; or 
b. Absent manufacturer specifications, at a frequency 
necessary to preclude accumulation of soil or mold. 

2VAC5-585-1790. Cooking and baking equipment. 
A. The food-contact surfaces of in-use cooking and baking 

equipment shall be cleaned at least every 24 hours. This 
section does not apply to hot oil cooking and filtering 
equipment if it is cleaned as specified in 2VAC5-585-1780 D 
6. 

B. The cavities and door seals of microwave ovens shall be 
cleaned at least every 24 hours by using the manufacturer's 
recommended cleaning procedure. 
2VAC5-585-1810. Dry cleaning. 

A. If used, dry cleaning methods such as brushing, scraping, 
and vacuuming shall contact only surfaces that are soiled with 
dry food residues that are not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food. 

B. Cleaning equipment used in dry cleaning food-contact 
surfaces may not be used for any other purpose. 
2VAC5-585-1870. Returnables, cleaning for refilling.* 
(Repealed.) 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, returned empty containers intended for cleaning and 
refilling with food shall be cleaned and refilled in a regulated 
food processing plant. 

B. A food-specific container for beverages may be refilled at 
a food establishment if: 

1. Only a beverage that is not a potentially hazardous food 
is used as specified under 2VAC5-585-600 A; 

2. The design of the container and of the rinsing equipment 
and the nature of the beverage, when considered together, 
allow effective cleaning at home or in the food 
establishment; 
3. Facilities for rinsing before refilling returned containers 
with fresh, hot water that is under pressure and not 
recirculated are provided as part of the dispensing system; 
4. The consumer-owned container returned to the food 
establishment for refilling is refilled for sale or service 
only to the same consumer; and 
5. The container is refilled by: 

a. An employee of the food establishment; or 
b. The owner of the container if the beverage system 
includes a contamination-free transfer process that cannot 
be bypassed by the container owner. 

C. Consumer-owned containers that are not food-specific 
may be filled at a water vending machine or system. 

Article 7 
Sanitization of Equipment and Utensils 

2VAC5-585-1885. Food-contact surfaces and utensils. 
Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 

sanitized. 
2VAC5-585-1890. Before use after cleaning.* 

Utensils and food-contact surfaces of equipment shall be 
sanitized before use after cleaning.P 
2VAC5-585-1900. Hot water and chemical.* 

After being cleaned, equipment food-contact surfaces and 
utensils shall be sanitized in: 

1. Hot water manual operations by immersion for at least 
30 seconds as specified under 2VAC5-585-1670;P 
2. Hot water mechanical operations by being cycled 
through equipment that is set up as specified under 
2VAC5-585-1610, 2VAC5-585-1680, and 2VAC5-585-
1690 and achieving a utensil surface temperature of 160°F 
(71°C) as measured by an irreversible registering 
temperature indicator;P or 
3. Chemical manual or mechanical operations, including 
the application of sanitizing chemicals by immersion, 
manual swabbing, brushing, or pressure spraying methods, 
using a solution as specified under 2VAC5-585-1700. 
Contact times shall be consistent with those on EPA-
registered label use instructions by providing: 

a. Except as specified under subdivision 3 b of this 
section, an exposure a contact time of at least 10 seconds 
for a chlorine solution specified under subdivision 1 of 
2VAC5-585-1700;P 
b. An exposure A contact time of at least 7 seven seconds 
for a chlorine solution of 50 mg/L that has a pH of 10 or 
less and a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) or a pH of 
8 8.0 or less and a temperature of at least 75°F (24°C);P 
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c. An exposure A contact time of at least 30 seconds for 
other chemical sanitizing solutions;P or 
d. An exposure A contact time used in relationship with a 
combination of temperature, concentration, and pH that, 
when evaluated for efficacy, yields sanitization as 
defined in 2VAC5-585-40.P 

2VAC5-585-1920. Specifications. 
A. Linens that do not come in direct contact with food shall 

be laundered between operations if they become wet, sticky, 
or visibly soiled. 

B. Cloth gloves used as specified in 2VAC5-585-580 D 
shall be laundered before being used with a different type of 
raw animal food such as beef, lamb, pork, and fish, or 
poultry. 

C. Linens and napkins that are used as specified under 
2VAC5-585-560 and cloth napkins shall be laundered 
between each use. 

D. Wet wiping cloths shall be laundered daily. 
E. Dry wiping cloths shall be laundered as necessary to 

prevent contamination of food and clean serving utensils. 
Article 9  

Protection of Clean Items  
2VAC5-585-1960. Equipment and utensils, air-drying 
required. 

After cleaning and sanitizing, equipment and utensils: 
1. Shall be air dried or used after adequate draining as 
specified in 40 CFR 180.9401 the first paragraph of 
40 CFR 180.940 before contact with food; and 
2. May not be cloth dried except that utensils that have 
been air-dried may be polished with cloths that are 
maintained clean and dry. 

2VAC5-585-2000. Equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service and single-use articles. 

A. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, 
cleaned equipment and utensils, laundered linens, and single-
service and single-use articles shall be stored: 

1. In a clean, dry location; 
2. Where they are not exposed to splash, dust, or other 
contamination; and 
3. At least six inches (15 cm) centimeters) above the floor. 

B. Clean equipment and utensils shall be stored as specified 
under subsection A of this section and shall be stored: 

1. In a self-draining position that allows air drying; and 
2. Covered or inverted. 

C. Single-service and single-use articles shall be stored as 
specified under subsection A of this section and shall be kept 
in the original protective package or stored by using other 
means that afford protection from contamination until used. 

D. Items that are kept in closed packages may be stored less 
than six inches (15 cm) centimeters) above the floor on 

dollies, pallets, racks, and skids that are designed as provided 
under 2VAC5-585-1420. 
2VAC5-585-2010. Prohibitions. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
cleaned and sanitized equipment, utensils, laundered linens, 
and single-service and single-use articles may not be stored: 

1. In locker rooms; 
2. In toilet rooms or vestibules; 
3. In garbage rooms; 
4. In mechanical rooms; 
5. Under sewer lines that are not shielded to intercept 
potential drips; 
6. Under leaking water lines including leaking automatic 
fire sprinkler heads or under lines on which water has 
condensed; 
7. Under open stairwells; or 
8. Under other sources of contamination. 

B. Laundered linens and single-service and single-use 
articles that are packaged or in a facility such as a cabinet 
may be stored in a locker room. 
2VAC5-585-2040. Preset tableware. 

A. Tableware Except as specified in subsection B of this 
section, tableware that is preset shall be protected from 
contamination by being wrapped, covered, or inverted. 

B. When tableware is preset, exposed, unused settings shall 
be: 

1. Removed when a consumer is seated; or 
2. Cleaned and sanitized before further use if the settings 
are not removed when a consumer is seated.  

B. Preset tableware may be exposed if: 
1. Unused settings are removed when a consumer is seated; 
or 
2. Settings not removed when a consumer is seated are 
cleaned and sanitized before further use. 

2VAC5-585-2045. Rinsing equipment and utensils after 
cleaning. 

After being cleaned and sanitized, equipment and utensils 
shall not be rinsed before air drying or use unless:  

1. The rinse is applied directly from a potable water supply 
by a warewashing machine that is maintained and operated 
as specified under 2VAC5-585-1210 through 2VAC5-585-
1430 and 2VAC5-585-1570 through 2VAC5-585-1720; 
and 
2. The rinse is applied only after the equipment and 
utensils have been sanitized by the application of hot water 
or by the application of a chemical sanitizer solution whose 
EPA-registered label use instructions call for rinsing off 
the sanitizer after it is applied in a commercial 
warewashing machine. 
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Part V  
Water, Plumbing, and Waste  

Article 1  
Water  

2VAC5-585-2050. Approved system.* 
[ Drinking Pure ] water shall be obtained from an approved 

[ source that is water system defined as ]: 
1. A [ public water system waterworks constructed, 
maintained, and operated in compliance with 12VAC5-
590 ];P or 
2. A [ nonpublic water system that is constructed, 
maintained, and operated according to law private well 
constructed, maintained, and operated in compliance with 
12VAC5-630 ].P 

2VAC5-585-2060. System flushing and disinfection.* 
[ A drinking water An approved water ] system shall be 

flushed and disinfected [ before being placed in service ] after 
construction, repair, or modification and after an emergency 
situation, such as a flood, that may introduce contaminants to 
the system. [ A sample shall be collected from the water 
system and the results of the analysis shall be total coliform 
negative prior to placing the water system into service. ]P 
2VAC5-585-2070. Bottled drinking water.* 

Bottled drinking water used or sold in a food establishment 
shall be obtained from approved sources in accordance with 
21 CFR Part 129, Processing and Bottling of Bottled 
Drinking Water.P 
2VAC5-585-2080. [ Quality Pure water ] standards.* 

Except as specified under 2VAC5-585-2090: 
1. Water from a [ public water system waterworks ] shall 
meet [ the applicable water quality and quantity ] standards 
[ found in 40 CFR Part 141 and the Virginia Waterworks 
Regulations (12VAC5-590) in accordance with 12VAC5-
590 ].P 
2. Water from a [ nonpublic water system private well ] 
shall meet state drinking water quality standards [ the 
bacteriological standards found in the Virginia Waterworks 
Regulations (12VAC5-590) water quality and quantity 
standards in accordance with 12VAC5-630-370 ].P 

2VAC5-585-2090. [ Nondrinking Nonpotable ] water.* 
A. A [ nondrinking nonpotable ] water supply shall be used 

only if its use is approved.P 
B. [ Nondrinking Nonpotable ] water shall be used only for 

nonculinary purposes such as air conditioning, nonfood 
equipment cooling, and fire protection, and irrigation.P 
2VAC5-585-2100. Sampling. 

[ Except when used as specified under 2VAC5-585-2090, 
water A. Water ] from a [ nonpublic water system private 
well ] shall be sampled and tested at least annually [ and as 
required by state water quality regulations for nitrate and total 
coliform ]. [ Pf ]  

[ B. If nitrate, which is reported as "N" on the test results, 
exceeds 10 mg/L, the operator shall notify the department by 
the end of the day the operator is notified of the test result. 
Additional sampling may be required.Pf 

C. If a sample is total coliform positive, the positive culture 
medium shall be further analyzed to determine if E. coli is 
present.  The operator shall notify the department within two 
days from when the operator is notified of the coliform-
positive test result. Pf 

D. If E. coli is present, the operator shall notify the 
department by the end of the day the operator is notified of 
the test result.Pf ]  
[ 2VAC5-585-2110. Sample report. 

The most recent All sample report reports for the nonpublic 
water system private well shall be retained on file in the food 
establishment or the report shall be maintained as specified by 
state water quality regulations for a minimum of five years 
and be made available to the department upon request. ]  
2VAC5-585-2120. Capacity.* 

A. The water source and system shall be of sufficient 
capacity to meet the [ peak maximum daily ] water demands 
[ and the peak hourly water demands ] of the food 
establishment.Pf 

B. Hot water generation and distribution systems shall be 
sufficient to meet the peak hot water demands throughout the 
food establishment.Pf 
2VAC5-585-2130. Pressure. 

Water under pressure shall be provided to all fixtures, 
equipment, and nonfood equipment that are required to use 
water except that water supplied as specified under 
subdivisions 1 and 2 of 2VAC5-585-2160 to a temporary 
food establishment or in response to a temporary interruption 
of a water supply need not be under pressure.Pf 
2VAC5-585-2150. Distribution, delivery, and retention 
system. 

Water shall be received from the source through the use of: 
1. An approved public water main;Pf or 
2. One or more of the following that shall be constructed, 
maintained, and operated according to law:Pf 

a. Nonpublic water main, water pumps, pipes, hoses, 
connections, and other appurtenances;Pf 
b. Water transport vehicles; andPf or 
c. Water containers.Pf 

2VAC5-585-2160. Alternative water supply. 
Water meeting the requirements specified under 2VAC5-

585-2050 through 2VAC5-585-2130 shall be made available 
for a mobile facility, for a temporary food establishment 
without a permanent water supply, and for a food 
establishment with a temporary interruption of its water 
supply through: 
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1. A supply of containers of commercially bottled drinking 
water;Pf 
2. One or more closed portable water containers;Pf 
3. An enclosed vehicular water tank;Pf 
4. An on-premises water storage tank;Pf or 
5. Piping, tubing, or hoses connected to an adjacent 
approved source.Pf 

Article 2  
Plumbing System  

2VAC5-585-2170. Approved materials.* 
A. A plumbing system and hoses conveying water shall be 

constructed and repaired with approved materials according 
to law.P 

B. A water filter shall be made of safe materials.P 
2VAC5-585-2180. Approved system and cleanable 
fixtures.* 

A. A plumbing system shall be designed, constructed, and 
installed according to law.P 

B. A plumbing fixture such as a handwashing lavatory sink, 
toilet, or urinal shall be easily cleanable.N 
2VAC5-585-2190. Handwashing sink, water temperature, 
and flow. 

A. A handwashing sink shall be equipped to provide water 
at a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) through a mixing 
valve or combination faucet.Pf 

B. A steam mixing valve may not be used at a handwashing 
sink. 

C. A self-closing, slow-closing, or metering faucet shall 
provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the 
need to reactivate the faucet. 

D. If an automatic handwashing facility is installed, it shall 
be installed in accordance with manufacturer's instructions. 
2VAC5-585-2200. Backflow prevention, air gap.* 

An air gap between the water supply inlet and the flood 
level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 
equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water 
supply inlet and may not be less than one inch (25 mm).P 
2VAC5-585-2210. Backflow prevention device, design 
standard. 

A backflow or backsiphonage prevention device installed on 
a water supply system shall comply with the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) for 
construction, installation, maintenance, inspection, and 
testing for that specific application and type of device.P 
2VAC5-585-2230. Handwashing sinks, numbers and 
capacities.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, at least one handwashing sink, or the number of 
handwashing sinks necessary for their convenient use by 
employees in areas specified under 2VAC5-585-2280, and 

not fewer than the number of handwashing sinks required by 
law shall be provided.Pf 

B. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 
encountered in the food operations involved, automatic 
handwashing facilities may be substituted for handwashing 
sinks in a food establishment that has at least one 
handwashing sink. 

C. If approved, when food exposure is limited and 
handwashing sinks are not conveniently available, such as in 
some mobile or temporary food establishments or at some 
vending machine locations, employees may use chemically-
treated towelettes for handwashing. 
2VAC5-585-2240. Toilets and urinals.* 

At least one toilet and not fewer than the toilets required by 
law shall be provided. If authorized by law and urinals are 
substituted for toilets, the substitution shall be done as 
specified in law. 
2VAC5-585-2250. Service sink. 

A. At least one service sink or one curbed cleaning facility 
equipped with a floor drain shall be provided and 
conveniently located for the cleaning of mops or similar wet 
floor cleaning tools and for the disposal of mop water and 
similar liquid waste. 

B. Toilets and urinals may not be used as a service sink for 
the disposal of mop water and similar liquid waste. 
2VAC5-585-2260. Backflow prevention device, when 
required.* 

A plumbing system shall be installed to preclude backflow 
of a solid, liquid, or gas contaminant into the water supply 
system at each point of use at the food establishment, 
including on a hose bibb (threaded faucet) if a hose is 
attached or on a hose bibb if a hose is not attached and 
backflow prevention is required by law by: 

1. Providing an air gap as specified under 2VAC5-585-
2200;P or 
2. Installing an approved backflow prevention device as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2210.P 

2VAC5-585-2270. Backflow prevention device, 
carbonator.* 

A. If not provided with an air gap as specified under 
2VAC5-585-2200, a double check valve with an intermediate 
vent preceded by a screen of not less than 100 mesh to one 
inch (100 mesh to 25.4mm) shall be installed upstream from a 
carbonating device and downstream from any copper in the 
water supply line.P 

B. A single or double dual check valve attached to the 
carbonator need not be of the vented type if an air gap or 
vented backflow prevention device has been otherwise 
provided as specified under subsection A of this section. 
2VAC5-585-2280. Handwashing sinks, locations.* 

A handwashing sink shall be located: 
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1. To be readily accessible for allow convenient use by 
employees in food preparation, food dispensing, and 
warewashing areas;Pf and 
2. In, or immediately adjacent to, toilet rooms.Pf 

2VAC5-585-2310. Using a handwashing sink. 
A. A handwashing sink shall be maintained so that it is 

accessible at all times for employee use.Pf 
B. A handwashing sink may not be used for purposes other 

than handwashing.Pf 
C. An automatic handwashing sink shall be used in 

accordance with manufacturer's instructions.Pf 
2VAC5-585-2320. Prohibiting a cross connection.* 

A. Except as specified in 9 CFR 308.3(d) for firefighting, a 
A person may not create a cross connection by connecting a 
pipe or conduit between the drinking water system and a 
nondrinking water system or a water system of unknown 
quality.P 

B. The piping of a nondrinking water system shall be 
durably identified so that it is readily distinguishable from 
piping that carries drinking water.N Pf 
2VAC5-585-2330. Scheduling inspection and service for a 
water system device. 

A device such as a water treatment device or backflow 
preventer shall be scheduled for inspection and service, in 
accordance with manufacturer's instructions and as necessary 
to prevent device failure based on local water conditions, and 
records demonstrating inspection and service shall be 
maintained by the person in charge.Pf 
2VAC5-585-2340. Water reservoir of fogging devices, 
cleaning.* 

A. A reservoir that is used to supply water to a device such 
as a produce fogger shall be: 

1. Maintained in accordance with manufacturer's 
specifications;P and 
2. Cleaned in accordance with manufacturer's 
specifications or according to the procedures specified 
under subsection B of this section, whichever is more 
stringent.P 

B. Cleaning procedures shall include at least the following 
steps and shall be conducted at least once a week: 

1. Draining and complete disassembly of the water and 
aerosol contact parts;P 
2. Brush-cleaning the reservoir, aerosol tubing, and 
discharge nozzles with a suitable detergent solution;P 
3. Flushing the complete system with water to remove the 
detergent solution and particulate accumulation;P and 
4. Rinsing by immersing, spraying, or swabbing the 
reservoir, aerosol tubing, and discharge nozzles with at 
least 50 mg/L (ppm) hypochlorite solution.P 

2VAC5-585-2350. System maintained in good repair.* 
A plumbing system shall be: 

1. Repaired according to law;P and 
2. Maintained in good repair.S 

Article 3  
Mobile Water Tank and Mobile Food Establishment Water 

Tank  
2VAC5-585-2360. Approved materials. 

Materials that are used in the construction of a mobile water 
tank, mobile food establishment water tank, and 
appurtenances shall be: 

1. Safe;P 
2. Durable, corrosion resistant, and nonabsorbent; and 
3. Finished to have a smooth, easily cleanable surface. 

2VAC5-585-2420. Hose, construction and identification. 
A hose used for conveying [ drinking potable ] water from a 

water tank shall be: 
1. Safe;P 
2. Durable, corrosion resistant, and nonabsorbent; 
3. Resistant to pitting, chipping, crazing, scratching, 
scoring, distortion, and decomposition; 
4. Finished with a smooth interior surface; and 
5. Clearly and durably identified as to its use if not 
permanently attached. 

2VAC5-585-2430. Filter, compressed air. 
A filter that does not pass oil or oil vapors shall be installed 

in the air supply line between the compressor and [ drinking 
potable ] water system when compressed air is used to 
pressurize the water tank system.P 
2VAC5-585-2460. System flushing and disinfection.* 

A water tank, pump, and hoses shall be flushed and sanitized 
before being placed in service after construction, repair, 
modification, and periods of nonuse.P 
2VAC5-585-2490. Tank, pump, and hoses, dedication. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a 
water tank, pump, and hoses used for conveying drinking 
water shall be used for no other purpose.P 

B. Water tanks, pumps, and hoses approved for liquid foods 
may be used for conveying drinking water if they are cleaned 
and sanitized before they are used to convey water. 
2VAC5-585-2505. Establishment drainage system. 

Food establishment drainage systems, including grease 
traps, that convey sewage shall be designed and installed as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-2180 A. 
2VAC5-585-2520. Backflow prevention.* 

A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 
section, a direct connection may not exist between the sewage 
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system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 
portable equipment, or utensils are placed.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to floor drains 
that originate in refrigerated spaces that are constructed as an 
integral part of the building. 

C. If allowed by law, a warewashing machine may have a 
direct connection between its waste outlet and a floor drain 
when the machine is located within five feet (1.5 meters) of a 
trapped floor drain and the machine outlet is connected to the 
inlet side of a properly vented floor drain trap. 

D. If allowed by law, a warewashing or culinary sink may 
have a direct connection. 
2VAC5-585-2540. Conveying sewage.* 

Sewage shall be conveyed to the point of disposal through 
an approved sanitary sewage system or other system, 
including use of sewage transport vehicles, waste retention 
tanks, pumps, pipes, hoses, and connections that are 
constructed, maintained, and operated according to law.P 
2VAC5-585-2550. Removing mobile food establishment 
wastes. 

Sewage and other liquid wastes shall be removed from a 
mobile food establishment at an approved waste servicing 
area or by a sewage transport vehicle in such a way that a 
public health hazard or nuisance is not created.Pf 
2VAC5-585-2570. Approved sewage disposal system.* 

Sewage shall be disposed through an approved facility that 
is: 

1. A public sewage treatment plant;P or 
2. An individual sewage disposal system that is sized, 
constructed, maintained, and operated according to law in 
accordance with the regulations promulgated pursuant to 
Chapter 6 (§ 32.1-163 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.P 

2VAC5-585-2595. Indoor storage area. 
If located within the food establishment, a storage area for 

refuse, recyclables, and returnables shall meet the 
requirements specified under 2VAC5-585-2790, 2VAC5-
585-2810 through 2VAC5-585-2880, 2VAC5-585-2930, and 
2VAC5-585-2940. 
2VAC5-585-2840. Floor carpeting, restrictions and 
installation. 

A. A floor covering such as carpeting or similar material 
may not be installed as a floor covering in food preparation 
areas, walk-in refrigerators, warewashing areas, toilet room 
areas where handwashing lavatories sinks, toilets, and urinals 
are located, refuse storage rooms, or other areas where the 
floor is subject to moisture, flushing, or spray cleaning 
methods. 

B. If carpeting is installed as a floor covering in areas other 
than those specified under subsection A of this section, it 
shall be: 

1. Securely attached to the floor with a durable mastic, by 
using a stretch and tack method, or by another method; and 
2. Installed tightly against the wall under the coving or 
installed away from the wall with a space between the 
carpet and the wall and with the edges of the carpet 
secured by metal stripping or some other means. 

2VAC5-585-2930. Outer openings, protected. 
A. Except as specified in subsections B through E of this 

section, outer openings of a food establishment shall be 
protected against the entry of insects and rodents by: 

1. Filling or closing holes and other gaps along floors, 
walls and ceilings; 
2. Closed, tight-fitting windows; and 
3. Solid self-closing, tight-fitting doors. 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply if a food 
establishment opens into a larger structure, such as a mall, 
airport, or office building, or into an attached structure, such 
as a porch, and the outer openings from the larger or attached 
structure are protected against the entry of insects and 
rodents. 

C. Exterior doors used as exits need not be self-closing if 
they are: 

1. Solid and tight-fitting; 
2. Designated for use only when an emergency exists, by 
the fire protection authority that has jurisdiction over the 
food establishment; and 
3. Restricted Limited-use so they are not used for entrance 
or exit from the building for purposes other than the 
designated emergency exit use. 

D. Except as specified in subsections B and E of this 
section, if the windows or doors of a food establishment, or of 
a larger structure within which a food establishment is 
located, are kept open for ventilation or other purposes, or a 
temporary food establishment is not provided with windows 
and doors as specified in subsection A of this section, the 
openings shall be protected against the entry of insects and 
rodents by: 

1. 16 mesh to one-inch (16 mesh to 25.4-mm) screens; 
2. Properly designed and installed air curtains to control 
flying insects; or 
3. Other effective means. 

E. Subsection D of this section does not apply if flying 
insects and other pests are absent due to the location of the 
establishment, the weather, or other limiting condition. 
2VAC5-585-2990. Private homes and living or sleeping 
quarters, use prohibition. 

A private home, a room used as living or sleeping quarters, 
or an area directly opening into a room used as living or 
sleeping quarters may not be used for conducting food 
establishment operations.P 
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2VAC5-585-3000. Living or sleeping quarters, separation. 
Sleeping Living or sleeping quarters located on the premises 

of a food establishment such as those provided for lodging 
registration clerks or resident managers shall be separated 
from rooms and areas used for food establishment operations 
by complete partitioning and solid self-closing doors. 
2VAC5-585-3020. Handwashing cleanser, availability. 

Each handwashing sink or group of two adjacent 
handwashing sinks shall be provided with a supply of hand 
cleaning liquid, powder, or bar soap.Pf 
2VAC5-585-3030. Hand drying provision. 

Each handwashing sink or group of adjacent handwashing 
sinks shall be provided with: 

1. Individual, disposable towels;Pf 
2. A continuous towel system that supplies the user with a 
clean towel; or Pf 
3. A heated-air hand drying device;Pf or 
4. A hand-drying device that employs an air-knife system 
that delivers high velocity, pressurized air at ambient 
temperatures.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3040. Handwashing aids and devices, use 
restrictions. 

A sink used for food preparation or utensil washing or a 
service sink or curbed cleaning facility used for the disposal 
of mop water or similar wastes may not be provided with the 
handwashing aids and devices required for a handwashing 
sink as specified under 2VAC5-585-2650 C, 2VAC5-585-
3020, and 2VAC5-585-3030 and 2VAC5-585-2650 C. 
2VAC5-585-3047. Disposable towels, waste receptacle. 

A handwashing sink or group of adjacent handwashing sinks 
that is provided with disposable towels shall be provided with 
a waste receptacle as specified under 2VAC5-585-2650 C. 
2VAC5-585-3070. Toilet tissue, availability. 

A supply of toilet tissue shall be available at each toilet.Pf 
2VAC5-585-3130. Toilet rooms, convenience and 
accessibility. 

Toilet rooms shall be conveniently located and accessible to 
employees during all hours of operation. Toilet rooms 
intended for use by customers shall not necessitate travel 
through food preparation or handling areas. 
2VAC5-585-3150. Distressed merchandise, segregation 
and location. 

Products that are held by the person in charge operator for 
credit, redemption, or return to the distributor, such as 
damaged, spoiled, or recalled products, shall be segregated 
and held in designated areas that are separated from food, 
equipment, utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use 
articles.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3210. Cleaning maintenance tools, preventing 
contamination.* 

Food preparation sinks, handwashing lavatories sinks, and 
warewashing equipment may not be used for the cleaning of 
maintenance tools, the preparation or holding of maintenance 
materials, or the disposal of mop water and similar liquid 
wastes.Pf 
2VAC5-585-3240. Cleaning of plumbing fixtures. 

Plumbing fixtures such as handwashing sinks, toilets, and 
urinals shall be cleaned as often as necessary to keep them 
clean and maintained and used as specified under 2VAC5-
585-2310.  
2VAC5-585-3250. Closing toilet room doors. 

Toilet room doors as specified under 2VAC5-585-2920 shall 
be kept closed except during cleaning and maintenance 
operations unless otherwise required by other regulations or 
law. Except during cleaning and maintenance operations, 
toilet room doors as specified under 2VAC5-585-2920 shall 
be kept closed. 
2VAC5-585-3270. Controlling pests.* 

The presence premises shall be maintained free of insects, 
rodents, and other pests. The presence of insects, rodents, and 
other pests shall be controlled to minimize eliminate their 
presence on the premises by: 

1. Routinely inspecting incoming shipments of food and 
supplies;N 
2. Routinely inspecting the premises for evidence of 
pests;N 
3. Using methods, if pests are found, such as trapping 
devices or other means of pest control as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3360, 2VAC5-585-3440, and 2VAC5-585-
3450;Pf and 
4. Eliminating harborage conditions.N 

2VAC5-585-3310. Prohibiting animals.* 
A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 

section, live animals may not be allowed on the premises of a 
food establishment.Pf 

B. Live animals may be allowed in the following situations 
if the contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles 
cannot result: 

1. Edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or 
crustacea on ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and 
crustacea in display tank systems; 
2. Patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 
offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs 
running loose in outside fenced areas; 
3. In areas that are not used for food preparation and that 
are usually open for customers, such as dining and sales 
areas, service animals that are controlled by the disabled 
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employee or person, if a health or safety hazard will not 
result from the presence or activities of the service animal; 
4. Pets in the common dining areas of institutional care 
facilities such as nursing homes, assisted living facilities, 
group homes, or residential care facilities at times other 
than during meals if: 

a. Effective partitioning and self-closing doors separate 
the common dining areas from food storage or food 
preparation areas; 
b. Condiments, equipment, and utensils are stored in 
enclosed cabinets or removed from the common dining 
areas when pets are present; and 
c. Dining areas including tables, countertops, and similar 
surfaces are effectively cleaned before the next meal 
service; [ and ]  

5. In areas that are not used for food preparation, storage, 
sales, display, or dining, in which there are caged animals 
or animals that are similarly restricted confined, such as in 
a variety store that sells pets or a tourist park that displays 
animals [ ; and 
6. Dogs in outdoor dining areas if: 

a. The outdoor dining area is not fully enclosed with 
floor to ceiling walls and is not considered a part of the 
interior physical facility. 
b. The outdoor dining area is equipped with an entrance 
that is separate from the main entrance to the food 
establishment, and the separate entrance serves as the 
sole means of entry for patrons accompanied by dogs. 
c. A sign stating that dogs are allowed in the outdoor 
dining area is posted at each entrance to the outdoor 
dining area in such a manner as to be clearly observable 
by the public. 
d. A sign within the outdoor dining area stating the 
requirements as specified in subdivisions 6 e, f, and g of 
this subsection is provided in such a manner as to be 
clearly observable by the public. 
e. Food and water provided to dogs is served using 
equipment that is not used for the service of food to a 
person or is served in single-use articles. 
f. Dogs are not allowed on chairs, seats, benches, or 
tables. 
g. Dogs are kept on a leash or within a pet carrier and 
under the control of an adult at all times. 
h. The establishment provides effective means for 
cleaning up dog vomitus and fecal matter ].  

C. Live or dead fish bait may be stored if contamination of 
food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and unwrapped 
single-service and single-use articles cannot result. 

Part VII  
Poisonous or Toxic Materials  

Article 1  
Labeling and Identification  

2VAC5-585-3320. Original containers - identifying 
information, prominence.* 

Containers of poisonous or toxic materials and personal care 
items shall bear a legible manufacturer's label.Pf 
2VAC5-585-3330. Working containers - common name.* 

Working containers used for storing poisonous or toxic 
materials such as cleaners and sanitizers taken from bulk 
supplies shall be clearly and individually identified with the 
common name of the material.Pf 

Article 2  
Operational Supplies and Applications  

2VAC5-585-3340. Storage, separation.* 
Poisonous or toxic materials shall be stored so they cannot 

contaminate food, equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service and single-use articles by: 

1. Separating the poisonous or toxic materials by spacing 
or partitioning;S P and 
2. Locating the poisonous or toxic materials in an area that 
is not above food, equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service or single-use articles. This subsection does not 
apply to equipment and utensil cleaners and sanitizers that 
are stored in warewashing areas for availability and 
convenience if the materials are stored to prevent 
contamination of food, equipment, utensils, linens, and 
single-service and single-use articles; and.P 
3. Detergents, sanitizers, related cleaning or drying agents 
and caustics, acids, polishes and other chemicals shall be 
stored separately from insecticides and rodenticides. 

2VAC5-585-3350. Presence and use restriction.* 
A. Only those poisonous or toxic materials that are required 

for the operation and maintenance of a food establishment, 
such as for the cleaning and sanitizing of equipment and 
utensils and the control of insects and rodents, shall be 
allowed in a food establishment.S Pf 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to packaged 
poisonous or toxic materials that are for retail sale. 
2VAC5-585-3360. Conditions of use.* 

A. Poisonous or toxic materials shall be: 
1. Used according to: 

a. Law and this chapter; 
b. Manufacturer's use directions included in labeling, 
and, for a pesticide, manufacturer's label instructions that 
state that use is allowed in a food establishment;P 
c. The conditions of certification, if certification is 
required, for use of the pest control materials;P and 
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d. Additional conditions that may be established by the 
department; and 

2. Applied so that: 
a. A hazard to employees or other persons is not 
constituted;P and 
b. Contamination including toxic residues due to drip, 
drain, fog, splash or spray on food, equipment, utensils, 
linens, and single-service and single-use articles is 
prevented, and for a restricted-use pesticide, this is 
achieved by:P 
(1) Removing the items;P 
(2) Covering the items with impermeable covers;P or 
(3) Taking other appropriate preventive actions;P and 
(4) Cleaning and sanitizing equipment and utensils after 
the application.P 

B. A restricted use pesticide shall be applied only by an 
applicator certified as defined in 7 USC § 136(e); §§ 3.2-
3929, 3.2-3930, and 3.2-3931 of the Code of Virginia 
(Virginia Pesticide Control Act); or a person under the direct 
supervision of a certified applicator.Pf 
2VAC5-585-3370. Poisonous or toxic material 
containers.* 

A container previously used to store poisonous or toxic 
materials may not be used to store, transport, or dispense 
food.P 
2VAC5-585-3380. Sanitizers, criteria.* 

Chemical sanitizers, including chemical sanitizing solutions 
generated on site, and other chemical antimicrobials applied 
to food-contact surfaces shall meet the requirements specified 
in 40 CRF 180.940.: 

1. Meet the requirements specified in 40 CFR 180.940;P or 
2. Meet the requirements as specified in 40 CFR 
180.2020.P 

2VAC5-585-3390. Chemicals for washing fruits and 
vegetables, criteria.* 

A. Chemicals, including those generated on site, used to 
wash or peel raw, whole fruits and vegetables shall meet the 
requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.315 40 CFR Part 156 
and shall:P 

1. Be an approved food additive listed for this intended use 
in 21 CFR Part 173;P  
2. Be generally recognized as safe for this intended use;P or 
3. Be the subject of an effective food contact notification 
for this intended use (only effective for the manufacturer or 
supplier identified in the notification).P 

B. Ozone as an antimicrobial agent used in the treatment, 
storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables in a food 
establishment shall meet the requirements specified in 
21 CFR 173.368.P 

2VAC5-585-3400. Boiler water additives, criteria.* 
Chemicals used as boiler water additives shall meet the 

requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.310.P 
2VAC5-585-3410. Drying agents, criteria.* 

Drying agents used in conjunction with sanitization shall: 
1. Contain only components that are listed as one of the 
following: 

a. Generally recognized as safe for use in food as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 182, Substances Generally 
Recognized as Safe, or 21 CFR Part 184, Direct Food 
Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe;P 
b. Generally recognized as safe for the intended use as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 186, Indirect Food Substances 
Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe;P 
c. Generally recognized as safe for the intended use as 
determined by experts qualified in scientific training and 
experience to evaluate the safety  of substances added, 
directly or indirectly, to food as described in 21 CFR 
170.30;P 
d. Subject of an effective food contact notification as 
described in § 409(h) of the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348(h));P 
e. Approved for use as a drying agent under a prior 
sanction specified in 21 CFR Part 181, Prior-Sanctioned 
Food Ingredients as described in § 201(s)(4) of the 
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC 
§ 321(s)(4));P 
d. f. Specifically regulated as an indirect food additive 
for use as a drying agent as specified in 21 CFR Parts 
175-178 174-178;P or 
e. g. Approved for use as a drying agent under the 
threshold of regulation process established by 21 CFR 
170.39, Threshold of Regulation for Substances Used in 
Food-Contact Articles;P and 

2. When sanitization is with chemicals, the approval 
required under subdivisions 1 c or subdivision 1 e or 1 g of 
this section or the regulation chapter as an indirect food 
additive required under subdivision 1 d f of this section, 
shall be specifically for use with chemical sanitizing 
solutions.P 

2VAC5-585-3420. Lubricants - incidental food contact, 
criteria.* 

Lubricants shall meet the requirements specified in 21 CFR 
178.3570 if they are used on food-contact surfaces, on 
bearings and gears located on or within food-contact surfaces, 
or on bearings and gears that are located so that lubricants 
may leak, drip, or be forced into food or onto food-contact 
surfaces.P 
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2VAC5-585-3430. Restricted use pesticides, criteria.* 
Restricted use pesticides specified under subsection B of 

2VAC5-585-3360 shall meet the requirements specified in 
40 CFR Part 152, Subpart I, Classification of Pesticides.P 
2VAC5-585-3440. Rodent bait stations.* 

Rodent bait shall be contained in a covered, tamper-resistant 
bait station.P 
2VAC5-585-3450. Tracking powders, pest control and 
monitoring.* 

A. A Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a 
tracking powder pesticide may not be used in a food 
establishment.P 

B. If used, a nontoxic tracking powder such as talcum or 
flour may not contaminate food, equipment, utensils, linens, 
and single-service and single-use articles.N 
2VAC5-585-3460. Medicines - restriction and storage.* 

A. Except for medicines that are stored or displayed for 
retail sale, only those medicines that are necessary for the 
health of employees shall be allowed in a food 
establishment.Pf  

B. Medicines that are in a food establishment for the 
employees' use shall be labeled as specified under 2VAC5-
585-3320 and located to prevent the contamination of food, 
equipment, utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use 
articles.P 
2VAC5-585-3470. Refrigerated medicines, storage.* 

Medicines belonging to employees or to children in a day 
care center that require refrigeration and are stored in a food 
refrigerator shall be: 

1. Stored in a package or container and kept inside a 
covered, leakproof container that is identified as a 
container for the storage of medicines;P and 
2. Located so they are inaccessible to children.P 

2VAC5-585-3480. First aid supplies, storage.* 
First aid supplies that are in a food establishment for the 

employees' use shall be: 
1. Labeled as specified under 2VAC5-585-3320;S Pf and 
2. Stored in a kit or a container that is located to prevent 
the contamination of food, equipment, utensils, and linens, 
and single-service and single-use articles.S P 

Article 3  
Stock and Retail Sale  

2VAC5-585-3500. Storage and display, separation.* 
Poisonous or toxic materials shall be stored and displayed 

for retail sale so they cannot contaminate food, equipment, 
utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use articles by: 

1. Separating the poisonous or toxic materials by spacing 
or partitioning;S P and 

2. Locating the poisonous or toxic materials in an area that 
is not above food, equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service or single-use articles.P 

Part VIII  
Compliance and Enforcement  

Article 1  
Applicability of Chapter  

2VAC5-585-3510. Public health protection. 
A. The department shall apply this regulation chapter to 

promote its underlying purpose, as specified in 2VAC5-585-
20, of safeguarding public health and ensuring that food is 
safe and, unadulterated, and honestly presented when offered 
to the consumer. 

B. In enforcing the provisions of this regulation chapter, the 
department shall assess existing facilities or equipment that 
were in use before the effective date of this regulation chapter 
based on the following considerations: 

1. Whether the facilities or equipment are in good repair 
and capable of being maintained in a sanitary condition; 
2. Whether food-contact surfaces comply with 2VAC5-
585-960 through 2VAC5-585-1060; 
3. Whether the capacities of cooling, heating, and holding 
equipment are sufficient to comply with 2VAC5-585-1450; 
and 
4. The existence of a documented agreement with the 
establishment operator that the facilities or equipment will 
be replaced or upgraded as specified in the following: 
subdivision 6 of 2VAC5-585-3660. 

a. Except as specified under subdivision B 4 b of this 
section, replace existing facilities and equipment 
specified in this section with facilities and equipment that 
comply with this regulation if: 
(1) The department directs the replacement because the 
facilities and equipment constitute a public health hazard 
or nuisance or no longer comply with the criteria upon 
which the facilities and equipment were accepted; 
(2) The department directs the replacement of the 
facilities and equipment because of a change of 
ownership; or 
(3) The facilities and equipment are replaced in the 
normal course of operation; 
b. Upgrade or replace refrigeration equipment as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-820 A 2 b, if the 
circumstances specified under subdivision B 4 a of this 
section do not occur first. 

2VAC5-585-3541. Documentation of proposed variance 
and justification. 

Before a variance from a requirement of this regulation 
chapter is approved, the information that shall be provided by 
the person requesting the variance and retained in the 
department's file on the food establishment includes: 
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1. A statement of the proposed variance of the regulation 
requirement citing relevant regulation section numbers;Pf 
2. An analysis of the rationale for how the potential public 
health hazards and nuisances addressed by the relevant 
regulation sections will be alternatively addressed by the 
proposal;Pf and 
3. A HACCP plan if required as specified under 2VAC5-
585-3620 A that includes the information specified under 
2VAC5-585-3630 as it is relevant to the variance 
requested.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3542. Conformance with approved 
procedures.* 

If the department grants a variance as specified in 2VAC5-
585-3540, or a HACCP plan is otherwise required as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-3620, the operator shall: 

1. Comply with the HACCP plans and procedures that are 
submitted as specified under 2VAC5-585-3630 and 
approved as a basis for the modification or waiver;P and 
2. Maintain and provide to the department, upon request, 
records specified under subdivisions 4 and 5 [ c ] of 
2VAC5-585-3630 that demonstrate that the following are 
routinely employed: 

a. Procedures for monitoring critical control points;Pf 
b. Monitoring of the critical control points;Pf 
c. Verification of the effectiveness of an operation or 
process;Pf and 
d. Necessary corrective actions if there is failure at a 
critical control point.Pf 

Article 2  
Plan Submission and Approval  

2VAC5-585-3600. Facility and operating plans - when 
plans are required. 

An operator shall submit to the department properly 
prepared plans and specifications for review and approval 
when appropriate or when requested by the department. Such 
instances shall include before: 

1. The construction of a food establishment;Pf 
2. The conversion of an existing structure for use as a food 
establishment;Pf or 
3. The remodeling of a food establishment or a change of 
type of food establishment or food operation if the 
department determines that plans and specifications are 
necessary to ensure compliance with this regulation 
chapter.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3620. When a HACCP plan is required. 
A. Before engaging in an activity that requires a HACCP 

plan, an operator shall submit to the department for approval 
a properly prepared HACCP plan as specified under 2VAC5-
585-3630 and the relevant provisions of this chapter if: 

1. Submission of a HACCP plan is required according to 
law; 

2. A variance is required as specified under 2VAC5-585-
700 D 4, 2VAC5-585-860, or 2VAC5-585-1300 B, or 
subdivision 2VAC5-585-700 D 3; or 
3. The department determines that a food preparation or 
processing method requires a variance based on a plan 
submittal specified under 2VAC5-585-3610, an 
inspectional finding, or a variance request. 

B. An operator shall have a properly prepared HACCP plan 
Before engaging in reduced oxygen packaging without a 
variance as specified under 2VAC5-585-870, an operator 
shall submit a properly prepared HACCP plan to the 
department. 
2VAC5-585-3630. Contents of a HACCP plan. 

For a food establishment that is required under 2VAC5-585-
3620 to have a HACCP plan, the [ plan and specifications 
shall indicate operator shall submit to the department a 
properly prepared HACCP plan that includes ]: 

1. [ General information such as the name of the operator, 
the food establishment address, and contact information; 
2. ] A categorization of the types of potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety foods that are 
[ specified in the menu such as soups and sauces, salads, 
and bulk, solid foods such as meat roasts, or of other foods 
that are specified by the department to be controlled under 
the HACCP plan ];Pf 
[ 2. 3. ] A flow diagram [ by specific food or category type 
identifying critical control points and providing 
information on the following or chart for each specific 
food or category type that identifies ]: 

a. [ Ingredients, materials, and equipment used in the 
preparation of that food Each step in the process ];Pf 
[ and ]  
b. [ Formulations or recipes that delineate methods and 
procedural control measures that address the food safety 
concerns involved The hazards and controls for each step 
in the flow diagram or chart ];Pf 
[ c. The steps that are critical control points;Pf 
d. The ingredients, materials, and equipment used in the 
preparation of that food;Pf and 
e. The formulations or recipe that delineates methods and 
procedural control measures that address the food safety 
concerns involved;Pf ]  

[ 3. Food employee and supervisory training plan that 
addresses the food safety issues of concern;Pf ]  
4. [ A statement of standard operating procedures for the 
plan under consideration including clearly identifying A 
critical control points summary for each specific food 
category type that clearly identifies ]: 

a. Each critical control point;Pf 
b. The critical limits for each critical control point;Pf 
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c. The method and frequency for monitoring and 
controlling each critical control point by the 
[ designated ] food employee [ designated by or ] the 
person in charge;Pf 
d. The method and frequency for the person in charge to 
routinely verify that the food employee is following 
standard operating procedures and monitoring critical 
control points;Pf 
e. Action to be taken by the [ designated food employee 
or ] person in charge if the critical limits for each critical 
control point are not met;Pf and 
f. Records to be maintained by the person in charge to 
demonstrate that the HACCP plan is properly operated 
and managed;Pf [ and ]  

5. [ Additional scientific data or other information, as 
required by the department, supporting the determination 
that food safety is not compromised by the proposal.Pf 
Supporting documents such as: 

a. Food employee and supervisory training plan that 
addresses the food safety issues of concern;Pf 
b. Copies of blank record forms that are necessary to 
implement the HACCP plan;Pf 
c. Additional scientific data or other information, as 
required by the department, supporting the determination 
that food safety is not compromised by the proposal;Pfand 

6. Any other information required by the department. ]  
2VAC5-585-3655. Responsibilities of the department. 

A. At the time of the initial inspection, the department shall 
provide to the operator a copy of this chapter so that the 
operator is notified of the compliance requirements and the 
conditions of retention, as specified under 2VAC5-585-3660, 
that are applicable to the food establishment. 

B. Failure to provide the information specified in subsection 
A of this section does not prevent the department from taking 
authorized action or seeking remedies if the operator fails to 
comply with this chapter or an order, warning, or directive of 
the department. 
2VAC5-585-3660. Responsibilities of the operator. 

The operator shall: 
1. Comply with the provisions of this chapter including the 
conditions of a granted variance as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3542 and approved plans as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3610;  
2. If a food establishment is required under 2VAC5-585-
3620 to operate under a HACCP plan, comply with the 
plan as specified under 2VAC5-585-3542;  
3. Immediately contact the department to report an illness 
of a food employee or conditional employee as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-80 B;  

4. Immediately discontinue operations and notify the 
department if an imminent health hazard may exist as 
specified under 2VAC5-585-3910;  
5. Allow authorized representatives of the commissioner 
access to the food establishment as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3820;  
6. Replace existing facilities and equipment specified in 
2VAC5-585-3510 with facilities and equipment that 
comply with this chapter if:  

a. The department directs the replacement because the 
facilities and equipment constitute a public health hazard 
or nuisance or no longer comply with the criteria upon 
which the facilities and equipment were accepted;  
b. The department directs the replacement of the facilities 
and equipment because of a change of ownership; or  
c. The facilities and equipment are replaced in the normal 
course of operation;  

7. Comply with directives of the department including 
timeframes for corrective actions specified in inspection 
reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives 
issued by the department in regard to the operator's food 
establishment or in response to community emergencies;  
8. Accept notices issued and served by the department 
according to law;  
9. Be subject to the administrative, civil, injunctive, and 
criminal remedies authorized in law for failure to comply 
with this chapter or a directive of the department, including 
time frames for corrective actions specified in inspection 
reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives; and  
10. Notify customers that a copy of the most recent 
establishment inspection report is available upon request 
by posting a sign or placard in a location in the food 
establishment that is conspicuous to customers or by 
another method acceptable to the department. 

Article 4  
Inspection and Correction of Violations  

2VAC5-585-3800. Frequency, establishing inspection 
interval. 

Food establishments shall be inspected by the designee of 
the commissioner. Inspections of food establishments shall be 
performed as often as necessary for the enforcement of this 
part in accordance with the following: 

1. A. Except as specified in subdivisions 2 and 3 subsections 
B and C of this section, the department shall inspect a food 
establishment at least once every six months. 

2. B. The department may increase the interval between 
inspections beyond six months if: 

a. 1. The food establishment is fully operating under an 
approved and validated HACCP plan as specified under 
2VAC5-585-3630 and subdivisions 1 and 2 of 2VAC5-
585-3542 and 2VAC5-585-3630. 
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b. 2. The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 
inspection frequency based on a written risk-based 
inspection schedule that is being uniformly applied 
throughout the jurisdiction. 
c. 3. The establishment's operation involves only coffee 
service and other unpackaged or prepackaged food that is 
not potentially hazardous time/temperature control for 
safety food such as carbonated beverages and snack food 
such as chips, nuts, popcorn, and pretzels. 

3. C. The department shall periodically inspect a temporary 
food establishment that prepares, sells, or serves unpackaged 
potentially hazardous time/temperature control for safety food 
and that: 

a. 1. Has improvised rather than permanent facilities or 
equipment for accomplishing functions such as 
handwashing, food preparation and protection, food 
temperature control, warewashing, providing drinking 
water, waste retention and disposal, and insect and rodent 
control; or 
b. 2. Has inexperienced food employees. 

2VAC5-585-3810. Performance-based and risk-based 
inspections. 

Within the parameters specified in 2VAC5-585-3800, the 
department shall prioritize, and conduct more frequent 
inspections based upon its assessment of a food 
establishment's history of compliance with this chapter and 
the establishment's potential as a vector of foodborne illness 
by evaluating: 

1. Past performance for nonconformance with this chapter 
or HACCP plan requirements that are critical priority items 
or priority foundation items; 
2. Past performance for numerous or repeat violations of 
this chapter or HACCP plan requirements that are 
noncritical core items; 
3. Past performance for complaints investigated and found 
to be valid; 
4. The hazards associated with the particular foods that are 
prepared, stored, or served; 
5. The type of operation including the methods and extent 
of food storage, preparation, and service; 
6. The number of people served; and 
7. Whether the population served is a highly susceptible 
population. 

[ 2VAC5-585-3815. Competency of personnel inspectors. 
A. An authorized representative of the commissioner who 

inspects a food establishment or conducts plan review for 
compliance with this regulation shall have the knowledge, 
skills, and ability to adequately perform the required duties. 

B. The department shall ensure that authorized 
representatives who inspect a food establishment or conduct 
plan review for compliance with this chapter have access to 

training and continuing education as needed to properly 
identify violations and apply the chapter. ]  
2VAC5-585-3820. Access allowed at reasonable times. 

After the authorized representative of the commissioner 
presents official credentials and identifies provides notice of 
the purpose of, and an intent to conduct, an inspection, the 
person in charge shall allow the authorized representative to 
determine if the food establishment is in compliance with this 
chapter by allowing access to the establishment, allowing 
inspection, and providing information and records specified 
in this chapter and to which the department is entitled 
according to law, during the food establishment's hours of 
operation and other reasonable times. 
2VAC5-585-3830. Refusal, notification of right to access, 
and final request for access. 

If a person denies access to the authorized representative of 
the commissioner, the authorized representative shall: 

1. Inform the person that: 
a. The person is required to allow access to the 
authorized representative as specified under 2VAC5-585-
3820; 
b. If access is denied, the The department will refer the 
matter to the Commonwealth's Attorney for handling in 
accordance with applicable sections of the Code of 
Virginia; and 

2. Make a final request for access. 
2VAC5-585-3840. Refusal, reporting. 

If after the authorized representative of the commissioner 
presents credentials and identifies the purpose of and the 
intent to conduct an inspection provides notice as specified 
under 2VAC5-585-3820, explains the authority upon which 
access is requested, and makes a final request for access as 
specified in 2VAC5-585-3830, the person in charge continues 
to refuse access, the authorized representative shall provide 
details of the denial of access on an inspection report form. 
2VAC5-585-3860. Documenting information and 
observations. 

The authorized representative of the commissioner shall 
document on an inspection report form: 

1. Administrative information about the food 
establishment's legal identity, street and mailing addresses, 
type of establishment and operation, inspection date, and 
other information such as type of water supply and sewage 
disposal, and personnel certificates that may be required; 
and 
2. Specific factual observations of violative conditions or 
other deviations from this chapter that require correction 
by the establishment operator including: 

a. Failure of the person in charge to demonstrate the 
knowledge of foodborne illness prevention, application 
of HACCP principles, and the requirements of this 
chapter specified under 2VAC5-585-60; 
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b. Failure of food employees, conditional employees, and 
the person in charge to demonstrate their knowledge of 
their responsibility to report a disease or medical 
condition as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 B and D; 
c. Nonconformance with critical items priority items and 
priority foundation items of this chapter; 
d. Failure of the appropriate food employees to 
demonstrate their knowledge of, and ability to perform in 
accordance with, the procedural, monitoring, verification, 
and corrective action practices required by the 
department as specified under 2VAC5-585-60 2VAC5-
585-3542; 
e. Failure of the person in charge to provide records 
required by the department for determining conformance 
with a HACCP plan as specified under subdivision 4 f of 
2VAC5-585-3630; and 
f. Nonconformance with critical limits of a HACCP plan. 

2VAC5-585-3910. Imminent health hazard, ceasing 
operations and reporting. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, an 
operator shall immediately discontinue operations and notify 
the department if an imminent health hazard may exist 
because of an emergency such as a fire, flood, extended 
interruption of electrical or water service, sewage backup, 
misuse of poisonous or toxic materials, onset of an apparent 
foodborne illness outbreak, gross insanitary occurrence or 
condition, or other circumstance that may endanger public 
health.P 

B. An operator need not discontinue operations in an area of 
an establishment that is unaffected by the imminent health 
hazard. 
2VAC5-585-3930. Critical violation Priority or priority 
foundation item, timely correction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, an 
operator or person in charge shall at the time of inspection 
correct a critical violation of a priority item or priority 
foundation item of this chapter and implement corrective 
actions for a HACCP plan provision that is not in compliance 
with its critical limit.Pf 

B. Considering the nature of the potential hazard involved 
and the complexity of the corrective action needed, the 
department may agree to or specify a longer time frame, not 
to exceed 10 calendar days after the inspection, for the 
operator or person in charge to correct critical violations or 
HACCP plan deviations.: 

1. 72 hours after the inspection, for the operator to correct 
violations of a priority item; or 
2. 10 calendar days after the inspection, for the operator to 
correct violations of a priority foundation item or HACCP 
plan deviations. 

2VAC5-585-3940. Verification and documentation of 
correction. 

A. After observing at the time of inspection a correction of a 
critical violation or of a priority item or priority foundation 
item or a HACCP plan deviation, the authorized 
representative of the commissioner shall enter the violation 
and information about the corrective action on the inspection 
report. 

B. As specified under 2VAC5-585-3930 B, after receiving 
notification that the operator has corrected a violation of a 
priority item or priority foundation item or HACCP plan 
deviation, or at the end of the specified period of time, the 
authorized representative shall verify correction of the critical 
violation or deviation during the next scheduled inspection of 
the establishment and shall document the information on an 
inspection report, and enter the report in the department's 
records. 
2VAC5-585-3950. Noncritical violation Core items, time 
frame for timely correction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 
operator or person in charge shall correct noncritical 
violations core items by a date and time agreed to or specified 
by the department but no later than 90 calendar days after the 
inspection. 

B. The department may approve a compliance schedule that 
extends beyond the time limits specified under subsection A 
of this section if a written schedule of compliance is 
submitted by the operator and no health hazard exists or will 
result from allowing an extended schedule for compliance. 

Article 5  
Prevention of Foodborne Disease Transmission by 

Employees  
2VAC5-585-4040. Investigation and control, obtaining 
information: personal history of illness, medical 
examination, and specimen analysis. 

The department shall act when it has reasonable cause to 
believe that a food employee or conditional employee has 
possibly transmitted disease; may be infected with a disease 
in a communicable form that is transmissible through food; 
may be a carrier of infectious agents that cause a disease that 
is transmissible through food; or is affected with a boil, an 
infected wound, or acute respiratory infection, by: 

1. Securing a confidential medical history of the food 
employee or conditional employee suspected of 
transmitting disease or making other investigations as 
deemed appropriate; and 
2. Requiring appropriate medical examinations, including 
collection of specimens for laboratory analysis, of a 
suspected food employee and other employees or 
conditional employee. 
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2VAC5-585-4050. Restriction or exclusion of food 
employee. 

Based on the findings of an investigation related to a food 
employee or conditional employee who is suspected of being 
infected or diseased, the department may request that issue an 
order to the suspected food employee, or conditional 
employee, or operator institute instituting one or more of the 
following control measures: 

1. Restricting the food employee or conditional employee; 
or 
2. Excluding the food employee or conditional employee; 
or  
3. Closing the food establishment in accordance with law. 

2VAC5-585-4060. Restriction or exclusion request: 
information required. 

Based on the findings of the investigation as specified in 
2VAC5-585-4040 and to control disease transmission, the 
department may make a request issue an order of restriction 
or exclusion to the suspected food employee or the operator 
regarding restriction or exclusion if the request without prior 
warning, notice of hearing, or a hearing if the order: 

1. States the reasons for the restriction or exclusion that is 
requested ordered; 
2. States the evidence that the food employee or operator 
shall provide in order to demonstrate that the reasons for 
the restriction or exclusion are eliminated; 
3. States that the suspected food employee or the operator 
may request an appeal hearing by submitting a timely 
request as provided in law; and 
4. Provides the name and address of the authorized 
representative of the commissioner to whom a request for 
appeal hearing be made. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (2VAC5-585) 

Food Safety and Security Program, Inspection Report 
Food Safety and Security Program, Record of Complaint 
Food Safety and Security Program, Record of Complaint, 

FBI 
Food Safety and Security Program, Sample Collection 

Report 
Food Safety and Security Program, Retail Inspection Report, 

ODF-FSSP-10001 (rev. 9/14) 
Food Safety and Security Program, Complaint Report, ODF-

FSSP-10004 (rev. 12/13) 

Food Safety and Security Program, Foodborne Illness 
Complaint Report, ODF-FSSP-10003 (rev. 12/13) 

Food Safety and Security Program, Sample Collection 
Report, ODF-FSSP-10002 (rev. 12/13) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(2VAC5-585) 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations (updated daily), 25th Edition, available from the 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and 
Drug Administration, Center for Drug Evaluation and 
Research, Office of Pharmaceutical Science, Office of 
Generic Drugs at http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm. 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2003 Revision, 
published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Milk Safety Branch (HFS-626), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

Grade "A" Condensed and Dry Milk Ordinance, 1995 
Revision, published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Milk Safety Branch (HFS-626), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations, 34th Edition, 2014, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 
for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 
Science, Office of Generic Drugs at 
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 
(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835 

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List (updated 
monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835. 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program Guide for the Control 
of Molluscan Shellfish (2007), published by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 
(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835. 

NSF/ANSI 18-2006 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 
Equipment, American National Standard, published by NSF 
International, 789 North Dixboro Road, P.O. Box 130140, 
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48113-0140. 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 
Control of Molluscan Shellfish, [ 2011 2013 ] Revision, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad031004032~8&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad031004032~8&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=09e08004032~9&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=09e08004032~9&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fbddd004032~10&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fbddd004032~10&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe983004032~11&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fe983004032~11&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
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(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2012 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 
Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 
Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 
www.nsf.org  

Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 
Certification Programs, April 2012, Conference for Food 
Protection, 30 Elliott Court, Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for 
Shell Eggs, AMS-56, effective July 20, 2000, U.S. 
Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, 
Poultry Programs, STOP 0259, Room 3944-South, 1400 
Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-0259 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4032; Filed June 7, 2016, 4:58 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 22 of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes the board in promulgating regulations 
pursuant to § 35.1-14 C of the Code of Virginia that 
incorporate the federal Food and Drug Administration's Food 
Code pertaining to restaurants or food service. In addition, 
§ 35.1-14 E provides that the provisions of the Administrative 
Process Act shall not apply to the adoption of any regulation 
pursuant to § 35.1-14 C if the Board of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services adopts the same edition of the Food Code, 
or the same portions thereof, pursuant to § 3.2-5121 B of the 
Code of Virginia and the regulations adopted by the State 
Board of Health and the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services have the same effective date.  
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations 
(amending 12VAC5-421-10, 12VAC5-421-50 through 
12VAC5-421-210, 12VAC5-421-220, 12VAC5-421-250 
through 12VAC5-421-410, 12VAC5-421-430 through 
12VAC5-421-520, 12VAC5-421-540 through 12VAC5-
421-580, 12VAC5-421-600, 12VAC5-421-630, 12VAC5-
421-650, 12VAC5-421-670, 12VAC5-421-680, 12VAC5-
421-700 through 12VAC5-421-765, 12VAC5-421-780 
through 12VAC5-421-880, 12VAC5-421-900, 12VAC5-
421-930 through 12VAC5-421-960, 12VAC5-421-980, 
12VAC5-421-990, 12VAC5-421-1000, 12VAC5-421-1070, 
12VAC5-421-1090, 12VAC5-421-1100, 12VAC5-421-1110, 
12VAC5-421-1180, 12VAC5-421-1190, 12VAC5-421-1230, 
12VAC5-421-1240, 12VAC5-421-1300, 12VAC5-421-1310, 
12VAC5-421-1320, 12VAC5-421-1350, 12VAC5-421-1360, 
12VAC5-421-1370, 12VAC5-421-1450, 12VAC5-421-1460, 

12VAC5-421-1500 through 12VAC5-421-1530, 12VAC5-
421-1630, 12VAC5-421-1650 through 12VAC5-421-1680, 
12VAC5-421-1700, 12VAC5-421-1720, 12VAC5-421-1730, 
12VAC5-421-1740, 12VAC5-421-1770, 12VAC5-421-1780, 
12VAC5-421-1810, 12VAC5-421-1890, 12VAC5-421-1900, 
12VAC5-421-1920, 12VAC5-421-2040, 12VAC5-421-2050 
through 12VAC5-421-2130, 12VAC5-421-2160 through 
12VAC5-421-2210, 12VAC5-421-2230, 12VAC5-421-2250 
through 12VAC5-421-2280, 12VAC5-421-2310 through 
12VAC5-421-2360, 12VAC5-421-2420, 12VAC5-421-2430, 
12VAC5-421-2460, 12VAC5-421-2490, 12VAC5-421-2520, 
12VAC5-421-2540, 12VAC5-421-2550, 12VAC5-421-2570, 
12VAC5-421-2990, 12VAC5-421-3020, 12VAC5-421-3030, 
12VAC5-421-3070, 12VAC5-421-3150, 12VAC5-421-3210, 
12VAC5-421-3270, 12VAC5-421-3310 through 12VAC5-
421-3500, 12VAC5-421-3590, 12VAC5-421-3600, 
12VAC5-421-3620, 12VAC5-421-3630, 12VAC5-421-3670, 
12VAC5-421-3700, 12VAC5-421-3770, 12VAC5-421-3780, 
12VAC5-421-3800, 12VAC5-421-3810, 12VAC5-421-3815, 
12VAC5-421-3860, 12VAC5-421-3910, 12VAC5-421-3930 
through 12VAC5-421-3980, 12VAC5-421-4000; adding 
12VAC5-421-55, 12VAC5-421-65, 12VAC5-421-255, 
12VAC5-421-725, 12VAC5-421-750, 12VAC5-421-755, 
12VAC5-421-1435, 12VAC5-421-1535, 12VAC5-421-1885, 
12VAC5-421-2045; repealing 12VAC5-421-1870, 
12VAC5-421-2150, 12VAC5-421-3990).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-14 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Julie Henderson, Director of Food and 
General Environmental Services, Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7455, FAX (804) 864-7475, TTY (800) 828-1120, or email 
julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The Food Regulations (12VAC5-421) establish minimum 
sanitary standards for operating a food establishment. 
Those standards include the safe and sanitary 
maintenance, storage, operation, and use of equipment; the 
safe preparation, handling, protection, and preservation of 
food, including necessary refrigeration and heating 
methods, and procedures for vector and pest control; 
requirements for toilet and cleansing facilities for 
employees and customers; requirements for appropriate 
lighting and ventilation; requirements for an approved 
water supply and sewage disposal system; personal 
hygiene standards for employees, particularly those 
engaged in food handling; and the appropriate use of 
precautions to prevent the transmission of communicable 
diseases. The regulations also inform a potential food 
establishment owner or operator how to obtain a permit 
from the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) to operate 
a food establishment.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbd1d004032~3&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c7c85004032~10&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c7c85004032~10&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c7c85004032~10&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://www.nsf.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
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The current regulation is based on the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) 2005 Food Code and the 2005 Food 
Code Supplement. The existing regulation is being 
amended to be consistent with the current 2013 FDA Food 
Code and the Supplement to the 2013 FDA Food Code. 
Many of the proposed changes simply refine and provide 
further clarity to existing regulations.  
The amendments include (i) food establishments must 
refrigerate cut leafy greens to ensure that the product is 
safe to consume; (ii) food establishments must have 
employees who are fully informed regarding food allergens 
and their dangers; (iii) food establishment employees must 
be aware of their responsibility to inform management of 
any health or illness issue that might affect the safety of 
food products; (iv) the establishment must have procedures 
in place for addressing vomitus or fecal matter discharge 
on surfaces in the food establishment; (v) wild mushrooms 
cannot be sold unless the establishment has been approved 
to do so by the regulatory authority; (vi) bare hand contact 
with ready-to-eat food ingredients is allowed in certain 
instances; (vii) game animals that are sold must be raised, 
slaughtered, and processed under a voluntary inspection 
program that is conducted by the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture or the state agency that has animal health 
jurisdiction; (viii) the food establishment must discontinue 
operations and notify VDH if an imminent health hazard 
exists at the establishment; (ix) the establishment must 
immediately contact VDH to report a food employee illness 
due to nontyphoidal Salmonella if it is determined that the 
illness is of a nature that can be transmitted through food; 
(x) the establishment must correct all priority item 
violations within 72 hours and all priority foundation item 
violations within 10 days; (xi) the food establishment must 
have at least one supervisor who is a certified food 
protection manager, with some exceptions; (xii) changes in 
the requirements for water supplies; and (xiii) changes 
regarding the presence of dogs in food establishments 
under certain conditions, which were modified at the final 
stage. 
Other changes made at the final stage were in the 2013 
FDA Food Code Supplement and include (i) requiring food 
allergy awareness as a component of employee training; 
(ii) clarifying that certain cooked and refrigerated foods 
prepared for immediate service may be served for 
immediate service and do not need to be heated to a 
specific temperature; (iii) requiring food labels to include 
sub-ingredients and astaxanthin as an additional color 
additive in salmonid fish; (iv) clarifying  the requirements 
for processing apple butter and molasses in copper and 
copper alloy containers; (v) requiring a permit applicant 
or holder to submit a properly prepared hazard analysis 
critical control point plan to the regulatory authority 
before engaging in reduced oxygen packaging without a 
variance; and (vi) clarifying that chemicals may be used to 
wash or assist in the peeling process of fruits and 

vegetables if done so in accordance with federal regulation 
and the manufacturer's instructions. 
The amendments are adopted concurrently with the 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services action adopting certain changes based on the 
2013 FDA Food Code and Supplement, also published in 
this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Part I  
Definitions, Purpose and Administration  

12VAC5-421-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise. 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 
certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 
accrediting agency as conforming to national standards that 
certify individuals. "Accredited program" refers to the 
certification process and is a designation based upon an 
independent evaluation of factors such as the sponsor's 
mission; organizational structure; staff resources; revenue 
sources; policies; public information regarding program 
scope, eligibility requirements, recertification, discipline and 
grievance procedures; and test development and 
administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to 
training functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 
meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 
§ 201(s) and 21 CFR Part 170 170.3(e)(1) or (ii) "color 
additive" having the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, § 201(t) and 21 CFR Part 70 70.3(f). 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 
Drug, and Cosmetic Act, § 402. 

"Agent" means a legally authorized representative of the 
owner. 

"Agent of the commissioner" means the district or local 
health director, unless otherwise stipulated. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 
determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 
generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

"Approved water supply" system" means a permitted 
waterworks constructed, maintained, and operated pursuant to 
12VAC5-590; or a private well constructed, maintained, and 
operated pursuant to 12VAC5-630. which has a valid 
waterworks operation permit from the department or a 
nonpublic water supply which is evaluated, tested and if 
found in reasonable compliance with the construction 
standards of the Private Well Regulations (12VAC5-630) and 
the bacteriological water quality standards of the Virginia 
Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590), accepted and 
approved by the director or the director's designee. 

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 
showing or producing indication indications of a disease or 
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other medical condition, such as an individual infected with a 
pathogen but not exhibiting or producing any signs or 
symptoms of vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. Asymptomatic 
includes not showing symptoms because symptoms have 
resolved or subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"aw" means water activity which that is a measure of the free 
moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 
of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water 
at the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 
incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 
specific stage of development after which it is removed from 
incubation before hatching. 

"Bed and breakfast" means a tourist home that serves meals. 
"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 
"Board" means the State Board of Health. 
"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in 

bottles, packages, or other containers and offered for sale for 
human consumption [ , including bottled mineral water ]. 

"Building official" means a representative of the Department 
of Housing and Community Development. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 
made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Catering operation" means a person who contracts with a 
client to prepare a specific menu and amount of food in an 
approved and permitted food establishment for service to the 
client's guests or customers at a service location different 
from the permitted food establishment. Catering may also 
include cooking or performing final preparation of food at the 
service location.  

"Catering operation" does not include:  
1. A private chef or cook who, as the employee of a 
consumer, prepares food solely in the consumer's home.  
2. Delivery service of food by an approved and permitted 
food establishment to an end consumer.  

"Certification number" means a unique combination of 
letters and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority 
to a molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of 
the National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 
chapter to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 
section number, such as 40 CFR 180.194 refers to Title 40, 
Part 180, Section 194. 

"CIP" means cleaned in place by the circulation or flowing 
by mechanical means through a piping system of a detergent 
solution, water rinse, and sanitizing solution onto or over 
equipment surfaces that require cleaning, such as the method 
used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen dessert machine. 
CIP does not include the cleaning of equipment such as band 
saws, slicers or mixers that are subjected to in-place manual 
cleaning without the use of a CIP system. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in 
these regulations to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, 
part, and section numbers, such as 21 CFR 178.1010 refers to 
Title 21, Part 178, Section 1010. 

"Code of Federal Regulations" means the compilation of the 
general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register 
by the executive departments and agencies of the federal 
government which: 

1. Is published annually by the U.S. Government Printing 
Office; and 
2. Contains FDA rules in 21 CFR, USDA rules in 7 CFR 
and 9 CFR, EPA rules in 40 CFR, and Wildlife and 
Fisheries Rules in 50 CFR. 

"Commingle" means: 
1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or 
from different growing areas as identified on the tag or 
label; or 
2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 
different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 
chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 
includes (i) fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 
restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, 
ground beef, and sausage; and (ii) a mixture of two or more 
types of meat that have been reduced in size and combined, 
such as sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissary" means a catering establishment, restaurant 
food establishment, or any other place in which food, food 
containers, or supplies are kept, handled, prepared, packaged, 
or stored for distribution to satellite operations. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 
duly designated officer, or his agent. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 
whom a job offer is made, conditional on with employment 
dependent upon responses to subsequent medical questions or 
examinations designed to identify potential food employees 
who may be suffering from a disease that can be transmitted 
through food and done in compliance with Title 1 of the 
Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 
outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 
specimens identifies a causative organism or chemical and 
epidemiological analysis implicates the food as the source of 
the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 
takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 
an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 
and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Core item" means a provision in this chapter that is not 
designated as a priority item or a priority foundation item. 
Core item includes an item that usually relates to general 
sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating 
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procedures (SSOPs), facilities or structures, equipment 
design, or general maintenance. 

"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 
maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 
prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal 
use of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 
conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 
[ easily movable portable ] and is designed to be mounted off 
the floor on a table, counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 
specific food system where loss of control may result in an 
unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical item" means a provision of these regulations that, if 
in noncompliance, is more likely than other violations to 
contribute to food contamination, illness, or environmental 
degradation. 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 
which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 
controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 
the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Cut leafy greens" means fresh leafy greens whose leaves 
have been cut, shredded, sliced, chopped, or torn. The term 
"leafy greens" includes iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, leaf 
lettuce, butter lettuce, baby leaf lettuce (i.e., immature lettuce 
or leafy greens), escarole, endive, spring mix, spinach, 
cabbage, kale, arugula, and chard. The term "leafy greens" 
does not include herbs such as cilantro or parsley. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 
control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 
shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 
of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 
National Shellfish Sanitation Program and is listed in the U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration's Interstate Certified Shellfish 
Shippers List, updated monthly (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration).  

"Delicatessen" means a store where ready to eat products 
such as cooked meats, prepared salads, etc. are sold for off-
premises consumption. 

"Department" means the State Health Virginia Department 
of Health. 

"Director" means the district or local health director. 
"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly 

identifies the animal [ derived ] foods that are, or can be 
ordered, raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being 
processed to eliminate pathogens in their entirety, or items 
that contain an ingredient that is raw, undercooked, or without 
otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Drinking water" means water that meets the water quality 
standards for bacteria of the Virginia Waterworks Regulations 
(12VAC5-590). Drinking water is traditionally known as 
"potable water." Drinking water includes the term water 

except where the term used connotes that the water is not 
potable, such as "boiler water," "mop water," "rainwater," 
"wastewater," and "nondrinking" water. 

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 
storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 
potentially hazardous time/temperature control for safety food 
and dry goods such as single-service items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 
1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 
methods; 
2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 
installation of the surface; and 
3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 
introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 
contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 
placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the 
criteria that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified 
above to different situations in which varying degrees of 
cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 
preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 
stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 
consumer dining; or 
2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 
utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as 
opposed to a decorative attachment or accessory in the 
consumer dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 
1. Portable [ (weighing 30 pounds or less) ]; mounted on 
casters, gliders, or rollers; or provided with a mechanical 
means to safely tilt a unit of equipment for cleaning; and 
2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 
disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 
sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 
cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of avian species such as chicken, 
duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratites ratite, or turkey. Egg does 
not include a balut; egg of the reptile species such as alligator; 
or an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 
inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 
processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 
for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 
Egg product does not include food that contains eggs only in 
a relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the permit holder, person in charge, food 
employee, person having supervisory or management duties, 
person on the payroll, family member, volunteer, person 
performing work under contractual agreement, or other 
person working in a food establishment. 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2870 

"Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli (EHEC)" means E.coli 
that cause hemorrhagic colitis, meaning bleeding enterically 
or bleeding from the intestine. The term is typically used in 
association with E.coli that have the capacity to produce 
Shiga toxins and to cause attaching and effacing lesion in the 
intestine. EHEC is a subset of STEC, whose members 
produce additional virulence factors. Infections with EHEC 
may be asymptomatic but are classically associated with 
bloody diarrhea (hemorrhagic colitis) and hemolytic uremic 
syndrome (HUS) or thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura 
(TTP). Examples of serotypes of EHEC include: E.coli 
O157:H7; E.coli O157:NM; E.coli O26:H11; E.coli 
O145:NM; E.coli O103:H2; or E.coli O111:NM. Also see 
Shiga toxin-producing E.coli. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 
"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 

a food establishment. "Equipment" includes, but is not limited 
to, items such as a freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat 
block, mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, slicer, 
stove, table, temperature measuring device for ambient air, 
vending machine, or warewashing machine. Equipment does 
not include apparatuses used for handling or storing large 
quantities of packaged foods that are received from a supplier 
in a cased or overwrapped lot, such as hand trucks, forklifts, 
dollies, pallets, racks, and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as [ a 
food an ] employee in a food establishment or entering a food 
establishment as an employee. 

"°F" means degrees Fahrenheit. 
"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 
"Fish" means: fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and 

other forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic 
turtle, jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of 
such animals) other than birds or mammals; and all mollusks, 
if such animal life is intended for human consumption; and, 
includes any edible human food product derived in whole or 
in part from fish, including fish that has been processed in 
any manner. 

"Food" means (i) a raw, cooked, or processed edible 
substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for 
use or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption or 
(ii) chewing gum. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 
or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 
of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 
utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 
surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 
drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in 
contact with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 
unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 
surfaces. 

"Food establishment" means an operation that (i) stores, 
prepares, packages, serves, or vends food directly to the 
consumer or otherwise provides food to the public for human 
consumption (i), such as a restaurant;, satellite or catered 
feeding location;, catering operation if the operation provides 
food directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to 
transport people;, market;, vending location;, conveyance 
used to transport people;, institution;, or food bank;, and (ii) 
that relinquishes possession of food to a consumer directly; or 
indirectly through a delivery service, such as home delivery 
of grocery orders or restaurant takeout orders, or delivery 
service that is provided by common carriers. 

"Food establishment" includes (a) (i) an element of the 
operation such as a transportation vehicle or a central 
preparation facility that supplies a vending location or 
satellite feeding location; (b) (ii) an operation that is 
conducted in a mobile, stationary, temporary, or permanent 
facility or location; where consumption is on or off the 
premises; and regardless of whether there is a charge for the 
food; and (c) (iii) a facility that does not meet the exemption 
criteria identified in subdivision 6 of this definition or a 
facility that meets the exemption requirements but chooses to 
be regulated under these regulations this chapter. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 
places are also included in the definition of a "food 
establishment" as defined in subdivision 9 of § 35.1-1 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

1. Any place where food is prepared for service to the 
public on or off the premises, or any place where food is 
served. Examples of such places include but are not limited 
to lunchrooms, short order places, cafeterias, coffee shops, 
cafes, taverns, delicatessens, dining accommodations of 
public or private clubs, kitchen facilities of hospitals and 
nursing homes, dining accommodations of public and 
private schools and colleges, and kitchen areas of local 
correctional facilities subject to standards adopted under 
§ 53.1-68 of the Code of Virginia.  
2. Any place or operation that prepares or stores food for 
distribution to persons of the same business operation or of 
a related business operation for service to the public. 
Examples of such places or operations include but are not 
limited to operations preparing or storing food for catering 
services, push cart operations, hotdog stands, and other 
mobile points of service. Such mobile points of service are 
also deemed to be restaurants unless the point of service 
and of consumption is in a private residence.  

"Food establishment" does not include: 
1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged foods 
that are not potentially hazardous food that is not 
time/temperature control for safety food; 
2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh 
fruits and vegetables; 
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3. A food processing plant;, including those that are 
located on the premises of a food establishment; 
4. A kitchen in a private home if only food that is not 
potentially hazardous time/temperature control for safety 
food is prepared for sale or service at a function such as a 
religious or charitable organization's bake sale if allowed 
by law and if the consumer is informed by a clearly visible 
placard at the sales or service location that the food is 
prepared in a kitchen that is not subject to regulation and 
inspection by the regulatory authority; 
5. An area where food that is prepared as specified in 
subdivision 4 above of this definition is sold or offered for 
human consumption; 
6. A kitchen in a private home, such as, but not limited to, 
a family day-care provider or a home for adults, serving 12 
or fewer recipients; or a bed-and-breakfast operation that 
prepares and offers food only to guests if the premises of 
the home is owner or owner-agent occupied, the number of 
available guest bedrooms does not exceed six, breakfast is 
the only meal offered, the number of guests served does 
not exceed 18, and the consumer is informed by statements 
contained in published advertisements, mailed brochures, 
and placards posted at the registration area that the food is 
prepared in a kitchen that is, by these regulations this 
chapter, exempt from this chapter; or 
7. A private home that receives catered or home-delivered 
food.; or 
8. Places manufacturing packaged or canned foods that are 
distributed to grocery stores or other similar food retailers 
for sale to the public. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 
are also exempt from the definition of a "food establishment" 
in this chapter, as defined in §§ 35.1-25 and 35.1-26 of the 
Code of Virginia: 

1. Boarding houses that do not accommodate transients; 
2. Cafeterias operated by industrial plants for employees 
only; 
3. Churches, fraternal, school and social organizations and 
volunteer fire departments and rescue squads that hold 
dinners and bazaars not more than one time per week and 
not in excess of two days duration at which food prepared 
in homes of members or in the kitchen of the church or 
organization and is offered for sale to the public; 
4. Grocery stores, including the delicatessen that is a part 
of a grocery store, selling exclusively for off-premises 
consumption and places manufacturing or selling packaged 
or canned goods; 
5. Churches that serve meals for their members as a regular 
part of their religious observance; and 
6. Convenience stores or gas stations that are subject to the 
State Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Retail 
Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) or any 

regulations subsequently adopted and that (i) have 15 or 
fewer seats at which food is served to the public on the 
premises of the convenience store or gas station and (ii) are 
not associated with a national or regional restaurant chain. 
Notwithstanding this exemption, such convenience stores 
or gas stations shall remain responsible for collecting any 
applicable local meals tax. 

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 
manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 
consumption and provides food for sale or distribution to 
other business entities such as food processing plants or food 
establishments. Food processing plant does not include a food 
establishment. 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 
food, that is not classified as: cattle, sheep, swine, goat, horse, 
mule, or other equine in 9 CFR Part 301 Definitions, as 
poultry in 9 CFR Part 381 Poultry Products Inspection 
Regulations, or as Fish as defined in this section (i) livestock, 
sheep, swine, goat, horse, mule, or other equine in 9 CFR 
301.2; (ii) poultry; or (iii) fish. 

"Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, elk, 
deer, antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, opossum, 
raccoon, nutria, or muskrat and nonaquatic reptiles such as 
land snakes. 

"Game animal" does not include ratites such as ostrich, emu, 
and rhea. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not 
classified by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 
152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the 
USPHS/FDA "Grade [ A ] Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance" and "Grade A Condensed and Dry Milk 
Ordinance", 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration), with which certain fluid and dry milk and 
milk products comply.  

"HACCP Plan" means a written document that delineates 
the formal procedures for following the Hazard Analysis 
Critical Control Point principles developed by The National 
Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 
washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially 
placed for use in personal hygiene and designed for the 
washing of hands. Handwashing sink includes an automatic 
handwashing facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 
that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 
medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 
assistant, or similar medical [ profession professional ]. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 
designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 
microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2872 

maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 
processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are 
more likely than other people in the general population to 
experience foodborne disease because they are: 

1. Immunocompromised, preschool age children, or older 
adults; and 
2. Obtaining food at a facility that provides services such 
as custodial care, health care, or assisted living, such as a 
child or adult day care center, kidney dialysis center, 
hospital or nursing home, or nutritional or socialization 
services such as a senior center. 

"Hot water" means water at a temperature of 100°F or 
higher unless otherwise stated. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or 
danger to health that is considered to exist when there is 
evidence sufficient to show that a product, practice, 
circumstance, or event creates a situation that requires 
immediate correction or cessation of operation to prevent 
injury based on the number of potential injuries, and the 
nature, severity, and duration of the anticipated injury. 

"Injected" means tenderizing a meat with deep penetration 
or injecting the meat such as with juices which may be 
referred to as "injecting," "pinning," or "stitch pumping." 
During injection infectious or toxigenic microorganisms may 
be introduced from its surface to its interior. manipulating 
meat to which a solution has been introduced into its interior 
by processes such as "injecting," "pump marinating," or 
"stitch pumping." 

"Juice" means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted 
from one or more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible 
portions of one or more fruits or vegetables, or any 
concentrate of such liquid or purée. Juice does not include, 
for purposes of HACCP, liquids, purées, or concentrates that 
are not used as beverages or ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 
"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 

regulations, and ordinances. 
"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 

napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments 
including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 
flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 
lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 
walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans; or a food ingredient 
that contains protein derived from one of these foods. Major 
food allergen does not include any highly refined oil derived 
from a major food allergen in this definition and any 
ingredient derived from such highly refined oil; or any 
ingredient that is exempt under the petition or notification 
process specified in the Food Allergen Labeling and 
Consumer Protection Act of 2004 [ (P. (Pub. ] L. 108-282). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including 
the dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other 
edible animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-330 [ A 2 and ] A 3 [ and 4 ]. 

"Mechanically tenderized" means manipulating meat with 
deep penetration by processes which may be referred to as 
"blade tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," "needling," or 
using blades, pins, needles, or any mechanical device. 
"Mechanically tenderized" does not include processes by 
which solutions are injected into meat. 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 
equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Mobile food unit" means a food establishment that is 
mounted on wheels that is (excluding boats in the water) 
readily moveable from place to place at all times during 
operation and shall include, but not be limited to, pushcarts, 
trailers, trucks, or vans. There is no size limit to mobile food 
units but they must be mobile at all times during operation 
and must be on wheels (excluding boats in the water) at all 
times. The unit, all operations, and all equipment must be 
integral to and be within or attached to the unit.  

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 
frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 
thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 
shucked adductor muscle. 

"Noncontinuous cooking" means the cooking of food in a 
food establishment using a process in which the initial 
heating of the food is intentionally halted so that it may be 
cooled and held for complete cooking at a later time prior to 
sale or service. "Noncontinuous cooking" does not include 
cooking procedures that only involve temporarily interrupting 
or slowing an otherwise continuous cooking process. 

"Occasional" means not more than one time per week, and 
not in excess of two days duration. 

"Organization" means any one of the following: 
1. A volunteer fire department or rescue squad or auxiliary 
unit thereof which has been recognized in accordance with 
§ 15.2-955 of the Code of Virginia by an ordinance or 
resolution of the political subdivision where the volunteer 
fire department or rescue squad is located as being a part of 
the safety program of such political subdivision; 
2. An organization operated exclusively for religious, 
charitable, community or educational purposes; 
3. An association of war veterans or auxiliary units thereof 
organized in the United States; 
4. A fraternal association or corporation operating under 
the lodge system; 
5. A local chamber of commerce; or 
6. A nonprofit organization that raises funds by conducting 
raffles which generate annual gross receipts of less than 
$75,000, provided such gross receipts from the raffle, less 
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expenses and prizes, are used exclusively for charitable, 
educational, religious or community purposes. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, [ securely ] 
bagged, or [ securely ] wrapped, whether packaged in a food 
establishment or a food processing plant. Packaged does not 
include wrapped or placed in a carry-out container to protect 
the food during service or delivery to the consumer, by a food 
employee, upon consumer request. 

"Permit" means a license issued by the regulatory authority 
that authorizes a person to operate a food establishment. 

"Permit holder" means the entity that is legally responsible 
for the operation of the food establishment such as the owner, 
the owner's agent, or other person, and possesses a valid 
permit to operate a food establishment. 

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 
partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 
subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 
establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 
of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 
poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 
maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or 
appearance. Personal care items include items such as 
medicines; first aid supplies; and other items such as 
cosmetics, and toiletries such as toothpaste and mouthwash. 

"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 
hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 
of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Values between 0 and 
7.0 indicate acidity and values between 7.0 and 14 indicate 
alkalinity. The value for pure distilled water is 7.0, which is 
considered neutral. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 
of a food establishment including accessories such as soap 
and towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures 
and heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 
permanently or temporarily connected to the water 
distribution system of the premises and demands a supply of 
water from the system or discharges used water, waste 
materials, or sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage 
system of the premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 
pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent 
pipes; sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, 
including their respective connections, devices, and 
appurtenances within the premises; and water-treating 
equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 
intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, which that include cleaning and 
sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 
agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 
2. Pesticides which, except sanitizers, that include 
substances such as insecticides and rodenticides; 
3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 
of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants, 
paints, and personal care items that may be deleterious to 
health; and 
4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 
maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises 
for retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

"Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food)" means a food that requires time/temperature 
control for safety (TCS) to limit pathogenic microorganism 
growth or toxin formation: 

1. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) includes an animal food that is raw or heat-
treated; a plant food that is heat-treated or consists of raw 
seed sprouts, cut melons, cut tomatoes, or mixtures of cut 
tomatoes that are not modified in a way so that they are 
unable to support pathogenic microorganism growth or 
toxin formation, or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not 
modified in a way that results in mixtures that do not 
support pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin 
formation; and except as specified in subdivision 2 of this 
definition, a food that because of the interaction of its Aw 
and pH values is designated as Product Assessment 
Required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores 
in food heat-treated to destroy vegetative cells and 

subsequently packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6-5.6 >5.6 

<0.92 non-
PHF*/non-
TCS 
food** 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

> 0.92-
0.95 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA*** 

>0.95 non-
PHF/non-
TCS food 

PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety 
Food 
***PA means Product Assessment required 
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Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of 
vegetative cells and spores in food not heat-treated or heat-

treated but not packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 4.6 > 4.6 - 
5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-
PHF*/ 
non-
TCS 
food** 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

0.88-
0.90 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA*** 

>0.90-
0.92 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
PHF/ 
non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA PA 

*PHF means Potentially Hazardous Food 
**TCS means Time/Temperature Control for Safety Food 
***PA means Product Assessment required 

2. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) does not include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard-boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable Salmonellae; 
b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 
c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
PHF/non-TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 
d. A food that is designated as Product Assessment 
required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition and has 
undergone a Product Assessment showing that the 
growth or toxin formation of pathogenic microorganisms 
that are reasonably likely to occur in that food is 
precluded due to: 

(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients,  
(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use, or 
(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 
e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"Potable water" means water fit for human consumption that 
is obtained from an approved water supply and that is (i) 
sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic substances, 
and toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts and (ii) 
adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum health 
requirements of the persons served (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 
et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). 
Potable water is traditionally known as drinking water and 
excludes such nonpotable forms as "boiler water, "mop 
water," "rainwater," "wastewater," and "nondrinking" water.  

"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 
ducks, geese, or guineas) guineas, ratites, or squabs), whether 
live or dead, as defined in 9 CFR Part 381 9 CFR 381.1, 
Poultry Products Inspection Regulations, and any migratory 
waterfowl, game bird, or squab such as pheasant, partridge, 
quail, grouse, guineas, or pigeon or squab whether live or 
dead, as defined in 9 CFR Part 362, Voluntary Poultry 
Inspection Regulations 9 CFR 362.1. "Poultry" does not 
include ratites. 

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 
contiguous land or property under the control of the permit 
holder; or the physical facility, its contents, and the land or 
property which are under the control of the permit holder and 
may impact food establishment personnel, facilities, or 
operations, if a food establishment is only one component of 
a larger operation such as a health care facility, hotel, motel, 
school, recreational camp, or prison. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses 
and sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork 
loin, lamb flank or veal breast. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 
whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or 
more priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an 
item that requires the purposeful incorporation of specific 
actions, equipment, or procedures by industry management to 
attain control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne 
illness or injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or 
necessary equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or record 
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keeping, and labeling and is denoted in this regulation with a 
superscript PfPf. 

"Priority item" means a provision in this chapter whose 
application contributes directly to the elimination, prevention 
or reduction to an acceptable level of hazards associated with 
foodborne illness or injury and there is no other provision that 
more directly controls the hazard. "Priority item" includes 
items with a quantifiable measure to show control of hazards 
such as cooking, reheating, cooling, and handwashing and is 
denoted in this chapter with a superscript Pp. 

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a 
person on land that is owned or leased by that person and is 
usually intended for household, groundwater source heat 
pump, agricultural use, industrial use, or other nonpublic 
water well.  

"Public water system" has the meaning stated in 40 CFR 
Part 141, National Primary Drinking Water Regulations. 

"Pure water" means potable water fit for human 
consumption that is (i) sanitary and normally free of minerals, 
organic substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable 
amounts and (ii) adequate in quantity and quality for the 
minimum health requirements of the persons served (see 
§ 32.1-176.1 and 32.1-167 of the Code of Virginia and 
12VAC5-590 and 12VAC5-630-370. Potable water is 
traditionally known as drinking water, and excludes such 
nonpotable forms as "boiler water," "mop water," "rainwater," 
"wastewater," and "nondrinking water." 

"Pushcart" means any wheeled vehicle or device other than a 
motor vehicle or trailer that may be moved with or without 
the assistance of a motor and that does not require registration 
by the department of motor vehicles. A pushcart is limited to 
the sale and/or service of hot dogs and frankfurter-like foods. 

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 
rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 
1. Is in a form that is edible without additional preparation 
to achieve food safety, as specified under 12VAC5-421-
700 A through, B, and C, 12VAC5-421-710 [ , ] or 
12VAC5-421-730; 
2. Is a raw or partially cooked animal food and the 
consumer is advised as specified under 12VAC5-421- 700 
D 1 and 2 3; or 
3. Is prepared in accordance with a variance that is granted 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 D 1 and 2 4. 

Ready-to-eat food may receive additional preparation for 
palatability or aesthetic, epicurean, gastronomic, or culinary 
purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 
1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 
12VAC5-421-700, or 12VAC5-421-710 or frozen as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-730; 

2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-510; 
3. Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-720; 
4. All potentially hazardous food time/temperature control 
for safety food that is cooked to the temperature and time 
required for the specific food under 12VAC5-421-700 and 
cooled as specified in 12VAC5-421-800; 
5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 
processing is not required for food safety, and from which 
rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 
removed; 
6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, 
seasonings, and sugar; 
7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or 
icing for which further cooking is not required for food 
safety; 
8. The following products that are produced in accordance 
with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 
treatment for [ pathogen pathogens ]: dry, fermented 
sausages, such as dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat 
and poultry products, such as prosciutto ham, country 
cured ham, and Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry 
products, such as jerky or beef sticks; and 
9. Food manufactured according to 21 CFR Part 113, 
Thermally Processed Low-Acid Foods Packaged in 
Hermetically Sealed Containers. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means the reduction of the 
amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 
displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 
combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 
content to a level below that normally found in the 
atmosphere (approximately 21% at sea level); and a process 
as specified in this definition that involves a food for which 
the hazards Clostridium botulinum or Listeria monocytogenes 
require control in the final packaged form. Reduced oxygen 
packaging includes: 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 
package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 
that a vacuum remains inside the package; 
2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that its 
composition is different from air but the atmosphere may 
change over time due to the permeability of the packaging 
material or the respiration of the food. Modified 
atmosphere packaging includes reduction in the proportion 
of oxygen, total replacement of oxygen, or an increase in 
the proportion of other gases such as carbon dioxide or 
nitrogen; 
3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 
atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until 
the package is opened, its composition is different from air, 
and continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, 
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such as by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of 
total replacement oxygen, nonrespiring food, and 
impermeable packaging material; 
4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 
into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are 
then sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly 
chilled and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the 
growth of psychrotrophic pathogens; or 
5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 
food is [ placed in a hermetically sealed, vacuum packaged 
in an ] impermeable bag, cooked in the bag, rapidly 
chilled, and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the 
growth of psychrotrophic pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 
sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means the Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, the Virginia Department 
of Health or their authorized representative having 
jurisdiction over the food establishment. 

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 
risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 
otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" means the transfer of food that is unused and 
returned by a consumer after being served or sold and in the 
possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 
that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 
transmissible through food and the food employee does not 
work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, 
and unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 

"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator 
reject, inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 
contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 
(pesticides classified for restricted use) and that is limited to 
use by or under the direct supervision of a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect 
will occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a 
food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 
composed of materials that shall not reasonably be expected 
to result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a component 
or otherwise affecting the characteristics of any food; an 
additive that is used as specified in § 409 or 706 of the 
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348); or 
other materials that are not additives and that are used in 
conformity with applicable regulations of the Food and Drug 
Administration. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 
chemicals on cleaned food contact food-contact surfaces that, 
when evaluated for efficacy, yield a reduction of five logs, 

which is equal to a 99.999% reduction, of representative 
disease microorganisms of public health importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that permit 
the entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, 
signal dog, or other animal individually trained to provide 
assistance to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which 
a mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 
regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 
discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and 
ice bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or 
vegetable matter in suspension or solution and may include 
liquids containing chemicals in solution. Sewage includes 
water-carried and non-water-carried human excrement or 
kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory waste separately or 
together with such underground surface, storm, or other water 
and liquid industrial wastes as may be present from 
residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments, or 
other places. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 
tribal or other government entity legally responsible for 
administering a program that includes certification of 
molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 
commerce such as the Virginia Department of Health 
Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 
"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" (STEC) or 

"STEC" means any E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins 
(also called verocytotoxins or "Shiga-like" toxins) 
verocytotoxins). STEC infections can be asymptomatic or 
may result in a spectrum of illness ranging from mild 
nonbloody diarrhea, to hemorrhagic colitis (i.e., bloody 
diarrhea) to hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which is a 
type of kidney failure). Examples of serotypes of STEC 
include both O157 and non-O157 E.coli. Also see 
Enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli. E. coli 0157:H7, E. coli 
0157:NM, E. coli 026:H11; E. coli 0145NM, E. coli 0103:H2, 
and E. coli 0111:NM. STEC are sometimes referred to as 
VTEC (verocytotoxigenic E. coli) or as EHEC 
(Enterohemorrhagic E. coli). EHEC are a subset of STEC that 
can cause hemorrhagic colitis or HUS. 

"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 
or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 
and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 
straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 
constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 
intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food 
containers designed and constructed to be used once and 
discarded. Single-use articles includes items such as wax 
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paper, butcher paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food 
containers, jars, plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, 
pickle barrels, ketchup bottles, and number 10 cans which do 
not meet the materials, durability, strength and cleanability 
specifications contained in 12VAC5-421-960, 12VAC5-421-
1080, and 12VAC5-421-1100 for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 
of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 
temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation 
for deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during 
the cooking of previously block-frozen food such as spinach 
shrimp. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface 
free of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or 
exceeding that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a 
nonfood-contact non-food-contact surface of equipment 
having a surface equal to that of commercial grade hot-rolled 
steel free of visible scale; and a floor, wall, or ceiling having 
an even or level surface with no roughness or projections that 
render it difficult to clean. 

"Substantial compliance" shall mean that details of means 
equipment or structure design or construction and/or; food 
preparation, handling, storage, transportation and/or; or 
cleaning procedures that will not substantially affect health 
consideration or performance of the facility or its the 
employees. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 
table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and 
spoons; hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, 
tumblers; and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 
thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 
temperature of food, air, or water. 

"Temporary food establishment" means a food 
establishment that operates for a period of no more than 14 
consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or 
celebration. 

"Time/temperature control for safety food" or "TCS food" 
means a food that requires time/temperature control for safety 
to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation: 

1. TCS food includes an animal food that is raw or heat 
treated; a plant food that is heat treated or consists of raw 
seed sprouts, cut melons, cut leafy greens, cut tomatoes, or 
mixtures of cut tomatoes that are not modified in a way so 
that they are unable to support pathogenic microorganism 
growth or toxin formation, or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are 
not modified in a way so that they are unable to support 
pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation; and 
except as specified in subdivision 2 d of this definition, a 
food that because of the interaction of its Aw and pH values 
is designated as product assessment required (PA) in Table 
A or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores 
in food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 

subsequently packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6-5.6 >5.6 

≤0.92 non-TCS 
food* 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

>0.92-
0.95 

non-TCS 
food 

non-TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.95 non-TCS 
food 

PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 
food 
**PA means product assessment required 

  

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of 
vegetative cells and spores in food not heat treated or 

heat treated but not packaged. 

Aw 
values 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 
4.6 

> 4.6 - 
5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-
TCS 
food* 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

0.88-
0.90 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA** 

>0.90-
0.92 

non-
TCS 
food 

non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-
TCS 
food 

PA PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 
food 
**PA means product assessment required 

2. TCS food does not include: 
a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 
egg with shell intact that is not hard-boiled, but has been 
pasteurized to destroy all viable salmonellae; 
b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 
that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 
commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 
storage and distribution; 
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c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or 
interaction of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-
TCS food in Table A or B of this definition; 
d. A food that is designated as PA in Table A or B of this 
definition and has undergone a product assessment 
showing that the growth or toxin formation of pathogenic 
microorganisms that are reasonably likely to occur in that 
food is precluded due to: 
(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 
characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 
antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients;  
(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 
operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 
modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 
shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and 
use; or 
(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 
e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 
formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 
with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 
definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 
microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 
level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 
"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 

in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 
service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 
multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 
with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 
measuring devices and probe-type price or identification tags 
used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 
regulatory authority that authorizes a modification or waiver 
of one or more requirements of this chapter if, in the opinion 
of the regulatory authority, a health hazard or nuisance will 
not result from the modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 
insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, or by 
optional manual operation, dispenses unit servings of food in 
bulk or in packages without the necessity of replenishing the 
device between each vending operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 
space, or area where one or more vending machines are 
installed and operated and includes the storage and servicing 
areas on the premises that are used in conjunction with the 
vending machines areas and areas on the premises that are 
used to service and maintain the vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of 
[ utensils and ] food-contact surfaces of equipment [ and 
utensils ]. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 
human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 

or more individuals for at least 60 days out of the year. 
"Waterworks" includes all structures, equipment and 
appurtenances used in the storage, collection, purification, 
treatment, and distribution of potable water except the piping 
and fixtures inside the building where such water is delivered 
(see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 
of the Code of Virginia).  

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that 
is not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or 
scored and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

Part II  
Management and Personnel  

Article 1  
Supervision  

12VAC5-421-50. Assignment of responsibility. 
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 

permit holder shall be the person in charge or shall designate 
a person in charge and shall ensure that a person in charge is 
present at the food establishment during all hours of 
operation.Pf 

B. In a food establishment with two or more separately 
permitted departments that are the legal responsibility of the 
same permit holder and that are located on the same premises, 
the permit holder may, during specific time periods when 
food is not being prepared, packaged, or served, designate a 
single person in charge who is present on the premises during 
all hours of operation, and who is responsible for each 
separately permitted food establishment on the premises.Pf 
12VAC5-421-55. Certified food protection manager. 

A. At least one employee with supervisory and management 
responsibility and the authority to direct and control food 
preparation and service shall be a certified food protection 
manager, demonstrating proficiency of required knowledge 
and information through passing a test that is part of an 
accredited program.  

B. This section does not apply to food establishments that 
serve only non-temperature control for safety food and food 
establishments where food handling does not exceed 
reheating, cold holding, and hot holding of commercially 
processed and packaged ready-to-eat foods.  

C. For purposes of enforcement, this section will take effect 
on July 1, 2018. 
12VAC5-421-60. Demonstration of knowledge. 

Based on the risks of foodborne illness inherent to the food 
operation, during inspections and upon request the person in 
charge shall demonstrate to the regulatory authority 
knowledge of foodborne disease prevention, and the 
requirements of these regulations this chapter. The person in 
charge shall demonstrate this knowledge by: 

1. Complying with the Food Regulations this chapter by 
having no violations of critical priority items during the 
current inspection;Pf 
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2. Being a certified food protection manager who has 
shown proficiency of required information through passing 
a test that is part of an accredited program;Pf or 
3. Responding correctly to the environmental health 
specialist's questions as they relate to the specific food 
operation. The areas of operation may include: 

a. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne disease and the personal hygiene of a food 
employee;Pf 
b. Explaining the responsibility of the person in charge 
for preventing the transmission of foodborne disease by a 
food employee who has a disease or medical condition 
that may cause foodborne disease;Pf 
c. Describing the symptoms associated with the diseases 
that are transmissible through food;Pf 
d. Explaining the significance of the relationship between 
maintaining the time and temperature of potentially 
hazardous food (time/temperature control for safety food) 
time/temperature control for safety food and the 
prevention of foodborne illness;Pf 
e. Explaining the hazards involved in the consumption of 
raw or undercooked meat, poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 
f. Stating the required food temperatures and times for 
safe cooking of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) 
time/temperature control for safety food including meat, 
poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 
g. Stating the required temperatures and times for the 
safe refrigerated storage, hot holding, cooling, and 
reheating of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) 
time/temperature control for safety food;Pf 
h. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 
foodborne illness and the management and control of the 
following:  
(1) Cross contamination,Pf 
(2) Hand contact with ready-to-eat foods,Pf 
(3) Handwashing,Pf and  
(4) Maintaining the food establishment in a clean 
condition and in good repair;Pf 
i. Describing the foods identified as major food allergens 
and the symptoms that a major food allergen could cause 
in a sensitive individual who has an allergic reaction;Pf 
j. Explaining the relationship between food safety and 
providing equipment that is:  
(1) Sufficient in number and capacity,Pf and  
(2) Properly designed, constructed, located, installed, 
operated, maintained, and cleaned;Pf 
k. Explaining correct procedures for cleaning and 
sanitizing utensils and food-contact surfaces of 
equipment;Pf 

l. Identifying the source of water used and measures 
taken to ensure that it the water supply remains protected 
from contamination such as providing protection from 
backflow and precluding the creation of cross 
connections;Pf 
m. Identifying poisonous or toxic materials in the food 
establishment and the procedures necessary to ensure that 
they are safely stored, dispensed, used, and disposed of 
according to law;Pf 
n. Identifying critical control points in the operation from 
purchasing through sale or service that [ when not 
controlled ] may contribute to the transmission of 
foodborne illness and explaining steps taken to ensure 
that the points are controlled in accordance with the 
requirements of this chapter;Pf 
o. Explaining the details of how the person in charge and 
food employees comply with a HACCP plan if such a 
plan is required by the law, this chapter, or a voluntary 
agreement between the regulatory authority and the food 
establishment; andPf 
p. Explaining the responsibilities, rights, and authorities 
assigned by this chapter to the:  
(1) Food employee,Pf 
(2) Conditional employee,Pf 
(2) (3) Person in charge,Pf and  
(3) (4) Regulatory authority;Pf and 
q. Explaining how the person in charge, food employees, 
and conditional employees comply with reporting 
responsibilities and the exclusion or restriction of food 
employees.Pf 

12VAC5-421-65. Food protection manager certification. 
A. A person in charge who demonstrates knowledge by 

being a food protection manager who is certified by a food 
protection manager certification program that is evaluated by 
a Conference for Food Protection-recognized accrediting 
agency as conforming to the Conference for Food Protection 
Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 
Certification Programs, April 2012, (Conference for Food 
Protection) is deemed to comply with subdivision 2 of 
12VAC5-421-60. 

B. A food establishment that has an employee who is 
certified by a food protection certification program that is 
evaluated and listed by a Conference for Food Protection-
recognized accrediting agency as conforming to the 
Conference for Food Protection Standards for Accreditation 
of Food Protection Manager Certification Programs, April 
2012, (Conference for Food Protection) is deemed to comply 
with 12VAC5-421-55.  
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12VAC5-421-70. Duties of person in charge. 
The person in charge shall ensure that:  

1. Food establishment operations are not conducted in a 
private home or in a room used as living or sleeping 
quarters as specified under 12VAC5-421-2990;Pf 
2. Persons unnecessary to the food establishment operation 
are not allowed in the food preparation, food storage, or 
warewashing areas, except that brief visits and tours may 
be authorized by the person in charge if steps are taken to 
ensure that exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use 
articles are protected from contamination;Pf 
3. Employees and other persons such as delivery and 
maintenance persons and pesticide applicators entering the 
food preparation, food storage, and warewashing areas 
comply with these regulations this chapter;Pf 
4. Employees are effectively cleaning their hands, by 
routinely monitoring the employees' handwashing;Pf 
5. Employees are visibly observing foods as they are 
received to determine that they are from approved sources, 
delivered at the required temperatures, protected from 
contamination, unadulterated, and accurately presented, by 
routinely monitoring the employees' observations and 
periodically evaluating foods upon their receipt;Pf 
6. Employees are verifying that foods delivered to the food 
establishment during non-operating hours are from 
approved sources and are placed into appropriate storage 
locations such that they are maintained at the required 
temperatures, protected from contamination, unadulterated, 
and accurately presented [ .; ]Pf 
6. 7. Employees are properly cooking potentially 
hazardous food [ TCS time/temperature control for safety ] 
food, being particularly careful in cooking those foods 
known to cause severe foodborne illness and death, such as 
eggs and comminuted meats, through daily oversight of the 
employees' routine monitoring of the cooking temperatures 
using appropriate temperature measuring devices properly 
scaled and calibrated as specified under 12VAC5-421-
1180 and 12VAC5-421-1730 B;Pf 
7. 8. Employees are using proper methods to rapidly cool 
potentially hazardous foods time/temperature control for 
safety food that are is not held hot or are is not for 
consumption within four hours, through daily oversight of 
the employees' routine monitoring of food temperatures 
during cooling;Pf 
9. Employees are properly maintaining the temperatures of 
time/temperature control for safety food during hot and 
cold holding through daily oversight of the employees 
routine monitoring of food temperatures [ .; ]Pf 
8. 10. Consumers who order raw or partially cooked ready-
to-eat foods of animal origin are informed as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-930 that the food is not cooked 
sufficiently to ensure its safety;Pf 

9. 11. Employees are properly sanitizing cleaned multiuse 
equipment and utensils before they are reused, through 
routine monitoring of solution temperature and exposure 
time for hot water sanitizing, and chemical concentration, 
pH, temperature, and exposure time for chemical 
sanitizing;Pf 
10. 12. Consumers are notified that clean tableware is to be 
used when they return to self-service areas such as salad 
bars and buffets;Pf 
11. 13. Except when approval is obtained from the 
regulatory authority as specified in 12VAC5-421-450 B E, 
employees are preventing cross-contamination of ready-to-
eat food with bare hands by properly using suitable utensils 
such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, single-use gloves, or 
dispensing equipment; Pf 
12. 14. Employees are properly trained in food safety [ , 
including food allergy awareness, ] as it relates to their 
assigned duties;Pf and 
13. 15. Food employees and conditional employees are 
informed in a verifiable manner of their responsibility to 
report in accordance with law, to the person in charge, 
information about their health and activities as they relate 
to diseases that are transmissible through food, as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-80. Pf; and 
16. Written procedures and plans, where specified by this 
chapter and as developed by the food establishment, are 
maintained and implemented as required.Pf 

Article 2  
Employee Health  

12VAC5-421-80. Responsibility of permit holder, person 
in charge, and conditional employees. 

A. The permit holder shall require food employees and 
conditional employees to report to the person in charge 
information about their health and activities as they relate to 
diseases that are transmissible through food. A food 
employee or conditional employee shall report the 
information in a manner that allows the person in charge to 
reduce the risk of foodborne disease transmission, including 
providing necessary additional information, such as the date 
of onset of symptoms and an illness, or of a diagnosis without 
symptoms, if the food employee or conditional employee: 

1. Has any of the following symptoms: 
a. Vomiting;P 
b. Diarrhea;P 
c. Jaundice;P  
d. Sore throat with fever;P or  
e. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 
wound that is open or draining and is: 
(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 
such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a 
single-use glove is worn over the impermeable cover;P 
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(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 
protected by an impermeable cover;P or  
(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is 
covered by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage;P 

2. Has an illness diagnosed by a health practitioner due to: 
a. Norovirus;P 
b. Hepatitis A virus;P 
c. Shigella spp.;P 
d. [ Enterohemorrhagic or ] Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli; or P 
e. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella [ Typhi) 
typhi) ];P or 
f. Salmonella (nontyphoidal) [ .; ]P 

3. Had a previous illness [ Typhoid typhoid ] fever, 
diagnosed by a health practitioner, within the past three 
months due to Salmonella Typhi, without having received 
antibiotic therapy, as determined by a health practitioner;P 
4. Has been exposed to, or is the suspected source of, a 
confirmed disease outbreak, because the food employee or 
conditional employee consumed or prepared food 
implicated in the outbreak, or consumed food at an event 
prepared by a person who is infected or ill with: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last 
exposure; P 
b. Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. within 
the past three days of the last exposure;P 
c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella [ Typhi typhi ]) 
within the past 14 days of the last exposure;P or 
d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure;P or 

5. Has been exposed by attending or working in a setting 
where there is a confirmed disease outbreak, or living in 
the same household as, and has knowledge about an 
individual who works or attends a setting where there is a 
confirmed disease outbreak, or living in the same 
household as, and has knowledge about, and individual 
diagnosed with an illness caused by: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of exposure;P 
b. Enterohemorragic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli or Shigella spp. within 
the past three days of the last exposure;P 
c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella [ Typhi typhi ]) 
within the past 14 days of the last exposure;P or 
d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 
exposure.P 

B. The person in charge shall notify the regulatory authority 
when a food employee is: 

1. Jaundiced;Pf or  

2. Diagnosed with an illness due to a pathogen as specified 
under [ subdivision subdivisions ] A 2 a through e f of this 
section.Pf 

C. The person in charge shall ensure that a conditional 
employee: 

1. Who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
diagnosed illness as specified under subdivision A 2 a 
through e subdivisions A 1, 2, and 3 of this section, is 
prohibited from becoming a food employee until the 
conditional employee meets the criteria for the specific 
symptoms or diagnosed illness as specified under 
12VAC5-421-100;P and  
2. Who will work as a food employee in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population 
and reports a history of exposure as specified under 
subdivision subdivisions A 4 through and 5 of this section, 
is prohibited from becoming a food employee until the 
conditional employee meets the criteria specified under 
subdivision 9 10 of 12VAC5-421-100.P 

D. The person in charge shall ensure that a food employee 
who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 
diagnosed illness or history of exposure as specified under 
subdivision subdivisions A 1 through 5 of this section is: 

1. Excluded as specified under subdivisions 1 through, 2, 
and 3 of 12VAC5-421-90, and subdivisions D 1, E 1, F 1, 
or G 1 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, 7, or 8 a of 12VAC5-421-90 and in 
compliance with the provisions specified under subdivision 
subdivisions 1 through 7 8 of 12VAC5-421-100;P or 
2. Restricted as specified under subdivisions subdivision 4 
b, 5 b, 6 b, or 7 8 b of 12VAC5-421-90, or subdivisions 8 
or subdivision 9 or 10 of 12VAC5-421-90 and in 
compliance with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 4 through 9 10 of 12VAC5-421-100.P 

E. A food employee or conditional employee shall report to 
the person in charge the information as specified under 
subsection A of this section.Pf 

F. A food employee shall: 
1. Comply with an exclusion as specified under 
subdivisions 1 through, 2, and 3 of 12VAC5-421-90 and 
subdivisions subdivision 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, or 7, or 8 a of 
12VAC5-421-90 and with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 7 8 of 12VAC5-421-100;P or 
2. Comply with a restriction as specified under 
subdivisions 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, or 7, or 8 b of 12VAC5-421-90, 
or subdivisions subdivision 8, 9, or 9 10 of 12VAC5-421-
90 and comply with the provisions specified under 
subdivisions 4 through 9 10 of 12VAC5-421-100.P 

12VAC5-421-90. Exclusions and restrictions. 
The person in charge shall exclude or restrict a food 

employee from a food establishment in accordance with the 
following: 
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1. Except when the symptom is from a noninfectious 
condition, exclude a food employee if the food employee 
is: 

a. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea;P or 
b. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea and diagnosed 
with an infection from Norovirus, Shigella spp., 
Salmonella (nontyphoidal), or Enterohemorrhagic or 
Shiga-toxin producing Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 
coli.P 

2. Exclude a food employee who is: 
a. Jaundiced and the onset of jaundice occurred within 
the last seven calendar days, unless the food employee 
provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner specifying that 
the jaundice is not caused by Hepatitis A virus or other 
fecal-orally transmitted infection;P 
b. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
within 14 calendar days from the onset of any illness 
symptoms, or within seven calendar days of the onset of 
jaundice;P or 
c. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 
without developing symptoms.P 

3. Exclude a food employee who is diagnosed with an 
infection from Salmonella Typhi [ Typhoid typhoid ] fever, 
or reports a previous infection with Salmonella Typhi 
having had [ Typhoid typhoid ] fever within the past three 
months as specified in 12VAC5-421-80 A 3.P 
4. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Norovirus and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

5. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Shigella spp. and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

6. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing E.coli Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli, and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

7. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 
Salmonella (nontyphoidal) and is asymptomatic, restrict 
the food employee who works in a food establishment: 

a. Serving a highly susceptible population,P or  
b. Not serving a highly susceptible population.P 

7. 8. If a food employee is ill with symptoms of acute onset 
of sore throat with fever: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P 
or 
b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment not serving a highly susceptible 
population.P 

8. 9. If a food employee is infected with a skin lesion 
containing pus such as a boil or infected wound that is 
open or draining and not properly covered as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-80 A 1 e, restrict the food employee.P 
9. 10. If a food employee is exposed to a foodborne 
pathogen as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 A 4 or 5, 
restrict the food employee who works in a food 
establishment serving a highly susceptible population.P 

12VAC5-421-100. Removal, adjustment, or retention of 
exclusions and restrictions. 

The person in charge shall adhere to the following 
conditions when removing, adjusting, or retaining the 
exclusion or restriction of a food employee: 

1. Except when a food employee is diagnosed with 
[ Typhoid typhoid ] fever or an infection from Hepatitis A 
virus or Salmonella Typhi: 

a. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 a of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 
food employee: 
(1) Is asymptomatic for at least 24 hours;P or 
(2) Provides to the person in charge written medical 
documentation from a health practitioner that states the 
symptom is from a noninfectious condition.P 
b. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Norovirus and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 4 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 4 a or b of this section are met.P 
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c. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Shigella spp. and excluded as specified under 
subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic, for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 5 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 5 a or b, or 5 a and 1 c (1) of this section are 
met.P 
d. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin producing Shiga 
toxin-producing Escherichia coli and excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 
at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 
serving a highly susceptible population, until the 
conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 6 
a or b of this section are met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 
asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 
establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 
until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 
subdivision 6 a or b are met.P 
e. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 
from Salmonella (nontyphoidal) and excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 
(1) Restrict the food employee who is asymptomatic for 
at least 30 days until conditions for reinstatement as 
specified under subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this section are 
met;P or 
(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee who is 
symptomatic, until conditions for reinstatement as 
specified under subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this section are 
met. 

2. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 2 of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 
person in charge obtains approval from the regulatory 
authority and one of the following conditions is met: 

a. The food employee has been jaundiced for more than 
seven calendar days;P 
b. The anicteric food employee has been symptomatic 
with symptoms other than jaundice for more than 14 
calendar days;P or 
c. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
stating that the food employee is free of a Hepatitis A 
virus infection.P 

3. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-90 if: 

a. The person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority;P and 
b. The food employee provides to the person in charge 
written medical documentation from a health practitioner 
that states the employee is free from S. Typhi infection 
[ Typhoid typhoid ] fever.P 

4. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 4 a of 12VAC5-421-90, 
who was restricted under subdivision 4 b of 12VAC5-421-
90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Norovirus infection;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
than 48 hours have passed since the food employee 
became symptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than 48 hours have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

5. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subdivision 1 b or 5 a of 12VAC5-421-90 
or who was restricted under subdivision 5 b of 12VAC5-
421-90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authority and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a Shigella spp. infection based on test results showing 
two consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 
taken: 
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics,P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more 
than seven calendar days have passed since the food 
employee became asymptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven calendar 
days have passed since the food employee was 
diagnosed.P 

6. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 1 b or 6 a of 
12VAC5-421-90 or who was restricted under subdivision 6 
b of 12VAC5-421-90 if the person in charge obtains 
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approval from the regulatory authority and one of the 
following conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of an infection from Enterohemorrhagic or Shiga-toxin 
producing Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli based 
on test results that show two consecutive negative stool 
specimen cultures that are taken: 
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after the discontinuance of 
antibiotics;P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 
b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 
symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved and more 
than seven calendar days have passed since the employee 
became asymptomatic;P or 
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than seven days have 
passed since the employee was diagnosed.P 

7. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 
specified under subsection 1 a of 12VAC5-421-90 or who 
was restricted as specified under subsection 7 of 12VAC5-
421-90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 
regulatory authorityP and one of the following conditions is 
met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 
the person in charge written medical documentation from 
a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 
of a [ nontyphoida ] Salmonella [ (nontyphoidal) ] 
infection based on test results showing two consecutive 
negative stool specimen cultures that are taken; 
(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 
antibiotics;P and 
(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 
b. The food employee was restricted after symptoms of 
vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more than 30 days 
have passed since the food employee became 
asymptomatic;P or  
c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 
not develop symptoms and more than 30 days have 
passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

7. 8. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or 
restricted as specified under subdivision 7 8 a or b of 
12VAC5-421-90 if the food employee provides to the 
person in charge written medical documentation from a 
health practitioner stating that the food employee meets 
one of the following conditions: 

a. Has received antibiotic therapy for Streptococcus 
pyogenes infection for more than 24 hours;P 
b. Has at least one negative throat specimen culture for 
Streptococcus pyogenes infection;P or 

c. Is otherwise determined by a health practitioner to be 
free of Streptococcus pyogenes infection.P 

8. 9. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 8 9 of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 
skin, infected wound, cut, or pustular boil is properly 
covered with one of the following: 

a. An impermeable cover such as a finger cot or stall and 
a single-use glove over the impermeable cover if the 
infected wound or pustular boil is on the hand, finger, or 
wrist;P 
b. An impermeable cover on the arm if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on the arm;P or 
c. A dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage if the infected 
wound or pustular boil is on another part of the body.P 

9. 10. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 
specified under subdivision 9 10 of 12VAC5-421-90 and 
was exposed to one of the following pathogens as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-80 A 4 or 5: 

a. Norovirus and one of the following conditions is met: 
(1) More than 48 hours have passed since the last day the 
food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than 48 hours have passed since the food 
employee's household contact became asymptomatic.P 
b. Shigella spp. or [ Enterohemorrhagic or ] Shiga-toxin 
producing Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli and 
one of the following conditions is met: 
(1) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
last day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than three calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic.P 
c. S. Typhi Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella 
[ Typhi) typhi) ] and one of the following conditions is 
met: 
(1) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the last 
day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 
(2) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became 
asymptomatic.P 
d. Hepatitis A virus and one of the following conditions 
is met: 
(1) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of prior illness from Hepatitis A;P 
(2) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of vaccination against Hepatitis A;P 
(3) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 
infection because of IgG administration;P 
(4) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the last 
the food employee was potentially exposed;P 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2885 

(5) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the 
food employee's household contact became jaundiced;P 
or 
(6) The food employee does not use an alternative 
procedure that allows bare hand contact with ready-to-eat 
food until at least 30 days after the potential exposure, as 
specified in subdivisions 9 10 d (4) and (5) of this 
section, and the food employee receives additional 
training about: 
(a) Hepatitis A symptoms and preventing the 
transmission of infection;P 
(b) Proper handwashing procedures;P and  
(c) Protecting ready-to-eat food from contamination 
introduced by bare hand contact.P 

Article 3  
Personal Cleanliness  

12VAC5-421-130. Clean condition of hands and arms.  
Food employees shall keep their hands and exposed portions 

of their arms clean.P  
12VAC5-421-140. Cleaning procedure of hands and arms. 

A. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, food 
employees shall clean their hands and exposed portions of 
their arms (or surrogate prosthetic devices for hands or arms) 
for at least 20 seconds or surrogate prosthetic devices for 
hands or arms for at least 20 seconds, using a cleaning 
compound in a lavatory that is equipped as specified under 
12VAC5-421-2190 A.P 

B. Food employees shall use the following cleaning 
procedure in the order stated to clean their hands and exposed 
portions of their arms, including surrogate prosthetic devices 
for hands and arms: 

1. Rinse under clean, running warm water;P 
2. Apply an amount of cleaning compound recommended 
by the cleaning compound manufacturer;P 
3. Rub together vigorously for at least 10 to 15 seconds 
while: 

a. Paying particular attention to removing soil from 
underneath the fingernails during the cleaning 
procedure;P and 
b. Creating friction on the surfaces of the hands and arms 
or surrogate prosthetic devices for hands and arms, finger 
tips, and areas between the fingers;P 

4. Thoroughly rinsing under clean, running warm water;P 

and 
5. Immediately follow the cleaning procedure with 
thorough drying using a method as specified under 
12VAC5-421-3030.P 

C. To avoid recontaminating their hands or surrogate 
prosthetic devices, food employees may use disposable paper 
towels or similar clean barriers when touching surfaces such 

as manually operated faucet handles on a handwashing sink 
or the handle of a restroom door. 

D. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 
encountered in the food operations involved, an automatic 
handwashing facility may be used by food employees to clean 
their hands or surrogate prosthetic devices. 
12VAC5-421-160. When to wash.  

Food employees shall clean their hands and exposed 
portions of their arms as specified under 12VAC5-421-140 
immediately before engaging in food preparation including 
working with exposed food, clean equipment and utensils, 
and unwrapped single-service and single-use articlesP and: 

1. After touching bare human body parts or hair other than 
clean hands and clean, exposed portions of arms;P 
2. After using the toilet room;P 
3. After caring for or handling support service animals or 
aquatic animals as allowed under 12VAC5-421-250 B;P 
4. Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-220 B, after 
coughing, sneezing, using a handkerchief or disposable 
tissue, using tobacco, eating, or drinking;P 
5. After handling soiled equipment or utensils;P 
6. During food preparation, as often as necessary to 
remove soil and contamination and to prevent cross 
contamination when changing tasks;P 
7. When switching between working with raw foods and 
working with ready-to-eat foods;P 
8. Before donning gloves [ for to initiate a task that 
involves ] working with foods;P and 
9. After engaging in other activities that contaminate the 
hands.P 

12VAC5-421-170. Where to wash.  
Food employees shall clean their hands in a handwashing 

lavatory sink or approved automatic handwashing facility and 
shall not clean their hands (i) in a sink used for food 
preparation or utensil washing or (ii) in a service sink or a 
curbed cleaning facility used for the disposal of mop water 
and similar liquid waste.Pf 
12VAC5-421-180. Hand antiseptics. 

A. A hand antiseptic used as a topical application, a hand 
antiseptic solution used as a hand dip, or a hand antiseptic 
soap shall: 

1. Comply with one of the following: 
a. Be an approved drug that is listed in the FDA 
publication "Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic 
Equivalence Evaluations," 34th Edition, 2014, (U.S. 
Food and Drug Administration) as an approved drug 
based on safety and effectiveness;Pf or 
b. Have active antimicrobial ingredients that are listed in 
the FDA monograph for OTC (over the counter) Health-
Care Antiseptic Drug Products as an antiseptic 
handwash;Pf and 
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2. [ Comply Consist only of components which the 
intended use of each complies ] with one of the following: 

a. [ Have components that are exempted from the 
requirement of being listed in the federal Food Additive 
regulations as specified in 21 CFR 170.39 ] - Threshold 
of regulation for substances used in food-contact articles 
[ A threshold of regulation exemption under 21 CFR 
170.39 ];Pf [ or ]  
b. [ Comply with and be listed in (i) ] 21 CFR Part 178 - 
Indirect Food Additives: Adjuvants, Production Aids, 
and Sanitizers, as regulated for use as a food additive 
with conditions of safe use;Pf [ or ] 
[ (ii) c. A determination of generally recognized as safe 
(GRAS). Partial listings of substances with food uses that 
are GRAS may be found in ] 21 CFR Part 182 - 
Substances Generally Recognized as Safe, 21 CFR 184 - 
Direct Food Substances Affirmed as Generally 
Recognized as Safe, or 21 CFR Part 186 - Indirect Food 
Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe 
for use in contact with food [ and in FDA's Inventory of 
GRAS Notices;Pf [ and 
d. A prior sanction listed under 21 CFR 181;Pf or  
e. A Food Contact Notification that is effective;Pf and ]  

3. Be applied only to hands that are cleaned as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-140.Pf 

B. If a hand antiseptic or a hand antiseptic solution used as a 
hand dip does not meet the criteria specified in subdivision A 
2 of this section, use shall be: 

1. Followed by thorough hand rinsing in clean water before 
hand contact with food or by the use of gloves;Pf or 
2. Limited to situations that involve no direct contact with 
food by the bare hands.Pf 

C. A hand antiseptic solution used as a hand dip shall be 
maintained clean and at a strength equivalent to 100 ppm 
(mg/l) chlorine or above.Pf 
12VAC5-421-190. Maintenance of fingernails.  

Food employees shall keep their fingernails trimmed, filed, 
and maintained so the edges and surfaces are cleanable and 
not rough.Pf Unless wearing intact gloves in good repair, a 
food employee shall not wear fingernail polish or artificial 
nails when working with exposed food.Pf 
12VAC5-421-200. Prohibition of jewelry.  

While preparing food, food employees shall not wear 
jewelry on their arms and hands. This section does not apply 
to a plain ring such as a wedding band. Except for a plain ring 
such as a wedding band, while preparing food, food 
employees shall not wear jewelry, including medical 
information jewelry on their arms and hands.  

12VAC5-421-210. Clean condition of outer clothing.  
Food employees shall wear clean outer clothing to prevent 

contamination of food, equipment, utensils, linens, and 
single-service and single-use articles.  

[ Article 4  
Hygienic Practices  

12VAC5-421-220. Eating, drinking, or using tobacco.  
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, an 

employee shall eat, drink, or use any form of tobacco only in 
designated areas where the contamination of exposed food; 
clean equipment, utensils, and linens; unwrapped single-
service and single-use articles; or other items needing 
protection cannot result.  

B. A food employee may drink from a closed beverage 
container with a straw if the container is handled to prevent 
contamination of:  

1. The employee's hands;  
2. The container; and  
3. Exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and 
unwrapped single-service and single-use articles. ] 

12VAC5-421-250. Handling of animals prohibited.  
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, food 

employees shall not care for or handle animals that may be 
present such as patrol dogs, support service animals, or pets 
that are allowed under 12VAC5-421-3310 B 2 through, 3, 
and 4.Pf 

B. Food employees with support service animals may handle 
or care for their support service animals and food employees 
may handle or care for fish in aquariums or molluscan 
shellfish or crustacea in display tanks if they wash their hands 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-140 and subdivision 3 of 
12VAC5-421-160. 
12VAC5-421-255. Clean-up of vomiting and diarrheal 
events. 

A food establishment shall have procedures for employees 
to follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal events 
that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter onto 
surfaces in the food establishment. The procedures shall 
address the specific actions employees must take to minimize 
the spread of contamination and the exposure of employees, 
consumers, food, and surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter.Pf 

Part III  
Food  

Article 1  
Characteristics  

12VAC5-421-260. Safe and unadulterated.  
Food shall be safe and unadulterated.Pf 
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Article 2  
Sources, Specifications, and Original Containers and Records  
12VAC5-421-270. Compliance with food law.  

A. Food shall be obtained from sources that comply with 
law.P 

B. Food prepared in a private home shall not be used or 
offered for human consumption in a food establishment 
unless the home kitchen is inspected and [ approved 
regulated ] by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services.P 

C. Packaged food shall be labeled as specified in law, 
including 21 CFR Part 101, Food Labeling;, 9 CFR Part 317, 
Labeling, Marking Devices, and Containers;, and Subpart N 
of 9 CFR Part 381, Subpart N-Labeling and Containers;, and 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-400 and 12VAC5-421-410.Pf 

D. Fish, other than molluscan shellfish, that are intended for 
consumption in their raw form and allowed as specified under 
12VAC5-421-700 D 1 may be offered for sale or service if 
they are obtained from a supplier that freezes the fish as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-730, or frozen on the premises 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-730, and records are retained 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-740. 

D. Fish, other than those specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B, 
that are intended for consumption in raw or undercooked 
form and allowed as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 D, may 
be offered for sale or service if they are obtained from a 
supplier that freezes fish as specified under 12VAC5-421-730 
A; or if they are frozen on premises as specified under 
12VAC5-421-730 A and records are retained as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-740.  

E. Whole-muscle, intact beef steaks that are intended for 
consumption in an undercooked form without a consumer 
advisory as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 C shall be: 

1. Obtained from a food processing plant that, upon request 
by the purchaser, packages the steaks and labels them to 
indicate that they meet the definition of whole-muscle, 
intact beef;Pf or 
2. Deemed acceptable by the regulatory authority based on 
other evidence, such as written buyer specifications or 
invoices, that indicates that the steaks meet the definition 
of whole-muscle, intact beef;Pf and 
3. If individually cut in a food establishment: 

a. Cut from whole-muscle intact beef that is labeled by a 
food processing plant as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection or identified as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection;Pf 
b. Prepared so they remain intact;Pf and 
c. If packaged for undercooking in a food establishment, 
labeled to indicate that they meet the definition of whole-
muscle, intact beef. as specified in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection or identified as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this subsection.Pf 

F. Meat and poultry that are not a ready-to-eat food and are 
in a packaged form when offered for sale or otherwise offered 
for consumption shall be labeled to include safe handling 
instructions as specified in law, including 9 CFR 317.2(l) and 
9 CFR 381.125(b). 

G. Shell eggs that have not been specifically treated to 
destroy all viable Salmonellae shall be labeled to include safe 
handling instructions as specified in law, including 21 CFR 
101.17(h). 
12VAC5-421-280. Food in a hermetically sealed container.  

Food in a hermetically sealed container shall be obtained 
from a food processing plant that is regulated by the food 
regulatory agency that has jurisdiction over the plant.P 
12VAC5-421-290. Fluid milk and milk products.  

Fluid milk and milk products shall be obtained from sources 
that comply with Grade A standards as specified in law.P 
12VAC5-421-295. Juice treated. 

Prepackaged juice shall:  
1. Be obtained from a processor with a HACCP system as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 120;Pf 
2. Be obtained pasteurized or otherwise treated to attain a 
five-log reduction of the most resistant microorganism of 
public health significance as specified in 21 CFR 120.24; 
or.P 
3. Bear a warning label as specified in 12VAC5-421-765 
and 21 CFR 101.17(g). 

12VAC5-421-300. Fish.  
A. Fish that are received for sale or service shall be: 

1. Commercially and legally caught or harvested;P or 
2. Approved for sale or service by a regulatory authority 
agency of competent jurisdiction.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish that are recreationally caught shall 
not be received for sale or service.P 
12VAC5-421-310. Molluscan shellfish.  

A. Molluscan shellfish shall be obtained from sources 
according to law and the requirements specified in the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, National Shellfish 
Sanitation Program Manual of Operations, Part II, Sanitation 
of the Harvesting, Processing and Distribution of Shellfish, 
1995 Revision (NSSP) Guide for the Control of Molluscan 
Shellfish, 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration).P 

B. Molluscan shellfish received in interstate commerce shall 
be from sources that are listed in the "Interstate Certified 
Shellfish Shippers List," updated monthly (U.S. Food and 
Drug Administration).P 
12VAC5-421-320. Wild mushrooms.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
mushroom species picked in the wild shall be obtained from 
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sources where each mushroom is individually inspected and 
found to be safe by an approved mushroom identification 
expert not be offered for sale or service by a food 
establishment unless the food establishment has been 
approved to do so.P 

B. This section does not apply to:  
1. Cultivated wild mushroom species that are grown, 
harvested, and processed in an operation that is regulated 
by the food regulatory agency that has jurisdiction over the 
operation; or  
2. Wild mushroom species if they are in packaged form 
and are the product of a food processing plant that is 
regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 
jurisdiction over the plant.  

12VAC5-421-330. Game animals.  
A. If game animals are received for sale or service they shall 

be: 
1. Commercially raised for food and: a. Raised raised, 
slaughtered, and processed under a voluntary inspection 
program that is conducted by the state agency that has 
animal health jurisdiction; or 

b. Under a routine inspection program conducted by a 
regulatory agency other than the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction; and 
c. Raised, slaughtered, and processed according to: 
(1) Laws governing meat and poultry as determined by 
the agency; and 
(2) Requirements that are developed by the agency that 
has animal health jurisdiction and the agency that 
conducts the inspection program with consideration of 
factors such as the need for antemortem and postmortem 
examination by an approved veterinarian or veterinarian's 
designee; 

2. Under under a voluntary inspection program 
administered by the USDA for game animals such as 
exotic animals including animals (reindeer, elk, deer, 
antelope, water buffalo, or bison) that are "inspected and 
approved" in accordance with 9 CFR Part 352, Exotic 
Animals; Voluntary Inspection, or rabbits that are 
"inspected and certified" in accordance with 9 CFR Part 
354, Voluntary Inspection of Rabbits and Edible Products 
Thereof; 
3. 2. As allowed by law, wild game animals that are live-
caught [ are ]: 

a. Under a routine inspection program conducted by a 
regulatory agency such as the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction;P 
b. Slaughtered and processed according to: 
(1) Laws governing meat and poultry as determined by 
the agency that has animal health jurisdiction and the 
agency that conducts the inspection program;P and 

(2) Requirements that are developed by the agency that 
has animal health jurisdiction and the agency that 
conducts the inspection program with consideration of 
factors such as the need for antemortem and postmortem 
examination by an approved veterinarian or veterinarian's 
designee;P or 

4. 3. As allowed by law for field-dressed wild game 
animals under a routine inspection program that ensures 
the animals: 

a. Receive a postmortem examination by an approved 
veterinarian or veterinarian's designee, or are 
b. Are field-dressed and transported according to 
requirements specified by the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the 
inspection programP and 
b. c. Are processed according to laws governing meat 
and poultry as determined by the agency that has animal 
health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the 
inspection program.P 

B. A game animal shall not be received for sale or service if 
it is a species of wildlife that is listed in 50 CFR Part 17, 
Endangered and Threatened Wildlife and Plants. 
12VAC5-421-340. Temperature.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
refrigerated, potentially hazardous food time/temperature 
control for safety food shall be at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) 
or below when received.P 

B. If a temperature other than 41°F (5°C) for a potentially 
hazardous food time/temperature control for safety food is 
specified in law governing its distribution, such as laws 
governing milk, and molluscan shellfish, and shell eggs, the 
food may be received at the specified temperature. 

C. Raw shell eggs shall be received in refrigerated 
equipment that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F 
(7°C) or less.P 

D. Potentially hazardous food [ time/temperature 
Time/temperature ] control for safety food that is cooked to a 
temperature and for a time specified under 12VAC5-421-700 
through, 12VAC5-421-710, and 12VAC5-421-720 and 
received hot shall be at a temperature of 135° (57°C) or 
above.P 

E. A food that is labeled frozen and shipped frozen by a 
food processing plant shall be received frozen.Pf 

F. Upon receipt, potentially hazardous food 
time/temperature control for safety food shall be free of 
evidence of previous temperature abuse.Pf 
12VAC5-421-350. Additives.  

Food shall not contain unapproved food additives or 
additives that exceed amounts allowed in 21 CFR Parts 170-
180 relating to food additives; generally recognized as safe 
(GRAS) or prior sanctioned substances that exceed amounts 
allowed in 21 CFR Parts 181-186; substances that exceed 
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amounts specified in 9 CFR 424.21(b), Subpart C, Approval 
of Substances for Use in the Preparation of Products; or 
pesticide residues that exceed provisions specified in 40 CFR 
Part 185 [ , ] Tolerances for Pesticides in Food [ , ] and 
exceptions.P 
12VAC5-421-360. Shell eggs Eggs. 

Shell eggs Eggs shall be received clean and sound and shall 
not exceed the restricted egg tolerances for U.S. Consumer 
Grade B as specified in United States Standards, Grades, and 
Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, AMS 56.200 et seq., 
administered by the Agricultural Marketing Service of 
USDA. Eggs sold pursuant to § 3.2-5305 of the Code of 
Virginia are exempt from the restricted egg tolerances for 
U.S. Consumer Grade B as specified in United States 
Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for Shell Eggs, AMS 
56, effective July 20, 2000, (Agricultural Marketing Service 
of USDA).P 
12VAC5-421-370. Eggs and milk products, pasteurized. 

A. Egg products shall be obtained pasteurized.P 
B. Fluid and dry milk and milk products shall: 

1. Be obtained pasteurized;P and 
2. Comply with Grade A standards as specified in law. 

C. Frozen milk products, such as ice cream, shall be 
obtained pasteurized in accordance with 21 CFR Part 135, 
Frozen Desserts.P 

D. Cheese shall be obtained pasteurized unless alternative 
procedures to pasteurization are provided for specified in the 
Code of Federal Regulations CFR, such as 21 CFR Part 133, 
Cheeses and Related Cheese Products, for curing certain 
cheese varieties.P  
12VAC5-421-380. Package integrity.  

Food packages shall be in good condition and protect the 
integrity of the contents so that the food is not exposed to 
adulteration or potential contaminants.Pf  
12VAC5-421-390. Ice.  

Ice for use as a food or a cooling medium shall be made 
from [ drinking pure ] water.P 
12VAC5-421-400. Shucked shellfish, packaging, and 
identification. 

A. Raw shucked shellfish shall be obtained in nonreturnable 
packages that bear a legible label that identifies the:Pf 

1. Name, address, and certification number of the shucker, 
packer, or repacker of the molluscan shellfish;Pf and  
2. The "sell by" or "best if used by" date for packages with 
a capacity of less than one-half gallon (1.87 (1.89 L) or the 
date shucked for packages with a capacity of one-half 
gallon (1.87 (1.89 L) or more.Pf 

B. A package of raw shucked shellfish that does not bear a 
label or which that bears a label which does not contain all 
the information as specified under subsection A of this 
section shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or 

seizure and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 
1240.60(d), Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions 
Regarding Interstate Shipments.  
12VAC5-421-410. Shellstock identification. 

A. Shellstock shall be obtained in containers bearing legible 
source identification tags or labels that are affixed by the 
harvester and each a dealer that depurates, ships, or reships 
the shellstock, as specified in the National Shellfish 
Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of 
Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration) and that list include the following 
information:Pf 

1. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
on the harvester's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order:  

a. The harvester's identification number that is assigned 
by the shellfish control authority, 
b. The date of harvesting,  
c. The most precise identification of the harvest location 
or aquaculture site that is practicable based on the system 
of harvest area designations that is in use by the shellfish 
control authority and including the abbreviation of the 
name of the state or country in which the shellfish are 
harvested,  
d. The type and quantity of shellfish, and  
e. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: 
"This tag is required to be attached until container is 
empty or retagged and thereafter kept on file for 90 
days"; and  

2. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, 
on each dealer's tag or label, the following information in 
the following order: 
a. 1. The dealer's name and address, and the certification 
number assigned by the shellfish control authority,.Pf  
b. 2. The original shipper's certification number including 
the abbreviation of the name of the state or country in 
which the shellfish are harvested, assigned by the shellfish 
control authority.Pf  
c. The same information as specified for a harvester's tag 
under subdivisions 1 b through d of this subsection, and 3. 
The harvest date, or if depurated, the date of depuration 
processing, or if wet stored, the original harvest date and 
the final harvest date.Pf  
4. If wet stored or depurated, the wet storage or depuration 
cycle or lot number. The wet storage lot number shall 
begin with the letter "w."Pf 
5. The harvest area, including the initials of the state of 
harvest.Pf 
6. The type and quantity of shellstock.Pf 
d. 7. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: 
"THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL 
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CONTAINER IS EMPTY AND THEREAFTER KEPT 
ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS."Pf  
8. All shellstock intended for raw consumption shall 
include a consumer advisory using the statement from 
12VAC5-421-930 C, or an equivalent statement.  

B. A container of shellstock that does not bear a tag or label 
or that bears a tag or label that does not contain all the 
information as specified under subsection A of this section 
shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 
and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 
Subpart D, Specific Administrative Decisions Regarding 
Interstate Shipments. 

C. If a place is provided on the harvester's tag or label for a 
dealer's name, address, and certification number, the dealer's 
information shall be listed first.  

D. If the harvester's tag or label is designed to accommodate 
each dealer's identification as specified under subdivisions A 
2 a and b of this section, individual dealer tags or labels need 
not be provided.  
12VAC5-421-430. Molluscan shellfish; original container. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and, C, and D of this 
section, molluscan shellfish shall not be removed from the 
container in which they were received other than immediately 
before sale or preparation for service. 

B. For display purposes, shellstock may be removed from 
the container in which they are received, displayed on drained 
ice, or held in a display container, and a quantity specified by 
a consumer may be removed from the display or display 
container and provided to the consumer if: 

1. The source of the shellstock on display is identified as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-410 and recorded as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-440; and 
2. The shellstock are protected from contamination. 

C. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and held in a display container 
from which individual servings are dispensed upon a 
consumer's request if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish on display as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-400 is retained and 
correlated to the date when, or dates during which, the 
shellfish are sold or served; and 
2. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 

D. Shucked shellfish may be removed from the container in 
which they were received and repacked in consumer self-
service containers where allowed by law if: 

1. The labeling information for the shellfish is on each 
consumer self-service container as specified under 
12VAC5-421-400 and 12VAC5-421-900 A and B 1 
through 5; 
2. The labeling information as specified under 12VAC5-
421-400 is retained and correlated with the date when, or 
dates during which, the shellfish are sold or served; 

3. The labeling information and dates specified under 
subdivision D 2 of this section are maintained for 90 days; 
and  
4. The shellfish are protected from contamination. 

12VAC5-421-440. Shellstock; maintaining identification.  
A. Except as specified under subdivision C 2 of this section, 

shellstock tags or labels shall remain attached to the container 
in which the shellstock are received until the container is 
empty.Pf 

B. The date when the last shellstock from the container is 
sold or served shall be recorded on the tag or label.Pf 

C. The identity of the source of shellfish shellstock that are 
sold or served shall be maintained by retaining shellstock tags 
or labels for 90 calendar days from the date that is recorded 
on the tag or label as specified in subsection B of this section, 
by:Pf 

1. Using an approved recordkeeping system that keeps the 
tags or labels in chronological order correlated to the date 
that is recorded on the tag or label, as specified under 
subsection B of this section;Pf and 
2. If shellstock are removed from its tagged or labeled 
container: 

a. Preserving source identification by using a 
recordkeeping system as specified under subdivision C 1 
of this section,Pf and 
b. Ensuring that shellstock from one tagged or labeled 
container are not commingled with shellstock from 
another container with different certification numbers, 
different harvest dates, or different growing areas as 
identified on the tag or label before being ordered by the 
consumer.Pf 

Article 3  
Protection from Contamination after Receiving  

12VAC5-421-450. Preventing contamination. 
A. Food employees shall wash their hands as specified under 

12VAC5-421-140. 
B. Except when washing fruits and vegetables as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-510 or as specified in subsection 
subsections D and E of this section, food employees shall not 
contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their bare hands and 
shall use suitable utensils such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, 
single-use gloves, or dispensing equipment.P 

C. Food employees shall minimize bare hand and arm 
contact with exposed food that is not in a ready-to-eat form.Pf 

D. Subsection B of this section does not apply to a food 
employee who contacts exposed, ready-to-eat food with bare 
hands at the time the ready-to-eat food is being added as an 
ingredient to food that: 

1. Contains a raw animal food and is to be cooked in the 
food establishment to heat all parts of the food to the 
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minimum temperatures specified in [ subsection A or B 
of ] 12VAC5-421-700 or [ in ] 12VAC5-421-710; or 
2. Does not contain a raw animal food but is to be cooked 
in the food establishment to heat all parts of the food to a 
temperature of at least 145°F (63°C). 

D. E. Food employees not serving a highly susceptible 
population may contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their 
bare hands if: 

1. The permit holder obtains prior approval from the 
regulatory authority; 
2. Written procedures are maintained in the food 
establishment and made available to the regulatory 
authority upon request that include: 

a. For each bare hand contact procedure, a listing of the 
specific ready-to-eat foods that are touched by bare 
hands.; 
b. Diagrams and other information showing that 
handwashing facilities, installed, located, equipped, and 
maintained as specified under 12VAC5-421-2230, 
12VAC5-421-2280, 12VAC5-421-2310, 12VAC5-421-
3020, 12VAC5-421-3030, and 12VAC5-421-3045 are in 
an easily accessible location and in close proximity to the 
work station where the bare hand contact procedure is 
conducted; 

3. A written employee health policy that details how the 
food establishment complies with 12VAC5-421-80, 
12VAC5-421-90, and 12VAC5-421-100 including: 

a. Documentation that the food employees and 
conditional employees acknowledge that they are 
informed to report information about their health and 
activities as they relate to gastrointestinal symptoms and 
diseases that are transmittable through food as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-80 A.; 
b. Documentation that food employees and conditional 
employees acknowledge their responsibilities as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-80 E and F,; and 
c. Documentation that the person in charge acknowledges 
the responsibilities as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 
B, C, and D, and 12VAC5-421-90 and 12VAC5-421-
100; 

4. Documentation that the food employees acknowledge 
that they have received training in: 

a. The risks of contacting the specific ready-to-eat foods 
with their bare hands,; 
b. Proper handwashing as specified under 12VAC5-421-
140,; 
c. When to wash their hands as specified under 12VAC5-
421-160,; 
d. Where to wash their hands as specified under 
12VAC5-421-170,; 

e. Proper fingernail maintenance as specified under 
12VAC5-421-190,; 
f. Prohibition of jewelry as specified under 12VAC5-
421-200,; and 
g. Good hygienic practices as specified under 12VAC5-
421-220 and 12VAC5-421-230; 

5. Documentation that hands are washed before food 
preparation and as necessary to prevent cross-
contamination by food employees as specified under 
12VAC5-421-130, 12VAC5-421-140, 12VAC5-421-160, 
and through 12VAC5-421-170 during all hours of 
operation when the specific ready-to-eat foods are 
prepared; 
6. Documentation that food employees contacting ready-
to-eat food with bare hands use two or more of the 
following control measures to provide additional 
safeguards to hazards associated with bare hand contact: 

a. Double handwashing,; 
b. Nail brushes,; 
c. A hand antiseptic after handwashing as specified under 
12VAC5-421-180,; 
d. Incentive programs such as paid sick leave that assist 
or encourage food employees not to work when they are 
ill,; or  
e. Other control measures approved by the regulatory 
authority; and 

7. Documentation that corrective action is taken when 
subdivision D subdivisions 1 through 6 of this section 
subsection are not followed. 

12VAC5-421-460. Preventing contamination when tasting. 
A food employee shall not use a utensil more than once to 

taste food that is to be sold or served.P 
12VAC5-421-470. Packaged and unpackaged food - 
separation, packaging, and segregation.  

A. Food shall be protected from cross contamination by:  
1. Separating Except as specified in subdivision 1 c of this 
subsection, separating raw animal foods during storage, 
preparation, holding, and display from:  

a. Raw ready-to-eat food including other raw animal food 
such as fish for sushi or molluscan shellfish, or other raw 
ready-to-eat food such as [ fruits and ] vegetables,P and  
b. Cooked ready-to-eat food;.P 
c. Frozen, commercially processed, and packaged raw 
animal food may be stored or displayed with or above 
frozen, commercially processed and packaged, ready-to-
eat food. 

2. Except when combined as ingredients, separating types 
of raw animal foods from each other such as beef, fish, 
lamb, pork, and poultry during storage, preparation, 
holding, and display by:  
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a. Using separate equipment for each type,P or arranging 
b. Arranging each type of food in equipment so that cross 
contamination of one type with another is prevented,P 
and  
b. c. Preparing each type of food at different times or in 
separate areas;P 

3. Cleaning equipment and utensils as specified under 
12VAC5-421-1780 A and sanitizing as specified under 
12VAC5-421-1900;  
4. Except as specified in subsection B of this section and 
12VAC5-421-810 B 2, storing the food in packages, 
covered containers, or wrappings;  
5. Cleaning hermetically sealed containers of food of 
visible soil before opening;  
6. Protecting food containers that are received packaged 
together in a case or overwrap from cuts when the case or 
overwrap is opened;  
7. Storing damaged, spoiled, or recalled food being held in 
the food establishment as specified under 12VAC5-421-
3150; and  
8. Separating fruits and vegetables, before they are washed 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-510 from ready-to-eat 
food.  

B. Subdivision A 4 of this section does not apply to:  
1. Whole, uncut, raw fruits and vegetables and nuts in the 
shell, that require peeling or hulling before consumption;  
2. Primal cuts, quarters, or sides of raw meat or slab bacon 
that are hung on clean, sanitized hooks or placed on clean, 
sanitized racks;  
3. Whole, uncut, processed meats such as country hams, 
and smoked or cured sausages that are placed on clean, 
sanitized racks;  
4. Food being cooled as specified under 12VAC5-421-810 
B 2; or  
5. Shellstock.  

12VAC5-421-480. Food storage containers; identified with 
common name of food.  

Working containers holding food or food ingredients that are 
removed from their original packages for use in the food 
establishment, such as cooking oils, flour, herbs, potato 
flakes, salt, spices, and sugar, shall be identified with the 
common name of the food (in English and the common 
language of the food workers) except that containers holding 
food that can be readily and unmistakably recognized such as 
dry pasta need not be identified. Except for containers 
holding food that can be readily and unmistakably recognized 
such as dry pasta, working containers holding food or food 
ingredients that are removed from their original packages for 
use in the food establishment, such as cooking oils, flour, 
herbs, potato flakes, salt, spices, and sugar shall be identified 
with the common name of the food.  

12VAC5-421-490. Pasteurized eggs; substitute for shell 
raw eggs for certain recipes and populations. 

Pasteurized eggs or egg products shall be substituted for raw 
shell eggs in the preparation of foods such as Caesar salad, 
hollandaise or [ bearnaise béarnaise ] sauce, mayonnaise, 
meringue, [ eggnog, ice cream, ] and egg-fortified beverages 
that are not:P 

1. Cooked as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 A 1 or 2;P or  
2. Included in 12VAC5-421-700 D.P 

12VAC5-421-500. Protection from unapproved additives.  
A. Food, as specified in 12VAC5-421-350, shall be 

protected from contamination that may result from the 
addition of: 

1. Unsafe or unapproved food or color additives;P and 
2. Unsafe or unapproved levels of approved food and color 
additives.P 

B. A food employee shall not: 
1. Apply sulfiting agents to fresh fruits and vegetables 
intended for raw consumption or to a food considered to be 
a good source of vitamin B1;P or 
2. Except for grapes, serve or sell food specified under 
subdivision B 1 of this section that is treated with sulfiting 
agents before receipt by the food establishment.P 

12VAC5-421-510. Washing fruits and vegetables.  
A. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be thoroughly washed in 

water to remove soil and other contaminants before being cut, 
combined with other ingredients, cooked, served, or offered 
for human consumption in ready-to-eat form except as 
specified in subsection B of this section and except that 
whole, raw fruits and vegetables that are intended for washing 
by the consumer before consumption need not be washed 
before they are sold. Except as specified in subsection B of 
this section and except for whole, raw fruits and vegetables 
that are intended for washing by the consumer before 
consumption, raw fruits and vegetables shall be thoroughly 
washed in water to remove soil and other contaminants before 
being cut, combined with other ingredients, cooked, served, 
or offered for human consumption in ready-to-eat form. 

B. Fruits and vegetables may be washed by using chemicals 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-3390.  

C. Devices used for onsite generation of chemicals meeting 
the requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.315 shall be used 
in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.Pf 
12VAC5-421-520. Ice used as exterior coolant, prohibited 
as ingredient.  

After use as a medium for cooling the exterior surfaces of 
food such as melons or fish, packaged foods such as canned 
beverages, or cooling coils and tubes of equipment, ice shall 
not be used as food.P 
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12VAC5-421-540. Food contact with equipment and 
utensils. 

Food shall only contact surfaces of: 
1. Equipment and utensils that are cleaned as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-1770 through 12VAC5-421-1870 [ , ] 
and sanitized as specified under 12VAC5-421-1880 
through [ 12VAC5-421-1885, ] 12VAC5-421-1890 and 
12VAC5-421-1900;P or 
2. Single-service and single-use articles.;P or 
3. Linens, such as cloth napkins, as specified under 
12VAC5-421-560 that are laundered as specified under 
12VAC5-421-1920 C.P 

12VAC5-421-550. In-use utensils, between-use storage.  
During pauses in food preparation or dispensing, food 

preparation and dispensing utensils shall be stored:  
1. Except as specified under subdivision 2 of this section, 
in the food with their handles above the top of the food and 
the container;  
2. In food that is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food with their handles 
above the top of the food within containers or equipment 
that can be closed, such as bins of sugar, flour, or 
cinnamon;  
3. On a clean portion of the food preparation table or 
cooking equipment only if the in-use utensil and the food-
contact surface of the food preparation table or cooking 
equipment are cleaned and sanitized at a frequency 
specified under 12VAC5-421-1780 and 12VAC5-421-
1890;  
4. In running water of sufficient velocity to flush 
particulates to the drain, if used with moist food such as ice 
cream or mashed potatoes;  
5. In a clean, protected location if the utensils, such as ice 
scoops, are used only with a food that is not potentially 
hazardous time/temperature control for safety food; or  
6. In a container of water if the water is maintained at a 
temperature of at least 135°F (57°C) and the container is 
cleaned at a frequency specified under 12VAC5-421-1780 
D 7.  

[ 12VAC5-421-560. Linens and napkins, use limitation.  
Linens and, such as cloth napkins, shall not be used in 

contact with food unless they are used to line a container for 
the service of foods and the linens and napkins are replaced 
each time the container is refilled for a new customer. ]  
12VAC5-421-570. Wiping cloths; used for one purpose use 
limitation. 

A. Cloths in-use for wiping food spills from tableware and 
carry-out containers that occur as food is being served shall 
be: 

1. Maintained dry; and 
2. Used for no other purpose. 

B. Cloths in-use for wiping counters and other equipment 
surfaces shall be: 

1. Held between uses in a chemical sanitizer solution at a 
concentration specified in 12VAC5-421-3380; and 
2. Laundered daily as specified under 12VAC5-421-1920 
D. 

C. Cloths in-use for wiping surfaces in contact with raw 
animal foods shall be kept separate from other cloths used for 
other purposes. 

D. Dry wiping cloths and the chemical sanitizing solutions 
specified in subdivision B 1 of this section in which wet 
wiping cloths are held between uses shall be free of food 
debris and visible soil. 

E. Containers of chemical sanitizing solutions specified in 
subdivision B 1 of this section in which wet wiping cloths are 
held between uses shall be stored off the floor and used in a 
manner that prevents contamination of food, equipment, 
utensils, linens, single-service, or single-use articles. 

F. Single-use disposable sanitizer wipes shall be used in 
accordance with EPA-approved manufacturer's label use 
instructions. 
12VAC5-421-580. Gloves; use limitation.  

A. If used, single-use gloves shall be used for only one task 
such as working with ready-to-eat food or with raw animal 
food, used for no other purpose, and discarded when damaged 
or soiled, or when interruptions occur in the operation.P 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, slash-
resistant gloves that are used to protect the hands during 
operations requiring cutting shall be used in direct contact 
only with food that is subsequently cooked as specified under 
12VAC5-421-700 through 12VAC5-421-760 such as frozen 
food or a primal cut of meat.  

C. Slash-resistant gloves may be used with ready-to-eat food 
that will not be subsequently cooked if the slash-resistant 
gloves have a smooth, durable, and nonabsorbent outer 
surface; or if the slash-resistant gloves are covered with a 
smooth, durable, nonabsorbent glove, or a single-use glove.  

D. Cloth gloves shall not be used in direct contact with food 
unless the food is subsequently cooked as required under 
12VAC5-421-700 through 12VAC5-421-760 such as frozen 
food or a primal cut of meat.  
12VAC5-421-600. Refilling returnables.  

[ A. Except as specified in subsections B through E of this 
section, empty containers returned to a food establishment for 
cleaning and refilling with food shall be cleaned and refilled 
in a regulated food processing plant.P  

A. B. ] A take-home food container returned to a food 
establishment [ shall not may ] be refilled at a food 
establishment with a potentially hazardous [ time/temperature 
control for safety ] food [ . if the food container is: 
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1. Designed and constructed for reuse and in accordance 
with the requirements specified in 12VAC5-421-960 
through 12VAC5-421-1435;P 
2. One that was initially provided by the food 
establishment to the consumer, either empty or filled with 
food by the establishment, for the purpose of being 
returned for reuse;  
3. Returned to the food establishment by the consumer 
after use;  
4. Subject to the following steps before being refilled with 
food;  

a. Cleaned as specified in 12VAC5-421-1770 through 
12VAC5-421-1860, 
b. Sanitized as specified in 12VAC5-421-1885, 
12VAC5-421-1890, and 12VAC5-421-1900;P and  
c. Visually inspected by a food employee to verify that 
the container, as returned, meets the requirements 
specified in 12VAC5-421-960 through 12VAC5-421-
1435;P and  

C. A take-home food container returned to a food 
establishment may be refilled at a food establishment with 
beverage if:  

1. The beverage is not a time/temperature control for safety 
food;  
2. The design of the container, the rinsing equipment, and 
the nature of the beverage, when considered together, 
allow effective cleaning at home or in the food 
establishment;  
3. Facilities before rinsing or refilling returned containers 
with fresh, hot water that is under pressure and not 
recirculated are provided as part of the dispensing system;  
4. The consumer-owned container returned to the food 
establishment for refilling is refilled for sale or service 
only to the same consumer; and  
5. The container is refilled by:  

a. An employee of the food establishment; or 
b. The owner of the container if the beverage system 
includes a contamination-free transfer process as 
specified in subdivisions 1, 2, and 4 of 12VAC5-421-
1230. ]  

[ B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, a 
take-home food container refilled with food that is not ] 
potentially hazardous [ time/temperature control for safety 
food shall be cleaned as specified under 12VAC5-421-1870.  

C. Personal D. Consumer-owned, personal ] take-out 
beverage containers, such as thermally insulated bottles, 
nonspill coffee cups, and promotional beverage glasses, may 
be refilled by employees or the consumer if refilling is a 
contamination-free process as specified under subdivisions 1, 
2, and 4 of 12VAC5-421-1230.  

[ E. Consumer-owned containers that are not food-specific 
may be filled at a water vending machine or system. ]  
12VAC5-421-630. Vended potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food; original 
container.  

Potentially hazardous Time/temperature control for safety 
food dispensed through a vending machine shall be in the 
package in which it was placed at the food establishment or 
food processing plant at which it was prepared.  
12VAC5-421-650. Food display.  

Except for nuts in the shell and whole, raw fruits and 
vegetables that are intended for hulling, peeling, or washing 
by the consumer before consumption, food on display shall be 
protected from contamination by the use of packaging; 
counter, service line, or salad bar food guards; display cases; 
or other effective means.P  
12VAC5-421-670. Consumer self-service operations.  

A. Raw, unpackaged animal food, such as beef, lamb, pork, 
poultry, and fish shall not be offered for consumer self-
service.P This subsection does not apply to: 

1. Consumer self-service of ready-to-eat foods at buffets or 
salad bars that serve foods such as sushi or raw shellfish; 
2. Ready-to-cook individual portions for immediate 
cooking and consumption on the premises such as 
consumer-cooked meats or consumer-selected ingredients 
for Mongolian barbecue; or 
3. Raw, frozen, shell-on shrimp or lobster. 

B. Consumer self-service operations for ready-to-eat foods 
shall be provided with suitable utensils or effective 
dispensing methods that protect the food from 
contamination.Pf 

C. Consumer self-service operations such as buffets and 
salad bars shall be monitored by food employees trained in 
safe operating procedures.Pf 
12VAC5-421-680. Returned food and reservice of food. 

A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 
after being served or sold and in the possession of a 
consumer, food that is unused or returned by the consumer 
shall not be offered as food for human consumption.P 

B. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of 12VAC5-421-950, 
a container of food that is not potentially hazardous 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food may be re-served from one consumer 
to another if:  

1. The food is dispensed so that it is protected from 
contamination and the container is closed between uses 
such as a narrow-neck bottle containing catsup, steak 
sauce, or wine; or  
2. The food, such as crackers, salt, or pepper, is in an 
unopened original package and maintained in sound 
condition.  
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Article 4  
Destruction of Organisms of Public Health Concern  

12VAC5-421-700. Raw animal foods.  
A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, raw animal foods such as eggs, fish, meat, poultry, 
and foods containing these raw animal foods shall be cooked 
to heat all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time 
that complies with one of the following methods based on the 
food that is being cooked:  

1. 145°F (63°C) or above for 15 seconds for:P 
a. Raw shell eggs that are broken and prepared in 
response to a consumer's order and for immediate 
service;P and  
b. Except as specified under subdivisions A 2 and 3 and 
subsection subsections B and C of this section, fish and 
meat, including game animals commercially raised for 
food as specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 1 and game 
animals under a voluntary inspection program as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 2 1;P  

2. 155°F (68°C) for 15 seconds or the temperature 
specified in the following chart that corresponds to the 
holding time for ratites and injected meats, mechanically 
tenderized meats, and injected meats; the following if they 
are comminuted: fish, meat, game animals commercially 
raised for food as specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 1, 
and game animals under a voluntary inspection program as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 2 1; and raw eggs that 
are not prepared as specified under subdivision 1 a of this 
subsection:P  

Minimum 

Temperature 
°F (°C) Time 

145 (63) 3 minutes 

150 (66) 1 minute 

158 (70) <1 second (instantaneous) 

3. 165°F (74°C) or above for 15 seconds for poultry, 
[ baluts, ] wild game animals as specified under 12VAC5-
421-330 A 3 2, stuffed fish, stuffed meat, stuffed pasta, 
stuffed poultry, stuffed ratites, or stuffing containing fish, 
meat, or poultry, or ratites.P 

B. Whole meat roasts including beef, corned beef, lamb, 
pork, and cured pork roasts such as ham shall be cooked: 

1. In an oven that is preheated to the temperature specified 
for the roast's weight in the following chart and that is held 
at that temperature;Pf and  

Oven Type Oven Temperature Based on Roast 
Weight 

  Less than 10 
lbs (4.5 kg) 

10 lbs (4.5 kg) or 
more 

Still Dry 
350°F 
(177°C) or 
more 

250°F (121°C) or 
more 

Convection 
325°F 
(163°C) or 
more 

250°F (121°C) or 
more 

High 
Humidity1 

250°F 
(121°C) or 
less 

250°F (121°C) or 
less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least 1 one 
hour as measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the 
oven; or in a moisture-impermeable bag that provides 
100% humidity. 

2. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of 
the food to a temperature and for the holding time that 
corresponds to that temperature.P  

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 

in 
Minutes 

Temperature 
°F (°C) 

Time1 in 
Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8     

144 (62.2) 5     

145 (62.8) 4     
1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

C. A raw or undercooked whole-muscle, intact beef steak 
may be served or offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if:  

1. The food establishment serves a population that is not a 
highly susceptible population;  
2. The steak is labeled, as specified under 12VAC5-421-
270 E, to indicate that it meets the definition of "whole-
muscle, intact beef"; and  
3. The steak is cooked on both the top and bottom to a 
surface temperature of 145°F (63°C) or above and a 
cooked color change is achieved on all external surfaces.  

D. A raw animal food such as raw egg, raw fish, raw-
marinated fish, raw molluscan shellfish, or steak tartare, or a 
partially cooked food such as lightly cooked fish, soft cooked 
eggs, or rare meat other than whole-muscle, intact beef steaks 
as specified in subsection C of this section, may be served or 
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offered for sale [ upon request or consumer selection ] in a 
ready-to-eat form if:  

1. (i) As specified under subdivisions 3 a and b of 
12VAC5-421-950 the food establishment serves a 
population that is not a highly susceptible population and 
(ii) the;  
2. The food, if served or offered for service by consumer 
selection from a children's menu, does not contain 
comminuted meat;Pf and 
3. The consumer is informed as specified under 12VAC5-
421-930 that to ensure its safety, the food should be 
cooked as specified under subsections subsection A or B of 
this section; or 
2. 4. The regulatory authority grants a variance from 
subsection A or B of this section as specified in 12VAC5-
421-3570 based on a HACCP plan that:  

a. Is submitted by the permit holder and approved as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-3570;  
b. Documents scientific data or other information that 
shows that a lesser time and temperature regimen results 
in a safe food; and  
c. Verifies that equipment and procedures for food 
preparation and training of food employees at the food 
establishment meet the conditions [ of the variance ].  

12VAC5-421-710. Microwave cooking.  
Raw animal foods cooked in a microwave oven shall be:  

1. Rotated or stirred throughout or midway during cooking 
to compensate for uneven distribution of heat; 
2. Covered to retain surface moisture; 
3. Heated to a temperature of at least 165°F (74°C) in all 
parts of the food;P and  
4. Allowed to stand covered for two minutes after cooking 
to obtain temperature equilibrium.  

12VAC5-421-720. Plant food cooking for hot holding.  
Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding shall 

be cooked to a temperature of 135°F (57°C).Pf 
12VAC5-421-725. Noncontinuous cooking. 

Raw animal foods that are cooked using a noncontinuous 
cooking process shall be: 

1. Subject to an initial heating process that is no longer 
than 60 minutes in duration;P 
2. Immediately after initial heating, cooled according to the 
time and temperature requirements specified for cooked 
time/temperature control for safety food under 12VAC5-
421-800 A;P 
3. After cooling, held frozen or cold, as specified for 
time/temperature control for safety food under 12VAC5-
421-820 A 2;P 

4. Prior to sale or service, cooked using a process that heats 
all parts of the food to a temperature [ and for a time ] as 
designated in 12VAC5-421-700 A, B, and C;P 
5. Cooled according to the time and temperature 
parameters specified for cooked time/temperature control 
for safety food under 12VAC5-421-800 A if not [ either ] 
hot held as specified under 12VAC5-421-820 A 1, served 
immediately, or held using time as a public health control 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-850 after complete 
[ cooking cooling ];P and  
6. Prepared and stored according to written procedures 
that: 

a. Have obtained prior approval from the regulatory 
authority;Pf  
b. Are maintained in the food establishment and are made 
available to the regulatory authority upon request;Pf 
c. Describe how the requirements specified under 
subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section are to be 
monitored and documented by the permit holder and the 
corrective actions to be taken if the requirements are not 
met;Pf 
d. Describe how the foods, after initial heating, but prior 
to complete [ cooling cooking ], are to be marked or 
otherwise identified as foods that must be cooked as 
specified under subdivision 4 of this section prior to 
being offered for sale or service;Pf and 
e. Describe how the foods, after initial heating but prior 
to cooking as specified in subdivision 4 of this section, 
are to be separated from ready-to-eat foods as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-470 A.Pf 

12VAC5-421-730. Parasite destruction. 
A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 

service or sale in ready-to-eat form, raw, raw-marinated, 
partially cooked or marinated-partially cooked fish shall be: 

1. Frozen and stored at a temperature of -4°F (-20°C) or 
below for a minimum of 168 hours (seven days) in a 
freezer;P 
2. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -31°F (-35°C) or below for a minimum of 15 hours;P or 
3. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored 
at -4°F (-20°C) or below for a minimum of 24 hours.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to: 
1. Molluscan shellfish, including the shucked adductor 
muscle of scallops; 
2. Tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, Thunnus 
albacares (Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, Thunnus 
maccoyii (Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus 
(Bigeye tuna), or Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin, Northern); or 
3. Aquacultured fish, such as salmon, that: 

a. If raised in open water, are raised in net-pens; or  
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b. Are raised in land-based operations such as ponds or 
tanks; and 
c. Are fed formulated feed, such as pellets, that contains 
no live parasites infective to the aquacultured fish., or 

4. Fish eggs that have been removed from the skein and 
rinsed. 

12VAC5-421-740. Records, creation and retention. 
A. Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B and 

subsection B of this section, if raw, marinated, raw-
marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-partially cooked 
fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, the person in 
charge shall record the freezing temperature and time to 
which the fish are subjected and shall retain the records at the 
food establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of 
service or sale of the fish.Pf 

B. If the fish are frozen by a supplier, a written agreement or 
statement from the supplier stipulating that the fish supplied 
are frozen to a temperature and for a time specified under 
12VAC5-421-730 may substitute for the records specified 
under subsection A of this section.  

C. If raw, raw-marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-
partially cooked fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, 
and the fish are raised and fed as specified in 12VAC5-421-
730 B 3, a written agreement or statement from the supplier 
or aquaculturist stipulating that the fish were raised and fed as 
specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B 3 shall be obtained by the 
person in charge and retained in the records of the food 
establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of service 
or sale of the fish.Pf 
 [ 12VAC5-421-755. Preparation for immediate service. 

Cooked and refrigerated food that is prepared for immediate 
service in response to an individual consumer order, such as a 
roast beef sandwich au jus, may be served at any 
temperature. ]  
12VAC5-421-760. Reheating for hot holding. 

A. Except as specified under subsections B, C, and E of this 
section, potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control 
for safety food) time/temperature control for safety food that 
is cooked, cooled, and reheated for hot holding shall be 
reheated so that all parts of the food reach at least 165°F 
(74°C) for 15 seconds.P 

B. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) time/temperature control for safety food reheated 
in a microwave oven for hot holding shall be reheated so that 
all parts of the food reach a temperature of at least 165°F 
(74°C) and the food is rotated or stirred, covered, and allowed 
to stand covered two minutes after reheating.P 

C. Ready-to-eat [ time/temperature control for safety ] food 
[ taken from a that has been ] commercially processed [ , 
hermetically sealed container, or from an intact package from 
and packaged in ] a food processing plant that is inspected by 

the [ food ] regulatory authority that has jurisdiction over the 
plant [ , ] shall be heated to a temperature of at least 135°F 
(57°C) [ when being reheated ] for hot holding.P 

D. Reheating for hot holding as specified under subsections 
A through, B, and C of this section shall be done rapidly and 
the time the food is between 41°F (5°C) and the temperatures 
specified under subsections A through, B, and C of this 
section may not exceed two hours.P 

E. Remaining unsliced portions of meat roasts that are 
cooked as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 B may be 
reheated for hot holding using the oven parameters and 
minimum time and temperature conditions specified under 
12VAC5-421-700 B.  

Article 5  
Limitation of Growth of Organisms of Public Health Concern  
12VAC5-421-765. Treating juice. 

Juice packaged in a food establishment shall be: 
1. Treated under a HACCP plan as specified in 
subdivisions 2 through 5 of 12VAC5-421-3630 to attain a 
five-log reduction, which is equal to a 99.999% reduction, 
of the most resistant microorganism of public health 
significance;P or  
2. Labeled, if not treated to yield a five-log reduction of the 
most resistant microorganism of public health 
significance:Pf 

a. As specified under 12VAC5-421-900;Pf and  
b. As specified in 21 CFR 101.17(g) with the [ phrase 
following ], "WARNING: This product has not been 
pasteurized and, therefore, may contain harmful bacteria 
that can cause serious illness in children, the elderly, and 
persons with weakened immune systems."Pf 

12VAC5-421-780. Potentially hazardous 
Time/temperature control for safety food, slacking. 

Frozen potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control 
for safety food) time/temperature control for safety food that 
is slacked to moderate the temperature shall be held:  

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less; or  
2. At any temperature if the food remains frozen.  

12VAC5-421-790. Thawing. 
A. Except as specified in subdivision 4 of this section 

subsection, potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 
control for safety food) time/temperature control for safety 
food shall be thawed: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature 
at 41°F (5°C) or less; or 
2. Completely submerged under running water: 

a. At a water temperature of 70°F (21°C) or below; 
b. With sufficient water velocity to agitate and float off 
loose particles in an overflow; and 
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c. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of ready-to-eat food to rise above 41°F (5°C); or 
d. For a period of time that does not allow thawed 
portions of a raw animal food requiring cooking as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-700 A or B to be above 
41°F (5°C) for more than four hours including: 
(1) The time the food is exposed to the running water and 
the time needed for preparation for cooking; or 
(2) The time it takes under refrigeration to lower the food 
temperature to 41°F (5°C); 

3. As part of a cooking process if the food that is frozen is: 
a. Cooked as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 A or B or 
12VAC5-421-710; or 
b. Thawed in a microwave oven and immediately 
transferred to conventional cooking equipment, with no 
interruption in the process; or 

4. Using any procedure if a portion of frozen ready-to-eat 
food is thawed and prepared for immediate service in 
response to an individual consumer's order. 

B. Reduced oxygen packaged fish that bears a label 
indicating that it is to be kept frozen until time of use shall be 
removed from the reduced oxygen environment: 

1. Prior to its thawing under refrigeration as specified 
[ under in ] subdivision A 1 of this section. 
2. Prior to, or immediately upon completion of, its thawing 
using procedures specified in subdivision A 2 of this 
section. 

12VAC5-421-800. Cooling. 
A. Cooked potentially hazardous food (time/temperature 

controlled for safety food) time/temperature control for safety 
food shall be cooled: 

1. Within two hours, from 135°F (57°C) to 70°F (21°C);P 
and 
2. Within a total of six hours from 135°F (57°C) to 41°F 
(5°C) or less.P 

B. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) Time/temperature control for safety food shall be 
cooled within four hours to 41°F (5°C) or less if prepared 
from ingredients at ambient temperature, such as 
reconstituted foods and canned tuna.P 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, a 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) time/temperature control for safety food received 
in compliance with laws allowing a temperature above 41°F 
(5°C) during shipment from the supplier as specified in 
12VAC5-421-340 B, shall be cooled within four hours to 
41°F (5°C) or less.P 

D. Raw shell eggs shall be received as specified under 
12VAC5-421-340 C and immediately placed in refrigerated 
equipment that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F 
(7°C) or less.P 

12VAC5-421-810. Cooling methods.  
A. Cooling shall be accomplished in accordance with the 

time and temperature criteria specified under 12VAC5-421-
800 by using one or more of the following methods based on 
the type of food being cooled:  

1. Placing the food in shallow pans;Pf 
2. Separating the food into smaller or thinner portions;Pf 
3. Using rapid cooling equipment;Pf 
4. Stirring the food in a container placed in an ice water 
bath;Pf 
5. Using containers that facilitate heat transfer;Pf  
6. Adding ice as an ingredient;Pf or  
7. Other effective methods.Pf  

B. When placed in cooling or cold holding equipment, food 
containers in which food is being cooled shall be:  

1. Arranged in the equipment to provide maximum heat 
transfer through the container walls; and  
2. Loosely covered, or uncovered if protected from 
overhead contamination as specified under 12VAC5-421-
610 A 2, during the cooling period to facilitate heat 
transfer from the surface of the food.  

12VAC5-421-820. Potentially hazardous 
Time/temperature control for safety food; hot and cold 
holding. 

A. Except during preparation, cooking, or cooling, or when 
time is used as the public health control as specified under 
12VAC5-421-850 [and except as specified in subsections B 
and C of this section], potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food shall be maintained: 

1. At 135°F (57°C) or above, except that roasts cooked to a 
temperature and for a time specified under 12VAC5-421-
700 B or reheated as specified in 12VAC5-421-760 E may 
be held at a temperature of 130°F (54°C) or above;P or 
2. At 41°F (5°C) or less.P 

B. Shell eggs Eggs that have not been treated to destroy all 
viable Salmonellae shall be stored in refrigerated equipment 
that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F (7°C) or 
less.P 

C. Potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) Time/temperature control for safety food in a 
homogenous liquid form may be maintained outside the 
temperature control requirements, as specified in subsection 
A of this section, while contained within specially designed 
equipment that complies with the design and construction 
requirements as specified under subdivision 5 of 12VAC5-
421-1230.P 
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12VAC5-421-830. Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
food time/temperature control for safety food; date 
marking. 

A. Except when packaging food using a reduced oxygen 
packaging method as specified under 12VAC5-421-870, and 
except as specified in subsections D and E of this section, 
refrigerated ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food prepared and held in a food 
establishment for more than 24 hours shall be clearly marked 
to indicate the date or day by which the food shall be 
consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded when held at a 
temperature of 41°F (5°C) or less for a maximum of seven 
days. The day of preparation shall be counted as day 1.Pf 

B. Except as specified in subsections D through, E, and F of 
this section, refrigerated ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature control for safety food) 
time/temperature control for safety food prepared and 
packaged by a food processing plant shall be clearly marked 
at the time the original container is opened in a food 
establishment and if the food is held for more than 24 hours, 
to indicate the date or day by which the food shall be 
consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded, based on the 
temperature and time combinations specified in subsection A 
of this section and:Pf 

1. The day the original container is opened in the food 
establishment shall be counted as day 1;Pf and 
2. The day or date marked by the food establishment shall 
not exceed a manufacturer's use-by "use by" date if the 
manufacturer determined the use-by "use by" date based on 
food safety.Pf 

C. A refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food ingredient or a portion of a 
refrigerated, ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food that is subsequently combined with 
additional ingredients or portions of food shall retain the date 
marking of the earliest-prepared or first-prepared ingredient.Pf 

D. A date marking system that meets the criteria specified in 
subsections A and B of this section may include: 

1. Using a method approved by the regulatory authority for 
refrigerated, ready-to-eat potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food that is frequently rewrapped, such 
as lunchmeat or a roast, or for which date marking is 
impractical, such as soft-serve mix or milk in a dispensing 
machine; 
2. Marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure 
to discard the food on or before the last date or day by 
which the food must be consumed on the premises, sold, or 
discarded as specified in subsection A of this section; 

3. Marking the date or day the original container is opened 
in a food establishment, with a procedure to discard the 
food on or before the last date of or day by which the food 
must be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded as 
specified under subsection B of this section; or 
4. Using calendar dates, days of the week, color-coded 
marks, or other effective marking methods, provided that 
the marking system is disclosed to the regulatory authority 
upon request. 

E. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
individual meal portions served or repackaged for sale from a 
bulk container upon a consumer's request. 

F. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 
shellstock. 

F. G. Subsection B of this section does not apply to the 
following foods prepared and packaged by a food processing 
plant inspected by a regulatory authority: 

1. Deli salads, such as ham salad, seafood salad, chicken 
salad, egg salad, pasta salad, potato salad, and macaroni 
salad, manufactured in accordance with 21 CFR Part 110 
Current good manufacturing practice in manufacturing, 
packing or holding food; 
2. Hard cheeses containing not more than 39% moisture as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 133 Cheeses and related cheese 
products, such as cheddar, gruyere, parmesan and 
reggiano, and romano; 
3. Semi-soft cheese containing more than 39% moisture, 
but not more than 50% moisture, as defined in 21 CFR Part 
133 Cheeses and cheese related products, such as blue, 
edam, gorgonzola, gouda, and monterey jack; 
4. Cultured dairy products as defined in 21 CFR Part 131 
Milk and cream, such as yogurt, sour cream, and 
buttermilk; 
5. Preserved fish products, such as pickled herring and 
dried or salted cod, and other acidified fish products as 
defined in 21 CFR Part 114 Acidified foods; 
6. Shelf stable, dry fermented sausages, such as pepperoni 
and Genoa salami that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" 
as specified in 9 CFR Part 317 Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers, and that retain the original casing on the 
product; and 
7. Shelf stable salt-cured products such as prosciutto and 
Parma (ham) that are not labeled "Keep Refrigerated" as 
specified in 9 CFR Part 317 Labeling, marking devices, 
and containers. 

12VAC5-421-840. Ready-to-eat, potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food; disposition.  

A. A food specified under 12VAC5-421-830 A or B shall be 
discarded if it: 

1. Exceeds either of the temperature and time 
[ combinations combination ] specified in 12VAC5-421-
830 A, except time that the product is frozen;P 
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2. Is in a container or package that does not bear a date or 
day;P or  
3. Is [ appropriately inappropriately ] marked with a date or 
day that exceeds a temperature and time combination as 
specified in 12VAC5-421-830 A.P 

 [ B. Refrigerated, ready-to-eat, time/temperature control for 
safety food prepared in a food establishment and dispensed 
through a vending machine with an automatic shutoff control 
shall be disgarded if it exceeds a temperature and time 
combination as specified in 12VAC5-421-830 A.P ] 
12VAC5-421-850. Time as a public health control. 

A. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, if 
time without temperature control is used as the public health 
control for a working supply of potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food before cooking or for ready-to-eat 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) time/temperature control for safety food that is 
displayed or held for sale or service, written procedures shall 
be prepared in advance, maintained in the food establishment, 
and made available to the regulatory authority upon request 
that specify:Pf 

1. Methods of compliance with subdivisions B 1 through, 
2, and 3 or C 1 through 5 of this section;Pf and  
2. Methods of compliance with 12VAC5-421-800 for food 
that is prepared, cooked, and refrigerated before time is 
used as a public health control.Pf 

B. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of four hours: 

[ 1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F 
(5°C) or less when removed from cold holding temperature 
control or 135°F (57°C) or greater when removed from hot 
holding temperature control;P  
1. 2. ] The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate the time that is four hours past the point in time 
when the food is removed from temperature control;P 
[ 2. 3. ] The food shall be cooked and served, served at any 
temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded, within four hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
temperature control;P and 
[ 3. 4. ] The food in unmarked containers or packages, or 
marked to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded.P 

C. If time without temperature control is used as the public 
health control up to a maximum of six hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41ºF (5ºC) 
or less when removed from temperature control and the 
food temperature may not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) within a 
maximum time period of six hours;P 
2. The food shall be monitored to ensure the warmest 
portion of the food does not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) during the 
six-hour period, unless an ambient air temperature is 

maintained that ensures the food does not exceed 70ºF 
(21ºC) during the six-hour holding period;P 
3. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 
indicate:Pf 

a. The time when the food is removed from 41ºF (5ºC) or 
less cold-holding temperature control,Pf and 
b. The time that is six hours past the point in time when 
the food is removed from 41ºF (5ºC) or less cold-holding 
temperature control;Pf 

4. The food shall be: 
a. Discarded if the temperature of the foods exceeds 70ºF 
(21ºC);P or 
b. Cooked and served, served at any temperature if 
ready-to-eat, or discarded within a maximum of six hours 
from the point in time when the food is removed from 
41ºF (5ºC) or less cold-holding temperature control;P and 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or 
marked with a time that exceeds the six-hour limit shall be 
discarded.P 

D. A food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population may not use time as specified under subsections 
subsection A, B, or C of this section as the public health 
control for raw eggs. 
12VAC5-421-860. Variance requirement. 

A food establishment shall obtain a variance from the 
regulatory authority as specified in 12VAC5-421-3570 and 
12VAC5-421-3580 before:Pf 

1. Smoking food as a method of food preservation rather 
than as a method of flavor enhancement; Pf  
2. Curing food;Pf  
3. Using food additives or adding components such as 
vinegar:Pf  

a. As a method of food preservation rather than as a 
method of flavor enhancement;Pf or  
b. To render a food so that it is not potentially hazardous 
a time/temperature control for safety food; Pf 

4. Packaging time/temperature control for safety food 
using a reduced oxygen packaging method except as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-870 where a barrier to 
Clostridium botulinum in addition to refrigeration exists 
where the growth of and toxin formation by Clostridium 
botulinum and the growth of Listeria monocytogenes are 
controlled as specified under 12VAC5-421-870;Pf  
5. Operating a molluscan shellfish life-support system 
display tank used to store [ and or ] display shellfish that 
are offered for human consumption;Pf  
6. Custom processing animals that are for personal use as 
food and not for sale or service in a food establishment;Pf  
7. Sprouting seeds or beans;Pf or 
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8. Preparing food by another method that is determined by 
the regulatory authority to require a variance.Pf 

12VAC5-421-870. Reduced oxygen packaging; without a 
variance, criteria. 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-860 [ and except as specified 
under subsections C and E of this section ], a food 
establishment that packages potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food using a reduced oxygen packaging 
method shall [ ensure that there are at least two barriers in 
place to ] control the growth and toxin formation of 
Clostridium botulinum and the growth of Listeria 
monocytogenes.P 

B. A Except as specified under subsection F of this section, 
a food establishment that packages potentially hazardous food 
(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food using a reduced oxygen method shall 
have a HACCP plan that contains the following information 
specified under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 
D:Pf 

1. Identifies food to be packaged;Pf 
2. Except as specified in subsections C and E and as 
specified in subsection D of this section, requires that the 
packaged food shall be maintained at 41°F (5°C) or less 
and meet at least one of the following criteria:Pf 

a. Has an Aw of 0.91 or less,Pf 
b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less,Pf 
c. Is a meat or poultry product cured as at a food 
processing plant regulated by the USDA using 
substances specified in 9 CFR 424.21, Use of food 
ingredients and sources of radiation, and is received in an 
intact package,Pf or 
d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms 
such as raw meat or, raw poultry;, or raw vegetables 
[ .; ]Pf 

3. Describes how the package shall be prominently and 
conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in 
bold type on a contrasting background, with instructions 
to:Pf 

a. Maintain food at 41°F (5°C) or below,Pf and  
b. Discard the food if within 14 30 calendar days of its 
packaging [ if ] it [ is ] not served for on-premises 
consumption, or consumed if served or sold for off-
premises consumption;Pf 

4. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 14 30 
calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 
time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 
manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 
first;P 

5. Includes operational procedures that: 
a. Prohibit contacting [ ready-to-eat ] food with bare 
hands [ as specified in 12VAC5-421-450 B ],Pf 
b. Identify a designated work area and the method by 
which:Pf 
(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw 
foods and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross 
contamination,Pf and 
(2) Access to the processing equipment is limited to 
responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 
hazards of the operation,Pf and 
c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for food 
contact surfaces; andPf  

6. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 
operation understands the:Pf 

a. Concepts required for safe operation,Pf  
b. Equipment and facilities,Pf and  
c. Procedures specified under subdivision B 5 of this 
section and subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 
D.; andPf 

7. Is provided to the regulatory authority prior to 
implementation as specified under 12VAC5-421-3620 
[ B ]. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 
packaging, a food establishment may not package fish using a 
reduced oxygen packaging method.P 

D. Except as specified in subsection subsections C and F of 
this section, a food establishment may package that packages 
[ time/temperature control for safety ] food using a cook-chill 
or sous-vide process without obtaining a variance if shall: 

1. The food establishment implements Provide to the 
regulatory authority prior to implementation a HACCP 
plan that contains the information as specified under 
subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 D:;Pf 
2. The Ensure the food is: 

a. Prepared and consumed on the premises, or prepared 
and consumed off the premises but within the same 
business entity with no distribution or sale of the bagged 
product to another business entity or the consumer,;Pf 
b. Cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature 
and for a time as specified under [ subsections A, B, and 
C of ] 12VAC5-421-700, [ subsections A, B, and C of 
this section];P 
c. Protected from contamination [ before and ] after 
cooking as specified in 12VAC5-421-450 through 
[ 12VAC5-421-690 12VAC5-421-765 ],;P 
d. Placed in a package [ or bag ] with an oxygen barrier 
and sealed before cooking, or placed in a package [ or 
bag ] and sealed immediately after cooking, and before 
reaching a temperature below 135°F (57°C),;P 
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e. Cooled to 41°F (5°C) in the sealed package [ or bag ] 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-800, and subsequently:P 
(1) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C) and held at that temperature until consumed 
or discarded within 30 days after the date of preparation, 
packaging;P 
(2) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 
41°F (5°C), removed from refrigeration equipment that 
maintains a 34°F (1°C) food temperature and then held 
Held at 41°F (5°C) or less for no more than 72 hours 
seven days, at which time the food must be consumed or 
discarded;P or 
(3) Cooled to 38°F (3°C) or less within 24 hours of 
reaching 41°F (5°C) and held there for no more than 72 
hours from packaging, at which time the food must be 
consumed or discarded;P or 
(4) (3) Held frozen with no shelf-life restriction while 
frozen until consumed or used [ .; ]P 
f. Held in a refrigeration unit that is equipped with an 
electronic system that continuously monitors time and 
temperature and is visually examined for proper 
operation twice daily,;Pf 
g. If transported off-site off site to a satellite location of 
the same business entity, equipped with verifiable 
electronic monitoring devices to ensure that times and 
temperatures are monitored during transportation,;Pf and 
h. Labeled with the product name and the date 
packaged;Pf and 

3. The Maintain the records required to confirm that 
cooling and cold holding refrigeration time/temperature 
parameters are required as part of the HACCP plan, are 
maintained and are: 

a. Made available to the regulatory authority upon 
request,Pf and 
b. Held for six months;Pf and 

4. Written Implement written operational procedures as 
specified under subdivision B 5 of this section and a 
training program as specified under subdivision B 6 of this 
section [ are implemented ].Pf 

E. A Except as specified under subsection F of this section, 
a food establishment may package that packages cheese using 
a reduced oxygen packaging method without obtaining a 
variance if it shall: 

1. Limits Limit the cheeses packaged to those that are 
commercially manufactured in a food processing plant 
with no ingredients added in the food establishment and 
that meet the Standards of Identity as specified in 21 CFR 
133.150 Hard Cheeses, 21 CFR 133.169 Pasteurized 
process cheese, or 21 CFR 133.187 Semi-soft cheeses;P 
2. Has Have a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 D 

and as specified under subdivisions B 1, B 3 a, B 5, and B 
6 of this section;Pf 
3. Except as specified under subdivision B 2, B 3 b, and B 
4, complies with subsection B of this section; 
4. Labels 3. Label the package on the principal display 
panel with a "use by" date that does not exceed 30 days 
[ from its packaging ] or the original manufacturer's "sell 
by" or "use by" date, whichever [ comes occurs ] first;Pf 
and 
5. Discards 4. Discard the reduced oxygen packaged 
cheese if it is not sold for off-premises consumption or 
consumed within 30 calendar days of its packaging.Pf 

F. A HACCP plan is not required when a food establishment 
uses a reduced oxygen packaging method to package [ TCS 
time/temperature control for safety ] food that is always:  

1. Labeled with the production time and date. 
2. Held at 41°F [ (5°C) ] or less during refrigerated storage 
[ .; and ]  
3. Removed from its [ package packaging ] in the food 
establishment within 48 hours after packaging. 

Article 6  
Food Identity, Presentation, and On-Premises Labeling  

12VAC5-421-880. Standards of identity. 
Packaged food shall comply with standard of identity 

requirements in 21 CFR Parts 131-169 and 9 CFR Part 319 - 
Definitions and Standards of Identity or Composition, and the 
general requirements in 21 CFR Part 130 - Food Standards: 
General and 9 CFR Part 319, Subpart A - General. 
12VAC5-421-900. Food labels. 

A. Food packaged in a food establishment, shall be labeled 
as specified in accordance with all applicable laws and 
regulations, including 21 CFR Part 101 - Food Labeling, and 
9 CFR Part 317 - Labeling, Marking Devices, and Containers.  

B. Label information shall include:  
1. The common name of the food, or absent a common 
name, an adequately descriptive identity statement;  
2. If made from two or more ingredients, a list of 
ingredients [ and sub-ingredients ] in descending order of 
predominance by weight, including a declaration of 
artificial [ color or flavor colors, artificial flavors, ] and 
chemical preservatives, if contained in the food;  
3. An accurate declaration of the [ net ] quantity of 
contents;  
4. The name and place of business of the manufacturer, 
packer, or distributor;  
5. The name of the food source for each major food 
allergen contained in the food unless the food source is 
already part of the common or usual name of the respective 
ingredient;Pf 
6. Except as exempted in the Federal Food, Drug, and 
Cosmetic Act § 403(Q)(3) - through (5), nutrition labeling 
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as specified in 21 CFR Part 101 - Food Labeling, and 
9 CFR Part 317, Subpart B - Nutrition Labeling; and 
7. For any salmonid fish containing canthaxanthin [ or 
astaxanthin ] as a color additive, the labeling of the bulk 
fish container, including a list of ingredients, displayed on 
the retail container or by other written means, such as a 
counter card, that discloses the use of canthaxanthin [ or 
astaxanthin ]. 

C. Bulk food that is available for consumer self-dispensing 
shall be prominently labeled with the following information 
in plain view of the consumer: 

1. The manufacturer's or processor's label that was 
provided with the food; or  
2. A card, sign, or other method of notification that 
includes the information specified under subdivisions B 1, 
2 and 5 of this section. 

D. Bulk, unpackaged foods such as bakery products and 
unpackaged foods that are portioned to consumer 
specification need not be labeled if:  

1. A health, nutrient content, or other claim is not made;  
2. There are no state or local laws requiring labeling; and  
3. The food is manufactured or prepared on the premises of 
the food establishment or at another food establishment or 
a food processing plant that is owned by the same person 
and is regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 
jurisdiction.  

12VAC5-421-930. [ Consumption Consumer advisory: 
consumption ] of animal [ products foods ] that are raw, 
undercooked, or not otherwise processed to eliminate 
pathogens. 

A. Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 C and D 4 and 
under 12VAC5-421-950 C, if an animal food such as beef, 
eggs, fish, lamb, pork, poultry, or shellfish is served or sold 
raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 
eliminate pathogens, either in ready-to-eat form or as an 
ingredient in another ready-to-eat food, the permit holder 
shall inform consumers of the significantly increased risk of 
consuming such foods by way of a disclosure and reminder, 
as specified in subsections B and C of this section, using 
brochures, deli case or menu advisories, label statements, 
table tents, placards, or other effective written means.Pf 

B. Disclosure shall include: 
1. A description of the animal-derived foods, such as 
"oysters on the half shell (raw oysters)," "raw-egg Caesar 
salad," and "hamburgers (can be cooked to order)";Pf or 
2. Identification of the animal-derived foods by asterisking 
them to a footnote that states that the items are served raw 
or undercooked, or contain (or may contain) raw or 
undercooked ingredients.Pf 

C. Reminder shall include asterisking the animal-derived 
foods requiring disclosure to a footnote that states: 

1. "Regarding the safety of these items, written information 
is available upon request";Pf  
2. "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, 
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of 
foodborne illness";Pf or 
3. "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, 
seafood, shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of 
foodborne illness, especially if you have certain medical 
conditions."Pf 

Article 7  
Contaminated Food 

12VAC5-421-940. Discarding unsafe, adulterated, or 
contaminated food.  

A. A food that is unsafe, adulterated, or not from an 
approved source as specified under 12VAC5-421-270 
through 12VAC5-421-330 shall be rendered unusable and 
discarded.P 

B. Ready-to-eat food that may have been contaminated by 
an employee who has been restricted or excluded as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-90 shall be rendered unusable and 
discarded.P  

C. Food that is contaminated by food employees, 
consumers, or other persons through contact with their hands, 
bodily discharges, such as nasal or oral discharges, or other 
means shall be rendered unusable and discarded.P 

Article 8  
Special Requirements for Highly Susceptible Populations  

12VAC5-421-950. Pasteurized foods, prohibited reservice, 
and prohibited food. 

In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 
population: 

1. The following criteria apply to juice: 
a. For the purposes of this paragraph only, children who 
are age nine or less and receive food in a school, day care 
setting, or similar facility that provides custodial care are 
included as highly susceptible populations;  
b. Prepackaged juice or a prepackaged beverage 
containing juice, that bears a warning label as specified 
in 21 CFR 101.17(g) Food Labeling, (Juices that have 
not been specifically processed to prevent, reduce or 
eliminate the presence of pathogens) or a packaged juice 
or beverage containing juice, that bears a warning label 
as specified under subdivision 2 of 12VAC5-421-765 
shall may not be served or offered for sale;P and 
c. Unpackaged juice that is prepared on the premises for 
service or sale in a ready-to-eat form shall be processed 
under a HACCP plan that contains the information 
specified in subdivisions 2 through 5 of 12VAC5-421-
3630 and as specified under [ in ] 21 CFR 120.24, 
Process controls.P 
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2. Pasteurized shell eggs or egg products shall be 
substituted for raw shell eggs in the preparation of:P 

a. Foods such as Caesar salad, hollandaise or biarnaise 
Bearnaise sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, eggnog, ice 
cream, and egg-fortified beverages;P and 
b. Except as specified in subdivision 6 of this section, 
recipes in which more than one egg is broken and the 
eggs are combined.P 

3. The following foods shall not be served or offered for 
sale in a ready-to-eat form: 

a. Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw-marinated 
fish, raw molluscan shellfish, and steak tartare;P 
b. A partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked 
fish, rare meat, soft-cooked eggs that are made from raw 
shell eggs, and meringue;P and 
c. Raw seed sprouts.P 

4. Food employees shall not contact ready-to-eat food as 
specified in 12VAC5-421-450 B and E.P 
5. Time only, as the public health control as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-850 D, may not be used for raw eggs.P 
6. Subdivision 2 b of this section does not apply if: 

a. The raw eggs are combined immediately before 
cooking for one consumer's serving at a single meal, 
cooked as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 A 1, and 
served immediately, such as an omelet, soufflé, or 
scrambled eggs; 
b. The raw eggs are combined as an ingredient 
immediately before baking and the eggs are thoroughly 
cooked to a ready-to-eat form, such as a cake, muffin, or 
bread; or 
c. The preparation of the food is conducted under a 
HACCP plan that: 
(1) Identifies the food to be prepared; 
(2) Prohibits contacting ready-to-eat food with bare 
hands; 
(3) Includes specifications and practices that ensure: 
(a) Salmonella Enteritidis growth is controlled before and 
after cooking; and 
(b) Salmonella Enteritidis is destroyed by cooking the 
eggs according to the temperature and time specified in 
12VAC5-421-700 A 2; 
d. Contains the information specified under subdivision 4 
of 12VAC5-421-3630 including procedures that: 
(1) Control cross contamination of ready-to-eat food with 
raw eggs; and 
(2) Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 
food-contact surfaces; and 
e. Describes the training program that ensures that the 
food employee responsible for the preparation of the food 
understands the procedures to be used. 

7. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of this section, food 
may be re-served as specified under 12VAC5-421-680 B 1 
and 2. 
8. Foods may not be re-served under the following 
conditions: 

[ 1. a. ] Any food served to patients or clients who are 
under contact precautions in medical isolation or 
quarantine, or protective environment isolation may not 
be re-served to others outside. 
[ 2. b. ] Packages of food from any patients, clients, or 
other consumers should not be re-served to persons in 
protective environment isolation 

Part IV  
Equipment, Utensils, and Linens  

Article 1  
Materials for Construction and Repair  

12VAC5-421-960. Multiuse, characteristics.  
Materials that are used in the construction of utensils and 

food-contact surfaces of equipment shall not allow the 
migration of deleterious substances or impart colors, odors, or 
tastes to food and under normal use conditions shall be:P 

1. Safe;P  
2. Durable, corrosion-resistant, and nonabsorbent;  
3. Sufficient in weight and thickness to withstand repeated 
warewashing;  
4. Finished to have a smooth, easily cleanable surface; and  
5. Resistant to pitting, chipping, crazing, scratching, 
scoring, distortion, and decomposition.  

12VAC5-421-980. Lead, use limitation. 
A. Ceramic, china, crystal utensils, and decorative utensils 

such as hand-painted ceramic or china that are used in contact 
with food shall be lead-free or contain levels of lead not 
exceeding the limits of the following utensil categories:P  

Utensil Category Ceramic Article 
Description 

Maximum 
Lead  
mg/L 

Beverage Mugs, 
Cups, Pitchers Coffee Mugs 0.5 

Large 
Hollowware 
(excluding 
pitchers) 

Bowls > 1.1 Liter 
(1.16 Quart) 1.0 

Small 
Hollowware 
(excluding cups 
and mugs 

Bowls <1.1 Liter 
(1.16 Quart) 2.0 

Flat tableware Plates, Saucers 3.0 
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B. Pewter alloys containing lead in excess of 0.05% may not 
be used as a food contact surface.P 

C. Solder and flux containing lead in excess of 0.2% may 
not be used as a food contact surface. 
12VAC5-421-990. Copper, use limitation.  

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, copper and copper alloys such as brass shall not be 
used in contact with a food that has a pH below 6 such as 
vinegar, fruit juice, or wine or for a fitting or tubing installed 
between a backflow prevention device and a carbonator.P 

B. Copper and copper alloys may be used in contact with 
beer brewing ingredients that have a pH below 6 in the 
prefermentation and fermentation steps of a beer brewing 
operation such as a brewpub or microbrewery. 

C. Copper and copper alloys may be used in contact with 
apple butter and molasses [ ingredients ] that have a pH below 
6 [ in the preparation of these items provided the contact time 
is less than 24 hours. during the typical processing times (i.e., 
mixing, cooking, and cooling) for these products, as long as 
laboratory analysis does not reveal excessive levels of copper 
or other heavy metals in the finished product. Apple butter 
and molasses may not be held or stored in copper or copper 
alloys for time periods any longer than the typical processing 
times for these products ].  
12VAC5-421-1000. Galvanized metal, use limitation.  

Galvanized metal shall not be used for utensils or food-
contact surfaces of equipment that are used in contact with 
acidic food.P 
12VAC5-421-1070. Single-service and single-use, 
characteristics.  

A. Materials that are used to make single-service and single-
use articles shall not:  

1. Allow the migration of deleterious substances;P or  
2. Impart colors, odors, or tastes to food.  

B. Materials that are used to make single-service and single-
use articles shall be safe and clean.:  

1. Safe,P and 
2. Clean. 

12VAC5-421-1090. Food temperature measuring devices.  
Food temperature measuring devices shall not have sensors 

or stems constructed of glass, except that thermometers with 
glass sensors or stems that are encased in a shatterproof 
coating such as candy thermometers may be used.P 
12VAC5-421-1100. Food-contact surfaces; cleanability.  

[ A. ] Multiuse food-contact surfaces shall be:  
1. Smooth;Pf 
2. Free of breaks, open seams, cracks, chips, [ inclusions, ] 
pits, and similar imperfections;Pf  
3. Free of sharp internal angles, corners, and crevices;Pf  
4. Finished to have smooth welds and joints;Pf and  

5. [ Accessible Except as specified in subsection B of this 
section, accessible ] for cleaning and inspection by one of 
the following methods:  

a. Without being disassembled,;Pf 
b. By disassembling without the use of tools,;Pf or  
c. By easy disassembling with the use of handheld tools 
commonly available to maintenance and cleaning 
personnel such as screwdrivers, pliers, open-end 
wrenches, and Allen wrenches.Pf  

[ B. Subdivision A 5 of this section does not apply to 
cooking oil storage tanks, distribution lines for cooking oils, 
or beverage syrup lines or tubes. ]  
12VAC5-421-1110. CIP equipment.  

A. CIP equipment shall meet the characteristics specified 
under 12VAC5-421-1100 and shall be designed and 
constructed so that:  

1. Cleaning and sanitizing solutions circulate throughout a 
fixed system and contact all interior food-contact 
surfaces,Pf and  
2. The system is self-draining or capable of being 
completely drained of cleaning and sanitizing solutions.  

B. CIP equipment that is not designed to be disassembled 
for cleaning shall be designed with inspection access points to 
ensure that all interior food-contact surfaces throughout the 
fixed system are being effectively cleaned.  
12VAC5-421-1180. Temperature measuring devices; food.  

A. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 
in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit and Celsius shall 
be scaled in 2°F increments and accurate to ±2°F in the 
intended range of use.Pf 

B. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 
in Celsius shall be scaled in 1°C increments accurate to ±1°C 
in the intended range of use.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1190. Temperature measuring devices; 
ambient air and water.  

A. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices 
that are scaled in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit 
and Celsius and shall be designed to be easily readable and 
scaled in 3°F increments and accurate to ±3°F in the intended 
range of use.Pf  

B. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices 
that are scaled only in Celsius shall be scaled in 1.5°C 
increments and accurate to ±1.5°C in the intended range of 
use.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1230. Dispensing equipment, protection of 
equipment and food.  

In equipment that dispenses or vends liquid food or ice in 
unpackaged form:  

1. The delivery tube, chute, orifice, and splash surfaces 
directly above the container receiving the food shall be 
designed in a manner, such as with barriers, baffles, or drip 
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aprons, so that drips from condensation and splash are 
diverted from the opening of the container receiving the 
food;  
2. The delivery tube, chute, and orifice shall be protected 
from manual contact such as by being recessed;  
3. The delivery tube or chute and orifice of equipment used 
to vend liquid food or ice in unpackaged form to self-
service consumers shall be designed so that the delivery 
tube or chute and orifice are protected from dust, insects, 
rodents, and other contamination by a self-closing door if 
the equipment is:  

a. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise 
afford the protection of an enclosure against the rain, 
windblown debris, insects, rodents, and other 
contaminants that are present in the environment, or  
b. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 
under the full-time supervision of a food employee; and  

4. The dispensing equipment actuating lever or mechanism 
and filling device of consumer self-service beverage 
dispensing equipment shall be designed to prevent contact 
with the lip-contact surface of glasses or cups that are 
refilled.  
5. Dispensing equipment in which potentially hazardous 
food (time/temperature control for safety food) 
time/temperature control for safety food in homogenous 
liquid form is maintained outside of the temperature 
control requirements as specified in 12VAC5-421-820 C 
shall: 

a. Be specifically designed and equipped to maintain the 
commercial sterility of aseptically packaged food in a 
homogenous liquid form for a specified duration from the 
time of opening the packaging within the equipment;P 
and 
b. Conform to the requirements for this equipment as 
specified in NSF/ANSI 18-2006 Manual Food and 
Beverage Dispensing Equipment, 2012, (NSF 
International).P 

12VAC5-421-1240. Vending machine, vending stage 
closure.  

The dispensing compartment of a vending machine 
including a machine that is designed to vend prepackaged 
snack food that is not potentially hazardous time/temperature 
control for safety food such as chips, party mixes, and 
pretzels shall be equipped with a self-closing door or cover if 
the machine is:  

1. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise afford 
the protection of an enclosure against the rain, windblown 
debris, insects, rodents, and other contaminants that are 
present in the environment; or  
2. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 
under the full-time supervision of a food employee.  

12VAC5-421-1300. Molluscan shellfish tanks.  
A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 

molluscan shellfish life support system display tanks shall not 
be used to display shellfish that are offered for human 
consumption and shall be conspicuously marked so that it is 
obvious to consumers that the shellfish are for display only.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish life-support system display tanks that 
are used to store and display shellfish that are offered for 
human consumption shall be operated and maintained in 
accordance with a variance granted by the regulatory 
authority as specified in 12VAC5-421-3570 and a HACCP 
plan that:Pf 

1. Is submitted by the permit holder and approved as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-3580;Pf and 
2. Ensures that: 

a. Water used with fish other than molluscan shellfish 
does not flow into the molluscan tank;Pf 
b. The safety and quality of the shellfish as they were 
received are not compromised by the use of the tank;Pf 
and 
c. The identity of the source of the shellstock is retained 
as specified under 12VAC5-421-440.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1310. Vending machines, automatic shutoff. 
A. A machine vending potentially hazardous food 

(time/temperature control for safety food) time/temperature 
control for safety food shall have an automatic control that 
prevents the machine from vending food: 

1. If there is a power failure, mechanical failure, or other 
condition that results in an internal machine temperature 
that can not cannot maintain food temperatures as specified 
under Part III (12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) of this chapter;P 
and 
2. If a condition specified under subdivision 1 of this 
subsection occurs, until the machine is serviced and 
restocked with food that has been maintained at 
temperatures specified under Part III.P 

B. When the automatic shutoff within a machine vending 
potentially hazardous food (time/temperature control for 
safety food) time/temperature control for safety food is 
activated: 

1. In a refrigerated vending machine, the ambient 
temperature shall not exceed 41°F (5°C) for more than 30 
minutes immediately after the machine is filled, serviced, 
or restocked;P or 
2. In a hot holding vending machine, the ambient 
temperature shall not be less than 135°F (57°C) for more 
than 120 minutes immediately after the machine is filled, 
serviced, or restocked.P 

12VAC5-421-1320. Temperature measuring devices.  
A. In a mechanically refrigerated or hot food storage unit, 

the sensor of a temperature measuring device shall be located 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2907 

to measure the air temperature or a simulated product 
temperature in the warmest part of a mechanically 
refrigerated unit and in the coolest part of a hot food storage 
unit. 

B. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, cold 
or hot holding equipment used for potentially hazardous food 
time/temperature control for safety food shall be designed to 
include and shall be equipped with at least one integral or 
affixed temperature measuring device that is located to allow 
easy viewing of the device's temperature display. 

C. Subsection B of this section does not apply to equipment 
for which the placement of a temperature measuring device is 
not a practical means for measuring the ambient air 
surrounding the food because of the design, type, and use of 
the equipment, such as calrod units, heat lamps, cold plates, 
bainmaries bains-marie, steam tables, insulated food transport 
containers, and salad bars. 

D. Temperature measuring devices shall be designed to be 
easily readable. 

E. Food temperature measuring devices and water 
temperature measuring devices on warewashing machines 
shall have a numerical scale, printed record, or digital readout 
in increments no greater than 2°F or 1°C in the intended 
range of use.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1350. Warewashing machines, temperature 
measuring devices.  

A warewashing machine shall be equipped with a 
temperature measuring device that indicates the temperature 
of the water: 

1. In each wash and rinse tank;Pf and 
2. As the water enters the hot water sanitizing final rinse 
manifold or in the chemical sanitizing solution tank.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1360. Manual warewashing equipment, 
heaters and baskets.  

If hot water is used for sanitization in manual warewashing 
operations, the sanitizing compartment of the sink shall be: 

1. Designed with an integral heating device that is capable 
of maintaining water at a temperature not less than 171°F 
(77°C);Pf and 
2. Provided with a rack or basket to allow complete 
immersion of equipment and utensils into the hot water.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1370. Warewashing machines, sanitizer level 
indicator automatic dispensing of detergents and 
sanitizers. 

A. A warewashing machine installed after March 1, 2002, 
shall be equipped to: 

1. Automatically dispense detergents and sanitizers;Pf and 
2. Incorporate a visual means to verify that detergents and 
sanitizers are delivered or a visual or audible alarm to 
signal if the detergents and sanitizers are not delivered to 
the respective washing and sanitizing cycles.Pf 

B. Existing warewashing equipment shall be upgraded or 
replaced to meet the requirements of subsection A of this 
section.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1435. Food equipment, certification and 
classification. 

Food equipment that is certified or classified for sanitation 
by an American National Standards Institute (ANSI)-
accredited certification program is deemed to comply with the 
requirements of Articles 1 (12VAC5-421-960 et seq.) and 2 
(12VAC5-421-1080 et seq.) of this part. 

Article 3  
Numbers and Capacities  

12VAC5-421-1450. Cooling, heating, and holding 
capacities.  

Equipment for cooling and heating food, and holding cold 
and hot food, shall be sufficient in number and capacity and 
capable of providing to provide food temperatures as 
specified under Part III (12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) of this 
chapter.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1460. Manual warewashing, sink 
compartment requirements.  

A. Except as specified in subsection C of this section, a sink 
with at least three compartments shall be provided for 
manually washing, rinsing, and sanitizing equipment and 
utensils.Pf 

B. Sink compartments shall be large enough to 
accommodate immersion of the largest equipment and 
utensils. If equipment or utensils are too large for the 
warewashing sink, a warewashing machine or alternative 
equipment as specified in subsection C of this section shall be 
used.Pf 

C. Alternative manual warewashing equipment may be used 
when there are special cleaning needs or constraints and its 
use is approved. Alternative manual warewashing equipment 
may include: 

1. High-pressure detergent sprayers; 
2. Low-pressure or line-pressure spray detergent foamers; 
3. Other task-specific cleaning equipment; 
4. Brushes or other implements; 
5. [ 2-compartment Two-compartment ] sinks as specified 
under subsections D and E of this section; or 
6. Receptacles that substitute for the compartments of a 
multicompartment sink. 

D. Before a [ 2-compartment two-compartment ] sink is 
used: 

1. The permit holder shall have its use approved; and 
2. The permit holder shall limit the number of kitchenware 
items cleaned and sanitized in the two-compartment sink 
and shall limit warewashing to batch operations for 
cleaning kitchenware such as between cutting one type of 
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raw meat and another or cleanup at the end of a shift, and 
shall: 

a. (i) Make up the cleaning and sanitizing solutions 
immediately before use and drain them immediately after 
use, and (ii) use a detergent-sanitizer to sanitize and 
apply the detergent-sanitizer in accordance with the 
manufacturer's label instructions and as specified under 
12VAC5-421-1710; or 
b. A hot water sanitization immersion step shall be used 
as specified under subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-1860. 

E. A [ 2-compartment two-compartment ] sink shall not be 
used for warewashing operations where cleaning and 
sanitizing solutions are used for a continuous or intermittent 
flow of kitchenware or tableware in an ongoing warewashing 
process. 
12VAC5-421-1500. Utensils, consumer self-service.  

A food dispensing utensil shall be available for each 
container displayed at a consumer self-service unit such as a 
buffet or salad bar.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1510. Food temperature measuring devices.  

A. Food temperature measuring devices shall be provided 
and readily accessible for use in ensuring attainment and 
maintenance of food temperatures as specified under Part III 
(12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) of this chapter.Pf 

B. A temperature measuring device with a suitable small-
diameter probe that is designed to measure the temperature of 
thin masses shall be provided and readily accessible to 
accurately measure the temperature in thin foods such as meat 
patties and fish fillets.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1520. Temperature measuring devices, 
manual and mechanical warewashing.  

A. In manual warewashing operations, a temperature 
measuring device shall be provided and readily accessible for 
frequently measuring the washing and sanitizing 
temperatures. 

B. In hot water mechanical warewashing operations, an 
irreversible registering temperature indicator shall be 
provided and readily accessible for measuring the utensil 
surface temperature. 
12VAC5-421-1530. Sanitizing solutions, testing devices.  

A test kit or other device that accurately measures the 
concentration in mg/L (ppm) of sanitizing solutions shall be 
provided and readily accessible for use.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1535. Cleaning agents and sanitizers, 
availability. 

A. Cleaning agents that are used to clean equipment and 
utensils as specified under Article 6 (12VAC5-421-1770 et 
seq.) of this part shall be provided and available for use 
during all hours of operation.  

B. Except for chemical sanitizers that are generated on site 
at the time of use, chemical sanitizers that are used to sanitize 

equipment and utensils as specified under Article 6 shall be 
provided and available for use during all hours of operation.  
12VAC5-421-1630. Warewashing equipment, cleaning 
agents.  

When used for warewashing, the wash compartment of a 
sink, mechanical warewasher, or wash receptacle of 
alternative manual warewashing equipment as specified in 
12VAC5-421-1460 C, shall contain a wash solution of soap, 
detergent, acid cleaner, alkaline cleaner, degreaser, abrasive 
cleaner, or other cleaning agent according to the cleaning 
agent manufacturer's label instructions.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1650. Manual warewashing equipment, 
wash solution temperature.  

The temperature of the wash solution in manual 
warewashing equipment shall be maintained at not less than 
110°F (43°C) or the temperature specified on the cleaning 
agent manufacturer's label instructions.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1660. Mechanical warewashing equipment, 
wash solution temperature.  

A. The temperature of the wash solution in spray type 
warewashers that use hot water to sanitize shall not be less 
than: 

1. For a stationary rack, single temperature machine, 165°F 
(74°C);Pf 
2. For a stationary rack, dual temperature machine, 150°F 
(66°C);Pf 
3. For a single tank, conveyor, dual temperature machine, 
160°F (71°C);Pf or 
4. For a multitank, conveyor, multitemperature machine, 
150°F (66°C).Pf 

B. The temperature of the wash solution in spray-type 
warewashers that use chemicals to sanitize shall not be less 
than 120°F (49°C).Pf 
12VAC5-421-1670. Manual warewashing equipment, hot 
water sanitization temperatures.  

If immersion in hot water is used for sanitizing in a manual 
operation, the temperature of the water shall be maintained at 
171°F (77°C) or above.P 
12VAC5-421-1680. Mechanical warewashing equipment, 
hot water sanitization temperatures.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, in a 
mechanical operation, the temperature of the fresh hot water 
sanitizing rinse as it enters the manifold shall not be more 
than 194°F (90°C), or less than: Pf 

1. For a stationary rack, single temperature machine, 165°F 
(74°C);Pf or 
2. For all other machines, 180°F (82°C).Pf 

B. The maximum temperature specified under subsection A 
of this section does not apply to the high pressure and 
temperature systems with wand-type, hand-held, spraying 
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devices used for the in-place cleaning and sanitizing of 
equipment such as meat saws. 
12VAC5-421-1700. Manual and mechanical warewashing 
equipment, chemical sanitization - temperature, pH, 
concentration, and hardness.  

A chemical sanitizer used in a sanitizing solution for a 
manual or mechanical operation at exposure contact times 
specified under subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-1900 A 3 shall 
be listed in 40 CFR 180.940 [ Sanitizing solutions ], shall be 
used in accordance with the [ EPA-approved manufacturer's 
EPA-registered ] label use instructions,P and shall be used as 
follows: 

1. A chlorine solution shall have a minimum temperature 
based on the concentration and pH of the solution as listed 
in the following chart;P 

Minimum 
Concentration 

Minimum 
Temperature  

mg/L (ppm) 
pH 10 or less 

°F (°C) 
pH 8 or less 

°F (°C) 

25-49 120 (49) 120 (49) 

50-99 100 (38) 75 (24) 

100 55 (13) 55 (13) 

2. An iodine solution shall have a: 
a. Minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C) 68°F (20°C);P 
b. pH of 5.0 or less or a pH no higher than the level for 
which the manufacturer specifies the solution is 
effective;P and 
c. Concentration between 12.5 mg/L (ppm) and 25 mg/L 
(ppm);P 

3. A quaternary ammonium compound solution shall: 
a. Have a minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C);P 
b. Have a concentration as specified under 40 CFR 
180.940 and as indicated by the manufacturer's use 
directions included in the labeling;P and 
c. Be used only in water with 500 mg/L hardness or less 
or in water having a hardness no greater than specified by 
the manufacturer's label;P 

4. If another solution of a chemical specified under 
subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this section is used, the permit 
holder shall demonstrate to the regulatory authority that the 
solution achieves sanitization and the use of the solution 
shall be approved;P or 
5. If a chemical sanitizer other than chlorine, iodine, or a 
quaternary ammonium compound is used, it shall be 
applied in accordance with the manufacturer's use 
directions included in the labeling EPA-registered label use 
instructions;P and 

6. If a chemical sanitizer is generated by a device located 
on site at the food establishment it shall be used as 
specified in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section and 
shall be produced by a device that: 

a. Complies with regulation as specified in §§ 2(q)(1) and 
12 of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide 
Act (FIFRA),P 
b. Complies with 40 CFR 152.500 and 40 CFR 156.10,P 
c. Displays the EPA device manufacturing facility 
registration number on the device,Pf and 
d. Is operated and maintained in accordance with 
manufacturer's instructions.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1720. Warewashing equipment, determining 
chemical sanitizer concentration.  

Concentration of the sanitizing solution shall be accurately 
determined by using a test kit or other device.Pf 
12VAC5-421-1730. Good repair and calibration.  

A. Utensils shall be maintained in a state of repair or 
condition that complies with the requirements specified under 
Articles 1 (12VAC5-421-960 et seq.) and 2 (12VAC5-421-
1080 et seq.) of this part or shall be discarded. 

B. Food temperature measuring devices shall be calibrated 
in accordance with manufacturer's specifications as necessary 
to ensure their accuracy.Pf 

C. Ambient air temperature, water pressure, and water 
temperature measuring devices shall be maintained in good 
repair and be accurate within the intended range of use.  
12VAC5-421-1740. Single-service and single-use articles, 
required use.  

A food establishment without facilities specified under 
Articles 6 (12VAC5-421-1770 et seq.) and 7 (12VAC5-421-
1880 [ (12VAC5-421-1890 (12VAC5-421-1885 ] et seq.) of 
this part for cleaning and sanitizing kitchenware and 
tableware shall provide only single-use kitchenware, single-
service articles, and single-use articles for use by food 
employees and single-service articles for use by consumers.P 

Article 6  
Cleaning of Equipment and Utensils  

12VAC5-421-1770. Equipment, food-contact surfaces, 
nonfood-contact non-food-contact surfaces, and utensils.  

A. Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 
clean to sight and touch.Pf 

B. The food-contact surfaces of cooking equipment and pans 
shall be kept free of encrusted grease deposits and other soil 
accumulations.  

C. Nonfood-contact Non-food-contact surfaces of equipment 
shall be kept free of an accumulation of dust, dirt, food 
residue, and other debris.  
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12VAC5-421-1780. Equipment food-contact surfaces and 
utensils.  

A. Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 
cleaned: 

1. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 
before each use with a different type of raw animal food 
such as beef, fish, lamb, pork, or poultry;P 
2. Each time there is a change from working with raw 
foods to working with ready-to-eat foods;P 
3. Between uses with raw fruits and vegetables and with 
potentially hazardous food time/temperature control for 
safety food;P 
4. Before using or storing a food temperature measuring 
device;P and 
5. At any time during the operation when contamination 
may have occurred.P 

B. Subdivision A 1 of this section does not apply if the food 
contact surface or utensil is in contact with a succession of 
different [ raw animal foods types of raw meat and poultry ] each 
requiring a higher cooking temperature as specified under 
12VAC5-421-700 than the previous [ food, such as preparing 
raw fish followed by cutting raw poultry on the same cutting 
board type ]. 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, if used 
with potentially hazardous food time/temperature control for 
safety food, equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall 
be cleaned throughout the day at least every four hours.P 

D. Surfaces of utensils and equipment contacting potentially 
hazardous food time/temperature control for safety food may be 
cleaned less frequently than every four hours if: 

1. In storage, containers of potentially hazardous food 
time/temperature control for safety food and their contents 
are maintained at temperatures specified under Part III 
(12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) of this chapter and the 
containers are cleaned when they are empty; 
2. Utensils and equipment are used to prepare food in a 
refrigerated room or area that is maintained at one of the 
temperatures in the following chart and (i) the utensils and 
equipment are cleaned at the frequency in the following chart 
that corresponds to the temperature; and (ii) the cleaning 
frequency based on the ambient temperature of the 
refrigerated room or area is documented in the food 
establishment: 

Temperature Cleaning Frequency 

41°F (5.0°C) or less 24 hours 

>41°F - 45°F 
(>5.0°C - 7.2°C) 20 hours 

>45°F - 50°F 
(>7.2°C - 10.0°C) 16 hours 

>50°F - 55°F 
(>10.0°C - 12.8°C) 10 hours 

3. Containers in serving situations such as salad bars, delis, 
and cafeteria lines hold ready-to-eat potentially hazardous 
food time/temperature control for safety food that is 
maintained at the temperatures specified under Part III, are 
intermittently combined with additional supplies of the 
same food that is at the required temperature, and the 
containers are cleaned at least every 24 hours; 
4. Temperature measuring devices are maintained in 
contact with food, such as when left in a container of deli 
food or in a roast, held at temperatures specified under Part 
III; 
5. Equipment is used for storage of packaged or 
unpackaged food such as a reach-in refrigerator and the 
equipment is cleaned at a frequency necessary to preclude 
accumulation of soil residues;  
6. The cleaning schedule is approved based on 
consideration of: 

a. Characteristics of the equipment and its use; 
b. The type of food involved; 
c. The amount of food residue accumulation; and 
d. The temperature at which the food is maintained 
during the operation and the potential for the rapid and 
progressive multiplication of pathogenic or toxigenic 
microorganisms that are capable of causing foodborne 
disease; or 

7. In-use utensils are intermittently stored in a container of 
water in which the water is maintained at 135°F (57°C) or 
more and the utensils and container are cleaned at least 
every 24 hours or at a frequency necessary to preclude 
accumulation of soil residues. 

E. Except when dry cleaning methods are used as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-1810, surfaces of utensils and equipment 
contacting food that is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food shall be cleaned: 

1. At any time when contamination may have occurred; 
2. At least every 24 hours for iced tea dispensers and 
consumer self-service utensils such as tongs, scoops, or 
ladles; 
3. Before restocking consumer self-service equipment and 
utensils such as condiment dispensers and display 
containers; 
4. [ Equipment At a frequency specified by the 
manufacturer or absent manufacturer specifications, at a 
frequency necessary to preclude accumulation of soil or 
mold. To include equipment ] such as ice bins and 
beverage dispensing nozzles and enclosed components of 
equipment such as ice makers, [ cooking oil storage tanks 
and distribution lines, ] beverage and syrup dispensing 
lines or tubes, coffee bean grinders, and water vending 
equipment [ : 

a. At a frequency specified by the manufacturer; or 
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b. Absent manufacturer specifications, at a frequency 
necessary to preclude accumulation of soil or mold ]. 

12VAC5-421-1810. Dry cleaning.  
A. If used, dry cleaning methods such as brushing, scraping, 

and vacuuming shall contact only surfaces that are soiled with 
dry food residues that are not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food. 

B. Cleaning equipment used in dry cleaning food-contact 
surfaces shall not be used for any other purpose. 
12VAC5-421-1870. Returnables, cleaning for refilling. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 
section, returned empty containers intended for cleaning and 
refilling with food shall be cleaned and refilled in a regulated 
food processing plant.  

B. A food-specific container for beverages may be refilled at 
a food establishment if:  

1. Only a beverage that is not a potentially hazardous food 
is used as specified under 12VAC5-421-600 A;  
2. The design of the container and of the rinsing equipment 
and the nature of the beverage, when considered together, 
allow effective cleaning at home or in the food 
establishment;  
3. Facilities for rinsing before refilling returned containers 
with fresh, hot water that is under pressure and not 
recirculated are provided as part of the dispensing system;  
4. The consumer-owned container returned to the food 
establishment for refilling is refilled for sale or service 
only to the same consumer; and  
5. The container is refilled by: an employee of the food 
establishment, or the owner of the container if the beverage 
system includes a contamination-free transfer process that 
can not be bypassed by the container owner.  

C. Consumer-owned containers that are not food-specific 
may be filled at a water vending machine or system.  

[ Article 7 
Sanitization of Equipment and Utensils 

12VAC5-421-1885. Food-contact surfaces and utensils. 
Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 

sanitized. ]  
[ Article 7 

Sanitization of Equipment and Utensils ]  
12VAC5-421-1890. Before use after cleaning. 

Utensils and food-contact surfaces of equipment shall be 
sanitized before use after cleaning.P 
12VAC5-421-1900. Hot water and chemical.  

After being cleaned, equipment food-contact surfaces and 
utensils shall be sanitized in:  

1. Hot water manual operations by immersion for at least 
30 seconds as specified under 12VAC5-421-1670;P 

2. Hot water mechanical operations by being cycled 
through equipment that is set up as specified under 
12VAC5-421-1610, 12VAC5-421-1680, and 12VAC5-
421-1690 and achieving a utensil surface temperature of 
160°F (71°C) as measured by an irreversible registering 
temperature indicator;P or  
3. Chemical manual or mechanical operations, including 
the application of sanitizing chemicals by immersion, 
manual swabbing, brushing, or pressure spraying methods, 
using a solution as specified under 12VAC5-421-1700. 
Contact times shall be consistent with those on EPA-
registered label use instructions by providing:  

a. Except as specified under subdivision 3 b of this 
section, an exposure a contact time of at least 10 seconds 
for a chlorine solution specified under subdivision 1 of 
12VAC5-421-1700 A;P 
b. An exposure A contact time of at least 7 seconds for a 
chlorine solution of 50 mg/L that has a pH of 10 or less 
and a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) or a pH of 8 
or less and a temperature of at least 75°F (24°C);P 
c. An exposure A contact time of at least 30 seconds for 
other chemical sanitizing solutions;P or  
d. An exposure A contact time used in relationship with a 
combination of temperature, concentration, and pH that, 
when evaluated for efficacy, yields sanitization as 
defined in 12VAC5-421-10.P 

12VAC5-421-1920. Specifications Laundering frequency 
for linens, cloth gloves, napkins, and wiping cloths. 

A. Linens that do not come in direct contact with food shall 
be laundered between operations if they become wet, sticky, 
or visibly soiled.  

B. Cloth gloves used as specified in 12VAC5-421-580 D 
shall be laundered before being used with a different type of 
raw animal food such as beef, lamb, pork, and fish.  

C. Linens and napkins that are used as specified under 
12VAC5-421-560 and cloth napkins shall be laundered 
between each use.  

D. Wet wiping cloths shall be laundered daily.  
E. Dry wiping cloths shall be laundered as necessary to 

prevent contamination of food and clean serving utensils.  
12VAC5-421-2040. Preset tableware.  

A. Tableware Except as specified in subsection B of this 
section, tableware that is preset shall be protected from 
contamination by being wrapped, covered, or inverted. 

B. When Preset tableware is preset, may be exposed, unused 
settings shall be if: 

1. Removed Unused settings are removed when a 
consumer is seated; or 
2. Cleaned and sanitized before further use if the settings 
are Settings not removed when a consumer is seated are 
cleaned and sanitized before further use. 
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12VAC5-421-2045. Rinsing equipment and utensils after 
cleaning and sanitizing. 

After being cleaned and sanitized, equipment and utensils 
shall not be rinsed before air drying or used unless: 

1. The rinse is applied directly from a potable water supply 
by a warewashing machine that is maintained and operated 
as specified under Articles 2 (12VAC5-421-1080 et seq.) 
and 5 (12VAC5-421-1570) of this part; and 
2. The rinse is applied only after the equipment and 
utensils have been sanitized by the application of hot water 
or by the application of a chemical sanitizer solution whose 
EPA-registered label use instructions call for rinsing off 
the sanitizer after it is applied in a commercial 
warewashing machine.  

Part V  
Water, Plumbing, and Waste  

Article 1  
Water  

12VAC5-421-2050. Approved system.  
Drinking Pure water shall be obtained from an approved 

source that is water system defined as:  
1. A public water system waterworks constructed, 
maintained, and operated in compliance with 12VAC5-
590;P or  
2. A nonpublic water system that is private well 
constructed, maintained, and operated according to law in 
compliance with 12VAC5-630.P 

12VAC5-421-2060. System flushing and disinfection.  
A drinking An approved water system shall be flushed and 

disinfected before being placed in service after construction, 
repair, or modification and after an emergency situation, such 
as a flood, that may introduce contaminants to the system. A 
sample shall be collected from the water system and the 
results of the analysis shall be total coliform negative prior to 
placing the water system into service.P 
12VAC5-421-2070. Bottled drinking water.  

Bottled drinking water used or sold in a food establishment 
shall be obtained from approved sources in accordance with 
21 CFR Part 129 -Processing and Bottling of Bottled drinking 
water.P 
12VAC5-421-2080. Quality Pure water standards.  

Except as specified under 12VAC5-421-2090: 
1. Water from a public water system waterworks shall meet 
the applicable water quality and quantity standards found 
in the Virginia Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590) 
accordance with 12VAC5-590;P and 
2. Water from a nonpublic water system private well shall 
meet the bacteriological water quality standards found in 
the Virginia Waterworks Regulations (12VAC5-590) 
accordance with 12VAC5-630-370 [ and not exceed 
10 mg/L of nitrate (as N) ].P 

12VAC5-421-2090. Nondrinking Nonpotable water.  
A. A nondrinking nonpotable water supply shall be used 

only if its use is approved by the regulatory authority.P 
B. Nondrinking Nonpotable water shall be used only for 

nonculinary purposes such as air conditioning, nonfood 
equipment cooling, fire protection, and irrigation.P 
12VAC5-421-2100. Sampling.  

Except when used as specified under 12VAC5-421-2090, 
water Water from a nonpublic water system private well shall 
be sampled and tested at least annually and as required by 
state water quality regulations for nitrate and total coliform. 

1. If nitrate [ (as N), which is reported as "N" on the test 
results, ] exceeds 10 mg/L, the owner shall notify the 
regulatory authority.Pf 
2. If a sample is total coliform positive, the positive culture 
medium shall be further analyzed to determine if E. coli is 
present. The owner shall notify the regulatory authority 
within two days from when the owner is notified of the 
coliform positive test result.Pf  
3. If E. coli is present, the owner shall notify the regulatory 
authority.Pf 

12VAC5-421-2110. Sample report.  
The most recent All sample report reports for the nonpublic 

water system private well shall be retained on file in the food 
establishment or the report shall be maintained as specified by 
state water quality regulations for a minimum of five years 
and be made available to the regulatory authority upon 
request.  
12VAC5-421-2120. Capacity.  

A. The approved water source and system capacity shall be 
of sufficient capacity to meet the maximum daily water 
demands and the peak hourly water demands of the food 
establishment.Pf 

B. Hot water generation and distribution systems shall be 
sufficient to meet the peak hot water demands throughout the 
food establishment.Pf 
12VAC5-421-2130. Pressure.  

Water under pressure shall be provided to all fixtures, 
equipment, and nonfood equipment that are required to use 
water except that water supplied as specified under 
subdivisions 1 and 2 of 12VAC5-421-2160 to a temporary 
food establishment or in response to a temporary interruption 
of a water supply need not be under pressure.Pf 
12VAC5-421-2150. Distribution, delivery, and retention 
system. (Repealed.)  

Water shall be received from the source through the use of:  
1. An approved public water main; or  
2. One or more of the following that shall be constructed, 
maintained, and operated according to law:  

a. Nonpublic water main, water pumps, pipes, hoses, 
connections, and other appurtenances,  
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b. Water transport vehicles, and  
c. Water containers.  

12VAC5-421-2160. Alternative water supply.  
Water meeting the requirements specified under 12VAC5-

421-2050 through 12VAC5-421-2130 shall be made available 
for a mobile facility, for a temporary food establishment 
without a permanent water supply, and for a food 
establishment with a temporary interruption of its water 
supply through:  

1. A supply of containers of commercially bottled drinking 
water;Pf 
2. One or more closed portable water containers;Pf 
3. An enclosed vehicular water tank;Pf 
4. An on-premises water storage tank;Pf or  
5. Piping, tubing, or hoses connected to an adjacent 
approved source system in a manner approved by the 
department.Pf 

Article 2  
Plumbing System  

12VAC5-421-2170. Approved materials.  
A. A plumbing system and hoses conveying water shall be 

constructed and repaired with approved materials according 
to law.P 

B. A water filter shall be made of safe materials.P 
12VAC5-421-2180. Approved system and cleanable 
fixtures.  

A. A plumbing system shall be designed, constructed, and 
installed according to law.P 

B. A plumbing fixture such as a handwashing lavatory, 
toilet, or urinal shall be easily cleanable.  
12VAC5-421-2190. Handwashing sink, water 
temperature, and flow. 

A. A handwashing sink shall be equipped to provide water 
at a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) through a mixing 
valve or combination faucet.Pf 

B. A steam mixing valve shall not be used at a handwashing 
sink. 

C. A self-closing, slow-closing, or metering faucet shall 
provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the 
need to reactivate the faucet. 

D. An automatic handwashing facility shall be installed in 
accordance with manufacturer's instructions. 
12VAC5-421-2200. Backflow prevention, air gap.  

An air gap between the water supply inlet and the flood 
level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 
equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water 
supply inlet and shall not be less than 1 one inch (25 mm).P 

12VAC5-421-2210. Backflow prevention device, design 
standard.  

A backflow or backsiphonage prevention device installed on 
a water supply system shall comply with the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) for 
construction, installation, maintenance, inspection, and 
testing for that specific application and type of device.P 
12VAC5-421-2230. Handwashing sinks, numbers, and 
capacities. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B [ and C ] of this 
section, at least one handwashing sink, or the number of 
handwashing sinks necessary for their convenient use by 
employees in areas specified under 12VAC5-421-2280, and 
not fewer than the number of handwashing sinks required by 
law shall be provided.Pf 

B. If approved and capable of removing the [ multiple ] 
types of soils encountered in the food operations [ involved ], 
automatic handwashing facilities may be substituted for 
handwashing sinks in a food establishment [ with that has ] at 
least one handwashing sink. 

B. C. If approved, when food exposure is limited and 
handwashing sinks are not conveniently available, such as in 
some mobile or temporary food establishments or at some 
vending machine locations, employees may use chemically 
treated towelettes for handwashing.  
12VAC5-421-2250. Service sink.  

A. At least one service sink or one curbed cleaning facility 
equipped with a floor drain shall be provided and 
conveniently located for the cleaning of mops or similar wet 
floor cleaning tools and for the disposal of mop water and 
similar liquid waste.  

B. Toilets and urinals shall not be used as a service sink for 
the disposal of mop water and similar liquid waste. 
12VAC5-421-2260. Backflow prevention device, when 
required.  

A plumbing system shall be installed to preclude backflow 
of a solid, liquid, or gas contaminant into the water supply 
system at each point of use at the food establishment, 
including on a hose bibb (threaded faucet) if a hose is 
attached or on a hose bibb if a hose is not attached and 
backflow prevention is required by law by:  

1. Providing an air gap as specified under 12VAC5-421-
2200;P or  
2. Installing an approved backflow prevention device as 
specified under 12VAC5-421-2210.P 

12VAC5-421-2270. Backflow prevention device, 
carbonator.  

A. If not provided with an air gap as specified under 
12VAC5-421-2200, a double check valve with an 
intermediate vent preceded by a screen of not less than 100 
mesh to 1 inch (100 mesh to 25.4mm) shall be installed 
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upstream from a carbonating device and downstream from 
any copper in the water supply line.P 

B. A single or double dual check valve attached to the 
carbonator need not be of the vented type if an air gap or 
vented backflow prevention device has been otherwise 
provided approved as specified under subsection A of this 
section.  
12VAC5-421-2280. Handwashing sinks, location. 

A handwashing sink shall be located:  
1. To be readily accessible for allow convenient use by 
employees in food preparation, food dispensing, and 
warewashing areas;Pf and  
2. In, or immediately adjacent to, toilet rooms.Pf 

12VAC5-421-2310. Using a handwashing sink. 
A. A handwashing sink shall be maintained so that it is 

accessible at all times for employee use.Pf 
B. A handwashing sink shall not be used for purposes other 

than handwashing.Pf 
C. An automatic handwashing facility shall be used in 

accordance with manufacturer's instructions.Pf 
12VAC5-421-2320. Prohibiting a cross connection.  

A. Except as specified in 9 CFR 308.3(d) for firefighting, a 
A person shall not create a cross connection by connecting a 
pipe or conduit between the drinking water system and a 
nondrinking water system or a water system of unknown 
quality.P 

B. The piping of a nondrinking water system shall be 
durably identified so that it is readily distinguishable from 
piping that carries drinking water.Pf 
12VAC5-421-2330. Scheduling inspection and service for 
a water system device.  

A device such as a water treatment device or backflow 
preventer shall be scheduled for inspection and service, in 
accordance with manufacturer's instructions and as necessary 
to prevent device failure based on local water conditions, and 
records demonstrating inspection and service shall be 
maintained by the person in charge.Pf  
12VAC5-421-2340. Water reservoir of fogging devices, 
cleaning.  

A. A reservoir that is used to supply water to a device such 
as a produce fogger shall be:  

1. Maintained in accordance with manufacturer's 
specifications;P and  
2. Cleaned in accordance with manufacturer's 
specifications or according to the procedures specified 
under subsection B of this section, whichever is more 
stringent.P  

B. Cleaning procedures shall include at least the following 
steps and shall be conducted at least once a week:  

1. Draining and complete disassembly of the water and 
aerosol contact parts;P 
2. Brush-cleaning the reservoir, aerosol tubing, and 
discharge nozzles with a suitable detergent solution;P 
3. Flushing the complete system with water to remove the 
detergent solution and particulate accumulation;P and  
4. Rinsing by immersing, spraying, or swabbing the 
reservoir, aerosol tubing, and discharge nozzles with at 
least 50 mg/L (ppm) hypochlorite solution.P  

12VAC5-421-2350. System maintained in good repair.  
A plumbing system shall be (i) repaired according to lawP 

and (ii) maintained in good repair.  
Article 3  

Mobile Water Tank and Mobile Food Establishment Water 
Tank  

12VAC5-421-2360. Approved Mobile water tank 
[ approved ] materials.  

Materials that are used in the construction of a mobile water 
tank, mobile food establishment water tank, and 
appurtenances shall be:  

1. Safe;P  
2. Durable, corrosion resistant, and nonabsorbent; and  
3. Finished to have a smooth, easily cleanable surface.  

12VAC5-421-2420. Hose, construction and identification.  
A hose used for conveying drinking potable water from a 

water tank shall be:  
1. Safe;P  
2. Durable, corrosion resistant, and nonabsorbent;  
3. Resistant to pitting, chipping, crazing, scratching, 
scoring, distortion, and decomposition;  
4. Finished with a smooth interior surface; and  
5. Clearly and durably identified as to its use if not 
permanently attached.  

12VAC5-421-2430. Filter, compressed air.  
A filter that does not pass oil or oil vapors shall be installed 

in the air supply line between the compressor and drinking 
potable water system when compressed air is used to 
pressurize the water tank system.P 
12VAC5-421-2460. System flushing and disinfection.  

A water tank, pump, and hoses shall be flushed and sanitized 
before being placed in service after construction, repair, 
modification, and periods of nonuse.P  
12VAC5-421-2490. Tank, pump, and hoses, dedication.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a 
water tank, pump, and hoses used for conveying drinking 
water shall be used for no other purpose.P 

B. Water tanks, pumps, and hoses approved for liquid foods 
may be used for conveying drinking water if they are cleaned 
and sanitized before they are used to convey water.  
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12VAC5-421-2520. Backflow prevention. 
A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, a direct connection may not exist between the sewage 
system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 
portable equipment, or utensils are placed.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to floor drains 
that originate in refrigerated spaces that are constructed as an 
integral part of the building. 

C. If allowed by law, a warewashing machine may have a 
direct connection between its waste outlet and a floor drain 
when the machine is located within five feet (1.5 meters) of a 
trapped floor drain and the machine outlet is connected to the 
inlet side of a properly vented floor drain trap. 

D. If allowed by law, a warewashing or culinary sink may 
have a direct connection. 
12VAC5-421-2540. Conveying sewage.  

Sewage shall be conveyed to the point of disposal through 
an approved sanitary sewage system or other system, 
including use of sewage transport vehicles, waste retention 
tanks, pumps, pipes, hoses, and connections that are 
constructed, maintained, and operated according to law.P 
12VAC5-421-2550. Removing mobile food establishment 
wastes.  

Sewage No public health hazard or nuisance shall result 
when sewage and other liquid wastes shall be are removed 
from a mobile food establishment at an approved waste 
servicing area or by a permitted sewage transport vehicle in 
such a way that a public health hazard or nuisance is not 
created.Pf 
12VAC5-421-2570. Approved sewage disposal system.  

Sewage shall be disposed through an approved facility that 
is:  

1. A public sewage treatment plant;P or  
2. An individual sewage disposal system that is sized, 
constructed, maintained, and operated according to law the 
State Board of Health's regulations promulgated pursuant 
to Chapter 6 (§ 32.1-163 et seq.) of Title 32 of the Code of 
Virginia, including 12VAC5-610, 12VAC5-613, and 
12VAC5-640.P 

12VAC5-421-2990. Private homes and living or sleeping 
quarters, use prohibition.  

A private home, a room used as living or sleeping quarters, 
or an area directly opening into a room used as living or 
sleeping quarters shall not be used for conducting food 
establishment operations.P 

Article 3 
Numbers and Capacities 

12VAC5-421-3020. Handwashing cleanser, availability. 
Each handwashing sink or group of two adjacent 

handwashing sinks shall be provided with a supply of hand 
cleaning liquid, powder, or bar soap.Pf  

12VAC5-421-3030. Hand drying provision. 
Each handwashing sink or group of adjacent handwashing 

sinks shall be provided with:  
1. Individual, disposable towels;Pf 
2. A continuous towel system that supplies the user with a 
clean towel; orPf 
3. A heated-air hand drying device.;Pf or 
4. A hand drying device that employs an air-knife system 
that delivers high-velocity, pressurized air at ambient 
temperatures.Pf 

12VAC5-421-3070. Toilet tissue, availability.  
A supply of toilet tissue shall be available at each toilet.Pf 

12VAC5-421-3150. Distressed merchandise, segregation 
and location.  

Products that are held by the permit holder for credit, 
redemption, or return to the distributor, such as damaged, 
spoiled, or recalled products, shall be segregated and held in 
designated areas that are separated from food, equipment, 
utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use articles.Pf  
12VAC5-421-3210. Cleaning maintenance tools, 
preventing contamination.  

Food preparation sinks, handwashing lavatories, and 
warewashing equipment shall not be used for the cleaning of 
maintenance tools, the preparation or holding of maintenance 
materials, or the disposal of mop water and similar liquid 
wastes.Pf 
12VAC5-421-3270. Controlling pests.  

The presence of insects, rodents, and other pests shall be 
controlled to minimize their presence on the premises by:  

1. Routinely inspecting incoming shipments of food and 
supplies;  
2. Routinely inspecting the premises for evidence of pests;  
3. Using methods, if pests are found, such as trapping 
devices or other means of pest control as specified under 
12VAC5-421-3360, 12VAC5-421-3440, and 12VAC5-
421-3450;Pf and  
4. Eliminating harborage conditions.  

12VAC5-421-3310. Prohibiting animals.  
A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this 

section, live animals shall not be allowed on the premises of a 
food establishment.Pf 

B. Live animals may be allowed in the following situations 
if the contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and 
linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles 
cannot result: 

1. Edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or 
crustacea on ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and 
crustacea in display tank systems; 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2916 

2. Patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 
offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs 
running loose in outside fenced areas; 
3. In areas that are not used for food preparation and that 
are usually open for customers, such as dining and sales 
areas, service animals that are controlled by the disabled 
employee or person, if a health or safety hazard will not 
result from the presence or activities of the service animal; 
4. Pets in the common dining areas of institutional care 
facilities such as nursing homes, assisted living facilities, 
group homes, or residential care facilities, and food 
establishment bed and breakfast facilities at times other 
than during meals if: 

a. Effective partitioning and self-closing doors separate 
the common dining areas from food storage or food 
preparation areas; 
b. Condiments, equipment, and utensils are stored in 
enclosed cabinets or removed from the common dining 
areas when pets are present; and 
c. Dining areas including tables, countertops, and similar 
surfaces are effectively cleaned before the next meal 
service; [ and ]  

5. In areas that are not used for food preparation, storage, 
sales, display, or dining, in which there are caged animals 
or animals that are similarly restricted, such as in a variety 
store that sells pets or a tourist park that displays animals 
[ .; and ]  
6. Dogs in outdoor dining areas if:  

a. The outdoor dining area is not fully enclosed with 
floor to ceiling walls and is not considered a part of the 
interior physical facility. 
b. The outdoor dining area is equipped with an entrance 
that is separate from the main entrance to the food 
establishment and the separate entrance serves as the sole 
means of entry for patrons accompanied by dogs. 
c. A sign stating that dogs are allowed in the outdoor 
dining area is posted at each entrance to the outdoor 
dining area in such a manner as to be clearly observable 
by the public.  
 [ d. A sign within the outdoor dining area stating the 
requirements as specified in subdivisions 6 e, 6 f, and 6 g 
of this subsection is provided in such a manner as to be 
clearly observable by the public.  
d. e. ] Food and water provided to dogs is served using 
equipment that is not used for service of food to persons 
or is served in single-use articles. 
 [ e. f. ] Dogs are not allowed on chairs, seats, benches, or 
tables.  
 [ f. g. ] Dogs are kept on a leash or within a pet carrier 
and under the control of an adult at all times. 
[ g. h. ] Establishment provides effective means for 
cleaning up dog vomitus and fecal matter. 

[ h. A sign within the outdoor dining area stating the 
requirements as specified in subdivisions 6 d, e, and f of 
this subsection is provided in such a manner as to be 
clearly observable by the public. ]   

C. Live or dead fish bait may be stored if contamination of 
food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and unwrapped 
single-service and single-use articles can not cannot result. 

D. In bed and breakfast facilities serving 18 or fewer 
customers, live animals shall be allowed in the facility but 
shall not be fed using the same equipment or utensils that are 
used to feed humans. 

Part VII  
Poisonous or Toxic Materials  

Article 1  
Labeling and Identification  

12VAC5-421-3320. Original containers - identifying 
information, prominence.  

Containers of poisonous or toxic materials and personal care 
items shall bear a legible manufacturer's label.Pf 
12VAC5-421-3330. Working containers - common name.  

Working containers used for storing poisonous or toxic 
materials such as cleaners and sanitizers taken from bulk 
supplies shall be clearly and individually identified with the 
common name of the material.Pf 

Article 2  
Operational Supplies and Applications  

12VAC5-421-3340. Storage, separation.  
Poisonous or toxic materials shall be stored so they can not 

cannot contaminate food, equipment, utensils, linens, and 
single-service and single-use articles by:  

1. Separating the poisonous or toxic materials by spacing 
or partitioning; [ andP P and ] 
2. Locating the poisonous or toxic materials in an area that 
is not above food, equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service or single-use articles. This subsection does not 
apply to equipment and utensil cleaners and sanitizers that 
are stored in warewashing areas for availability and 
convenience if the materials are stored to prevent 
contamination of food, equipment, utensils, linens, and 
single-service and single-use articles; and,.P  
3. Detergents, sanitizers, related cleaning or drying agents 
and caustics, acids, polishes and other chemicals shall be 
stored separately from insecticides and rodenticides.  

12VAC5-421-3350. Presence and use restriction.  
A. Only those poisonous or toxic materials that are required 

for the operation and maintenance of a food establishment, 
such as for the cleaning and sanitizing of equipment and 
utensils and the control of insects and rodents, shall be 
allowed in a food establishment.Pf 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to packaged 
poisonous or toxic materials that are for retail sale.  
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12VAC5-421-3360. Conditions of use.  
Poisonous or toxic materials shall be:  

1. Used according to:  
a. Law and this chapter,;  
b. Manufacturer's use directions included in labeling, 
and, for a pesticide, manufacturer's label instructions that 
state that use is allowed in a food establishment,;P  
c. The conditions of certification, if certification is 
required, for use of the pest control materials,;P and  
d. Additional conditions that may be established by the 
regulatory authority; and.P  

2. Applied so that:  
a. A hazard to employees or other persons is not 
constituted,;P and  
b. Contamination including toxic residues due to drip, 
drain, fog, splash, or spray on food, equipment, utensils, 
linens, and single-service and single-use articles is 
prevented, and for a restricted-use pesticide, this is 
achieved by:P  
(1) Removing the items, covering the items with 
impermeable covers, or taking other appropriate 
preventive actions,;P and  
(2) Cleaning and sanitizing equipment and utensils after 
the application.P 

3. A restricted use pesticide shall be applied only by an 
applicator certified as defined in 7 USC § 136(e) (Federal 
Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act), or a person 
under the direct supervision of a certified applicator.Pf 

12VAC5-421-3370. Poisonous or toxic material 
containers.  

A container previously used to store poisonous or toxic 
materials shall not be used to store, transport, or dispense 
food.P 
12VAC5-421-3380. Sanitizers, criteria.  

Chemical sanitizers, including chemical sanitizing solutions 
generated on site, and other chemical antimicrobials applied 
to food-contact surfaces shall meet:  

1. Meet the requirements specified in 40 CFR 180.940,P or  
2. Meet the requirements as specified in 40 CFR 
180.2020.P 

12VAC5-421-3390. Chemicals for washing fruits and 
vegetables, criteria.  

A. Chemicals, including those generated on site, used to 
wash or peel raw, whole fruits and vegetables shall meet the 
requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.315:  

1. Be an approved food additive listed for this intended use 
in 21 CFR 173,P or  
2. Be generally recognized as safe (GRAS) for this 
intended use,P or  

3. Be the subject of an effective food contact notification 
for this intended use (only effective for the manufacturer or 
supplier identified in the notification),P and  
4. Meet the requirements in the 40 CFR Part 156.P 

B. Ozone as an antimicrobial agent used in the treatment, 
storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables in a food 
establishment shall meet the requirements specified in 21 
CFR 173.368.P 
12VAC5-421-3400. Boiler water additives, criteria.  

Chemicals used as boiler water additives shall meet the 
requirements specified in 21 CFR 173.310.P  
12VAC5-421-3410. Drying agents, criteria.  

Drying agents used in conjunction with sanitization shall:  
1. Contain only components that are listed as one of the 
following:  

a. Generally recognized as safe for use in food as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 182 - Substances Generally 
Recognized as Safe, or 21 CFR Part 184 - Direct Food 
Substances Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe,P  
b. Generally recognized as safe for the intended use as 
specified in 21 CFR Part 186 - Indirect Food Substances 
Affirmed as Generally Recognized as Safe,P 
c. Generally recognized as safe for the intended use as 
determined by experts qualified in scientific training and 
experience to evaluate the safety of substances added, 
directly or indirectly, to food as described in 21 CFR 
170.30, P 
d. Subject of an effective Food Contact Notification as 
described in the Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act 
(FFDCA) § 409(h),P 
c. e. Approved for use as a drying agent under a prior 
sanction specified in 21 CFR Part 181 - Prior-Sanctioned 
Food Ingredients, as specified in the Federal Food Drug 
and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) § 201(s)(4),P  
d. f. Specifically regulated as an indirect food additive 
for use as a drying agent as specified in 21 CFR Parts 
175- through 178,P or  
e. g. Approved for use as a drying agent under the 
threshold of regulation process established by 21 CFR 
170.39 - Threshold of Regulation for Substances Used in 
Food-contact Articles;P and  

2. When sanitization is with chemicals, the approval 
required under subdivisions subdivision 1 c e or e g of this 
section or the regulation as an indirect food additive 
required under subdivision 1 d f of this section, shall be 
specifically for use with chemical sanitizing solutions.P  

12VAC5-421-3420. Lubricants - incidental food contact, 
criteria.  

Lubricants shall meet the requirements specified in 21 CFR 
178.3570 if they are used on food-contact surfaces, on 
bearings and gears located on or within food-contact surfaces, 
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or on bearings and gears that are located so that lubricants 
may leak, drip, or be forced into food or onto food-contact 
surfaces.P 
12VAC5-421-3430. Restricted use pesticides, criteria.  

Restricted use pesticides specified under subdivision 3 of 
12VAC5-421-3360 C shall meet the requirements specified in 
40 CFR [ Part ] 152, Subpart I - Classification of Pesticides.P  
12VAC5-421-3440. Rodent bait stations.  

Rodent bait shall be contained in a covered, tamper-resistant 
bait station.P  
12VAC5-421-3450. Tracking powders, pest control, and 
monitoring.  

A. [ A Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a ] 
tracking powder pesticide shall not be used in a food 
establishment.P 

B. If used, a nontoxic tracking powder such as talcum or 
flour shall not contaminate food, equipment, utensils, linens, 
and single-service and single-use articles. 
12VAC5-421-3460. Medicines - restriction and storage. 

A. Except for medicines that are stored or displayed for 
retail sale, only those medicines that are necessary for the 
health of employees shall be allowed in a food 
establishment.Pf 

B. Medicines that are in a food establishment for the 
employees' use shall be labeled as specified under 12VAC5-
421-3320 and located to prevent the contamination of food, 
equipment, utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use 
articles.P 
12VAC5-421-3470. Refrigerated medicines, storage.  

Medicines belonging to employees or to children in a day 
care center that require refrigeration and are stored in a food 
refrigerator shall be:  

1. Stored in a package or container and kept inside a 
covered, leakproof container that is identified as a 
container for the storage of medicines;P and  
2. Located so they are inaccessible to children.P  

12VAC5-421-3480. First aid supplies, storage.  
First aid supplies that are in a food establishment for the 

employees' use shall be:  
1. Labeled as specified under 12VAC5-421-3320;Pf and  
2. Stored in a kit or a container that is located to prevent 
the contamination of food, equipment, utensils, and linens, 
and single-service and single-use articles.P  

Article 3  
Stock and Retail Sale  

12VAC5-421-3500. Storage and display, separation.  
Poisonous or toxic materials shall be stored and displayed 

for retail sale so they can not cannot contaminate food, 
equipment, utensils, linens, and single-service and single-use 
articles by:  

1. Separating the poisonous or toxic materials by spacing 
or partitioning;P and  
2. Locating the poisonous or toxic materials in an area that 
is not above food, equipment, utensils, linens, and single-
service or single-use articles.P  

12VAC5-421-3590. Disposition of a variance request. 
A. The commissioner may grant the variance request and if 

If the commissioner proposes to deny the variance he shall 
provide the owner an opportunity to an informal hearing fact-
finding conference as provided in § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 
Virginia. Following this opportunity for an informal hearing 
fact-finding conference the commissioner may reject any 
application for a variance by sending a rejection notice to the 
applicant. The rejection notice shall be in writing and shall 
state the reasons for the rejection. A rejection notice 
constitutes a case decision. 

B. If the commissioner proposes to grant a variance request 
submitted pursuant to this part, the applicant shall be notified 
in writing of this decision. Such notice shall identify the 
variance, the food establishment involved, and shall specify 
the period of time for which the variance will be effective. 
Such notice shall provide that the variance will be terminated 
when the food establishment comes into compliance with the 
applicable regulation and may be terminated upon a finding 
by the commissioner that the food establishment has failed to 
comply with any requirements or schedules issued in 
conjunction with the variance. The effective date of the 
variance shall be as noted in the variance letter. 

C. All variances granted to any food establishment may not 
be transferable unless otherwise stated. Each variance shall be 
attached to the permit to which it is granted. Each variance is 
revoked when the permit to which it is attached is revoked 
operate and posted prominently in a conspicuous place for 
public view. 

D. No owner or permit holder may challenge the terms or 
conditions of a variance after 30 calendar days have elapsed 
from the receipt of the variance. 

E. Each variance shall be posted prominently in a 
conspicuous place for public view and in close proximity to 
the permit to which it relates. Each variance is revoked when 
the permit to which it operate is attached is revoked, 
suspended, or if the permit is not revalidated or renewed 
expired. 

Article 2  
Plan Submission and Approval  

12VAC5-421-3600. Facility and operating plans - when 
plans are required.  

A permit applicant or permit holder shall submit to the 
regulatory authority properly prepared plans and 
specifications for review and approval before:  

1. The construction of a food establishment;Pf  
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2. The conversion of an existing structure for use as a food 
establishment;Pf or  
3. The remodeling of a food establishment or a change of 
type of food establishment or food operation as specified 
under [ 12VAC5-421-3710 ] C [ subdivision 3 of 12VAC-
421-3700 ] if the regulatory authority determines that plans 
and specifications are necessary to ensure compliance with 
this regulation this chapter.Pf  

 [ 12VAC5-421-3620. When a HACCP plan is required.  
A. Before engaging in an activity that requires a HACCP 

plan, a permit applicant or permit holder shall submit to the 
regulatory authority for approval a properly prepared HACCP 
plan as specified under 12VAC5-421-3630 and the relevant 
provisions of this chapter if: 

1. Submission of a HACCP plan is required according to 
law; 
2. A variance is required as specified under 12VAC5-421-
860, 12VAC5-421-1300 B, or 12VAC5-421-700 D 2 4; or 
3. The regulatory authority determines that a food 
preparation or processing method requires a variance based 
on a plan submittal specified under 12VAC5-421-3610, an 
inspectional finding, or a variance request. 

B. A permit applicant or permit holder shall have a properly 
prepared HACCP plan Before engaging in reduced oxygen 
packaging without a variance as specified under 12VAC5-
421-870, a permit applicant or permit holder shall submit a 
properly prepared HACCP plan to the regulatory authority. ]  
12VAC5-421-3630. Contents of a HACCP plan.  

For a food establishment that is required under 12VAC5-
421-3620 to have a HACCP plan, the plan and specifications 
shall indicate the permit applicant or permit holder shall 
submit to the regulatory authority a properly prepared 
HACCP plan that includes:  

1. General information such as the name of the permit 
applicant or permit holder, the food establishment address, 
and contact information;Pf 
1. 2. A categorization of the types of potentially hazardous 
foods time/temperature control for safety food that are 
specified in the menu such as soups and sauces, salads, and 
bulk, solid foods such as meat roasts, or of other foods that 
are specified by the regulatory authority is to be controlled 
under the HACCP plan;Pf 
2. 3. A flow diagram by specific food or category type 
identifying critical control points and providing 
information on the following or chart for each specific 
food or category type that identifies:Pf 

a. Each step in the process,Pf 
b. The hazards and controls for each step in the flow 
diagram or chart,Pf 
c. The steps that are critical control points,Pf 

a. Ingredients d. The ingredients, materials, and 
equipment used in the preparation of that food,Pf and  
b. e. Formulations or recipes that delineate methods and 
procedural control measures that address the food safety 
concerns involved;Pf  

3. Food employee and supervisory training plan that 
addresses the food safety issues of concern.  
4. A statement of standard operating procedures for the 
plan under consideration including clearly identifying A 
critical control point summary for each specific food or 
category type that clearly identifies:  

a. Each critical control point,;Pf 
b. The critical limits for each critical control point,;Pf 
c. The method and frequency for monitoring and 
controlling each critical control point by the food 
employee designated by the person in charge,;Pf 
d. The method and frequency for the person in charge to 
routinely verify that the food employee is following 
standard operating procedures and monitoring critical 
control points,;Pf 
e. Action to be taken by the person in charge if the 
critical limits for each critical control point are not met,;Pf 

and  
f. Records to be maintained by the person in charge to 
demonstrate that the HACCP plan is properly operated 
and managed;Pf and  

5. Supporting documents such as;  
a. Food employee and supervisory training plan 
addressing food safety issues;Pf 
b. Copies of blank records forms that are necessary to 
implement a HACCP plan;Pf 
c. Additional scientific data or other information, as 
required by the regulatory authority supporting the 
determination that food safety is not compromised by the 
proposal.Pf  

5. Additional scientific data or other information, as 
required by the regulatory authority, supporting the 
determination that food safety is not compromised by the 
proposal.  
6. Any other information required by the regulatory 
authority.  

12VAC5-421-3670. Application procedure, submission 30 
calendar days before proposed opening.  

An applicant seeking to operate a nontemporary food 
establishment shall submit an application for a permit at least 
30 calendar days before the date planned for opening a food 
establishment or at least 30 calendar days before the 
expiration date of the current permit for an existing facility. 
An applicant seeking to operate a temporary food 
establishment shall submit an application for a permit at least 
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10 calendar days before the date planned for opening the 
temporary food establishment.  
12VAC5-421-3700. Contents of the application.  

The application shall include:  
1. The name, mailing address, telephone number, and 
signature of the person applying for the permit and the 
name, mailing address, and location of the food 
establishment;  
2. Information specifying whether the food establishment 
is owned by an association, corporation, individual, 
partnership, or other legal entity;  
3. A statement specifying whether the food establishment:  

a. Is mobile or stationary and temporary or permanent; 
and  
b. Is an operation that includes one or more of the 
following:  
(1) Prepares, offers for sale, or serves potentially 
hazardous food time/temperature control for safety food:  
(a) Only to order upon a consumer's request;  
(b) In advance in quantities based on projected consumer 
demand and discards food that is not sold or served at an 
approved frequency; or  
(c) Using time as the public health control as specified 
under 12VAC5-421-850;  
(2) Prepares potentially hazardous food time/temperature 
control for safety food in advance using a food 
preparation method that involves two or more steps 
which may include combining potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food ingredients; 
cooking; cooling; reheating; hot or cold holding; 
freezing; or thawing;  
(3) Prepares food as specified under subdivision 3 b (2) 
of this section for delivery to and consumption at a 
location off the premises of the food establishment where 
it is prepared;  
(4) Prepares food as specified under subdivision 3 b (2) 
of this section for service to a highly susceptible 
population;  
(5) Prepares only food that is not [ potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food ]; or  
(6) Does not prepare, but offers for sale only 
prepackaged food that is not potentially hazardous 
time/temperature control for safety food;  

4. The name, title, address, and telephone number of the 
person directly responsible for the food establishment;  
5. The name, title, address, and telephone number of the 
person who functions as the immediate supervisor of the 
person specified under subdivision 4 of this section such as 
the zone, district, or regional supervisor;  
6. The names, titles, and addresses of:  

a. The persons comprising the legal ownership as 
specified under subdivision 2 of this section including the 
owners and officers; and  
b. The local resident agent if one is required based on the 
type of legal ownership;  

7. A statement signed by the applicant that:  
a. Attests to the accuracy of the information provided in 
the application; and  
b. Affirms that the applicant will:  
(1) Comply with this chapter; and  
(2) Allow the regulatory authority access to the 
establishment as specified under 12VAC5-421-3820 and 
to the records specified under 12VAC5-421-440 and 
12VAC5-421-2330 and subdivision 4 of 12VAC5-421-
3630; and  

8. Other information required by the regulatory authority.  
12VAC5-421-3770. Suspension Summary suspension of a 
permit.  

The director may summarily suspend without a hearing a 
permit to operate a restaurant if the director finds the 
continued operation constitutes a substantial and imminent 
threat to the public health, except the director may summarily 
suspend the permit of a temporary restaurant as addressed 
under 12VAC5-421-3870. Upon receipt of such notice that a 
permit is suspended, the permit holder shall cease food 
operations immediately and begin corrective action.  

Whenever a permit is suspended, the holder of the permit or 
the person in charge shall be notified in writing by certified 
mail or by hand delivery. Upon service of notice that the 
permit is immediately suspended, the former permit holder 
shall be given an opportunity for a hearing an informal fact-
finding conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code 
of Virginia. The request for a hearing an informal fact-finding 
conference shall be in writing. The written request shall be 
filed with the local department by the former holder of the 
permit. If written request for a hearing an informal fact-
finding conference is not filed within 10 working days, the 
suspension is sustained. Each holder of a suspended permit 
shall be afforded an opportunity for an informal hearing fact-
finding conference, within three working days of receipt of a 
request for the hearing informal fact-finding conference. The 
director may end the suspension at any time if the reasons for 
the suspension no longer exist.  
12VAC5-421-3780. Revocation of a permit.  

The director may, after providing an opportunity for a 
hearing an informal fact-finding conference in accordance 
with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, revoke a permit for 
flagrant or continuing violation of any of the requirements of 
this part.  

Prior to revocation, the director shall notify in writing the 
holder of the permit, or the person in charge, of the specific 
reason for which the permit is to be revoked. The permit shall 
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be revoked at the end of the 15 days following service of such 
notice unless a written request for a hearing is filed before 
then with the director from which the permit was obtained. If 
no request for a hearing is filed within the 15 day period, the 
revocation of the permit shall be final.  

Article 4  
Inspection and Correction of Violations  

12VAC5-421-3800. Periodic inspection.  
Food establishments shall be inspected by the designee of 

the director. Inspections of the food establishments shall be 
performed as often as necessary for the enforcement of this 
part in accordance with the following:  

1. Except as specified in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this 
section, the regulatory authority shall inspect a food 
establishment at least once every six months.  
2. The regulatory authority may increase the interval 
between inspections beyond six months if:  

a. The food establishment is fully operating under an 
approved and validated HACCP plan as specified under 
12VAC5-421-3630;  
b. The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 
inspection frequency based on a written an established 
risk-based inspection schedule that is being uniformly 
applied throughout the jurisdiction Commonwealth and 
at least once every six months the establishment is 
contacted by telephone or other means by the regulatory 
authority to ensure that the establishment manager and 
the nature of the food operation are not changed updated 
annually upon reissuance of the annual permit; or  
c. The establishment's operation involves only coffee 
service and other unpackaged or prepackaged food that is 
not potentially hazardous time/temperature control for 
safety food, such as carbonated beverages and snack food 
such as chips, nuts, popcorn, and pretzels.  

3. The regulatory authority shall periodically inspect 
throughout its permit period a temporary food 
establishment that prepares, sells, or serves unpackaged 
potentially hazardous food and that during its permit 
period, unless the Virginia Department of Health develops 
a written risk-based plan for adjusting the frequency of 
inspections of temporary food establishments that is 
uniformly applied throughout the Commonwealth.  

a. Has improvised rather than permanent facilities or 
equipment for accomplishing functions such as 
handwashing, food preparation and protection, food 
temperature control, warewashing, providing drinking 
water, waste retention and disposal, and insect and rodent 
control; or  
b. Has inexperienced food employees.  

12VAC5-421-3810. Performance-based and [ priority-
based risk-based ] inspections.  

Within the parameters specified in 12VAC5-421-3800, the 
regulatory authority shall prioritize, and conduct more 
frequent inspections based upon its assessment of a food 
establishment's history of compliance with this chapter and 
the establishment's potential as a vector of foodborne illness 
by evaluating:  

1. Past performance for nonconformance with this chapter 
or HACCP plan requirements that are critical priority items 
or priority foundation items;  
2. Past performance for numerous or repeat violations of 
this chapter or HACCP plan requirements that are 
noncritical core items;  
3. Past performance for complaints investigated and found 
to be valid;  
4. The hazards associated with the particular foods that are 
prepared, stored, or served;  
5. The type of operation including the methods and extent 
of food storage, preparation, and service;  
6. The number of people served; and  
7. Whether the population served is a highly susceptible 
population.  

12VAC5-421-3815. Competency of environmental health 
specialists. 

A. An authorized representative of the commissioner who 
inspects a food establishment or conducts plan review for 
compliance with this chapter shall have the knowledge, skills, 
and ability to adequately perform the required duties. For the 
purposes of this section, competency shall be demonstrated 
when an environmental health specialist meets the training 
and standardization requirements specified in the Virginia 
Department of Health Procedures for Certification and 
Standardization of Retail Food Protection Staff, 2014, (VDH, 
Division of Food and Environmental Services). 

B. The regulatory authority shall ensure that authorized 
representatives who inspect a food establishment or conduct 
plan review for compliance with this chapter have access to 
training and continuing education as needed to properly 
identify violations and apply this chapter.  
12VAC5-421-3860. Documenting information and 
observations. 

The regulatory authority shall document on an inspection 
report form: 

1. Administrative information about the food 
establishment's legal identity, street and mailing addresses, 
type of establishment and operation as specified under 
12VAC5-421-3700, inspection date, and other information 
such as type of water supply and sewage disposal, status of 
the permit, and personnel certificates that may be required; 
and 
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2. Specific factual observations of violative conditions or 
other deviations from this chapter that require correction 
by the permit holder including: 

a. Failure of the person in charge to demonstrate the 
knowledge of foodborne illness prevention, application 
of HACCP principles, and the requirements of this 
chapter specified under 12VAC5-421-60; 
b. Failure of food employees, conditional employees, and 
the person in charge to demonstrate their knowledge of 
their responsibility to report a disease or medical 
condition as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 B and D; 
c. Nonconformance with [ critical priority ] items [ or 
priority foundation items ] of this chapter; 
d. Failure of the appropriate food employees to 
demonstrate their knowledge of, and ability to perform in 
accordance with, the procedural, monitoring, verification, 
and corrective action practices required by the regulatory 
authority as specified under 12VAC5-421-60; 
e. Failure of the person in charge to provide records 
required by the regulatory authority for determining 
conformance with a HACCP plan as specified under 
subdivision 4 f of 12VAC5-421-3630; and 
f. Nonconformance with critical limits of a HACCP plan. 

12VAC5-421-3910. Imminent health hazard, ceasing 
operations and reporting.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a 
permit holder shall immediately discontinue operations and 
notify the regulatory authority if an imminent health hazard 
may exist because of an emergency such as a fire, flood, 
extended interruption of electrical or water service, sewage 
backup, misuse of poisonous or toxic materials, onset of an 
apparent foodborne illness outbreak, gross insanitary 
occurrence or condition, or other circumstance that may 
endanger public health.P 

B. A permit holder need not discontinue operations in an 
area of an establishment that is unaffected by the imminent 
health hazard.  
12VAC5-421-3930. Critical violation, timely Timely 
correction.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a 
permit holder shall at the time of inspection correct a critical 
violation of priority item or priority foundation item in this 
chapter and implement corrective actions for a HACCP plan 
provision that is not in compliance with its critical limit. Pf  

B. Considering the nature of the potential hazard involved 
and the complexity of the corrective action needed, the 
regulatory authority may agree to or specify a longer time 
frame timeframe, not to exceed 10 calendar days:  

1. 72 hours after the inspection, for the permit holder to 
correct critical violations priority items; or 

2. 10 calendar days after the inspection for the permit 
holder to correct priority foundation items or HACCP plan 
deviations. 

12VAC5-421-3940. Verification and documentation of 
correction.  

A. After observing at the time of inspection a correction of a 
critical violation or deviation priority item or priority 
foundation item, the regulatory authority shall enter the 
violation observation and information about the corrective 
action on the inspection report.  

B. As specified under 12VAC5-421-3930 B, after receiving 
notification that the permit holder has corrected a critical 
violation priority item or priority foundation item or a 
HACCP plan deviation, or at the end of the specified period 
of time, the regulatory authority shall verify correction of the 
violation, document the information on an inspection report, 
and enter the report in the regulatory authority's records.  
12VAC5-421-3950. Noncritical violation Core item, time 
frame timeframe for correction.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 
permit holder shall correct noncritical violations core items 
by a date and time agreed to or specified by the regulatory 
authority but no later than 90 calendar days after the 
inspection.  

B. The regulatory authority may approve a compliance 
schedule that extends beyond the time limits specified under 
subsection A of this section if a written schedule of 
compliance is submitted by the permit holder and no health 
hazard exists or will result from allowing an extended 
schedule for compliance.  
12VAC5-421-3960. Examination for condemnation of 
food. 

Food may be examined or sampled by the department as 
often as necessary for enforcement of this chapter. Also, the 
department may, upon written notice to the owner or permit 
holder or person in charge impound any food which it 
believes is in violation of Part III (12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) 
or any other section of this chapter. The department shall tag, 
label, or otherwise identify any food subject to impoundment. 
No food under conditions specified in the impoundment shall 
be used, served or moved from the establishment. The 
department shall permit storage of the food under conditions 
specified in the impoundment unless storage is not possible 
without risk to the public health in which case immediate 
destruction shall be ordered and accomplished by the owner 
or permit holder or person in charge. The impoundment shall 
state that a request for a hearing an informal fact-finding 
conference may be filed within 10 days and that if no hearing 
conference is requested, the food shall be destroyed by the 
owner or permit holder or person in charge. A hearing shall 
be held The department shall hold an informal fact-finding 
conference if so requested, and on the basis of evidence 
produced at the hearing, the impoundment may be vacated, or 
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the owner or permit holder or person in charge of the food 
may be directed by written order in writing by the director to 
denature or destroy such food or to bring it into compliance 
with the provisions of this chapter. 
12VAC5-421-3970. Enforcement of regulation. 

A. This chapter shall be enforced by the State Board of 
Health and the State Health Commissioner, as executive 
officer of the board. 

B. The directors are appointed by the board and 
commissioner as duly designated officers and are responsible 
for the implementation and enforcement of this chapter. 

C. All food establishments shall operate in compliance with 
the requirements set forth in this chapter and shall not operate 
without a valid permit. 

D. The commissioner shall be vested with all the authority 
of the board when it is not in session, subject to such rules 
and regulations as may be prescribed by the board. 

E. Pursuant to the authority granted in §§ 32.1-26 and 35.1-6 
of the Code of Virginia, the commissioner may issue orders 
to require any owner or permit holder or other person to 
comply with the provisions of these regulations this chapter. 
The order may require the following: 

1. The immediate cessation and correction of the violation; 
2. Appropriate remedial action to ensure that the violation 
does not continue or recur; 
3. The submission of a plan to prevent future violations; 
4. The submission of an application for a variance; and  
5. Any other corrective action deemed necessary for proper 
compliance with the regulations. 

F. Before the issuance of an order, the commissioner must 
comply with the requirements of § 35.1-6 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

G. All orders issued pursuant to 12VAC5-421-3970 C shall 
become effective not less than 15 days after mailing a copy 
thereof by certified mail to the last known address of the 
owner or permit holder or person violating these regulations. 
Violation of an order is a Class 3 misdemeanor. See § 35.1-7 
of the Code of Virginia. 

H. F. The commissioner may act as the agent of the board to 
enforce all effective orders and these regulations this chapter. 
Should any owner or permit holder fail to comply with any 
effective order or these regulations this chapter, the 
commissioner may: 

1. Institute a proceeding to revoke the owner's or permit 
holder's permit in accordance with 12VAC5-421-3780; 
2. Request the attorney for the Commonwealth to bring a 
criminal action; 
3. Request the Attorney General to bring an action for civil 
penalty, injunction, or other appropriate remedy; or 
4. Do any combination of the above. 

I. G. Not exclusive means of enforcement. Nothing 
contained in 12VAC5-421-3970 this section shall be 
interpreted to require the commissioner to issue an order prior 
to seeking enforcement of any regulations or statute through 
an injunction, mandamus or criminal prosecution. 

J. H. Hearings Proceedings before the commissioner or his 
designee shall include any of the following forms depending 
on the nature of the controversy and the interests of the 
parties involved. 

1. Informal hearings fact-finding conferences. An informal 
hearing fact-finding conference is a meeting with a district 
or local health department with the district or local health 
director presiding and held in conformance with § 2.2-
4019 of the Code of Virginia. 
2. Adjudicatory hearing. The adjudicatory hearing is a 
formal, public adjudicatory proceeding before the 
commissioner, or his designated hearing officer a hearing 
officer as defined by § 2.2-4001 of the Code of Virginia, 
and held in conformance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

12VAC5-421-3980. Request for hearing informal fact-
finding conference.  

A request for an informal hearing fact-finding conference 
shall be made by sending the request in writing to the district 
or local health department in the locality where the food 
establishment is located. Requests for hearings an informal 
fact-finding conference shall cite the reason(s) reason or 
reasons for the hearing request and shall cite the section(s) 
section or sections of these regulations this chapter involved 
and must be received within 30 days of the decision by the 
department that lead to the hearing request.  
12VAC5-421-3990. Hearing as a matter of right. 
(Repealed.)  

Any owner or permit holder or named party whose rights, 
duties, or privileges have been, or may be affected by any 
case decision of the board or its subordinates in the 
administration of these regulations shall have a right to both 
informal and adjudicatory hearings. The commissioner may 
require participation in an informal hearing before granting 
the request for a full adjudicatory hearing. Exception: No 
person other than an owner shall have the right to an 
adjudicatory hearing to challenge the issuance of a permit to 
operate unless the person can demonstrate at an informal 
hearing that the minimum standards contained in these 
regulations have not been applied and that he will be injured 
in some manner by the issuance of the permit.  
12VAC5-421-4000. Appeals. 

A. Any appeal from a denial of a permit to operate a food 
establishment must be made in writing and received by the 
department within 30 days after service of the final order in 
the case decision denial. In the event that service of a case 
decision upon a party is accomplished by mail, three days 
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shall be added to the 30-day period. Notice shall be consistent 
with Part 2A of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

1. Any request for hearing on the denial of an application 
for a variance pursuant to 12VAC5-421-3590 A must be 
made in writing and received within sixty days of receipt 
of the denial notice. 
2. Any request for a variance must be made in writing and 
received by the department prior to the denial of the food 
establishment permit, or within 60 days after such denial. 
3. In the event a person applies for a variance within the 
60-day period provided by subdivision 2 of this section, 
the date for appealing the denial of the permit, pursuant to 
subdivision 1 of this section, shall commence from the date 
on which the department acts on the request for a variance. 

4. B. Pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) an aggrieved owner or permit 
holder may appeal a final case decision of the commissioner 
to an appropriate circuit court. 
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (12VAC5-421)  

Foodservice Establishment Inspection Report, EHS-152 
(rev. 9/95).  

Foodservice Critical Procedures Report, EHS-153 (rev. 
9/95).  

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Cover Page 
(eff. 2016) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 
Page with Temperatures (eff. 2016) 

Food Establishment Inspection Report Form - Narrative 
Page (eff. 2016) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC5-421)  

National Shellfish Sanitation Program Manual of 
Operations, Part II, Sanitation of the Harvesting, Processing 
and Distribution of Shellfish, 1995 Revision, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration  

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 
Evaluations, 34th Edition, 2014, U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 
for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 
Science, Office of Generic Drugs at 
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 
(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835  

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List (updated 
monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 
Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 
Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 
Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 
Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 
(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 
20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2012 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 
Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 
Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 
www.nsf.org 

Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 
Certification Programs, April 2012, Conference for Food 
Protection, 30 Elliott Court, Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for 
Shell Eggs, AMS-56, effective July 20, 2000, U.S. 
Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, 
Poultry Programs, STOP 0259, Room 3944-South, 1400 
Independence Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-0259  

VDH Procedures for Certification and Standardization of 
Retail Food Protection Staff Workbook, 2014, Virginia 
Department of Health, Division of Food and Environmental 
Services, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-2701; Filed June 2, 2016, 5:27 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 
Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 
(amending 12VAC30-30-20). 
12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical 
and Remedial Care Services (amending 12VAC30-50-
130). 
12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver Services (repealing 
12VAC30-135-10 through 12VAC30-135-90). 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ca134002701~3&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ca134002701~3&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33fc2002701~4&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33fc2002701~4&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aef89002701~5&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=aef89002701~5&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1481c004032~2&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
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Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 
Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 
administer the Plan for Medical Assistance. Section 32.1-324 
of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Director of the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to 
administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance when 
the board is not in session, subject to such rules and 
regulations as may be prescribed by the board. The Medicaid 
authority was established by § 1902(a) of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC § 1396a), which provides the governing 
authority for DMAS to administer the state's Medicaid 
system. 
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Public Law 
111-148) (PPACA), as amended by the Health Care and 
Education Recovery Act of 2010 (Public Law 111-152), 
contains § 2303 State Eligibility Option for Family Planning 
Services, which established a new Medicaid eligibility group 
and the option for states to begin providing family planning 
services and supplies to individuals (both men and women) 
found to be eligible under this new group. Coverage of both 
of these services was previously only available under a 
demonstration project waiver for men and women not eligible 
for full Medicaid benefits. 
Item 301 UU of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 
provides the following: "The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services shall seek federal authority to move the 
family planning eligibility group from a demonstration 
waiver to the State Plan for Medical Assistance. The 
department shall seek approval of coverage under this new 
state plan option for individuals with income up to 200%  of 
the federal poverty level (FPL). For the purposes of this 
section, family planning services shall not cover payment for 
abortion services and no funds shall be used to perform, 
assist, encourage or make direct referrals for abortions. The 
department shall have authority to implement necessary 
changes upon federal approval and prior to the completion of 
any regulatory process undertaken in order to effect such 
change." 
Purpose: The Plan First program was initially covered by the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) as a 
demonstration waiver program and covered general family 
planning services for persons who could not qualify for full 
Medicaid eligibility. The covered services included (i) 
examinations for both men and women for sexually 
transmitted diseases, (ii) birth control, (iii) cancer screenings 
for men and women, and (iv) family planning education and 
counseling. Demonstration projects, regardless of their 
subject, create significant administrative costs and reporting 
requirements for Medicaid programs. In order to approve a 

demonstration grant for a state, CMS requires significant data 
reporting, formal evaluations, and periodic grant renewals. 
Converting this family planning service to the State Plan, as 
now permitted by PPACA, relieves DMAS of these 
administrative costs and duties. 
The purpose of this action is to move the waiver regulations 
into the state plan regulations, which has no effect on the 
health, safety, or welfare of citizens. The increase of the 
income eligibility level will permit more individuals to 
receive services under this program. The advantage to the 
individuals who qualify for this service is the coverage of 
family planning services and examinations for sexually 
transmitted diseases. 
There are no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth associated with the proposed regulatory 
action. 
Substance: The planned regulatory action makes three types 
of changes: (i) substantive changes required by CMS as a 
condition of the state plan amendment approval, (ii) 
substantive changes to the income level approved by CMS, 
and (iii) nonsubstantive editorial changes. In addition to 
moving this program out of demonstration waiver regulations 
and into state plan regulations, this action also increases the 
income level for eligibility, authorizes use of the DMAS 
Central Processing Unit or other contractor for determining 
eligibility (should DMAS determine that this is the most 
practicable approach), and clarifies that those individuals 
eligible for full-benefit coverage under Medicaid or FAMIS 
are not eligible under this program. The proposed regulatory 
action also authorizes coverage for additional (beyond initial) 
testing for sexually transmitted infections (STI) and newer 
methods of cervical cancer screening. The changes are 
designed to facilitate administration and update the services 
provided. In addition, this regulatory action includes 
nonsubstantive changes to selected language. 
Current regulations treat individuals eligible for coverage 
under the Medicaid family planning option as a 
demonstration waiver versus the state plan option as approved 
by CMS. Under the demonstration waiver, the 
Commonwealth was allowed to waive certain limits for 
eligibility, including disallowing eligibility based on age, 
gender, or having had a sterilization procedure or 
hysterectomy. The demonstration waiver also disallowed 
retroactive eligibility. These limitations were required by 
CMS as a condition of waiver approval. The current 
regulations also limit the income level for eligibility to 133% 
FPL. 
Current regulations limit eligibility determination to local 
departments of social services and are unclear with regard to 
enrollment for persons eligible for Medicaid or FAMIS under 
a full-benefits category. Current regulations limit testing for 
sexually transmitted diseases (STDs) to the initial visit and 
restrict cervical cancer screening to the Pap test. 
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By meeting CMS requirements for continuation of the Family 
Planning program as a state plan service, the proposed 
regulatory action brings the regulations into compliance with 
the state plan amendment currently approved by CMS. This 
action assures that the eligibility rules for the state plan 
family planning option are consistent with those for full 
benefit Medicaid program. Raising the income level for 
eligibility makes the program consistent with the FAMIS 
MOMS program for pregnant women, and offers more men 
and women access to family planning services. Updating the 
clinical services available (STI testing and cervical cancer 
screening options) conforms to the present standard of care. 
The family planning program is a benefit to qualified low-
income families by providing them with the means for 
obtaining medical family planning services to avoid 
unintended pregnancies and increase the spacing between 
births to help promote healthier mothers and infants. 
The primary advantage of the family planning program to the 
Commonwealth is a cost savings to Medicaid for prenatal 
care, delivery, and infant care by preventing unintended 
pregnancies. According to the Virginia Department of 
Health's Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System 
(2010), unintended pregnancy continues to occur at a high 
rate in Virginia, where 42% of all pregnancies are unintended 
across the Commonwealth. Of these unintended pregnancies, 
31% were mistimed (women who reported they wanted to be 
pregnant later) and 11% were unwanted (women who 
reported they did not want the pregnancy then or in the 
future).  
Family planning services do not cover abortion services or 
referrals for abortions. This regulatory action would not affect 
individuals younger than 19 years of age unless they are in 
the FAMIS income range but are not eligible for FAMIS 
because of having other creditable health insurance. The 
majority of individuals younger than 19 years of age would 
be eligible for full Medicaid or FAMIS benefits. 
The intent of this action is to align Virginia policy with that 
afforded by federal law, and in doing so expand family 
planning options for individuals who would not otherwise 
qualify for Medicaid or FAMIS coverage. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that more low-
income women and men will have access to family planning 
services. This increased access will support these individuals' 
efforts to better plan for pregnancy and will also allow greater 
access to testing for STI and screening for cervical cancer. 
The primary disadvantage to these individuals is that, by 
definition, this is a limited benefit program. Some individuals 
may not understand those limits as they apply for full 
Medicaid benefits or seek services that are not encompassed 
by this family planning program, requiring remedial 
education and redirection to more appropriate resources. A 
disadvantage of this program for providers is that they also 
may not understand this program's limits and, after failing to 
determine that their patient has limited available benefits, 

provide a full range of services only to have their claims 
denied. 
There are no identified disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
proposed regulation makes permanent the provision of family 
planning services under the new eligibility group authorized 
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. These regulations contain rules 
for Medicaid family planning services. Family planning 
services are services necessary to prevent or delay a 
pregnancy and do not include abortion services. The services 
include education and counseling, physician office visits, 
annual gynecological exams, sexually transmitted disease 
screens, Pap tests, contraceptives, and sterilizations for family 
planning purposes. Prior to 2011, coverage of these services 
had been provided in Virginia under a demonstration project 
waiver which required a new demonstration and federal 
approval every three years. In 2010, the federal Affordable 
Care Act established a new Medicaid eligibility group and the 
option for states to begin providing family planning services 
and supplies to individuals found to be eligible under this new 
group. Consequently, Chapter 890 of the 2011 Acts of 
Assembly, Item 297 DDDDD required the Department of 
Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to seek federal 
approval to provide family planning services under the new 
eligibility group. As a result, DMAS obtained federal 
authority in 2011 and has been providing these services under 
that authority since then.1 The proposed changes have been 
implemented for some time and no significant economic 
impact upon promulgation of the proposed changes is 
expected. However, a general discussion is provided below to 
highlight the effects that have already likely occurred and will 
likely continue to be realized in the future. 
As a result of the new eligibility rules in 2011, the income 
limit has increased from 133 percent of the federal poverty 
limit to 200 percent. The increase in the income level 
permitted more low-income women and men to have access 
to family planning services. In support of the waiver renewal 
application, DMAS estimated the cost effectiveness of family 
planning services in 2011. The study shows that the primary 
advantage of this change is costs savings to Medicaid for 
prenatal care, delivery, and infant care by preventing 
unintended pregnancies.  
The study estimated that an additional 1,246 recipients would 
receive family planning services in fiscal year (FY) 2013. The 
cost of family planning services was estimated to be $323.53 
per recipient for FY2013 and $403,123 in total to cover 1,246 
additional recipients.2 On the other hand, the cost of 
pregnancy care, delivery, and first year of life care was 
estimated to be $19,629.88 per recipient for FY2013, making 
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family planning services very cost effective. For example, 
assuming family planning services reduce the Medicaid 
population's pregnancy rate by 7.15 percent, approximately 
89 unintended pregnancies in FY2013 could be assumed to 
have been averted. As a result, assuming all unintended 
pregnancies would have ended in births, approximately $1.7 
million in FY2013 could be estimated to have been averted in 
costs for prenatal care, delivery, and first year of life care.3 4  
In reality, some of the unintended pregnancies would not end 
in births. Thus, there is likely to be some financial savings to 
women who unintentionally get pregnant and who would 
otherwise terminate their pregnancies. Family planning 
services do not pay for abortion services unless the life or 
health of the mother is endangered if the fetus is carried to 
term. Thus, any abortion costs must be paid privately. Since 
the proposed change likely reduced the number of terminated 
pregnancies among unintended pregnancies, these women 
and/or their families probably realized some financial savings 
in abortion costs that would have otherwise occurred. 
In addition, the non-financial effects of family planning are 
significant. The family planning services are expected to 
benefit the health and welfare of these women in their 
childbearing years, to reduce maternal mortality and 
morbidity, and to improve the health of children, by allowing 
women to plan their pregnancies, by decreasing their risk of 
experiencing poor birth outcomes, and by averting the 
unintended births.5, 6 Adolescent women, women with several 
children, and women with existing health problems are 
particularly susceptible to health risks because their bodies 
may not be mature enough to handle a pregnancy and 
experience obstetrical complications, may not have gained 
sufficient strength following a previous pregnancy, or may 
face complications due to other health conditions, 
respectively. Closely spaced births (usually within 2 years) 
are more likely to be premature and low birth-weight. By 
practicing family planning, women can avoid high-risk births 
and reduce their chances of having a baby who will die in 
infancy. Poor birth outcomes may also result in expensive 
long lasting health care services for developmentally delayed 
children. 
Some other additional benefits of expanding family planning 
services may stem from the use of contraceptives. Condoms 
offer protection against infection with HIV and STDs. 
Spermicides and diaphragm may help prevent STDs. 
Hormonal contraceptive methods may provide protection 
against iron deficiency, anemia, menstrual problems, and 
provide other similar benefits. Screening and testing may help 
detect some potential life threatening conditions such as 
cervical or breast cancer early on and improve recipient 
women's health. 
The proposed change is beneficial also in terms of lower 
administrative costs. In order to approve a demonstration 
grant for a state, CMS requires significant data reporting, 
formal evaluations, and periodic grant renewals. Provision of 

services under the state plan eliminates these administrative 
costs. However, likely savings in administrative costs were 
probably offset to some extent by the increase in the 
caseloads. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The increase in the 
eligibility income level was estimated to allow an additional 
1,246 recipients to receive Medicaid funded family planning 
services in FY2013. It is not known how many physician 
practices provide services to individuals in the family 
planning program.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed changes apply 
statewide. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The increase in population 
receiving family planning services likely increased the 
demand for such services and likely had a positive impact on 
employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Increased 
demand for family planning services likely increased provider 
revenues and had positive impact on their asset values. 
Real Estate Development Costs. No impact on real estate 
development costs is expected. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The affected providers are generally 
assumed to be small businesses. The proposed regulation 
does not impose costs on them, but likely resulted in an 
increase in demand for their services. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 
adverse impact on small businesses is expected. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 
non-small businesses. 
Localities. The proposed regulation does not adversely affect 
localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed regulation does not adversely 
affect other entities. 
________________________________________ 
1 However since the waiver regulation has not moved into the state plan 
regulations, similar language has been included in budget bills after 2011. 
For example, see Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, Item 301 UU. 
2 This estimate is probably slightly lower than actual cost for two reasons. 
First, transportation was not a covered service prior to 2011 which would add 
approximately $1.12 per member per month to the overall cost. Second, 
testing for sexually transmitted diseases was limited to the initial visit, and 
cervical cancer screening was limited to the Pap test both of which would 
also add to the overall cost. 
3 The literature strongly supports that every dollar spent on family planning 
services produces $3.00 to $5.63 savings in Medicaid expenditures for 
pregnancy and infant care due to averted pregnancies. For example, see 
"Contraceptive Needs and Services, 2010," Guttmacher Institute, July 2013 
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and Forrest and Samara, 1996, "Impact of Publicly Funded Contraceptive 
Services on Unintended Pregnancies and Implications for Medicaid 
Expenditures," Family Planning Perspectives, 28(5). 
4 Exact amount of the Commonwealth's share of estimated total savings 
depends on the federal match rate which is 90% for family planning services 
and 50% for pregnancy and infant care services. For simplicity, only total 
savings are stated. 
5 Trussell, James, et al., 1995, "The Economic Value of Contraception: A 
comparison of 15 Methods," American Journal of Public Health, v. 85 No. 4, 
pp. 494-503. 
6 Trussell, James et al., 1997, "Medical Care Costs Savings from Adolescent 
Contraceptive Use," Family Planning Perspectives, v. 29, No. 6. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 
by the Department of Planning and Budget regarding the 
regulations concerning Plan First Family Planning Services 
(Optional Group). The agency concurs with this analysis. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 UU of Chapter 665 of the 2015 Acts 
of Assembly, the proposed amendments move the family 
planning program from demonstration waiver regulations 
to state plan regulations. The proposed amendments (i) 
increase the income level for eligibility for the program; 
(ii) authorize use of the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services Central Processing Unit or other contractor for 
determining eligibility, provided that DMAS determines 
that this is the most practicable approach; (iii) clarify that 
individuals eligible for full-benefit coverage under 
Medicaid or FAMIS are not eligible under this program; 
and (iv) authorize coverage for additional testing, beyond 
the initial testing, for sexually transmitted infections and 
newer methods of cervical cancer screening. 

12VAC30-30-20. Optional groups other than the 
medically needy. 

The Title IV A agency determines eligibility for Title XIX 
services.  

1. Caretakers and pregnant women who meet the income 
and resource requirements of AFDC but who do not 
receive cash assistance.  
2. Individuals who would be eligible for AFDC, SSI or an 
optional state supplement as specified in 42 CFR 435.230, 
if they were not in a medical institution.  
3. A group or groups of individuals who would be eligible 
for Medicaid under the plan if they were in a NF or an 
ICF/MR, who but for the provision of home and 
community-based services under a waiver granted under 
42 CFR Part 441, Subpart G would require 
institutionalization, and who will receive home and 
community-based services under the waiver. The group or 
groups covered are listed in the waiver request. This option 
is effective on the effective date of the state's § 1915(c) 
waiver under which this group(s) group is covered. In the 
event an existing § 1915(c) waiver is amended to cover this 
group(s) group, this option is effective on the effective date 
of the amendment.  

4. Individuals who would be eligible for Medicaid under 
the plan if they were in a medical institution, who are 
terminally ill, and who receive hospice care in accordance 
with a voluntary election described in § 1905(o) of the Act.  
5. The state does not cover all individuals who are not 
described in § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) of the Act, who meet the 
income and resource requirements of the AFDC state plan 
and who are under the age of 21. The state does cover 
reasonable classifications of these individuals as follows:  

a. Individuals for whom public agencies are assuming 
full or partial financial responsibility and who are:  
(1) In foster homes (and are under the age of 21).  
(2) In private institutions (and are under the age of 21).  
(3) In addition to the group under subdivisions 5 a (1) 
and (2) of this section, individuals placed in foster homes 
or private institutions by private nonprofit agencies (and 
are under the age of 21).  
b. Individuals in adoptions subsidized in full or part by a 
public agency (who are under the age of 21).  
c. Individuals in NFs (who are under the age of 21). NF 
services are provided under this plan.  
d. In addition to the group under subdivision 5 c of this 
section, individuals in ICFs/MR (who are under the age 
of 21).  

6. A child for whom there is in effect a state adoption 
assistance agreement (other than under Title IV-E of the 
Act), who, as determined by the state adoption agency, 
cannot be placed for adoption without medical assistance 
because the child has special care needs for medical or 
rehabilitative care, and who before execution of the 
agreement:  

a. Was eligible for Medicaid under the state's approved 
Medicaid plan; or  
b. Would have been eligible for Medicaid if the standards 
and methodologies of the Title IV-E foster care program 
were applied rather than the AFDC standards and 
methodologies.  

The state covers individuals under the age of 21.  
7. Section 1902(f) states and SSI criteria states without 
agreements under §§ 1616 and 1634 of the Act.  
The following groups of individuals who receive a state 
supplementary payment under an approved optional state 
supplementary payment program that meets the following 
conditions. The supplement is:  

a. Based on need and paid in cash on a regular basis.  
b. Equal to the difference between the individual's 
countable income and the income standard used to 
determine eligibility for the supplement.  
c. Available to all individuals in each classification and 
available on a statewide basis.  
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d. Paid to one or more of the following classifications of 
individuals:  
(1) Aged individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 
group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  
(2) Blind individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 
group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  
(3) Disabled individuals in domiciliary facilities or other 
group living arrangements as defined under SSI.  
(4) Individuals receiving a state administered optional 
state supplement that meets the conditions specified in 42 
CFR 435.230.  

The supplement varies in income standard by political 
subdivisions according to cost-of-living differences.  
The standards for optional state supplementary payments 
are listed in 12VAC30-40-250.  
8. Individuals who are in institutions for at least 30 
consecutive days and who are eligible under a special 
income level. Eligibility begins on the first day of the 30-
day period. These individuals meet the income standards 
specified in 12VAC30-40-220.  
The state covers all individuals as described above.  
9. Individuals who are 65 years of age or older or who are 
disabled as determined under § 1614(a)(3) of the Act, 
whose income does not exceed the income level specified 
in 12VAC30-40-220 for a family of the same size, and 
whose resources do not exceed the maximum amount 
allowed under SSI.  
10. Individuals required to enroll in cost-effective 
employer-based group health plans remain eligible for a 
minimum enrollment period of one month.  
11. Women who have been screened for breast or cervical 
cancer under the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection 
Program established under Title XV of the Public Health 
Service Act in accordance with § 1504 of the Act and need 
treatment for breast or cervical cancer, including a pre-
cancerous condition of the breast or cervix. These women 
are not otherwise covered under creditable coverage, as 
defined in § 2701(c) of the Public Health Services Act, are 
not eligible for Medicaid under any mandatory 
categorically needy eligibility group, and have not attained 
age 65.  
12. Individuals who may qualify for the Medicaid Buy-In 
program under § 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) of the Social 
Security Act (Ticket to Work Act) if they meet the 
requirements for the 80% eligibility group described in 
12VAC30-40-220, as well as the requirements described in 
12VAC30-40-105 and 12VAC30-110-1500. 
13. Individuals under the State Eligibility Option of P.L. 
111-148 § 2303 who are not pregnant and whose income 
does not exceed the state established income standard for 
pregnant women in the Virginia Medicaid and CHIP State 

Plan and related waivers, which is 200% of the federal 
poverty level, shall be eligible for the family planning 
program. Services are limited to family planning services 
as described in 12VAC30-50-130 D. 

12VAC30-50-130. Skilled nursing facility services, 
EPSDT, school health services and family planning. 

A. Skilled nursing facility services (other than services in an 
institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 
or older. 

Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 
the healing arts. 

B. Early and periodic screening and diagnosis of individuals 
under 21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 
behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, who are 
Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in acute 
care facilities, and the accompanying attendant physician 
care, in excess of 21 days per admission when such 
services are rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and 
treatment of health conditions identified through a physical 
examination. 
2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as 
provided through EPSDT) are not covered except that 
well-child examinations in a private physician's office are 
covered for foster children of the local social services 
departments on specific referral from those departments. 
3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if 
medically necessary to correct a visual defect identified by 
an EPSDT examination or evaluation. The department 
shall place appropriate utilization controls upon this 
service. 
4. Consistent with the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1989 § 6403, early and periodic screening, diagnostic, 
and treatment services means the following services: 
screening services, vision services, dental services, hearing 
services, and such other necessary health care, diagnostic 
services, treatment, and other measures described in Social 
Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate defects and 
physical and mental illnesses and conditions discovered by 
the screening services and which are medically necessary, 
whether or not such services are covered under the State 
Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, applicable to 
recipients ages 21 and over, provided for by the Act § 
1905(a). 
5. Community mental health services. These services in 
order to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria 
based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 
within the scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in 
provider records and on providers' claims for services by 
recognized diagnosis codes that support and are consistent 
with the requested professional services.  
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a. Definitions. The following words and terms when used 
in this section shall have the following meanings unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 
and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 
feeding, and eating. 
"Adolescent or child" means the individual receiving the 
services described in this section. For the purpose of the 
use of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12-20 
years of age; a child means an individual from birth up to 
12 years of age.  
"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 
means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral 
health benefits program under contract with DMAS.  
"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 
information among health care providers, who are 
involved with an individual's health care, to improve the 
care.  
"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 
community services board or behavioral health authority, 
or its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and 
treatment of mental illness and has completed a 
certification program approved by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 
"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 
health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 
part-time work to children and adolescents who have 
diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 
internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 
experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of 
(i) intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for 
children and adolescents, (iii) community-based 
residential services for children and adolescents who are 
younger than 21 years of age (Level A), or (iv) 
therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). Experience 
shall not include unsupervised internships, unsupervised 
practicums, and unsupervised field experience. The 
equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 
purpose of this requirement shall be as established by 
DBHDS in the document entitled Human Services and 
Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, issued 
March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.  
"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services. 
"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services and its contractor or contractors. 
"Human services field" means the same as the term is 
defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 
Services and Related Fields Approved 
Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, revised 
May 3, 2013. 
"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 
term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 
a licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, 
licensed professional counselor, licensed clinical social 
worker, licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, 
licensed marriage and family therapist, or certified 
psychiatric clinical nurse specialist.  
"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 
"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 
professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for 
licensed marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 
18VAC115-60-10 for licensed substance abuse treatment 
practitioners. An LMHP-resident shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements of the 
applicable counseling profession for supervised practice 
and shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-R or be 
considered a "resident" until the supervision for specific 
clinical duties at a specific site has been preapproved in 
writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. For 
purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 
for services provided by such residents, they shall use the 
title "Resident" in connection with the applicable 
profession after their signatures to indicate such status. 
"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means 
the same as an individual in a residency, as that term is 
defined in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical 
psychologists. An LMHP-resident in psychology shall be 
in continuous compliance with the regulatory 
requirements for supervised experience as found in 
18VAC125-20-65 and shall not perform the functions of 
the LMHP-RP or be considered a "resident" until the 
supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 
has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 
Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement by 
supervisors for services provided by such residents, they 
shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" after their 
signatures to indicate such status. 
"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," 
or "LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined 
in 18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. 
An LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in 
continuous compliance with the regulatory requirements 
for supervised practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and 
shall not perform the functions of the LMHP-S or be 
considered a "supervisee" until the supervision for 
specific clinical duties at a specific site is preapproved in 
writing by the Virginia Board of Social Work. For 
purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 
for services provided by supervisees, these persons shall 
use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after their 
signatures to indicate such status.  
"Progress notes" means individual-specific 
documentation that contains the unique differences 
particular to the individual's circumstances, treatment, 
and progress that is also signed and contemporaneously 
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dated by the provider's professional staff who have 
prepared the notes. Individualized and member-specific 
progress notes are part of the minimum documentation 
requirements and shall convey the individual's status, 
staff interventions, and, as appropriate, the individual's 
progress, or lack of progress, toward goals and objectives 
in the ISP. The progress notes shall also include, at a 
minimum, the name of the service rendered, the date of 
the service rendered, the signature and credentials of the 
person who rendered the service, the setting in which the 
service was rendered, and the amount of time or 
units/hours required to deliver the service. The content of 
each progress note shall corroborate the time/units billed. 
Progress notes shall be documented for each service that 
is billed. 
"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 
aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 
their family members or caregivers to access clear and 
concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 
accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental 
illness and its effects in order to design effective 
treatment plans and strategies.  
"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 
interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 
therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 
needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and 
family's knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to 
mental illness, communicating and facilitating problem 
solving and increasing coping skills. 
"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-
C" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-
105-20.  
"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or 
"QMHP-E" means the same as the term is defined in 
12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 
of 12VAC35-105-590.  
"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or 
"QPPMH" means the same as the term is defined in 
12VAC35-105-20 and consistent with the requirements 
of 12VAC35-105-1370. 
"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 
interaction in which the provider obtains information 
from the child or adolescent, and parent or other family 
member or members, as appropriate, about the child's or 
adolescent's mental health status. It includes documented 
history of the severity, intensity, and duration of mental 
health care problems and issues and shall contain all of 
the following elements: (i) the presenting issue/reason for 
referral, (ii) mental health history/hospitalizations, (iii) 
previous interventions by providers and timeframes and 
response to treatment, (iv) medical profile, (v) 
developmental history including history of abuse, if 
appropriate, (vi) educational/vocational status, (vii) 
current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol 
profile, (x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status 
exam and profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional 
summary and clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended 
care and treatment goals, and (xv) the dated signature of 
the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 
LMHP-RP.  
b. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 
adolescents under age 21 shall be time-limited 
interventions provided in the individual's residence and 
when clinically necessary in community settings. All 
interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 
defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services 
shall be designed to specifically improve family 
dynamics, provide modeling, and the clinically necessary 
interventions that increase functional and therapeutic 
interpersonal relations between family members in the 
home. IIH services are designed to promote 
psychoeducational benefits in the home setting of an 
individual who is at risk of being moved into an out-of-
home placement or who is being transitioned to home 
from an out-of-home placement due to a documented 
medical need of the individual. These services provide 
crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 
communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 
individual and his parents or guardians, as appropriate, to 
understand and practice appropriate problem solving, 
anger management, and interpersonal interaction, etc.); 
care coordination with other required services; and 24-
hour emergency response.  
(1) These services shall be limited annually to 26 weeks. 
Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 
rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 
reimbursed. 
(2) Service authorization shall be required for services to 
continue beyond the initial 26 weeks. 
(3) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. Services based upon 
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 
ISPs are set out in this section. 
(4) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 
c. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided 
two or more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 
interventions. Day treatment programs, limited annually 
to 780 units, provide evaluation; medication education 
and management; opportunities to learn and use daily 
living skills and to enhance social and interpersonal skills 
(e.g., problem solving, anger management, community 
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responsibility, increased impulse control, and appropriate 
peer relations, etc.); and individual, group and family 
counseling.  
(1) Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 
(2) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. Services based upon 
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 
ISPs are set out in this section. 
(3) These services may be rendered only by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, or a QMHP-E. 
d. Community-based services for children and 
adolescents under 21 years of age (Level A). 
(1) Such services shall be a combination of therapeutic 
services rendered in a residential setting. The residential 
services will provide structure for daily activities, 
psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 
coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 
attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 
identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 
Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 
medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 
due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 
community. The service must reasonably be expected to 
improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 
that the services will no longer be needed. The 
application of a national standardized set of medical 
necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 
McKesson InterQual® Criteria or an equivalent standard 
authorized in advance by DMAS, shall be required for 
this service. 
(2) In addition to the residential services, the child must 
receive, at least weekly, individual psychotherapy that is 
provided by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP. 
(3) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 
(4) Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. Services that were rendered before the 
date of service authorization shall not be reimbursed.  
(5) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 
DMAS shall reimburse only for services provided in 
facilities or programs with no more than 16 beds. 
(6) These residential providers must be licensed by the 
Department of Social Services, Department of Juvenile 
Justice, or Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Standards for 
Licensed Children's Residential Facilities (22VAC40-
151), Standards for Interim Regulation of Children's 
Residential Facilities (6VAC35-51), or Regulations for 
Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 
(7) Daily progress notes shall document a minimum of 
seven psychoeducational activities per week. 
Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 
limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 
skills, anger management, social skills, family living 
skills, communication skills, stress management, and any 
care coordination activities.  
(8) The facility/group home must coordinate services 
with other providers. Such care coordination shall be 
documented in the individual's medical record. The 
documentation shall include who was contacted, when 
the contact occurred, and what information was 
transmitted. 
(9) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. Services based upon 
incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 
12VAC30-60-61. 
(10) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 
e. Therapeutic behavioral services (Level B). 
(1) Such services must be therapeutic services rendered 
in a residential setting that provides structure for daily 
activities, psychoeducation, therapeutic supervision, care 
coordination, and psychiatric treatment to ensure the 
attainment of therapeutic mental health goals as 
identified in the individual service plan (plan of care). 
Individuals qualifying for this service must demonstrate 
medical necessity for the service arising from a condition 
due to mental, behavioral or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities in the home, school, at work, or in the 
community. The service must reasonably be expected to 
improve the child's condition or prevent regression so 
that the services will no longer be needed. The 
application of a national standardized set of medical 
necessity criteria in use in the industry, such as 
McKesson InterQual® Criteria, or an equivalent standard 
authorized in advance by DMAS shall be required for 
this service. 
(2) Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. Services that are rendered before the date 
of service authorization shall not be reimbursed. 
(3) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 
Facilities that only provide independent living services 
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are not reimbursed. DMAS shall reimburse only for 
services provided in facilities or programs with no more 
than 16 beds.  
(4) These residential providers must be licensed by the 
Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 
Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations for Children's 
Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 
(5) Daily progress notes shall document that a minimum 
of seven psychoeducational activities per week occurs. 
Psychoeducational programming must include, but is not 
limited to, development or maintenance of daily living 
skills, anger management, social skills, family living 
skills, communication skills, and stress management. 
This service may be provided in a program setting or a 
community-based group home.  
(6) The individual must receive, at least weekly, 
individual psychotherapy and, at least weekly, group 
psychotherapy that is provided as part of the program.  
(7) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 
when other less intensive services may achieve 
stabilization. 
(8) Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and ISPs shall be required during 
the entire duration of services. Services that are based 
upon incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific 
provider intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 
Requirements for intakes and ISPs are set out in 
12VAC30-60-61. 
(9) These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a 
QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 
(10) The facility/group home shall coordinate necessary 
services with other providers. Documentation of this care 
coordination shall be maintained by the facility/group 
home in the individual's record. The documentation shall 
include who was contacted, when the contact occurred, 
and what information was transmitted. 

6. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 
individuals younger than age 21 for medically necessary 
stays for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of mental 
health and behavioral disorders identified under EPSDT 
when such services are rendered by: 

a. A psychiatric hospital or an inpatient psychiatric 
program in a hospital accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations; or a 
psychiatric facility that is accredited by the Joint 
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 
Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 
Services for Families and Children or the Council on 
Quality and Leadership. 
b. Inpatient psychiatric hospital admissions at general 
acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals shall also be subject to the requirements of 
12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-
25. Inpatient psychiatric admissions to residential 
treatment facilities shall also be subject to the 
requirements of Part XIV (12VAC30-130-850 et seq.) of 
Amount, Duration and Scope of Selected Services. 
c. Inpatient psychiatric services are reimbursable only 
when the treatment program is fully in compliance with 
42 CFR Part 441 Subpart D, as contained in 42 CFR 
441.151 (a) and (b) and 441.152 through 441.156. Each 
admission must be preauthorized and the treatment must 
meet DMAS requirements for clinical necessity. 

7. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 
than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 
provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice 
of fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of 
Virginia. 

C. School health services. 
1. School health assistant services are repealed effective 
July 1, 2006. 
2. School divisions may provide routine well-child 
screening services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and 
treatment services that are otherwise covered under early 
and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services, 
shall not be covered for school divisions. School divisions 
to receive reimbursement for the screenings shall be 
enrolled with DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 
receive screenings from those organizations. School 
divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 
from DMAS for these children. 
b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 
individualized education program (IEP) and covered 
under one or more of the service categories described in 
§ 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 
necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 
mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Service providers shall be licensed under the applicable 
state practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the 
Virginia Department of Education, and shall meet 
applicable qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. 
Identification of defects, illnesses or conditions and 
services necessary to correct or ameliorate them shall be 
performed by practitioners qualified to make those 
determinations within their licensed scope of practice, 
either as a member of the IEP team or by a qualified 
practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Service providers shall be employed by the school 
division or under contract to the school division.  
b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 
subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 
under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia 
law, regulations, and DMAS provider manuals.  
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c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 
subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but 
may also be available in the community from other 
providers. 
d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 
control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456.  
e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 
described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are 
medically necessary and that the treatment prescribed is 
in accordance with standards of medical practice. 
Medical necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP 
providers. The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid 
providers to make the medical necessity determination in 
accordance with their scope of practice. The services 
must be described as to the amount, duration and scope.  

4. Covered services include: 
a. Physical therapy, occupational therapy and services for 
individuals with speech, hearing, and language disorders, 
performed by, or under the direction of, providers who 
meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 440.110. This 
coverage includes audiology services. 
b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance 
to the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia 
Board of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 
licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 
may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 
accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 
Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 
tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is 
under the supervision of a registered nurse.  
(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 
level of complexity and sophistication (based on 
assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation) 
that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 
practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 
include, but not necessarily be limited to dressing 
changes, maintaining patent airways, medication 
administration/monitoring and urinary catheterizations.  
(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 
specifically related to an active, written plan of care 
developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 
order from a physician, physician assistant or nurse 
practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 
be recertified on an annual basis.  
c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 
licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 
defined under state law or regulations and covered as 
physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 
other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 
outpatient services include individual medical 
psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 
neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 
purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 
admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual 
disability prior to admission to a nursing facility, or any 
placement issue. These services are covered in the 
nonschool settings also. School providers who may 
render these services when licensed by the state include 
psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, school 
psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 
professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 
specialist, marriage and family therapists, and school 
social workers. 
d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 
440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 
subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 
DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 
is acting within the scope of licensure. This practitioner 
develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 
child, which is implemented by the assistant. The 
assistant must have qualifications comparable to those 
for other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 
Department of Medical Assistance Services. The 
assistant performs services such as assisting with 
toileting, ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve 
as an aide on a specially adapted school vehicle that 
enables transportation to or from the school or school 
contracted provider on days when the student is receiving 
a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Children 
requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 
adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 
e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 
services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 
remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 
these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 
assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 
identify the nature or extent of a child's medical or other 
health related condition.  
f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 
431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D. 
Transportation shall be rendered only by school division 
personnel or contractors. Transportation is covered for a 
child who requires transportation on a specially adapted 
school vehicle that enables transportation to or from the 
school or school contracted provider on days when the 
student is receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the 
IEP. Transportation shall be listed in the child's IEP. 
Children requiring an aide during transportation on a 
specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP.  
g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 
reassess the need for medical services in a child's IEP 
and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 
practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 
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and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the child 
shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 
that duplication of services will be monitored. School 
divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if a child is 
receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 
there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication 
of service.  

D. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 
child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 
performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner 
of the healing arts. 
2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 
services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 
services shall not include services to treat infertility nor or 
services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 
not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 
be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 
referrals for abortions.   
3. Family planning services as established by 
§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 
family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 
women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 
services for family planning and STI testing; family 
planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 
sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 
family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 
contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210.  

Part I  
Family Planning Waiver (Repealed) 

12VAC30-135-10. Definitions. (Repealed.) 
The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Creditable health coverage" means "creditable coverage" as 
defined under § 2701(c) of the Public Health Service Act (42 
USC § 300gg(c)) and includes coverage that meets the 
requirements of § 2103 provided to a targeted low-income 
child under Title XXI of the Social Security Act or under a 
waiver approved under § 2105(c)(2)(B) (relating to a direct 
service waiver). 

"Family planning" means those services necessary to 
prevent or delay a pregnancy. It shall not include services to 
promote pregnancy such as infertility treatments. Family 
planning does not include counseling about, 
recommendations for or performance of abortions, or 
hysterectomies or procedures performed for medical reasons 
such as removal of intrauterine devices due to infections. 

"FAMIS" means the Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan described in 12VAC30-141. 

"Over-the-counter" means drugs and contraceptives that are 
available for purchase without requiring a physician's 
prescription. 

"Third party" means any individual entity or program that is 
or may be liable to pay all or part of the expenditures for 
medical assistance furnished under the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance. 
12VAC30-135-20. Administration and eligibility 
determination. (Repealed.) 

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 
administer the family planning demonstration waiver services 
program under the authority of § 1115(a) of the Social 
Security Act and 42 USC § 1315. 

B. Local departments of social services or a department 
contractor shall be responsible for determining eligibility of 
and for enrolling eligible individuals in the family planning 
waiver. Local departments of social services or a department 
contractor shall conduct periodic reviews and 
redeterminations of eligibility at least every 12 months while 
recipients are enrolled in the family planning waiver. 
12VAC30-135-30. Eligibility. (Repealed.) 

A. To be eligible under the family planning waiver, an 
individual must meet the eligibility conditions and 
requirements found in 12VAC30-40-10, have family income 
less than or equal to 133% of the federal poverty level, not 
have creditable health coverage, and not be eligible for 
enrollment in a Medicaid full benefit coverage group or 
FAMIS. 

B. Individuals who have received a sterilization procedure 
or hysterectomy are ineligible under the waiver. 

C. Individuals enrolled in the family planning waiver will 
not be retroactively eligible. 

D. A recipient's enrollment in the family planning waiver 
shall be terminated if the individual receives a sterilization 
procedure or hysterectomy or is found to be ineligible as the 
result of a reported change or annual redetermination. The 
recipient's enrollment in the family planning waiver also shall 
be terminated if a reported change or annual redetermination 
results in eligibility for Virginia Medicaid in a full benefit 
coverage group or eligibility for FAMIS. A 10-day advance 
notice must be provided prior to cancellation of coverage 
under the family planning waiver unless the individual 
becomes eligible for a full benefit Medicaid covered group or 
FAMIS. 
12VAC30-135-40. Covered services. (Repealed.) 

A. Services provided under the family planning waiver are 
limited to: 

1. Family planning office visits including annual 
gynecological or physical exams (one per 12 months), 
sexually transmitted diseases (STD) testing, cervical 
cancer screening tests (limited to one every six months); 
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2. Laboratory services for family planning and STD 
testing; 
3. Family planning education and counseling; 
4. Contraceptives approved by the Food and Drug 
Administration, including diaphragms, contraceptive 
injectables, and contraceptive implants; 
5. Over-the-counter contraceptives; and 
6. Sterilizations, not to include hysterectomies.  

B. Services not covered under the family planning waiver 
include, but are not limited to: 

1. Performance of, counseling for, or recommendations of 
abortions; 
2. Infertility treatments; 
3. Procedures performed for medical reasons; 
4. Performance of a hysterectomy; and 
5. Transportation to a family planning service. 

12VAC30-135-50. Provider qualifications. (Repealed.)  
Services provided under this waiver must be ordered or 

prescribed and directed or performed within the scope of the 
licensed practitioner. Any appropriately licensed Medicaid 
enrolled physician, nurse practitioner, or medical clinic may 
provide services under this waiver.  
12VAC30-135-60. Quality assurance. (Repealed.)  

The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall 
provide for continuing review and evaluation of the care and 
services paid by Medicaid under this waiver. To ensure a 
thorough review, trained professionals shall review cases 
either through desk audit or through on-site reviews of 
medical records. Providers shall be required to refund 
payments made by Medicaid if they are found to have billed 
Medicaid for services not covered under this waiver, if 
records or documentation supporting claims are not 
maintained, or if bills are submitted for medically 
unnecessary services.  
12VAC30-135-70. Reimbursement. (Repealed.) 

A. Providers will be reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis. 
B. All reasonable measures including those measures 

specified under 42 USC § 1396 (a) (25) will be taken to 
ascertain the legal liability of third parties to pay for 
authorized care and services provided to eligible recipients. 

C. A completed sterilization consent form, in accordance 
with the requirements of 42 CFR Part 441, Subpart F, must be 
submitted with all claims for payment for sterilization 
procedures. 
12VAC30-135-80. Recipients' rights and right to appeal. 
(Repealed.)  

Individuals found eligible for and enrolled in the family 
planning waiver shall have freedom of choice of providers. 
Individuals will be free from coercion or mental pressure and 
shall be free to choose their preferred methods of family 

planning. The client appeals process at 12VAC30-110 shall 
be applicable to applicants for and recipients of family 
planning services under this waiver.  
12VAC30-135-90. Sunset provision. (Repealed.)  

Consistent with federal requirements applicable to this § 
1115 demonstration waiver, these regulations shall expire 
effective with the termination of the federally approved 
waiver.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-2866; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:55 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-226). 
12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 
Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-143).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (803) 371-4300, or 
email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) change the service's name from 
"mental health support services" to "mental health skill-
building services"; (ii) increase the annual limits; (iii) 
prohibit overlap with similar services; (iv) reduce the 
number of hours of services that may be provided in an 
assisted living facility and Level A or Level B group home; 
and (v) require that providers communicate important 
information to other health care professionals who are 
providing care to the same individuals; and (vii) require 
service authorization for crisis intervention and crisis 
stabilization services. 
Changes made to the final regulation after publication of 
the proposed include (i) removing the reference to service 
authorization for crisis services; (ii) clarifying the 
timeliness requirements in the crisis intervention and crisis 
stabilization registration process; (ii) changing the 
provider requirements for developing the individualized 
service plan; (iii) adjusting the mental health skill-building 
services (MHSS) annual maximum number of units allowed 
to match the new daily and weekly service limits and to 
conform to the unit values defined in 12VAC30-60-143; 
(iv) replacing the 15-minute unit values and respective 
maximum allowances with maximum limitations that match 
the MHSS unit values defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
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12VAC30-50-226. Community mental health services. 
A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 
tasks such as bathing, dressing, toileting, transferring, and 
eating or feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and service needs. 

"Affiliated" means any entity or property in which a 
provider or facility has a direct or indirect ownership interest 
of 5.0% or more, or any management, partnership, or control 
of an entity. 

"Behavioral health services administrator" or "BHSA" 
means an entity that manages or directs a behavioral health 
benefits program under contract with DMAS. DMAS' 
designated BHSA shall be authorized to constitute, oversee, 
enroll, and train a provider network; perform service 
authorization; adjudicate claims; process claims; gather and 
maintain data; reimburse providers; perform quality 
assessment and improvement; conduct member outreach and 
education; resolve member and provider issues; and perform 
utilization management including care coordination for the 
provision of Medicaid-covered behavioral health services. 
Such authority shall include entering into or terminating 
contracts with providers in accordance with DMAS authority 
pursuant to 42 CFR Part 1002 and § 32.1-325 D and E of the 
Code of Virginia. DMAS shall retain authority for and 
oversight of the BHSA entity or entities. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of either the 
local community services board/behavioral health authority or 
its designee who is skilled in the assessment and treatment of 
mental illness and who has completed a certification program 
approved by DBHDS.  

"Clinical experience" means practical experience in 
providing direct services on a full-time basis (or the 
equivalent part-time experience as determined by DBHDS in 
the document entitled Human Services and Related Fields 
Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12,2013, 
revised May 3, 2013) to individuals with medically-
documented diagnoses of mental illness or 
intellectual/developmental disability or the provision of direct 
geriatric services or full-time (or the equivalent part-time 
experience) special education services, for the purpose of 
rendering (i) mental health day treatment/partial 
hospitalization, (ii) intensive community treatment, (iii) 
psychosocial rehabilitation, (iv) mental health support skill 
building, (v) crisis stabilization, or (vi) crisis intervention 
services, practical experience in providing direct services to 
individuals with diagnoses of mental illness or intellectual 
disability or the provision of direct geriatric services or 
special education services. Experience shall include 
supervised internships, supervised practicums, or supervised 
field experience. Experience shall not include unsupervised 

internships, unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised field 
experience. This required clinical experience shall be 
calculated as set forth in DBHDS document entitled Human 
Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 
issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. The 
equivalency of part-time hours to full-time hours for the 
purpose of this requirement shall be established by DBHDS 
in the document titled Human Services and Related Fields 
Approved Degrees/Experience, issued March 12, 2013, 
revised May 3, 2013. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia.  
"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services consistent with Chapter 3 (§ 37.2-
300 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services and its contractor or contractors consistent with 
Chapter 10 (§ 32.1-323 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

 [ "DSM-IV-TR" means the Diagnostic and Statistical 
Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth Edition, Text Revision, 
copyright 2000, American Psychiatric Association. ]  

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 
Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 
Psychiatric Association. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 
defined by DBHDS in the guidance document entitled Human 
Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 
issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013.  

 [ "Instrumental activities of daily living skills" or "IADLS" 
means tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, 
housekeeping, and laundry. An individual's degree of 
independence in performing these activities is a part of 
determining appropriate level of care and service needs. ]  

"Individual" means the patient, client, or recipient of 
services described in this section.  

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means a comprehensive 
and regularly updated treatment plan specific to the 
individual's unique treatment needs as identified in the 
clinical assessment service-specific provider intake. The ISP 
contains his, but is not limited to, the individual's treatment or 
training needs, his the individual's goals and measurable 
objectives to meet the identified needs, services to be 
provided with the recommended frequency to accomplish the 
measurable goals and objectives, the estimated timetable for 
achieving the goals and objectives, and an individualized 
discharge plan that describes transition to other appropriate 
services. The individual shall be included in the development 
of the ISP and the ISP shall be signed by the individual. If the 
individual is a minor child, the ISP shall also be signed by the 
individual's parent/legal guardian. Documentation shall be 
provided if the individual, who is a minor child or an adult 
who lacks legal capacity, is unable or unwilling to sign the 
ISP. 
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"Individualized training" means [ training instruction and 
practice ] in functional skills and appropriate behavior related 
to the individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of 
daily living skills, and use of community resources; 
assistance with medical management; and monitoring health, 
nutrition, and physical condition. The training shall be 
[ rehabilitative and ] based on a variety of [ incremental (or 
cumulative) ] approaches or tools to organize and guide the 
individual's life planning and shall [ be rooted in reflect ] 
what is important to the individual [ while taking into account 
in addition to ] all other factors that affect his [ life 
functioning ], including effects of the disability and issues of 
health and safety. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 
licensed physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 
professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner, licensed 
marriage and family therapist, or certified psychiatric clinical 
nurse specialist the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 
"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 
professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 
marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 
licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-
resident shall be in continuous compliance with the regulatory 
requirements of the applicable counseling profession for 
supervised practice and shall not perform the functions of the 
LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until the supervision 
for specific clinical duties at a specific site has been 
preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Counseling. 
For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their supervisors 
for services provided by such residents, they shall use the title 
"Resident" in connection with the applicable profession after 
their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 
same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined in 
18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 
LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 
experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not 
perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a 
"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a 
specific site has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia 
Board of Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid 
reimbursement by supervisors for services provided by such 
residents, they shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" 
after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 
"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" is defined in 
18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 
LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 
compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 
practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 
the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 
site is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 
Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 
supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these 
persons shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after 
their signatures to indicate such status. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-
E" means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20.  

"Register" or "registration" means notifying DMAS or its 
contractor that an individual will be receiving services that do 
not require service authorization. 

"Review of ISP" means that the provider evaluates and 
updates the individual's progress toward meeting the 
individualized service plan objectives and documents the 
outcome of this review. For DMAS to determine that these 
reviews are satisfactory and complete, the reviews shall (i) 
update the goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP to 
reflect any change in the individual's progress and treatment 
needs as well as any newly identified problems; (ii) be 
conducted in a manner that enables the individual to 
participate in the process; and (iii) be documented in the 
individual's medical record no later than 15 calendar days 
from the date of the review.  

"Service authorization" means the process to approve 
specific services for an enrolled Medicaid, FAMIS Plus, or 
FAMIS individual by a DMAS service authorization 
contractor prior to service delivery and reimbursement in 
order to validate that the service requested is medically 
necessary and meets DMAS and DMAS contractor criteria 
for reimbursement. Service authorization does not guarantee 
payment for the service. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the same as 
defined in 12VAC30-50-130 and also includes individuals 
who are older than 21 years of age. 

B. Mental health services. The following services, with their 
definitions, shall be covered: day treatment/partial 
hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, crisis services, 
intensive community treatment (ICT), and mental health 
supports skill building. Staff travel time shall not be included 
in billable time for reimbursement. [ 1. ] These services, in 
order to be covered, shall meet medical necessity criteria 
based upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing 
within the scope of their licenses and are reflected in provider 
records and on providers' claims for services by recognized 
diagnosis codes that support and are consistent with the 
requested professional services. [ 2. ] These services are 
intended to be delivered in a person-centered manner. The 
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individuals who are receiving these services shall be included 
in all service planning activities. All services which do not 
require service authorization require registration. This 
registration shall transmit [ service-specific information ] to 
DMAS or its contractor [ (i) the individual's name and 
Medicaid identification number; (ii) the specific service to be 
provided, the relevant procedure code and begin date of the 
service; and (iii) the provider's name and NPI, a provider 
contact name and phone number, and email address in 
accordance with service authorization requirements ].  

 [ 3. 1. ] Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall 
be provided in sessions of two or more consecutive hours 
per day, which may be scheduled multiple times per week, 
to groups of individuals in a nonresidential setting. These 
services, limited annually to 780 units, include the major 
diagnostic, medical, psychiatric, psychosocial, and 
psychoeducational treatment modalities designed for 
individuals who require coordinated, intensive, 
comprehensive, and multidisciplinary treatment but who 
do not require inpatient treatment. One unit of service shall 
be defined as a minimum of two but less than four hours on 
a given day. Two units of service shall be defined as at 
least four but less than seven hours in a given day. Three 
units of service shall be defined as seven or more hours in 
a given day. Authorization is required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. 

a. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
time limited interventions that are more intensive than 
outpatient services and are required to stabilize an 
individual's psychiatric condition. The services are 
delivered when the individual is at risk of psychiatric 
hospitalization or is transitioning from a psychiatric 
hospitalization to the community. [ The service-specific 
provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 
document the individual's behavior and describe how the 
individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or is 
transitioning from a psychiatric hospitalization to the 
community. ]  
b. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Individuals must meet at least two of the 
following criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  
(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of hospitalization or homelessness or 
isolation from social supports;  
(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  
(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that the 
individual requires repeated interventions or monitoring 

by the mental health, social services, or judicial system 
that have been documented; or 
(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  
c. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 
they are no longer in an acute psychiatric state and other 
less intensive services may achieve psychiatric 
stabilization.  
d. Admission and services for time periods longer than 
90 calendar days must be authorized based upon a face-
to-face evaluation by a physician, psychiatrist, licensed 
clinical psychologist, licensed professional counselor, 
licensed clinical social worker, or psychiatric clinical 
nurse specialist.  
e. These services may only be rendered by [ either ] an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 
QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

[ 4. 2. ] Psychosocial rehabilitation shall be provided at 
least two or more hours per day to groups of individuals in 
a nonresidential setting. These services, limited annually to 
936 units, include assessment, education to teach the 
patient about the diagnosed mental illness and appropriate 
medications to avoid complication and relapse, 
opportunities to learn and use independent living skills and 
to enhance social and interpersonal skills within a 
supportive and normalizing program structure and 
environment. One unit of service is defined as a minimum 
of two but less than four hours on a given day. Two units 
are defined as at least four but less than seven hours in a 
given day. Three units of service shall be defined as seven 
or more hours in a given day. Authorization is required for 
Medicaid reimbursement. The service-specific provider 
intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the 
individual's behavior and describe how the individual 
meets criteria for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results 
in significant functional impairments in major life 
activities. Services are provided to individuals: (i) who 
without these services would be unable to remain in the 
community or (ii) who meet at least two of the following 
criteria on a continuing or intermittent basis:  
(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  
(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  
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(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 
interventions documented by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 
or  
(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  
b. These services may only be rendered by [ either ] an 
LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, 
QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a QPPMH. 

[ 5. 3. ] Crisis intervention shall provide immediate mental 
health care, available 24 hours a day, seven days per week, 
to assist individuals who are experiencing acute psychiatric 
dysfunction requiring immediate clinical attention. This 
service's objectives shall be to prevent exacerbation of a 
condition, to prevent injury to the client or others, and to 
provide treatment in the context of the least restrictive 
setting. Crisis intervention activities shall include assessing 
the crisis situation, providing short-term counseling 
designed to stabilize the individual, providing access to 
further immediate assessment and follow-up, and linking 
the individual and family with ongoing care to prevent 
future crises. Crisis intervention services may include 
office visits, home visits, preadmission screenings, 
telephone contacts, and other client-related activities for 
the prevention of institutionalization. The service-specific 
provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 
document the individual's behavior and describe how the 
individual meets criteria for this service. The provision of 
this service to an individual shall be registered with either 
DMAS [ , DMAS contractors, ] or the BHSA within one 
business day or the completion of the service-specific 
provider intake to avoid duplication of services and to 
ensure informed care coordination. [ Authorization shall be 
required for Medicaid reimbursement. ]  

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that puts the 
individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 
Individuals must meet at least two of the following 
criteria at the time of admission to the service: 
(1) Experience difficulty in establishing or maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
they are at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  
(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  
(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions documented by mental health, social 
services, or the judicial system are or have been 
necessary; or  

(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or significantly 
inappropriate social behavior.  
b. The annual limit for crisis intervention is 720 units per 
year. A unit shall equal 15 minutes.  
c. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, an 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, or a 
certified prescreener. 

[ 6. 4. ] Intensive community treatment (ICT), initially 
covered for a maximum of 26 weeks based on an initial 
service-specific provider intake and may be reauthorized 
for up to an additional 26 weeks annually based on written 
intake and certification of need by a licensed mental health 
provider (LMHP), shall be defined by 12VAC35-105-20 or 
LMHP-S, LMHP-R, and LMHP-RP and shall include 
medical psychotherapy, psychiatric assessment, medication 
management, and care coordination activities offered to 
outpatients outside the clinic, hospital, or office setting for 
individuals who are best served in the community. 
Authorization is required for Medicaid reimbursement.  

a. To qualify for ICT, the individual must meet at least 
one of the following criteria:  
(1) The individual must be at high risk for psychiatric 
hospitalization or becoming or remaining homeless due 
to mental illness or require intervention by the mental 
health or criminal justice system due to inappropriate 
social behavior.  
(2) The individual has a history (three months or more) 
of a need for intensive mental health treatment or 
treatment for co-occurring serious mental illness and 
substance use disorder and demonstrates a resistance to 
seek out and utilize appropriate treatment options.  
b. A written, service-specific provider intake, as defined 
at 12VAC30-50-130, that documents the individual's 
eligibility and the need for this service must be 
completed prior to the initiation of services. This intake 
must be maintained in the individual's records.  
c. An individual service plan shall be initiated at the time 
of admission and must be fully developed, as defined in 
this section, within 30 days of the initiation of services.  
d. The annual unit limit shall be 130 units with a unit 
equaling one hour. 
e. These services may only be rendered by a team that 
meets the requirements of 12VAC35-105-1370. 

[ 7. 5. ] Crisis stabilization services for nonhospitalized 
individuals shall provide direct mental health care to 
individuals experiencing an acute psychiatric crisis which 
may jeopardize their current community living situation. 
[ Authorization shall be required for Medicaid 
reimbursement. ] Services may be [ authorized provided ] 
for up to a 15-day period per crisis episode following a 
face-to-face service-specific provider intake by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. Only 
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one unit of service shall be reimbursed for this intake. The 
provision of this service to an individual shall be registered 
with either DMAS [ , DMAS contractors, ] or the BHSA 
within one [ calendar business ] day of the completion of 
the service-specific provider intake to avoid duplication of 
services and to ensure informed care coordination. [ See 
12VAC30-50-226 B for registration requirements. ]  

a. The goals of crisis stabilization programs shall be to 
avert hospitalization or rehospitalization, provide 
normative environments with a high assurance of safety 
and security for crisis intervention, stabilize individuals 
in psychiatric crisis, and mobilize the resources of the 
community support system and family members and 
others for on-going maintenance and rehabilitation. The 
services must be documented in the individual's records 
as having been provided consistent with the ISP in order 
to receive Medicaid reimbursement.  
b. The crisis stabilization program shall provide to 
individuals, as appropriate, psychiatric assessment 
including medication evaluation, treatment planning, 
symptom and behavior management, and individual and 
group counseling.  
c. This service may be provided in any of the following 
settings, but shall not be limited to: (i) the home of an 
individual who lives with family or other primary 
caregiver; (ii) the home of an individual who lives 
independently; or (iii) community-based programs 
licensed by DBHDS to provide residential services but 
which are not institutions for mental disease (IMDs).  
d. This service shall not be reimbursed for (i) individuals 
with medical conditions that require hospital care; (ii) 
individuals with primary diagnosis of substance abuse; or 
(iii) individuals with psychiatric conditions that cannot 
be managed in the community (i.e., individuals who are 
of imminent danger to themselves or others).  
e. The maximum limit on this service is 60 days 
annually. 
f. Services must be documented through daily progress 
notes and a daily log of times spent in the delivery of 
services. The service-specific provider intake, as defined 
at 12VAC30-50-130, shall document the individual's 
behavior and describe how the individual meets criteria 
for this service. Individuals qualifying for this service 
must demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service 
arising from an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature that 
puts the individual at risk of psychiatric hospitalization. 
Individuals must meet at least two of the following 
criteria at the time of admission to the service:  
(1) Experience difficulty in establishing and maintaining 
normal interpersonal relationships to such a degree that 
the individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization, 
homelessness, or isolation from social supports;  

(2) Experience difficulty in activities of daily living such 
as maintaining personal hygiene, preparing food and 
maintaining adequate nutrition, or managing finances to 
such a degree that health or safety is jeopardized;  
(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that immediate 
interventions documented by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 
or  
(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that the 
individual is unable to recognize personal danger or 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  
g. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-
A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E or a certified prescreener. 

[ 8. 6. ] Mental health support skill-building services 
(MHSS) shall be defined as goal-directed training and 
supports to enable individuals to achieve and maintain 
community stability and independence in the most 
appropriate, least restrictive environment. Authorization is 
required for Medicaid reimbursement. Services that are 
rendered before the date of service authorization shall not 
be reimbursed. These services may be authorized up to six 
consecutive months as long as the individual meets the 
coverage criteria for this service. The service-specific 
provider intake, as defined at 12VAC30-50-130, shall 
document the individual's behavior and describe how the 
individual meets criteria for this service. This program 
These services shall provide goal-directed training in the 
following services areas in order to be reimbursed by 
Medicaid or the BHSA: training in or reinforcement of (i) 
functional skills and appropriate behavior related to the 
individual's health and safety, instrumental activities of 
daily living, and use of community resources; (ii) 
assistance with medication management; and (iii) 
monitoring of health, nutrition, and physical condition with 
goals towards self-monitoring and self-regulation of all of 
these activities. Providers shall be reimbursed only for 
training activities defined in the ISP and only where 
services meet the service definition, eligibility, and service 
provision criteria and this section. [ Service specific 
provider intakes A review of MHSS services by an LMHP, 
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S ] shall be repeated for 
all individuals who have received at least six months of 
MHSS to determine the continued need for this service. 

a. Individuals qualifying for this service must shall 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising 
from a condition due to mental, behavioral, or emotional 
illness that results in significant functional impairments 
in major life activities. Services are provided to 
individuals who without these services would be unable 
to remain in the community. The individual must meet at 
least two of the following criteria on a continuing or 
intermittent basis: Services are provided to individuals 
who require individualized goal-directed training in order 
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to achieve or maintain stability and independence in the 
community. 
(1) Have difficulty in establishing or maintaining normal 
interpersonal relationships to such a degree that the 
individual is at risk of psychiatric hospitalization or 
homelessness or isolation from social supports; 
(2) Require help in basic living skills such as maintaining 
personal hygiene, preparing food and maintaining 
adequate nutrition or managing finances to such a degree 
that health or safety is jeopardized;  
(3) Exhibit such inappropriate behavior that repeated 
interventions documented by the mental health, social 
services, or judicial system are or have been necessary; 
or 
(4) Exhibit difficulty in cognitive ability such that they 
are unable to recognize personal danger or recognize 
significantly inappropriate social behavior.  
b. The individual must demonstrate functional 
impairments in major life activities. This may include 
individuals with a dual diagnosis of either mental illness 
and intellectual disability, or mental illness and substance 
abuse disorder. Individuals ages 21 and older shall meet 
all of the following criteria in order to be eligible to 
receive mental health skill-building services: 
(1) The individual shall have one of the following as a 
primary mental health diagnosis: 
(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 
the [ DSM-IV-TR or ] DSM-5; 
(b) Major depressive disorder; 
(c) Recurrent Bipolar I or Bipolar II; or 
(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 
physician has documented specific to the identified 
individual within the past year and that includes all of the 
following: (i) is a serious mental illness; (ii) results in 
severe and recurrent disability; (iii) produces functional 
limitations in the individual's major life activities that are 
documented in the individual's medical record; and (iv) 
requires individualized training for the individual in 
order to achieve or maintain independent living in the 
community. 
(2) The individual shall require individualized goal-
directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-
regulation of basic living skills, such as symptom 
management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 
health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 
social skills and personal support systems; skills to 
manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 
maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 
management; and use of community resources.  
(3) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 
following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 
residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 

intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 
assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 
placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 
(RTC-Level C) as a result of decompensation related to 
the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) a temporary 
detention order (TDO) evaluation, pursuant to § 37.2-809 
B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall be met in 
order to be initially admitted to services and not for 
subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 
summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 
the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 
treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 
treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 
requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 
to meet this requirement. 
(4) The individual shall have had a prescription for 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications within the 12 months prior to the service-
specific provider intake date. If a physician or other 
practitioner who is authorized by his license to prescribe 
medications indicates that antipsychotic, mood 
stabilizing, or antidepressant medications are medically 
contraindicated for the individual, the provider shall 
obtain medical records signed by the physician or other 
licensed prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 
documentation shall be maintained in the individual's 
mental health skill-building services record, and the 
provider shall document and describe how the individual 
will be able to actively participate in and benefit from 
services without the assistance of medication. This 
criterion shall be met upon admission to services and 
shall not be required for subsequent authorizations of 
service. Discharge summaries from prior providers that 
clearly indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the 
dates of the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the 
name of the treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet 
this requirement. Family member statements shall not 
suffice to meet this requirement. 
c. Individuals [ younger than aged 18 to ] 21 years [ of 
age ] shall meet all of the following criteria in order to be 
eligible to receive mental health skill-building services: 
(1) The individual [ , aged 16 years up to 21 years, ] shall 
not be living in a supervised setting [ (such as a foster 
home, group home, or other paid placement) and is 
providing for his own financial support or such an 
individual shall be actively transitioning into an 
independent living situation that is not a supervised 
setting (such as a foster home, group home, or other paid 
placement) and is providing for his own financial support 
as described in § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia ]. If 
the individual is transitioning into an independent living 
situation, MHSS shall only be authorized for up to six 
months prior to the date of transition; 
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(2) The individual shall have at least one of the following 
as a primary mental health diagnosis [ :. ]  
(a) Schizophrenia or other psychotic disorder as set out in 
the [ DSM - IV-TR or ] DSM-5; 
(b) Major depressive disorder; 
(c) Recurrent Bipolar-I or Bipolar II; or 
(d) Any other serious mental health disorder that a 
physician has documented specific to the identified 
individual within the past year and that includes all of the 
following: (i) is a serious mental illness or serious 
emotional disturbance; (ii) results in severe and recurrent 
disability; (iii) produces functional limitations in the 
individual's major life activities that are documented in 
the individual's medical record; and (iv) requires 
individualized training for the individual in order to 
achieve or maintain independent living in the community 
[ ;. ] 
(3) The individual shall require individualized goal-
directed training in order to acquire or maintain self-
regulation of basic living skills such as symptom 
management; adherence to psychiatric and physical 
health medication treatment plans; appropriate use of 
social skills and personal support systems; skills to 
manage personal hygiene, food preparation, and the 
maintenance of personal adequate nutrition; money 
management; and use of community resources. 
(4) The individual shall have a prior history of any of the 
following: (i) psychiatric hospitalization; (ii) either 
residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization; (iii) 
intensive community treatment (ICT) or program of 
assertive community treatment (PACT) services; (iv) 
placement in a psychiatric residential treatment facility 
(RTC-Level C) as a result of decompensation related to 
the individual's serious mental illness; or (v) temporary 
detention order (TDO) evaluation pursuant to § 37.2-809 
B of the Code of Virginia. This criterion shall be met in 
order to be initially admitted to services and not for 
subsequent authorizations of service. Discharge 
summaries from prior providers that clearly indicate (i) 
the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the 
treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 
treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 
requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice 
to meet this requirement. 
(5) The individual shall have had a prescription for 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications, within the 12 months prior to the 
assessment date. If a physician or other practitioner who 
is authorized by his license to prescribe medications 
indicates that antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or 
antidepressant medications are medically contraindicated 
for the individual, the provider shall obtain medical 
records signed by the physician or other licensed 
prescriber detailing the contraindication. This 

documentation of medication management shall be 
maintained in the individual's mental health skill-
building services record. For individuals not prescribed 
antipsychotic, mood stabilizing, or antidepressant 
medications, the provider shall have documentation from 
the medication management physician describing how 
the individual will be able to actively participate in and 
benefit from services without the assistance of 
medication. This criterion shall be met in order to be 
initially admitted to services and not for subsequent 
authorizations of service. Discharge summaries from 
prior providers that clearly indicate (i) the type of 
treatment provided, (ii) the dates of the treatment 
previously provided, and (iii) the name of the treatment 
provider shall be sufficient to meet this requirement. 
Family member statements shall not suffice to meet this 
requirement. 
(6) An independent clinical assessment, established in 
12VAC30-130-3020, shall be completed for the 
individual. 
c. d. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at 
the onset of services and individual service plans (ISPs) 
shall be required during the entire duration of 
services. Services based upon incomplete, missing, or 
outdated service-specific provider intakes or ISPs shall 
be denied reimbursement. Requirements for provider-
specific service-specific provider intakes and ISPs are set 
out in 12VAC30-50-130. 
d. e. The yearly limit for mental health support skill-
building services is [ 372 520 ] units. Only direct face-to-
face contacts and services to the individual shall be 
reimbursable. One unit is [ at least one hour but less than 
three hours 1 to 2.99 hours per day, two units is 3 to 4.99 
hours per day ]. 
e. f. These services may only be rendered by an LMHP, 
[ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RP, LMHP-S ], QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or 
QPPMH. 
g. The provider shall clearly document details of the 
services provided during the entire amount of time billed. 
h. The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 
duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 
group home or assisted living facility. The provider shall 
[ attempt to ] coordinate mental health skill-building 
services with the treatment plan established by the group 
home or assisted living facility and shall document all 
coordination activities in the medical record.  
i. Limits and exclusions. 
(1) Group home (Level A or B) and assisted living 
facility providers shall not serve as the mental health 
skill-building services provider for individuals residing in 
the provider's respective facility. Individuals residing in 
facilities may, however, receive MHSS from another 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2944 

MHSS agency not affiliated with the owner of the facility 
in which they reside. 
(2) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 
residential services or congregate residential services 
through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 
and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 
(3) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 
services under the Department of Social Services 
independent living program (22VAC40-151), 
independent living services (22VAC40-151 and 
22VAC40-131), or independent living arrangement 
(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-
funded independent living skills programs. 
(4) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who are receiving treatment 
foster care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 
(5) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 
hospitals. 
(6) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 
except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 
individual has not been discharged from the nursing 
facility during the 60-day period of services, mental 
health skill-building services shall be terminated and no 
further service authorizations shall be available to the 
individual unless a provider can demonstrate and 
document that mental health skill-building services are 
necessary. Such documentation shall include facts 
demonstrating a change in the individual's circumstances 
and a new plan for discharge requiring up to 60 days of 
mental health skill-building services. 
(7) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available for residents of residential treatment centers 
(Level C facilities) except for the intake code H0032 
(modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior to 
discharge. 
(8) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 
services are being received simultaneously, unless 
justification is provided why this is necessary in the 
individual's mental health skill-building services record. 
Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 
need for services when personal care or attendant care 
services are being provided. This applies to individuals 
who are receiving additional services through the 
Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 
seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 
or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 

(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services 
(12VAC30-50-130).  
(9) Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
duplicative of other services. Providers shall be required 
to ensure that if an individual is receiving additional 
therapeutic services that there will be coordination of 
services by either the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, LMHP-resident in psychology LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S ], QMHP-A, QMHP-C, [ or ] 
QMHP-E [ , or QPPMH ] to avoid duplication of 
services. 
(10) Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 
delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 
elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 
mental health skill-building services unless their 
physicians issue signed and dated statements indicating 
that the individuals can benefit from this service. 
(11) Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious 
mental health disorder but who have personality 
disorders or other mental health disorders, or both, that 
may lead to chronic disability shall not be excluded from 
the mental health skill-building services eligibility 
criteria provided that the individual has a primary mental 
health diagnosis from the list included in subdivision B 
[ 8 6 ] b (1) or B [ 8 6 ] c (2) of this section and that the 
provider can document and describe how the individual 
is expected to actively participate in and benefit from 
mental health skill-building services. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-50)  

[ Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition DSM-IV-TR, copyright 2000, American 
Psychiatric Association ]  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth 
Edition, DSM-5, 2013, American Psychiatric Association 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda 

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2005 
(www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_06-09-05.pdf) 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 
2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine 

[ Virginia Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and 
Supplies Provider Manual, Appendix B (rev. 1/11), 
Department of Medical Assistance Services ]  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451~1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=208a6003451~1&typ=40&actno=003451&mime=application/pdf
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Human Services and Related Fields Approved 
Degrees/Experience, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (rev. 5/13)  
12VAC30-60-143. Mental health services utilization 
criteria; definitions.  

A. This section sets out the utilization criteria and standards 
relative to the community mental health services set out in 
12VAC30-50-226. Definitions. The following words and 
terms when used in this section shall have the following 
meanings unless the context indicates otherwise: 

[ "Child or adolescent" means the same as "adolescent or 
child" defined in 12VAC30-50-130. ]  

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 
the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as defined 
in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 
same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 
"LMHP-S" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 
means the same as defined in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-
E" means the same as defined in [ 12VAC30-50-130 
12VAC35-105-20 ]. 

B. Utilization reviews shall include determinations that 
providers meet the following requirements:  

1. The provider shall meet the federal and state 
requirements for administrative and financial management 
capacity. The provider shall obtain, prior to the delivery of 
services, and shall maintain and update periodically as the 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its 
contractor requires, a current provider enrollment 
agreement for each Medicaid service that the provider 
offers. DMAS shall not reimburse providers who do not 
enter into a provider enrollment agreement for a service 
prior to offering that service. 
2. The provider shall document and maintain individual 
case records in accordance with state and federal 
requirements. 
3. The provider shall ensure eligible individuals have free 
choice of providers of mental health services and other 
medical care under the Individual Service Plan.  
4. Providers shall comply with DMAS marketing 
requirements as set out in 12VAC30-130-2000. Providers 
that DMAS determines have violated these marketing 
requirements shall be terminated as a Medicaid provider 
pursuant to 12VAC30-130-2000 E. Providers whose 
contracts are terminated shall be afforded the right of 

appeal pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-
4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  
5. If an individual receiving community mental health 
rehabilitative services is also receiving case management 
services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 or 12VAC30-50-
430, the provider shall collaborate with the case manager 
by notifying the case manager of the provision of 
community mental health rehabilitative services and 
sending monthly updates on the individual's treatment 
status. A discharge summary shall be sent to the care 
coordinator/case manager within 30 calendar days of the 
discontinuation of services. Service providers and case 
managers who are using the same electronic health record 
for the individual shall meet requirements for delivery of 
the notification, monthly updates, and discharge summary 
upon entry of this documentation into the electronic health 
record.  
6. The provider shall determine who the primary care 
provider is and inform him of the individual's receipt of 
community mental health rehabilitative services. The 
documentation shall include who was contacted, when the 
contact occurred, and what information was transmitted. 
7. The provider shall include the individual and the 
family/caregiver, as may be appropriate, in the 
development of the ISP. To the extent that the individual's 
condition requires assistance for participation, assistance 
shall be provided. The ISP shall be updated annually or as 
the needs and progress of the individual changes. An ISP 
that is not updated either annually or as the treatment 
interventions based on the needs and progress of the 
individual change shall be considered outdated. An ISP 
that does not include all required elements specified in 
12VAC30-50-226 shall be considered incomplete. All ISPs 
shall be completed, signed, and contemporaneously dated 
by the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or 
QMHP-E preparing the ISP within a maximum of 30 days 
of the date of the completed intake unless otherwise 
specified. The child's or adolescent's ISP shall also be 
signed by the parent/legal guardian and the adult individual 
shall sign his own. If the individual, whether a child, 
adolescent, or an adult, is unwilling to sign the ISP, then 
the service provider shall document the clinical or other 
reasons why the individual was not able or willing to sign 
the ISP. Signatures shall be obtained unless there is a 
clinical reason that renders the individual unable to sign 
the ISP.  
[ (a) Every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-
RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall 
review the ISP, modify the ISP as appropriate, and update 
the ISP, and all of these activities shall occur with the 
individual in a manner in which the individual may 
participate in the process. The ISP shall be rewritten at 
least annually. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
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(b) The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall be 
updated to reflect any change or changes in the individual's 
progress and treatment needs as well as any newly-
identified problems. 
(c) Documentation of ISP review shall be added to the 
individual's medical record no later than 15 days from the 
calendar date of the review as evidenced by the dated 
signatures of the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, 
QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E, and the individual. ]  

C. Day treatment/partial hospitalization services shall be 
provided following [ a service-specific provider intake and be 
authorized by the LMHP, ] LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or [ LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. An ISP, as 
defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be fully completed, 
signed, and dated by either the LMHP, ] LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, [ LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, the 
QMHP-A, QMHP-E, or QMHP-C and reviewed/approved by 
the LMHP, ] LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or [ LMHP-
R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 days of service 
initiation a diagnostic assessment and be authorized by the 
physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed 
professional counselor, licensed clinical social worker, or 
licensed clinical nurse specialist-psychiatric. An ISP shall be 
fully completed by either the LMHP or the QMHP-A or 
QMHP-C as defined in 12VAC35-105-20 within 30 days of 
service initiation ].  

1. The enrolled provider of day treatment/partial 
hospitalization shall be licensed by DBHDS as providers of 
day treatment services.  
2. Services shall only be provided by an LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP, 
[ LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or a 
qualified paraprofessional under the supervision of a 
QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or an LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP, [ or 
LMHP-S ] as defined at 12VAC35-105-20, except for 
[ LMHP-supervisee, LMSP-resident, and LMHP-R, ] 
LMHP-RP, [ and LMHP-S, ] which are defined in 
12VAC30-50-226.  
3. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 
hours in a 24-hour period.  
4. Individuals shall be discharged from this service when 
other less intensive services may achieve or maintain 
psychiatric stabilization.  

D. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided to 
those individuals who have experienced long-term or repeated 
psychiatric hospitalization, or who experience difficulty in 
activities of daily living and interpersonal skills, or whose 
support system is limited or nonexistent, or who are unable to 
function in the community without intensive intervention or 
when long-term services are needed to maintain the 
individual in the community.  

1. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be provided 
following a service-specific provider intake that clearly 
documents the need for services. This intake that shall be 
completed by either an LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, or LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-
S ]. An ISP shall be completed by either the 
LMHP,  [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] or the QMHP-A, QMHP-E, 
or QMHP-C and be reviewed/approved by either an 
LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-S ] within 30 calendar days of 
service initiation. At least every three months, the LMHP, 
[ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, ] LMHP-
RP, [ LMHP-S, ] the QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 
must review, modify as appropriate, and update the ISP.  
2. Psychosocial rehabilitation services of any individual 
that continue more than six months shall be reviewed by an 
LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-S ] who shall document the 
continued need for the service. The ISP shall be rewritten 
at least annually.  
3. The enrolled provider of psychosocial rehabilitation 
services shall be licensed by DBHDS as a provider of 
psychosocial rehabilitation or clubhouse services.  
4. Psychosocial rehabilitation services may be provided by 
an LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, QMHP-C, 
QMHP-E, or a qualified paraprofessional under the 
supervision of a QMHP-A, a QMHP-C, a QMHP-E, or an 
LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-S ].  
5. The program shall operate a minimum of two continuous 
hours in a 24-hour period.  
6. Time allocated for field trips may be used to calculate 
time and units if the goal is to provide training in an 
integrated setting, and to increase the individual's 
understanding or ability to access community resources.  

E. Crisis [ Admission to Initiation of ] crisis intervention 
services shall be indicated following a [ service-specific 
provider intake that documents a ] marked reduction in the 
individual's psychiatric, adaptive or behavioral functioning or 
an extreme increase in personal distress. [ In order to receive 
reimbursement, providers shall register this service with 
DMAS, DMAS contractors, or the BHSA within one business 
day of the completion of the service-specific provider intake 
to avoid duplication of services and to ensure informed care 
coordination. ] 

1. The crisis intervention services provider shall be 
licensed as a provider of emergency services by DBHDS 
pursuant to 12VAC35-105-30.  
2. Client-related activities provided in association with a 
face-to-face contact are reimbursable.  
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3. An individual service plan (ISP) shall not be required for 
newly admitted individuals to receive this service. 
Inclusion of crisis intervention as a service on the ISP shall 
not be required for the service to be provided on an 
emergency basis.  
4. For individuals receiving scheduled, short-term 
counseling as part of the crisis intervention service, an ISP 
shall be developed or revised by the fourth face-to-face 
contact to reflect the short-term counseling goals by the 
fourth face-to-face contact.  
5. Reimbursement shall be provided for short-term crisis 
counseling contacts occurring within a 30-day period from 
the time of the first face-to-face crisis contact. Other than 
the annual service limits, there are no restrictions 
(regarding number of contacts or a given time period to be 
covered) for reimbursement for unscheduled crisis 
contacts.  
6. Crisis intervention services may be provided to eligible 
individuals outside of the clinic and [ billed reimbursed ], 
provided the provision of out-of-clinic services is 
clinically/programmatically appropriate. Travel by staff to 
provide out-of-clinic services shall not be reimbursable. 
Crisis intervention may involve contacts with the family or 
significant others. If other clinic services are billed at the 
same time as crisis intervention, documentation must 
clearly support the separation of the services with distinct 
treatment goals.  
7. An LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 
LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] or a certified 
prescreener, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall conduct 
a face-to-face service-specific provider intake. The 
[ assessment intake ] shall document the need for and the 
anticipated duration of the crisis service. [ Crisis 
intervention will be provided by an LMHP or a certified 
prescreener. ]  
8. Crisis intervention shall be provided by either an LMHP, 
[ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, ] LMHP-
RP, [ LMHP-S, ] or a certified prescreener.  
9. For an admission to a freestanding inpatient psychiatric 
facility for individuals younger than age 21, federal 
regulations (42 CFR 441.152) require certification of the 
admission by an independent team. The independent team 
must include mental health professionals, including a 
physician. These preadmission screenings cannot be billed 
unless the requirement for an independent team 
certification, with a physician's signature, is met.  
10. Services shall be documented through daily notes and a 
daily log of time spent in the delivery of services.  

F. Case management services pursuant to 12VAC30-50-420 
(seriously mentally ill adults and emotionally disturbed 
children) or 12VAC30-50-430 (youth at risk of serious 
emotional disturbance).  

1. Reimbursement shall be provided only for "active" case 
management clients, as defined. An active client for case 
management shall mean an individual for whom there is an 
ISP in effect that requires regular direct or client-related 
contacts or activity or communication with the individuals 
or families, significant others, service providers, and others 
including a minimum of one face-to-face individual 
contact within a 90-day period. Billing can be submitted 
only for months in which direct or client-related contacts, 
activity or communications occur.  
2. The Medicaid eligible individual shall meet the DBHDS 
criteria of serious mental illness, serious emotional 
disturbance in children and adolescents, or youth at risk of 
serious emotional disturbance.  
3. There shall be no maximum service limits for case 
management services. Case management shall not be billed 
for persons in institutions for mental disease.  
4. The ISP shall document the need for case management 
and be fully completed within 30 calendar days of 
initiation of the service. The case manager shall review the 
ISP at least every three months. The review will be due by 
the last day of the third month following the month in 
which the last review was completed. A grace period will 
be granted up to the last day of the fourth month following 
the month of the last review. When the review was 
completed in a grace period, the next subsequent review 
shall be scheduled three months from the month the review 
was due and not the date of actual review.  
5. The ISP shall also be updated at least annually.  
6. The provider of case management services shall be 
licensed by DBHDS as a provider of case management 
services.  

G. Intensive community treatment (ICT).  
1. A service-specific provider intake that documents 
eligibility and the need for this service shall be completed 
by either the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, 
or LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-S ] prior to the 
initiation of services. This intake documentation shall be 
maintained in the individual's records. Proper completion 
of the service-specific provider intake shall comport with 
the requirements of 12VAC30-50-130. 
2. An individual service plan, based on the needs as 
determined by the service-specific provider intake, must be 
initiated at the time of admission and must be fully 
developed by either the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] 
QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and approved by the 
LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-
R, ] LMHP-RP [ , or LMHP-S ] within 30 days of the 
initiation of services.  
3. ICT may be billed if the individual is brought to the 
facility by ICT staff to see the psychiatrist. Documentation 
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must be present in the individual's record to support this 
intervention.  
4. The enrolled ICT provider shall be licensed by the 
DBHDS as a provider of intensive community services or 
as a program of assertive community treatment, and must 
provide and make available emergency services 24-hours 
per day, seven days per week, 365 days per year, either 
directly or on call.  
5. ICT services must be documented through a daily log of 
time spent in the delivery of services and a description of 
the activities/services provided. There must also be at least 
a weekly note documenting progress or lack of progress 
toward goals and objectives as outlined on the ISP.  

H. Crisis stabilization services.  
1. This service shall be [ authorized initiated ] following a 
face-to-face service-specific provider intake by either an 
LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, ] 
LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] or a certified prescreener, as 
defined in 12VAC30-50-226.  
 [ 2. In order to receive reimbursement, providers shall 
register this service with DMAS, DMAS contractors, or the 
BHSA within one business day of the completion of the 
service-specific provider intake to avoid duplication of 
services and to ensure informed care coordination.  
2. 3.  ] The service-specific provider intake must document 
the need for crisis stabilization services.  
[ 3. 4. ] The Individual Service Plan (ISP) must be 
developed or revised within three calendar days of 
admission to this service. The LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, LMHP-R, ] LMHP-RP, [ LMHP-S, ] 
certified prescreener, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E 
shall develop the ISP.  
 [ 4. 5. ] Room and board, custodial care, and general 
supervision are not components of this service.  
 [ 5. 6. ] Clinic option services are not billable at the same 
time crisis stabilization services are provided with the 
exception of clinic visits for medication management. 
Medication management visits may be billed at the same 
time that crisis stabilization services are provided but 
documentation must clearly support the separation of the 
services with distinct treatment goals.  
 [ 6. 7. ] Individuals qualifying for this service must 
demonstrate a clinical necessity for the service arising from 
a condition due to an acute crisis of a psychiatric nature 
which puts the individual at risk of psychiatric 
hospitalization.  
[ 7. 8. ] Providers of residential crisis stabilization shall be 
licensed by DBHDS as providers of mental health 
residential or nonresidential crisis stabilization services. 
Providers of community-based crisis stabilization shall be 
licensed by DBHDS as providers of mental health 
nonresidential crisis stabilization. 

I. Mental health support skill-building services as defined in 
12VAC30-50-226 B [ 8 6 ]. Refer to 12VAC30-50-226 for 
criteria, service authorization requirements, and service-
specific provider intakes that shall apply for individuals in 
order to qualify for this service. 

1. Prior to At admission, an appropriate face-to-face 
service-specific provider intake must be completed, 
conducted, documented, signed, and dated, and 
documented by the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, LMHP-R, ] or LMHP-RP indicating that service 
needs can best be met through mental health support 
services. Providers shall be reimbursed one unit for each 
intake utilizing the appropriate billing code. Service-
specific provider intakes shall be repeated [ when the 
individual receives six months of continual care and ] upon 
any lapse in services of more than 30 calendar days. 
[ Services of any individual that continue more than six 
months shall be reviewed by the LMHP, LMHP-R, 
LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who shall document the continued 
need for the service in the individual's medical record. ]  
2. The ISP, as defined in 12VAC30-50-226, shall be 
completed, signed, and dated by either a LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, 
QMHP-C, or QMHP-E within 30 calendar days of service 
initiation, and shall indicate the specific supports and 
services to be provided and the goals and objectives to be 
accomplished. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident, or LMHP-RP or QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-
E shall supervise the care if delivered by the qualified 
paraprofessional. If the care is supervised by the QMHP-A, 
QMHP-E, or QMHP-C, then the LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP shall review and 
approve the supervision of the care delivered by the 
qualified paraprofessional. 
3. Every three months, the LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or 
QMHP-E shall review, modify as appropriate, and update 
the ISP showing a new signature and date of each revision. 
If the ISP review is conducted by the QMHP-A, QMHP-C, 
or QMHP-E, then it shall be 
reviewed/approved/signed/dated by the LMHP, LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. The ISP shall 
be rewritten, signed, and dated by either a QMHP-A, 
QMHP-C, QMHP-E, an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, 
LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP at least annually.  
4. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to 
individuals shall be reimbursable.  
5. Any services provided to the individual that are strictly 
academic in nature shall not be billable. These include, but 
are not limited to, such basic educational programs as 
instruction in reading, science, mathematics, or the 
individual's work towards obtaining a GED.  
6. Any services provided to individuals that are strictly 
vocational in nature shall not be billable. However, support 
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activities and activities directly related to assisting an 
individual to cope with a mental illness to the degree 
necessary to develop appropriate behaviors for operating in 
an overall work environment shall be billable.  
7. Room and board, custodial care, and general supervision 
are not components of this service.  
8. This service is not billable for individuals who reside in 
facilities where staff are expected to provide such services 
under facility licensure requirements.  
9. Provider qualifications. The enrolled provider of mental 
health support services shall be licensed by DBHDS as a 
provider of supportive in-home services, intensive 
community treatment, or as a program of assertive 
community treatment. Individuals employed or contracted 
by the provider to provide mental health support services 
shall have training in the characteristics of mental illness 
and appropriate interventions, training strategies, and 
support methods for persons with mental illness and 
functional limitations. 
10. Mental health support services, which continue for six 
consecutive months, shall be reviewed and renewed at the 
end of the six-month period of authorization by an LMHP, 
LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP who 
shall document the continued need for the services.  
11. Mental health support services shall be documented 
through a daily log of time involved in the delivery of 
services and a minimum of a weekly summary note of 
services provided.  
2. The primary psychiatric diagnosis shall be documented 
as part of the intake. The LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, or 
LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S ] 
performing the intake shall document the primary mental 
health diagnosis on the intake form. 
3. The LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, or LMHP-resident 
LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or 
QMHP-E ] shall complete, sign, and date the ISP within 30 
days of the admission to this service. The ISP shall include 
documentation of how many days per week and how many 
hours per week are required to carry out the goals in the 
ISP. The total time billed for the week shall not exceed the 
frequency established in the individual's ISP. The ISP shall 
indicate the dated signature of the LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, or LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 
LMHP-S, QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E ] and the 
individual. The ISP shall indicate the specific training and 
services to be provided, the goals and objectives to be 
accomplished, and criteria for discharge as part of a 
discharge plan that includes the projected length of service. 
If the individual refuses to sign the ISP, this shall be noted 
in the individual's medical record documentation. 
4. Every three months, the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, or 
LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, ] QMHP-
A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E shall review with the individual 

in a manner in which he may participate with the process, 
modify as appropriate, and update the ISP. The ISP must 
be rewritten at least annually.  

a. The goals, objectives, and strategies of the ISP shall be 
updated to reflect any change or changes in the 
individual's progress and treatment needs as well as any 
newly identified problem. 
b. Documentation of this review shall be added to the 
individual's medical record no later than [ the last day of 
the month in which this 15 calendar days from the date of 
the ] review [ is conducted ], as evidenced by the dated 
signatures of the LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, 
QMHP-C, or QMHP-E and the individual. 

5. The ISP shall include discharge goals that will enable 
the individual to achieve and maintain community stability 
and independence. The ISP shall fully support the need for 
interventions over the length of the period of service 
requested from the service authorization contractor. 
6. Reauthorizations for service shall only be granted if the 
provider demonstrates to either DMAS or the service 
authorization contractor that the individual is benefitting 
from the service as evidenced by updates and 
modifications to the ISP that demonstrate progress toward 
ISP goals and objectives. 
7. If the provider knows or has reason to know of the 
individual's nonadherence to a regimen of prescribed 
medication, medication adherence shall be a goal in the 
individual's ISP. If the care is delivered by the qualified 
paraprofessional, the supervising LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-
S, ] QMHP-A, or QMHP-C shall be informed of any 
[ nonadherence to the prescribed ] medication regimen 
[ nonadherence ]. The LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, or 
QMHP-C shall coordinate care with the prescribing 
physician regarding any [ concerns about ] medication 
[ regimen ] nonadherence [ concerns (provided that the 
individual has consented to such sharing of information) ]. 
The provider shall document the following minimum 
elements of the contact between the LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-
S, ] QMHP-A, or QMHP-C and the prescribing physician:  

a. Name and title of caller; 
b. Name and title of professional who was called; 
c. Name of organization that the prescribing professional 
works for;  
d. Date and time of call; 
e. Reason for the care coordination call; 
f. Description of medication regimen issue or issues to be 
discussed; and 
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g. Whether or not there was a resolution of medication 
regimen issue or issues. 

8. Discharge summaries shall be prepared by providers for 
all of the individuals in their care. Documentation of prior 
psychiatric services history shall be maintained in the 
individual's mental health skill-building services medical 
record. 
9. Documentation of prior psychiatric services history shall 
be maintained in the individual's mental health skill-
building services medical record. The provider shall 
document evidence of the individual's prior psychiatric 
services history, as required by 12VAC30-50-226 B [ 8 6 ] 
b (3) and 12VAC30-50-226 B [ 8 6 ] c (4), by contacting 
the prior provider or providers of such health care services 
after obtaining written consent from the individual. 
Documentation of telephone contacts with the prior 
provider shall include the following minimum elements:  

a. Name and title of caller; 
b. Name and title of professional who was called;  
c. Name of organization that the professional works for; 
d. Date and time of call; 
e. Specific placement provided;  
f. Type of treatment previously provided;  
g. Name of treatment provider; and 
h. Dates of previous treatment. 

 [ Discharge summaries from prior providers that clearly 
indicate (i) the type of treatment provided, (ii) the dates of 
the treatment previously provided, and (iii) the name of the 
treatment provider shall be sufficient to meet this 
requirement. Family member statements shall not suffice to 
meet this requirement. ]  
10. The provider shall document evidence of the 
psychiatric medication history, as required by 12VAC30-
50-226 B [ 8 6 ] b (4) and 12VAC30-50-226 B [ 8 6 ] c (5), 
by maintaining a photocopy of prescription information 
from a prescription bottle or by contacting [ a prior the 
current or previous prescribing ] provider of health care 
services or pharmacy after obtaining written consent from 
the individual. Prescription lists or medical records [ , 
including discharge summaries, ] obtained from the 
pharmacy or [ current or previous prescribing ] provider of 
health care services that contain (i) the name of the 
prescribing physician, (ii) the name of the medication with 
dosage and frequency, and (iii) the date of the prescription 
shall be sufficient to meet these criteria. [ Family member 
statements shall not suffice to meet this requirement. ]  
11. In the absence of such documentation, the current 
provider shall document all contacts (i.e., telephone, 
[ faxes) faxes, electronic communication) ] with the 
pharmacy or provider of health care services with the 
following minimum elements: (i) name and title of caller, 
(ii) name and title of prior professional who was called, 

(iii) name of organization that the professional works for, 
(iv) date and time of call, (v) specific prescription 
confirmed, (vi) name of prescribing physician, (vii) name 
of medication, and (viii) date of prescription.  
12. Only direct face-to-face contacts and services to an 
individual shall be reimbursable.  
13. Any services provided to the individual that are strictly 
academic in nature shall not be billable. These include, but 
are not limited to, such basic educational programs as 
instruction or tutoring in reading, science, mathematics, or 
GED.  
14. Any services provided to individuals that are strictly 
vocational in nature shall not be billable. However, support 
activities and activities directly related to assisting an 
individual to cope with a mental illness to the degree 
necessary to develop appropriate behaviors for operating in 
an overall work environment shall be billable.  
15. Room and board, custodial care, and general 
supervision are not components of this service.  
16. Provider qualifications. The enrolled provider of 
mental health skill-building services must be licensed by 
DBHDS as a provider of mental health community support 
[ (defined in 12VAC35-105-20) ]. Individuals employed or 
contracted by the provider to provide mental health skill-
building services must have training in the characteristics 
of mental illness and appropriate interventions, training 
strategies, and support methods for persons with mental 
illness and functional limitations. Mental health skill-
building services shall be provided by either an LMHP, 
[ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 
LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, QMHP-C, QMHP-E, or [ QMHPP 
QPPMH ]. The LMHP, [ LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, or 
QMHP-C will supervise the care weekly if delivered by the 
QMHP-E or [ QMHPP QPPMH ]. Documentation of 
supervision shall be maintained in the mental health skill-
building services record.  
 [ 17. Mental health skill-building services, which may 
continue for up to six consecutive months, must be 
reviewed and renewed at the end of the period of 
authorization by an LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-
resident who must document the continued need for the 
services.  
18. 17. ] Mental health skill-building services [ must shall ] 
be documented through a daily log of time involved in the 
delivery of services and a minimum of a weekly summary 
note of services provided. The provider shall clearly 
document services provided to detail what occurred during 
the entire amount of the time billed. 
 [ 19. 18. ] If mental health skill-building services are 
provided in a group home (Level A or B) or assisted living 
facility, effective July 1, 2014, there shall be a yearly limit 
of up to 4160 units per fiscal year and a weekly limit of up 
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to 80 units per week, with at least half of each week's 
services provided outside of the group home or assisted 
living facility. There shall be a daily limit of a maximum of 
20 units. Prior to July 1, 2014, the previous limits shall 
apply. The ISP shall not include activities that contradict or 
duplicate those in the treatment plan established by the 
group home or assisted living facility. The provider shall 
attempt to coordinate mental health skill-building services 
with the treatment plan established by the group home or 
assisted living facility and shall document all coordination 
activities in the medical record.  
 [ 20. 19. ] Limits and exclusions. 

a. Group home (Level A or B) and assisted living facility 
providers shall not serve as the mental health skill-
building services provider for individuals residing in the 
provider's respective facility. Individuals residing in 
facilities may, however, receive MHSS from another 
MHSS agency not affiliated with the owner of the facility 
in which they reside. 
b. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are receiving in-home 
residential services or congregate residential services 
through the Intellectual Disability Waiver or Individual 
and Family Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver. 
c. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed for individuals who are also receiving 
independent living skills services, the Department of 
Social Services independent living program (22VAC40-
151), independent living services (22VAC40-151 and 
22VAC40-131), or independent living arrangement 
(22VAC40-131) or any Comprehensive Services Act-
funded independent living skills programs. 
d. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who are receiving treatment 
foster care (12VAC30-130-900 et seq.). 
e. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities or 
hospitals. 
f. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available to individuals who reside in nursing facilities, 
except for up to 60 days prior to discharge. If the 
individual has not been discharged from the nursing 
facility during the 60-day period of services, mental 
health skill-building services shall be terminated and no 
further service authorizations shall be available to the 
individual unless a provider can demonstrate and 
document that mental health skill-building services are 
necessary. Such documentation shall include facts 
demonstrating a change in the individual's circumstances 
and a new plan for discharge requiring up to 60 days of 
mental health skill-building services. 

g. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
available for residents of residential treatment centers 
(Level C facilities) except for the intake code H0032 
(modifier U8) in the seven days immediately prior to 
discharge. 
h. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
reimbursed if personal care services or attendant care 
services are being received simultaneously, unless 
justification is provided why this is necessary in the 
individual's mental health skill-building services record. 
Medical record documentation shall fully substantiate the 
need for services when personal care or attendant care 
services are being provided. This applies to individuals 
who are receiving additional services through the 
Intellectual Disability Waiver (12VAC30-120-1000 et 
seq.), Individual and Family Developmental Disabilities 
Support Waiver (12VAC30-120-700 et seq.), the Elderly 
or Disabled with Consumer Direction Waiver 
(12VAC30-120-900 et seq.), and EPSDT services 
(12VAC30-50-130).  
i. Mental health skill-building services shall not be 
duplicative of other services. Providers have a 
responsibility to ensure that if an individual is receiving 
additional therapeutic services that there will be 
coordination of services by either the LMHP, [ LMHP-
supervisee, LMHP-resident LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 
LMHP-S, ] QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E to avoid 
duplication of services. 
j. Individuals who have organic disorders, such as 
delirium, dementia, or other cognitive disorders not 
elsewhere classified, will be prohibited from receiving 
mental health skill-building services unless their 
physicians issue a signed and dated statement indicating 
that the individuals can benefit from this service. 
k. Individuals who are not diagnosed with a serious 
mental health disorder but who have personality 
disorders or other mental health disorders, or both, that 
may lead to chronic disability, will not be excluded from 
the mental health skill-building services eligibility 
criteria provided that the individual has a primary mental 
health diagnosis from the list included in 12VAC30-50-
226 B [ 8 6 ] b (1) or 12VAC30-50-226 B [ 8 6 ] c (2) 
and that the provider can document and describe how the 
individual is expected to actively participate in and 
benefit from mental health support services. 

J. Except as noted in subdivision I [ 20 18 ] of this section 
and in 12VAC30-50-226 B 6 [ d e ], the limits described in 
this regulation and all others identified in 12VAC30-50-226 
shall apply to all service authorization requests submitted to 
either DMAS or the BHSA as of [ the effective date of this 
regulation July 27, 2016 ]. As of [ the effective date of this 
regulation July 27, 2016 ], all annual limits, weekly limits, 
daily limits, and reimbursement for services shall apply to all 
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services described in 12VAC30-50-226 regardless of the date 
upon which service authorization was obtained. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3451; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:52 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(amending 12VAC30-50-190). 
12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 
Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-820).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, Policy Division, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 786-1680, TTY (800) 
343-0634, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Item 301 LLLL 2 of Chapter 665 of the 2015 
Acts of Assembly, the amendments add adult pregnant 
women to the individuals eligible to receive full dental 
services, excluding orthodontia, through Medicaid and 
FAMIS MOMS.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
12VAC30-50-190. Dental services.  

A. Dental services are limited to recipients under shall be 
covered for individuals younger than 21 years of age in 
fulfillment of the treatment requirements under the Early and 
Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Program and defined as routine diagnostic, preventive, or 
restorative procedures necessary for oral health provided by 
or under the direct supervision of a dentist in accordance with 
the State Dental Practice Act.  

1. The state agency will provide any medically necessary 
dental service to individuals younger than 21 years of age. 
B. 2. Certain dental services, as described in the agency's 
Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children, copyright 
2005) March 13, 2014), prepared by DMAS' dental 
benefits administrator, require preauthorization or 
prepayment review by the state agency or its designee.  
3. Dental services for individuals younger than the age of 
21 years that do not require preauthorization or prepayment 
review are initial, periodic, and emergency examinations; 
required radiography necessary to develop a treatment 
plan; patient education; dental prophylaxis; fluoride 
treatments; routine amalgam and composite restorations; 
stainless steel crowns, prefabricated steel post and 
temporary (polycarbonate crowns) and stainless steel 
bands; crown recementation; pulpotomies; emergency 

endodontics for temporary relief of pain; pulp capping; 
sedative fillings; therapeutic apical closure; topical 
palliative treatment for dental pain; removal of foreign 
body; simple extractions; root recovery; incision and 
drainage of abscess; surgical exposure of the tooth to aid 
eruption; sequestrectomy for osteomyelitis; and oral antral 
fistula closure.  

C. B. Dental services determined by the dental provider to 
be medically appropriate for an adult woman during the term 
of her pregnancy and through the end of the month following 
the 60th day postpartum shall be provided to a Medicaid-
enrolled pregnant woman. The dental services that shall be 
covered are (i) diagnostic x-rays and exams; (ii) preventive 
cleanings; (iii) restorative fillings; (iv) endodontics (root 
canals); (v) periodontics (gum-related treatments); (vi) 
prosthodontics, both removable and fixed (crowns, bridges, 
partial plates, and dentures); (vii) oral surgery (tooth 
extractions and other oral surgeries); and (viii) adjunctive 
general services (all covered services that do not fall into 
specific professional categories). These services require 
prepayment review by the state agency or its designee. 

C. The For the dental services covered for Medicaid-
enrolled adult pregnant women, the state agency may place 
appropriate limits on a service based on medical necessity, for 
utilization control, or both. Examples of service limitations 
are: examinations, prophylaxis, fluoride treatment (once/six 
months); space maintenance appliances; bitewing x-ray—two 
films (once/12 months); routine amalgam and composite 
restorations (once/three years); dentures (once/five years); 
extractions, orthodontics, tooth guidance appliances, 
permanent crowns and bridges, endodontics, patient 
education and sealants (once).  

D. Limited oral surgery procedures, as defined and covered 
under Title XVIII (Medicare), are covered for all recipients, 
and require preauthorization or prepayment review by the 
state agency or its designee as described in the agency's 
Office Reference Manual located on the DMAS website at: 
(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_06-09-05.pdf) 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_O
RM_140313.pdf. 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(12VAC30-50)  

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition DSM-IV-TR, copyright 2000, American 
Psychiatric Association 

Length of Stay by Diagnosis and Operation, Southern 
Region, 1996, HCIA, Inc. 

Guidelines for Perinatal Care, 4th Edition, August 1997, 
American Academy of Pediatrics and the American College 
of Obstetricians and Gynecologists 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 
and Addenda 

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
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Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2005 
(www.dmas.virginia.gov/downloads/pdfs/dental-
office_reference_manual_06-09-05.pdf).  

Office Reference Manual (Smiles for Children), prepared by 
DMAS' Dental Benefits Administrator, copyright 2010, dated 
March 13, 2014 
(http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_
ORM_140313.pdf) 

Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Substance-
Related Disorders ASAM PPC-2R, Second Edition, copyright 
2001, American Society of Addiction Medicine 

Virginia Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Provider Manual, Appendix B (rev. 1/11), Department of 
Medical Assistance Services 

Human Services and Related Fields Approved 
Degrees/Experience, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (rev. 5/13) 
12VAC30-141-820. Benefit packages.  

Pregnant women covered through FAMIS MOMS may 
receive the same medical and dental services and are subject 
to the same limitations on services as pregnant women (see 
12VAC30-50-190) covered by the Medicaid program as 
defined in 12VAC30-10-140 and 12VAC30-50-10.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4215; Filed June 3, 2016, 3:01 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 
and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 
(adding 12VAC30-50-600). 
12VAC30-121. Medicare-Medicaid Demonstration 
Waiver (adding 12VAC30-121-10 through 12VAC30-121-
250).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. 
Expiration Date Extended Through: December 8, 2016. 
The Governor has approved the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services' request to extend the expiration date of 
the above-referenced emergency regulations for six months as 
provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. 
Therefore, the emergency regulations will continue in effect 
through December 8, 2016. The emergency regulations relate 
to the implementation of (i) Item 307 RR of Chapter 806 of 
the 2013 Acts of Assembly, the 2013 Appropriation Act, 
which directed the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services (DMAS) to implement a care coordination program 
for a Medicare-Medicaid dual eligible enrollee; (ii) Item 307 
AAAA of the Act, which directed DMAS to implement a 
process for administrative appeals of Medicaid/Medicare dual 
eligible recipients in accordance with the terms of the 
Memorandum of Understanding between DMAS and the 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for the Virginia 
Medicare-Medicaid Financial Alignment Demonstration 
Model; and (iii) Item 307 RRRR of the Act, which provides 

for achieving cost savings and standardization of 
administrative and other processes for providers. The 
emergency regulations were published in 31:9 VA.R. 613-
633 December 29, 2014. 
Agency Contact: Matthew Behrens, Project Manager, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
625-3673, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
matthew.behrens@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-3786; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:46 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-120. Waivered Services 
(amending 12VAC30-120-360 through 12VAC30-120-
420).  
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Victoria Simmons, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, FAX (804) 
786-1680, or email victoria.simmons@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) require individuals who are enrolled 
in the Elderly or Disabled with Consumer Direction 
Waiver and who are excluded from participating in 
mandatory managed care to be enrolled in Medicaid 
contracted managed care organizations and to receive all 
acute care services through the mandatory managed care 
delivery system and (ii) provide for expedited enrollment 
for Medicaid individuals into Medicaid contracted 
managed care organizations, especially for pregnant 
women.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part VI  
Medallion II Mandatory Managed Care 

12VAC30-120-360. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Action" means the denial or limited authorization of a 
requested service, including the type or level of service; the 
reduction, suspension, or termination of a previously 
authorized service; the denial, in whole or in part, of payment 
for a service; the failure to provide services in a timely 
manner, as defined by the state; or the failure of an MCO to 
act within the timeframes provided in 42 CFR 438.408(b).  

"Appeal" means a request for review of an action, as 
"action" is defined in this section.  

http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/Content_atchs/dnt/VA_SFC_ORM_140313.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=265f3004215~2&typ=40&actno=004215&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22f50002790~6&typ=40&actno=002790&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4766
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4766
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"Area of residence" means the individual's member's address 
in the Medicaid eligibility file.  

"Capitation payment" means a payment the department 
makes periodically to a contractor on behalf of each 
individual enrolled under a contract for the provision of 
medical services under the State Plan, regardless of whether 
the particular individual receives services during the period 
covered by the payment.  

"Covered services" means Medicaid services as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance.  

"Disenrollment" means the process of changing enrollment 
from one Medallion II Managed Care Organization (MCO) 
plan to another MCO, if applicable.  

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services.  

"Enrollee" or "enrollees" means people having current 
Medicaid eligibility who shall be in the process of being 
authorized by DMAS to be enrolled in Medallion II. 

"Early Intervention" means EPSDT Early Intervention 
services provided pursuant to Part C of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 2004 as set forth in 
12VAC30-50-131. 

"Eligible person" means any person eligible for Virginia 
Medicaid in accordance with the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

"Emergency medical condition" means a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, 
could reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical 
attention to result in the following:  

1. Placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy,  
2. Serious impairment to bodily functions, or  
3. Serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

"Emergency services" means covered inpatient and 
outpatient services that are furnished by a provider that is 
qualified to furnish these services and that are needed to 
evaluate or stabilize an emergency medical condition.  

"Enrollment broker" means an independent contractor that 
enrolls individuals in the contractor's plan and is responsible 
for the operation and documentation of a toll-free individual 
service helpline. The responsibilities of the enrollment broker 
include, but shall not be limited to, individual education and 
MCO enrollment, assistance with and tracking of individuals' 
complaints resolutions, and may include individual marketing 
and outreach.  

"Exclusion from Medallion II" "Exclude" means the 
removal of an enrollee a member from the Medallion II 
mandatory managed care program on a temporary or 
permanent basis.  

"External quality review organization" or "EQRO" means an 
organization that meets the competence and independence 
requirements set forth in 42 CFR 438.354 and performs 
external quality reviews, other external quality review related 
activities as set forth in 42 CFR 438.358, or both.  

"Grievance" means an expression of dissatisfaction about 
any matter other than an action, as "action" is defined in this 
section.  

"Health care plan" means any arrangement in which any 
managed care organization undertakes to provide, arrange for, 
pay for, or reimburse any part of the cost of any health care 
services.  

"Health care professional" means a provider as defined in 42 
CFR 438.2.  

"Individual" or "individuals" means people a person or 
persons who are eligible for Medicaid but, who are not yet 
undergoing enrollment nor for mandatory managed care, and 
who are not enrolled in a mandatory managed care 
organization. 

"Managed care organization" or "MCO" means an entity that 
meets the participation and solvency criteria defined in 
42 CFR Part 438 and has an executed contractual agreement 
with DMAS to provide services covered under the Medallion 
II mandatory managed care program. Covered services for 
Medallion II mandatory managed care program individuals 
must shall be as accessible (in terms of timeliness, amount, 
duration, and scope) as compared to other Medicaid 
individuals served within the geographic area.  

"Member" or "members" means people who have current 
Medicaid eligibility who are also enrolled in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care.  

"Network" means doctors, hospitals or other health care 
providers who participate or contract with an MCO contractor 
and, as a result, agree to accept a mutually-agreed mutually 
agreed upon sum or fee schedule as payment in full for 
covered services that are rendered to eligible participants.  

"Newborn enrollment period" means the period from the 
child's date of birth plus the next two calendar months.  

"Nonparticipating provider" means a health care entity or 
health care professional not in the contractor's participating 
provider network.  

"Participant" or "participants" means an individual or 
individuals having current Medicaid eligibility who shall be 
authorized by DMAS to be a member or members of 
Medallion II. 

"PCP of record" means a primary care physician of record 
with whom the recipient has an established history and such 
history is documented in the individual's records. 

"Post-stabilization care services" means covered services 
related to an emergency medical condition that are provided 
after an enrollee is stabilized in order to maintain the 
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stabilized condition or to improve or resolve the enrollee's 
condition.  

"Potential enrollee" means a Medicaid individual who is 
subject to mandatory enrollment or may voluntarily elect to 
enroll in a given managed care program, but is not yet an 
enrollee of a specific MCO.  

"Retractions" means the departure of an enrolled managed 
care organization from any one or more localities as provided 
for in 12VAC30-120-370. 

"Rural exception" means a rural area designated in the 
§ 1915(b) managed care waiver, pursuant to § 1932(a)(3)(B) 
of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR § 438.52(b) and 
recognized by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services, wherein qualifying Medallion II mandatory 
managed care members are mandated to enroll in the one 
available contracted MCO. 

"School health services" means those physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, speech therapy, nursing, psychiatric and 
psychological services rendered to children who qualify for 
these services under the federal Individuals with Disabilities 
Education Act (20 USC § 1471 et seq.) by (i) employees of 
the school divisions or (ii) providers that subcontract with 
school divisions, as described in 12VAC30-50-130.  

"Spend-down" means the process of reducing countable 
income by deducting incurred medical expenses for medically 
needy individuals, as determined in the State Plan for Medical 
Assistance.  
12VAC30-120-370. Medallion II enrollees Mandatory 
managed care members. 

A. DMAS shall determine enrollment in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care. Medicaid eligible persons not 
meeting the exclusion criteria set out in this section must shall 
participate in the Medallion II mandatory managed care 
program. Enrollment in Medallion II is mandatory managed 
care shall not be a guarantee of continuing eligibility for 
services and benefits under the Virginia Medical Assistance 
Services Program.  

1. DMAS reserves the right to exclude from participation 
in the Medallion II mandatory managed care program any 
member who has been consistently noncompliant with the 
policies and procedures of managed care or who is 
threatening to providers, MCOs, or DMAS. There must be 
sufficient documentation from various providers, the 
MCO, and DMAS of these noncompliance issues and any 
attempts at resolution. Members excluded from Medallion 
II mandatory managed care through this provision may 
appeal the decision to DMAS. 
2. Qualifying individuals enrolled in the Elderly or 
Disabled with Consumer Direction (EDCD) Waiver 
pursuant to Part IX (12VAC30-120-900 et seq.) of this 
chapter who do not meet any exclusions in subsection B of 
this section shall be required to enroll in managed care and 
shall receive all acute care services through the mandatory 

managed care delivery system. For these individuals, 
services provided under 12VAC30-120-380 A 2 shall 
continue to be provided through the DMAS fee-for-service 
system.  

B. The following individuals shall be excluded (as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360) from participating in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care as defined in the § 1915(b) managed 
care waiver. Individuals excluded from Medallion II 
mandatory managed care shall include the following:  

1. Individuals who are inpatients in state mental hospitals; 
2. Individuals who are approved by DMAS as inpatients in 
long-stay hospitals, nursing facilities, or intermediate care 
facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities; 
3. Individuals who are placed on spend-down; 
4. Individuals who are participating in the family planning 
waiver, or in federal waiver programs for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage prior to managed 
care enrollment (except eligible EDCD members); 
5. Individuals under age 21 who are approved for DMAS 
residential facility Level C programs as defined in 
12VAC30-130-860; 
6. Newly eligible individuals who are in the third trimester 
of pregnancy and who request exclusion within a 
department-specified timeframe of the effective date of 
their MCO enrollment. Exclusion may be granted only if 
the member's obstetrical provider (e.g. (i.e., physician, 
hospital, or midwife) does not participate with the 
enrollee's member's assigned MCO. Exclusion requests 
made during the third trimester may be made by the 
member, MCO, or provider. DMAS shall determine if the 
request meets the criteria for exclusion. Following the end 
of the pregnancy, these individuals shall be required to 
enroll to the extent they remain eligible for Medicaid; 
7. Individuals, other than students, who permanently live 
outside their area of residence for greater than 60 
consecutive days except those individuals placed there for 
medically necessary services funded by the MCO; 
8. Individuals who receive hospice services in accordance 
with DMAS criteria; 
9. Individuals with other comprehensive group or 
individual health insurance coverage, including Medicare, 
insurance provided to military dependents, and any other 
insurance purchased through the Health Insurance 
Premium Payment Program (HIPP); 
10. Individuals requesting exclusion who are inpatients in 
hospitals, other than those listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of 
this subsection, at the scheduled time of MCO enrollment 
or who are scheduled for inpatient hospital stay or surgery 
within 30 calendar days of the MCO enrollment effective 
date. The exclusion shall remain effective until the first day 
of the month following discharge. This exclusion reason 
shall not apply to members admitted to the hospital while 
already enrolled in a department-contracted MCO;  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2956 

11. Individuals who request exclusion during 
preassignment assignment to an MCO or within a time set 
by DMAS from the effective date of their MCO 
enrollment, who have been diagnosed with a terminal 
condition and who have a life expectancy of six months or 
less. The client's individual's physician must certify the life 
expectancy; 
12. Certain individuals between birth and age three 
certified by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services as eligible for services pursuant to 
Part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act 
(20 USC § 1471 et seq.) who are granted an exception by 
DMAS to the mandatory Medallion II managed care 
enrollment; 
13. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is less 
than three months; 
14. Individuals who are enrolled in the Commonwealth's 
Title XXI SCHIP program; 
15. Individuals who have an eligibility period that is only 
retroactive; and 
16. Children enrolled in the Virginia Birth-Related 
Neurological Injury Compensation Program established 
pursuant to Chapter 50 (§ 38.2-5000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 
of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Members enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 
one or more of the criteria of subsections A and subsection B 
of this section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded 
from MCO participation as determined by DMAS, with the 
exception of those who subsequently become participants in 
the federal long-term care waiver programs, as otherwise 
defined elsewhere in this chapter, for home-based and 
community-based Medicaid coverage (AIDS, (IFDDS, 
MR/ID ID, EDCD, Day Support, or Alzheimer's, or as may 
be amended from time to time). These individuals members 
shall receive acute and primary medical services via the MCO 
and shall receive waiver services and related transportation to 
waiver services via the fee-for-service program. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program. 

D. Individuals who are enrolled in localities that qualify for 
the rural exception may meet exclusion criteria if their PCP of 
record, as defined in 12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not 
participate with the one MCO in the locality. Individual 
requests to be excluded from MCO participation in localities 
meeting the qualification for the rural exception must be 
made to DMAS for consideration on a case-by-case basis. 
Recipients Members enrolled in MCO rural exception areas 
shall not have open enrollment periods and shall not be 
afforded the 90-day window after initial enrollment during 
which they may make a health plan or program change. 

Individuals excluded from mandatory managed care 
enrollment shall receive Medicaid services under the current 
fee-for-service system. When individuals no longer meet the 
criteria for exclusion, they shall be required to enroll in the 
appropriate managed care program.  

E. Medallion II Mandatory managed care plans shall be 
offered to individuals, and individuals shall be enrolled in 
those plans, exclusively through an independent enrollment 
broker under contract to DMAS. 

F. Clients Members shall be enrolled as follows: 
1. All eligible individuals, except those meeting one of the 
exclusions of subsection B of this section, shall be enrolled 
in Medallion II mandatory managed care. 
2. Individuals shall receive a Medicaid card from DMAS, 
and shall be provided authorized medical care in 
accordance with DMAS' procedures after Medicaid 
eligibility has been determined to exist. 
3. Once individuals are enrolled in Medicaid, they will 
receive a letter indicating that they may select one of the 
contracted MCOs. These letters shall indicate a 
preassigned an assigned MCO, determined as provided in 
subsection F of this section, in which the individual 
member will be enrolled if he does not make a selection 
within a period specified by DMAS of not less than 30 
days. Members who are enrolled in one mandatory MCO 
program who immediately become eligible for another 
mandatory MCO program are able to maintain consistent 
enrollment with their currently assigned MCO, if available. 
These members will receive a notification letter including 
information regarding their ability to change health plans 
under the new program. 
4. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled with an MCO at 
the time of birth shall be considered a member of that same 
MCO for the newborn enrollment period. 

a. This requirement does not preclude the member, once 
he is assigned a Medicaid identification number, from 
disenrolling from one MCO to enrolling with another in 
accordance with subdivision H 1 of this section. 
b. The newborn's continued enrollment with the MCO is 
not contingent upon the mother's enrollment. 
Additionally, if the MCO's contract is terminated in 
whole or in part, the MCO shall continue newborn 
coverage if the child is born while the contract is active, 
until the newborn receives a Medicaid number or for the 
newborn enrollment period, whichever timeframe is 
earlier. Children who do not receive a Medicaid 
identification number prior to the end of the newborn 
enrollment period will be disenrolled. Newborns who 
remain eligible for participation in Medallion II 
mandatory managed care will be reenrolled in an MCO 
through the preassignment assignment process upon 
receiving a Medicaid identification number. 
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c. Any newborn whose mother is enrolled in an MCO at 
the time of birth shall receive a Medicaid identification 
number prior to the end of the newborn enrollment 
period in order to maintain the newborn's enrollment in 
an MCO. 

5. Individuals who lose then regain eligibility for 
Medallion II mandatory managed care within 60 days will 
be reenrolled into their previous MCO without going 
through preassignment assignment and selection. 

G. Individuals who do not select an MCO as described in 
subdivision F 3 of this section shall be assigned to an MCO as 
follows: 

1. Individuals are assigned through a system algorithm 
based upon the client's member's history with a contracted 
MCO. 
2. Individuals not assigned pursuant to subdivision 1 of 
this subsection shall be assigned to the MCO of another 
family member, if applicable. 
3. Individuals who live in rural exception areas as defined 
in 12VAC30-120-360 must shall enroll with the one 
available MCO. These persons individuals shall receive a 
preassignment an assignment notification for enrollment 
into the MCO. Individuals in rural exception areas who are 
assigned to the one MCO may request exclusion from 
MCO participation if their PCP of record, as defined in 
12VAC30-120-360, cannot or will not participate with the 
one MCO in the locality. Individual requests to be 
excluded from MCO participation in rural exception 
localities must be made to DMAS for consideration on a 
case-by-case basis.  
4. All other individuals shall be assigned to an MCO on a 
basis of approximately equal number by MCO in each 
locality. 
5. All eligible members are automatically assigned to a 
contracted MCO in their localities. Members are allowed 
90 days after the effective date of new or initial enrollment 
to change to another MCO that participates in the 
geographic area where the member lives. Recipients 
Members residing in localities qualifying for a rural 
exception shall not be afforded the 90-day window after 
initial enrollment during which they may make a health 
plan or program change. 
6. DMAS shall have the discretion to utilize an alternate 
strategy for enrollment or transition of enrollment from the 
method described in this section for expansions, 
retractions, or changes to client member populations, 
geographical areas, procurements, or any or all of these; 
such alternate strategy shall comply with federal waiver 
requirements. 

H. Following their initial enrollment into an MCO, members 
shall be restricted to the MCO until the next open enrollment 
period, unless appropriately disenrolled or excluded by the 
department (as defined in 12VAC30-120-360). 

1. During the first 90 calendar days of enrollment in a new 
or initial MCO, a member may disenroll from that MCO to 
enroll into another MCO for any reason. Such 
disenrollment shall be effective no later than the first day 
of the second month after the month in which the member 
requests disenrollment. 
2. During the remainder of the enrollment period, the 
member may only disenroll from one MCO into another 
MCO upon determination by DMAS that good cause exists 
as determined under subsection I J of this section. 

I. The department shall conduct an annual open enrollment 
for all Medallion II mandatory managed care members with 
the exception of those clients members who live in a 
designated rural exception area. The open enrollment period 
shall be the 60 calendar days before the end of the enrollment 
period. Prior to the open enrollment period, DMAS will 
inform the member of the opportunity to remain with the 
current MCO or change to another MCO, without cause, for 
the following year. Enrollment selections will be effective on 
the first day of the next month following the open enrollment 
period. Members who do not make a choice during the open 
enrollment period will remain with their current MCO 
selection. 

J. Disenrollment for cause may be requested at any time. 
1. After the first 90 days of enrollment in an MCO, 
members must may request disenrollment from DMAS 
based on cause. The request may be made orally or in 
writing to DMAS and must shall cite the reason or reasons 
why the member wishes to disenroll. Cause for 
disenrollment shall include the following: 

a. A member's desire to seek services from a federally 
qualified health center that is not under contract with the 
member's current MCO, and the member requests a 
change to another MCO that subcontracts with the 
desired federally qualified health center; 
b. Performance or nonperformance of service to the 
member by an MCO or one or more of its providers that 
is deemed by the department's external quality review 
organizations to be below the generally accepted 
community practice of health care. This may include 
poor quality care; 
c. Lack of access to a PCP or necessary specialty services 
covered under the State Plan or lack of access to 
providers experienced in dealing with the member's 
health care needs; 
d. A member has a combination of complex medical 
factors that, in the sole discretion of DMAS, would be 
better served under another contracted MCO; 
e. The member moves out of the MCO's service area; 
f. The MCO does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service the member seeks; 
g. The member needs related services to be performed at 
the same time; not all related services are available 
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within the network, and the member's primary care 
provider or another provider determines that receiving 
the services separately would subject the member to 
unnecessary risk; or 
h. Other reasons as determined by DMAS through 
written policy directives. 

2. DMAS shall determine whether cause exists for 
disenrollment. Written responses shall be provided within a 
timeframe set by department policy; however, the effective 
date of an approved disenrollment shall be no later than the 
first day of the second month following the month in which 
the member files the request, in compliance with 42 CFR 
438.56. 
3. Cause for disenrollment shall be deemed to exist and the 
disenrollment shall be granted if DMAS fails to take final 
action on a valid request prior to the first day of the second 
month after the request. 
4. The DMAS determination concerning cause for 
disenrollment may be appealed by the member in 
accordance with the department's client appeals process at 
12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-110-380 12VAC30-
110-370. 
5. The current MCO shall provide, within two working 
days of a request from DMAS, information necessary to 
determine cause. 
6. Members enrolled with a MCO who subsequently meet 
one or more of the exclusions in subsection B of this 
section during MCO enrollment shall be excluded as 
appropriate by DMAS, with the exception of those who 
subsequently become individuals participating in the 
IFDDS, ID, [ EDCD ], Day Support, or Alzheimer's federal 
waiver programs for home-based and community-based 
Medicaid coverage. These members shall receive acute and 
primary medical services via the MCO and shall receive 
waiver services and related transportation to waiver 
services via the fee-for-service program. 

12VAC30-120-380. Medallion II MCO responsibilities. 
A. The MCO shall provide, at a minimum, all medically 

necessary covered services provided under the State Plan for 
Medical Assistance and further defined by written DMAS 
regulations, policies and instructions, except as otherwise 
modified or excluded in this part. 

1. Nonemergency services provided by hospital emergency 
departments shall be covered by MCOs in accordance with 
rates negotiated between the MCOs and the hospital 
emergency departments. 
2. Services that shall be provided outside the MCO 
network shall include, but are not limited to, those services 
identified and defined by the contract between DMAS and 
the MCO. Services reimbursed by DMAS include, but 
shall not be limited to, dental and orthodontic services for 
children up to age 21; for all others, dental services (as 
described in 12VAC30-50-190), school health services (as 

defined in 12VAC30-120-360), community mental health 
services (rehabilitative, targeted case management and the 
following substance abuse treatment services: emergency 
services (crisis); intensive outpatient services; day 
treatment services; substance abuse case management 
services; and opioid treatment services), as defined in 
12VAC30-50-228 and 12VAC30-50-491, EPSDT Early 
Intervention services provided pursuant to Part C of the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) of 
2004 (as defined in 12VAC30-50-131 and 12VAC30-50-
415), and long-term care services provided under the 
§ 1915(c) home-based and community-based waivers 
including related transportation to such authorized waiver 
services. 
3. The MCOs shall pay for emergency services and family 
planning services and supplies whether they such services 
are provided inside or outside the MCO network. 

B. EPSDT services shall be covered by the MCO and 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. The 
MCO shall have the authority to determine the provider of 
service for EPSDT screenings. 

C. The MCOs shall report data to DMAS under the contract 
requirements, which may include data reports, report cards 
for clients members, and ad hoc quality studies performed by 
the MCO or third parties. 

D. Documentation requirements. 
1. The MCO shall maintain records as required by federal 
and state law and regulation and by DMAS policy. The 
MCO shall furnish such required information to DMAS, 
the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 
representatives, or the State Medicaid Fraud Control Unit 
on request and in the form requested. 
2. Each MCO shall have written policies regarding enrollee 
member rights and shall comply with any applicable 
federal and state laws that pertain to enrollee member 
rights and shall ensure that its staff and affiliated providers 
take those rights into account when furnishing services to 
enrollees members in accordance with 42 CFR 438.100. 

E. The MCO shall ensure that the health care provided to its 
clients members meets all applicable federal and state 
mandates, community standards for quality, and standards 
developed pursuant to the DMAS managed care quality 
program. 

F. The MCOs shall promptly provide or arrange for the 
provision of all required services as specified in the contract 
between the state Commonwealth and the contractor MCO. 
Medical evaluations shall be available within 48 hours for 
urgent care and within 30 calendar days for routine care. On-
call clinicians shall be available 24 hours per day, seven days 
per week. 

G. The MCOs must shall meet standards specified by 
DMAS for sufficiency of provider networks as specified in 
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the contract between the state Commonwealth and the 
contractor MCO. 

H. Each MCO and its subcontractors shall have in place, and 
follow, written policies and procedures for processing 
requests for initial and continuing authorizations of service. 
Each MCO and its subcontractors shall ensure that any 
decision to deny a service authorization request or to 
authorize a service in an amount, duration, or scope that is 
less than requested, be made by a health care professional 
who has appropriate clinical expertise in treating the 
enrollee's member's condition or disease. Each MCO and its 
subcontractors shall have in effect mechanisms to ensure 
consistent application of review criteria for authorization 
decisions and shall consult with the requesting provider when 
appropriate. 

I. In accordance with 42 CFR 447.50 through 42 CFR 
447.60, MCOs shall not impose any cost sharing obligations 
on enrollees members except as set forth in 12VAC30-20-150 
and 12VAC30-20-160. 

J. An MCO may not prohibit, or otherwise restrict, a health 
care professional acting within the lawful scope of practice, 
from advising or advocating on behalf of an enrollee a 
member who is his patient in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 

K. An MCO that would otherwise be required to reimburse 
for or provide coverage of a counseling or referral service is 
not required to do so if the MCO objects to the service on 
moral or religious grounds and furnishes information about 
the service it does not cover in accordance with 42 CFR 
438.102. 
12VAC30-120-390. Payment rate for Medallion II MCOs.  

The payment rate to MCOs that participate in the mandatory 
managed care program shall be set by negotiated contracts 
and in accordance with 42 CFR 438.6 and other pertinent 
federal regulations.  
12VAC30-120-395. Payment rate for preauthorized or 
emergency care provided by out-of-network providers.  

The MCOs shall pay for preauthorized or emergency 
services when provided outside the MCO network. 
Preauthorized or emergency services provided to a Medallion 
II client managed care member by a provider or facility not 
participating in the MCO's network will be reimbursed 
according to the current Medicaid fee schedule. This 
reimbursement shall be considered payment in full to the 
provider or facility of emergency services.  
12VAC30-120-400. Quality control and utilization review.  

A. DMAS shall rigorously monitor the quality of care 
provided by the MCOs. DMAS may contract with one or 
more external quality review organizations to perform 
focused studies on the quality of care provided by the MCOs. 
The external organizations may utilize data or other tools to 
ensure contract compliance and quality improvement 

activities. Specifically, DMAS shall monitor to determine if 
the MCO:  

1. Fails substantially to provide the medically necessary 
items and services required under law or under the contract 
to be provided to an enrolled recipient and the failure has 
adversely affected (or has substantial likelihood of 
adversely affecting) the individual.  
2. Engages in any practice that discriminates against 
individuals on the basis of their health status or 
requirements for health care services, including expulsion 
or refusal to reenroll an individual, or any practice that 
could reasonably be expected to have the effect of denying 
or discouraging enrollment (except as permitted by 
§ 1903(m) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1396b(m))) by eligible individuals whose medical 
conditions or histories indicate a need for substantial future 
medical services.  
3. Misrepresents or falsifies information that it furnishes, 
under § 1903(m) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1396b(m)) to CMS, DMAS, an individual, or any other 
entity.  
4. Fails to comply with the requirements of 42 CFR 
417.479(d) through (g) relating to physician incentive 
plans, or fails to submit to DMAS its physician incentive 
plans as required or requested in 42 CFR 434.70.  
5. Imposes on enrollees members premiums or charges that 
are in excess of the premiums or charges permitted under 
the Medicaid program.  

B. DMAS shall ensure that data on performance and patient 
results are collected.  

C. DMAS shall ensure that quality outcomes information is 
provided to MCOs. DMAS shall ensure that changes which 
are determined to be needed as a result of quality control or 
utilization review are made.  
12VAC30-120-410. Sanctions.  

A. If DMAS determines that an MCO is not in compliance 
with applicable state or federal laws, regulations (including 
but not limited to the requirements of or pursuant to 
12VAC30-120-380 E, or 42 CFR 438, Subpart I), or their 
Medallion II the MCO contract, DMAS may impose 
sanctions on the MCO. The sanctions may include, but are 
not limited to:  

1. Limiting enrollments in the MCO by freezing voluntary 
recipient member enrollments;  
2. Freezing DMAS assignment of recipients members to 
the MCO;  
3. Limiting MCO enrollment to specific areas;  
4. Denying, withholding, or retracting payments to the 
MCO;  
5. Terminating the MCO's Medallion II contract;  
6. Intermediate sanctions including, but not limited to, the 
maximum civil money penalties specified in 42 CFR Part 
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438, Subpart I, for the violations set forth therein, or in 
accordance therewith; and  
7. Civil monetary penalties as specified in 42 CFR 
438.704.  

B. In the case of an MCO that has repeatedly failed to meet 
the requirements of §§ 1903(m) and 1932 of the Social 
Security Act, DMAS shall, regardless of what other sanctions 
are imposed, impose the following sanctions:  

1. Appoint a temporary manager to:  
a. Oversee the operation of the Medicaid managed care 
organization upon a finding by DMAS that there is 
continued egregious behavior by the organization or 
there is a substantial risk to the health of enrollees 
members; or  
b. Assure the health of the organization's enrollees 
members if there is a need for temporary management 
while (i) there is an orderly termination or reorganization 
of the organization or (ii) improvements are made to 
remedy the violations found under subsection A of this 
section. Temporary management under this subdivision 
may not be terminated until DMAS has determined that 
the MCO has the capability to ensure that the violations 
shall not recur.  

2. Permit individuals members who are enrolled with the 
MCO to disenroll without cause. If this sanction is 
imposed, DMAS shall be responsible for notifying such 
individuals members of the right to disenroll.  

C. Prior to terminating a contract as permitted under 
subdivision A 5 of this section, DMAS shall provide the 
MCO with a hearing. DMAS may shall not provide an MCO 
with a pretermination hearing before the appointment of a 
temporary manager under subdivision B 1 of this section.  

D. Prior to imposing any sanction other than termination of 
the MCO's contract, DMAS shall provide the MCO with 
notice, develop procedures with which the MCO must 
comply to eliminate specific sanctions, and provide such 
other due process protections as the Commonwealth may 
provide.  

E. In accordance with the terms of the contract, MCOs shall 
have the right to appeal any adverse action taken by DMAS. 
For appeal procedures not addressed by the contract, the 
MCO shall proceed in accordance with the appeals provisions 
of the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of 
the Code of Virginia). Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4364 and 2.2-4365 
of the Code of Virginia, DMAS shall establish an 
administrative appeals procedure through which the MCO 
may elect to appeal decisions on disputes arising during the 
performance of its contract. Pursuant to § 2.2-4365 of the 
Code of Virginia, such appeal shall be heard by a hearing 
officer; however, in no event shall the hearing officer be an 
employee of DMAS. In conducting the administrative appeal, 
the hearing officer shall follow the hearing procedure used in 
§ 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia.  

F. When DMAS determines that an MCO committed one of 
the violations specified in 12VAC30-120-400 A, DMAS shall 
implement the provisions of 42 CFR 434.67.  

1. Any sanction imposed pursuant to this subsection shall 
be binding upon the MCO.  
2. The MCO shall have the appeals rights for any sanction 
imposed pursuant to this subsection as specified in 42 CFR 
434.67.  

12VAC30-120-420. Client Member grievances and 
appeals.  

A. The MCOs shall, whenever an enrolled client's a 
member's request for covered services is reduced, denied or 
terminated, or payment for services is denied, provide a 
written notice in accordance with the notice provisions 
specified in 42 CFR 438.404 and 42 CFR 438.210(c), as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO, and 
any other statutory or regulatory requirements.  

B. MCOs shall, at the initiation of either new client member 
enrollment or new provider/subcontractor contracts, or at the 
request of the enrollee member, provide to every enrollee 
member the information described in 42 CFR 438.10(g) 
concerning grievance/appeal rights and procedures.  

C. Disputes between the MCO and the client member 
concerning any aspect of service delivery, including medical 
necessity and specialist referral, shall be resolved through a 
verbal or written grievance/appeals process operated by the 
MCO or through the DMAS appeals process. A provider who 
has the enrollee's member's written consent may act on behalf 
of an enrollee a member in the MCO grievance/appeals or the 
DMAS appeals process.  

1. The enrollee member, provider, or representative acting 
on behalf of the enrollee member with the enrollee's 
member's written consent may file an oral or written 
grievance or appeal with the MCO. The MCO must accept 
grievances or appeals submitted within 30 days from the 
date of the notice of adverse action. Oral requests for 
appeals must be followed up in writing within 10 business 
days by the enrollee member, provider, or the 
representative acting on behalf of the enrollee member 
with the enrollee's member's consent, unless the request is 
for an expedited appeal. The enrollee member may also file 
a written request for a standard or expedited appeal with 
the DMAS Appeals Division within 30 days of the client's 
member's receipt of the notice of adverse action, in 
accordance with 42 CFR 431, Subpart E,; 42 CFR Part 
438, Subpart F,; and 12VAC30-110 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-370.  
2. As specified in 12VAC30-110-100, pending the 
resolution of a grievance or appeal filed by a client 
member or his representative (including a provider acting 
on behalf of the client) member), coverage shall not be 
terminated or reduced for the client member for any reason 
which is the subject of the grievance or appeal.  
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3. The MCO shall ensure that the individuals employees or 
agents who make decisions on MCO grievances and 
appeals were not involved in any previous level of review 
or decision making, and where the reason for the grievance 
or appeal involves clinical issues, relates to a denial or a 
request for an expedited appeal, or where the appeal is 
based on a lack of medical necessity, shall ensure that the 
decision makers are health care professionals with the 
appropriate clinical expertise in treating the enrollee's 
member's condition or disease.  

D. The MCO shall develop written materials describing the 
grievance/appeals system and its procedures and operation.  

E. The MCO shall maintain a recordkeeping and tracking 
system for complaints, grievances, and appeals that includes a 
copy of the original complaint, grievance, or appeal; the 
decision; and the nature of the decision. This system shall 
distinguish Medicaid from commercial enrollees members, if 
the MCO does not have a separate system for Medicaid 
enrollees members.  

F. At the time of enrollment and at the time of any adverse 
actions, the MCO shall notify the client member, in writing, 
that:  

1. Medical necessity, specialist referral or other service 
delivery issues may be resolved through a system of 
grievances and appeals, within the MCO or through the 
DMAS client appeals process;  
2. Clients Members have the right to appeal directly to 
DMAS; and  
3. The MCO shall promptly provide grievance or appeal 
forms, reasonable assistance and written procedures to 
clients members who wish to register written grievances or 
appeals.  

G. The MCO shall issue grievance/appeal decisions as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. Oral 
grievance decisions are not required to be in writing.  

H. The MCO shall issue standard appeal decisions within 30 
days from the date of initial receipt of the appeal in 
accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as defined by the 
contract between DMAS and the MCO. The appeal decision 
shall be in writing and shall include, but shall not be limited 
to, the following:  

1. The decision reached, the results and the date of the 
decision reached by the MCO;  
2. The reasons for the decision;  
3. The policies or procedures that provide the basis for the 
decision;  
4. A clear explanation of further appeal rights and a 
timeframe for filing an appeal; and  
5. For appeals that involve the termination, suspension, or 
reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment, 
the right to continue to receive benefits in accordance with 

42 CFR 438.420 pending a hearing, and how to request 
continuation of benefits.  

I. An expedited appeal decision shall be issued as 
expeditiously as the enrollee's member's condition requires 
and within three business days in cases of medical 
emergencies in which delay could result in death or serious 
injury to a client member. Extensions to these timeframes 
shall be allowed in accordance with 42 CFR 438.408 and as 
defined by the contract between DMAS and the MCO. 
Written confirmation of the decision shall promptly follow 
the verbal notice of the expedited decision.  

J. Any appeal decision issued by the MCO may be appealed 
by the client member to DMAS in accordance with the 
department's Client Appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 
through 12VAC30-110-380 12VAC30-110-370. DMAS shall 
conduct an evidentiary hearing in accordance with the Client 
Appeals regulations at 12VAC30-110-10 through 12VAC30-
110-380 12VAC30-110-370 and shall not base any appealed 
decision on the record established by any appeal decision of 
the MCO. The MCO shall comply with the DMAS appeal 
decision. The DMAS decision in these matters shall be final 
and shall not be subject to appeal by the MCO.  

K. The MCO shall provide information necessary for any 
DMAS appeal within timeframes established by DMAS.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4135; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:58 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 
Commission is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 
2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 
of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 
Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 
of record. 
Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-395. Rules Governing 
Settlement Agents (amending 14VAC5-395-10, 14VAC5-
395-20, 14VAC5-395-30 through 14VAC5-395-80; adding 
14VAC5-395-75, 14VAC5-395-100; repealing 14VAC5-
395-25).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 55-525.28 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Chuck F. Myers, Supervisor RESA 
Investigations Unit, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9619, FAX (804) 371-5661, or email 
chuck.myers@scc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 
The amendments (i) define various terms, including 
"'agent' or 'insurance agent,'" "business entity," 
"designated licensed producer," "employee," "escrow, 
closing, or settlement services," and "settlement agent"; 
(ii) add reporting, registration, and escheatment 
requirements for settlement agents; (iii) address the use of 
title insurance agents who are independent contractors; 
and (iv) make various other technical and clarifying 
amendments. Changes in the regulations from the initial 
proposal include exempting title insurance companies from 
many registration, insurance and bonding, audit, and 
reporting requirements; narrowing the reporting 
requirements from allegations to final dispositions; and 
clarifying that settlement agents that utilize a title 
insurance agent who is an independent contractor will be 
held liable for any violations of Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 
et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia or the Rules 
Governing Settlement Agents (14VAC5-395) committed by 
the independent contractor. 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 7, 2016  
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2015-00170 
Ex Parte: In re: Rules Governing Settlement Agents 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 
On November 9, 2015, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a 
proposal by the Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to amend the 
Commission's regulations governing settlement agents, which 
are set forth in Chapter 395 of Title 14 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code, 14 VAC 5-395-10 et seq.1  The Order 
to Take Notice and proposed regulations were published in 
the Virginia Register of Regulations on November 30, 2015, 
posted on the Commission's website, and sent to all licensed 
title insurance agents, agencies, and companies who are 
registered settlement agents, and other interested 
parties.  Registrants and other interested parties were afforded 
the opportunity to file written comments or request a hearing 
on or before February 16, 2016. 

Comments addressing nearly all aspects of the proposed 
regulations were filed by Virginia's largest title insurance 
trade association, the Virginia Land Title Association, as well 
as three title insurance companies, ten title insurance agencies 
or agents, four attorneys, and one consultant. Comments were 
also submitted by the Deputy Secretary of the 
Commonwealth and 176 Notaries Public. 

The Bureau's proposed amendments added several 
definitions to the regulations, as well as numerous consumer 
protection provisions relating to, among other things, 
insurance and bonding requirements, escheatment of funds, 
audits, reporting requirements, and the use of independent 
contractors. The addition of the definition of "settlement 

agent" prompted the Deputy Secretary of the Commonwealth 
and Notaries Public to file comments expressing concerns 
that the proposed regulations would require a Notary Public 
who conducts settlement conferences without handling funds 
to become licensed and registered. General concerns were 
raised, as well as requests for clarification, with respect to 
other of the proposed amendments. The Commission did not 
receive any requests for a hearing. 

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 
them in its Statements of Position, which the Bureau filed 
with the Clerk of the Commission on April 29, 2016. The 
Bureau made changes to several of the definitions and 
consumer protection provisions in response to the comments. 
The Bureau also clarified that a Notary Public acting on 
behalf of a settlement agent may obtain signatures on closing 
documents without being licensed or registered provided that 
the Notary Public does not receive or handle money, and/or 
does not sell, solicit, or negotiate a contract of title insurance. 
The Bureau recommended that the Commission adopt the 
proposed regulations as modified. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the 
proposed regulations, the comments filed, the Bureau's 
Statements of Position, the record herein, and applicable law, 
concludes that the proposed regulations should be modified to 
incorporate certain suggestions that were made by 
commenters and the Bureau. The Commission further 
concludes that the proposed regulations, as modified, should 
be adopted with an effective date of July 1, 2016. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and 

attached hereto, are adopted effective July 1, 2016. 
(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be posted 

on the Commission's website at: 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 
attached regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 
for publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall 
be placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of the 
attached regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Commission's Office of General Counsel 
and the Commissioner of Insurance, who shall forthwith send 
by e-mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, together with a 
copy of the attached regulations, to all licensed and registered 
title insurance agents, title insurance agencies and title 
insurance companies providing escrow, closing or settlement 
services involving real property located in Virginia, and such 
other interested parties as she may designate. 
___________________________________ 
1 The amendments to the regulations were proposed in response to the 
legislative changes to §§ 38.2-1820, 55-525.16, 55-525.24, 55-525.25, and 
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55-525.26 of the Code of Virginia that will be effective July 1, 2016; to 
clarify the scope of the regulations; and to enhance consumer protections. 

14VAC5-395-10. Purpose Applicability.  
A. The purpose of this This chapter is to implement 

implements Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of 
the Code of Virginia B. This chapter and applies to all title 
insurance agents, title insurance agencies, and title insurance 
companies providing escrow, closing, or settlement services 
involving the purchase of or lending on the security of any 
real estate containing not more than four residential dwelling 
units property in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

C. The Bureau of Insurance shall issue the necessary forms 
to carry out the provisions of Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et 
seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  
14VAC5-395-20. Definitions.  

Unless otherwise defined herein, all The following words 
and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meaning as 
set forth in Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of 
the Code of Virginia following meanings unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Agent" or "insurance agent" shall have the same meaning 
as set forth in § 38.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia means an 
individual or business entity that sells, solicits, or negotiates 
contracts of [ title ] insurance [ or annuity ] in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Bureau" means the State Corporation Commission Bureau 
of Insurance.  

"Business entity" means a partnership, limited partnership, 
limited liability company, corporation, or other legal entity 
other than a sole proprietorship [ , professional corporation, or 
professional limited liability company ]. 

[ "Chapter 27.3" means Chapter 27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) 
of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Designated licensed producer" means an individual who (i) 
possesses a valid [ Virginia title ] license to sell, solicit, or 
negotiate contracts of [ title ] insurance [ or annuity ] in the 
Commonwealth; (ii) is appointed; (iii) is an [ officer, director, 
or ] employee of the business entity; and (iv) is responsible 
for the business [ entity entity's ] compliance with the 
insurance laws, rules, and regulations of this Commonwealth. 

"Employee" means an individual (i) whose manner and 
means of performance of work are subject to the right of 
control of, or are controlled by, a [ business entity person ] 
and (ii) whose compensation for federal income tax purposes 
is reported, or required to be reported, on a W-2 form issued 
by the controlling [ business entity person ]. 

"Escrow, closing, or settlement services" means the 
administrative and clerical services required to carry out the 
terms of contracts affecting real estate. These services include 
(i) placing orders for title insurance; (ii) receiving and issuing 
receipts for money received from the parties; (iii) ordering 
loan checks and payoffs; (iv) ordering surveys and 
inspections; (v) preparing settlement statements or Closing 

Disclosure forms; (vi) determining that all closing documents 
conform to the parties' contract requirements; (vii) setting the 
closing appointment; (viii) following up with the parties to 
ensure that the transaction progresses to closing; (ix) 
ascertaining that the lenders' instructions have been satisfied; 
(x) conducting a closing conference at which the documents 
are executed; (xi) receiving and disbursing funds; (xii) 
completing form documents and instruments selected by and 
in accordance with instructions of the parties to the 
transaction; (xiii) handling or arranging for the recording of 
documents; (xiv) sending recorded documents to the lender; 
(xv) sending the recorded deed and the title policy to the 
buyer; and (xvi) reporting federal income tax information for 
the real estate sale to the Internal Revenue Service. 

"Lay real estate settlement agent" means a person who (i) is 
not licensed as an attorney under Chapter 39 (§ 54.1-3900 et 
seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) is not a party 
to the real estate transaction, (iii) provides escrow, closing or 
settlement services in connection with a transaction related to 
any real estate in this Commonwealth, and (iv) is listed as the 
settlement agent on the settlement statement or Closing 
Disclosure for such the transaction.  

"Settlement agent" shall have the same meaning as set forth 
in § 55-525.16 of the Code of Virginia means [ any title 
insurance agent, title insurance agency, title insurance 
company, or a ] person, other than a party to the real estate 
transaction, who provides escrow, closing, or settlement 
services in connection with a transaction related to real estate 
in the Commonwealth and who is listed as the settlement 
agent on the settlement statement or Closing Disclosure for 
the transaction. Any person, other than a party to the 
transaction, who conducts the settlement conference and 
receives or handles money shall be deemed a "settlement 
agent" subject to the applicable requirements of Chapter 27.3 
[ (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia ] and this 
chapter.  

"Title insurance agency" means a business entity licensed in 
this Commonwealth as a title insurance agent.  

"Title insurance agent" shall have the same meaning as set 
forth in § 38.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Title insurance agency" or "title insurance agent" means 
any individual or business entity licensed in the 
Commonwealth, pursuant to Chapter 18 (§ 38.2-1800 et seq.) 
of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, as a title insurance agent 
and appointed by a title insurance company licensed in the 
Commonwealth who shall perform all of the following 
services (for which liability arises) relevant to the issuance of 
title insurance policies, subject to the underwriting directives 
and guidelines of the agent's title insurance company. These 
services shall include (i) the evaluation of the title search to 
determine the insurability of the title; (ii) a determination of 
whether or not underwriting objections have been cleared; 
(iii) the actual issuance of a title commitment or binder and 
endorsements; and (iv) the actual issuance of the policy or 
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policies and endorsements on behalf of the title insurance 
company. A title insurance agent holding funds in escrow 
shall promptly deposit the funds in a trust account in a 
financial institution authorized to do business in this 
Commonwealth. This trust account shall be separate from all 
other accounts held by the agent. 

"Title insurance company" means any company licensed to 
transact, or transacting, title insurance in this Commonwealth.  
14VAC5-395-25. Lay real estate settlement agents. 
(Repealed.) 

Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter to the 
contrary, and pursuant to § 55-525.18 of the Code of 
Virginia, a lay real estate settlement agent shall be required to 
comply with the provisions of this chapter, except as 
specifically set forth in 14VAC5-395-60.  
14VAC5-395-30. Registration.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 
title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent shall 
be required to be registered register with the bureau in 
accordance with the provisions of § 55-525.30 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. At the time of application for registration, a settlement 
agent [ other than a title insurance company ] shall provide to 
the bureau (i) its certificate of authorization or charter of a 
domestic limited liability company or corporation, or 
certificate of registration or certificate of authority of a 
foreign limited liability company or corporation, as 
applicable; (ii) an original surety bond; and (iii) [ a the name 
of the ] designated licensed producer.  

C. Within 30 days of registration a settlement agent shall 
furnish to the bureau: 

1. Legal name; 
2. Any fictitious [ or assumed ] names; 
3. Principal place of business address; 
4. Addresses of all other business locations; 
5. Telephone numbers; 
6. Escrow account numbers and financial institution 
addresses; 
7. Employee and independent contractor list; 
8. Website or websites;  
9. Affiliated entities; and 
10. Such other information as the bureau may require.  

14VAC5-395-40. Insurance and bonding requirements. 
A. At the time of registration, every title insurance agent and 

title insurance agency acting as a settlement agent [ other than 
a title insurance company ] shall file a certification on a form 
prescribed by the bureau, that the settlement agent has, and 
thereafter shall keep in force for as long as they are acting as 
a settlement agent, the following:  

1. An errors and omissions insurance policy providing 
limits of at least $250,000 per occurrence or per claim and 
issued by an insurer authorized to do business in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. A deductible is permitted but 
shall not hinder or delay the payment of a claim. 
2. A blanket fidelity bond or employee dishonesty 
insurance policy covering persons employed by the 
settlement agent providing limits of at least $100,000 per 
occurrence or per claim and issued by an insurer 
authorized to do business in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. Settlement agents that have no employees except 
the owners, partners, shareholders, or members may 
request apply for a waiver of this requirement on their 
certification form. 

B. Every title insurance agent and title insurance agency that 
acts as a settlement agent [ in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
other than a title insurance company ] shall file an original 
surety bond in an amount not less than $200,000 on a form 
prescribed by the bureau at the time of application for 
registration and, if such bond is canceled, at the time a 
replacement bond is issued. 
14VAC5-395-50. Audits.  

A. Every title insurance agent and title insurance agency that 
acts as a settlement agent [ in the Commonwealth of Virginia 
other than a title insurance company ] shall, at its expense, 
have an audit of its escrow accounts conducted by an 
independent certified public accountant at least once each 
consecutive 12-month period. The audit month shall be 
prescribed by the bureau. Such audit shall conform with the 
standards established by the American Institute of Certified 
Public Accountants, Statement on Auditing AICPA 
Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of June 1, 2015, Special 
Reports Considerations - Audits of Single Financial 
Statements and Specific Elements, Accounts, or Items of a 
Financial Statement, and shall be filed by the settlement agent 
with the bureau no later than 60 days after the date on which 
the audit is completed. A title insurance company shall be 
subject to the requirements of this subsection unless such 
company's financial statements are audited annually by an 
independent certified public accountant.  

B. Every title insurance agent or title insurance agency 
acting as a settlement agent [ other than a title insurance 
company ] shall file a copy of its audit report with each title 
insurance company it represents.  

C. In lieu of an audit conducted by a certified public 
accountant, a title insurance agent or title insurance agency 
acting as a settlement agent [ other than a title insurance 
company ] shall allow each title insurance company for which 
it has an appointment to conduct an analysis of its escrow 
accounts at least once each consecutive 12-month period. The 
form of such the analysis and the analysis month shall be 
prescribed by the bureau. The title insurance company shall 
submit a copy of its analysis to the bureau no later than 60 
days after the date on which the analysis is completed. With 
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the consent of the title insurance agent or agency, a title 
insurance company may share the results of its analysis with 
other title insurance companies that will accept the same in 
lieu of conducting a separate analysis.  

D. Every settlement agent shall [ (i) ] make a good faith 
effort to disburse funds in its possession and return the funds 
to the rightful owner [ ; (ii), and ] escheat [ unclaimed funds 
yearly annually ] to the Virginia Department of the Treasury 
[ ; and (iii) comply with The Uniform Disposition of 
Unclaimed Property Act (§ 55-210.1 et seq.) of Title 55 of the 
Code of Virginia those funds for which the owner is 
unlocatable ]. 

E. A settlement agent [ other than a title insurance 
company ] shall complete and file a close-out audit with the 
bureau in conformance with this chapter and the bureau's 
instructions within 180 days from the date the settlement 
agent ceases conducting settlements. 
14VAC5-395-60. Separate fiduciary trust account.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 
title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia shall maintain a separate 
fiduciary trust account for the purpose of handling funds 
received in connection with escrow, closing, or settlement 
services involving real estate located only in this 
Commonwealth. No other funds may be included in this 
escrow account except funds deposited to guarantee the 
adequacy of the account. Such trust account shall be with a 
financial institution authorized to do business in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia.  

B. If the agent, agency, or company acting as a lay real 
estate settlement agent provides escrow, closing, or settlement 
services in transactions involving multiple parcels or tracts of 
real estate and any one of those tracts or parcels is located 
wholly or partially outside of this Commonwealth, that the 
settlement agent, agency, or company shall maintain another 
separate fiduciary trust account for the purpose of handling 
funds received in connection with such transactions.  

C. A settlement agent may utilize a general escrow account 
for the purpose of receiving funds in connection with an 
escrow, closing, or settlement involving real estate located in 
the Commonwealth, provided that the settlement agent (i) 
handles the funds in a fiduciary capacity and (ii) deposits the 
funds in a separate fiduciary trust account in compliance with 
subsection A of this section no later than the close of the 
second business day after receipt of the funds. 
14VAC5-395-70. Access to records Reporting 
requirements.  

A. Every title insurance agent, title insurance agency and 
title insurance company that acts as a settlement agent in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia shall make all escrow, closing, or 
settlement records available promptly upon request for 
examination by the bureau without notice during normal 
business hours.  

B. A settlement agent shall maintain documentation that 
supports all entries on the settlement statement or Closing 
Disclosure.  

C. A settlement agent shall promptly respond to a bureau 
request for books, records, documentation, or other 
information in connection with the bureau's investigation, 
enforcement, or examination of the settlement agent's 
compliance with applicable laws and regulations. If no time 
period is specified by the bureau, a written response as well 
as any requested books, records, documentation, or 
information shall be delivered by the settlement agent to the 
bureau not later than 30 days from the date of such request.  

D. Within 30 days following the occurrence of any of the 
following events, a settlement agent [ other than a title 
insurance company ] shall report to the bureau if:  

1. Any bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership 
proceedings are filed by or against the settlement agent.  
2. Any [ local, state, or federal ] governmental authority 
[ institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 
administrative, enters a final disposition in a ] regulatory, 
[ administrative, ] or enforcement [ proceedings action ] 
against the settlement agent. 
3. Any [ local, state, or federal ] governmental authority 
[ (i) ] revokes or suspends the settlement agent's 
registration, license, or other license for a similar business 
[ ; (ii) takes formal administrative, regulatory, or 
enforcement action against the settlement agent relating to 
its business; or (iii) takes any other action against the 
settlement agent relating to its business where the total 
amount of restitution or other payment from the settlement 
agent exceeds $2,500 ].  
4. Based on allegations by any [ local, state, or federal ] 
governmental authority that the settlement agent violated 
any law or regulation applicable to the conduct of its 
licensed business, the settlement agent enters into, or 
otherwise agrees to the entry of, a settlement or consent 
order, decree, or agreement with or by such governmental 
authority. 
5. The settlement agent surrenders its license in another 
state [ in lieu of threatened or pending license revocation; 
license suspension; or other administrative, regulatory, or 
enforcement action ]. 
6. The settlement agent is denied a license in another state. 
7. The settlement agent or any of its members, partners, 
directors, officers, principals, employees, or independent 
contractors is [ indicted or ] convicted of a felony. 
8. Any funds held by the settlement agent are (i) seized by 
or on behalf of any court or governmental instrumentality 
or (ii) forfeited to or on behalf of any court or 
governmental instrumentality. [ The term "forfeited" shall 
not include the escheatment of funds in accordance with 
The Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act 
(§ 55-210.1 et seq. of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia) or 
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the interpleading of funds to a court of competent 
jurisdiction. ]  

E. A settlement agent shall immediately notify the bureau 
following the loss of (i) a designated licensed producer, (ii) 
required insurance coverage, or (iii) required bond coverage. 

F. A settlement agent or former settlement agent [ other than 
a title insurance company ] shall provide the following 
information to the bureau within 10 days after such person's 
[ title insurance ] license is surrendered, terminated, 
suspended, or revoked or has lapsed by operation of law, or 
the licensed and registered business is otherwise closed: (i) 
the names, addresses, telephone numbers, fax numbers, and 
email addresses of a designated contact person; (ii) the 
location of the settlement agent's or former settlement agent's 
records; and (iii) any additional information that the bureau 
may reasonably require. A settlement agent or former 
settlement agent [ other than a title insurance company ] shall 
maintain current information with the bureau until all escrow 
funds are disbursed and all title policies are issued. 

G. Sixty days prior to ceasing business, a settlement agent 
shall provide notice to the bureau of its intent to cease 
conducting settlements and the anticipated date of business 
termination.  

H. The reports required by this section shall be in the format 
and contain such additional information as the bureau may 
reasonably require. The bureau may also require additional 
reports that it deems necessary. 
14VAC5-395-75. Operating requirements. 

A settlement agent shall comply with the following 
requirements:  

1. A settlement agent shall continuously maintain the 
requirements and standards for licensure and registration. 
2. A settlement agent shall reconcile its escrow accounts 
monthly. 
3. A settlement agent shall not provide any information to 
the bureau or a consumer that is false, misleading, or 
deceptive. 
4. A settlement agent shall not charge duplicative or 
[ inflated padded ] fees for escrow, closing, or settlement 
services.  
5. A settlement agent shall not engage in any activity that 
directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions 
of Chapter 27.3 [ (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of the Code of 
Virginia ] or this chapter. 
6. Any person, other than a party to the transaction, who 
conducts the settlement conference and receives or handles 
money, including possessing wire transfer authority, shall 
be [ properly licensed and shall be ] deemed a "settlement 
agent" subject to the applicable requirements of Chapter 
27.3 and this chapter.  

7. A designated licensed producer shall be appointed by the 
same title insurance company as its employer settlement 
agent. 
8. A settlement agent [ may shall ] not use or accept the 
services of a title insurance agent [ who is an ] independent 
contractor unless the title insurance agent [ (i) holds a title 
insurance license, (ii) is appointed, (iii) is registered, and 
(iv) maintains the insurance or bond coverages is licensed 
and appointed. A settlement agent that permits an 
independent contractor to conduct one or more settlement 
conferences on behalf of the settlement agent shall ensure 
that the independent contractor is properly insured and 
bonded as ] required by Chapter 27.3 and this chapter.  
9. A settlement agent that uses the services of a title 
insurance agent [ who is an ] independent contractor shall 
be [ (i) considered ] the legal principal of the [ title 
insurance agent ] independent contractor and [ (ii) shall 
be ] liable for [ all actions of the title insurance agent any 
violations of Chapter 27.3 or this chapter committed by 
the ] independent contractor, including unintentional 
conduct [ , that occurs during the period services are 
utilized, within the scope of engagement ].  
10. A former settlement agent shall remain subject to the 
provisions of Chapter 27.3 and this chapter in connection 
with all settlements that the settlement agent performed 
while licensed and registered, notwithstanding the 
occurrence of any of the following events: 

a. The settlement agent's license is surrendered, 
terminated, suspended, or revoked or has lapsed by 
operation of law; or 
b. The settlement agent ceases conducting settlements. 

11. If a settlement agent or former settlement agent 
disposes of records containing a consumer's personal 
financial information or copies of a consumer's 
identification documents, such records and copies shall be 
disposed of in a secure manner.  

14VAC5-395-80. Violations Enforcement.  
Any violation of Failure to comply with any provision of 

Chapter 27.3 [ (§ 55-525.16 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) ] 
or this chapter shall be punished as provided for in Chapter 
27.3 (§ 55-525.16 et seq.) of Title 55 of the Code of Virginia 
may result in penalties, license revocation or suspension, the 
entry of a cease and desist order, restitution, or other 
enforcement action.  
14VAC5-395-100. Commission authority. 

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 
exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 
shown. 
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
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a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (14VAC5-395) 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for a Title 
Agent (eff. 3/2012) 

Settlement Agent Official Registration Form for Licensed 
Title Insurance Company or Agency (eff. 3/2012) 

Title Settlement Agency/Agency Financial Responsibility 
Certification (undated, filed 11/2015) 

Waiver of Blanket Fidelity Bond or Employee Dishonesty 
Insurance Policy for Title Insurance Settlement Agents 
(undated, filed 11/2015) 

Bond for Title Insurance Settlement Agent (undated, filed 
11/2015) 

Standard Report of Escrow Accounts Maintained by Title 
Insurance Agents (eff. 10/2010) 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(14VAC5-395) 

Statement on Auditing Standards, Special Reports, July 1, 
1989, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.  

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 1, as of June 1, 
2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 
New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

AICPA Professional Standards, Volume 2, as of June 1, 
2015, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, 
New York, New York 10036-8775, http://www.aicpa.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4541; Filed June 7, 2016, 4:12 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-10; adding 18VAC30-
20-241).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 
telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 
Pursuant to Chapter 327 of the 2014 Acts of Assembly, the 
amendments provide a framework for safe practice of 
limited cerumen management by an audiologist including 
(i) a definition of "limited cerumen management," (ii) the 
education and specific training necessary to perform 
limited cerumen management on patients, (iii) the 
contraindications for performance by an audiologist of 
limited cerumen management on patients, and (iv) the 
conditions that require referral to a medical doctor. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC30-20-10. Definitions.  
A. The words and terms "audiologist," "board," "practice of 

audiology," "practice of speech-language pathology," 
"speech-language disorders," and "speech-language 
pathologist" when used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2600 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. The following words when used in this chapter shall have 
the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 
otherwise:  

"Contact hour" means 60 minutes of time spent in 
continuing learning activities.  

"Limited cerumen management" means the identification 
and removal of cerumen from the cartilaginous outer one-
third portion of the external auditory canal in accordance with 
minimum standards and procedures set forth in this chapter. 

"School speech-language pathologist" means a person 
licensed pursuant to § 54.1-2603 of the Code of Virginia to 
provide speech-language pathology services solely in public 
school divisions.  

"Supervision" means that the audiologist or speech-language 
pathologist is responsible for the entire service being rendered 
or activity being performed, is available for consultation, and 
is providing regular monitoring and documentation of clinical 
activities and competencies of the person being supervised.  

"Type 1" means continuing learning activities that must be 
offered by an accredited sponsor or organization as specified 
in 18VAC30-20-300.  

"Type 2" means continuing learning activities that may or 
may not be approved by an accredited sponsor or organization 
but shall be activities considered by the learner to be 
beneficial to practice or to continuing learning. In Type 2 
activities, licensees document their own participation on the 
Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form and 
are considered self-learning activities.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62fc8004541~1&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=62fc8004541~1&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60d22004541~2&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60d22004541~2&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df98d004541~3&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df98d004541~3&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eedae004541~4&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28da5004541~5&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28da5004541~5&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce52e004541~6&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce52e004541~6&typ=40&actno=004541&mime=application/pdf
http://www.aicpa.org/
http://www.aicpa.org/
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18VAC30-20-241. Limited cerumen management. 
A. In order for an audiologist to perform limited cerumen 

management, he shall: 
1. Be a graduate of a doctoral program in audiology that is 
accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation of 
the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or 
other accrediting body recognized by the board and that 
included didactic education and supervised clinical 
experience in cerumen management as specified in 
subsection B of this section; or 
2. Complete a course or workshop in cerumen management 
that provides training as specified in subsection B of this 
section and that is approved by the American Speech-
Language Hearing Association or the American Academy 
of Audiology. 

B. An audiologist shall maintain documentation evidencing 
satisfactory completion of training in cerumen management to 
include the following: 

1. Recognizing the presence of preexisting 
contraindications that necessitate referral to a physician;  
2. Recognizing patient distress and appropriate action to 
take if complications are encountered; 
3. Use of infection control precautions; 
4. Procedures for removal of cerumen, including cerumen 
loop, gentle water irrigation, suction, and the use of 
material for softening; 
5. Observation of each type of cerumen management 
procedure performed by a qualified audiologist or 
physician; and 
6. Successful performance, under direct supervision by an 
audiologist qualified to perform cerumen management or a 
physician, of each type of cerumen management 
procedure. 

C. An audiologist shall not perform cerumen management 
on a patient who has any of the following preexisting 
contraindications: 

1. A perforated tympanic membrane; 
2. Inflammation, tenderness, drainage, or open wounds or 
traces of blood in the external ear canal; 
3. History of ear surgery that results in distortion of the 
external ear canal; 
4. HIV infection or bleeding disorders; 
5. Actual or suspected foreign body in the ear, excluding 
hearing aid components that are located in the lateral one-
third portion of the ear canal; 
6. Stenosis or bony exostosis of the ear canal; or 
7. Cerumen impaction that totally occludes the 
visualization of the tympanic membrane. 

D. An audiologist performing cerumen management shall:  
1. Obtain informed [ written ] consent of the patient or 
legally responsible adult and [ maintain documentation of 
document ] such consent and the procedure performed in 
the patient record. 
2. Refer patients to a physician if they exhibit 
contraindications or experience any complication, such as 
dizziness, during the procedure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4115; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:57 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-240).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 
telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments establish provisions for the supervision of 
unlicensed assistants, including the (i) responsibility of the 
licensed speech-language pathologist for the training and 
assignment of duties of an assistant, (ii) qualifications of 
an assistant, (iii) duties that may be performed by an 
assistant, (iv) scope of practice of a speech-language 
pathologist that may not be delegated to an assistant, (v) 
level and limitation on supervision of assistants, and (vi) 
obligation of the licensee to provide the necessary level of 
supervision to ensure quality of care, including onsite 
observation of at least two client sessions for each 
assistant every 30 days and direct delivery of service to 
each client at least every 30 days. The amendments are 
made pursuant to Chapter 661 of the 2014 Acts of 
Assembly. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
18VAC30-20-240. Supervisory responsibilities; 
supervision of unlicensed assistants.  

A. Responsibility of a licensee. 
1. A licensed audiologist and speech-language pathologist 
shall provide documented supervision to who supervises 
unlicensed assistants shall document such supervision, 
shall be held fully responsible for their performance and 
activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those 
activities which that do not constitute the practice of 
audiology or speech-language pathology and which that 
are commensurate with their level of training.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2969 

2. A licensed speech-language pathologist who supervises 
unlicensed assistants shall document such supervision, 
shall be held fully responsible for their performance and 
activities, and shall ensure that they perform only those 
activities that do not constitute the practice of speech-
language pathology and that are commensurate with their 
level of training.  

a. A speech-language pathologist shall not supervise an 
assistant without the speech-language pathologist's 
knowledge and consent by the assistant and the licensee 
documented prior to assumption of supervisory 
responsibilities. 
b. The frequency in which the speech-language 
pathologist personally delivers treatment or services to a 
client who is receiving some services from an assistant 
shall be up to the professional judgment of the speech-
language pathologist and shall be determined by the 
treatment needs of the client, the type of services being 
provided, and the setting in which the client is being 
served, but shall occur at least every 30 days.  

B. 3. The identity of the unlicensed assistant shall be 
disclosed to the client prior to treatment and shall be made 
a part of the client's file.  

B. Qualifications of a speech-language pathologist assistant. 
1. A person acting as a speech-language pathologist 
assistant shall have: 

a. A bachelor's degree or associate's degree and 
documented training by a licensed speech-language 
pathologist in topics related to the client population to be 
served; or 
b. Employment as a speech-language pathologist 
assistant in a United States jurisdiction within the last 
five years preceding [ (the effective date of the 
regulations) July 27, 2016 ]. 

2. A speech-language pathologist supervising an assistant 
shall be responsible for determining that the knowledge, 
skills, and clinical experience of the assistant are sufficient 
to ensure competency to perform all tasks to which the 
assistant is assigned. The speech-language pathologist shall 
document competency after training and direct observation 
of the assistant's performance of such tasks, and a record of 
skills and competencies shall be maintained. 

C. Scope of practice of a speech-language pathologist 
assistant. After demonstration and documentation of 
competency for the duties to be assigned, an assistant shall 
only engage in those duties planned, designed, and supervised 
by a licensed speech-language pathologist, to include the 
following: 

1. Assist with speech, language, and hearing screenings 
without clinical interpretation of results. 
2. Assist during assessment of a client exclusive of 
administration or interpretation. 

3. Perform activities for each session that are routine and 
do not require professional judgment, in accordance with a 
plan developed and directed by the speech-language 
pathologist who retains the professional responsibility for 
the client. 
4. Document a client's performance and report information 
to the supervising speech-language pathologist. 
5. Assist with programming augmentative and alternative 
communication devices and assist the client in repetitive 
use of such devices.  
6. Sign or initial informal treatment notes and, upon 
request, co-sign formal documents with the supervising 
speech-language pathologist. 
7. Engage in the following activities: 

a. Preparing materials; 
b. Scheduling appointments and activities; 
c. Preparing charts, records, or graphs and performing 
other clerical duties; 
d. Performing checks and maintenance of equipment; and 
e. Assisting a client with transitioning to and from 
therapy sessions.  

8. Perform duties not otherwise restricted to the practice of 
speech-language pathology. 

D. A speech-language pathologist assistant shall not engage 
in the practice of speech-language pathology, including the 
following:  

1. Represent himself as a speech-language pathologist. 
2. Perform standardized or nonstandardized diagnostic 
tests or formal or informal evaluations. 
3. Perform procedures that require a professional level of 
clinical acumen and technical skill. 
4. Tabulate or interpret results and observations of feeding 
and swallowing evaluations or screenings performed by a 
speech-language pathologist. 
5. Participate in formal conferences or meetings without 
the presence of the supervising speech-language 
pathologist. 
6. Provide interpretative information to the client, the 
family of the client, or others regarding the client's status 
or service. 
7. Write, develop, or modify a client's treatment plan. 
8. Assist in or provide services as specified in subsection C 
of this section unless directed by the supervising speech-
language pathologist. 
9. Sign any formal documents in lieu of the supervising 
speech-language pathologist. 
10. Select a client for service or discharge a client from 
service. 
11. Make a decision on the need for additional services or 
make referrals for service. 
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12. Disclose clinical or confidential information either 
orally or in writing to anyone other than the supervising 
speech-language pathologist, unless mandated by law or 
authorized by the supervising speech-language pathologist. 
13. Develop or determine the swallowing or feeding 
strategies or precautions for a client or provide feeding or 
swallowing treatment. 

E. Supervision of an assistant in speech-language pathology. 
1. The practice of an assistant shall only be supervised by a 
speech-language pathologist who retains full legal and 
ethical responsibility for the client. A speech-language 
pathologist shall only supervise the equivalent of two full-
time assistants. 
2. The speech-language pathologist shall provide the level 
of supervision to the speech-language pathologist assistant 
necessary to ensure quality of care to include on-site 
supervision of at least two client sessions for each assistant 
being supervised every 30 days to directly observe and 
evaluate the performance of the assistant. The speech-
language pathologist shall document such on-site 
observation and evaluation in the client record for each 
session. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4179; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:58 p.m.  

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 
Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-10; adding 18VAC30-
20-241).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Expiration Date Extended Through: December 27, 2016. 
The Governor has approved the Board of Audiology and 
Speech-Language Pathology request to extend the expiration 
date of the above-referenced emergency regulation for six 
months as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D of the Code of 
Virginia. Therefore, the emergency regulation will continue 
in effect through December 27, 2016. The emergency 
regulation was adopted pursuant to Chapter 327 of the 2014 
Acts of Assembly and relates to the expansion of the practice 
of audiology to include limited cerumen management. The 
original emergency was published in 31:11 VA.R. 958-960 
January 26, 2015, and an amended emergency regulation was 
published in 32:6 VA.R. 1100-1102 November 16, 2015. 
Contact Information: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 
telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 
leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4115; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:52 p.m.  

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 
Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-10, 18VAC50-22-40, 
18VAC50-22-50, 18VAC50-22-60, 18VAC50-22-220, 
18VAC50-22-230, 18VAC50-22-310).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information:  

July 11, 2016 - 10 a.m. - Commonwealth of Virginia 
Conference Center, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Board Room 3, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
authority for the Board for Contractors to promulgate 
regulations for the licensure of contractors in the 
Commonwealth. The content of the regulations is pursuant to 
the board's discretion, but shall not be in conflict with the 
purposes of the statutory authority. 
Purpose: During the past 18 months, several instances 
involving the submission of false documentation, forged 
verification forms, and questionable identity have been 
brought to the attention of the Board for Contractors. The 
majority of these instances have resulted in disciplinary 
action being taken against the licensee, usually in the form of 
the revocation of the license and a monetary sanction. To date 
nearly 100 such cases have been adjudicated by the board or 
are scheduled to be heard by the board, and more than 100 
currently are in the investigative stages. 
A review of these cases has found that the board's current 
documentation requirements are insufficient to ensure that the 
information being provided by the applicant is valid. This 
includes, but is not limited to, verification of identification, 
experience documentation, determination of fiscal 
responsibility, and verification of employment status. The 
application process has been modified somewhat, in those 
areas that do not require an amendment of the regulations, but 
the board has identified other requirements that should be 
implemented to reduce the instances of application fraud. 
The board is tasked with ensuring that contractors meet 
minimum competency standards as well as minimum 
financial standards to ensure that the public is protected from 
unqualified or incompetent contractors as well as to ensure 
that contractors have the fiscal health to enter into contracts 
that can be for hundreds of thousands of dollars. In order to 
ensure that these minimum standards are met, it is critical that 
the documentation reviewed by the board to determine license 
eligibility is accurate and trustworthy. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4830
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=4830
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=5284
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Substance: 18VAC50-22-10: Amendments add two 
definitions to the existing list of definitions. 
18VAC50-22-40, 18VAC50-22-50, and 18VAC50-22-60: 
Provisions for submission of identification, experience 
verification, employment verification, credit checks, and 
verification of fiscal standing (as applicable) are amended as 
deemed necessary by the board to meet the statutory and 
regulatory requirements. 
18VAC50-22-220 and 18VAC50-22-230: Documentation 
that must be submitted in order to ensure that a licensee meets 
the eligibility requirements to make changes to its license is 
amended.  
18VAC50-22-310: Amendments are made to the 
requirements for pre-license education providers to attend 
training provided by the board. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that these 
regulations will help to ensure that the license holders 
actually meet the minimum competency requirements to get a 
license, and the public can feel more confident that the license 
was not acquired fraudulently. The only disadvantage to 
applicants applying for licenses is that they will need to 
provide licensing staff with more supporting paperwork. 
The primary advantage to the agency is there will be fewer 
investigations on license holders for acquiring the license 
fraudulently. The disadvantage to the agency is that the 
licensing staff will need to do more research before issuing a 
license. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 
order to increase the integrity of information provided as a 
part of contractor licensure, the Board of Contractors (Board) 
proposes several new verification requirements for its 
licensees.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulatory changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Board staff reports that the 
Board is dealing with an increasing problem, over the last 18 
months or so, involving the submission of false 
documentation, forged verification forms and questionable 
identity representations. Board staff reports that, to date, 
nearly 100 cases have been heard or are scheduled to be heard 
by the Board and that more than 100 additional cases are 
currently in some investigative stage.  
To address these problems, the Board is proposing several 
new documentation requirements. The Board proposes that 
applicants for licensure that are subject to experience 
requirements must have that experience verified by a building 
official, building inspector, registered design professional, a 
licensee of this Board or another regulatory agency or by any 
other individual/organization approved by the Board. The 
Board also proposes to require firms that must supply 
information on past due debts, outstanding tax obligations 

and defaults, judgements and bankruptcies also supply a copy 
of their credit report to verify the information that they 
supply. Similarly, where the Board now requires firms to 
report and have a certain level of assets, the Board proposes 
to require verification that the reported assets are actually 
owned by, or titled to, the firm reporting them. The Board 
proposes to remove qualified individuals from the list of 
entities that must supply information on debts as any 
qualified individuals who are not also members of responsible 
management are just employees of the firm and their financial 
stability has no effect on the stability of the firm. People 
named by firms as qualified individuals (who are not also 
members of responsible management) will, however, have to 
provide proof that they are employed full time by the firm 
that has named them as qualifying individuals with 
submission of copies of I-9s, W-4s, insurance documents, or 
other documentation approved by the Board. The Board also 
proposes that firms be required to submit copies of a 
government issued photo ID for each member of responsible 
management and for each qualified individual for the firm. 
Members of responsible management and each qualified 
individual will also be required to sign the firm's application 
for licensure. If firms change members of responsible 
management or qualified individuals, the Board proposes to 
require the new individuals to provide the same information 
and documentation as required by members of responsible 
management and qualified individuals at the time of 
application for licensure. Lastly, the Board proposes to 
require all providers of pre-licensure education to send at 
least one representative every two years to attend a Board of 
Contractors remedial education course. These courses are 
held monthly. 
Licensed firms would incur only minimal copying and 
postage costs for meeting most of the Board's proposed 
requirements. They may or may not incur slightly more than 
minimal costs to provide a credit report. Credit reports are 
available free at some websites but may cost as much as $12. 
Pre-licensure education providers will incur costs to send a 
representative to Board training once every two years roughly 
equal to the prorated salary of the individual sent plus travel 
expenses (gas, tolls if applicable and vehicle wear and tear 
allowances). These costs are likely outweighed by the 
benefits that will accrue from the Board taking steps to curb 
fraud and forgery amongst their applicants for licensure. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 
Board received approximately 5,000 applications for 
licensure per year over the last five years; approximately 
4,000 of the 5,000 applications each year are from firms that 
qualify as small businesses.  
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory change.  
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed changes 
are unlikely to impact employment in any firm except those 
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that are unable to legitimately provide the documentation that 
the Board proposes to require. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses may incur minimal 
costs to meet the Board's new documentation requirements 
and pre-licensure education providers will likely incur 
moderate costs once every two years to send a representative 
to a Board remedial education course.  
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 
are likely no alternative methods that would both meet the 
Board's goal of curbing fraud amongst their applicants and 
further minimize adverse impacts.  
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses. Small businesses may incur minimal costs to 
meet the Board's new documentation requirements and pre-
licensure education providers will likely incur moderate costs 
once every two years to send a representative to a Board 
remedial education course. 
Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 
regulatory change. 
Other Entities. Other entities in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to suffer any adverse impacts on account of this 
regulatory action. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Contractors concurs with the economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments modify the documentation 
submitted as part of the application to verify requirements 
for experience level, net worth, examination, and 
employment, including submission of identification of the 
individuals listed on the application, third party 
verification of experience, verification of financial 
standing, and other criteria. The amendments also require 
all prelicense education providers to attend a board 
remedial education course once every two years.  

Part I  
Definitions  

18VAC50-22-10. General definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required 
by the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Address of record" means the mailing address designated 
by the licensee to receive notices and correspondence from 
the board. 

"Affidavit" means a written statement of facts, made 
voluntarily, and confirmed by the oath or affirmation of the 
party making it, taken before a notary or other person having 
the authority to administer such oath or affirmation.  

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 
corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 
partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 
law.  

"Change order" means any modification to the original 
contract including, but not limited to, the time to complete the 
work, change in materials, change in cost, and change in the 
scope of work. 

"Controlling financial interest" means the direct or indirect 
ownership or control of more than 50% ownership of a firm.  

"Credit report" means documentation from a nationally 
recognized credit agency that reflects the financial 
responsibility of the applicant; provides a current consumer 
credit score derived from the Fair Isaac Corporation's (FICO) 
scoring method; and includes information including payment 
history, credit rating, public filings in county, state, and 
federal courts, bankruptcies, business history, suits, liens, and 
judgments. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 
of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Formal vocational training" means courses in the trade 
administered at an accredited educational facility; or formal 
training, approved by the department, conducted by trade 
associations, businesses, military, correspondence schools or 
other similar training organizations.  

"Full-time employee" means an employee who spends a 
minimum of 30 hours a week carrying out the work of the 
licensed contracting business.  

"Helper" or "laborer" means a person who assists a licensed 
tradesman and who is not an apprentice as defined in 
18VAC50-30-10.  

"Licensee" means a firm holding a license issued by the 
Board for Contractors to act as a contractor, as defined in 
§ 54.1-1100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Nationally recognized credit agency" means an 
organization that obtains credit information on a nationwide 
basis; validates, updates, and maintains the accuracy of the 
credit information obtained; and obtains credit reports from at 
least two credit bureaus.  
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"Net worth" means assets minus liabilities. For purposes of 
this chapter, assets shall not include any property owned as 
tenants by the entirety.  

"Prime contractor" means a licensed contractor that 
performs, supervises, or manages the construction, removal, 
repair, or improvement of real property pursuant to the terms 
of a primary contract with the property owner/lessee. The 
prime contractor may use its own employees to perform the 
work or use the services of other properly licensed 
contractors. 

"Principal place of business" means the location where the 
licensee principally conducts business with the public. 

"Reciprocity" means an arrangement by which the licensees 
of two states are allowed to practice within each other's 
boundaries by mutual agreement.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 
effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license 
for another period of time.  

"Residential building energy analyst firm" means any 
business entity wherein a residential building energy analysis, 
as defined in § 54.1-1144 of the Code of Virginia, is offered 
or practiced. 

"Responsible management" means the following 
individuals:  

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship;  
2. The partners of a general partnership;  
3. The managing partners of a limited partnership;  
4. The officers of a corporation;  
5. The managers of a limited liability company;  
6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and  
7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 
the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 
responsibility to the firm.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 
who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 
fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 
through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Supervision" means providing guidance or direction of a 
delegated task or procedure by a tradesman licensed in 
accordance with Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, being accessible to the helper or 
laborer, and periodically observing and evaluating the 
performance of the task or procedure.  

"Supervisor" means the licensed master or journeyman 
tradesman who has the responsibility to ensure that the 
installation is in accordance with the applicable provisions of 
the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code and provides 
supervision to helpers and laborers as defined in this chapter.  

"Temporary license" means a license issued by the board 
pursuant to § 54.1-201.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

authorizes a person to engage in the practice of contracting 
until such time as the license is issued or 45 days from the 
date of issuance of the temporary license, whichever occurs 
first. 

"Tenants by the entirety" means a tenancy which is created 
between a husband and wife and by which together they hold 
title to the whole with right of survivorship so that, upon 
death of either, the other takes whole to exclusion of the 
deceased's remaining heirs.  

"Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code" or "USBC" 
means building regulations comprised of those promulgated 
by the Virginia Board of Housing and Community 
Development in accordance with § 36-98 of the Code of 
Virginia, including any model codes and standards that are 
incorporated by reference and that regulate construction, 
reconstruction, alteration, conversion, repair, maintenance or 
use of structures, and building and installation of equipment 
therein. 

Part II  
Entry  

18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license.  
A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 
B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 

seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 
2. Has a minimum of two years experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier, 
verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board; 
3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm or is a full-time employee of the firm as verified 
by the submission of copies of an I-9, a W-4, insurance 
documents, or other documentation acceptable to the 
board; and 
4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 
following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 
Programs explosive use certification) 
Fire alarm (NICET level III or higher certification in fire 
protection: fire alarm systems or completion of a board-
approved examination) 
Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) (NICET 
level III or higher certification in fire protection: water 
based systems layout or completion of a board-approved 
examination) 
Manufactured home contracting (completion of a U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development or 
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Department of Housing and Community Development 
approved installers course) 
Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ (Virginia Department of 
Health accepted radon certification). 
b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations (18VAC50-30), a master 
license for Plumbing plumbing, HVAC, Electrical 
electrical, Gas Fitting gas fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 
Provider natural gas fitting provider, and Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Contracting liquefied petroleum gas 
contracting. 
c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations, certification as an accessibility 
mechanic for accessibility services contracting, 
accessibility mechanic (LULA) for accessibility services 
contracting-LULA, Elevator Mechanic elevator 
mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting elevator 
escalator contracting and certification as a Water Well 
Systems Provider water well systems provider for Water 
Well/Pump Contracting water well/pump contracting. 
d. Has obtained a lead supervisor license from the 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
for the lead abatement contracting specialty; an asbestos 
supervisor license from the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, and Home Inspectors for the asbestos contracting 
specialty; and an onsite sewage systems professional 
installers license from the Board for Waterworks and 
Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals for the sewage disposal systems contracting 
specialty. 
e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 
other classifications and specialties that do not require 
other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 
prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all members of 
the responsible management of the firm shall submit 
information on any past-due debts and judgments or defaults 
on bonds directly related to the practice of contracting as 
defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 
the Code of Virginia. Each firm shall provide a credit report 
from a nationally recognized credit agency. The members of 
responsible management of the firm shall disclose 
information for the five years prior to the application on any 
outstanding past due debts or judgments, outstanding tax 
obligations, defaults on bonds related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or pending or past 
bankruptcies. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 
of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 
or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other 
jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes but is not limited to any monetary 
penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 
license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 
termination of a license in Virginia or in any other 
jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 
applicants shall disclose the following information about the 
firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 
qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and 
2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 
successfully completed a board-approved basic business 
course. 

G. The firm shall provide a copy of a government-issued 
photo identification for each member of responsible 
management and for each of the qualified individuals. 

H. All members of responsible management and each 
qualified individual must sign the application. 
18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 
requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 
following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old;  
2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 
defined in this chapter member of responsible management 
of the firm or is a full-time employee of the firm as verified 
by the submission of copies of an I-9, a W-4, insurance 
documents, or other documentation acceptable to the 
board;  
3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 
by § 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been 
exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 
§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 
4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 
testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 
the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 
seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements: 
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1. Is at least 18 years old;  
2. Has a minimum of three years experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier 
verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board; 
3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm member of the responsible management of the 
firm or is a full-time employee of the firm as verified by 
the submission of copies of an I-9, a W-4, insurance 
documents, or other documentation acceptable to the 
board; and 
4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 
following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 
Programs explosive use certification) 
Fire alarm (NICET level III or higher certification in fire 
protection: fire alarm systems or completion of a board-
approved examination) 
Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) (NICET 
level III or higher certification in fire protection: water 
based systems layout or completion of a board-approved 
examination) 
Manufactured home contracting (completion of a U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development or 
Department of Housing and Community Development 
approved installers course) 
Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ (Virginia Department of 
Health accepted radon certification). 
b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations (18VAC50-30), a master 
license for Plumbing plumbing, HVAC, Electrical 
electrical, Gas Fitting gas fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 
Provider natural gas fitting provider, and Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Contracting liquefied petroleum gas 
contracting. 
c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations, certification as an accessibility 
mechanic for accessibility services contracting, 
accessibility mechanic (LULA) for accessibility services 
contracting-LULA, Elevator Mechanic elevator 
mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting elevator 
escalator contracting and certification as a Water Well 
Systems Provider water well systems provider for Water 
Well/Pump Contracting water well/pump contracting. 
d. Has obtained a lead supervisor license from the 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
for the lead abatement contracting specialty; an asbestos 
supervisor license from the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, and Home Inspectors for the asbestos contracting 
specialty; and an onsite sewage systems professional 

installers license from the Board for Waterworks and 
Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 
Professionals for the sewage disposal systems contracting 
specialty. 
e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 
other classifications and specialties that do not require 
other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit on a form provided by the board 
information on its financial position. Excluding any property 
owned as tenants by the entirety, the firm shall state a net 
worth or equity of $15,000 or more. Assets listed on this form 
must be verified as being titled or owned by the firm, and 
documentation must be less than 60 days old for liquid assets 
and less than one year old for fixed assets. Property owned or 
titled as tenants by the entirety shall not be included as an 
asset or liability. In lieu of this form, the firm may submit a 
review or an audit conducted by a certified public accountant 
in accordance with the provisions of the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants guidelines that was completed 
within one year of the date of application or the most recently 
filed U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission form 10-K. 
In order to qualify for a Class B license, the firm must have a 
net worth or equity of $15,000 or more.  

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years 
prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 
employee, and all members of the responsible management of 
the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 
judgments or a credit report from a nationally recognized 
credit agency. The members of responsible management of 
the firm shall disclose at the time of application information 
for the five years prior to the application on any outstanding, 
past due debts or judgments, outstanding tax obligations, 
defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or pending or past 
bankruptcies.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 
the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 
time of application any current or previous substantial 
identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 
Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 
taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to any 
monetary penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. 
The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant when any of the parties listed above have had a 
substantial identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of 
the Code of Virginia) with any firm that has had a license 
suspended, revoked, voluntarily terminated or surrendered in 
connection with a disciplinary action in Virginia or any other 
jurisdiction. 
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G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
all applicants shall disclose the following information about 
the firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 
management, and the qualified individual or individuals for 
the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and 
2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 
management shall have successfully completed a board-
approved basic business course. 

I. The firm shall provide a copy of a government-issued 
photo identification for each member of responsible 
management, for the designated employee, and for each of the 
qualified individuals. 

J. All members of responsible management, the designated 
employee, and each qualified individual must sign the 
application. 
18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license.  

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 
requirements of this section.  

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 
following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old; 
2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 
chapter or is a member of the responsible management of 
the firm as defined in this chapter; or is a full-time 
employee of the firm as verified by the submission of 
copies of an I-9, a W-4, insurance documents, or other 
documentation acceptable to the board; 
3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required 
by § 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been 
exempted from the exam requirement in accordance with 
§ 54.1-1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and  
4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 
testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 
the day of the exam.  

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm 
seeks to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified 
individual who meets the following requirements:  

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 
classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier 
verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board;  
3. Is a member of responsible management of the firm or 
full-time employee of the firm as defined in this chapter or 
is a member of the firm as defined in this chapter or is a 
member of the responsible management of the firm; 
verified by the submission of copies of an I-9, a W-4, 
insurance documents, or other documentation acceptable to 
the board; and 
4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 
following specialties: 

Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD (Department of Fire 
Programs explosive use certification) 
Fire alarm (NICET level III or higher certification in fire 
protection: fire alarm systems or completion of a board-
approved examination)  
Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification) (NICET 
level III or higher certification in fire protection: water 
based systems layout or completion of a board-approved 
examination) 
Manufactured home contracting (completion of a U.S. 
Department of Housing and Urban Development or 
Department of Housing and Community Development 
approved installers course) 
Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ (Virginia Department of 
Health accepted radon certification). 
b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations (18VAC50-30), a master 
license for Plumbing plumbing, HVAC, Electrical, Gas 
Fitting electrical, gas fitting, Natural Gas Fitting Provider 
natural gas fitting provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Contracting liquefied petroleum gas contracting. 
c. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 
Certification Regulations, certification as an accessibility 
mechanic for accessibility services contracting 
accessibility mechanic (LULA) for accessibility services 
contracting-LULA, Elevator Mechanic elevator 
mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting elevator 
escalator contracting and certification as a Water Well 
Systems Provider water well systems provider for Water 
Well/Pump Contracting water well/pump contracting. 
d. Has obtained a lead supervisor license from the 
Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors 
for the lead abatement contracting specialty; an asbestos 
supervisor license from the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, and Home Inspectors for the asbestos contracting 
specialty; and an onsite sewage systems professional 
installers license from the Board for Waterworks and 
Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 
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Professionals for the sewage disposal systems contracting 
specialty. 
e. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 
other classifications and specialties that do not require 
other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit on a form provided by the board 
information on its financial position. Excluding any property 
owned as tenants by the entirety, the firm shall state a net 
worth or equity of $45,000. Assets listed on this form must be 
verified as being titled or owned by the firm, and 
documentation must be less than 60 days old for liquid assets 
and less than one year old for fixed assets. Property owned or 
titled as tenants by the entirety shall not be included as an 
asset or liability. In lieu of this form, the firm may submit a 
review or an audit conducted by a certified public accountant 
in accordance with the provisions of the American Institute of 
Certified Public Accountants guidelines that was completed 
within one year of the date of application or the most recently 
filed U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission form 10-K. 
In order to qualify for a Class A license the firm must have a 
net worth or equity of $45,000 or more.  

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 
to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 
judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 
pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 
employee, and all members of the responsible management of 
the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 
judgments or a credit report from a nationally recognized 
credit agency. The members of responsible management of 
the firm shall disclose, at the time of application, information 
for the five years prior to the application on any outstanding, 
past due debts or judgments, outstanding tax obligations, 
defaults on bonds directly related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or pending or past 
bankruptcies.  

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of 
the responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the 
time of application any current or previous substantial 
identities of interest with any contractor licenses issued in 
Virginia or in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions 
taken on these licenses. This includes but is not limited to, 
any monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, or 
surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary action. 
The board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any 
applicant when any of the parties listed above have had a 
substantial identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of 
the Code of Virginia) with any firm that has had a license 
suspended, revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in 
connection with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any 
other jurisdiction.  

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
all applicants shall disclose the following information about 
the firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee and the qualified individual or 
individuals for the firm:  

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 
date of application; and  
2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes.  

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 
conviction for purposes of this subsection. The record of a 
conviction received from a court shall be accepted as prima 
facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, 
in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.  

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 
management shall have successfully completed a board-
approved basic business course. 

I. The firm shall provide a copy of a government-issued 
photo identification for each member of responsible 
management, for the designated employee, and for each of the 
qualified individuals. 

J. All members of responsible management, the designated 
employee, and each qualified individual must sign the 
application. 
18VAC50-22-220. Change of responsible management, 
designated employee, or qualified individual.  

A. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of 
a limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 
association shall be reported to the board in writing on a form 
provided by the board within 90 days of the change. The new 
member of responsible management must provide the 
following: 

1. A copy of a government-issued photo identification. 
2. Information for the five years prior to the application on 
any outstanding past due debts or judgments, outstanding 
tax obligations, defaults on bonds related to the practice of 
contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or pending or past 
bankruptcies.  
3. At the time of application, information regarding any 
current or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or 
in other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on 
these licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 
suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 
connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 
termination of a license in Virginia or in any other 
jurisdiction. 
4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
documentation of all misdemeanor convictions within three 
years of the date of the application and all felony 
convictions during his lifetime. 

B. Any change of designated employee shall be reported on 
a form provided by the board within 90 days of the change. 
The new designated employee for a Class B licensee shall 
meet the requirements of 18VAC50-22-50 B. The new 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2978 

designated employee for a Class A licensee shall meet the 
requirements of 18VAC50-22-60 B.  

C. Any change of qualified individual shall be reported on a 
form provided by the board within 45 days of the change. The 
new qualified individual for a Class C licensee shall meet the 
requirements of 18VAC50-22-40 B. The new qualified 
individual for a Class B licensee shall meet the requirements 
of 18VAC50-22-50 C. The new qualified individual for a 
Class A licensee shall meet the requirements of 18VAC50-
22-60 C.  
18VAC50-22-230. Change of name or address.  

A. A licensee must operate under the name in which the 
license is issued. Any name change shall be reported in 
writing to the board on a form provided by the board within 
30 days of the change. The board shall not be responsible for 
the licensee's failure to receive notices or correspondence due 
to the licensee's not having reported a change of name.  

B. Any change of the address of record or principal place of 
business shall be reported in writing to the board on a form 
provided by the board within 30 days of the change. The 
board shall not be responsible for the licensee's failure to 
receive notices or correspondence due to the licensee's not 
having reported a change of address.  
18VAC50-22-310. Requirements for prelicense education 
providers. 

A. Each provider of a prelicense education course shall 
submit an application for course approval on a form provided 
by the board. The application shall include but is not limited 
to: 

1. The name of the provider; 
2. Provider contact person, address and telephone number; 
3. Course contact hours; 
4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, time 
and locations; 
5. Instructor information, including name, license 
number(s) number or numbers if applicable, and a list of 
other appropriate trade designations; 
6. Course and material fees; and 
7. Course syllabus. 

B. All providers must establish and maintain a record for 
each student. The record shall include: the student's name and 
address; social security number or DMV control number; the 
course name and clock hours attended; the course syllabus or 
outline; the name or names of the instructor; the date of 
successful completion; and the board's course code. Records 
shall be available for inspection during normal business hours 
by authorized representatives of the board. Providers must 
maintain class records for a minimum of five years. 

C. At least once every two calendar years, all providers must 
have at least one representative attend a monthly Board for 
Contractors remedial education course.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4414; Filed June 3, 2016, 9:55 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 
Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-20, 
18VAC50-30-30, 18VAC50-30-40).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: 

July 11, 2016 - 10 a.m. - Commonwealth of Virginia 
Conference Center, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland 
Drive, Board Room 3, Richmond, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 
Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 54.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
authority for the Board for Contractors to promulgate 
regulations for the licensure of contractors in the 
Commonwealth. The content of the regulations is pursuant to 
the board's discretion, but shall not be in conflict with the 
purposes of the statutory authority. 
Purpose: During the past 18 months, several instances 
involving the submission of false documentation, forged 
verification forms, and questionable identity have been 
brought to the attention of the Board for Contractors. The 
majority of these instances has resulted in disciplinary action 
being taken against the licensee or certificate holder, usually 
in the form of the revocation of the license or certificate, and 
a monetary sanction. To date nearly 100 such cases have been 
adjudicated by the board or are scheduled to be heard by the 
board, and there are more than 100 currently in the 
investigative stages. 
A review of these cases has found that the board's current 
documentation requirements are insufficient to ensure that the 
information being provided by the applicant is valid. This 
includes, but is not limited to, verification of identification, 
experience documentation, determination of fiscal 
responsibility, and verification of employment status. The 
application process has been modified somewhat, in those 
areas that do not require an amendment of the regulations, but 
the board has identified other requirements that should be 
implemented to reduce the instances of application fraud. 
The board is tasked with ensuring that individual licensees 
and certificate holders meet minimum competency standards 
to ensure that the public is protected from unqualified or 
incompetent individuals performing work that if done 
improperly can have a direct effect on the safety of the public. 
In order to ensure that these minimum standards are met it is 
critical that the documentation reviewed by the board to 
determine license and certification eligibility is accurate and 
trustworthy. 
Substance: 18VAC50-30-20: The amendments clarify that the 
board may approve the applicant to take the applicable exam 
or issue the license or certificate. 
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18VAC50-30-30: The amendments add the requirement of 
submission of identification and a 2" x 2" photo deemed 
necessary by the board for proper identification of the 
applicant who is applying.  
18VAC50-30-40: The amendments require submission of 
experience verification deemed necessary by the board to 
meet the statutory and regulatory requirements. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public is that the 
amendments help ensure that the license holders actually 
meet the minimum competency requirements to get a license, 
and the public can feel more confident that the license was 
not acquired fraudulently. The disadvantage to applicants 
applying for licenses is that they will need to provide 
licensing staff with more supporting paperwork. 
The primary advantage to the agency is fewer investigations 
on license holders for acquiring the license fraudulently. The 
disadvantage to the agency is that the licensing staff will need 
to do more research before issuing a license. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In 
order to increase the integrity of information provided as a 
part of tradesmen licensure/certification, the Board of 
Contractors (Board) proposes several new verification 
requirements for its individual tradesmen licensees/certificate 
holders.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for most 
proposed regulatory changes. For one proposed regulatory 
change, the benefits of the change could likely be ensured at a 
lower cost for regulated entities than would likely accrue 
under the current proposed language. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Board staff reports that the 
Board is dealing with an increasing problem, over the last 18 
months or so, involving the submission of false 
documentation, forged verification forms and questionable 
identity representations. Board staff reports that, to date, 
nearly 100 cases have been heard or are scheduled to be heard 
by the Board and that more than 100 additional cases are 
currently in some investigative stage.  
To address these problems, the Board is proposing several 
new documentation requirements. The Board proposes that 
applicants for licensure or certification who are subject to 
experience requirements must have that experience verified 
by a building official, building inspector, registered design 
professional, a licensee of the Board or another regulatory 
agency or by any other individual/organization approved by 
the Board. Board staff reports that the Board is moving 
toward requiring that verification come from some licensed 
entity under some Board's authority because then the 
verifying entity can be disciplined if they falsely verify 
someone's experience. In most cases, this verification will be 
new. Applicants for journeyman or master status who are 
applying using 10 years of experience in a trade to qualify 

currently have to have their experience verified. Current 
regulation allows verification to come from the groups 
approved for verification in this proposed regulation plus 
former or current clients or former or current employers. 
While the proposed regulation allows the Board to approve 
additional entities (which may include current or former 
clients or employers on a case by case basis), some applicants 
may be worse off under the proposed regulation than they are 
under current the regulation which always allows them to use 
employer/client verification. All other applicants would likely 
incur only minimal copying and postage costs for meeting 
most of the Board's proposed requirements. 
The Board also proposes that applicants for individual 
licensure be required to submit copies of a government issued 
ID and a 2 X 2 photograph that meets the requirements set 
forth by the U.S. Department of State for passports. These 
requirements include that the picture be: 

1) In color, 
2) Printed on matte or glossy photo quality paper, 
3) 2 X 2 inches in size, 
4) Sized such that the head is between 1" and 1 and 3/8" 
from the chin to the top of the head, 
5) Taken within the last six months,  
6) Taken in front of a white or off-white background, 
7) Taken in full-face view looking directly at the camera, 
and  
8) Taken with a neutral expression or a natural smile with 
both eyes open. 

Board staff reports that the Board wants to require a 
government issued ID to verify the identity of the individuals 
who are submitting an application but that the Board also 
wants to require a photo that meets passport standards to 1) 
have an electronic copy of a photo for comparison with 
photos taken at exam sites during check-in and 2) because the 
Board is exploring the possibility of issuing photo 
licenses/certificates and requiring a passport compliant photo 
now will allow them to have photos to facilitate issuing such 
credentials. Board staff further reports that the Board will 
accept any photo that meets the State Department criteria. 
Assuming that individuals choose to take their own photos, 
they will incur likely fairly large time costs ensuring that their 
photo meets all criteria above and then will either have to 
print that photo in a standard available size (4 X 6 or 3 X 5, 
both available at most photo kiosks for less than 50 cents), 
and hand crop it while ensuring that head size in the photo 
matches requirements, or will have to pay to have 2 X 2 
copies printed. Information found via internet search indicates 
that Walmart will print passport size photos from a customer's 
own electronic photo file for $7.44 per two photos (photos 
such as this can only be purchased in sets of two). 
Alternately, applicants can get a passport photo taken at a 
number of places including Walmart and Walgreens. Again 
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the photos are sold in sets of two and cost between $12 and 
$13.  
While requiring individuals to submit a picture and ID with 
their application will likely decrease cases of applicants 
misrepresenting their identity or sending another individual to 
take their Board exam, it may not be the least costly way to 
affect that goal. Most people have a government issued photo 
ID, even if they do not have a driver's license, because they 
need a photo ID for many things (from proving identification 
when writing a check or using a credit card to voting). Just 
requiring a government issued ID that includes a photo would 
likely reduce the cost of complying with this proposed 
requirement. Also worth noting, the Board has not 
implemented photo license/certificates yet and it may be 
many months (or even years) before they can get such 
credentialing into place. As State Department rules require 
that a photo be taken within six months of its use, any delay 
in photo credentialing past a few months may see some 
applicants having to pay for and submit an additional photo 
when and if the Board changes licenses/certificates. While 
there is a very worthwhile benefit in the Board's efforts to 
curtail fraud, those benefits could likely be ensured at a lower 
cost for regulated entities by only requiring a government 
issued photo ID. 
Finally, the Board is currently required to license/certify as a 
master any individual that successfully passed a Class A 
contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991. The 
Board proposes to change this so that they may issue a 
masters license or certificate only upon submission of 
verification of an individual's continuous work in the trade 
since he passed his exam. This change may mean fewer 
individuals in this category are able to obtain masters 
licensure/certification. To the extent that the contractors trade 
exam has undergone large changes in the information 
required to pass and to the extent that continuous or recent 
practice ensures competency, the benefits accrued by not 
licensing/certifying individuals who passed the exam 
approximately 25 years ago and who may not be competent to 
practice likely outweigh the costs for individuals who would 
have to meet current experience requirements and take an 
exam to get their masters designation.  
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 
Board received approximately 2,000 applications for 
licensure per year over the last five years. Some of these 
individuals may be (or may plan to be once licensed/certified) 
individual proprietor small businesses; some other of these 
individuals may work for small businesses that pay for their 
licensure. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory change.  
Projected Impact on Employment. These proposed changes 
are unlikely to impact employment for any applicant 
tradesmen except those that are unable to legitimately provide 
the documentation that the Board proposes to require. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses that pay their 
applicant tradesmen's licensure/certification costs and fees, 
and individual applicant tradesmen who intend to be single 
proprietor small businesses once they are licensed or certified, 
will likely incur minimal costs to meet the Board's new 
verification requirements. These entities will likely also incur 
costs for meeting the proposed requirements for providing 
both a government issued ID and a State Department 
compliant passport size photo. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Costs for 
applicants could likely be decreased without decreasing 
benefits by requiring a copy of a government issued photo ID 
rather than requiring a government issued ID and a 2 X 2 
photo.  
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. Businesses that pay their applicant tradesmen's 
Board costs and fees, and individual applicant tradesmen who 
intend to be single proprietor small businesses once they are 
licensed or certified, will likely incur minimal costs to meet 
the Board's new verification requirements. These entities will 
likely also incur costs for meeting the proposed requirements 
for providing both a government issued ID and a State 
Department compliant passport size photo. 
Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 
regulatory change. 
Other Entities. Other entities in the Commonwealth are 
unlikely to suffer any adverse impacts on account of this 
regulatory action. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
for Contractors does not agree that the requirement to have an 
applicant provide a passport approved photograph would be 
overly burdensome or costly. The Department of Planning 
and Budget (DPB) indicates that the cost would be no greater 
than $13 or about 6.0% of the total cost of the application and 
examination ($130 and $85). The purpose of the passport 
photo is twofold: one to have an original photograph, not a 
scanned copy of a government identification (ID), for the 
purposes of ensuring exam site security; and secondly, to be 
incorporated into photographic licenses, which the board has 
indicated that it wishes to pursue. Scanned copies of 
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government IDs would not be acceptable for use to make 
photo licenses. While the statement that it may be months 
before the licenses are in place is certainly reasonable given 
the procurement process, the parenthetical that it may be 
years before they are implemented is not likely. Once the 
photo license program is initiated it will be much more 
economical to have a number of the photos already on file, 
where the board does not have to go through the time and 
expense to collect them. 
With the exception of the statement that the requirement of 
passport photos may not be the most efficient way to achieve 
the benefits sought by the board, the agency concurs with the 
remainder of the economic impact analysis. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments modify the documentation 
submitted as part of the application to verify requirements 
for experience level, education, and examination, including 
identification of the individual submitting the application, 
third party verification of experience, verification of 
education, and other requirements.  

Part II  
Entry  

18VAC50-30-20. Requirements for licensure or 
certification.  

Each applicant shall meet or exceed the requirements set 
forth in this section prior to issuance of the license or 
certification card.  

The applicant shall be required to take an examination to 
determine his general knowledge of the regulated activity in 
which he desires licensure or certification. If the applicant 
successfully completes the examination, an application 
furnished by the department shall be completed. The 
application shall contain the applicant's name, home address, 
place of employment, and business address; information on 
the knowledge, skills, abilities, and education or training of 
the applicant; and a statement certifying that the information 
on the application is correct. If the application is satisfactory 
to the board, the applicant will be approved to take the 
applicable examination or a license or certification card shall 
be issued.  
18VAC50-30-30. General qualifications for licensure or 
certification.  

Every applicant to the Board for Contractors for licensure or 
certification shall meet the requirements and have the 
qualifications provided in this section.  

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.  
2. Unless otherwise exempted, the applicant shall meet the 
current educational requirements by passing all required 
courses prior to the time the applicant sits for the 
examination and applies for licensure or certification.  

3. Unless exempted, the applicant shall have passed the 
applicable examination provided by the board or by a 
testing organization acting on behalf of the board.  
4. The applicant shall meet the experience requirements as 
set forth in 18VAC50-30-40.  
5. In those instances where the applicant is required to take 
the license or certification examination, the applicant shall 
follow all rules established by the board with regard to 
conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 
written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
date and any instructions communicated at the site, either 
written or oral, on the date of the examination. Failure to 
comply with all rules established by the board and the 
testing organization with regard to conduct at the 
examination shall be grounds for denial of application.  
6. The Each applicant shall (i) provide a copy of a 
government-issued identification, (ii) provide a 2 x 2-inch 
photograph that meets the requirements set forth by the 
U.S. Department of State for passports, and (iii) disclose 
his physical home address; a post office box alone is not 
acceptable.  
7. Each nonresident applicant for a license or certification 
card shall file and maintain with the department an 
irrevocable consent for the department to serve as service 
agent for all actions filed in any court in this 
Commonwealth. In those instances where service is 
required, the director of the department will mail the court 
document to the individual at the address of record.  
8. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 
statement certifying that the applicant has read and 
understands Article 3 (§ 54.1-1128 et seq.) of Chapter 11 
of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  
9. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require 
a personal interview with the applicant.  
10. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 
jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 
nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purpose of this subdivision. The record of conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at 
its discretion, may deny licensure or certification to any 
applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
11. The applicant shall report any suspensions, revocations, 
or surrendering of a certificate or license in connection 
with a disciplinary action or which has been the subject of 
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure 
or certification in Virginia. The board, at its discretion, 
may deny licensure or certification to any applicant based 
on prior suspensions, revocations, or surrender of 
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certifications or licenses based on disciplinary action by 
any jurisdiction.  

18VAC50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency.  
A. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a 

journeyman shall furnish evidence that one of the following 
experience and education standards has been attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in the trade verified 
by a building official, building inspector, registered design 
professional, licensee of the Board for Contractors, 
licensee of another regulatory agency, or other individual 
or organization approved by the board and 240 hours of 
formal vocational training in the trade. Experience in 
excess of four years may be substituted for formal 
vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 
80 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 200 hours;  
2. Four years of practical experience verified by a building 
official, building inspector, registered design professional, 
licensee of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another 
regulatory agency, or other individual or organization 
approved by the board and 80 hours of vocational training 
for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and natural gas fitter 
providers except that no substitute experience will be 
allowed for liquefied petroleum gas and natural gas 
workers;  
3. An associate degree or a certificate of completion from 
at least a two-year program in a tradesman-related field 
from an accredited community college or technical school 
as evidenced by a transcript from the educational 
institution and two years of practical experience in the 
trade for which licensure is desired verified by a building 
official, building inspector, registered design professional, 
licensee of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another 
regulatory agency, or other individual or organization 
approved by the board; 
4. A bachelor's degree received from an accredited college 
or university in an engineering curriculum related to the 
trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for 
which licensure is desired verified by a building official, 
building inspector, registered design professional, licensee 
of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another regulatory 
agency, or other individual or organization approved by the 
board; or  
5. An applicant with 10 years of practical experience in the 
trade, as verified by reference letters of experience from 
any of the following: building officials, building 
inspectors, current or former employers, contractors, 
engineers, architects or current or past clients attesting to 
the applicant's work in the trade, a building official, 
building inspector, registered design professional, licensee 
of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another regulatory 
agency, or other individual or organization approved by the 
board, may be granted permission to sit for the 
journeyman's level examination without having to meet the 
educational requirements.  

B. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master 
shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience 
standards has been attained:  

1. Evidence that they have one year of experience as a 
licensed journeyman; or Licensure as a journeyman in the 
applicable trade by the Board for Contractors for a period 
of a least one year; or 
2. An applicant with 10 years of practical experience in the 
trade, as verified by reference letters of experience from 
any of the following: building officials, building 
inspectors, current or former employers, contractors, 
engineers, architects or current or past clients, attesting to 
the applicant's work in the trade, a building official, 
building inspector, registered design professional, licensee 
of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another regulatory 
agency, or other individual or organization approved by the 
board, may be granted permission to sit for the master's 
level examination without having to meet the educational 
requirements.  

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 
contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 
administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 
certified trade shall may be deemed qualified as a master in 
that trade in accordance with this chapter upon submission of 
verification acceptable to the Board for Contractors or 
continuous work in the trade since the successful completion 
of the Class A contractors trade examination. 

D. Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow 
prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that one of 
the following experience and education standards has been 
attained:  

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 
systems verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board and 40 
hours of formal vocational training in a school approved by 
the board; or  
2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience, as 
verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board, may 
qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a 
school approved by the board.  

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary 
Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures. Other 
programs could be approved after board review. The board 
requires all backflow training to include instruction in a wet 
lab.  
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E. An applicant for certification as an elevator mechanic 
shall:  

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 
construction, maintenance and service/repair of elevators, 
escalators, or related conveyances verified by a building 
official, building inspector, registered design professional, 
licensee of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another 
regulatory agency, or other individual or organization 
approved by the board; 144 hours of formal vocational 
training; and satisfactorily complete a written examination 
administered by the board. Experience in excess of four 
years may be substituted for formal vocational training at a 
ratio of one year of experience for 40 hours of formal 
training, but not to exceed 120 hours;  
2. Have three years of practical experience in the 
construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 
escalators, or related conveyances verified by a building 
official, building inspector, registered design professional, 
licensee of the Board for Contractors, licensee of another 
regulatory agency, or other individual or organization 
approved by the board and a certificate of completion of 
the elevator mechanic examination of a training program 
determined to be equivalent to the requirements established 
by the board; or  
3. Successfully complete an elevator mechanic 
apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 
Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 
Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 
evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 
official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 
examination administered by the board.  

F. Pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 A of the Code of Virginia, an 
applicant for examination as a certified water well systems 
provider shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of at 
least: 

1. One year of full-time practical experience in the drilling, 
installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 
well systems under the supervision of a certified master 
water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 
as approved by the board to qualify for examination as a 
trainee water well systems provider; 
2. Three years of practical experience in the drilling, 
installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 
well systems under the supervision of a certified master 
water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 
as approved by the board and 24 hours of formal 
vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 
as a journeyman water well systems provider; or 
3. Six years of practical experience in the drilling, 
installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 
well systems under the supervision of a certified master 
water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 
as approved by the board and 48 hours of formal 

vocational training in the trade to qualify for examination 
as a master water well systems provider. 

G. An applicant for certification as an accessibility 
mechanic shall: 

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 
construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 
testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 
residential elevators, or related conveyances verified by a 
building official, building inspector, registered design 
professional, licensee of the Board for Contractors, 
licensee of another regulatory agency, or other individual 
or organization approved by the board; 80 hours of formal 
vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a written 
examination administered by the board. Experience in 
excess of four years may be substituted for formal 
vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 
20 hours of formal training, but not to exceed 60 hours; 
2. Have three years of practical experience in the 
construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 
testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 
residential elevators, or related conveyances verified by a 
building official, building inspector, registered design 
professional, licensee of the Board for Contractors, 
licensee of another regulatory agency, or other individual 
or organization approved by the board and a certificate of 
completion of an accessibility mechanic examination of a 
training program determined to be equivalent to the 
requirements established by the board; or 
3. Successfully complete an accessibility mechanic 
apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 
Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 
Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 
evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 
official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 
examination administered by the board. 

H. An applicant for a limited use/limited application 
(LULA) endorsement shall: 

1. Hold a current certification as an accessibility mechanic 
issued by the board.  
2. Have (i) one year of practical experience in the 
construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 
testing of limited use/limited application elevators and 
verified by a building official, building inspector, 
registered design professional, licensee of the Board for 
Contractors, licensee of another regulatory agency, or other 
individual or organization approved by the board complete; 
(ii) completed a vocational education program approved by 
the board; and (iii) either satisfactorily complete completed 
a written examination administered by the board; or 
complete completed a limited use/limited application 
elevator training program determined to be equivalent to 
the requirements established by the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-4415; Filed June 3, 2016, 9:56 a.m.  
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BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 
and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-320, 18VAC85-
20-340, 18VAC85-20-350, 18VAC85-20-370, 18VAC85-20-
380).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2912.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 
(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) define the administration of 300 
milligrams or more of lidocaine as moderate sedation; (ii) 
address informed consent by patients, including knowledge 
about whether the physician is board certified or board 
eligible; (iii) require documentation of complications 
during surgery or recovery; (iv) establish a time limit on 
procedures that may be performed in an office setting; (v) 
address proximity to a hospital to which a patient may be 
transferred; and (vi) specify that the anesthesia provider or 
the doctor supervising the anesthesia must give the order 
for discharge. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
18VAC85-20-320. General provisions.  

A. Applicability of requirements for office-based anesthesia.  
1. The administration of topical anesthesia, local 
anesthesia, minor conductive blocks, or minimal 
sedation/anxiolysis, not involving a drug-induced alteration 
of consciousness other than minimal preoperative 
tranquilization, is not subject to the requirements for 
office-based anesthesia in this part. A health care 
practitioner administering such agents shall adhere to an 
accepted standard of care as appropriate to the level of 
anesthesia or sedation, including evaluation, drug 
selection, administration, and management of 
complications.  
2. The administration of moderate sedation/conscious 
sedation, deep sedation, general anesthesia, or regional 
anesthesia consisting of a major conductive block [ are is ] 
subject to these requirements for office-based anesthesia in 
this part. The administration of 300 milligrams or more of 
lidocaine or equivalent doses of local anesthetics shall be 
deemed to be subject to these requirements for office-based 
anesthesia in this part. 

3. Levels of anesthesia or sedation referred to in this 
chapter shall relate to the level of anesthesia or sedation 
intended and documented by the practitioner in the 
preoperative anesthesia plan.  

B. A doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry 
administering office-based anesthesia or supervising such 
administration shall:  

1. Perform a preanesthetic evaluation and examination or 
ensure that it has been performed;  
2. Develop the anesthesia plan or ensure that it has been 
developed;  
3. Ensure that the anesthesia plan has been discussed with 
the patient or responsible party preoperatively and 
informed consent has been obtained;  
4. Ensure patient assessment and monitoring through the 
pre-, peri- preprocedure, periprocedure, and post-procedure 
phases, addressing not only physical and functional status, 
but also physiological and cognitive status;  
5. Ensure provision of indicated post-anesthesia care; and  
6. Remain physically present or immediately available, as 
appropriate, to manage complications and emergencies 
until discharge criteria have been met; and 
7. Document any complications occurring during surgery 
or during recovery in the medical record. 

C. All written policies, procedures, and protocols required 
for office-based anesthesia shall be maintained and available 
for inspection at the facility.  
18VAC85-20-340. Procedure/anesthesia selection and 
patient evaluation.  

A. A written protocol shall be developed and followed for 
procedure selection to include but not be limited to:  

1. The doctor providing or supervising the anesthesia shall 
ensure that the procedure to be undertaken is within the 
scope of practice of the health care practitioners and the 
capabilities of the facility.  
2. The procedure or combined procedures shall be of a 
duration and degree of complexity that shall not exceed 
four hours and that will permit the patient to recover and 
be discharged from the facility in less than 24 hours. The 
procedure or combined procedures may be extended for up 
to eight hours if the anesthesia is provided by an 
anesthesiologist or a certified registered nurse [ anesthesist 
anesthetist ]. 
3. The level of anesthesia used shall be appropriate for the 
patient, the surgical procedure, the clinical setting, the 
education and training of the personnel, and the equipment 
available. The choice of specific anesthesia agents and 
techniques shall focus on providing an anesthetic that will 
be effective, and appropriate and will address the specific 
needs of patients while also ensuring rapid recovery to 
normal function with maximum efforts to control post-
operative pain, nausea, or other side effects.  



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

2985 

B. A written protocol shall be developed for patient 
evaluation to include but not be limited to:  

1. The preoperative anesthesia evaluation of a patient shall 
be performed by the health care practitioner administering 
the anesthesia or supervising the administration of 
anesthesia. It shall consist of performing an appropriate 
history and physical examination, determining the patient's 
physical status classification, developing a plan of 
anesthesia care, acquainting the patient or the responsible 
individual with the proposed plan, and discussing the risks 
and benefits.  
2. The condition of the patient, specific morbidities that 
complicate anesthetic management, the specific intrinsic 
risks involved, and the nature of the planned procedure 
shall be considered in evaluating a patient for office-based 
anesthesia.  
3. Patients who have pre-existing medical or other 
conditions that may be of particular risk for complications 
shall be referred to a facility appropriate for the procedure 
and administration of anesthesia. Nothing relieves the 
licensed health care practitioner of the responsibility to 
make a medical determination of the appropriate surgical 
facility or setting.  

C. Office-based anesthesia shall only be provided for 
patients in physical status classifications for Classes I, II and 
III. Patients in Classes IV and V shall not be provided 
anesthesia in an office-based setting.  
18VAC85-20-350. Informed consent.  

A. Prior to administration, the anesthesia plan shall be 
discussed with the patient or responsible party by the health 
care practitioner administering the anesthesia or supervising 
the administration of anesthesia. Informed consent for the 
nature and objectives of the anesthesia planned shall be in 
writing and obtained from the patient or responsible party 
before the procedure is performed. Such consent shall include 
a discussion of discharge planning and what care or assistance 
the patient is expected to require after discharge.  Informed 
consent shall only be obtained after a discussion of the risks, 
benefits, and alternatives, contain the name of the anesthesia 
provider, and be documented in the medical record.  

B. The surgical consent forms shall be executed by the 
patient or the responsible party and shall contain a statement 
that the doctor performing the surgery is board certified or 
board eligible by one of the American Board of Medical 
Specialties boards, the Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists of 
the American Osteopathic Association, or the American 
Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery. The forms shall either list 
which board or contain a statement that doctor performing the 
surgery is not board certified or board eligible. 

C. The surgical consent forms shall indicate whether the 
surgery is elective or medically necessary. If a consent is 
obtained in an emergency, the surgical consent form shall 
indicate the nature of the emergency. 

18VAC85-20-370. Emergency and transfer protocols.  
A. There shall be written protocols for handling emergency 

situations, including medical emergencies and internal and 
external disasters. All personnel shall be appropriately trained 
in and regularly review the protocols and the equipment and 
procedures for handing handling emergencies.  

B. There shall be written protocols for the timely and safe 
transfer of patients to a prespecified hospital or hospitals 
within a reasonable proximity. For purposes of this section, 
"reasonable proximity" shall mean that a licensed general 
hospital capable of providing necessary services is normally 
accessible within 30 minutes of the office. There shall be a 
written or electronic transfer agreement with such hospital or 
hospitals. 
18VAC85-20-380. Discharge policies and procedures.  

A. There shall be written policies and procedures outlining 
discharge criteria. Such criteria shall include stable vital 
signs, responsiveness and orientation, ability to move 
voluntarily, controlled pain, and minimal nausea and 
vomiting.  

B. Discharge from anesthesia care is the responsibility of the 
health care practitioner providing or the doctor supervising 
the anesthesia care and shall only occur when patients have: 

1. The patient has met specific physician-defined criteria; 
and 
2. The health care practitioner providing or the doctor 
supervising the anesthetic care has given the order for 
discharge.  

C. Written instructions and an emergency phone number 
shall be provided to the patient. Patients shall be discharged 
with a responsible individual who has been instructed with 
regard to the patient's care.  

D. At least one person trained in advanced resuscitative 
techniques shall be immediately available until all patients are 
discharged.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-01; Filed June 3, 2016, 2:59 p.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-540).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2016. 
Effective Date: August 11, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4416, FAX 
(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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Basis: Section 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia provides the 
Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia) that are reasonable and 
necessary to administer effectively the regulatory system.  
Purpose: The purpose of the planned regulatory action is to 
address an urgent problem. Omnicare, a CVS Health 
Company, provides long-term care pharmacy services to a 
diverse population of skilled nursing patients in Virginia to 
include subacute care for children. Specifically, the children 
in these facilities suffer from complex physical and 
neurological diseases and experience frequent seizures. As a 
result, nurses assigned to these pediatric units need immediate 
access to diazepam rectal gel in their emergency boxes. 
Limiting the access to this critical medication will most 
certainly threaten a successful patient outcome up to and 
including the survival of the patient. Unfortunately, current 
pharmacy regulation 18VAC110-20-550 does not allow a 
CIV rectal gel to be included in the contents allowed in the 
emergency box. The company requested the amendment to 
allow pharmacists to meet the needs of this fragile population. 
The request for limited access to the drug was approved to 
protect the health and safety of patients in a long-term care 
facility. Because 18VAC110-20-590 authorizes correctional 
facilities that employ one or more full-time physicians, 
nurses, or physician assistants to obtain an emergency kit in 
accordance with 18VAC110-20-540, patients in correctional 
facilities may also benefit from the inclusion of this drug in 
an emergency kit. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 
action will not be controversial as it is limited to making a 
small dosage of a drug that can be lifesaving available in an 
emergency situation. 
Substance: 18VAC110-20-540 is amended to allow a 
provider pharmacist, in consultation with medical and nursing 
staff, to include diazepam rectal gel in an emergency kit 
maintained in a long-term care facility. The amendment will 
also allow inmates in correctional facilities to potentially 
benefit from inclusion of this drug since 18VAC110-20-590 
allows for an emergency kit under certain circumstances, 
consistent with 18VAC110-20-540. 
Issues: The advantage to the public is availability of a drug 
that may be lifesaving to a small group of patients. There are 
no disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 
disadvantages to the agency. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to amend this regulation 
to allow a provider pharmacist, in consultation with medical 
and nursing staff, to include diazepam rectal gel in an 
emergency kit maintained in a long-term care facility. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Regulations Governing the 
Practice of Pharmacy specify that pharmacists may prepare an 
emergency kit for a long-term care facility in which access to 
the kit is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, or 
prescriber under certain conditions.1 The current regulation 
limits the contents of the kit to "drugs for administration by 
injection or inhalation only, except that Nitroglycerin SL may 
be included." The Board proposes to additionally allow 
diazepam rectal gel in the kit. Diazepam rectal gel is used in 
emergency situations to stop cluster seizures (episodes of 
increased seizure activity) in people who are taking other 
medications to treat epilepsy (seizures).2 
Children and adults in long-term care facilities who suffer 
from complex physical and neurological diseases and 
experience frequent seizures would benefit from having 
immediate access to diazepam rectal gel in the facilities' 
emergency boxes. Under the current regulation the gel can 
only be obtained by prescription as needed. The proposed 
amendment will be beneficial in that it will likely help 
improve patient outcomes for patients having seizures by 
allowing for immediate access to the gel. Since the regulation 
authorizes correctional facilities that employ one or more full-
time physicians, nurses, or physician assistants to obtain an 
emergency kit in accordance with the regulation, patients in 
correctional facilities may also benefit from the inclusion of 
this drug in an emergency kit. Since there is no apparent cost 
to the proposed amendment, the proposed addition of 
diazepam rectal gel to the allowable contents of emergency 
kits for long-term facilities creates a net benefit. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 
potentially affects 162 skilled nursing facilities in the 
Commonwealth,3 as well as correctional facilities.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 
does not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 
does not significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendment does not have significant effect on the 
use and value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment 
does not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendment does not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendment does not adversely affect small 
businesses. 
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Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendment does not adversely 
affect other entities. 
_________________________________________________ 
1http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency110/chapter20 
/section540/ 
2Source: U.S. National Library of Medicine 
(https://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a605033.html) 
3The number of affected facilities was estimated by Omnicare, a CVS Health 
Company, which supplies the facilities. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 
of Pharmacy concurs with the analysis of the Department of 
Planning and Budget on proposed amended regulations for 
18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Pharmacy. 
Summary: 

The amendments allow a provider pharmacist, in 
consultation with medical and nursing staff, to include 
diazepam rectal gel in an emergency kit maintained in a 
long-term care facility. 

18VAC110-20-540. Emergency drug kit.  
The pharmacist providing services may prepare an 

emergency kit for a long-term care facility in which access to 
the kit is restricted to a licensed nurse, pharmacist, or 
prescriber and only these licensed individuals may administer 
a drug taken from the kit and only under the following 
conditions:  

1. The contents of the emergency kit shall be of such a 
nature that the absence of the drugs would threaten the 
survival of the patients.  
2. The contents of the kit shall be determined by the 
provider pharmacist in consultation with the medical and 
nursing staff of the institutions and shall be limited to 
drugs for administration by injection or inhalation only, 
except that Nitroglycerin SL and diazepam rectal gel may 
be included.  
3. The kit is sealed in such a manner that it will preclude 
any possible loss of the drug.  

a. The dispensing pharmacy must have a method of 
sealing such kits so that once the seal is broken, it cannot 
be reasonably resealed without the breach being detected.  
b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 
alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication and/or, 
resealing, or both. The pharmacy shall maintain a record 
of the seal identifiers when placed on a box or kit and 
maintain the record until such time as the seal is 
replaced.  

c. In lieu of seals, a kit with a built-in mechanism 
preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 
the provider pharmacy is also acceptable.  

4. The kit shall have a form to be filled out upon opening 
the kit and removing contents to write the name of the 
person opening the kit, the date, time and name and 
quantity of item(s) items removed. The opened kit is 
maintained under secure conditions and returned to the 
pharmacy within 72 hours for replenishing.  
5. Any drug used from the kit shall be covered by a 
prescription, signed by the prescriber, when legally 
required, within 72 hours.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4671; Filed June 3, 2016, 4:25 p.m.  

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-40, 
18VAC140-20-45, 18VAC140-20-50 through 18VAC140-
20-70, 18VAC140-20-110, 18VAC140-20-150, 18VAC140-
20-160).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2016. 
Effective Date: August 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 
Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-
4435, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 
authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 
provides the Board of Social Work the authority to 
promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 
Purpose: The goals of the regulatory action are to address 
issues and a lack of clarity with some of the licensure 
requirements. More explicit but less restrictive application 
requirements may facilitate licensure for some clinical social 
workers who can provide mental health services in Virginia, 
but the requirement for a report from the national practitioner 
databank will ensure that applicants with a history of 
disciplinary action or malpractice will be carefully scrutinized 
before a licensure decision is made. Likewise, clarification of 
the regulations for supervised experience will ensure that 
supervisees are appropriately supervised in the provision of 
clinical services and therefore offer more protection for 
clients and the general public. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
amendments adopted are requested by the professional 
society, clarifying and intended to resolve issues with 
regulations, or are less restrictive for applicants and licensees. 
The amendments should not be controversial. 
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Substance: Licensure regulations are amended for (i) 
clarification of application requirements and inclusion of a 
requirement for submission of a current report from the 
national practitioner data bank about the disciplinary and 
malpractice history of the applicant; (ii) a reduction in the 
years of active practice required for endorsement or 
reinstatement; (iii) less restrictive and confusing requirement 
for hours of face-to-face client contact during supervision, for 
acceptance of supervision obtained in another U.S. 
jurisdiction, and fewer years of post-licensure experience 
required to be a supervisor; (iv) clarification about the 
requirement for registration of supervision whenever there is 
a change that affects the experience approved by the board; 
(v) more specificity about a request for extension of 
supervised practice and about the responsibilities of the 
supervisor; and (vi) clarification that the grounds for 
disciplinary action apply to registered supervisees as well as 
licensees. 
Issues: The primary advantages to the public are greater 
clarity about the responsibilities of supervisees and 
supervisors so persons receiving social work services, 
especially those that are clinical in nature, have more 
assurance of appropriateness and competency. Additionally, a 
less stringent practice requirement may enable a few clinical 
social workers to qualify for licensure by endorsement or 
reinstatement; there are no disadvantages to the public. 
The primary advantage to the agency is more clarity in 
regulation, which reduces questions and confusion; there are 
no disadvantages. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to amend its 
regulation to: 1) require applicants for licensure to submit a 
current malpractice and disciplinary history report from the 
National Practitioner Data Bank, 2) decrease the number of 
months of active practice required to qualify for licensure by 
endorsement, 3) make rules for hours of face-to-face client 
contact during supervision, and for supervision in general, 
less restrictive and complicated and 4) clarify that 
disciplinary rules apply to registered supervisees as well as 
Board licensees.  
Result of Analysis. Benefits likely outweigh costs for these 
proposed regulatory changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. Current regulation requires 
applicants for licensure to submit varying types of 
documents/information depending on whether the applicant is 
seeking licensure by examination or licensure by 
endorsement. The Board proposes to require applicants on 
both licensure paths to additionally submit a current report 
from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
National Practitioner Data Bank that will show their 
malpractice and disciplinary history (if any). This report will 
cost applicants $5 and is not duplicative of other information 

that is already required. Requiring this report will allow the 
Board to weed out potential licensees that might do harm to 
their future clients if licensed in Virginia. Given this, the 
benefits of requiring this report likely outweigh the costs of 
doing so. 
Current regulation requires, in two of its experience options, 
that applicants for licensure by endorsement provide evidence 
of active practice for 36 of the 60 months immediately 
preceding application for licensure. The Board now proposes 
to lower this requirement so that applicants meeting one of 
these options will only have to have actively practiced for 24 
of the preceding 60 months. This change will still allow the 
Board assurance that the applicant has practiced for a 
substantial period of time without issues while allowing a 
greater number of social workers from other states to qualify 
for licensure in Virginia. This will likely benefit those 
individuals as well as providing more choices to Virginians 
seeking these licensed services. 
Currently, the Board requires individuals who are completing 
the supervised practice necessary for licensure to, among 
other things, 1) get pre-approval of supervision (so that 
supervision will count toward licensure requirements), 2) 
complete 15 hours of face-to-face client contact per 40 hours 
of work experience, 3) complete all supervised experience in 
the delivery of clinical social work services and 4) complete 
all required supervised work experience within four years 
unless the Board approves an extension for the supervisee. 
The Board currently requires supervisors to have at least three 
years of post-licensure work experience. In order to both 
simplify these rules and make them less restrictive, the Board 
proposes to 1) allow an exception for Board pre-approval of 
supervision for individuals who obtained their supervised 
work experience in another U.S. state or territory and met the 
requirements of that jurisdiction, 2) be less proscriptive about 
the ratio of face-to-face contact hours to total supervised 
experience by only specifying that face-to-face contact hours 
must be obtained throughout the hours of supervision, 3) 
allow supervised experience in ancillary services that support 
the delivery of clinical social work services to also count 
toward supervision requirements and 4) specify that 
supervisees may obtain an extension of 12 months to 
complete supervised experience requirements. The Board also 
proposes to only require licensees to have completed two 
(rather than three) years of post-licensure work experience in 
order to qualify to provide supervision. Taken together all of 
these changes will tend to make the rules of supervision 
easier to understand and easier to meet. Both supervisors and 
supervisees will benefit from these changes. In particular, 
decreasing the number of years of post-licensure work 
experience required will allow more licensees to qualify as 
supervisors which will, in turn, make it easier for individuals 
working to meet licensure requirements to find a supervisor. 
Allowing supervision completed in other U.S. jurisdictions to 
count toward licensure requirements will likely allow more 
individuals moving into the state to qualify for licensure more 
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quickly (as they would not have to re-do supervised 
experience already obtained in another state). 
In addition to these substantive changes, the Board also 
proposes to clarify that supervisees, as individuals regulated 
by the Board, are also subject to Board discipline. Toward 
this end, the Board proposes to add supervisees to the 
disciplinary rule that discourages licensees from treating 
individuals with whom they have another pre-existing 
relationship so that supervisees know that they are also 
expected to follow this rule. No entity is likely to incur costs 
on account of this change. To the extent that this change 
reinforces to supervisees that they should not engage in dual 
relationships, this change will provide a benefit to those 
supervisees. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. Board staff reports that the 
Board currently licenses 5,933 clinical social workers and 581 
social workers. Additionally, the Board currently has 1,459 
registered supervisees. All of these entities, as well as any 
future licensees and supervisees, will be affected by these 
regulatory changes. Based on survey data collected by the 
Healthcare Workforce Data Center at the Department of 
Health Professions, approximately 38% of clinical social 
workers (approximately 2,255 of the currently licensed 
clinical social workers) are in solo or group private practice 
and would likely qualify as small businesses. 
Localities Particularly Affected. No locality will be 
particularly affected by this regulatory change.  
Projected Impact on Employment. Requiring fewer months of 
active practice for licensure by endorsement may make a 
greater number of social workers and clinical social workers 
who have practiced in other states eligible for licensure in 
Virginia. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. These 
proposed regulatory changes are unlikely to affect the use or 
value of private property in the Commonwealth. 
Real Estate Development Costs. These proposed regulatory 
changes are unlikely to affect real estate development costs in 
the Commonwealth. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. Small businesses are unlikely to 
incur any costs on account of these proposed regulatory 
changes. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. Small 
businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on account of these 
proposed regulatory changes.  

Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. Businesses are unlikely to incur any costs on 
account of these proposed regulatory changes. 
Localities. Localities in the Commonwealth are unlikely to 
see any adverse impacts on account of this proposed 
regulatory change. 
Other Entities. Individuals seeking licensure in the 
Commonwealth as social workers and clinical social workers 
will incur an additional $5 fee for obtaining a current 
malpractice and disciplinary history report from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis. The Board 
of Social Work concurs with the economic impact analysis of 
the Department of Planning and Budget. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify application requirements and 
include a requirement for submission of a current report 
from the National Practitioner Data Bank about the 
disciplinary and malpractice history of the applicant; (ii) 
reduce the years of active practice required for 
endorsement or reinstatement; (iii) clarify and reduce a 
requirement for hours of face-to-face client contact during 
supervision, for acceptance of supervision obtained in 
another U.S. jurisdiction, and for years of post-licensure 
experience required to be a supervisor; (iv) clarify the 
requirement for registration of supervision whenever there 
is a change that affects the experience approved by the 
board; (v) specify requirements for a request for extension 
of supervised practice and the responsibilities of the 
supervisor; and (vi) clarify that the grounds for 
disciplinary action apply to registered supervisees as well 
as licensees. 

Part II  
Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC140-20-40. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed clinical social worker. 

Every applicant for examination for licensure as a licensed 
clinical social worker shall: 

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC140-20-49 and experience requirements prescribed 
in 18VAC140-20-50. 
2. Submit a completed application to the board office to 
include: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-50 along with 
documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 
where applicable. Applicants whose former supervisor is 
deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 
submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 
chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 
partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 
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affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 
address, and the total number of hours spent by the 
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision;  
b. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30;  
c. Official transcript or documentation submitted from 
the appropriate institutions of higher education that 
verifies successful completion of educational 
requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-49; and  
d. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state any other 
health or mental health licensure or certification where, if 
applicable; and 
e. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 
(NPDB). 

3. Provide evidence of passage of the examination 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70. If the examination was 
not passed within five years preceding application for 
licensure, the applicant may qualify by documentation of 
providing clinical social work services in an exempt setting 
for at least 360 hours per year for two of the past five 
years. 

18VAC140-20-45. Requirements for licensure by 
endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall 
submit in one package:  

1. A completed application and the application fee 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  
2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good 
standing obtained by standards required for licensure in 
another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing 
agency on a board-approved form. Licensure in the other 
jurisdiction shall be of a comparable type as the licensure 
that the applicant is seeking in Virginia. 
3. Verification of a passing score on a board-approved 
national exam at the level for which the applicant is 
seeking licensure in Virginia.  
4. Documentation of any other health or mental health 
licensure or certification, if applicable. 
5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  
4. 6. Verification of active: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is 
seeking licensure in another United States jurisdiction or 
practice for 24 out of the past 60 months;  
b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for 
which the applicant is seeking licensure for 36 24 out of 
the past 60 months; or evidence 
c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements 
substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-
20-50 A 2 and A 3 and 18VAC140-20-60 C 2 and C 3. 

5. 7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in 
any pending or unresolved board action in another 
jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.  

B. If an applicant for licensure by endorsement has not 
passed a board-approved national examination at the level for 
which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia, the board 
may approve the applicant to sit for such examination. 
18VAC140-20-50. Experience requirements for a licensed 
clinical social worker. 

A. Supervised experience. Supervised post-master's degree 
experience in all settings obtained in Virginia without prior 
written board approval will not be accepted toward licensure, 
except supervision obtained in another United States 
jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the requirements of that 
jurisdiction. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 
supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia 
shall, prior to the onset of such supervision: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 
completed by the supervisor and the supervised 
individual; and  
b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum 
of 3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree 
experience in the delivery of clinical social work services 
and in ancillary services that support such delivery. A 
minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours of 
face-to-face supervision shall be provided per 40 hours of 
work experience for a total of at least 100 hours. No more 
than 50 of the 100 hours may be obtained in group 
supervision, nor shall there be more than six persons being 
supervised in a group unless approved in advance by the 
board. The board may consider alternatives to face-to-face 
supervision if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 
burden due to hardship, disability or geography. 

a. Experience Supervised experience shall be acquired in 
no less than two nor more than four consecutive years. 
b. Supervisees shall average no less than 15 hours per 40 
hours of work experience in face-to-face client contact 
for obtain throughout their hours of supervision a 
minimum of 1,380 hours of supervised experience in 
face-to-face client contact in the delivery of clinical 
social work services. The remaining hours may be spent 
in ancillary services supporting the delivery of clinical 
social work services. 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision 
requirement after four consecutive years of supervised 
experience shall submit evidence to the board showing 
why the training should be allowed to continue may 
request an extension of up to 12 months.  The request for 
an extension shall include evidence that demonstrates 
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extenuating circumstances that prevented completion of the 
supervised experience within four consecutive years. 

B. Requirements for supervisors. 
1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license 
as a licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in 
which the clinical services are being rendered with at least 
three two years of post-licensure clinical social work 
experience. The board may consider supervisors with 
commensurate qualifications if the applicant can 
demonstrate an undue burden due to geography or 
disability or if supervision was obtained in another United 
States jurisdiction. 
2. The supervisor shall have received professional training 
in supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate 
course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing 
education offered by a provider approved under 
18VAC140-20-105. The graduate course or hours of 
continuing education in supervision shall be obtained by a 
supervisor within five years immediately preceding 
registration of supervision. 
3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family 
member of his immediate family or provide supervision for 
anyone with whom he has a dual relationship. 
4. The board may consider supervisors from jurisdictions 
outside of Virginia who provided clinical social work 
supervision if they have commensurate qualifications but 
were either (i) not licensed because their jurisdiction did 
not require licensure or (ii) were not designated as clinical 
social workers because the jurisdiction did not require such 
designation. 

C. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 
1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the 
supervisee as set forth in this subsection once the 
supervisory arrangement is accepted; 
2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 
treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 
assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 
The sample should be representative of the variables of 
gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and treatment 
method within the client population seen by the applicant. 
It is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor; 
3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities 
for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is 
competent to provide to clients; 
4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified by education, training and 
experience; 
5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 
minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 
base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing 
and monitoring a treatment plan, development and 

appropriate use of the professional relationship, assessing 
the client for risk of imminent danger, understanding the 
requirements of law for reporting any harm or risk of harm 
to self or others, and implementing a professional and 
ethical relationship with clients; 
6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 
basis for supervision; and 
7. Maintain documentation, for five years post-supervision, 
of which clients were the subject of supervision; and 
8. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 
supervision or if supervision has ended or been terminated 
by the supervisor. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisees. 
1. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered 
or in any way represent themselves as independent, 
autonomous practitioners, or licensed clinical social 
workers.  
2. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 
their names and the initials of their degree, and the title 
"Supervisee in Social Work" in all written 
communications.  
3. Clients shall be informed in writing of the supervisee's 
status and the supervisor's name, professional address, and 
phone number. 
4. Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical 
social work services provided by another person. 

18VAC140-20-51. Requirements for licensure by 
examination as a licensed social worker. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the board-approved 
examination for a licensed social worker, an applicant shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 
18VAC140-20-60 A. 
2. Submit a completed application to the board office to 
include: 

a. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; 
and 
b. Official transcript or transcripts submitted from the 
appropriate institutions of higher education. 

B. In order to be licensed by examination as a licensed 
social worker, an applicant shall: 

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60; and 
2. Submit, in addition to the application requirements of 
subsection A of this section, the following: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 
successful completion of the supervised experience 
requirements of 18VAC140-20-60 along with 
documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license 
where applicable. An applicant whose former supervisor 
is deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall 
submit to the board a notarized affidavit from the present 
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chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or 
partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The 
affidavit shall specify dates of employment, job 
responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known 
address, and the total number of hours spent by the 
applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision; 
b. Verification of a passing score on the board-approved 
national examination; and 
c. Documentation of applicant's out-of-state any other 
health or mental health licensure or certification where, if 
applicable; and 
d. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 
(NPDB). 

3. Provide evidence of passage of the examination 
prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70. If the examination was 
not passed within five years preceding application for 
licensure, the applicant may qualify by documentation of 
providing social work services in an exempt setting for at 
least 360 hours per year for two of the past five years. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements 
for a licensed social worker. 

A. Education. The applicant shall hold a bachelor's or a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work. 
Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 
equivalency of their education to this requirement through the 
Foreign Equivalency Determination Service of the Council on 
Social Work Education. 

B. Master's degree applicant. An applicant who holds a 
master's degree may apply for licensure as a licensed social 
worker without documentation of supervised experience. 

C. Bachelor's degree applicant Supervised experience 
requirement. Supervised experience in all settings obtained in 
Virginia without prior written board approval will not be 
accepted toward licensure, except supervision obtained in 
another United States jurisdiction may be accepted if it met 
the requirements of that jurisdiction.  

1. Registration. Prior to the onset of supervision, an 
individual who proposes to obtain supervised experience in 
Virginia shall: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and 
completed by the supervisor and the supervised 
individual; and  
b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 
18VAC140-20-30. 

1. 2. Hours. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have 
completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised post-
bachelor's degree experience in casework management and 
supportive services under supervision satisfactory to the 
board. A minimum of one hour and a maximum of four 
hours of face-to-face supervision shall be provided per 40 
hours of work experience for a total of at least 100 hours. 

2. Experience 3. Supervised experience shall be acquired in 
no less than two nor more than four consecutive years from 
the beginning of the supervised experience. An individual 
who does not complete the supervision requirement after 
four consecutive years of supervised experience may 
request an extension of up to 12 months. The request for an 
extension shall include evidence that demonstrates 
extenuating circumstances that prevented completion of the 
supervised experience within four consecutive years. 

D. Requirements for supervisors. 
1. The supervisor providing supervision shall hold an 
active, unrestricted license as a licensed social worker with 
a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a 
bachelor's degree and at least three years of post-licensure 
social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 
in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are 
being rendered. If this requirement places an undue burden 
on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board 
may consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 
2. The supervisor shall: 

a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the 
prospective applicant once the supervisory arrangement 
is accepted by the board; 
b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan 
of a representative sample of cases assigned to the 
applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 
should be representative of the variables of gender, age, 
assessment, length of service and casework method 
within the client population seen by the applicant. It is 
the applicant's responsibility to assure the 
representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 
supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the 
applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision. 
The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five 
years post supervision, of which clients were the subject 
of supervision;  
c. Provide supervision only for those casework 
management and support services activities for which the 
supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to 
provide to clients;  
d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which 
the supervisor is qualified; and  
e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional 
ethics and professional competency; and 
f. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 
supervision or if the supervision has ended or has been 
terminated by the supervisor. 

3. Supervision between members of the immediate family 
(to include spouses, parents, and siblings) will not be 
approved The supervisor shall not provide supervision for 
a family member or provide supervision for anyone with 
whom the supervisor has a dual relationship. 
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Part III  
Examinations  

18VAC140-20-70. Examination requirement. 
A. An applicant for licensure by the board as a social worker 

or clinical social worker shall pass a written examination 
prescribed by the board. 

1. The examination prescribed for licensure as a clinical 
social worker shall be the licensing examination of the 
Association of Social Work Boards at the clinical level. 
2. The examination prescribed for licensure as a social 
worker shall minimally be the licensing examination of the 
Association of Social Work Boards at the bachelor's level. 

B. A candidate approved by the board to sit for an 
examination shall take that examination within two years of 
the date of the initial board approval. If the candidate has not 
passed the examination by the end of the two-year period here 
prescribed, the applicant shall reapply according to the 
requirements of the regulations in effect at that time. After an 
applicant has failed the examination twice, he shall be 
required to register for supervision and complete one 
additional year as a supervisee before approval to re-take the 
examination is granted. 
18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; 
reactivation.  

A. A social worker or clinical social worker whose license 
has expired may renew that license within one year after its 
expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable 
continuing education requirements.  
2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee 
as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

B. A social worker or clinical social worker who fails to 
renew the license after one year and who wishes to resume 
practice shall apply for reinstatement and pay the 
reinstatement fee, which shall consist of the application 
processing fee and the penalty fee for late renewal, as set 
forth in 18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for reinstatement 
shall also provide documentation of having completed all 
applicable continued competency hours equal to the number 
of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years. An 
applicant for reinstatement shall also provide evidence of 
competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. United States jurisdiction 
for at least three of the past five years 24 out of the past 60 
months immediately preceding application;  
2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 
the past five years 24 out of the past 60 months 
immediately preceding application; or 
3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 
360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 
licensure in Virginia. 

C. A social worker or clinical social worker wishing to 
reactivate an inactive license shall submit the renewal fee for 
active licensure minus any fee already paid for inactive 
licensure renewal, and document completion of continued 
competency hours equal to the number of years the license 
has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An applicant for 
reactivation who has been inactive for four or more years 
shall also provide evidence of competency to practice by 
documenting: 

1. Active practice in another U.S. United States jurisdiction 
for at least three of the past five years 24 out of the past 60 
months immediately preceding application; 
2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least three of 
the past five years 24 out of the past 60 months 
immediately preceding application; or 
3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 
360 hours in the 12 months immediately preceding 
licensure in Virginia. 

Part V  
Standards of Practice  

18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 
A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide 
in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 
persons whose activities are regulated by the board. 
Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 
telephone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the 
practice of social work. 

B. Persons licensed as social workers and clinical social 
workers shall: 

1. Be able to justify all services rendered to or on behalf of 
clients as necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 
2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 
interrupted or terminated. 
3. Practice only within the competency areas for which 
they are qualified by education and experience. 
4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 
laws and regulations governing the practice of social work. 
5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 
forms of remuneration for referral of clients for 
professional services. 
6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 
arrangements before rendering services. 
7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 
and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that 
clients have provided informed written consent to 
treatment. 
8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with 
clients and disclose client records to others only with 
written consent of the client, with the following 
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exceptions: (i) when the client is a danger to self or others; 
or (ii) as required by law. 
9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure that 
such advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 
10. As treatment requires and with the written consent of 
the client, collaborate with other health or mental health 
providers concurrently providing services to the client. 
11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which one's 
personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or 
harmful services. 
12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 
shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code 
of Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 
client to include identifying information and assessment 
that substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans. Each 
record shall include a diagnosis and treatment plan, 
progress notes for each case activity, information received 
from all collaborative contacts and the treatment 
implications of that information, and the termination 
process and summary. 
2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees 
of the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 
destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 
that ensures client confidentiality. 
3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 
expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 
representative or as mandated by law. 
4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 
clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from 
clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) 
videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-
party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 
and clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 
presentations. 
5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as 
otherwise required by law from the date of termination of 
the therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 
maintained for six years after attaining the age of 
majority or 10 years following termination, whichever 
comes later. 
b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 
federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 
c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 
health professional or have been given to the client or his 
legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 
board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 
former client supervisee that could impair professional 
judgment or increase the risk of exploitation or harm to the 
client or supervisee. (Examples of such a relationship 
include, but are not limited to, familial, social, financial, 
business, bartering, or a close personal relationship with a 
client or supervisee.) Social workers shall take appropriate 
professional precautions when a dual relationship cannot 
be avoided, such as informed consent, consultation, 
supervision, and documentation to ensure that judgment is 
not impaired and no exploitation occurs. 
2. Not have any type of romantic relationship or sexual 
intimacies with a client or those included in collateral 
therapeutic services, and not provide services to those 
persons with whom they have had a romantic or sexual 
relationship. Social workers shall not engage in romantic 
relationship or sexual intimacies with a former client 
within a minimum of five years after terminating the 
professional relationship. Social workers who engage in 
such a relationship after five years following termination 
shall have the responsibility to examine and document 
thoroughly that such a relationship did not have an 
exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of 
therapy, amount of time since therapy, termination 
circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, 
adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, 
initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 
involvement with a social worker does not change the 
nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition. 
3. Not engage in any romantic or sexual relationship or 
establish a therapeutic relationship with a current 
supervisee or student. Social workers shall avoid any 
nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or student in 
which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the 
supervisee or student, or the potential for interference with 
the supervisor's professional judgment. 
4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 
the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 
involved. 
5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former 
client in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 
harm or if the former client continues to relate to the social 
worker in his professional capacity. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 
probability that another mental health provider is or may be 
guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 
statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall 
advise their clients of their right to report such misconduct to 
the Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 
54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 
18VAC140-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or 
denial of issuance of a license or registration. 

The board may refuse to admit an applicant to an 
examination; refuse to issue a license or registration to an 
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applicant; or reprimand, impose a monetary penalty, place on 
probation, impose such terms as it may designate, suspend for 
a stated period of time or indefinitely, or revoke a license or 
registration for one or more of the following grounds: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving 
moral turpitude; 
2. Procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation; 
3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 
make the practice a danger to the health and welfare of 
one's clients or to the public. In the event a question arises 
concerning the continued competence of a licensee, the 
board will consider evidence of continuing education. 
4. Being unable to practice social work with reasonable 
skill and safety to clients by reason of illness, excessive 
use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other 
type of material or as a result of any mental or physical 
condition; 
5. Conducting one's practice in a manner contrary to the 
standards of ethics of social work or in violation of 
18VAC140-20-150, standards of practice; 
6. Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of 
competency; 
7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 
requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-105; and 
8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 
statute applicable to the practice of social work or any 
provision of this chapter; and 
9. Failure to provide supervision in accordance with the 
provisions of 18VAC140-20-50 or 18VAC140-20-60. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4473; Filed June 3, 2016, 4:27 p.m.  

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-130; adding 18VAC150-20-173).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the requirement that a 
veterinary college student be in the final year of training to 
engage in a preceptorship or externship; (ii) require that 
whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is performing 
surgery, the supervising veterinarian shall be in the 
operatory; and (iii) require disclosure whenever a 
veterinary preceptee or extern is practicing in the 
veterinary establishment. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  
18VAC150-20-130. Requirements for practical training in 
a preceptorship or externship. 

A. The practical training and employment of qualified 
students of veterinary medicine or veterinary technology shall 
be governed and controlled as follows: 

1. A veterinary student who is duly enrolled and in good 
standing in a veterinary college or school accredited or 
approved by the AVMA and in the final year of his 
training or after completion of an equivalent number of 
hours as approved by the board may be engaged in a 
preceptorship or externship. A veterinary preceptee or 
extern may perform duties that constitute the practice of 
veterinary medicine for which he has received adequate 
instruction by the college or school and only under the on-
premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian. 
2. A veterinary technician student who is duly enrolled and 
in good standing in a veterinary technology program 
accredited or approved by the AVMA may be engaged in a 
preceptorship or externship. A veterinary technician 
preceptee or extern may perform duties that constitute the 
practice of veterinary technology for which he has received 
adequate instruction by the program and only under the on-
premises supervision of a licensed veterinarian or licensed 
veterinary technician. 

B. Whenever a veterinary preceptee or extern is performing 
surgery on a patient, either assisted or unassisted, the 
supervising veterinarian shall be in the operatory during the 
procedure. Prior to allowing a preceptee or extern in 
veterinary medicine to perform surgery on a patient 
unassisted by a licensed veterinarian, a licensed veterinarian 
shall receive written approval from the client owner.  

C. When there is a preceptee or extern practicing in the 
establishment, the supervising veterinarian shall disclose such 
practice to owners. The disclosure shall be by signage clearly 
visible to the public or by inclusion on an informed consent 
form.  

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician who supervises a 
preceptee or extern remains responsible for the care and 
treatment of the patient. 
18VAC150-20-173. Informed consent for surgery. 

A. Before surgery is performed, informed consent shall be 
obtained from the owner and documented in the patient 
record. Veterinarians shall inform an owner of the risks, 
benefits, and alternatives of the recommended surgery that a 
reasonably prudent practitioner in similar practice in Virginia 
would tell an owner.  

B. An exception to the requirement for consent prior to 
performance of surgery may be made in an emergency 
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situation when a delay in obtaining consent would likely 
result in imminent harm to the patient. 

C. If a veterinary student is to perform the surgery, the 
informed consent shall include that information. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-14; Filed June 3, 2016, 3:02 p.m.  

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 
18VAC150-20-10, 18VAC150-20-140).  
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: July 27, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 
Board of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 
300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4468, FAX 
(804) 527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) define a specialist as a veterinarian 
who has been awarded and has maintained the status of 
diplomate of a specialty organization recognized by the 
American Board of Veterinary Specialties of the American 
Veterinary Medical Association, or any other organization 
approved by the board, and (ii) provide that representing 
oneself as a specialist without meeting that definition or 
representing a practice as a specialty practice without 
having a specialist on staff is unprofessional conduct. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

Part I  
General Provisions  

18VAC150-20-10. Definitions. 
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Animal shelter" means a facility, other than a private 
residential dwelling and its surrounding grounds, that is used 
to house or contain animals and that is owned, operated, or 
maintained by a nongovernmental entity including, but not 
limited to, a humane society, animal welfare organization, 
society for the prevention of cruelty to animals, or any other 
organization operating for the purpose of finding permanent 
adoptive homes for animals. 

"Automatic emergency lighting" is lighting that is powered 
by battery, generator, or alternate power source other than 
electrical power, is activated automatically by electrical 
power failure, and provides sufficient light to complete 
surgery or to stabilize the animal until surgery can be 
continued or the animal moved to another establishment. 

"AVMA" means the American Veterinary Medical 
Association. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. 
"Companion animal" means any dog, cat, horse, nonhuman 

primate, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit not raised for human food 
or fiber, exotic or native animal, reptile, exotic or native bird, 
or any feral animal or animal under the care, custody or 
ownership of a person or any animal that is bought, sold, 
traded, or bartered by any person. Agricultural animals, game 
species, or any animals regulated under federal law as 
research animals shall not be considered companion animals 
for the purposes of this chapter. 

"CVMA" means the Canadian Veterinary Medical 
Association. 

"Full-service establishment" means a stationary or 
ambulatory facility that provides surgery and encompasses all 
aspects of health care for small or large animals, or both. 

"Immediate and direct supervision" means that the licensed 
veterinarian is immediately available to the licensed 
veterinary technician or assistant, either electronically or in 
person, and provides a specific order based on observation 
and diagnosis of the patient within the last 36 hours. 

"Owner" means any person who (i) has a right of property in 
an animal; (ii) keeps or harbors an animal; (iii) has an animal 
in his care; or (iv) acts as a custodian of an animal. 

"Pound" means a facility operated by the state or a locality 
for the purpose of impounding or harboring seized, stray, 
homeless, abandoned, or unwanted animals; or a facility 
operated for the same purpose under a contract with a locality 
or an incorporated society for the prevention of cruelty to 
animals.  

"Preceptorship or externship" means a formal arrangement 
between an AVMA accredited college of veterinary medicine 
or an AVMA accredited veterinary technology program and a 
veterinarian who is licensed by the board and responsible for 
the practice of the preceptee. A preceptorship or externship 
shall be overseen by faculty of the college or program. 

"Professional judgment" includes any decision or conduct in 
the practice of veterinary medicine, as defined by § 54.1-3800 
of the Code of Virginia. 

"Restricted service establishment" means a stationary or 
ambulatory facility which does not meet the requirements of a 
full-service establishment. 

"Specialist" means a veterinarian who has [ completed the 
requirements to become a been awarded and has maintained 
the status of ] diplomate of a specialty organization 
recognized by the American Board of Veterinary Specialties 
of the American Veterinary Medical Association, or any other 
organization approved by the board. 

"Surgery" means treatment through revision, destruction, 
incision or other structural alteration of animal tissue. Surgery 
does not include dental extractions of single-rooted teeth or 
skin closures performed by a licensed veterinary technician 
upon a diagnosis and pursuant to direct orders from a 
veterinarian. 
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"Veterinarian in charge" means a veterinarian who holds an 
active license in Virginia and who is responsible for 
maintaining a veterinary establishment within the standards 
set by this chapter, for complying with federal and state laws 
and regulations, and for notifying the board of the 
establishment's closure. 

"Veterinary establishment" means any fixed or mobile 
practice, veterinary hospital, animal hospital or premises 
wherein or out of which veterinary medicine is being 
conducted. 

Part III  
Unprofessional Conduct  

18VAC150-20-140. Unprofessional conduct. 
Unprofessional conduct as referenced in subdivision 5 of 

§ 54.1-3807(5) of the Code of Virginia shall include the 
following:  

1. Representing conflicting interests except by express 
consent of all concerned given after a full disclosure of the 
facts. Acceptance of a fee from both the buyer and the 
seller is prima facie evidence of a conflict of interest. 
2. Practicing veterinary medicine or equine dentistry where 
an unlicensed person has the authority to control the 
professional judgment of the licensed veterinarian or the 
equine dental technician. 
3. Issuing a certificate of health unless he shall know of his 
own knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests 
of the animals that the animals meet the requirements for 
the issuance of such certificate on the day issued. 
4. Revealing confidences gained in the course of providing 
veterinary services to a client, unless required by law or 
necessary to protect the health, safety or welfare of other 
persons or animals. 
5. Advertising in a manner which is false, deceptive, or 
misleading or which makes subjective claims of 
superiority. 
6. Violating any state law, federal law, or board regulation 
pertaining to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or equine dentistry. 
7. Practicing veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician in such a manner as to endanger the health and 
welfare of his patients or the public, or being unable to 
practice veterinary medicine or as an equine dental 
technician with reasonable skill and safety. 
8. Performing surgery on animals in an unregistered 
veterinary establishment or not in accordance with the 
establishment permit or with accepted standards of 
practice. 
9. Refusing the board or its agent the right to inspect an 
establishment at reasonable hours. 
10. Allowing unlicensed persons to perform acts restricted 
to the practice of veterinary medicine, veterinary 
technology or an equine dental technician including any 

invasive procedure on a patient or delegation of tasks to 
persons who are not properly trained or authorized to 
perform such tasks. 
11. Failing to provide immediate and direct supervision to 
a licensed veterinary technician or an assistant in his 
employ. 
12. Refusing to release a copy of a valid prescription upon 
request from a client. 
13. Misrepresenting or falsifying information on an 
application or renewal form. 
14. Failing to report suspected animal cruelty to the 
appropriate authorities. 
15. Failing to release patient records when requested by the 
owner; a law-enforcement entity; or a federal, state, or 
local health regulatory agency. 
16. Committing an act constituting fraud, deceit, or 
misrepresentation in dealing with the board or in the 
veterinarian-client-patient relationship. 
17. Representing oneself as a "specialist" without meeting 
the definition set forth in 18VAC150-20-10 or using the 
words "specialist" or "specialty" in the name of a 
veterinary establishment unless there is a veterinarian on 
staff who meets the definition of a "specialist." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R15-16; Filed June 3, 2016, 3:02 p.m.  

BOARD FOR WASTE MANAGEMENT FACILITY 
OPERATORS 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 18VAC155-20. Waste Management 
Facility Operators Regulations (amending 18VAC155-20-
10, 18VAC155-20-40, 18VAC155-20-110, 18VAC155-20-
120, 18VAC155-20-130, 18VAC155-20-140, 18VAC155-
20-160, 18VAC155-20-220, 18VAC155-20-230, 
18VAC155-20-280; adding 18VAC155-20-235, 
18VAC155-20-285; repealing 18VAC155-20-20, 
18VAC155-20-30, 18VAC155-20-100, 18VAC155-20-150, 
18VAC155-20-175).  
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2211 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: August 1, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Waste Management Facility Operators, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8511, 
FAX (866) 430-1033, or email wastemgt@dpor.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) eliminate language that is duplicative 
of the Code of Virginia or board agreements, clarify 
existing sections, and consolidate duplicative sections; (ii) 
require that applicants for licensure follow the rules of 
facilities where they take their licensure exams; and (iii) 
simplify eligibility requirements by eliminating the 
application fee for training course approval, the 
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requirement that applicants for licensure who have failed 
the written examination twice recomplete all initial 
training, and the requirement that applicants for initial 
licensure have successfully completed high school or a 
college degree program or have received a generalized 
equivalency diploma. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 
public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

Part I  
General  

18VAC155-20-10. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

*"Board" means the Board for Waste Management Facility 
Operators.  

[ "Board-approved training course" means a course that has 
been approved by the board to provide appropriate training to 
an applicant in accordance with this chapter. ]  

"Class I license" means the authorization from the board to 
act as a waste management facility operator of a transfer 
station, a material recovery facility receiving mixed waste, an 
experimental facility, or a composting facility receiving yard 
waste.  

"Class II license" means the authorization from the board to 
act as a waste management facility operator of a facility that 
composts municipal solid waste, a sanitary landfill, an 
industrial landfill, a construction landfill or a debris landfill.  

"Class III license" means the authorization from the board to 
act as a waste management facility operator of an infectious 
waste incinerator or autoclave.  

"Class IV license" means the authorization from the board to 
act as a waste management facility operator of a municipal 
waste combustor.  

"Closed facility" means a solid waste management facility 
that has been properly secured in accordance with an 
approved facility closure plan.  

"Closure" means an act of securing a solid waste 
management facility pursuant to the requirements established 
by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality or 
appropriate regulatory authority.  

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of participation in a group 
program or 60 minutes of completion time for a project.  

"Continuing professional education/training (CPE/T)" 
means an integral part of the lifelong learning process that 
enables a licensed solid waste management facility operator 
to maintain and increase the competence required to assure 
the public's protection, which shall be pursued through an 
organized program or project in compliance with this chapter.  

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulation.  

"Full-time employment" means 1,760 hours per year or 220 
work days per year.  

[ "In charge" means the designation of any person by the 
owner to have duty and authority to operate or modify the 
operation of a waste management facility. ]  

"License" means an authorization issued by the board to an 
individual to practice as a waste management facility operator 
who meets the provisions of this chapter.  

"Municipal solid waste (MSW)" means that waste that is 
defined as "municipal solid waste" in [ 9VAC20-80-10 
9VAC20-81-10 ].  

"Municipal waste combustor" means a mass burn or a refuse 
derived fuel incinerator or facility designed or modified for 
the purpose of noninfectious solid waste combustion.  

"Operation" means any waste management facility that is 
under construction, treating, processing, storing or disposing 
of solid waste, or in the act of securing a facility for closure [ 
as defined in 9VAC20-81-10 ].  

"Organized program" means a formal learning process 
designed to permit a participant to learn a given subject or 
subjects through interaction with an instructor in a formal 
course, seminar or conference [ as approved by the board ].  

"Owner" means the person who owns a solid waste 
management facility or part of a solid waste management 
facility.  

*"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, governmental body, municipal corporation or any 
other legal entity.  

[ "Project" means a learning process designed to permit a 
participant to perform work assigned by the owner, operator 
or manager of a waste management facility under the 
supervision of a knowledgeable person that results in a 
specific, predetermined end result and that increases the 
participant's competence to practice as a waste management 
facility operator.  

"Site" means within the vicinity of all land and structures, 
other appurtenances, and improvements thereon used for 
treating, storing, and disposing of solid waste. This term 
includes adjacent land within the property boundary used for 
the utility systems such as repair, storage, shipping or 
processing areas, or other areas incident to the management 
of solid waste. ]  

"Solid waste" means any of those materials [ defined 
identified ] as nonhazardous solid waste in [ regulations 
promulgated by the Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality 9VAC20-81-95 ]. 

[ "Storage" means housing a solid waste as consistent with 
the regulations of the Virginia Waste Management Board.  

"Substantial change" means a deviation from a specific 
course that decreases the approved time of the course by more 
than 30 minutes or modifies the topics of the approved course 
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to below the target levels of knowledge, as stated in the 
course application. ]  

*"Waste management facility" means a site used for planned 
treatment, storage, or disposal of nonhazardous solid waste.  

*"Waste management facility operator" means any person, 
including an owner, who is in charge of the actual, on-site 
operation of a waste management facility during any period 
of operation.  

*As defined by Chapter 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of 
Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC155-20-20. License required. (Repealed.) 
For the purposes of this chapter, the individual acting as a 

waste management facility operator is an individual employed 
or contracted by the facility owner whose responsibilities 
include supervision of on-site activities and who, on and after 
January 1, 1993, has been licensed by the Board for Waste 
Management Facility Operators or is under the direct 
supervision of a waste management facility operator licensed 
by the Board for Waste Management Facility Operators.  
18VAC155-20-30. Disclosure. (Repealed.) 

A. Any individual seeking licensure shall disclose on the 
application any other operator or related license issued by any 
other state(s).  

B. Any individual seeking licensure shall disclose on the 
application any felony convictions or any final order actions 
issued by an administrative body or court regarding 
environmental violations or crimes resulting in the significant 
harm or the imminent and substantial threat of significant 
harm to human health or the environment.  

C. Each licensee shall notify the board in writing within 30 
days of any felony convictions or final order actions issued by 
an administrative body or court regarding environmental 
violations or crimes resulting in the significant harm or the 
imminent and substantial threat of significant harm to human 
health or the environment.  
18VAC155-20-40. Fees.  

A. All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  
B. An application shall not be deemed complete and shall 

not be processed without the required fee.  
1. The application fee for licensure shall be $75.  
2. The fee for renewal of licensure shall be $50.  
3. The fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $75.  
4. The fee for reinstatement of licensure shall be $125.  
5. The examination fee is charged to the applicant by an 
outside vendor competitively negotiated and contracted for 
in compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act 
(§ 2.2-4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be 
adjusted and charged to the applicant in accordance with 
this contract.  
6. The application fee for training course approval shall be 
$125.  

C. All checks shall be made payable to the Treasurer of 
Virginia.  

D. Receipt and deposit of fees submitted with applications 
do not indicate licensure.  

Part II  
Licensure  

18VAC155-20-100. Licensure required. (Repealed.) 
Licensure is required for all individuals acting as waste 

management facility operators after June 30, 1995.  
18VAC155-20-110. License classification.  

A. The applicant shall apply for at least one classification of 
license as outlined [ below in this subsection ]:  

1. An individual operating a facility that is defined [ by the 
Department of Environmental Quality in 9VAC20-81-10 ] 
as a transfer station, a [ material materials ] recovery 
facility receiving mixed waste, an experimental facility, or 
a composting facility receiving yard waste shall hold a 
Class I license. An individual who has obtained a Class II, 
III or IV license may also operate a facility listed under 
Class I [ , if the individual has completed the board-
approved basic training course ].  
2. An individual operating a facility that composts 
municipal solid waste, or is defined [ by the Department of 
Environmental Quality in 9VAC20-81-10 ] as a sanitary 
[ landfill ], industrial [ waste landfill ], [ construction or 
debris constuction/demolition/debris (CDD) ] landfill, shall 
hold a Class II license.  
3. An individual operating a facility [ defined by the 
Department of Environmental Quality as an infectious 
waste incinerator or an autoclave regulated under 
9VAC20-120, Regulated Medical Waste Management 
Regulations, ] shall hold a Class III license.  
4. An individual operating a facility defined [ by the 
Department of Environmental Quality in 9VAC5-40-
6560 ] as a municipal waste [ combustor combustion unit ] 
shall hold a Class IV license.  

B. A licensee may not operate a facility outside of his 
classification other than that defined by subdivision A 1 of 
this section.  

C. An individual operating a solid waste management 
facility that has been issued a permit by the Department of 
Environmental Quality but for which the board has not 
established training and licensure requirements shall hold a 
Class I license until the board establishes the training and 
licensing requirements by regulation.  
18VAC155-20-120. Qualifications for licensure.  

A. The board shall issue a license only after an individual 
has met, through a completed application and addendum, all 
training, testing, and experience requirements for at least one 
specific class as set forth in this chapter.  

B. The applicant shall meet the following requirements for 
licensure for all classes of licenses:  
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A. Every applicant to the Board for Waste Management 
Facility Operators for licensure shall meet the requirements 
and have the qualifications provided in this subsection. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.  
2. The applicant shall provide proof of high school or 
college graduation, or of having a General Equivalency 
Diploma (GED).  
3. An applicant who cannot fulfill the requirement outlined 
in subdivision 2 of this subsection shall document at least 
five years of verified experience with a waste management 
facility during the preceding seven years, with at least three 
years of experience in at least one of the following 
activities:  

a. Supervision;  
b. Research;  
c. Construction;  
d. Project development;  
e. Site development;  
f. Compliance and enforcement of a permit or 
regulations;  
g. Operation; or  
h. Review of materials for permitting purposes.  

4. Except for applicants that qualify pursuant to 
subdivision 3 of this subsection, each applicant shall 
document one year of verified operational experience with 
a waste management facility.  
5. All applicants shall successfully complete the basic 
training course as defined in 18VAC155-20-220 B.  
6. An applicant may use employment responsibilities in 
lieu of facility specific training as defined in subsections D 
through F of this section provided that:  

a. The applicant has been a full-time employee at a waste 
facility specific to the desired license classification for at 
least three of the past seven years.  
b. The employment responsibilities include at least one 
of those activities enumerated in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection.  

7. Experience requirements claimed on the application for 
licensure shall be verified by the individual's supervisor(s) 
or personnel officer. Individuals who are under contract 
with a facility owner may obtain a letter from the facility 
owner to verify experience.  
8. Education requirements claimed on the application for 
licensure shall be verified by the attendee's educational 
institution or authorizing jurisdiction on the provided form 
or in the form of an official transcript or letter. Diplomas 
will not be accepted for verification of degree or 
graduation.  
9. The applicant holding a valid license from another state 
or jurisdiction may qualify by reciprocity under the 
provisions of 18VAC155-20-150.  

C. The specific requirements for Class I licensure are as 
follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course; and  
2. Pass the board-approved examination for Class I.  

D. The specific requirements for Class II licensure are as 
follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 
approved training course specific to Class II facilities; and  
2. Pass the board-approved examination for Class II.  

E. The specific requirements for Class III licensure are as 
follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 
approved training course specific to Class III facilities and 
pass the board-approved examination for Class III; or  
2. Complete the training and examination requirement of a 
federal or state agency under the federal Clean Air Act, as 
amended, as of the date applicable to an interpretation of a 
regulation or adjudication of a case decision and complete 
the board-approved basic training course within one year 
after licensure.  

F. The specific requirements for Class IV licensure are as 
follows:  

1. Complete a board-approved basic training course and an 
approved training course specific to Class IV facilities and 
pass the board-approved examination for Class IV; or  
2. Complete the training and examination requirement of a 
federal or state agency under the federal Clean Air Act, as 
amended, as of the date applicable to an interpretation of a 
regulation or adjudication of a case decision and complete 
the board-approved basic training course within one year 
after licensure.  
2. Unless otherwise exempt, the applicant shall have 
successfully completed a basic training course approved by 
the board. [ Additonally Additionally ], an applicant for a 
Class II, III, or IV license shall complete a training course 
approved by the board specific to the license for which he 
applies. 
3. Unless exempt, the applicant shall have passed the 
applicable examination provided by the board or by a 
testing organization acting on behalf of the board. 
4. Each applicant shall document a minimum of one year 
of verified operational experience with a waste 
management facility of the same class for which he 
applies. Experience claimed on the application for 
licensure shall be verified by the individual's supervisor or 
personnel officer. Individuals who are under contract with 
a facility owner may obtain a letter from the facility owner 
to verify experience. 
5. Applicants certified or licensed as [ a ] waste 
management facility [ operator operators ] by governing 
bodies outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall be 
considered to be in compliance with this chapter if the 
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board or its designee has determined the certifying system 
to be substantially equivalent to the Virginia system. 
6. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 
each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 
jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of 
nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purpose of this subdivision. The record of conviction 
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, at 
its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
7. The applicant shall report suspensions, revocations, or 
surrendering of a certificate or license in connection with a 
disciplinary action [ or that have. The applicant shall report 
if a license has ] been the subject of discipline in any 
jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. The 
board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 
based on prior suspensions, revocations, or surrender of 
certifications or licenses based on disciplinary action by 
any jurisdiction. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 
with respect to the qualifications of the applicant. 
18VAC155-20-130. Application procedures.  

A. Application shall be made on forms supplied by the 
department, and application forms shall be completed in 
accordance with the instructions on the forms. Failure to 
provide a complete application and all applicable addenda 
may result in a denial of approval. The failure to provide 
complete information may be interpreted as misrepresentation 
and may result in disciplinary action as [ defined by described 
in ] 18VAC155-20-280.  

B. Those already licensed who desire to add another 
classification or classifications to their license shall apply 
under the provisions of 18VAC155-20-110.  
18VAC155-20-140. Examinations.  

A. Initial examination.  
1. An individual may not take the board-approved 
examination until all training requirements have been 
completed and are verified to the board unless qualifying 
under 18VAC155-20-120 B 6.  
2. All applicants approved for the examination by the 
board will be notified in writing with a request for the 
examination fee defined in 18VAC155-20-40 B 5. The 
applicant will be scheduled for the next available 
examination upon receipt of the examination fee.  
3. The examination fee will be required at least 30 days 
before the scheduled date of the examination.  
4. All applicants shall achieve a passing score on the 
examination as determined by the board.  
5. An individual unable to take an examination at the time 
scheduled shall notify the board prior to the date of the 
examination; such an individual shall be rescheduled for 

the next examination. Failure to notify the board may 
require the submittal of a new examination fee.  

B. Reexamination.  
1. An individual may retake the board-approved 
examination as many times as necessary to pass except 
those who have been waived from training requirements.  
2. If the applicant has been waived from training under 
18VAC155-20-120 B 6 and fails, the applicant may retake 
the examination once. After failing twice, the applicant 
shall complete the required training before retaking the 
examination.  
3. Reexamination shall require the submission of the 
reexamination fee as defined in 18VAC155-20-40 B 5.  

A. Applicants will be approved to sit for the examination for 
licensure once all [ education training ] and experience 
requirements have been satisfied and documentation 
pertaining to all other qualifications [ have has ] been 
received by the board. 

B. An applicant must follow all rules established by the 
board or by the testing service acting on behalf of the board 
with regard to the conduct at the examination site. Such rules 
shall include any written instructions communicated prior to 
the examination date and any oral or written instructions 
given at the site on the date of the exam. 
18VAC155-20-150. Reciprocity. (Repealed.) 

A. Any individual holding a valid license in another state 
may apply for licensure based on reciprocity.  

B. The board will certify an individual who submits a 
completed application and the initial application fee and is in 
compliance with 18VAC155-20-280.  

C. All applicants licensed through reciprocity shall complete 
the basic training course within one year after being licensed 
in Virginia.  

D. If the licensee fails to complete the basic course and fails 
to properly notify the board of such failure within one year 
after licensure, the board may begin disciplinary action to 
suspend or revoke the license.  

Part III  
Renewal of License  

18VAC155-20-160. Procedures for renewal.  
A. Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire two years 

from the last day of the month in which they were issued as 
indicated on the license. biennially. Licensees shall be 
notified by mail of the fee and the procedures for license 
renewal. Each licensee desiring to renew his license shall 
ensure that the department receives the renewal notice; 
evidence of completion of continuing professional 
education/training; a statement that the license renewal 
applicant is in compliance with all facility specific operator 
training and examination requirements of federal and Virginia 
law and regulations, and of the facility operating permit(s); 
and the appropriate fee before the license expires. 
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B. Licenses shall be renewed for a period of 24 months from 
the date of the expiring license. The board will mail a renewal 
notice to the licensee at the address on file with the board 
outlining the fee and procedures for license renewal. Failure 
to receive written notice from the department does not relieve 
the licensee from the requirement to renew his license. If the 
license holder fails to receive the renewal notice, a copy of 
the license may be submitted with evidence of completion of 
the continuing education requirements and the appropriate 
fee. 

C. Failure to receive written notice from the department 
does not relieve the regulant from the requirement to renew 
his license. If the license holder fails to receive the renewal 
notice, a copy of the license may be submitted with evidence 
of completion of the continuing education/training and the 
appropriate fee.  

D. C. The date the required fee is received by the 
department or its agent will be used to determine whether a 
penalty fee or the requirement for reinstatement of a license is 
applicable.  

E. Revoked or suspended licenses are not renewable until 
reinstated by the board.  

D. As a condition of renewal or reinstatement all individuals 
holding a license shall be required to satisfactorily complete 
eight hours of continuing education from a provider approved 
by the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter 
[ , except that no continuing education shall be required for 
the first renewal after the issuance of the initial license to an 
individual ]. 
18VAC155-20-175. Continuing professional 
education/training. (Repealed.) 

A. Each applicant for license renewal shall provide evidence 
of the completion of at least eight contact hours of continuing 
professional education/training, as defined in 18VAC155-20-
10 and in accordance with this section, except that no 
continuing professional education/training shall be required 
for the first renewal after the issuance of the initial license to 
an individual.  

B. All CPE/T contact hours must be specific to the operation 
of a waste management facility.  

C. Renewal applicants shall submit one or both of the 
following to document completion of the hours of CPE/T 
required by subsection A of this section:  

1. For an organized program, a document with:  
a. The name, address and telephone number of the 
sponsor;  
b. The date(s) the applicant participated in the organized 
program;  
c. A copy of the syllabus or other descriptive material of 
the information presented during the organized program; 
and  

d. Verification of the number of contact hours completed 
that were specific to the operation of a waste 
management facility.  

2. For a project, a document with:  
a. The name and address of the waste management 
facility where the project was conducted;  
b. The name of the owner, operator or manager of the 
facility who assigned the project;  
c. The name, address and telephone number of the 
knowledgeable person assigned to supervise the license 
renewal applicant during the project;  
d. A brief description of how the project's specific 
predetermined end result increased the license renewal 
applicant's competence; and  
e. A statement of the number of contact hours required 
for the license renewal applicant to satisfactorily 
complete the project, which is signed by the owner, 
operator or manager of the facility where the project was 
conducted or by the knowledgeable person supervising 
the project.  

D. The board shall advise the license renewal applicant of 
the approval of his CPE/T by issuing the renewed license 
provided all of the other renewal requirements of this chapter 
have been met. The board shall advise the license renewal 
applicant in writing of the deficiencies it finds in the CPE/T 
submitted and shall allow a reasonable amount of time for the 
renewal applicant to correct the deficiencies and respond.  

E. Each licensee shall maintain evidence of the satisfactory 
completion of CPE/T for a period of three years. Such 
documentation shall be in the form required by subsection C 
of this section and shall be provided to the board or its duly 
authorized agents upon request.  

F. CPE/T contact hours taken after the expiration of the 
individual's license to meet the CPE/T requirement of the 
prior license term shall not be reported for any future renewal.  

Part IV  
Training Requirements  

18VAC155-20-220. Training course curriculum. 
Education courses. 

A. The board shall approve only training courses that 
document that their instruction meets the minimum 
curriculum standards contained in this section. All training 
and continuing education courses must be completed through 
accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges, Virginia Apprenticeship Council programs, 
proprietary schools approved by the Virginia Department of 
Education, or other programs approved by the board.  

B. A board-approved basic training course shall at a 
minimum include the following topics as they relate to 
nonhazardous solid waste management facilities:  

1. Definitions.  
2. Authority for regulations.  
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3. Purpose of regulations.  
4. Administration of regulations.  
5. Applicability of regulations.  
6. Prohibitions.  
7. Open dumps.  
8. Unpermitted facilities.  
9. Enforcement and appeal.  
10. Penalties and enforcement.  
11. Public participation.  
12. Relationship with other regulations promulgated by the 
Virginia Waste Management Board, the State Water 
Control Board, and the Virginia State Air Pollution Control 
Board.  
13. Identification of solid waste.  

a. Purpose and scope.  
b. Definitions of solid waste.  
c. Special wastes.  
d. Exclusions.  
e. Conditional exemptions.  

14. Identification of unauthorized waste.  
15. Overview of open dumps and unpermitted facilities.  
16. Permitting of solid waste management facilities.  
17. Review of Department of Environmental Quality 
Inspection Form.  
18. Overview of permitted solid waste management 
facilities.  

a. Transfer stations.  
b. Material recovery facilities.  
c. Experimental facilities.  
d. Sanitary landfills.  
e. Infectious waste incinerators.  
f. Mass burn facilities.  
g. Refuse derived fuel facilities.  
h. Yard waste composting facilities.  
i. Autoclaves.  

19. Overview of general OSHA requirements.  
20. Neighbor relations.  
21. Recordkeeping and financial assurance.  

C. A board-approved training course specific to Class II 
facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  

1. Definitions.  
2. Special wastes.  

a. General.  
b. Asbestos wastes.  
c. Wastes containing polychlorinated biphenyls.  

d. Liquids.  
e. Tires.  
f. Drums.  
g. White goods.  
h. Soil contaminated with petroleum products.  
i. Lead acid batteries.  
j. Other prohibited wastes.  
k. Hazardous wastes.  
l. Screening for prohibited wastes.  
m. Handling procedures for special or hazardous wastes.  
n. Recordkeeping and notification requirements.  

3. Sanitary landfills.  
a. Design/construction.  
b. Operation.  
c. Groundwater monitoring.  
d. Control of decomposition gases and landfill gas 
recovery systems.  
e. Leachate control system and monitoring.  
f. Leachate control system appurtenances.  
g. Large landfill air operating permits.  

4. Construction/demolition debris standards.  
5. Industrial waste disposal standards.  
6. Other solid waste management facility standards.  

a. Compost facilities.  
b.. Surface impoundments and lagoons.  
c. Waste piles.  
d. Miscellaneous units.  

7. Permitting of solid waste management facilities.  
a. Solid waste.  
b. Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) permits and related water and wastewater 
permits.  
c. Air.  

8. Financial assurance documentation.  
a. Closure regulations.  
b. Post-closure regulations.  
c. Corrective action.  

9. Rulemaking petitions and procedures.  
D. A board-approved training course specific to Class III 

facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  
1. Identification and listing of infectious waste.  

a. General.  
b. Exemption to regulations.  
c. Exclusions.  
d. Characteristics of infectious waste.  
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e. Controlled infectious waste.  
2. General requirements.  

a. Permits and permits by rule.  
b. Packaging and labeling requirements.  
c. Management of spills.  
d. Methods of treatment and disposal.  
e. Approved test method.  
f. Recordkeeping requirements.  

3. Requirements for storage facilities.  
a. Sanitation.  
b. Access.  
c. Temperature control and storage period.  
d. Drainage and ventilation.  

4. Requirements for transportation.  
a. Sanitation.  
b. Access.  
c. Temperature and storage period.  
d. Drainage.  
e. Packaging, labeling and placards.  
f. Management of spills.  
g. Loading and unloading.  
h. Registration of transportation.  

5. Requirements for incineration.  
a. Performance standards.  
b. Analysis and management of ash residue.  
c. Unloading operation.  
d. Facility air operating permits.  
e. Compliance with other regulatory requirements.  

6. Requirements for steam sterilization.  
a. Performance standards.  
b. Compliance with other regulatory requirements.  

7. Medical waste combustor regulations.  
8. Financial assurance documentation.  

a. Closure regulations.  
b. Corrective action.  

E. A board-approved training course specific to Class IV 
facilities shall include at a minimum the following topics:  

1. Solid Waste Management Regulations.  
a. Siting.  
b. Design and construction.  
c. Operation.  
d. Waste characteristics.  

2. Emissions formation and control.  
a. Type of emissions.  

b. Environmental effect.  
c. Control techniques.  

3. Emissions monitoring.  
a. Parameters monitored.  
b. Types of monitors.  
c. Data acquisition.  
d. Monitor calibration, certification and testing.  

4. Combustion and gas reactions.  
a. Combustion components.  
b. Optimizing solid waste combustion.  
c. Gas reactions related to combustor construction 
materials.  

5. Solid waste materials handling.  
a. Front end processing equipment.  
b. Combustion enhancement.  
c. Back end processing.  
d. Recycling benefits.  

6. Waste combustion residue handling and disposal.  
a. Types of residue.  
b. Characteristics.  
c. Regulations.  
d. Monitoring.  
e. Handling and transportation.  
f. Disposal.  
g. Alternative uses.  

7. Safety.  
a. Employer/employee obligations.  
b. OSHA.  
c. Hazard communication.  
d. Equipment tagout.  
e. Respiratory protection.  

8. Recordkeeping.  
a. Engineering log keeping.  
b. Maintenance.  
c. Solid waste.  

9. Virginia pressure vessel regulation.  
10. Air pollution control regulations for waste combustors.  
11. Facility air operating permits.  
12. Plant operations.  

a. Thermal fluids theory.  
b. Boiler plant operations.  

13. Financial assurance documentation.  
a. Closure regulations.  
b. Corrective action.  
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B. [ All continuing education courses must be specific to the 
operation of the class of waste management facility for which 
the course is being offered and must be approved by the 
board. All courses for which credit for pre-license education 
is sought shall be related to the operation of the class of waste 
management facility for which the course is being offered and 
shall be approved by the board. 

C. All courses for which credit for continuing education is 
sought shall be related to the operation of the class of waste 
management facility for which the course is being offered and 
may be reviewed by the board. 

C. D. ] Each provider of a [ training pre-license education 
course ] or [ person submitting a course for ] continuing 
education [ course credit ] shall submit an application for 
approval on a form provided by the board. The application 
shall include, but is not limited to: 

1. The name of the provider; 
2. Provider contact person, address, and telephone number; 
3. Course contact hours; 
4. Schedule of courses, if established, including dates, 
times, and locations; 
5. Course syllabus; [ and ]  
6. Instructor information, including name, license number 
if applicable, education and training background, and a list 
of other appropriate trade designations or training 
certifications. 

18VAC155-20-230. Approval of training course. Training 
records. 

A. Each applicant for training course approval shall meet the 
requirements established by this chapter before being granted 
approval by the board. Those desiring approval of a training 
course shall apply on a form provided by the department. The 
form shall be completed in accordance with the instructions 
supplied, and shall be accompanied by three copies of the 
materials which document that the training course meets the 
requirements of this chapter and by the fee required by 
18VAC155-20-40 B 6. Receipt and deposit of the required 
fee does not indicate board approval.  

B. Training courses shall be approved by the board prior to 
the training activity in accordance with the following:  

1. Training providers.  
a. Organizations. The board may approve training 
courses offered by a sponsor who is an identifiable 
organization which can demonstrate the capability to 
teach environmental or engineering material. The 
organization shall have a mission statement outlining its 
functions, structure, process and philosophy, and a staff 
of one or more persons that has the authority to 
administer and coordinate the training program.  
b. Schools. The board may approve training courses 
offered by an accredited academic institution which can 

demonstrate the capability to teach environmental or 
engineering material.  
c. Businesses. The board may approve training courses 
offered by a business entity which can demonstrate the 
capability to teach environmental or engineering 
material.  

2. Instructors. The training course provider shall ensure 
training is only conducted by personnel who have 
demonstrated competence in the subject being taught, an 
understanding of the learning objective, a knowledge of the 
teaching process to be used, and a proven ability to 
communicate.  
3. Objectives. The training course provider shall ensure 
that the course has a series of stated objectives that are 
consistent with the type of facility, operator job 
requirements, and state and federal regulation. The training 
course shall be consistent with training criteria outlined in 
18VAC155-20-220.  
4. The board shall only approve courses which provide the 
participants a complete tour of a facility appropriate to the 
course emphasizing operator responsibilities. The basic 
training course is exempt from this requirement.  
5. Course completion requirements. For successful 
completion of a training program, participants must attend 
90% or more of the class contact time and the tour of the 
facility.  
6. The training provider shall provide an effective means 
for evaluation of the quality of the course and the 
instructor(s).  
7. The training provider shall ensure the number of 
participants and physical facilities are appropriate for the 
course content and teaching method specified by the 
developer of the course.  
8. The training provider shall ensure all course materials 
are technically accurate, current and sufficient to meet the 
program's learning objectives.  

C. Training records.  
1. An approved training provider shall retain records for all 
participants for a period of 10 years and shall maintain a 
written policy on the retention and release of records.  
2. All records pertaining to the approved training and 
participants shall be made available to the board 
immediately upon request.  

D. The board shall consider the following information 
before deciding to approve or disapprove an application for 
training provider approval:  

1. Course information.  
a. Course title.  
b. Planned audience.  
c. Name of sponsor.  
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d. Name, address and telephone number of contact 
person.  
e. Scheduled presentation dates.  
f. Detailed course schedule on an hour-by-hour basis.  
g. List of planned breaks.  
h. Scheduled presentation locations.  
i. Scheduled tour locations.  
j. Instructor(s) resume.  

2. Training materials.  
a. Course objectives. A listing of the course objectives 
stated in terms of the skills and knowledge the participant 
will be able to demonstrate as a result of the training.  
b. Course outline. A detailed outline showing the planned 
activities that will occur during the training program, 
including major topics, planned presentation sequence, 
tour activities, audio-visual presentations and other major 
activities.  
c. Course reference materials. A list of name, publisher, 
and publication date of commercially available 
publications; for material developed specifically for the 
course, a copy of the reference material.  
d. Audio-visual support materials. A list of any 
commercially available audio-visual support material that 
will be used in the course; a brief description of any 
audio-visual material generated by the sponsor or 
instructor.  
e. Handouts. Identification of all commercially available 
handout material including regulations; copies of other 
handouts generated by the sponsor or instructor.  

E. The board shall approve all substantial changes to the 
course before the changes may be implemented.  

F. The board reserves the right to withdraw approval if the 
board determines the course is not adequately teaching 
participants, or the sponsor or an instructor violates this 
chapter.  

An approved training provider shall retain records for all 
participants for a period of 10 years and shall maintain a 
written policy on the retention and release of records. All 
records pertaining to the approved training and participants 
shall be made available to the board immediately upon 
request. 
18VAC155-20-235. Denial or withdrawal of approval. 

The board may deny or withdraw the approval of any 
training or continuing education course for the following 
reasons: 

1. Courses being offered no longer meet the standards 
established by the board; 
2. The course provider, through an agent or otherwise, 
advertises its services in a fraudulent or deceptive way; 

3. The course provider, instructor, or designee of the 
provider falsifies any information relating to the 
application for approval, course information, or student 
records or fails to produce records required by the Board 
for Waste Management Facility Operators. 
4. The course provider fails to maintain student course 
completion records for a minimum of 10 years. 

Part V  
Disciplinary Action  

18VAC155-20-280. Grounds for denial of application, 
denial of renewal, or discipline.  

A. The board shall have the authority to (i) deny an 
application for and to deny renewal of a license or training 
course approval, and to (ii) revoke or suspend the license or 
training course approval as well as to, and (iii) discipline a 
licensee or an approved training provider for the following 
reasons: who is found to be in violation of the statutes or 
regulations governing the practice of licensed waste 
management facility operators. 

1. Violating or inducing another to violate any provisions 
of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 
(§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision of this 
chapter.  
2. Obtaining or renewing a license or training course 
approval through fraudulent means or misrepresentation.  
3. Having been found guilty by the board, an 
administrative body or by a court of any material 
misrepresentation in the course of performing his operating 
duties.  
4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 
of jurisdiction, of any felony, or of any violation that 
resulted in the significant harm or the imminent and 
substantial threat of significant harm to human health or 
the environment, there being no appeal pending therefrom 
or the time of appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this chapter. A certified copy of the final order, 
decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 
decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 
such conviction.  
5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
found guilty of any felony, or of any violation that resulted 
in the significant harm or the imminent and substantial 
threat of significant harm to human health or the 
environment.  
6. Gross negligence, or a continued pattern of 
incompetence, in the practice as a waste management 
facility operator.  
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7. Violating the permit conditions for the facility, or 
violating any federal, state or local laws or regulations 
which that resulted in the significant harm or the imminent 
and substantial threat of significant harm to human health 
or the environment.  

B. Any individual whose license is revoked under this 
section shall not be eligible to apply for licensure for a period 
of one year from the effective date of the final order of 
revocation. After the one-year period, the individual shall 
meet all education, examination, experience and training 
requirements, complete the application and submit the 
required fee for consideration as a new applicant.  

C. The board shall conduct disciplinary procedures in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 
et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  
18VAC155-20-285. Prohibited acts. 

Any of the following are cause for disciplinary action: 
1. Violating or inducing another to violate any provisions 
of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 et seq.), 3 
(§ 54.1-300 et seq.) or 22.1 (§ 54.1-2209 et seq.) of Title 
54.1 of the Code of Virginia, or any provision of this 
chapter. 
2. Obtaining or renewing a license through fraudulent 
means or misrepresentation. 
3. Having been found guilty by the board, an 
administrative body, or by a court of any material 
misrepresentation in the course of performing his operating 
duties. 
4. Subject to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 
Virginia, having been convicted or found guilty, regardless 
of jurisdiction, of any felony or any violation that resulted 
in the significant harm or the imminent and substantial 
threat of significant harm to human health or the 
environment, there being no appeal pending therefrom, or 
the time of appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo 
contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 
purposes of this chapter. A certified copy of the final order, 
decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency 
with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case 
decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 
such conviction. 
5. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 
pleading guilty to, pleading nolo contendere to, being 
convicted of, or being found guilty of (i) any felony or (ii) 
any violation that resulted in the significant harm or the 
imminent and substantial threat of significant harm to 
human health or the environment. 
6. Gross negligence, or a continued pattern of 
incompetence, in the practice of a waste management 
facility operator. 
7. Violating the permit conditions for the facility, or 
violating federal, state, or local laws or regulations, which 
resulted in the significant harm or the imminent and 

substantial threat of significant harm to human health or 
the environment. 
8. Failure to comply with all rules established by the board 
and the testing organization with regard to conduct at the 
examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (18VAC155-20)  

License Application, 46LICPKG (rev. 5/05)  
Experience Verification Form, 46EXP (rev. 5/00) 
Education Verification Form, 46ED (rev. 5/00) 
Application for Training Course Approval, 46CRS (rev. 

5/00)  
[ License Application, A438-4605LIC-v8 (rev. 8/15) 
Training Course Approval Application, A438-46CRS-v4 

(rev. 8/15) 
Experience Verification Form, A438-46EXP-v5 (rev. 

10/2013) 
Examination Site Conduct Agreement Form (rev. 2/2013) 
Education Verification Form, A438-46ED (rev. 7/2012) 
License Application, A438-4605LIC v10 (rev. 8/2016) 
Training Course Approval Application, A438-46CRS-v4 

(rev. 8/2016) ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3737; Filed June 1, 2016, 12:53 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-55. Virginia Corn Excise 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-55-40; repealing 23VAC10-55-
50).  
Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 
Effective Date: September 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, 
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 
23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, FAX (804) 371-
2355, or email joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aeff003737~1&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2aeff003737~1&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f4bbe003737~2&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=83f06003737~3&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76e31003737~4&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3c2db003737~5&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3c2db003737~5&typ=40&actno=003737&mime=application/pdf
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Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 
interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 
administered by the Department of Taxation. Section 3.2-
1412 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the Tax 
Commissioner to administer the corn excise tax. 
Purpose: The amendments are needed to update the corn 
excise tax rate to the rate provided in statute (one cent per 
bushel) and strike language that provides no guidance beyond 
the plain meaning of the statutes as it is not necessary to 
protect the public health, safety, or welfare. The regulatory 
action does not reflect any change in current tax policy and 
will have no impact on the administration of the corn excise 
tax. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: The department is 
using the fast-track rulemaking process because amending 
Virginia Corn Excise Tax, 23VAC10-55, to update the tax 
rate and to repeal language that provides no guidance beyond 
the plain meaning of the statute is expected to be 
noncontroversial. 
Substance: The amendments update the tax rate and repeal 
language that provides no guidance beyond the plain meaning 
of the statute. The corn excise tax is levied on corn produced 
in Virginia for sale. The tax is remitted quarterly and the 
revenues deposited into The Corn Fund. The Corn Board uses 
these funds to provide for programs of market development, 
education, publicity, research, and the promotion of the sale 
and use of corn. This regulatory action does not reflect any 
change in current tax policy and will have no impact on the 
administration of the corn excise tax. 
Issues: The primary advantage to the public, the Department 
of Taxation, and the Commonwealth of this action is that it 
will conform Virginia Corn Excise Tax, 23VAC10-55, to a 
rate change in the statutory law and thereby assist taxpayers 
with voluntary compliance with the tax, ease administration 
of the tax by the Department of Taxation, and help ensure the 
steady flow of tax revenues to the Commonwealth. As the 
regulation will update the tax rate to the rate provided in 
statute and repeal language that provides no additional 
guidance to statutes that are clear and unambiguous, there are 
no issues or disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth associated with this regulatory action. 
Small Business Impact Review Report of Findings: This 
regulatory action serves as the report of the findings of the 
regulatory review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes to update the 
corn excise tax rate in the regulation to reflect the rate that 
has been in effect since 1989. The Department also proposes 
to amend other language for clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation states 
that the corn excise tax rate is one-quarter cent per bushel. 
The Code of Virginia (§ 3.2-1405 and § 3.2-1406) establishes 
that the excise tax rate may be changed or eliminated by 
virtue of referenda of corn producers. An October 1, 1989 tax 
bulletin reported that "On September 7, 1989, Virginia corn 
producers voted 136 to 51 in favor of increasing the corn 
assessment from one-quarter cent to one cent per bushel of 
corn…" In practice, the tax has been assessed at one cent per 
bushel ever since. The Department proposes to amend this 
regulation to indicate that the tax is one cent per bushel. This 
amendment will be beneficial in that the regulation will 
reflect the actual tax rate that is assessed, significantly 
improving clarity. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The regulation affects corn 
farmers, processors, dealers, shippers, country buyers, and 
exporters. According to the Department, there were 63 corn 
excise tax payers in 2015. 
Localities Particularly Affected. The regulation particularly 
affects localities where corn is grown and processed for 
profit.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not affect the use and value of 
private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
affect costs for small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not create adverse impact for small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 
Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 
Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 
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Summary: 
The amendments update the tax rate and repeal language 
that provides no guidance beyond the plain meaning of the 
statute. This regulatory action does not reflect any change 
in current tax policy and will have no impact on the 
administration of the corn excise tax. 

23VAC10-55-40. Handler to deduct assessment from 
payment to farmer; report Report and payment by 
handler.  

A. Definition. The following word or term when used in this 
section shall have the following meaning unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Handler" means any person, firm, corporation or any other 
business entity that is a processor, dealer, shipper, country 
buyer, exporter that handles corn produced in Virginia, or 
farmer who sells his corn out of state or to anyone other than 
a "handler."  

B. Generally. The handler of corn is liable for remitting the 
one-quarter cent $ .01 per bushel corn excise tax to the Tax 
Commissioner as regulated herein. If the handler purchases, 
from farmers, corn subject to the excise tax, the handler must 
deduct the excise tax from any payment made to the farmer 
for the corn. All corn handlers must register with the Tax 
Commissioner for receiving the quarterly corn excise tax 
returns and reporting the corn excise tax. Application for 
registration should be submitted to the Department of 
Taxation, Registration Unit, P.O. Box 1880, Richmond, VA 
23282-1880.  

B. Handler defined. The term "handler" means any person, 
firm, corporation or any other business entity who is a 
processor, dealer, shipper, country buyer, exporter who 
handles corn produced in Virginia or a farmer who sells his 
corn out of state or to anyone other than a "handler." 

C. Examples. 
Example 1: Farmer A grows corn in Virginia and sells the 
harvested crop for processing to Processor B located in 
North Carolina. Farmer A is the "handler" and responsible 
for remitting the Virginia Corn Excise Tax to the Virginia 
Department of Taxation.  
Example 2: Farmer E grows corn in Virginia and sells the 
harvested corn for processing to Processor F located in 
Virginia. Processor F is the "handler" and is responsible for 
collecting from the farmer and remitting the Virginia Corn 
Excise Tax to the Virginia Department of Taxation.  
Example 3: Farmer G grows corn in Virginia and sells the 
harvested crop for seed to Farmer H. Farmer G is the 
"handler" and is responsible for remitting the Virginia 
Corn Excise Tax to the Virginia Department of Taxation.  

C. Handler return. The corn excise tax returns must be filed 
by the handler quarterly and are due on or before the last day 
of the month following the end of the period. The quarters are 
January 1 through March 31, April 1 through June 30, July 1 
through September 30 and October 1 through December 31. 

Each return shall report the gross volume of corn which has 
been handled by the handler during the quarter. Each handler 
must file the return with the Department of Taxation, P.O. 
Box 1880, Richmond, VA 23282-1880. 

D. Payment of tax by handler. Each handler must pay the 
corn excise tax. The return, with applicable tax payment, is 
due by the last day of the month following the end of each 
quarter. (Due dates are April 30, July 31, October 31, and 
January 31). The tax receipts shall be deposited by the Tax 
Commissioner into the State Treasury and credited to the 
Virginia Corn Fund.  
23VAC10-55-50. Records to be kept by handlers. 
(Repealed.)  

A. Generally. Every handler of corn subject to the corn 
excise tax must keep complete records on the corn handled by 
him. The handler must keep and preserve the records for at 
least three years following the date the tax is reported on such 
corn.  

Note: While § 3.1-1045 of the Code of Virginia specifies 
records must be preserved for a period not less than two years 
from the time the corn was handled, the statute of limitations 
under § 58.1-1812 of the Code of Virginia provides for a 
three year period for assessment of deficiencies. In order to 
prevent any undue burden upon the taxpayer, in the event of 
audit, the record retention period has been extended to the 
same limitation as the assessment statute of limitations.  

B. Examination by Commissioner. The Tax Commissioner, 
or his duly authorized agents, may examine during the usual 
business hours of the day records, books, papers, or other 
documents of the handler to verify the truth and accuracy of 
any return, statement, or other relevant information.  
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (23VAC10-55)  

Virginia Corn Assessment Return Instructions, Form CO-
AR W (rev. 5/06).  

Business Registration Application, Form R-1 (rev. 3/08).  
Form CO-1, Virginia Corn Assessment Return and 

Instructions (CO-AR W) (rev. 5/2006) 
Form R-1, Business Registration Form (1501220) and 

Instructions (1501228) (rev. 3/2015) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4608; Filed May 31, 2016, 3:26 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation  
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-940).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cec32004608~1&typ=40&actno=004608&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cec32004608~1&typ=40&actno=004608&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e8caf004608~2&typ=40&actno=004608&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e8caf004608~2&typ=40&actno=004608&mime=application/pdf
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Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled.  
Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 
Effective Date: September 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Kristen Peterson, Analyst, Department of 
Taxation, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-2340, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
kristen.peterson@tax.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 
interpretation and enforcement of the laws of the 
Commonwealth governing taxes administered by the 
Department of Taxation. The authority for the current 
regulatory action is discretionary. 
Purpose: The current regulation does not reflect numerous 
statutory changes that have been made regarding the retail 
sales and use tax. Chapters 331 and 361 of the 2006 Acts of 
Assembly changed the application of the retail sales and use 
tax for veterinarians purchasing medicines and drugs. Prior to 
this legislative change, a veterinarian was deemed the user 
and consumer of any medicine or drug used in his operation 
and was required to pay his suppliers the sales and use tax 
when purchasing these items. The 2006 Session of the 
General Assembly amended this statute by exempting a 
veterinarian's purchase of medicines and drugs that are either 
used by the veterinarian in treating agricultural production 
animals or sold to a farmer for direct use in producing an 
agricultural product for market. The current regulation does 
not reflect this statutory change, as it explicitly excludes 
veterinarians from the "licensed physician" definition. 
The General Assembly also enacted Chapter 217 of the 2006 
Acts of Assembly, which expanded the exemption to allow 
for-profit nursing homes, clinics, and similar corporations to 
purchase medicines and drugs tax free. This change is not 
reflected in the current regulation.  
In 1999, the General Assembly expanded the sales and use 
tax exemption available for eyeglasses and related items to 
include eyeglass cases, contact lens storage containers, 
solutions or sterilization kits, and other similar devices when 
distributed free of charge by optometrists, ophthalmologists, 
and opticians. This legislative change is not reflected in the 
current regulation.  
In 1998, the department released a tax bulletin (VTB 98-4) to 
explain a legislative change that exempted nonprescription 
drugs as well as samples of nonprescription drugs distributed 
free of charge by the manufacturer (Chapter 696 of the 1997 
Acts of Assembly), from sales and use tax. The tax bulletin 
identified categories of taxable items and provided a detailed 
list of items falling under the exempt nonprescription drug 
classification. The department updated this tax bulletin in 
2013 (VTB 13-5) to provide clarification to retailers and 
purchasers of nonprescription drugs. These statutory and 

administrative changes are not reflected in the current 
regulation.  
In addition, the regulation clarifies the tax treatment of 
various items not specifically identified in the statute or 
current regulation, but frequently utilized in the provision of 
health care services, including, for example, eyeglasses, 
durable medical equipment, or other medical devices.  
Because the existing regulation does not reflect current law 
and requires clarification regarding the tax treatment of 
certain items, it does not provide the sufficient guidance 
needed to ensure that taxpayers comply with Virginia's sales 
and use tax laws. This regulatory action is necessary to ensure 
a predictable and adequate revenue stream for the government 
to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 
fast-track rulemaking process is intended for proposed 
regulations that are expected to be noncontroversial. As the 
regulation will be amended to reflect current law and will not 
make any changes to the department's current policy 
regarding medicines and drugs, this action is not expected to 
be controversial. The department has issued numerous 
published ruling letters, tax bulletins, and other public 
documents (PD) that address the retail sales and use tax as it 
applies to the purchase of medicines, drugs, medical devices, 
durable medical equipment, and other medical-related items. 
These PDs and recent law changes form the basis for the 
proposed changes to this regulation. 
Substance: This regulatory action amends 23VAC10-210-940 
to reflect changes made during the 1997 and 2006 Sessions of 
the General Assembly and to incorporate policy set forth in 
numerous PDs. Substantive changes or new provisions to the 
regulation are as follows: 

1. Controlled drugs. While the current regulation 
provides an exemption to licensed physicians for 
controlled drug purchases, this exemption also extends to 
licensed optometrists, licensed nurse practitioners, and 
licensed physician assistants. Moreover, the Code of 
Virginia defines controlled drug, but this regulatory 
action expands that definition by explaining that the 
manufacture, distribution, and dispensation are heavily 
regulated by the state and federal government because of 
the drug's potential for abuse and physical or 
psychological dependence. The regulation also describes 
the documentation that may be used to demonstrate that 
the exemption requirements have been satisfied. 
2. Durable medical equipment. In addition to the 
exemption available for durable medical equipment, 
items specifically designed for use with durable medical 
equipment or devices are exempt from the retail sales and 
use tax. General purpose supplies do not qualify for this 
exemption. Additional items have been added to the 
current list of qualifying durable medical equipment. 
Durable medical equipment and related items must be 
purchased by or on behalf of an individual and may not 
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be purchased in bulk and then dispensed to individual 
patients. If the purchaser of these items has no blanket 
exemption for his purchases and no certificate of 
exemption or other exemption notice from the 
department applies, the taxpayer must obtain a signed 
statement from the purchaser certifying that the durable 
medical equipment or related items are purchased on 
behalf of a specific patient through a doctor's prescription 
or hospital's work order and is for sole use by that 
patient. Taxpayers are obligated to keep records 
documenting that the purchase was for a specific patient, 
but they may redact identifying information regarding 
each patient in order to comply with federal and state 
privacy laws.  
3. Eyeglasses. Optometrists, ophthalmologists, and 
opticians are engaged in the provision of professional 
services and must pay the tax to their suppliers at the 
time they purchase tangible personal property used in 
performing their professional services or remit the use 
tax directly to the department. When these practitioners 
provide eyeglass cases, contact lens storage containers, 
solutions or sterilization kits, or other similar devices to 
their patients free of charge, they may purchase these 
specified items exempt of the tax.  
4. Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis equipment. 
Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis equipment, 
supplies, and drugs used in dialysis are not subject to the 
retail sales and use tax, regardless of the nature of the 
purchaser. 
5. Licensed hospitals and nursing homes. Licensed 
hospitals and nursing homes may purchase medicines 
and drugs for use and consumption exempt from the 
retail sales and use tax. 
6. Medical supplies purchased by Medicaid recipients. 
Medicaid recipients may purchase otherwise taxable 
medical products and supplies exempt from the retail 
sales and use tax provided the purchase is made through 
a Department of Medical Assistance Services provider 
agreement. 
7. Nonprescription drugs. Nonprescription medicines and 
drugs and proprietary medicines and drugs purchased for 
the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease 
in human beings are exempt from retail sales and use tax, 
regardless of the nature of the purchaser. In addition, 
samples of nonprescription drugs distributed free of 
charge by the manufacturer, as well as the packaging 
materials and constituent elements, are also exempt. The 
exemption does not extend to cosmetics; toilet articles; 
food products and supplements; vitamins and mineral 
concentrates sold as dietary supplements or adjuncts; 
devices; certain products listing natural or herbal 
ingredients; and items containing nonprescription drugs 
that serve a secondary function to the intended use of the 
product. A list of exempt nonprescription medicines and 

taxable items that do not qualify for the nonprescription 
drug exemption is provided. 
8. Prosthetic devices. Implants used for cosmetic 
purposes do not qualify for exemption from the tax 
because their main function is not to replace a missing 
body part, but rather, to promote beauty. 
9. Samples of prescription drugs. Pharmaceutical 
manufacturers are authorized to distribute samples of 
prescription drugs and medicines and their packaging 
free of charge to certain medical care providers and are 
not required to remit use tax for these items. 
10. Veterinarians. Veterinarians have been added to the 
list of medical providers on whose written prescription 
medicines and drugs may be purchased exempt of the 
retail sales and use tax. A separate section has been 
added to indicate that, while veterinarians are deemed the 
users or consumers of medicines and drugs and must pay 
the retail sales and use tax on such purchases, they may 
purchase medicines and drugs used in caring for 
agricultural production animals exempt of the retail sales 
and use tax. 

Issues: This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by amending a regulation that does not reflect 
current law. By clarifying the retail sales and use tax 
treatment for medicines and drugs, the department ensures 
uniform application of the tax laws to taxpayers, particularly 
physicians, optometrists, ophthalmologists, veterinarians, 
audiologists, and other medical service providers, as well as 
purchasers of these services. In addition, business taxpayers 
will be better equipped to predict the tax consequences of 
transactions and avoid unanticipated tax assessments as the 
result of audits. 
This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or 
the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:  
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes several 
amendments to reflect statutory changes and long-standing 
policy concerning the tax treatment of purchases of medicines 
and drugs by medical service providers and consumers.  
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation does not 
reflect numerous statutory changes that have been made 
regarding the Retail Sales and Use Tax. Legislation enacted 
by the 2006 General Assembly (2006 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapters 331, 361) changed the application of the Retail 
Sales and Use Tax for veterinarians purchasing medicines and 
drugs. Prior to this legislative change, a veterinarian was 
deemed the user and consumer of any medicine or drug used 
in his operation, and was required to pay his suppliers the 
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sales and use tax when purchasing these items. The 2006 
General Assembly amended this statute by exempting a 
veterinarian's purchase of medicines and drugs that are either 
used by the veterinarian in treating agricultural production 
animals or sold to a farmer for direct use in producing an 
agricultural product for market. The current regulation does 
not reflect this statutory change, as it explicitly excludes 
veterinarians from the "licensed physician" definition. 
The General Assembly also enacted law in 2006 (2006 Acts 
of Assembly, Chapter 217) that expanded the exemption to 
allow for-profit nursing homes, clinics, and similar 
corporations to purchase medicines and drugs tax-free. This 
change is not reflected in the current regulation.  
In 1999, the General Assembly expanded the sales and use 
tax exemption available for eyeglasses and related items to 
include eyeglass cases, contact lens storage containers, 
solutions or sterilization kits and other similar devices, when 
distributed free of charge by optometrists, ophthalmologists, 
and opticians. This legislative change is not reflected in the 
current regulation.   
In 1998, the Department released a Tax Bulletin (VTB 98-4) 
to explain a legislative change that exempted nonprescription 
drugs, as well as samples of nonprescription drugs distributed 
free of charge by the manufacturer (1997 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapter 696), from sales and use tax. The Tax Bulletin 
identified categories of taxable items and provided a detailed 
list of items falling under the exempt nonprescription drug 
classification. The Department updated this Tax Bulletin in 
2013 (VTB 13-5) to provide clarification to retailers and 
purchasers of nonprescription drugs. These statutory and 
administrative changes are not reflected in the current 
regulation.   
The Department proposes to update the regulation to reflect 
the above statutory and administrative changes. The proposed 
changes will not affect tax rules and policy, but will be 
beneficial by increasing clarity and reducing potential 
confusion for readers of the regulation concerning the rules in 
effect.   
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
pertain to the 40,146 physicians, 1,621 optometrists, 4,042 
veterinarians, and other health care providers currently 
licensed in the Commonwealth, as well as their associated 
employers.  
Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 
do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not create adverse impact for small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts:  
Businesses: The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities: The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 
Agency Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 
Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis regarding its 
update to 23VAC10-210-940, regarding medicines, drugs, 
eyeglasses, and related items. 
Summary: 

The amendments reflect statutory changes and long-
standing policy concerning the tax treatment of purchases 
of medicines and drugs by medical service providers and 
consumers. 

23VAC10-210-940. Medicines, drugs, eyeglasses, and 
related items.  

A. Generally. The tax does not apply to medicines, drugs, 
hypodermic syringes, artificial eyes, contact lenses, 
eyeglasses and hearing aids dispensed by or sold on 
prescriptions or work orders of licensed physicians, dentists, 
optometrists, audiologists, hearing aid dealers and fitters or 
ophthalmologists, and controlled drugs purchased by a 
licensed physician for use in his professional practice.  

The tax does not apply to wheelchairs and repair parts, 
braces, crutches, prosthetic devices, orthopedic appliances, 
catheters, urinary accessories, insulin and insulin syringes, 
and equipment, devices or chemical reagents which may be 
used by a diabetic to test or monitor blood or urine and other 
durable medical equipment and devices, related parts and 
supplies specifically designed for such equipment when such 
items or parts are purchased by or on behalf of an individual 
using these items. Purchases of these items by a hospital or 
licensed nursing home conducted for profit or by a licensed 
physician for use in his professional practice are subject to 
tax.  

B. A. Definitions. As used in this regulation, the The 
following words and phrases set forth below terms when used 
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in this section shall be given have the following meanings 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

1. Prosthetic devices. "Prosthetic devices" shall mean 
devices which replace a missing part or function of the body 
and shall include any supplies physically connected to such 
devices.  

2. Controlled drugs. "Controlled drugs" shall mean those 
means medicines or drugs for which the manufacture, 
distribution, and dispensation are strictly regulated by both 
state and federal laws due to the potential for abuse and 
physical and psychological dependence. Controlled drugs are 
separated into six schedules and itemized under § 54.1-3400 
et seq. Article 5 (§ 54.1-3443 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia but shall include only medicines and drugs 
and not devices. For purposes of this definition, "controlled 
drugs" does not include devices.  

"Cosmetics" means articles applied to the body for 
cleansing, beautifying, promoting attractiveness, or altering 
the appearance including makeup, body lotions, cold creams, 
and hair restoration products. 

"Devices" means instruments, apparatuses, and 
contrivances, including their components, parts, and 
accessories, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, 
mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in human 
beings or to affect the structure or any function of the human 
body. A partial list of devices that the federal Food and Drug 
Administration recognizes is provided at 21 CFR Part 862. 

"Drug" means (i) articles or substances recognized in the 
official United States Pharmacopoeia National Formulary or 
official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or 
any supplement to any of them; (ii) articles or substances 
intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, 
or prevention of disease in man or animals; (iii) articles or 
substances, other than food, intended to affect the structure or 
any function of the body of man or animals; (iv) articles or 
substances intended for use as a component of any article 
specified in clause (i), (ii), or (iii) of this definition; or (v) a 
biological product. For purposes of this definition, "drug" 
includes oxygen and other medical gases, but does not 
include devices or their components, parts, or accessories. 

"Durable medical equipment" means medical equipment that 
meets all of the following requirements: (i) can withstand 
repeated use; (ii) is primarily and customarily used to serve a 
medical purpose; (iii) generally is not useful to a person in the 
absence of illness or injury; and (iv) is appropriate for use in 
the home. 

"Glycolic acid products" means cosmetic items used to 
smooth or lighten skin or to remove age spots and wrinkles 
for the purpose of promoting attractiveness or altering the 
appearance.  

"Hemodialysis" means a renal replacement therapy method 
of removing waste products as well as free water from the 

blood when the kidneys are incapable of removing these 
wastes. 

"Homeopathic product" means a product derived from the 
system of medical practice that treats a disease by the 
administration of minute doses of a remedy that would, in 
larger amounts, produce in healthy persons, symptoms similar 
to those of the disease. 

3. Licensed physician. "Licensed physician" shall include 
only those persons means a person licensed as a medical 
doctors and shall doctor. For purposes of this definition, a 
"licensed physician" does not include veterinarians a 
veterinarian, chiropractors chiropractor, opticians optician, 
optometrists and optometrist, or similar persons person.  

"Nonprescription drug" means a substance or mixture of 
substances containing medicines or drugs for which no 
prescription is required and that is generally sold for internal 
or topical use in the cure, mitigation, treatment, or prevention 
of disease in human beings. 

"Peritoneal dialysis" means a renal replacement therapy 
method of removing waste from the blood, as well as excess 
fluid, when the kidneys are incapable of removing these 
wastes, by instilling a specially formulated dialysis fluid 
around the peritoneal membrane that surrounds the intestine. 

"Prescription" means an order for drugs or medical supplies 
written or signed or transmitted by word of mouth, telephone, 
telegraph, Internet, or other means of communication to a 
pharmacist by a duly licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, 
or other practitioner authorized by law to prescribe and 
administer drugs or medical supplies. 

"Proprietary medicine" means any nonprescription drug that 
is sold to the general public under the brand name or trade 
name of the manufacturer and that does not contain any 
controlled substance or marijuana. 

"Prosthetic device" means any device that replaces a missing 
part or function of the body. For purposes of this section, a 
prosthetic device includes any supplies physically connected 
to the device. 

"Toilet articles" means articles advertised or held out for 
sale for grooming purposes including toothpastes, hairsprays, 
shaving products, colognes, and deodorants. 

B. Generally. Purchases of the following items are exempt 
from the retail sales and use tax: 

1. Controlled drugs that a licensed physician, licensed 
optometrist, licensed nurse practitioner, or licensed 
physician assistant purchases for use in his professional 
practice; 
2. Medicines, drugs, hypodermic syringes, artificial eyes, 
contact lenses, eyeglasses, and hearing aids that a licensed 
physician, dentist, optometrist, ophthalmologist, optician, 
audiologist, hearing aid dealer or fitter, nurse practitioner, 
physician assistant, or veterinarian dispenses or sells on 
prescriptions or work orders;  
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3. Medicines and drugs that a licensed hospital, nursing 
home, clinic, or similar corporation purchases for its use 
and consumption; 
4. Medicines and drugs that a retailer purchases in order to 
fill a prescription, provided the purchase is made under a 
certificate of exemption, Form ST-10; 
5. Nonprescription medicines or drugs and proprietary 
medicines or drugs regardless of the nature of the 
purchaser; 
6. Samples of nonprescription drugs and proprietary 
medicines that a manufacturer distributes free of charge; 
7. Eyeglass cases, contact lens storage containers, all 
solutions or sterilization kits, or other devices applicable to 
the wearing or maintenance of contact lenses or eyeglasses, 
provided these items are purchased by optometrists, 
ophthalmologists, and opticians and distributed free of 
charge to their patients; 
8. Eyeglasses that a consumer purchases on prescription of 
a licensed physician, ophthalmologist, or optometrist; 
9. Eyeglass frames sold in connection with the repair or 
replacement of prescription eyeglasses; 
10. Durable medical equipment, devices, and related parts 
and supplies, provided the equipment, parts, and supplies 
are purchased by or on behalf of an individual for use by 
that individual. Purchases of durable medical equipment, 
parts, and supplies made by a licensed hospital or nursing 
home conducted for profit or by a licensed physician for 
use in his professional practice remain subject to tax; 
11. Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis equipment, 
supplies, and drugs used in dialysis regardless of the nature 
of the purchaser; 
12. Samples of prescription drugs that a pharmaceutical 
manufacturer distributes to licensed physicians, hospitals, 
pharmacies, and other health care facilities pursuant to a 
written request; 
13. Medicines and drugs that a veterinarian purchases for 
use in caring for, medicating, or treating agricultural 
production animals; and 
14. Medical products and supplies that a Medicaid 
recipient purchases through a Department of Medical 
Assistance Services provider agreement. 

C. Medicines and drugs, specifically.  
1. Sales of Medicines and drugs sold on prescriptions. 
Consumers may purchase medicines or drugs, including 
oxygen, on written prescriptions of issued by licensed 
physicians, or dentists are, optometrists, ophthalmologists, 
opticians, audiologists, hearing aid dealers and fitters, 
nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and veterinarians 
exempt from the sales and use tax. Sales of medicines 
Medicines and drugs on a physician's or dentist's telephone 
(oral) purchased pursuant to an oral prescription made by 
any of these licensed professionals are exempt from the 

tax, provided the prescription is reduced to writing, signed 
by the pharmacist, and filed in the same manner as an 
original written prescription. Medicines or drugs sold 
pursuant to the refilling of a physician's or dentist's 
prescription by any of these licensed professionals are also 
exempt from the tax. Vendors Sellers making sales of 
medicines or drugs pursuant to physician's or dentist's 
these prescriptions or in refilling the same refills must keep 
sales records segregating the prescription sales. All original 
prescriptions must be filed and kept available for 
inspection by the Department of Taxation Taxation's 
inspection. When a sale is made to refill pharmacist refills 
a prescription, the seller's records of the refill must carry 
the number of the original prescription for reference.  
2. Sales of controlled Controlled drugs sold to a licensed 
physician certain health care providers. A licensed 
physician, licensed optometrist, licensed nurse practitioner, 
or licensed physician assistant may purchase controlled 
drugs for use in his professional practice are exempt from 
the retail sales and use tax. The Department of Taxation 
will look to the purchasers on the invoice that supports the 
transaction to determine whether the controlled drug 
exemption applies. When an invoice includes any of the 
licensed practitioners as the purchaser, this is sufficient to 
demonstrate that the purchase was made by the qualifying 
party for use in his professional practice. The use of a Drug 
Enforcement Agency number is also sufficient.  
3. Sales of medicines or drugs to users or consumers, 
except when the sales are made pursuant to a prescription 
of a physician or dentist or as a refill of a written 
prescription, as referred to in paragraph (A) are subject to 
the tax. Sales of medicines Medicines and drugs sold to 
licensed hospitals and nursing homes conducted for profit 
are subject to the similar facilities. Licensed hospitals, 
nursing homes, clinics, and similar facilities may purchase 
medicines and drugs for their use and consumption exempt 
from the retail sales and use tax unless the sales are made 
as a result of a written prescription of a licensed physician 
for a particular patient under the care of the hospital or 
nursing home. Sales to hospitals or licensed nursing homes 
conducted not for profit, however, are not subject to the 
tax. For more information about concerning hospitals and 
nursing homes, see 23VAC10-210-720.  
4. Purchases of drugs by the dealer for filling prescriptions 
are not subject to the tax and must be made under 
certificate of exemption. Medicines and drugs purchased 
for resale. A retailer may purchase drugs that will be used 
to fill or refill prescriptions exempt of the retail sales and 
use tax, provided the retailer presents the supplier with a 
certificate of exemption, Form ST-10, at the time of 
purchase.  

D. Nonprescription drugs and proprietary drugs. 
1. Nonprescription medicines or drugs and proprietary 
medicines and drugs purchased for the cure, mitigation, 
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treatment, or prevention of disease in human beings may 
be purchased exempt of the retail sales and use tax 
regardless of the nature of the purchaser. No certificate of 
exemption is necessary to utilize the exemption. 
2. In order to be deemed an exempt nonprescription drug, 
the item at issue must (i) contain a nonprescription drug or 
proprietary medicine; (ii) be sold for internal or topical 
use; (iii) be sold for the cure, mitigation, treatment, or 
prevention of disease in human beings; and (iv) fall outside 
of the excluded categories set forth in subdivision 3 of this 
subsection. Products that require over-the-counter 
registration are deemed exempt nonprescription drugs or 
medicines if they meet these requirements. 
3. The exemption for nonprescription drugs and proprietary 
medicines does not apply to the following categories of 
items: 

a. Cosmetics; 
b. Toilet articles; 
c. Food products and supplements classified as such by 
the federal Food and Drug Administration; 
d. Vitamins and mineral concentrates sold as dietary 
supplements or adjuncts, except when sold pursuant to a 
written prescription by a licensed physician, nurse 
practitioner, or physician's assistant;  
e. Devices, including contraceptive items, birth control 
preparations, and testing kits. However, a separate 
exemption is available for diabetic testing kits under 
subsection F of this section; 
f. Products listing natural or herbal ingredients as the 
active components unless the items contain a 
nonprescription drug or proprietary medicine and treat, 
cure, or prevent disease in human beings. 
g. Items containing nonprescription drugs or other 
medicinal ingredients that serve a secondary function to 
the intended use of the product, such as toothpaste with 
nonprescription drugs added to prevent gingivitis. 

4. Following is a list of nonprescription drugs and 
proprietary medicines that qualify for exemption based on 
their status as nonprescription drugs or proprietary 
medicines. This list is intended as a guide and is not 
intended to be all inclusive. 

Acne products Headache relief aid 
products 

Alcohol, rubbing Hemorrhoidal treatments 

Alcohol swabs Hydrogen peroxide 

Allergy relief products Ibuprofen 

Analgesics Insect bite and sting 
preparations 

Anesthetics  Iodine 

Antacids Itch and rash relievers 

Antibiotic ointments Laxatives 

Antifungals Lice products used to kill 
lice that infect humans 

Antihistamines Liniments 

Antimalarials Lip balms, ice and salves, 
medicated 

Antinauseants Lotions, medicated 

Antiseptics Menstrual cramp relievers 

Aspirin Mercurochrome 

Asthma preparations Milk of Magnesia 

Baby powder, 
medicated 

Mineral oil 

Bandages, gauze, or 
swabs, provided these 
items contain antiseptic 
or bacterial control 
products in the pad 

Motion sickness remedies 

Bee sting relievers Mouthwashes containing 
antiseptic 

Benzoin Muscle ache relievers 

Boric acid ointment Nasal drops and sprays 

Burn remedies Nicotine supplements that 
treat nicotine withdrawal 
symptoms 

Calamine lotion Oil of wintergreen 

Camphor Pain relievers, oral or 
topical 

Castor oil Parasiticides for humans 

Cathartics Peroxide, medicinal 

Cold or canker sore 
preparations 

Poison ivy and oak 
preparations 

Cold capsules and 
remedies 

Powder, medicated 

Contact lens lubricating 
and wetting solutions 
for insertion directly 
into the eye 

Rectal preparations 

Contraceptive creams 
containing 
nonprescription drugs 
and intended to treat a 
disease 

Shampoos, medicated 
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Cough and cold items, 
cough drops, cough 
syrups 

Sinus relievers 

Dandruff and seborrhea 
preparations 

Sitz bath solutions 

Decongestants Skin irritation relievers 

Diarrhea remedies Sleep aids and sleep 
inducers 

Digestive aids Soap, including 
germicidal, surgical, 
therapeutic, or other soaps 
used for medical treatment 

Disinfectant for use on 
or about the human 
body 

Styptic pencils 

Diuretics Sunburn lotions 

Earache and earwax 
removal preparations 

Sunscreen containing SPF 
protection 

Eczema preparations Suppositories, excluding 
contraceptives 

Epsom salts Teething preparations 

Expectorants Throat lozenges, medicated 

Eye drops, lotions, 
ointments, and washes 
for healing, treatment, 
or therapeutic use 

Tooth desensitizers 

Fever blister aids Toothache relievers 

First aid healing agents, 
cleaners 

Upset stomach relievers 

Fluoride rinses and 
antiseptic dental washes 

Vaginal infection remedies 

Foot care products for 
treatments of infections, 
medicated callous or 
corn removers, ingrown 
toenail preparations, and 
athlete's foot treatments 

Wart removers 

Fungicides for human 
use 

Witch hazel 

Glucose tablets Worming treatments for 
human use humans 

Glycerine products 
intended for medical use 

Zinc oxide ointments 

Hay fever aid products  

5. Following is a list of items that do not qualify as 
nonprescription drugs or proprietary medicines. These 
items may qualify for another retail sales and use tax 
exemption. This list is intended as a guide and is not 
intended to be all inclusive. 

Adhesive bandages, 
dressings, and cotton 

Household disinfectants 
and insecticides 

Adhesive removers Infant formula 

Adhesive tape Insect repellant 

Ammonia Mouthwashes, excluding 
antiseptic mouthwashes 

Appetite suppressants Nutraceutical products 

Bath crystals, milks, oils 
and powder 

Oral electrolyte mixtures 
for rehydration 

Birth control 
preparations 

Pet medical supplies 

Breath fresheners and 
sweeteners 

Pet medicines 

Bubble bath Petroleum jelly 

Bunions or corn pads, 
unless medicated 

Powders, nonmedicated 

Cleaning creams and 
lotions 

Prophylactics 

Cod liver oil Pumice powder 

Contact lens cleaning 
solutions and 
disinfectants, unless 
designed to be applied 
directly in the eye 

Saline solution 

Cosmetics, whether or 
not containing medicinal 
properties or acne 
treatments 

Sanitary napkins, tampons, 
and similar items 

Cotton applicators, rolls, 
balls, and swabs 

Shampoos, nonmedicated 

Cuticle softener Shaving products 

Denture adhesives, 
cleaners, and 
preparations 

Skin bleaches 

Deodorants and 
antiperspirants 

Soaps for general use 

Depilatories Stimulants 

Dental floss and 
threaders 

Suntan lotion without SPF 
protection 
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Diet aids Talcum powder 

Dietary foods, 
supplements, and 
substitutes 

Testing kits 

Distilled water Thermometers 

Exfoliants Toothpastes, polishes, 
powders, and whiteners, 
including products 
containing fluoride or 
peroxide 

Glycolic acid products Vitamins and mineral 
supplements 

Hair restoration products Wax 

Hand sanitizers, sprays, 
foams, gels, soaps or 
wipes, including 
antibacterial items  

Weight control preparations 

Herbal teas, drinks, pills, 
or powder supplements 

Wrinkle removing and 
concealing preparations 

6. If a homeopathic product is classified as a drug by the 
federal Food and Drug Administration, is used internally or 
topically, and is used for the cure, treatment, mitigation, or 
prevention of disease in human beings, the product is 
exempt from the retail sales and use tax. 
7. Nonprescription items packaged with items that would 
not qualify for exemption as nonprescription drugs, such as 
items found in a first-aid kit, are subject to the retail sales 
and use tax. The tax is computed on the total sales price. 
8. Items identified as "sensitive care products" range from 
lotions and soap-free cleaners to medicated products that 
treat a number of medical conditions. The taxability of 
these items must be determined on a case-by-case basis, 
based on the ingredients the item contains and the intended 
purpose of the product. 
9. Retailers making sales of nonprescription drugs must 
include exempt nonprescription drugs with all other 
exempt sales on the retailer's regular sales tax return, Form 
ST-9. Retail dealers making sales of such items must keep 
records segregating purchases and sales of exempt items. 

D. E. Eyeglasses and other ophthalmic aids and supplies.  
1. Optometrists, ophthalmologists, and opticians are 
engaged in the provision of professional services and must 
pay the tax to their suppliers at the time they purchase 
instruments, supplies, equipment, and other tangible 
personal property used in performing their professional 
services or remit the use tax directly to the Department of 
Taxation on these items. However, when optometrists, 
ophthalmologists, and opticians provide eyeglass cases, 
contact lens storage containers, solutions, sterilization kits, 
or other similar devices related to wearing or maintaining 

contact lenses or eyeglasses to their patients free of charge, 
the practitioners may purchase these specified items 
exempt of the tax. 
1. Sales of eyeglasses 2. Eyeglasses ground on prescription 
of physicians, ophthalmologists, or optometrists, including 
as well as frames as an that are an integral part of the 
glasses are not subject to the tax exempt from the retail 
sales and use tax. Eyeglass frames sold in connection with 
the repair or replacement of prescription eyeglasses are 
also exempt from the tax, provided the prescription for the 
glasses is on file with the person replacing or repairing the 
eyeglass frames.  
2. Eyeglass frames sold in connection with the repair or 
replacement of eyeglasses ground on prescription of 
physicians, ophthalmologists or optometrists are not 
subject to the tax.  
3. Sales of Dealers, including ophthalmologists and 
optometrists, are not subject to the retail sales and use tax 
on purchases of eyeglass frames, optical merchandise, and 
optical supplies by that are purchased for resale and may 
present the optical supply houses to dealers, including 
ophthalmologists and optometrists, for resale are not 
subject to the tax until sold at retail by such purchasers at 
which time the rules set forth in this section apply supplier 
with an exemption certificate, Form ST-10, at the time of 
purchase.  
4. Sales of ophthalmic instruments and supplies to 
physicians, ophthalmologists, optometrists and other users 
are subject to the tax.  
5. All sales to users or consumers of eyeglass 4. Eyeglass 
frames, nonprescription sunglasses not ground on 
prescription, cases, solutions for cleaning eyeglasses, 
barometers, telescopes, binoculars, opera glasses, and 
similar items are subject to the tax when sold to users or 
consumers. All persons, including opticians, optometrists 
and ophthalmologists making such sales of these items, 
including opticians, optometrists, and ophthalmologists, 
are required to register as dealers and collect and pay the 
tax due. However, sales of eyeglass frames or repair parts 
for prescription eyeglasses are exempt from the tax if the 
prescription for the glasses is on file with the person 
replacing or repairing the eyeglass frames.  
6. 5. The exemptions outlined in this regulation subsection 
have no application whatever to the retail sales of 
eyeglasses or other optical goods not prescribed by 
licensed optometrists or ophthalmologists. All such of 
these sales are subject to the tax.  

E. Wheelchairs, braces, prosthetic devices, orthopedic 
appliances, etc. F. Durable medical equipment, devices, and 
certain products for diabetics. 

1. Generally. The tax does not apply to wheelchairs and 
their repair parts, braces, crutches, prosthetic devices, 
orthopedic appliances, catheters, urinary accessories, other 
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durable medical equipment and devices, insulin and insulin 
syringes, and equipment devices and chemical reagents 
which that may be used by a diabetic to test or monitor 
blood or urine, when such these items are purchased by or 
on behalf of an individual using these items for the 
individual's exclusive use. For example, if individual A 
purchases a wheelchair for use by individual B, no tax will 
apply to the transaction since the wheelchair is purchased 
on behalf of individual B. However, purchases of these 
items by a profit hospital, licensed nursing home, home for 
adults or by a licensed physician for use in his professional 
practice are deemed to be purchases on behalf of an 
individual only if purchased for a specific individual. Items 
withdrawn from an inventory of items purchased in bulk 
are not deemed to be purchased on behalf of an individual. 
(See subsection (G) below.) The fact that an item is 
purchased from a medical equipment supplier or on a 
physician's prescription is not dispositive of its exempt 
status. 
In addition, parts or supplies that are specifically designed 
for use with the items outlined in this subdivision are 
exempt from retail sales and use tax. For example, because 
hearing aids qualify as durable medical equipment, hearing 
aid batteries also are exempt durable medical equipment 
because these items are a part or supply specifically 
designed for use with hearing aids. General purpose 
medical supplies such as tape, gauze, dressings, alcohol 
swabs, and sharps containers for disposal of used needles 
and waste bags are not designed for use with durable 
medical equipment; therefore, they do not qualify for the 
exemption. 
2. Prosthetic devices. Generally, implants satisfy the 
definition of prosthetic devices and may be purchased exempt 
of the tax when purchased by or on behalf of specific 
individuals. However, implants used for cosmetic purposes 
are not used to replace missing body parts or functions and, as 
such, do not qualify for exemption from the tax, regardless of 
whether they are purchased by or on behalf of an individual. 
For dentures and other prosthetic devices relating to the 
practice of dentistry, see 23VAC10-210-500.  
3. Following is a list of the types of items that are deemed 
durable medical equipment or other qualifying equipment 
or devices under this subsection. This is a listing of general 
categories of products; specific items must meet all of the 
requirements for durable medical equipment or other 
qualifying items, as outlined in subdivision 1 of this 
subsection. The listing is intended to be exemplary and not 
all inclusive.  

Aerosol compressors, 
stationary and portable 

Oxygen concentrators 

Air oxygen mixers Oxygen conserving devices 

Alternating pressure 
pads 

Oxygen cylinders 

Alternating pressure 
pumps, if used with 
alternate pressure pads 

Oxygen equipment 

Apnea monitors and 
accessories 

Oxygen fittings and 
accessories 

Aspirators Oxygen humidifiers 

Bed rails Oxygen tubing 

Bedside commodes Oxygen 

Bone fracture therapy 
devices 

Paraffin baths 

Catheter devices and 
supplies 

Patient care equipment for 
physical and occupational 
therapy 

Colostomy supplies and 
devices 

Patient lifts 

Communication aids for 
physically impaired 

Patient lift slings 

Continuous passive 
motion devices 

Patient transport devices 
and boards 

Continuous positive 
airway pressure (CPAP) 
and CPAP accessories 

Percussors and vibrators 

Crawlers Physical therapy items such 
as wrist and ankle weights, 
shoulder braces, supports 
and braces when 
rehabilitative related 

Crutches, crutch pads, 
and tips 

Phototherapy lights, 
provided they are used to 
serve a medical purpose and 
not for sun tanning 
purposes 

Cylinder stands and 
support devices 

Pneumatic compression 
units and accessories 

Cylinder transport 
devices, sheaths and 
carts 

Posture back supports, 
including back supports for 
seating 

Decubitus seating pads 
and bed pads 

Raised toilet seats 

Dressing aids, button 
loops, zipper aids, etc. 

Reaching aids 

Eating and drinking aids Regulators and flowmeters 

Emergency oxygen 
delivery units 

Respiratory accessories, 
such as PFLEX or Peak 
Flow items 
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Enteral and parenteral 
feeding equipment and 
supplies, including 
tubes, pumps, and 
containers 

Respiratory therapy 
equipment 

Face masks Restraints 

Fitted stroller Room humidifiers with 
script 

Foam seating pads Shampoo trays 

Foam wedges Shower seating and bath 
benches 

Gas oxygen refills and 
tanks 

Shower grip bars 

Geriatric chairs Sitting and sleeping 
cushions 

Glucose monitors and 
supplies, except batteries 

Specialized seating, desks, 
and work stations 

Grooming aids and 
dental aids 

Specially designed hand 
utensils 

Hand exercise 
equipment putty 

Splints and holders 

Heating pads Stairglides and lifts in home 

Hospital beds Standing frames, devices, 
and accessories 

Hospital bed mattresses 
and egg crates 

Stethoscope 

Household aids for the 
impaired 

Tank wrench 

Hydro-collators Transcutaneous electrical 
nerve stimulator (TENS) 
unit and muscle stimulators 

Hydro-therm heating 
pads 

TENS accessories 
(electrodes, wiring 
specifically for use with 
TENS units) 

Ice bags Toilet safety frames 

Intermittent positive 
pressure breathing 
(IPPB) circuits, devices 
and supplies 

Tracheotomy and suction 
supplies 

Intravenous (IV) stands Traction stands, pulleys, 
etc. 

IV supplies such as 
catheters and tubing 

Trapeze bars and bar stands 

Leg weights, related to 
rehabilitation 

Ultrasonic nebulizers 

Lift recliners Vaporizer 

Liquid and gas oxygen 
systems, stationary and 
portable 

Volume ventilators, 
respirators, and related 
device supplies 

Manual resuscitators Walker accessories 

Muscle stimulators Walkers 

Nasal cannulas Walking canes, quad canes, 
accessories 

Nebulizers and tubing Wheelchairs 

Overbed tables Wheel walkers 

Oximeters Writing and speech aids for 
the impaired 

4. Following are examples that demonstrate whether the 
definition for durable medical equipment is met: 

Example 1: A physician purchases a disposable capsule 
for a specific patient that must be ingested to capture 
internal images of the body. Because the capsule is 
disposable, it is not able to withstand repeated use. 
Therefore, the capsule does not qualify as durable 
medical equipment. 
Example 2: A physician offering gynecological services 
purchases intrauterine copper contraceptive devices for a 
specific patient. Because the contraceptive devices are 
not useful in the absence of illness or injury, they are not 
durable medical equipment. Although there are instances 
of pregnancy that may threaten the health of a patient, 
and in which the patient may not be able to use other 
forms of contraceptive, the devices are designed for 
contraceptive use. Therefore, they are not exempt durable 
medical equipment. 

5. The exemption in this subsection is available only for 
items purchased by or on behalf of an individual for his 
use. In order to be deemed a purchase on behalf of an 
individual, the item must be specifically purchased for the 
individual. If items are purchased in bulk and then 
dispensed to individual patients, the exemption does not 
apply, even if the items are modified or fitted for a specific 
individual. 

Example 1: A physician maintains an inventory of 
crutches or ace bandages that are dispensed to individual 
patients as needed. The physician must pay sales or use 
tax on these items because the original purchase was not 
made on behalf of a specific patient. 
Example 2: A physician determines that a patient needs a 
brace and purchases a brace specifically designed for that 
patient. The purchase is made on behalf of the individual 
and is exempt from the tax. 
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The Department of Taxation has not prescribed a 
certificate of exemption to use when durable medical 
equipment and other exempt items under subdivision 1 of 
this subsection are purchased on behalf of a specific 
person. When the purchaser has no blanket exemption for 
its purchases and no certificate of exemption or other 
exemption notice from the Department of Taxation applies, 
the dealer must get a signed statement from the medical 
service provider making the purchase, such as the hospital, 
nursing home, licensed physician, or infusion service 
business, certifying that the durable medical equipment is 
purchased on behalf of a specific patient through a doctor's 
prescription or hospital's work order and is for sole use by 
that patient. The purchaser is also responsible for retaining 
a copy of the doctor's prescription or hospital work order 
as part of the record of the transaction for tax auditing 
purposes. The fact that a purchaser can trace durable 
medical equipment back to a specific patient after the fact 
is not sufficient to establish that the durable medical 
equipment was purchased for a specific individual; 
therefore, the purchaser's documentation must have 
included patient identification information at the time of 
purchase in order for the purchase to be deemed made on 
behalf of an individual. For purposes of proving that the 
sale was for a specific individual in the event of a sales and 
use tax audit, the purchaser may redact any identifying 
information in order to comply with federal and state 
privacy laws. 
2. Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis.  
Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis equipment, supplies 
and drugs used in dialysis are not subject to the tax. This 
exemption is applicable regardless of the nature of the 
purchaser. Therefore such dialysis equipment, supplies and 
drugs may be purchased exempt by physicians, individuals, 
profit and nonprofit hospitals, and other entities.  

F. Durable medical equipment. The tax does not apply to 
durable medical equipment purchased by or on behalf of an 
individual. Durable medical equipment is that which (1) can 
withstand repeated use; (2) is primarily and customarily used 
to serve a medical purpose; (3) generally is not useful to a 
person in the absence of illness or injury; and (4) is 
appropriate for use in the home. In order for an item to be 
exempt from the tax, it must meet all of the above criteria. 
The fact that an item is purchased from a medical equipment 
supplier is not dispositive of its exempt status; the item must 
satisfy the definition of durable medical equipment. 

Following is a list of those types of items which constitute 
durable medical equipment. This is a listing of general 
categories of products; specific items must still meet the 
definition set forth above. The listing is intended to be 
exemplary and not all inclusive.  

Oxygen equipment  
Oxygen cylinders  
Cylinder transport devices (sheaths, carts)  

Cylinder stands, support devices  
Regulators, flowmeters  
Tank wrench  
Oxygen concentrators  
Liquid oxygen base dispenser  
Liquid oxygen portable dispenser  
Oxygen tubing  
Nasal cannulas  
Face masks  
Oxygen humidifiers  
Oxygen fittings, accessories  
Respiratory therapy equipment  
Room humidifiers (with script)  
Aspirators  
Aerosol compressors (stationary and portable)  
Ultrasonic nebulizers  
Volume ventilators, respirators and related device supplies  
Percussors, vibrators  
IPPB, circuits, devices and supplies  
Air oxygen mixers  
Manual resuscitators  
Nebulizers, tubing  
Emergency oxygen delivery units  
Patient care equipment, physical and occupational therapy  
Hospital beds  
Trapeze bars--bar stand  
Bed rails  
Geriatric chairs  
Lift recliners  
Bedside commodes  
Overbed tables  
Patient lifts  
Patient lifts slings  
Traction stands, pulleys, etc.  
Shower seating  
Shower grip bars  
Raised toilet seats  
Toilet safety frames  
Walking canes, quad canes, accessories  
Walkers  
Wheel walkers  
Walker accessories  
I.V. stands  
Crawlers  
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Posture back supports for seating  
Posture back supports  
Wheelchairs  
Crutches, crutch pads, tips  
Restraints  
Standing frames, devices and accessories  
Colostomy supplies and devices  
Enteral and parenteral feeding equipment and supplies 

(tubes, pumps, containers)  
Catheter devices and supplies  
Hand exercise equipment putty  
Specially designed hand utensils  
Leg weights (rehab. related)  
Paraffin baths  
Hydro-collators  
Hydro-therm heating pads  
Communication aids for physically impaired  
Specialized seating, desks, work stations  
Foam wedges  
Writing and speech aids for the impaired  
Dressing aids, button loops, zipper aids, etc.  
Grooming aids, dental aids  
Eating and drinking aids  
Splints, holders  
Household aids for the impaired  
Shampoo trays  
Reaching aids  
Foam seating pads  
Decubitis seating pads, bed pads  
Fitted stroller  
Alternating pressure pads  
Stethoscope  
Sitting and sleeping cushions  
Patient transport devices, boards  
Stairglides, lifts in home  
Transcutaneous nerve stimulators  
Muscle stimulators  
Bone fracture therapy devices  
G. Purchases on behalf of an individual. The exemption for 

wheelchairs and repair parts, braces, crutches, prosthetic 
devices, orthopedic appliances, catheters, urinary accessories, 
insulin and insulin syringes, equipment, devices or chemical 
reagents used by a diabetic to test or monitor blood or urine, 
and durable medical equipment and devices and related parts 
and supplies specifically designed for such equipment 
extends to items purchased "on behalf of" an individual for 

his use. In order to be deemed a purchase on behalf of an 
individual, the item must be specifically bought for the 
individual. If items are purchased in bulk and then dispensed 
to individual patients, no exemption is applicable even if the 
item is modified or fitted for a specific individual.  

For example if a physician maintains an inventory of 
crutches or ace bandages which are dispensed to individual 
patients as needed, the purchase of these items is not exempt 
since the original purchase was not made on behalf of a 
specific patient. Conversely, if a physician determines that a 
patient needs a brace and purchases a brace specifically 
designed for that patient, the purchase is made on behalf of 
the individual and will not be subject to the tax.  

For dentures and other prosthetic devices relating to the 
practice of dentistry, see 23VAC10-210-500.  

G. Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis equipment, 
supplies, and drugs. Hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis 
equipment, supplies, and drugs used in dialysis are not 
subject to the tax. This exemption is applicable regardless of 
the nature of the purchaser. Therefore, hemodialysis and 
peritoneal dialysis equipment, supplies, and drugs may be 
purchased exempt by physicians, individuals, for-profit and 
nonprofit hospitals, and other entities. 

H. Samples distributed to authorized recipients. 
Pharmaceutical manufacturers are not subject to sales and use 
tax for samples of prescription drugs and medicines or the 
packaging when distributed free of charge to licensed 
physicians, hospitals, pharmacies, and other health care 
facilities upon the written request of these medical providers 
in accordance with the federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act 
(21 USC § 301 et seq.). 

I. Purchases of medicines and drugs by veterinarians. 
Veterinarians who dispense medicines or drugs on 
prescription are deemed the users or consumers of all such 
medicines and drugs and must pay the retail sales and use tax 
on these purchases; however, veterinarians may purchase 
exempt of the sales and use tax all medicines and drugs that 
will be used in caring for, medicating, or treating agricultural 
production animals. For additional information on the 
taxability of drugs dispensed by veterinarians, see 23VAC10-
210-6050. 

J. Purchases of medical products and supplies by certain 
Medicaid recipients. Medicaid recipients are authorized to 
purchase medical products and supplies that are otherwise 
taxable, such as bandages, gauze dressings, incontinence 
products, and wound care products exempt from the retail 
sales and use tax, provided the purchase is made through a 
Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 
provider agreement. This exemption applies to any type of 
medical product or supply, incontinence, or wound care 
product, provided DMAS pays for the product or supply. 
Sellers must maintain sufficient documentation to verify that 
the purchase transaction meets the criteria of the exemption. 
The documentation must (i) identify the item sold; (ii) 
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identify that the purchaser is a Medicaid recipient; and (iii) 
verify that the transaction is billed in accordance with a 
DMAS provider agreement. 
NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 
regulation were filed by the agency. The forms are not being 
published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 
Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with 
a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 
Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
FORMS (23VAC10-210)  

Business Registration Application, Form R-1 (rev. 3/08).  
5% Virginia Sales Tax Table (rev. 9/04).  
2.5% Virginia Qualifying Food Sales Tax Table (rev. 4/05). 
Certificate of Registration, Form ST-4 (rev. 2/08).  
Virginia Direct Payment Permit Sales and Use Tax Return, 

Form ST-6 (rev. 9/05).  
Virginia Direct Payment Permit Sales and Use Tax Return 

Worksheet (Instructions), Form ST-6A (rev. 9/05).  
Virginia Schedule of Local Taxes, Form ST-6B (rev. 7/05).  
Virginia Business Consumer's Use Tax Return, Form ST-7 

(rev. 7/05).  
Virginia Business Consumer's Use Tax Return Worksheet 

and Instructions, Form ST-7A (rev. 6/05).  
Virginia Out-of-State Dealer's Use Tax Return, Form ST-8 

(rev. 9/05).  
Virginia Out-of-State Dealer's Use Tax Return Worksheet 

and Instructions, Form ST-8A (rev. 9/05).  
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax Return, Form ST-9 (rev. 

11/06).  
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax Worksheet and 

Instructions, Form ST-9A (rev. 9/05).  
Schedule of Local Sales and Use Taxes, Form ST-9B (rev. 

7/05).  
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax Return, Form ST-9 

(6210051) (rev. 3/2013) 
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax Return for Consolidated 

Filers, Form ST-9 (6210051) (rev. 3/2013); includes: 
Virginia Schedule of Local Sales and Use Taxes, Form ST-
9B (6202053) (rev. 3/2013)  
Virginia Retail Sales and Use Tax, ST-9A Worksheet 
(6201052) (rev. 3/2013) 
Virginia Schedule of Regional State Sales and Use Tax, 
Form ST-9R (6201055) (rev. 2013) 

Application for Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Nonprofit 
Organizations, Form NPO Appl (rev. 1/08).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For dealers 
who purchase tangible personal property for resale, lease or 
rental), Form ST-10 (rev. 10/99).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption, Form ST-10 
(6201056) (rev. 9/2015) - For a Virginia dealer who 
purchases tangible personal property for resale, or for lease or 
rental, or who purchases materials or containers to package 
tangible personal property for sale 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For catalogs 
and other printed materials distributed outside of Virginia; 
property delivered to factor or agent for foreign export; 
advertising for placement in media; advertising supplements), 
Form ST-10A (rev. 6/95).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (for use by 
handicapped persons for purchase of special equipment for 
installation on a motor vehicle), Form ST-10B (rev. 7/78). 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For 
manufacturing, processing, refining, converting, mining, 
basic research and research and development in experimental 
or laboratory sense, or certified pollution control equipment; 
equipment, materials or supplies used in the production of a 
publication issued at least quarterly; high speed electrostatic 
duplicators; materials, containers, etc. for future used for 
packaging tangible personal property for shipment or sale), 
Form ST-11 (rev. 6/06).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
construction contractors and non-manufacturers when 
purchasing tangible personal property for usage directly in 
manufacturing products for sale or resale which are exempt 
from the tax; incorporation into real property in another state 
or foreign country which could be purchased free from the tax 
in such state or country; agricultural production, to be affixed 
to real property owned or leased by a farmer engaged in 
agricultural production for market), Form ST-11A (rev. 5/06). 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by a 
semiconductor manufacturer), Form ST-11B (rev. 5/06). 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, a political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, or the United States), Form ST-
12 (rev. 10/06).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
certain medical related organizations), Form ST-13 (rev. 
10/06).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
nonprofit churches), Form ST-13A (rev. 6/07).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use 
exclusively by an out-of-state dealer who purchases tangible 
personal property in VA for immediate transportation out of 
VA in his own vehicle for resale outside VA), Form ST-14 
(rev. 3/99).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use 
exclusively by an out-of-state dealer who purchases livestock 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd771000650~2&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd771000650~2&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0049b000650~1&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0049b000650~1&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2500e000650~3&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2500e000650~3&typ=40&actno=000650&mime=application/pdf
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in VA for immediate transportation out of VA for resale 
outside VA.) Form ST-14A (rev. 1/99).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
individuals purchasing heating oil, artificial or propane gas, 
firewood or coal for domestic consumption), Form ST-15 
(rev. 9/05).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
watermen who extract fish, bivalves, or crustaceans from 
waters for commercial purposes.), Form ST-16 (rev. 9/05).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
harvesters of forest products.), Form ST-17 (rev. 7/99).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
farmers engaged in agricultural production), Form ST-18 
(rev. 5/06).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
shipping lines engaged in interstate or foreign commerce, and 
by shipbuilding companies engaged in building, converting or 
repairing ships or vessel), Form ST-19 (rev. 6/05).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
certain public service corporations, commercial radio, and 
television companies, cable television systems, taxicab 
operators and certain airlines.), Form ST-20 (rev. 9/04).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
production companies, program producers, radio, television 
and cable T.V. companies, and other entities engaged in the 
production and creation of exempt audiovisual works and the 
licensing, distribution and broadcasting of same), Form ST-
20A (rev. 9/05). 

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use when 
purchasing or leasing railroad rolling stock from a 
manufacturer), Form ST-22 (rev. 4/07).  

Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemption (For use by 
individuals purchasing multi-fuel heating stoves for resident 
heating, Form ST-23 (rev. 8/07). 

Virginia Consumers Use Tax Return for Individuals, Form 
CU-7 (rev. 6/07).  

Virginia Vending Machine Dealer's Sales Tax Return, Form 
VM-2 (rev. 8/05).  

Virginia Vending Machines Dealer's Sales Tax Return 
Worksheet, Form VM-2A (rev. 9/05).  

Schedule of Local Vending Machine Sales Tax, Form VM-
2B (rev. 7/05).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-650; Filed May 31, 2016, 11:34 a.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 23VAC10-210. Retail Sales and Use 
Tax (amending 23VAC10-210-160, 23VAC10-210-220, 
23VAC10-210-250, 23VAC10-210-340, 23VAC10-210-450, 
23VAC10-210-485, 23VAC10-210-630, 23VAC10-210-680, 
23VAC10-210-2070, 23VAC10-210-3080, 23VAC10-210-
6041, 23VAC10-210-6042, 23VAC10-210-6043).  
Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 
scheduled. 
Public Comment Deadline: August 26, 2016. 
Effective Date: September 12, 2016.  
Agency Contact: Andrea Muse, Department of Taxation, 600 
East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23261-7185, telephone 
(804) 371-2336, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
andrea.muse@tax.virginia.gov. 
Basis: Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 
the Tax Commissioner to issue regulations relating to the 
interpretation and enforcement of the laws governing taxes 
administered by the Department of Taxation. The retail sales 
and use tax is administered by the Department of Taxation. 
Purpose: Statutory rate change and legislative changes. This 
regulatory action is needed to (i) update the retail sales and 
use tax rate to the rate provided in statute, (ii) reflect the 
legislative change allowing dealers to absorb the sales and use 
tax during the sales tax holiday period, and (iii) reflect the 
legislative change in the dealer discount percentages. 
Updating Retail Sales and Use Tax, 23VAC10-210, for the 
rate change and the other legislative changes does not reflect 
any change in current tax policy and will have no impact on 
the administration of the retail sales and use tax.  
Sourcing rules. As the additional 0.7% state retail sales and 
use tax is only imposed in certain localities, the retail sales 
and use tax rate may be different depending upon in which 
locality the sale or use is sourced. On June 13, 2013, the 
Department of Taxation published the "Guidelines for the 
Retail Sales and Use Tax Changes Enacted in the 2013 
General Assembly Session" after working with affected 
dealers, providers of transient lodgings, and local 
governments. The guidelines set out rules based on long-
standing policy pursuant to §§ 58.1-605 and 58.1-606 of the 
Code of Virginia regarding how to determine which Virginia 
locality is attributed the sale or use of tangible personal 
property for the purposes of the retail sales and use tax. The 
amendments are needed to set out these sourcing rules in a 
regulation. 
Fuels for domestic consumption. The amendments are needed 
to update the list of cities and counties that the department is 
aware of having, as of 2014, adopted ordinances exempting 
fuels for domestic consumption from the local 1.0% sales and 
use tax. Updating the regulation does not reflect any change 
in current tax policy and will have no impact on the 
administration of the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
As the Commonwealth relies on tax revenues to fund core 
government activities, enforcement of its tax laws is essential 
to protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens. Although 
administrative interpretations of the tax laws that are in the 
form of published rulings, tax bulletins, guidelines, and other 
published documents are accorded judicial notice, even 
published "rulings and policies themselves are not entitled to 
great weight, unless expressed in regulations" Chesapeake 
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Hospital Authority v. Commonwealth, 262 Va. 551 (2001). 
Therefore, to ensure enforcement, it is necessary to 
promulgate regulations containing the Tax Commissioner's 
interpretations of the tax laws. This action is necessary to 
conform the retail sales and use tax regulation to statutory 
changes. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process: Legislative changes. 
Amending Retail Sales and Use Tax, 23VAC10-210, to 
update the tax rate and reflect legislative changes regarding 
the absorption of the retail sales and use tax and the dealer 
discount percentages is expected to be noncontroversial and 
appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process.  
Sourcing rules. Amending 23VAC10-210-2070 to provide 
sourcing rules is expected to be noncontroversial and 
appropriate for the fast-track rulemaking process as it will set 
out rules based on long-standing policy that were published in 
guidelines issued in 2013. These rules are set out for purposes 
of the 1.0% local option sales and use tax in §§ 58.1-605 and 
58.1-606 of the Code of Virginia. The department provided 
the draft guidelines on April 8, 2013, to Commissioners of the 
Revenue in the Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads 
Regions; industry organizations such as the Virginia Chamber 
of Commerce, Virginia Retail Merchants Association, and the 
Virginia Petroleum, Convenience, and Grocery Association; 
the Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants; the 
Virginia Bar; and several retailers. After allowing the 
interested parties time to comment and review and receiving 
no opposition, the department published the final "Guidelines 
for the Retail Sales and Use Tax Changes Enacted in the 2013 
General Assembly Session" on May 1, 2013. The guidelines 
were subsequently revised and reissued on June 13, 2013, 
pursuant to a legal decision regarding the localities that fall 
within the Hampton Roads Region. The department is not 
aware of anyone disagreeing with the revised guidelines. 
Fuels for domestic consumption. Amending 23VAC10-210-
630 to update the list of cities and counties that the 
department is aware of having, as of 2014, adopted 
ordinances exempting fuels for domestic consumption from 
the local 1.0% sales and use tax is expected to be 
noncontroversial and appropriate for the fast-track 
rulemaking process. 
Substance: Legislative changes. This action amends Retail 
Sales and Use Tax, 23VAC10-210, to (i) update the retail 
sales and use tax rate to the rate provided in the statute, (ii) 
reflect the legislative change allowing dealers to absorb the 
sales and use tax during the sales tax holiday period, and (iii) 
reflect the legislative change in the dealer discount 
percentages. Updating the retail sales and use tax regulation 
for the rate change and the other legislative changes does not 
reflect any change in current tax policy and will have no 
impact on the administration of the retail sales and use tax. 
Sourcing rules. This regulatory action amends 23VAC10-
210-2070 to set out sourcing rules for the retail sales and use 
tax. Traditionally, determining the situs of a sale subject to 

the Virginia retail sales and use tax was necessary to 
determine which city or county received the 1.0% local 
option sales and use tax. Effective July 1, 2013, determining 
the situs of a sale became more important because an 
additional state retail sales and use tax was imposed in 
Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads at the rate of 0.7% 
pursuant to Chapter 766 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly. 
"Northern Virginia Region" includes the Counties of 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the 
Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 
Manassas Park. "Hampton Roads Region" includes the 
Counties of Isle of Wight, James City, Southampton, and 
York and the Cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, 
Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, 
Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg. 
On June 13, 2013, the Department of Taxation published the 
"Guidelines for the Retail Sales and Use Tax Changes 
Enacted in the 2013 General Assembly Session" after 
working with affected dealers, providers of transient lodgings, 
and local governments. The guidelines set out rules based on 
long-standing policy regarding how to determine which 
Virginia locality is attributed the sale or use of tangible 
personal property for the purposes of the retail sales and use 
tax. These rules are set out for purposes of the 1.0% local 
option sales and use tax in §§ 58.1-605 and 58.1-606 of the 
Code of Virginia.  
Generally, intrastate sales are sourced to the city or county of 
the place of business of the dealer collecting the tax, without 
regard to the city or county of possible use by the purchaser. 
The use tax is generally sourced to the city or county where 
the goods are used or consumed by the purchaser, or stored 
for use or consumption. Out-of-state dealers who hold 
Certificates of Registration to collect the use tax from their 
customers must source sales into Virginia according to the 
city or county of destination. 
Fuels for domestic consumption. This action amends 
23VAC10-210-630 to update the list of cities and counties 
that notified the department prior to March 1983 that 
ordinances had been adopted exempting fuels for domestic 
consumption from the local 1.0% sales and use tax. The 
amendment will add to the list of cities and counties that the 
department is aware of having, as of 2014, adopted an 
ordinance exempting fuels for domestic consumption from 
the local 1.0% sales and use tax. 
Issues: As the regulatory action will update Retail Sales and 
Use Tax, 23VAC10-210, to reflect current law and set out 
rules based on long-standing policy pursuant to §§ 58.1-605 
and 58.1-606 of the Code of Virginia, there are no issues or 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth associated 
with this regulatory action. The primary advantage to the 
public, the Department of Taxation, and the Commonwealth 
of this action is that it will conform the retail sales and use tax 
regulation to legislative changes in the statutory law and 
thereby assist taxpayers with voluntary compliance with the 
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tax, ease administration of the tax by the Department of 
Taxation, and help ensure the steady flow of tax revenues to 
the Commonwealth. 
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis: 
Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 
Department of Taxation (Department) proposes several 
amendments to reflect statutory changes, in particular the 
increase in the state Retail Sales and Use Tax rate from 4 
percent to 4.3 percent, and the additional 0.7 percent state 
Retail Sales and Use Tax in the Northern Virginia and 
Hampton Roads regions. Also, the Department proposes to 
update the list of cities and counties that have adopted an 
ordinance exempting fuels for domestic consumption from 
the local 1% sales and use tax. 
Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 
proposed changes. 
Estimated Economic Impact. The current regulation does not 
reflect numerous statutory changes that have been made 
regarding the Retail Sales and Use Tax. Legislation enacted 
by the 2013 General Assembly (2013 Acts of Assembly, 
Chapter 766) increased the state Retail Sales and Use Tax rate 
from 4 percent to 4.3 percent and imposed an additional state 
Retail Sales and Use Tax in the Northern Virginia1 and 
Hampton Roads2 regions at the rate of 0.7 percent, effective 
July 1, 2013. The Department proposes several amendments 
to the regulation to reflect these changes. 
As the additional 0.7% state Retail Sales and Use Tax is only 
imposed in certain localities, the total Retail Sales and Use 
Tax rate may be different depending on which locality the 
sale or use is sourced. On June 13, 2013, the Department 
published the "Guidelines for the Retail Sales and Use Tax 
Changes Enacted in the 2013 General Assembly Session" 
after working with affected dealers, providers of transient 
lodgings, and local governments. The Guidelines set out rules 
based on long-standing policy pursuant to Va. Code §§ 58.1-
605 and 606 regarding how to determine which Virginia 
locality is attributed the sale or use of tangible personal 
property for the purposes of the Retail Sales and Use Tax. 
The Department proposes to include these rules in the 
regulation.  
The regulation grants compensation to dealers for accounting 
for and paying the state tax in the form of discounts. The 
discount percentages listed in the current regulation are out of 
date due to explicit changes in several bills during the 2010, 
2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015 General Assembly 
sessions.3 Legislation enacted in 2006 (2006 Acts of 
Assembly, Chapter 593) allows dealers to absorb the sales 
and use tax during the sales tax holiday period. The 
Department proposes to amend the regulation to reflect the 
current statutory discount rates and the legislation on 
absorbing the sales and use tax during the sales tax holiday 
period. 

The regulation (both current and proposed) state that "The 
local 1% sales and use tax will continue to apply to all 
purchases for domestic consumption of artificial or propane 
gas, firewood, coal and home heating oil unless the locality 
adopts an ordinance specifically exempting such fuels." The 
current regulation lists localities that as of 1983 had adopted 
such ordinances. The Department proposes to update the list 
of cities and counties with an ordinance exempting fuels for 
domestic consumption from the local 1% sales and use tax. 
The proposed amendments will not affect the tax rates, rules 
and policies in effect, but will be beneficial by increasing 
clarity and reducing potential confusion for readers of the 
regulation. 
Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 
pertain to retailers, large and small, throughout the 
Commonwealth.  
Localities Particularly Affected. Most of the proposed 
provisions apply to all localities. The additional 0.7 percent 
state Retail Sales and Use Tax applies to only the following: 
1) the Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Isle of Wight, James 
City, Loudoun, Prince William, Southampton, and York, and 
2) the Cities of Alexandria, Chesapeake, Fairfax, Falls 
Church, Franklin, Hampton, Manassas, Manassas Park, 
Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, 
Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg. 
Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 
do not significantly affect employment. 
Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 
proposed amendments do not significantly affect the use and 
value of private property. 
Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 
do not affect real estate development costs. 
Small Businesses:  
Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 
small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 
affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 
(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 
annual sales of less than $6 million." 
Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments do not 
significantly affect costs for small businesses. 
Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 
proposed amendments do not create adverse impact for small 
businesses. 
Adverse Impacts: 
Businesses. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect businesses. 
Localities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect localities. 
Other Entities. The proposed amendments will not adversely 
affect other entities. 
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________________________________ 
1 The "Northern Virginia Region" is defined as the Counties of Arlington, 
Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, 
Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park. 
2 The "Hampton Roads Region" is defined as the Counties of Isle of Wight, 
James City, Southampton, and York and the Cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, 
Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia 
Beach, and Williamsburg. 
3 House Bill 29 and House Bill 30 (2010 Acts of Assembly, Chapters 872 and 
874); House Bill 1500 (2011 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 890); House Bill 
1300 and House Bill 1301 (2012 Special Session I Acts of Assembly, 
Chapters 2 and 3); House Bill 1500 (2013 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 806); 
House Bill 5001, House Bill 5002, and House Bill 5010 (2014 Special 
Session I Acts of Assembly, Chapters 1, 2, and 3); and House Bill 1400 
(2015 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 665). 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 
Department of Taxation agrees with the Department of 
Planning and Budget's economic impact analysis. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) reflect statutory increases in the state 
retail sales and use tax rate from 4.0% to 4.3%, and an 
additional 0.7% state retail sales and use tax in the 
Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads Regions, and (ii) 
update the list of cities and counties that have adopted an 
ordinance exempting fuels for domestic consumption from 
the local 1.0% sales and use tax. The amendments do not 
reflect any change in current tax policy. 

23VAC10-210-160. Bad debts.  
A. Generally. Any dealer may obtain a credit for the amount 

of any sales or use tax previously reported and paid on a 
return for accounts found to be worthless. Such credit must be 
claimed on the return filed for the period in which the account 
is determined to be worthless.  

B. Limitations. No credit may exceed the amount of sales 
price which is actually uncollectible. Prior payments made to 
the dealer on a debt which is subsequently determined to be 
uncollectible must be allocated to the sales price, sales tax 
and other nontaxable charges based on the percentage that 
those charges represent to the total debt originally owed.  

If any part of the sales price for which a credit was taken is 
subsequently reported to the dealer, it must be included in 
such dealer's next sales and use tax return.  

The following example illustrates the operation of this 
section.  

Example: Dealer A repairs an item of property for a 
customer. The total charge for such repair is $77 $77.65, 
representing $50 in repair parts, $25 in separately stated, 
nontaxable repair labor, and $2 $2.65 in tax. A reports the 
transaction and remits the tax thereon. After collecting $30, A 
determines that the remainder of the debt is uncollectible. A 
may claim a credit calculated as follows:  

Allocation of Amount Previously Collected: 

50 / 77 
77.65 x $30  

Amount to be Allocated to Repair 
Parts = $19.48 $19.32 

Amount of Sales Price for Computing Credit = $50.00 - 
$19.48 $19.32 = $30.52 $30.68 

Amount of Credit which may be claimed = $1.22 (4% x 
$30.52) $1.63 (5.3% x $30.68) 

Since only the charge for the repair parts was previously 
reported as a taxable sale, only the tax on that portion of the 
remaining outstanding debt attributable to the charge for such 
parts may be taken as a credit. If any portion of the $30.52 
$30.68 remaining sales price is subsequently collected, such 
amount must be reported on the dealer's return for the period 
in which collected.  

C. Hampton Roads Region and Northern Virginia Region. 
The total rate of the state and local sales and use tax in 
localities that fall within these regions is 6.0% (4.3% state, 
0.7% regional, and 1.0% local). The provisions of this section 
apply to transactions sourced to the Hampton Roads Region 
and the Northern Virginia Region, mutatis mutandis. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070.  
23VAC10-210-220. Brackets for collection of the tax.  

A. The rate of the sales and use tax is 5.0% 5.3%, which is 
comprised of a 4.0% 4.3% state tax and a 1.0% local tax 
applicable throughout Virginia. (See 23VAC10-210-6040 
through 23VAC10-210-6043 for special tax rate and 
provisions applicable to sales through vending machines.) An 
additional state sales and use tax is imposed in the Northern 
Virginia and Hampton Roads Regions at the rate of 0.7%. 
The total rate of the state and local sales and use tax is 6.0% 
in localities that fall within these regions (4.3% state, 0.7% 
regional, and 1.0% local). For definitions of the "Hampton 
Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia Region" see 
23VAC10-210-2070. 

The bracket system is used to eliminate fractions of $.01 and 
must be used to compute the tax on transactions of $5.00 or 
less. On transactions over $5.00, the tax is computed at a 
straight 5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and 
Northern Virginia Regions), with one half cent or more 
treated as $.01. Any dealer who collects the tax in accordance 
with the bracket system set forth herein shall not be deemed 
to have over collected the tax. For over collection of the tax 
generally, see 23VAC10-210-340 D. 

B. The bracket system does not relieve the dealer from the 
liability to pay an amount equal to 5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the 
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) of his gross 
taxable sales. However, if the dealer can prove to the 
department that more than 85% of the gross taxable sales for 
the period were from individual sales of $.10 or less (and that 
he was unable to adjust his prices in such manner as to 
prevent the economic incidence of the sales tax from falling 
on him), the department will determine the proper tax liability 
of the dealer based on the portion of gross taxable sales that 
came from sales of $.11 or more. Any dealer who may claim 
this exception must file with each return a separate statement 
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explaining his claim in detail for consideration by the 
department. 

C. Below is the bracket system for the combined state and 
local tax of 5.0% 5.3% on transactions of $5.00 or less: 

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.01 to 0.09 0 

0.10 to 0.29 0.01 

0.30 to 0.49 0.02 

0.50 to 0.69 0.03 

0.70 to 0.89 0.04 

0.90 to 1.09 0.05 

1.10 to 1.29 0.06 

1.30 to 1.49 0.07 

1.50 to 1.69 0.08 

1.70 to 1.89 0.09 

1.90 to 2.09 0.1 

2.10 to 2.29 0.11 

2.30 to 2.49 0.12 

2.50 to 2.69 0.13 

2.70 to 2.89 0.14 

2.90 to 3.09 0.15 

3.10 to 3.29 0.16 

3.30 to 3.49 0.17 

3.50 to 3.69 0.18 

3.70 to 3.89 0.19 

3.90 to 4.09 0.2 

4.10 to 4.29 0.21 

4.30 to 4.49 0.22 

4.50 to 4.69 0.23 

4.70 to 4.89 0.24 

4.90 to 5.00 0.25 

  

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.01 to 0.09 0 

0.10 to 0.28  0.01 

0.29 to 0.47  0.02 

0.48 to 0.66  0.03 

0.67 to 0.84  0.04 

0.85 to 1.03  0.05 

1.04 to 1.22  0.06 

1.23 to 1.41  0.07 

1.42 to 1.60  0.08 

1.61 to 1.79  0.09 

1.80 to 1.98  0.10 

1.99 to 2.16  0.11 

2.17 to 2.35  0.12 

2.36 to 2.54  0.13 

2.55 to 2.73  0.14 

2.74 to 2.92  0.15 

2.93 to 3.11  0.16 

3.12 to 3.30  0.17 

3.31 to 3.49  0.18 

3.50 to 3.67  0.19 

3.68 to 3.86  0.20 

3.87 to 4.05  0.21 

4.06 to 4.24  0.22 

4.25 to 4.43  0.23 

4.44 to 4.62  0.24 

4.63 to 4.81  0.25 

4.82 to 4.99 0.26 

5.00 0.27 

For differential rate on fuels for domestic consumption, see 
23VAC10-210-630.  

D. This subsection contains the bracket system for the 
combined state, regional, and local tax of 6.0% in the 
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions on 
transactions of $5.00 or less: 

  

Sales Price Tax Due 

0.00 to 0.08 0 

0.09 to 0.24  0.01 

0.25 to 0.41  0.02 

0.42 to 0.58  0.03 
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0.59 to 0.74  0.04 

0.75 to 0.91  0.05 

0.92 to 1.08  0.06 

1.09 to 1.24  0.07 

1.25 to 1.41  0.08 

1.42 to 1.58  0.09 

1.59 to 1.74  0.10 

1.75 to 1.91 0.11 

1.92 to 2.08  0.12 

2.09 to 2.24  0.13 

2.25 to 2.41  0.14 

2.42 to 2.58  0.15 

2.59 to 2.74  0.16 

2.75 to 2.91  0.17 

2.92 to 3.08  0.18 

3.09 to 3.24  0.19 

3.25 to 3.41  0.20 

3.42 to 3.58  0.21 

3.59 to 3.74  0.22 

3.75 to 3.91  0.23 

3.92 to 4.08  0.24 

4.09 to 4.24  0.25 

4.25 to 4.41 0.26 

4.42 to 4.58 0.27 

4.59 to 4.74 0.28 

4.75 to 4.91 0.29 

4.92 to 5.00 0.30 

23VAC10-210-250. Cash and trade discounts.  
A. The following words and terms when used in this section 

shall have the following meanings unless the content clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Cash or trade discount" includes a discount for the early 
payment of the purchase price, a discount attributable to the 
value of an item taken in trade, or a discount based upon the 
method of payment.  

B. Cash and or trade discounts taken on sales are not 
includible in the sales price for purposes of computing the 
tax. The amount of such discounts may be deducted from 

gross sales provided the discounts have been included in 
gross sales.  

C. In computing the amount of a discount that may be 
subtracted from gross sales, the discount must be allocated 
between sales price and sales tax. The following examples 
illustrate the application of this concept.  

Example 1: Dealer A sells an item to a customer for $100 
and bills the customer $100 for the item and $5.00 $5.30 for 
the tax. The terms of the sale provide for a 10% discount if 
the bill is paid within 30 days. The customer pays within 20 
days and is therefore entitled to the discount, which is 
computed as follows:  

Amount Billed $105.00 $105.30 

Sales Price $100.00 

Tax $5.00 $5.30 

Less  $10.00 discount 

Sales price 
discount 

100.00 x l0% = 10.00 

Tax discount 5.0 5.3 x 10% = $0.50 $0.53 

Therefore, the customer remits $94.50 $94.77, which 
includes $90 in sales price and $4.50 $4.77 in sales tax. 
Dealer A may deduct $10.00 from gross sales, and will 
accordingly remit only $4.50 $4.77 in tax.  

Example 2: Dealer B sells an item to a customer for $100 
and bills the customer $100 for the item and $5.00 $5.30 for 
the tax. The terms of the sale provide for a $10 discount if the 
bill is paid within 30 days. The customer pays within 20 days 
and is therefore entitled to the discount, which is computed as 
follows:  

Amount Billed $105.00 $105.30 

Sales Price $100.00 

Tax $5.00 $5.30 

Less  $10.00 discount 

  $10.00 / $1.05 $1.053 = $9.52 
$9.50 sales price discount 

  $0.48 $0.50 tax discount 

Therefore, the customer remits $95.00 $95.30, which 
includes $90.48 $90.50 in sales price and $4.52 $4.80 in sales 
tax. Dealer B may deduct $9.52 $9.50 from gross sales, and 
will accordingly remit only $4.52 $4.50 in tax.  

Example 3: Dealer B repairs a piece of equipment for a 
customer and bills the customer $100 for parts, $50 for labor, 
and $5.00 $5.30 for tax. The terms of the sale provide for a 
$10 discount if the bill is paid within 30 days. B pays within 
20 days and earns the discount which is computed as follows:  
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Amount Billed $155.00 $155.30 

Sales Price of 
Parts 

$100.00 

Separately Stated 
Repair 
Labor 
(nontaxable) 

$50.00 

Sales tax $5.00 $5.30 

Less $10.00 discount attributed as follows: 

Attributable to Parts: (100 / $150) x $10.00 = $6.67 
$6.67 / 1.05 1.053 = $6.35 $6.33 sales price  discount  

$0.32 $0.34 sales tax reduction  
$3.33 attributable to nontaxable labor 

Therefore, the customer remits $145.00 $145.30, which 
includes $93.65 $93.67 in sales price for the parts, $4.68 
$4.96 in sales tax attributable to the parts, and $46.67 for 
nontaxable labor. Dealer B may deduct $6.35 $6.33 from 
gross sales and will accordingly remit only $4.68 $4.96 in 
tax.  

Regardless of whether a cash or percentage discount is used, 
the discount must be allocated between the sales price and the 
tax to avoid overcollection of the tax.  

D. Hampton Roads Region and Northern Virginia Region. 
The total rate of the state and local sales and use tax in 
localities that fall within these regions is 6.0% (4.3% state, 
0.7% regional, and 1.0% local). The provisions of this section 
apply to transactions sourced to the Hampton Roads Region 
and the Northern Virginia Region, mutatis mutandis. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. 
23VAC10-210-340. Collection of tax by dealers.  

A. Generally. The tax must be paid to the state by the dealer, 
but the dealer must separately state the amount of the tax and 
add the tax to the sales price or charge. Thereafter, the tax is a 
debt from the purchaser, consumer or lessee to the dealer until 
paid and is recoverable at law in the same manner as other 
debts.  

Identification of the tax by a separate writing or symbol is 
not required provided the amount of the tax is shown as a 
separate item on the record of the transaction. For special 
rules relating to vending machines sales, see 23VAC10-210-
6040 through 23VAC10-210-6043.  

B. Advertising absorption of tax by dealers is prohibited. It 
is a misdemeanor for a dealer to advertise or hold out to the 
public in any manner, directly or indirectly, that he will 
absorb all or any part of the sales or use tax, or that he will 
relieve the purchaser, consumer or lessee of the payment of 
all or any part of the tax, except as may be authorized under 
the bracket system or the special provisions relating to 
vending machine sales. This prohibition does not apply 

during the sales tax holiday provided under §§ 58.1-609.1, 
58.1-611.2, and 58.1-611.3 of the Code of Virginia, nor for 
the 14 days immediately preceding the commencement of the 
sales tax holiday. During this 17-day period, dealers may 
advertise that they will absorb the tax on any or all 
nonqualifying items. The dealer may not absorb the tax prior 
to or following the sales tax holiday period and may not 
advertise that he will do so.  

C. Erroneous collection of tax on nontaxable transactions. 
All sales and use tax collected by a dealer is held in trust for 
the state. Therefore, any dealer collecting the sales or use tax 
on nontaxable transactions must remit to the Department of 
Taxation such erroneously or illegally collected tax unless he 
can show that the tax has been refunded to the purchaser or 
credited to the purchaser's account.  

D. Overcollection of the tax. Any dealer who collects tax in 
excess of a 4% 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and 
Northern Virginia Regions) rate or who otherwise 
overcollects the tax, except as may be authorized under the 
bracket system or the special provisions relating to vending 
machine sales, must remit any amount overcollected to the 
state on a timely basis. Failure to do so will result in a penalty 
of 25% of the amount of the overcollection. For definitions of 
the "Hampton Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia 
Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070.  
23VAC10-210-450. Credit for taxes paid to other states or 
their political subdivisions.  

A. Generally. Any person who purchases tangible personal 
property in another state and who has paid a sales or use tax 
to such state or its political subdivision or both on the 
property, is granted a credit against the use tax imposed by 
Virginia on its use within this state for the amount of tax paid 
in the state of purchase. This credit does not require that the 
state of purchase grant a similar credit for tax paid to 
Virginia. This credit does not apply to tax erroneously 
charged or incorrectly paid to another state. For example, if a 
person purchases and takes delivery in Virginia of tangible 
personal property purchased from an out-of-state dealer who 
incorrectly charges out-of-state tax, no credit is available. The 
purchaser must apply to the out-of-state seller for refund.  

B. Amount of credit. The credit provided in this section is 
equal to the tax paid to the state or political subdivision or 
both in which the property was purchased, but cannot exceed 
the Virginia use tax imposed on the property. For example, if 
property is purchased in a state which imposes a 6.0% sales 
and use tax, the credit is limited to the 4.5% 5.3% (6.0% in 
the Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) use tax 
imposed by Virginia. For definitions of the "Hampton Roads 
Region" and the "Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-
210-2070. 

C. Claiming the credit. To obtain a credit for tax paid to 
another state or its political subdivision, a person must apply, 
by letter, to the department and include a copy of the 
appropriate invoice stating the amount of tax billed and the 
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state or political subdivision or both to which it was paid. A 
person requesting credit may be required by the department to 
furnish an affidavit stating that the tax has been paid and has 
not been refunded.  
23VAC10-210-485. Dealer's compensation or discount.  

A. Generally. As compensation for accounting for and 
paying the state tax, a dealer is allowed a discount of 2.0%, 
3.0%, or 4.0% 0.8%, 1.2%, or 1.6%, depending on the 
volume of monthly taxable sales, of the first 3.0% of the state 
tax due in the form of a deduction, provided the amount due 
was not delinquent at the time of payment. No compensation 
is allowed on the remainder of the state sales tax or on the 
local tax. Dealers must compute the discount without regard 
to the number of certificates of registration that they hold (see 
subsection C below) of this section).  

To compute the dealer's discount, a dealer (other than a 
vending machine dealer) would multiply the 4.0% 4.3% state 
tax listed on his return by:  

1. 3.0% (or .03) 0.01116 if monthly taxable sales are less 
than $62,501; or  
2. 2.25% (or .0225) 0.00837 if monthly sales are at least 
$62,501 but are less than $208,001; or  
3. 1.5% (or .015) 0.00558 if monthly taxable sales equal or 
exceed $208,001.  

Any dealer whose average monthly sales tax liability 
exceeds $20,000 is not eligible for the discount. No dealer 
discount is allowed on the 0.7% regional tax imposed in the 
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. 

Examples:  
Dealer A who makes taxable sales of $10,000 during the 
month would report state and local tax of $500 ($400 $530 
($430 state tax and $100 local tax), from which he would 
retain a dealer's discount of $12 $4.80, provided that his 
return is timely filed and the state and local tax is timely 
paid. The $12 $4.80 discount is computed by multiplying 
the 4.0% 4.3% state tax ($400) ($430) by 3.0% 0.01116 
since the dealer's monthly taxable sales volume is less than 
$62,501.  
Dealer B who makes taxable sales of $250,000 during the 
month would report state and local tax of $12,500 ($10,000 
$13,250 ($10,750 state tax and $2,500 local tax), from 
which he would retain a dealer's discount of $150 $55.99 
provided that his return is timely filed and the state and 
local tax is timely paid. The $150 $55.99 discount is 
computed by multiplying the 4.0% 4.3% state tax 
($10,000) ($10,750) by 1.5% 0.00558 since the dealer's 
monthly taxable sales volume is greater than $208,001.  

B. Vending machine sales. In the case of a vending machine 
dealer who pays combined state and local tax at the rate of 
6.0% 6.3% on his wholesale purchases for resale, the dealer's 

discount would be computed by multiplying the 5.0% 5.3% 
state tax listed on his return by:  

1. 3.2% (or .032) 0.01208 if monthly taxable sales are less 
than $62,501; or  
2. 2.4% (or .024) 0.00906 if monthly taxable sales are at 
least $62,501 but are less than $208,001; or  
3. 1.6% (or .016) 0.00604 if monthly taxable sales equal or 
exceed $208,001.  

Examples:  
Vending machine dealer A with $15,000 in wholesale 
purchases for resale during the month would report state 
and local tax of $900 ($750  $945 ($795 state tax and $150 
local tax), from which he would retain a dealer's discount 
of $24 $9.60, provided that his return is timely filed and 
the state and local tax is timely paid. The $24 $9.60 
discount is computed by multiplying the 5.0% 5.3% state 
tax ($750) ($795) by 3.2% 0.01208 since the dealer's 
monthly taxable sales volume is less than $62,501.  
Vending machine dealer B with $200,000 in wholesale 
purchases for resale during the month would report state 
and local tax of $12,000 ($10,000 $12,600 ($10,600 state 
tax and $2,000 local tax), from which he would retain a 
dealer's discount of $240 $96.04, provided that his return is 
timely filed and the state and local tax is timely paid. The 
$240 $96.04 discount is computed by multiplying the 5.0% 
5.3% state tax ($10,000) by 2.4% 0.00906 since the 
dealer's monthly taxable sales volume is at least $62,501 
but is less than $208,001.  

C. Multiple registrations. Dealers holding two or more 
certificates of registration must compute the dealer's discount 
based upon taxable sales from all business locations. This 
requirement applies to dealers filing consolidated returns and 
those filing separate returns for each business location.  

Example:  
Dealer C holds separate certificates of registration for five 
business locations. Each location has monthly taxable sales 
of less than $62,501, but total taxable sales for all five 
locations are $300,000 for the month. Because total taxable 
sales exceed $208,001, the dealer's discount is computed 
using the 1.5% 0.00558 discount rate.  
Dealers with multistate business locations must compute 
the discount based upon taxable sales from all business 
locations in Virginia and on Virginia taxable sales from 
out-of-state business locations.  

Example:  
Dealer A, with business locations in Virginia, also has 
business locations in other states, all of which are 
registered for collection and remittance of the tax. The out-
of-state business locations sell goods to Virginia customers 
located in Virginia. The total monthly taxable sales for all 
Dealer A's Virginia business locations are $200,000, and 
the total Virginia taxable sales from Dealer A's out-of-state 
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business locations are $100,000. Because total taxable 
sales exceed $208,001, the dealer's discount is computed 
using the 1.5% 0.00558 discount rate.  

The department will perform a reconciliation, on an annual 
basis or more frequently, of dealers holding multiple 
certificates of registration in order to ensure that the dealer's 
discount is computed properly by those dealers.  

D. Quarterly filers. Dealers filing quarterly returns may 
determine the appropriate dealer's discount rate by dividing 
their quarterly taxable sales by 3.  

Example:  
Dealer D has quarterly taxable sales of $100,000. His 

average monthly taxable sales for the quarter ($100,000 ÷ 3) 
are $33,333.33. Because his average monthly taxable sales 
are less than $62,501, Dealer D would compute the dealer's 
discount using the 3.0% 0.01116 rate.  

E. Refund requests. Any amount of tax refunded by the 
department to a dealer will be reduced by any dealer's 
discount claimed on the transaction to which the refund 
relates. For example, if a dealer sells an item for $1,000, 
timely files a return reporting the $50 $53 tax on the 
transaction and claims the discount, the amount refunded 
would be $48.80 ($50 $52.52 ($53 less 3.0% 0.01116 of the 
$40 $43 state tax = $50 - 1.20 0.48 = $48.80) $52.52) 
(assuming the dealer's taxable sales during the month of the 
sale were less than $62,501).  

For extensions, see 23VAC10-210-550; for penalties and 
interest, see 23VAC10-210-2030 through 23VAC10-210-
2034 23VAC10-210-2032.  
23VAC10-210-630. Fuels for domestic consumption.  

A. Generally. The state sales and use tax does not apply to 
purchases of artificial or propane gas, firewood, coal or 
heating oil for domestic consumption.  

B. Domestic consumption defined. "Domestic consumption" 
is the use of artificial or propane gas, firewood, coal, or home 
heating oil by an individual for other than business, 
commercial, or industrial purposes. The renting or leasing of 
residential units is considered commercial usage.  

Domestic consumption is restricted to fuels used by 
individuals; purchases of fuel by groups or organizations will 
be subject to the tax unless the fuel purchased is for domestic 
consumption by an individual. For example, an organization 
may purchase firewood to be given away to indigent persons 
for use in heating their own homes; this transaction would be 
deemed a purchase for domestic consumption. Purchases by 
groups or organizations for use in their own facilities are not 
purchases for domestic consumption.  

Domestic consumption usage is not restricted to heating 
purposes, but may also include cooking or heating water.  

The term "domestic consumption" includes purchases of fuel 
by: (1) (i) an owner or lessee for use in a single-family 
dwelling in which he resides; (2) (ii) individual residents for 

use in apartments, townhouses, trailer courts, condominiums 
or other multi-family dwellings in which they reside; and (3) 
(iii) a condominium or similar owner cooperative association 
provided such association is comprised solely of the owners 
of the dwelling and more than 50% of the fuel purchased is 
for use in owner-occupied units.  

The term "domestic consumption" does not include 
purchases by: (1) (i) nonprofit churches, civic or other 
charitable groups, except as set forth above; (2) (ii) 
businesses operated by nonprofit groups; (3) (iii) profit 
hospitals, nursing homes or homes for adults; (4) (iv) profit 
schools or institutions of learning; (5) (v) lessors of 
apartments, trailer courts, condominiums, rooming houses or 
other multi-family dwellings; fraternities or sororities; (6) (vi) 
hotels, motels, inns, cabins or lodges; and (7) (vii) any 
commercial, business or industrial operations.  

Purchases of heating fuels for their own use or consumption 
by persons or entities who are entitled to a general sales tax 
exemption (for example: (1) (i) nonprofit schools and 
institutions of learning; (2) (ii) licensed nonprofit hospitals, 
nursing homes, and homes for adults; (3) (iii) nonprofit 
volunteer fire and rescue squads; and (4) (iv) federal, state, or 
local governments) are not subject to sales and use tax (state 
or local).  

C. 1. Classifying purchases as domestic or nondomestic. In 
determining when tax is to be collected by the dealer on a 
purchase used for both domestic and nondomestic purposes, a 
principal usage test shall apply. A purchase shall be classified 
as exempt if more than 50% of the fuel purchased is for 
domestic consumption. However, if 50% or less of the fuel 
purchased is for domestic consumption, the entire purchase 
shall be taxable and the tax shall be collected by the dealer at 
the time of the sale.  

The preceding paragraph 2. Subdivision 1 of this 
subsection establishes when a fuel dealer must collect tax 
at the time of sale, and it does not establish any rule of 
exemption for consumers. The ultimate taxability of a fuel 
purchase depends on its actual usage. The purchaser will 
be liable for payment to the department of use tax on any 
portion of a domestic purchase (i.e., a purchase on which 
no sales tax was paid to the dealer) subsequently used for 
nondomestic purposes. A purchaser who has paid tax under 
the above rules in subdivision 1 of this subsection, 
however, may apply to the department for a refund of tax 
paid on that portion which is actually used for domestic 
consumption. Refund claims must be filed on forms 
prescribed by the department between January 1 and April 
15 of the year following the year of purchase. Refund 
applications pursuant to this exemption will be denied if 
post-marked after April 15 of the year following the year 
of purchase.  

D. Exemption certificates. Sales and Use Tax Certificate of 
Exemption, Form ST-15, is available for use by dealers to 
substantiate sales of heating fuel for domestic consumption. 
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A purchaser need file only one such certificate with a dealer 
to qualify for exemption. However, the certificate will be 
valid only for purchases of fuel made by the person named on 
the certificate and for use at his residence, the address of 
which is also listed on the certificate. Any change of address 
of purchaser will require completion of a new certificate of 
exemption.  

A dealer is not required to obtain a certificate of exemption 
for each transaction if the record of the sale is clearly 
identifiable as a sale of fuel for domestic consumption. 
However, this should not be construed as altering the fact that 
the burden of proof is on the dealer to demonstrate that each 
untaxed transaction is legitimately exempt from the tax.  

Dealers will not be required to obtain a certificate of 
exemption on sales of small quantities of kerosene, firewood, 
or other fuels, provided sales receipts or daily sales records 
are available which clearly indicate the number of gallons (or 
other measure) of the specific type of fuel sold and the 
number of purchasers.  

E. Local sales and use tax. The local 1% 1.0% sales and use 
tax will continue to apply to all purchases for domestic 
consumption of artificial or propane gas, firewood, coal and 
home heating oil unless the locality adopts an ordinance 
specifically exempting such fuels.  

1. Sales tax. The local 1% 1.0% sales tax will be allocated 
to the locality in which the place of business from which 
the sale is made is located. Place of business is defined as 
an established business location at which orders are 
regularly received. Therefore the situs of sale shall be the 
business location that first takes the purchaser's order, 
either in person, by purchase order, or by letter or 
telephone, regardless of the location of the merchandise or 
the point of acceptance of the order or shipment.  
2. Use tax. The local use tax on sales made to Virginia 
residents by out-of-state dealers and the local use tax 
remitted by consumers on any portion of a domestic 
purchase used for nondomestic consumption will be 
allocated to the locality in which the fuel is delivered. The 
following examples will clarify this.  
Example 1: A resident of a city or county which imposes 
the 1% 1.0% local sales and use tax on fuels for domestic 
consumption purchases fuel from an out-of-state dealer 
who delivers it to the purchaser's residence in Virginia. 
The 1% 1.0% local tax will apply to the transaction.  
Example 2: A resident of a city/county city or county 
which imposes the 1% 1.0% local tax purchases fuel for 
domestic consumption from a dealer located in a 
city/county city or county which does not impose the 1% 
1.0% local tax. The purchaser uses a portion of the fuel for 
nondomestic purposes and is therefore liable for payment 
of the use tax on that portion. The purchaser will therefore 
be required to remit the 4% 5.3% use tax (3% (4.3% state; 
1% 1.0% local) or 6.0% use tax in the Hampton Roads and 
Northern Virginia Regions (4.3% state, 0.7% regional, and 

1.0% local). For definitions of the "Hampton Roads 
Region" and the "Northern Virginia Region" see 
23VAC10-210-2070. 
Example 3: A resident purchases fuel for domestic 
consumption from a dealer located in a locality which 
imposes the 1% 1.0% local tax and therefore pays the 1% 
1.0% on the purchase of the fuel. The purchaser uses a 
portion of the fuel for nondomestic purposes and is 
consequently liable for payment of the use tax on that 
portion. The purchaser will be required to remit only 3% 
4.3% (5.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia 
Regions) state tax; the 1% 1.0% local tax was paid on the 
original fuel purchase. This applies regardless of whether 
the purchaser's city or county of residence does or does not 
impose the 1% 1.0% local tax on fuels.  
3. Local exemption. Following is a list of those cities and 
counties which, as of December 1, 1982, have notified the 
department that ordinances have been As of 2014, the 
department is aware that the following cities and counties 
have adopted ordinances exempting fuel for domestic 
consumption from the local 1% 1.0% sales and use tax. 
Additional localities may adopt ordinances at any time and 
localities having exemption ordinances in effect may 
rescind such ordinances at any time.  

Cities 

Alexandria Norfolk 

Bedford Norton 

Chesapeake Poquoson 

Covington Roanoke 

Danville Salem 

Fairfax Staunton 

Fredericksburg Virginia Beach 

Lexington Waynesboro 

Manassas Winchester 

Martinsville  
Counties 

Alleghany Lee 

Arlington Louisa 

Augusta Mathews 

Bath Middlesex 

Bedford Page 

Caroline Patrick 

Clarke Pittsylvania 

Fairfax Prince William 
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Fauquier Pulaski 

Floyd Roanoke 

Frederick Shenandoah 

Giles Smyth 

Goochland Spotsylvania 

Hanover Stafford 

Henry Warren 

James City Washington 

King William  
NOTE: The following cities and counties have notified the 

department since December 1, 1982 that ordinances have 
been adopted exempting fuel for domestic consumption from 
the 1% local sales and use tax:  

Cities 

Hampton Newport News 

Counties 

Franklin Wise 

Gloucester   

  

Cities 

Alexandria Chesapeake Covington 

Danville Fairfax Fredericksburg 

Hampton Harrisonburg Lexington 

Manassas Martinsville Newport News 

Norfolk Norton Poquoson 

Portsmouth Roanoke Salem 

Staunton Virginia Beach Waynesboro 

Winchester   
  

Counties 

Alleghany Arlington Augusta 

Bath Bedford Campbell 

Caroline Clarke Fairfax 

Fauquier Floyd Franklin 

Frederick Giles Gloucester 

Goochland Hanover Henry 

James City King William Lee 

Louisa Madison Mathews 

Middlesex Page Patrick 

Pittsylvania Prince George Prince William 

Pulaski Roanoke Shenandoah 

Smyth Spotsylvania Stafford 

Warren Washington Wise 

23VAC10-210-680. Gifts purchased in Virginia.  
If a resident or nonresident buys a gift in Virginia and 

requests the seller to ship or mail such gift to another person, 
the purchaser is deemed to receive title to the gift at the time 
of purchase and the transaction is therefore taxable in 
Virginia. The location of the recipient of the gift has no 
bearing upon the taxability of the transaction; therefore, even 
if the recipient is located outside Virginia the sale is not a sale 
in interstate commerce. The following example illustrates this 
concept.  

Example: A purchases a watch for $200 from a Virginia 
merchant, M, and tells M to send the watch to B who lives in 
Maryland. A must pay the sales tax of $8 $10.60 to M at the 
time of purchase.  

The recipient of the gift ultimately receives title to the gift 
from the purchaser and not the merchant and there is no 
relationship between the merchant and the recipient.  

The total rate of the state and local sales and use tax in 
localities that fall within the Hampton Roads and Northern 
Virginia Regions is 6.0% (4.3% state, 0.7% regional, and 
1.0% local). The provisions of this section apply to 
transactions sourced to the Hampton Roads Region and the 
Northern Virginia Region, mutatis mutandis. For definitions 
of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia 
Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070.  
23VAC10-210-2070. Place of business in Virginia; situs 
Situs of sale.  

A. Generally. For determining the place of business in 
Virginia from which a sale is made, "place of business" 
means the business location in Virginia that first takes the 
purchaser's order, either in person, by purchase order or by 
letter or telephone, regardless of the location of the 
merchandise or the point of acceptance of the order or 
shipment. For example, an order placed for merchandise in a 
store in County A, forwarded by the store in County A to a 
sales office in City B and shipped to the purchaser from a 
warehouse or branch store in County C is a sale made in 
County A.  

B. Place of business defined. The term "place of business in 
Virginia" includes, but is not limited to, a store, a sales or 
other office or any warehouse.  

C. Out-of-state dealers. An out-of-state dealer who has a 
place of business in Virginia is required to register as a dealer 
at that place. If the same dealer, at a place of business outside 
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this state, receives orders from Virginia customers directly 
and not through a place of business in Virginia, he must also 
register as an out-of-state dealer.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Hampton Roads Region" means the Counties of Isle of 
Wight, James City, Southampton, and York and the Cities of 
Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, 
Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and 
Williamsburg. 

"Local sales and use tax" means the local retail sales and use 
tax imposed by ordinance in all Virginia cities and counties at 
the rate of 1.0%. 

"Northern Virginia Region" means the Counties of 
Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the 
Cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and 
Manassas Park.  

"Place of business" means the business location in Virginia 
that first takes the purchaser's order, whether in person, by 
purchase order, or by letter or telephone, regardless of the 
location of the merchandise or the point of acceptance of the 
order or shipment. "Place of business" includes a store, a 
sales or other office, or any warehouse. 

"Regional sales and use tax" means the additional state retail 
sales and use tax imposed in the Hampton Roads Region and 
the Northern Virginia Region at the rate of 0.7%.  

B. Sourcing.  
1. Sales tax. Sales by dealers located in Virginia are 
generally subject to the sales tax and sourced to the city or 
county of the place of business of the dealer collecting the 
tax, without regard to the city or county of possible use by 
the purchaser. The sale of tangible personal property at the 
place of business of the seller is sourced to that place of 
business, even if the goods are ultimately delivered to the 
purchaser at another location. The remote sale (by 
telephone, Internet, or mail order) of tangible personal 
property from an in-state dealer with a place of business in 
Virginia is sourced to the location in which the order was 
first taken, even if the goods are ultimately delivered to the 
purchaser at another location. Accordingly, an order placed 
for merchandise in a store in County A, forwarded by the 
store in County A to a sales office in City B and shipped to 
the purchaser from a warehouse or branch store in County 
C is a sale made in County A.  
Example 1: Dealer A makes a sale to a customer at his 
place of business in the City of Fairfax in the Northern 
Virginia Region. Dealer A has the goods delivered to the 
customer in Loudoun County in the Northern Virginia 
Region. The sale is sourced to the City of Fairfax. Dealer 
A should collect 6.0% (4.3% state, 0.7% Regional, and 
1.0% local) sales tax on the purchase. The 1.0% local tax 
should be sourced to the City of Fairfax. 

Example 2: Dealer B makes a sale to a customer at his 
place of business in Loudoun County in the Northern 
Virginia Region, but the goods are delivered to the 
customer in Roanoke County, which is not in the Northern 
Virginia or Hampton Roads Region. The sale is sourced to 
Loudoun County, in the Northern Virginia Region. Dealer 
B should collect 6.0% sales tax on the purchase. The 1.0% 
local tax should be sourced to Loudoun County. 
Example 3: Customer C orders merchandise from Dealer D 
by placing a call to Dealer D's store, located in the City of 
Newport News in the Hampton Roads Region. The goods 
will be shipped to Customer C's residence that is neither in 
the Hampton Roads nor the Northern Virginia Region. The 
sale is sourced to the City of Newport News in the 
Hampton Roads Region. Dealer D should collect 6.0% 
(4.3% state, 0.7% Regional, and 1.0% local) sales tax on 
the purchase. The 1.0% local tax should be sourced to the 
City of Newport News.  
Example 4: Customer E orders merchandise from Dealer 
F's website, which has a place of business and warehouse 
in North Carolina. Dealer F is registered to collect the 
Virginia retail sales and use tax. The invoice indicates that 
the merchandise will be shipped to Customer E's residence 
in the City of Richmond, which is outside the Northern 
Virginia and Hampton Roads Regions. Because Dealer F's 
place of business and warehouse are located outside of 
Virginia, the sale is sourced to the location in which the 
merchandise is delivered, the City of Richmond, which is 
outside the Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads 
Regions. Dealer F should collect 5.3% (4.3% state and 
1.0% local) sales tax on the purchase. The 1.0% local tax 
should be sourced to the City of Richmond. 
2. Use tax collected by dealers. The use tax is generally 
sourced to the city or county where the goods are used or 
consumed by the purchaser, or stored for use or 
consumption. An out-of-state dealer who has a place of 
business in Virginia is required to register as a dealer at 
that place. If the same dealer, at a place of business outside 
this state, receives orders from Virginia customers directly 
and not through a place of business in Virginia, he must 
also register as an out-of-state dealer. Out-of-state dealers 
who hold Certificates of Registration to collect the use tax 
from their customers must source sales into Virginia 
according to the city or county of destination.  
Example 1: Dealer A makes Internet sales from his place 
of business in North Carolina. Dealer A holds a Certificate 
of Registration to collect the use tax from Virginia 
customers. Dealer A makes a sale and ships the goods to 
the City of Fairfax. Dealer A would collect 6.0% (4.3% 
state, 0.7% Regional, and 1.0% local) use tax on the sale. 
The 1.0% local tax should be sourced to the City of 
Fairfax. 
3. Consumer use tax. Generally, Virginia residents and 
others purchasing goods from a business that does not 
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collect the Virginia retail sales and use tax or purchasing 
goods tax-free while outside Virginia and bringing them 
into Virginia are subject to the consumer use tax. The use 
tax is sourced to the city or county where the goods are 
used or consumed by the purchaser, or stored for use or 
consumption. For more information on use tax, see 
23VAC10-210-6030. 
Any person purchasing tangible personal property in other 
areas of the Commonwealth for use in either the Hampton 
Roads Region or the Northern Virginia Region is not 
responsible for the regional consumer use tax if the retail 
sales and use tax has been paid on the purchase. 
Example 1: Customer A, who is located in the City of 
Fairfax, makes an Internet purchase of tangible personal 
property from a West Virginia dealer who does not hold a 
Virginia Certificate of Registration and does not collect the 
use tax from Virginia customers. Customer A must remit 
6.0% (4.3% state, 0.7% regional, and 1.0% local) use tax 
on the purchase. 
Example 2: Customer B is located in the City of 
Charlottesville. Customer B buys equipment in 
Charlottesville that is intended for use performing a 
construction contract in Fairfax County and pays 5.3% 
sales tax. Customer B subsequently moves the equipment 
into Fairfax County. Customer B does not owe the 0.7% 
regional use tax on the equipment as the sales tax has been 
paid. 

23VAC10-210-3080. Returned goods. 
A. Generally. A dealer may deduct from gross sales any 

portion of the sales price of tangible personal property 
returned by a customer provided that such amount has been 
refunded to or credited to the account of the purchaser. 
Adequate records must be kept to disclose the essential facts.  

B. Returns before tax paid by dealer. If a dealer refunds or 
credits to a customer's account all or any portion of the sales 
price of returned goods and has not yet paid the sales tax to 
the department, such portion of the sales price may be 
deducted from gross sales by the dealer in the appropriate 
place on his return for the period.  

Example 1. Customer A purchases a sweater from Dealer B 
for $20.00 $20 and pays to B the appropriate $1.00 $1.06 
sales tax. A returns the sweater the same day and B refunds 
$21.00 $21.06. If the sale was included in gross sales for the 
month, B may deduct the $20.00 $20 sales price of the 
sweater.  

C. Returns after tax paid by dealer. If a dealer refunds or 
credits to a customer's account all or any portion of the sales 
price of returned goods after the dealer has paid the tax on the 
goods to the department, such portion may be deducted from 
gross sales on the dealer's return for the period in which the 
refund was made or credit given.  

Example 2. 1. In December Customer C purchases a bed 
from Dealer D for $700 and pays the $35 $37.10 tax. C 

returns the bed to D in January and D credits C's account for 
$735 $737.10. In reporting gross sales for January, D may 
deduct the $700 sales price of the bed reported in a previous 
month.  

D. Refund or credit for returned goods. If a dealer as 
described in subsection C of this section has insufficient gross 
sales during the period in which goods are returned or a 
refund/credit refund or credit issued to absorb the amount of 
the sales price of the returned goods, the dealer may carry the 
deduction forward as a credit against gross sales until used. If 
any portion of such credit has not been used by the time a 
dealer ceases business or if a dealer is no longer engaged in 
making retail sales, he may request a refund for any portion 
of the unused credit for returned goods. The amount of refund 
will be the net amount of tax remitted, therefore, if a dealer 
deducted dealer's discount in filing his original return, such 
discount shall similarly be deducted from the amount to be 
refunded. The following example illustrates this concept.  

Example 1. Customer E purchases equipment from Dealer G 
in January for $10,000 and pays the $500 $530 sales tax. The 
transaction is reported on G's January sales tax return which 
is filed timely. E returns the equipment in April and G 
refunds to E $8,000 of the sales price and the applicable tax 
of $400 $424. G's gross sales for April are only $5,000, 
therefore, only $5,000 of the amount refunded may be used as 
a credit. G goes out of business on April 30 and applies for 
refund of the tax attributable to the remaining $3,000 of sales 
price which was refunded. G will be issued a refund of 
$146.40 $155.40 computed as follows:  

(Sales Price X 5.0% 5.3% tax) - dealer's discount = Refund 
($3,000 X 5.0% 5.3% tax) - (4.0% (1.6% X $90) = $146.40 
$157.56 

E. Sales of returned goods. When any returned tangible 
personal property is resold, the sale is subject to the sales tax.  

F. Hampton Roads Region and Northern Virginia Region. 
The total rate of the state and local sales and use tax in 
localities that fall within these regions is 6.0% (4.3% state, 
0.7% regional, and 1.0% local). The provisions of this section 
apply to transactions sourced to the Hampton Roads Region 
and the Northern Virginia Region, mutatis mutandis. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. 
23VAC10-210-6041. Vending machine sales; dealers 
engaged in the business of placing vending machines.  

A. Registration requirements. Except as otherwise 
authorized by the Tax Commissioner, every person engaged 
in the business of placing vending machines and selling 
tangible personal property through such machines shall apply 
for a Certificate of Registration for each county and city in 
which machines are placed. A separate registration is required 
for each place of business from which nonvending machine 
sales are made. Dealers holding or applying for multiple 
vending or nonvending registrations may request permission 



Regulations 

Volume 32, Issue 22 Virginia Register of Regulations June 27, 2016 

3036 

at the time of application to file consolidated vending or 
nonvending returns.  

B. Computation of tax. All items of tangible personal 
property sold through vending machines by those vending 
machines dealers engaged in placing vending machines and 
selling tangible personal property through such machines are 
taxable at the rate of 6.0% (5.0% 6.3% (5.3% state and 1.0% 
local) and 7.0% (5.3% state, 0.7% regional, and 1.0% local) 
in the Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070.  

Any dealers, all of whose machines are under contract to 
nonprofit organizations, should refer to 23VAC10-210-6042. 
Dealers acquiring items from other suppliers and selling them 
in the same condition which they were acquired shall 
compute the 6.0% 6.3% (7.0% in the Hampton Roads and 
Northern Virginia Regions) tax on the cost price of the 
purchased tangible personal property. Dealers who 
manufacture the tangible personal property to be sold through 
vending machines shall compute the 6.0% tax on the cost of 
the manufactured tangible personal property (cost of goods 
manufactured). The cost of manufactured personal property 
includes raw material cost plus labor and overhead 
attributable to the manufacture of the item being sold.  

Example:  
Dealer A purchases (or manufactures) items, with a total 
cost price of $1,000, during the month for sale through 
vending machines. Dealer A would compute the tax as 
follows:  

Total cost price ($1,000) X State tax rate (.05) (.053) = 
State tax ($50) ($53) 
Total cost price ($1,000) X Local tax rate (.01) = Local 
tax ($10)  

TOTAL TAX = $60 $63 
The method of accounting used for federal income tax 

purposes shall be the accounting method used in determining 
the cost price of purchased tangible personal property and the 
cost of manufactured tangible personal property. For 
example, if the first-in, first-out method of accounting is used 
for federal income tax purposes, this accounting method shall 
be used each month for computing the cost price of purchased 
tangible personal property or the cost of manufactured 
tangible personal property.  

As an alternative method of computing the tax, any dealer 
unable to maintain satisfactory records to determine the cost 
price of purchased tangible personal property and the cost of 
manufactured tangible personal property may request in 
writing to the Tax Commissioner authority to remit an 
amount based on a percentage of gross receipts which takes 
into account the inclusion of the 5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the 
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) sales tax.  

Example:  
Dealer B, who has been authorized by the Tax 
Commissioner to compute the tax based on gross receipts, 
had gross receipts from vending machine sales during the 
month of $3,000. Dealer B would compute the tax as 
follows:  

Gross receipts ($3,000) X State tax rate (.04) (.043) = 
State tax ($120) ($129) 
Gross receipts ($3,000) X Local tax rate (.01) = Local tax 
($30)  

TOTAL TAX = $150 $159 
Upon receiving such authorization from the Tax 

Commissioner, a return shall be filed to report the 4 5.0% 
5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia 
Regions) sales tax beginning with the period set out in the 
authorization letter. All subsequent returns shall be filed 
using this method unless the dealer applies in writing to the 
Tax Commissioner and is given authorization in writing to 
change his filing status. Authorization to compute the tax 
using this alternative method will not eliminate the 
requirement to maintain records which show the location of 
each vending machine, purchases and inventories of 
merchandise bought for sale through vending machines, and 
total gross receipts for each vending machine.  

C. Filing of returns. Except as otherwise authorized by the 
Tax Commissioner, dealers engaging in the business of 
placing vending machines and selling tangible personal 
property through such machines must file a return to report 
the tax on the items sold through vending machines.  

Returns are due by the 20th day of the month following the 
period in which tangible personal property is sold through 
vending machines, with the tax to be computed in the manner 
set out in subsection B above of this section. A return is 
required to be filed for each locality where vending machines 
are located unless a dealer has requested and been granted 
authority to file a consolidated return.  

D. Purchases. Tangible personal property purchased for 
resale through vending machines may be purchased under 
Certificate of Exemption, Form ST-10. All tangible property 
purchased for use or consumption by the dealer and not for 
resale, including vending machines and repair parts for such 
machines, and withdrawals of tangible personal property from 
a tax exempt manufacturing or resale inventory for use or 
consumption by the dealer are subject to the tax at the rate of 
5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern 
Virginia Regions) of the cost price of the property. If the 
supplier does not charge the tax on purchases for use or 
consumption, the vending machine dealer shall pay the tax 
directly to the Department of Taxation on the Retail Sales and 
Use Tax Return (if he is registered for nonvending sales) or 
on the Consumer's Use Tax Return. Dealers who manufacture 
or process tangible personal property for sale may be entitled 
to the industrial exemption for tangible personal property 
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used directly in manufacturing or processing as set forth in 
subdivision 2 of § 58.1-609.3(2) of the Code of Virginia and 
23VAC10-210-920.  

E. Records. Records shall be kept for a period of three years 
and shall show the location of each machine; purchases and 
inventories of merchandise bought for sales through vending 
machines; and the cost price of purchased tangible personal 
property or the cost of manufactured tangible personal 
property for each machine.  
23VAC10-210-6042. Vending machine sales; dealers 
under contract with nonprofit organizations.  

A. Registration requirements. A separate Certificate of 
Registration is required for each county and city in which 
vending machines are placed. Dealers holding multiple 
registrations may request permission to file a consolidated 
return at the time of application. 

B. Computation of tax. Dealers engaged in the business of 
placing vending machines all of which are under contract to 
nonprofit organizations may deduct sales of $.10 or less from 
gross receipts and divide the remaining balance by 1.05 1.053 
(1.06 in the Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) 
to determine the amount of taxable sales upon which the 5.0% 
tax is due and payable. To qualify for this method of 
computing the tax, all machines of the vending machine 
dealer must be under contract to nonprofit organizations. For 
definitions of the "Hampton Roads Region" and the 
"Northern Virginia Region" see 23VAC10-210-2070. 

C. Filing of returns. The Retail Sales and Use Tax Return, is 
required to be filed for each locality in which vending 
machines are placed by the 20th day of the month to report 
the 5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the Hampton Roads and Northern 
Virginia Regions) tax on (i) sales made in the previous period 
and (ii) untaxed purchases for use or consumption by the 
dealer or withdrawals from tax exempt inventory for use or 
consumption by the dealer. 

D. Records. A contract shall be kept for each vending 
machine under contract to nonprofit organizations. 
Additionally, records shall be kept for a period of four years 
to show the location of each vending machine, purchases and 
inventories of merchandise bought for sale, and total gross 
receipts for each vending machine separating items sold for 
$.10 or less from items sold for more than $.10. 
23VAC10-210-6043. Vending machine sales; other dealers 
selling tangible personal property through vending 
machines.  

Dealers not engaged in the business of placing vending 
machines but who use vending machines at their places of 
business to sell merchandise, (e.g., service station operators,) 
must report the tax at the rate of 5.0% 5.3% (6.0% in the 
Hampton Roads and Northern Virginia Regions) of gross 
taxable sales on the same return on which nonvending 
machine sales are reported. For definitions of the "Hampton 

Roads Region" and the "Northern Virginia Region" see 
23VAC10-210-2070. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4601; Filed June 6, 2016, 1:34 p.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department for Aging 
and Rehabilitative Services is conducting a periodic review 
and small business impact review of 22VAC30-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins July 11, 2016, and ends August 
1, 2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Vanessa S. Rakestraw, Policy Analyst, 
8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, FAX 
(804) 662-7663, or email 
vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed State Implementation Plan Revision - 
9VAC5-20, Revisions D97 and B16; 9VAC5-40, 

Revisions C09, D09, and E09 
Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 
(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 
proposed revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia State 
Implementation Plan (SIP). The SIP is a plan developed by 
the Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under 
the federal Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient 
air quality standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) under the federal Clean Air Act. 

The Commonwealth intends to submit portions of the 
regulations to the EPA as a revision to the SIP in accordance 
with the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air 
Act. 

Regulations affected: The regulations of the board affected by 
this action are General Provisions, Malfunctions (9VAC5-20, 
Revisions D97 and B16) and Existing Stationary Sources 
(9VAC5-40, Revisions C09, D09, and E09). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 
whether the regulation amendments should be submitted as a 
revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: June 27, 2016, to July 27, 2016. 

Public hearing: A public hearing may be conducted if a 
request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 
this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 
the full name, address, and telephone number of the person 
requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 
day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 
location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 
a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 
conducted. 

Public comment stage: Because the regulation amendments 
have already been adopted, DEQ is accepting comment only 
on the issue cited under "purpose of notice" and not on the 
content of the regulation amendments. 

Description of proposal: Three sets of regulatory amendments 
are being considered for this proposal. Revision D97 
originally amended 9VAC5-20-180 but was not submitted as 
a SIP revision; portions of it are now being submitted in order 
to provide a correct baseline for the provisions of Revision 
B16. As discussed below, sections relevant to 9VAC5-20-180 
are also be submitted for the purpose of several volatile 
organic compound (VOC) regulations. 

Revision D97: Under this revision, 9VAC5-20-180 was 
amended as follows: (i) provisions were added to clarify that 
9VAC5-20-180 applies to only facility and control equipment 
maintenance or malfunction; (ii) provisions were added to 
specify an affirmative defense does not apply to excess 
emissions due to malfunction or maintenance for sources 
subject to new source performance standards, national 
emission standards for hazardous air pollutants, maximum 
achievable control technology, or acid rain provisions of the 
federal Clean Air Act or that cause an exceedance of an 
ambient air quality standard or prevention of significant 
deterioration (PSD) ambient air quality increment; (iii) 
provisions were changed to be consistent with 
recommendations made pursuant to the review of existing 
regulations mandated by Executive Order 15(94); (iv) 
provisions pertaining to malfunctions for hazardous air 
pollution sources were revised because they were not 
consistent with requirements pertaining to sources that meet 

mailto:vanessa.rakestraw@dars.virginia.gov
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federal standards for hazardous air pollutants; (v) provisions 
that provide legal relief if a violation has taken place due to 
excess emissions as a result of facility and control equipment 
maintenance or malfunction were changed in order to entitle 
the owner of a facility to use an affirmative defense for relief 
from penalties; (vi) provisions pertaining to facility and 
control equipment maintenance or malfunction were changed 
to incorporate the limitations and the criteria for an 
affirmative defense; and (vii) provisions that authorize the 
board to reduce the level of operation or shut down a facility 
if it is necessary to prevent a violation of any primary ambient 
air quality standard were expanded to include any ambient air 
increment identified in the PSD program. 

Revision B16: On June 12, 2015 (80 FR 33840), EPA issued 
a final SIP call concerning treatment of excess emissions in 
state rules by sources during periods of startup, shutdown, or 
malfunction (SSM), including Virginia's SSM rules at 
9VAC5-20-180 G. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District 
of Columbia Circuit has held that such provisions are illegal, 
and state plans must be amended accordingly. Essentially, 
EPA finds that 9VAC5-20-180 G creates an impermissible 
affirmative defense for violations of emission limits, and 
therefore 9VAC5-20-180 G must be amended. 9VAC5-20-
180 C must also be amended for 9VAC5-20-180 G to operate 
properly and to make several minor administrative changes. 

Revisions C09, D09, and E09: At the time these regulations 
were promulgated, there was uncertainty as to the status of 
Virginia's malfunction regulations; therefore, those provisions 
were not submitted as SIP revisions when the rest of the rules 
were submitted to EPA on February 1, 2016. Now that the 
issue of malfunctions has been resolved and 9VAC5-20-180 
has been amended to EPA's satisfaction, reference to 9VAC5-
20-180 may now be submitted for the purpose of these rules. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 
public participation requirements of federal regulations (40 
CFR 51.102) and not any provision of state law. Except as 
noted below, the proposal will be submitted as a revision to 
the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 
federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 
Only the directly amended provisions of the proposal will be 
submitted as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia 
SIP, and no provisions relevant to hazardous air pollutants 
will be submitted. In addition, the D97 version of 9VAC5-20-
180 G will not be submitted as it is superseded by the B16 
version. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 
must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 
the person commenting and be received by DEQ by the last 
day of the comment period. All comments, exhibits, and 
documents received are part of the public record. 

To review documents: The proposal and any supporting 
documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans website (http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air 
/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx). The documents 
may also be obtained by contacting the DEQ representative 
named at the end of this notice. The public may review the 
documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 
day until the close of the public comment period at the 
following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 8th Floor, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070,  

2) Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore Street, 
Abingdon, VA, telephone (276) 676-4800,  

3) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Roanoke Location, 3019 
Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA, telephone (540) 562-
6700, 

4) Blue Ridge Regional Office, Lynchburg Location, 7705 
Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, VA, telephone (434) 582-
5120,  

5) Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early Road, Harrisonburg, 
VA, telephone (540) 574-7800,  

6) Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 
Allen, VA, telephone (804) 527-5020,  

7) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800, and  

8) Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA, telephone (757) 518-2000. 

Contact Information: Karen Sabasteanski, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4426, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Correctional Solar LLC Notice of Intent - Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) Permit by Rule 

Correctional Solar LLC has notified the Department of 
Environmental Quality of its intent to submit the necessary 
documentation for a permit by rule for a small renewable 
energy project (solar) in New Kent County, pursuant to 
9VAC15-60. The project will be located on 429 acres across 
multiple parcels, on land south east of the intersection of New 
Kent Highway and Mount Nebo Road as well as along the 
west side of Barham Road just south of the New Kent 
Highway Mount Nebo Road intersection. The solar project 
conceptually consists of 88,209 320-watt panels plus nine 
2.5-megawatt inverters, which together will provide a 
maximum 20 megawatts of nameplate capacity. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, 629 East Main Street, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4423, FAX (804) 
698-4510, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
http://www.deq.state.va.us/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
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STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Health is 
conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 12VAC5-31, Virginia Emergency Medical 
Services Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins June 27, 2016, and ends July 18, 
2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Michael Berg, Regulatory and 
Compliance Manager, Virginia Department of Health, Office 
of Emergency Medical Services, 1001 Technology Park 
Drive, Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 888-9131, 
FAX (804) 371-3108, or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program 
Intended Use Plan for FY 2017 

Dear Waterworks Owner and Other Interested Parties: 

Under the Safe Drinking Water Act, Congress authorizes 
capitalization grants to the states through the Drinking Water 
State Revolving Loan Fund Program (DWSRF). As part of 
the annual DWSRF grant application process Virginia seeks 
meaningful public involvement through input, review, and 
comments. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH), Office 
of Drinking Water (ODW) has prepared a draft intended use 

plan (IUP) that explains the goals of the program, funding 
priorities, how VDH intends to use the grant funds, and other 
important information submitted from the funding requests 
and set-aside suggestions. 

VDH received numerous funding requests and set-aside 
suggestions following the January DWSRF funding 
solicitation announcement. The draft 2017 IUP and draft 
project lists are open for review and comment by the public 
for a period of 30 days. The document entitled "Virginia 
Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Program Design 
Manual" (dated January 2016) is a part of the intended use 
plan and was mailed to eligible waterworks in January 2016, 
announced in the Virginia Register, and placed on the agency 
website. The Program Design Manual provides information 
on VDH's project prioritization criteria and methodologies. 

VDH will hold a public meeting to solicit comments and 
recommendations regarding the IUP on Thursday, July 21, 
2016, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m. at the Department of Environmental 
Quality, Piedmont Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Henrico, VA 
23060. Individuals planning to attend the public meeting 
should contact Theresa Hewlett at (804) 864-7501 by the 
close of business on July 15, 2016. 

Written comments from the public need to be submitted by 
July 27, 2016, the close of the public comment period. VDH 
will consider all meaningful public input and comments and 
make revisions to the IUP and project priority list if 
necessary. Please direct requests for information and forward 
written comments to Steven Pellei, PE, Virginia Department 
of Health, Office of Drinking Water, James Madison 
Building, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7500 or FAX (804) 864-7521. The 
following information is provided on VDH's website at 
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/office-of-
drinking-water/financial-construction/drinking-water-state-
revolving-fund-program. 

VDH's 2017 Draft Intended Use Plan (IUP) 

VDH's 2017 Preliminary Project Priority List/2017 
Comprehensive Project List  

The IUP is subject to change depending on EPA's award 
allocations. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT PUBLIC HEARING 

Public Hearing on the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code 

Pursuant to subdivision A 12 of § 2.2-4006 and § 36-100 of 
the Code of Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community 
Development will hold a public hearing on the Virginia 
Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63), Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51), Virginia 
Amusement Device Regulations (13VAC5-31), and the 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/office-of-drinking-water/financial-construction/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/office-of-drinking-water/financial-construction/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/drinking-water/office-of-drinking-water/financial-construction/drinking-water-state-revolving-fund-program
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/financial/documents/2012/pdf/IUPWebFinal_Att_6_12_12.pdf
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/ODW/documents/2011/pdf/Project%20Priority%20List_2012.pdf
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Virginia Industrialized Building Safety Regulations 
(13VAC5-91). 

The purpose of this public hearing is to consider updating the 
codes to the newest editions of the model codes and standards 
and to consider related proposals prior to the publication of 
proposed regulations. 

The public hearing will be held at the Virginia Housing 
Center, 4224 Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 12:30 p.m., 
July 18, 2016. For more information, contact the State 
Building Code Office. 

Contact Information: State Building Code Office, 600 East 
Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 371-7150, FAX (804) 371-7092, or email 
sbco@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Board of Long-Term 
Care Administrators is currently reviewing each of the 
regulations listed below to determine whether the regulation 
should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 
The review of each regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014). Public comment is sought on 
the review of any issue relating to each regulation, including 
whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 
performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 
minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 
law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

18VAC95-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Nursing Home Administrators 

18VAC95-30, Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Assisted Living Facility Administrators 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

The comment period begins June 27, 2016, and ends July 27, 
2016. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall, and a report of 
the small business impact review will be published in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

2016 Notice of Intent to Amend Virginia State Plan 
for Medical Assistance (pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of 

the Social Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Amount, Duration, and Scope of 
Medical and Remedial Care Services (12VAC30-50); 
Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - 
Inpatient Hospital Services (12VAC30-70); Methods and 
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of 
Care (12VAC30-80); and Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates for Long Term Care (12VAC30-
90). 

DMAS is making these changes in its methods and standards 
for setting payment rates for services in order to comply with 
the legislative mandates set forth in Chapter 780 of the 2016 
Acts of Assembly, Item 306. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Hospitals (12VAC30-70) 

12VAC30-70-351 is being amended to reduce fiscal year 
(FY) 2017 inflation by 50% for inpatient and outpatient 
hospital operating (including freestanding psychiatric and 
long-stay hospitals), graduate medical education (GME) and 
indirect medical education (IME) payments, disproportionate 
share hospital (DSH) payments, and outpatient hospital rates 
with the exception of 100% of inflation for inpatient and 
outpatient hospital operating, GME, and IME payments for 
Children's Hospital of King's Daughters. 

The expected decrease in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$13,895,790. 

12VAC30-70-221 and 12VAC30-70-381 are being amended 
to change the methodology for costing claims used to rebase 
weights from a fee-for-service global cost-to-charge 
methodology to a methodology that uses per-diems and cost-
to-charge ratios by cost center for the fee-for-service and 
managed care claims, effective July 1, 2016. In a similar 
fashion, each hospital's total costs by claim using this 
methodology will be divided by the total charges for the 
hospital cost-to-charge ratio. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0. 

12VAC30-70-281 is being amended to create GME 
supplemental payments for new primary care and high-need 
specialty residencies, effective July 1, 2017. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$2,500,000. 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Providers 
(12VAC30-80) 

12VAC30-80-32 is being amended to increase rates for 
existing substance use disorder services and add rates for new 
substance use disorder services, effective April 1, 2017, and 
peer support services, effective January 1, 2017. 

The expected annual increase in expenditures for the rate 
increase is $1,460,647, and the expected annual increase for 
expenditures for new services is $2,871,908. Administrative 
expenses of the program are expected to be $872,269 for a 
total annual aggregate increase of $5,204,824. 

12VAC30-80-30 is being amended to implement a 
supplemental payment for Children's National Health System 
physicians, effective July 1, 2016. The total supplemental 
Medicaid payment shall be based on the upper payment limit 
approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) and all other Virginia Medicaid fee-for-service 
payments but not to exceed $551,000. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$551,000. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Nursing Facilities 
(12VAC30-90) 

12VAC30-90-264 is being amended to convert the 
specialized care rate methodology to a fully prospective state 
fiscal year rate, effective July 1, 2016. This would be 
accomplished consistent with the existing cost-based 
methodology by adding inflation to the per diem costs subject 
to existing ceilings for direct, indirect, and ancillary costs 
from the most recent settled cost report prior to the state fiscal 
year for which the rates are being established. The same 
inflation adjustment shall apply to plant costs for specialized 
care facilities that do not have prospective capital rates that 
are based on fair rental value. The department shall use the 
state fiscal year inflation rate recently adopted for regular 
nursing facilities. Partial year inflation shall be applied to per 
diem costs if the provider fiscal year end is different than the 
state fiscal year. Ceilings shall also be maintained by state 
fiscal year. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is $0. 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from William Lessard, Provider 
Reimbursement Division, Department of Medical Assistance 
Services, 600 Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 
23219, and this notice is available for public review on the 
Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov). 
Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 
30 days of this notice publication to Mr. Lessard and such 
comments are available for review at the same address. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 
Division of Policy and Research, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 
1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX 
(804) 786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.  

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Notice of Periodic Review and Small Business 
Impact Review 

Pursuant to Executive Order 17 (2014) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 
2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of Taxation 
is conducting a periodic review and small business impact 
review of 23VAC10-390, Virginia Soft Drink Excise Tax 
Regulations. 

The review of this regulation will be guided by the principles 
in Executive Order 17 (2014).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

The comment period begins June 27, 2016, and ends July 18, 
2016. 

Comments may be submitted online to the Virginia 
Regulatory Town Hall at 
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm. Comments 
may also be sent to Joe Mayer, Lead Policy Analyst, P.O. 
Box 27185, Richmond, VA 23261-7185, telephone (804) 
371-2299, FAX (804) 371-2355, or email 
joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be 
posted on the Town Hall and a report of the small business 
impact review will be published in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Mr. Billy E. 
Chumbley and Virginia Pride Contractors 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. Billy E. 
Chumbley and Virginia Pride Contractors for violations in 
Botetourt County, Virginia. The special order by consent 
addresses and resolves violations of environmental law and 
regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/
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at the Department of Environmental Quality office named 
below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jerry Ford, Jr. will 
accept comments by email at jerry.ford@deq.virginia.gov or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Blue 
Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 
VA 24019, from June 27, 2016, to July 27, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Hilex Poly Co. 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Hilex Poly Co. 
LLC, for alleged violations that occurred at the Hilex Poly 
Co. LLC Facility in Richmond, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 
Hilex Poly Co. LLC to address noncompliance with State 
Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Cynthia 
Akers will accept comments by email at 
cynthia.akers@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 
VA 23060, from June 27, 2016, to July 27, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for Asim Khan 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Asim Khan for 
violations at Browns In and Out Market in Esmont, Virginia. 
The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 
order to Asim Khan to address noncompliance with State 
Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Karen 
Hensley will accept comments by email at 
karen.hensley@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 
Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, 
from June 27, 2016, to July 27, 2016. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Kinder Morgan 
Liquids Terminals, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Kinder Morgan 
Liquids Terminals, LLC for alleged violations of the State 
Water Control Law in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of 
the proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by 
email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from June 27, 2016, to July 27, 
2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for New River Resource 
Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed with the New River 
Resource Authority for violations in Pulaski County, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 
consent order to New River Resource Authority to address 
and resolve violations of environmental law and regulations. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jeffrey Hurst will accept 
comments by email at jeffrey.hurst@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
at (540) 562-6725, or by postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional office, 3019 
Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, VA 24019, from June 27, 2016, 
to July 27, 2016. 

Proposed Consent Order for Round Hill Investors, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Round Hill 
Investors, LLC in Loudoun County, Virginia. The consent 
order describes a settlement to resolve violations of State 
Water Control Law and the applicable regulations associated 
with the development of the Round Hill Subdivision Project. 
A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel Burstein will accept 
comments by email at daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, 
FAX at (703) 583-3821, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, from June 28, 2016, 
through July 28, 2016 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
the West Run, Stephens Run, Crooked Run, and 

Willow Brook Watersheds 
The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan (IP) for the West Run, Stephens Run, 
Crooked Run, and Willow Brook watersheds in Frederick, 
Warren, and Clarke Counties. West and Stephens Runs were 
first listed as impaired on the Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report due to violations of the state's water 
quality standard for bacteria in 2010, while Willow Brook 
and Crooked Run were listed in 2006 and 2002, respectively. 
The creeks have remained on the § 303(d) list for these 
impairments since then.  

The impaired segment of West Run extends 6.12 miles from 
its headwaters downstream to its confluence with Crooked 
Run. The impaired segment of Stephens Run extends 0.95 
miles from its confluence with an unnamed tributary to its 
confluence with Crooked Run. The impaired segment of 
Crooked Run extends 8.87 miles from the Lake Frederick 
dam to its confluence with the Shenandoah River. Willow 
Brook is impaired from its headwaters to its confluence with 
the Shenandoah River (3.95 miles).  

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
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pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 
addition, § 62.1- 44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 
expeditious implementation of total maximum daily loads 
when appropriate. The IP should provide measurable goals 
and the date of expected achievement of water quality 
objectives. The IP should also include the corrective actions 
needed and the associated costs, benefits, and environmental 
impacts. DEQ completed bacteria TMDLs for the Crooked, 
Stephens, and West Runs in September 2014. The TMDLs 
were approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
December 22, 2015. The final TMDL report is available on 
the DEQ website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Portals 
/0/DEQ/Water/TMDL/apptmdls/shenrvr/ShenTribs_Bacteria_
Benthic_Final.pdf, Development of the Crooked, Stephens, 
and West Runs and Willow Brook TMDL Implementation 
Plan began in January 2016.  

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality will host 
a public meeting to present a draft TMDL implementation 
plan for Crooked, Stephens, and West Runs and Willow 
Brook. The meeting will be held on Wednesday, June 29, 
2016, at 7 p.m. at the North Warren Volunteer Fire Hall's 
Celebration Hall (266 Rockland Court, 2nd Floor, Front 
Royal, Virginia).  

A 30-day public comment period for the meeting will begin 
June 30, 2016, and end July 29, 2016. Written comments 
should include the name, address, and telephone number of 
the person submitting the comments and should be sent to 
Nesha McRae, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. 
Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-
7850, or email nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 
Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 
(804) 786-3591; Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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